(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

BTW, ladies giving birth at Mt A will be glad to know that they have WIFI broadband there so hubby will not be bored waiting there and you can bring laptop and surf and update us about your nb ...hehhee

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, thanks for the reminder!! I remembered theoretically... but it hadn't quite registered practically yet.
chidori, never heard you mention you were in that class!? Only bing! We'll reunite again there =)

bubu~, kicking your vagina?! Oh my, how does THAT feel? How strange...

LFB, I'm glad my post helped! Isn't the passionfruit fragrance just gorgeous? It's so refreshing and uttering relaxing all at the same time. I use the scrub and body butter... Mmm-Mmm!! Always feel so deliciously pampered when I step out of shower and slap on the body butter
*bliss*

>>I got too complacent abt the uterus moving up and not having to pee so often thing. Just said it yest and last night was horrid. I wee'd before going to bed at 12, wee'd again at half past 12 before I fell asleep. Woke at 1.50 to pee. Again at 3.45... AND AGAIN AT 4.50!! ARGH!!!!

First Mum &amp; any others interested, MY SISTER IS 1.5CM DILATED TONIGHT!!!
Her next gynae apptmt is next Tues but she may go into labour anytime between now and then!!!

<font color="0077aa">thanks creamer &amp; ahnetsan for PMs.

ahnetsan, pls note item #2, select dates from list. Tuesday is not on the list.
So effectively, you haven't indicated any available dates at all. </font>

good morning! Just had a nonya dumpling for breakfast, nice....! For lunch, after all the Tung Yi talk, I am comtemplating whether I should have one. Kekeke. Shall see whether I fall into temptation.

Cassey, yes! The passion fruity stuff are gorgeous! I am now thinking of bathing all the time! Good for me, I guess!!! Anyway, since I purchased more than $85 yesterday, I got quite some free stuff. One of them is a strawberry body butter! Another of my fav fragrant!

Wow, you must be excited to see your niece/nephew soon huh? It's great! Hope she will have a smooth and fast delivery!

I am at home again today! Yes! This is because I need to settle some stuff and therefore asked permission from my boss to stay in and work. This is just great! So I have all the time to think of food! My plan? To cook lunch(deciding on mee pok dry or instant noodles), dinner(claypot rice! Yummy!) and bake a cake for hubby! Any bakers here? I love to bake to destress! Hubby's colleague has been a gem, fetching him home almost everyday. So I thought as a nice gesture, I should return the favour. Will do a marble loaf cake, simple and nice.

Ok, got to start work and check emails. Have fun gals. Will log in whenever I am sick of working online! See ya!

morning!!!

tung yi?? issit the vegetarian one??? used to eat the beehoon. but my fav now is the mee pok dry by myojo. yummilicious... hahhahaha

Cassey, sitting on a cushion now and i hope it's going to ease some aches.

wow..... ur sis must be real excited and so are u. share some of ur sis' experiences that u think will be useful to us if u know of any.

LFB, i used to bake but no longer these days. skills are rusty now. can u bake and decorate a cream cake for me??? hiak hiak... i'm craving for cream cakes right now.....

Wow, Cassey, must be really exciting for your sis and I m sure u are as well. I didn't know that gynae will start checking our cervix dilation nearing delivery. Thot that's only done when we are going into labour. Certainly does help to get oneself mentally prep, knowing roughly which days the little one may be coming out.

Lovelytulips,
incidentally, I baked 2 cakes to celebrate my hubby's birthday last year. Well, baking is one thing, decorating is another. I sucked when coming to artistic flair! I can only do naked cake, ha ha ha! The simpler, the better! I do make a swell durian butter cake! Too bad, for me, it's the baking process I am interested. I rarely eat my bakes! Not that they aren't nice, but the smelling usually makes me gerlak already!

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for ex pectant mothers this Saturday 21 Mar 09. We already have some expecting mummies who have signed up eariler for this scan. However, we need just one more expecting mum who could come for the scan this Sat, from 1pm to 2pm. A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

If you have signed up eariler, please do not response again to this post.

Details:
1) Preference: 18-32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 21 Mar 2009 (Sat)
3) Time: 1-2pm
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: The Siemens Center, 60 MacPherson Road
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to OB doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies.?http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/m essages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

morning all!

LFB &amp; createjoy, mi too having the same prob alwasys wanna to pee...sometime is like every 15 min realli mk mi bo eng!

bbjun, i oso tot dr will onli chk dilation when admit to hsopital!

last sun my cousin oso give birth to a 3.9kg bb gal natural birth w/o epi....she initial tong dun wan epi but she say realli pain cannot muz take epi but nurse say she already dilation liow ask her to tong a while...so in the end she din take epi!

hmmm u'll hv any idea dilation till certain cm can't opt f epi huh??

<font color="0077aa">Sister not in labour yet. bbjun, start obgyn starts checking from wk 36 or 37. Sis said it hurt very much during the vaginal exam.

Some ppl are 1cm dilated for 2 weeks or so before going into labour..
Part of sis' mucus plug seems to have dislodged this morn... again, it may still be days or weeks.
She says she's experiencing a little menstrual crampiness, but other than tt, nothing else.
ARGH! THE SUSPENSE!!!!

jam75, I think it's beyond 7-8cm, then epidural is no longer an option.</font>

Cassey,
Your sis must be bery kan jiong now. Do keep us update.

tinybubu,
My boi also kick my vagina!!! When it happen, the pain can be bery sharp and feel like something gg to drop out. So far kana twice liao.

Re: BH/Contraction
Even tot this is my 2nd bb. I am still blur blur when it come to BH/Contraction. All i noe is recently i alway feel tummy tighten especially after meal. Maybe i eat too much???

cassey, so dat means in wk 36 onwards we muz get ready liow....wow like v fast leh! so scary!

err so ladies all will try to tong 1st b4 asking f epidural huh??

lovelytulips, me also having water retention... sometimes i will find my feet swollen.

LFB, same same.... im also gg to toilet forever...
last night was watching chn 5 movie, whenever the movie breaks for advertisements, i would go toilet to pee... damn irritating... even my hb comments hw come i jus went toilet only, den go again... haiz... den... will wake up to go toilet at 2am, 4am, 6pm...

blurmom, how u feeling now? hw come got slight cramp and sharp pain? now ok le mah?

eh got passionfruit body butter meh?? all my body butter are the pink one vitamin E.

wow cool, cassey, your sister must be feeling very excited now... update us yeah. omg, the vaginal exam is very painful?? wah.....
eh wat item #2 ar?? got different dates to choose is it?

wah jam75, ur cousin bb is huge wor... 3.9kg leh... how did she manage to give birth NATURALLY AND WITHOUT EPI???!!! Salute her!!!!!!!!

i will try to tong first without epi, cos i scared of the idea of having the injection into my spine...

tiny bubu,
For PM, it will be link to the email address which u register with singaporemotherhood. Just check it like any other email.

Cassey,
huh?! Vagina checks are painful?! What is being done during these checks? Not something like our papsmear checks???

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $9

4) Huggies ultra newborn size 24s pack (opened), used 2 pc baby outgrow lia.

left 22pc selling at $5
-

self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

cassey,
gd luck to ur sis! if i were her, i wld burst from the suspense and anticipation. u noe i dilated from 1cm to 10 cm in just 2 hrs for my 1st pregnancy kekes. so it cld be ANYTIME for ur sis

bbjun,
if gynae burst waterbag manually it is also damn uncomfortable...

FREQUENT TOILETING
i hate the trying to fall aslp part. i can be in bed at 12am and visit the toilet like 5 times before i finally doze off. everytime i return from toilet and lie in bed, my baby kicks my bladder again!
BODYSHOP BODY BUTTER
all these talk abt the passionfruit bath range makes me wana chiong to parkway bodyshop now!

Re: BH/Contraction
Jackie,
am also having tummy tightening or cramping at one side (when the bb leans on the side) and at times, it hurts. I realised i got all the symtoms ealier than 1st preg.gynae mentioned because this is 2nd rd. hmm..and some people can get BH as early as 20th wks (for 2nd timers). tt's fast! my bb love to stamp/kick with both legs on my erm..vaginal or buttocks(tailbone area). funny..

Re: last fri's gathering
cassey,
thanks for organising the gathering. It was great meeting up with the rest of the mummies and the youngest mummy was sitting right next to me.

hey, am not a bimbo leh.. heheheh..my feet is aching + my ingrown toenails(it hurts as i usually wear covered shoes)+ callous.

Re: water retention
ahnetsan,
i think my legs + feet are swollen too.. it's very 'tight' when i walk + can't really see my ankle bone..hope that it will go away in a few days time.

Firstmum,
wow, your dilation is really fast! i do hope to get faster dilation this time rd.
last rd was pretty long n i was in pain coz no epidural.

First mom,
re passionfruit bath and butter
Yep, it's addictive! I am like wanting to bathe again now! Ha ha ha! The bathroom smells exceptionally nice when I stepped out! Just love the fruity sense.

I ate instant noodles for lunch, thanks to whoever started it. But I totally enjoyed it! I had the Korean shin spicy noodles, one of my fav too! I added in 5 veg and pork dumplings I made some time ago! Lunch was superb! I slurped every drop of soup, though I know I shouldn't!

After lunch, I baked my marble cake. Decided to do a muffin trial b4 I bake a loaf tonight! The smell was really good! I walloped one right from the oven! Used my new Hello Kitty silicon mould, but I felt the design wasn't that distinctive! Hmm, you pple be the judge!

2262244.jpg
2262245.jpg

very quiet today..... :p

LFB, the hello kitty mould is cute.... i think the brown parts make the design not that obvious. probably just a vanilla muffin (plain) will look better?? but leh.. most impt is nice to eat... hiak...

body butter... i just started re-using my cocoa butter these days and i think i smell like cocoa powder every min. hahah

LFB, I wanna eat your cakes! hehe... I've been wanting to eat cakes, so have been thinking about making my own cupcakes, but I like my cupcakes decorated, and frankly, I have no mood to decorate them of late. Actually, my fave part is the decoration part, doing the frosting, put different colour, I like seeing them all turn pretty. It is the baking part that I enjoy less haha. But since I got pregnant, no motivation to do decoration, so I don't even bake the cupcakes. Hai... But I've been thinking of cakes leh. Some more now a bit inspired by you. Maybe later I shall go make some ba...

btw, agree with lovelytulips that prob it's the brown part that makes the design not obvious. If all light colour, will be able to see the hello kitty better

<font color="0077aa">Just went to see obgyn outside of apptmt cos of persistent itch down under even though it only comes on and off...
He did a vaginal swab. SO ROUGH! IT HURT!!! I was bleeding slightly after tt &amp; peeing STUNG
NO EPISIOTOMY PLS!!

Sunday is completion of Wk 30 for my little guy. Obgyn will see me every fortnight now.
He (ermm... bb, not obgyn) is now ~1.2kg and is in head down position... altho he might still flip in the next few weeks.

Jackie, actually sis' not excited/nervous leh. Just waiting... Cos it could be hours, days or even a week or so longer to go neh. She &amp; hubby just went to collect their new 2nd hand MPV and then did some shopping some more! We've still got mum's bday dinner planned on Monday. So we're all hoping her princess doesn't pop before then. Heehee...

jam75, Week 37 is full term already. So I'll be getting things ready by week 36 - washing bb's clothes and stuff.

bubu~, PM = email - Check for emails at the address you registered under your account.

ahnetsan, Body Shop has a whole range of shower gels, body scrubs and body butters ma. All the different flavours and scents.

bbjun, obgyn sticks fingers into vagina to check cervix lor! I don't know... she said it was REALLY painful - not sure if it's cos of pressure of swollen uterus or like she reckons, cos close shop for so many months so tighten from lack of use liao... BUT she has a HIGH pain threshold, so if she says it's painful... I BELIEVE HER!

First Mum, that's REALLY rapid progression from first stage of labour to transition. WOW!
I hope sis and mine and ours are all quick poppers!

nozomi, maybe it's because you're more experienced now and can recognise the symptoms more readily that's why it seems you're experiencing them earlier. You ARE a bimbo! *chuckle* Ok la, ok la. You're not. *rolls eyes* The rest of us know better! *kekeke*

LFB, I'm not sure you should be thanking me for enticing you into eating instant noodles. But erm... YOU'RE WELCOME!
Eh... ur Hello Kitty looks like she's hvg an identity crisis - don't know whether to be kitty or dalmatian *chuckle*

<font color="0077aa">createjoy??, my order from GMarket has been delivered already.
Ordered Huggies &amp; Goo.N diapers and they were delivered the very next evening even though I ordered late at night.
So effectively, they delivered within the same day of processing the order.</font>

hi cassey, do hope u r feeling much better now. Take care...

Wow, 30 weeks.. such a exciting journey going forward..Me into 25 weeks tomorrow only..

Tubbymummy,
ha ha ha, we are the opposite! Anyway, I am in baking mood recently! Thinking of making bread but my machine in the storeroom, too heavy to bring out leh. Sigh..

Capriho88,
Wow, thanks for the link! But when I look at their archive, I fainted! Super, super long lor! Read some, and agreed some of the bakes are really fantastic! Mine are super amature, so I will just read and drool!

Cassey,
Ya, think it was you wi8th soggy maggi mee! Anyway, hubby darn funny! We went NTUC and he can asked me whether want to buy instant noodles or not? I am the one who told him no good, mustn't eat often! Ha ha ha!

Re Hello Kitty
Yep, you are all right abt it! Anyway, thought I can try some new mould. Will let hubby bring all 4 for his colleagues. Wonder what will he say???

More cooking tmr. Hubby invited a friend for dinner. Thought instead of eating outside food, I might as well cook. On my menu: Curry fish, Chicken with mushroom, Nonya chap chai and ABC soup!

wah! LFB u really like to cook alot hor... hehee...

Cassey- wht MPV did ur sis buy?

So commencement of 30wks means must see gynae more often?

I hope gleneagles has wireless broadband...

<font color="0077aa">Joyce, I am better! Thank God! Went to mum's and could finally wash myself. Feeling much better down under now.
I wish he'd asked me to hold the lips open instead of poke poking. I wouldn't have minded.

LFB, I used to cook and bake, but no longer. No mood for it leh. It's true esp abt the baking, after enjoying the aroma, you no longer feel like eating the product! Aiyo, everyone keep telling me avoid MSG avoid MSG. My boss, supervisor and colleagues all... I don't eat it all the time, but MSG tastes SO GOOD. Clarification: it's Tubbym~ with soggy ketchup Maggi, Cassey's is soggy Chu Qian Yi Ding in soup base!

sweethalo, Honda Stream. Yes, visits get more frequent in final tri. Closer to full term, frequency should up to every week. If after EDD, it'll be every other day or every 3 days, I think.

bubu, it's Tubbym!!</font>

Cassey, u mentioned "NO EPISIOTOMY" earlier. I had thought most would have to take this eventual path? What if the baby cant be delivered without episiotomy? R u considering c-sec? Episiotomy is a scary thought to me.

Cassey, poor thing! I can imagine the kind of poking! Yikes, I wonder how I will react if I kana pokelike that! Soggy mee, I hate it! I always go for undercook, then when I finish pouring drink and bring over to my sofa, they are just perfect! Yum!

sweethalo, ya I like to cook! But I hate to wash up! So when I cook, I will also wash, if not at the end I will go xiao! I like to see my hubby eat alot when I cook. Then I will ask him, nice hor? He always said nice! Think he immune to the asking, just anyhow answer! Ha ha ha!

<font color="0077aa">Joyce, haha... you haven't seen my postings on that. Most drs do episiotomy by default on Asian patients. I was sharing with MTBs here tt I'm NOT a typical little Asian petite or slender size... so told obgyn I want to opt out of default episiotomy. Let me try without first, since midwife slips fingers in every now and then throughout active stage of labour to test the tension anyway. So only IF ABSOLUTELY necessary, then he is to make the cut (or the midwife if he's not there yet la).

>> He said it's "just a small cut" and "won't hurt that much" but the thought of being snipped down there just makes me squeamish. So he gave me his word, but said at the end of the day, mum and bb's safety is first priority and if he has to do it, he has to do it. I concurred la. But just reiterated that I DON'T WANT IT DONE BY DEFAULT.

>> C-SEC?!?! WHOA-SEH! Episiotomy already makes me squeamish, u think I'll consider C-sec?! Ermm... NO THANKS!!!!!!

LFB, you can imagine the poking? I don't think I can lor. It was with a narrow swab so it was really a prick. Sigh. Toilet paper came off pinkish after I wee'd. Then after I pressed some wet toilet paper to it and then dry one, there were spots of blood. So I think he must have jabbed me somewhere before he found the right hole. *violated!!* ~>_<~

>> I've been wanting to be and having dreams abt being poked... but by my man neh, not by a SWAB-welding obgyn!
Humph. Nightmares abt it tonight...?</font>

hmm...arent u the least worried that it will cause a tear by opting out of episiotomy by default? Between a tear n episiotomy which is easier to be stitched back?

<font color="0077aa">Joyce, nope, not worried. Cos at the end of the day, I'm not insisting on NO episiotomy after all. I'm just exercising my option to have him NOT make the snip without letting me give it a go without it first. I've seen lotsa YouTube videos of women popping without tearing - even when it's a home birth with no professionals in attendance!

>> I believe that he'll be able to tell when the tension is too great and snip me before any tearing. He/midwife is supposed to keep pressure on bb's head as it crowns to keep it coming slowly. Of course, I hope my little warrior prince cooperates and doesn't rip me apart before anyone has time to react. Keke

>> Read in a mag article lately though, that there is a school on thought in the non-episiotomy camp that a natural tear is often minimal and may not be as long as a snip. *interesting eh?* At least up til now, bb seems a good mid-lower end of average size.

U go girl! Brave..but dun u thk it may be too stressful to manage the need to pop &amp; when to make the cut? Am still quite stressed and freaky about this issue.

Joyce, Cassey,
my sister's friend first born was a total disaster as the nurse left her in the room when she yelled her baby is coming out! Then when they finally heard her, they checked and realised baby's head almost out! So they quickly pushed her into the delivery ward. By then too late for anything! She pushed and the baby came out! But when the doc tried to stitch, he dunno how, cos the tear was beyond stitch! I was like "what!!!" Anyway, I cannot remember the outcome, just know she changed hospital for no. 2. So I think I will talk to doc when he ask me. Think if need episiotomy, just go ahead! I think I will opt for epi, so when stitch, won't have the pain!

<font color="0077aa">Joyce, stressful for the obgyn or me? *laughs*
No la. I think he's got decades of experience tucked under his belt. This is just a small thing.
I'm a wimp. Don't want to be snipped pls.
It doesn't help tt March MTB's hubby told her could see blood spurting out onto the floor after episiotomy. *squirm* *gag*</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, no prob! I've been thinking the same too. How would I know if it was really necessary, kinda thing?!
But as a Christian to another, I choose to have faith in his word. Tt's why I chose him in the first place.
After all, in my reckoning - what would I be doing with him if I can't even trust him with such a small thing?

I like this TyperShark game. For the free ppl.
http://www.shockwave.com/gamelanding/typershark.jsp</font>

hmmm BTW how's the gathering in April doing?

wonder where is TubbyM and Ahnet today...Tubbymummy is probably watching her American Idol now??? hehee

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, of course he has!! (right?!) He's so experienced and been featured on tv before.. (?)
No many more responses to survey. Must post it again.. Only 17-18 responses thus far.
It's saved on my laptop and I don't have access to it right now. Thus far most popular: Fri 17 April @ Raffles City. </font>