(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

desitin creamy - i have friends who uses them very often, every night on their babies, even though they are now going 2. reason being, extra moisturiser for them.

<font color="0077aa">amkgal, you're another Tubbilitis sufferer!!! So many!?! I'm not sure if bb will stay NB size for long... so daren't buy too many leh.

l'tulips, edited... Why 2 weeks rest? Spotting? Contractions?! Dilated cervix...? are you sure it's 60 days LESS 14 days MC. Both the my previous employers HR policies are 14 MC PLUS 60 days Hospitalisation. I.e. 74 days in total.

Tubbym~, I'm still trying to get around that site... Hmm. Their wish list isn't working... so can I SAVE my shopping list first without order items yet?</font>

First mum, tubbymummy
Me blur blur, i use the creamy (Blue) on a daily basis and Original(Purple) for nasty rashes.

Aido......Tsk tsk at myself (kekeke)

Cassey, PMed you.

Yup yup. i'm sure. well, it's the so-called standard la, but different employers have different policies, so best to check with them.

quoted from MOM webbie:
"Cap on total number of paid sick leave

The total number of days of outpatient and hospitalisation sick leave that an employee can take is capped at the total number of days of hospitalisation sick leave the employee is entitled to. For example, if an employee has already taken 14 days of outpatient sick leave in that year, the number of days of hospitalisation sick leave that he can take is 46 days (60 – 14 = 46)."

Cassey, I don't dare to order too many NB size too, that's why now got 2 packs of 24pcs of Huggies, decided not to get more already. I assume I'll be bringing home some Pampers NB from hospital as well, and by the time the NB pieces are finished, I'm also ASSUMING kid is big enough for some brands' size S (esp those with smaller cutting). Plus I'm planning to use cloth nappies in the day, so I'll be using even less NB size. If I fail in my attempt to use cloth nappy, I'll just scramble then to buy more NB sized diapers.

Jackie/FirstMum, have u tried using California Baby's calendula cream? If yes what's your feedback?

cassey, ok, general term - cervix was shortening. i think it's called effacement. i'm still trying to figure out what's dilated cervix - not too sure if it's the same as effacement. was on rest for 3 days, went back gynae, shorten slightly and was given 5 days. went back gynae, stable. but gynae gave me another 5 days to rest and back to work today. gonna see the gynae again next Mon and if all's well, i'm cleared. else, it's back to rest.

consolation was that i realised it early so it's like there is still prevention.

Re HL
I think better play safe and get admitted if you want to have HL.If we go for the cheapest room in hospital,the cost wont be that high after Medisave deduction.

http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/documents/MAH(HospitalCharges).pdf

If the nosy HR finds out that hospitalisation leave was given w/o admitting into hospital, that might be grounds for termination.then no Maternity leave at all!!!

<font color="0077aa">lovelytulips, yup, pm rcvd! thanks for the info. WHOA! My employers must be good ones then. Haha... I'm not tt concerned cos I won't be working by then. *oops* Effacement is thinning of the lining, dilation is actual opening... so effacement seems the lesser of two evils! How were you clued in on a strange condition developing? What were the symptoms?

Tubbym, I haven't even thought seriously about how many NB diapers to get. I'M DEF NOT USING CLOTH NAPPIES though. I thought at least first 2 weeks should be covered. At an average of 8 dirty diapers a day, that'll mean I'll need at least 120 pieces of diapers. Thinking of buying Huggies Ultra NB 2x24, Goo.N NB 1x58 (A LOT HEY!!) and prob Drypers 1x24. From there, I'll see if I need to get any more... Nepia or something else... As I said, waiting to see how sister does. Haha!</font>

Arghhhhh,just realised it's about 8 to 10 more weeks for me too.

feel so excited but scared at the same time.

tomorrow it's back to work.dont feel like going back to the office at all.just checked my work email and it's so flooded with work it's ridiculous......

if i had it my way, i would be able to stay at home, wake up at my own pace, watch DVDs and drink coke all day without affecting the baby.Then if i get bored, i will go for massages, manicures and baby shopping with money that i won in 4D...

Plus, i get to eat at Kuishin-Bo anytime I want.i'll just pile the salmon sashimi on my plate and pretend i'm taking enough sashimi for 3 people so the sashimi doesnt give me the weird look.

Guys i was wondering if we can still paint at this stage? i was thinking of going to spotlight and buying little wooden alphabets to spell out Sophia (baby's name) and paint it various shades of pink before hanging it on the wall above her baby cot....

<font color="0077aa">bubu~, thanks for doing my name. Heehee....
No prob with safe paints as long as it's not a major project and you carry it out in a well ventilated area.

Aiyo chidori, how much time has elapsed since I said I was going to get offline and go read in bed!?
I'm STILL HERE... Okie, Mummies-TB, I'm off!</font>

lovelytulips, how did u know u were having the effacement problem? Pain? Bleeding? Glad to hear that things are fine now, but pls take care and rest more (no more shopping! hehe).

Cassey, I went and put on maggi mee to boil. Hehe...

tinybubu, guess if it's a small project of painting the letters without using industrial type paint that emits lotsa fumes, should be ok. But do it in airy room with lotsa ventilation, and don't stick your head too close to your paint job so u won't inhale that much paint fumes...

tubbym,
ive not used calendular cream but ive heard raving reviews fr mummies whose bbs have sensitive skin/ eczema. heard it works wonders!

i like their bath products though. if u thinking of going organic for ur bb, california baby is a good choice. but expensive!

cassey, i bought 3 packets of goon leh. i asked a few friends, they say newborn in first month needs abour 8-9 changes... so that'll be 240... fitti (52), goon (58x3) only have 226... i bought two packets of s size goon and 1 packet of s size mamypoko from a forumer.. in case baby grow beyond 5kg can start using lo..

dunno if that's too much?? wah...

Ladies, the diapers you pple mentioned ordering online, can I know the link? Sorry, very slow in this. Just to ask, is it cheaper to buy from the site or JB?

Girls, anybody know if delivery for Gmarket can be done in the evenings?They mention on the website they dont deliver on weekends and since i'm working, i can only be home from 7pm onwards...

Tiny bubu,

thanks! Will look at it now!

Hi eVEryone!!!

cassey, haha, im here, im here!!... was taking my own sweet time reading the 2 archives and chatting on msn... dats y i MIA. heehee. and also been chatting wif my fren cos she jus gave birth last week, finally can chat on msn since she's nt staying in sg.

hey wat's wrong with J&amp;J products now?? wat happen ar??

hello bbaugustine!!

cassey/Jam75, it's yellowish-greenish discharge... but i realise if i wear panty i dun get such discharge... only get yellowish-greenish discharge when i dun wear panty and only wear my hb's boxers at home. so i wonder wat's the problem?

hmm i also love the chu qian yi ding!! esp the sesame oil flavour one.... woohoo, fav! but havent had it for a long time le.

re: nappy rash cream... why now cannot use drapolene ar? desitin is dat good? but only can be bought thru BP or online right?

wah the gmarket website abit messy hor? is it safe to purchase items from there? any mummies bot anything from there yet?

tiny bubu
no need to scare lah.. baby loose weight very fast one. when they start to crawl, walk or teething, they will become slim slim liao... my #1 is 3.745kg at birth and now my frens say she slim liao loh... no more chubby little fellow...

Hi ahnetsan,

Spore also can get the desitin cream, but very expensive, 2 oz costs S$13 whereas from BP or oversea is 4 oz and price also lower.

Last time when my son has rashes, his PD also gave us this cream, use once or twice fully recovered liao.

capriho/ahnetsan, think Gmarket should be safe ba, cos May thread got quite a few of them ordered Huggies and received liao. I ordered before, but it's from Gmarket KOREA, everything arrived in order, my credit card didn't get scammed also.

tiny bubu,
welcome.
our gynae ie Dr Adrian will advice u to go for c-sect when bb is too big for u... for my #1, he told me that it is considered big for me but nevertheless i insist on natural so he let me try induce but after 6 hrs i only get 3 cm dilate so he say don't waste time &amp; $ then i went for c-sect. i think the decision still with mtb. if u insist to try natural then tell him your intention. though i pay extra $ &amp; not successful but i happy cos i tried mah... very stubborn rite :p however, my MT A antenatal classmate managed to give birth naturally to a 4.3kg boy leh. but hor the boy ended up in NICU due to some complication during the delivery process.

Cassey, Tubbymummy, i just felt tightening and hardening at my tummy area and was feeling uncomfy. gynae instructed me to see her straight as she was afraid it's contractions. seriously, if i were to just sit thru the so-called tightening, hardening, i will not know that my cervix is thinning/shortening. guess it was gynae's bet/guess to do a cervical length scan to check that everything's in order. my friend says it's my own gut feel that something's wrong.... well, i really dont know!!!

Tubbymummy, trying to cut down on shopping. and luckily, most of the stuff are bought. left with those needed for confinement and misc stuff for bb. anyway, my batt life these days for shopping is like only 2hrs. ha.....

tiny bubu, a coke addict as well?? ha....

a big bb at birth wun be a ah pui. i have a friend whose bb was 4 kg (est) at birth. he really looks very big size as compared to other babies of the same month. but when he started walking and running, he lost all the baby fats. the last i saw him, he is super active, with no signs of being obese.

for those using cloth nappy, how many nappies is enough???

superbee / lovelytulips : can i ask if what i eat will affect the weight of the baby or is the baby's weight a natural thing that i cant control?

anybody know when is the right time to start drinking coconut and bird's nest?

for fenugreek, i know cannot take while pregnant because it increases the risk of early labour / miscarriage.if want to take fenugreek, must wait till after the baby pops.

lovelytulips, oh ok, so if we get this kind of sensation, better not brush it off as well. Just glad for u that everything's ok now. But must monitor lor. For cloth nappies, think will need 2 packs. Each pack is 10pcs or 12pcs right? I bought 1 pack of Tollyjoy ones already, will be getting one more pack at some point. Decided not to get all same brand, in case there's a difference in quality between brands. If end up both packs quality poor, i'll feel bang.

ahnetsan, goon is from japan. mothers who have been using it claim that their babies never have nappy rash (other than one who i heard was allergic to the nappy).

tiny_bubu, it depends on the supplier. try calling them and arrange. i changed mine to thurs evening instead of tomolo afternoon.

caramelle, may i know what model of aprica u bought? how much? and is it for new born? my friend gave me a pram already.. but thinking of getting a light weight aprica stroller for my baby when she is older.. it is cheaper to buy in japan.. so since i know ppl going to japan soon.. can plan to get one in advance

re hear bb heartbeat, the set is called bebesound.. my friend gave it to me (actually all the things i hv are given.. only bought sterilizer myself) i hv tried it but cannot hear much.. the box say it is used only in 3rd trimester.. so maybe will work later.. not sure

chidori,
hv u spoke to ur hubby abt this.. why both of u discuss what is the most reasonable amt to pay for baby sitting and allowance and ask him to approach his mom when u not around.. normally moms dote their sons one.. so maybe that will help..

bbaugustine,
welcome.. i also going to deliver in gleneagles.. hv u went for the tour.. i did go for one informal one.. just go to the info counter and ask for a site visit.. never sign up for those formal ones.. think i will do that in apr or may.. not that i hv a choice of hospital anyway

still reading the archive.. but i got a qn.. on the topic of allowance.. my hubby and myself are going to move back to my mom place to stay.. long story.. just that the place we stay is not suitable for baby.. so any idea how much u think i should give my mom? total amt including allowance.. i ask her already.. but she always say it is up to me.. oh.. i also getting a maid and she will be staying with us too.. so though my mom is getting a free helper.. she also need to pay for the maid food.. thanks

tiny bubu - regarding coconut drink my mil says ard 2 weeks b4 EDD can start to drink... My sis starts having cocnut only 1 week b4 EDD.
As for birdnest now actually can start taking ...
but not too much .

Tubbytummy,
Yes, am using california Baby's calendula cream for #1 and love it. Really good for sensitive skin, helping to heal all bite, rashes, etc

lovelytulips,
Tummy tightening n uncomfortable!!!! Sound like wat i experience last week!!! Gosh, i better take note and be careful cause BB is not ready for the outside world. Mummy's tummy still the best plc for bb!!

tinybubu,
tink coconut can take fr wk 36 onwards. birds' nest im already taking now.

jackie,
is the calendular cream oily? do u use it daily like a moisturiser after bath?

Jackie/FirstMum, ok thanks. I shall order one each from spree for now to try, and if it works for my kid, will ask my sis to buy more from US for me.

<font color="0077aa">amk_gal, your NB diaper supply should be ok. Me cos hubby and I are big-sized, so I'm paranoid about bb growing out of NB size shortly. Planning on seeing how things go in the first two weeks. I reckon hubby can help go stock up if still lotsa of space
Maybe closer to the time, if my sister's small girl uses NB for more than a month, then I'll prepare more NB diapers for 3-4 weeks ba. I'll have to lug everything to mum's before delivery!!!!

ahnetsan, what material are hubby's boxers? If it's satin, probably not breathable enough. Why not buy your own boyshorts to wear instead of his boxers? CQYD noodles are my absolute favourite - my fave flavour prawn, followed by chicken and sesame.

Tubbym~, Oops.... Sorry I enticed you into eating maggi mee!! Hope you enjoyed your ketchup. Aiyo, I logged off and ate a mini Nonya dumpling, a chicken pie and Elvis durians from the fridge!! YUM!! And that was NOT dinner. So ended up couldn't stomach the sliced fish soup I bought for dinner, only ate the fish and part of the noodles.

lovelytulips, I think I'd have just dismissed it thinking it's BraxHicks contractions.. heehee.. then prob mention it to obgyn next time I see him.

bubu~, now is about right already to start with coconut. Bird's nest can drink from the start ma... It is true that if bb too big, obgyn usually recommends a Caesarian. Heard many stories of such cases. I'd trust their prof judgement. Like the March MTB I was talking abt 4kg bb, C-sec next day. Another one head a bit big, also scheduled for C-sec.

sweethalo, glad to hear ur dad is fine.. hv a good rest..

re premature delivery, my bro who is 10 yr younger than me was born at 32 wks.. according to my mom, if he was due full term, she needs to do c-section cos he was a big baby.. but cos he was so premature, it was just normal delivery.. but gosh he was still so small and weak.. i barely remember how he looked when he was born.. quite scary.. cos he need to be in the intensive care.. with all the tubes, uv etc.. now i am quite afraid of this.. last weekend was reading the book on delivery.. dont think i am ready for it yet..

tubbymummy,
u can do bintan without taking leave.. just take the fri night jetty and come back on sun.. but now monsoon season i think.. so the journey can be rocky..

i am going hk on wed.. same thing here.. suppose to go japan to get aprica.. then my hubby say he cannot take leave till i give birth.. cos he want to save his leave for baby.. so irritating.. in the end i am going with my parents and my aunt..

gosh, i only finished the archive..

fatmom, hope u enjoy your HK trip! I don't think my hubby will let me travel with anyone else other than himself, not even my parents. Wah, if now monsoon season, does that mean even Bintan is out of the question? Sigh.

chidori i mms u the pic, hope i got the right no..

instant mee... hmm i just had la bai cai today! i love instant mee too. for bb sake limit myself at most 1 pkt fortnightly. i miss maggi assam &amp; curry! but too small pkt haha and dunno y i seems to find it nicer during schooling days. i like tung yi also leh but it's very oily and fried mee haha super unhealthy i seldom eat. actually almost none of the mee i dislike haha i tried many brands, fan of instant mee.

wow lau i want to eat durian too dont tempt me! abit block nose last 2 days like want to sick dont sick so i'm watching my diet no heaty food at the moment!

just went MT A tour today not bad leh feel tempted to tk the double ward but afraid if next bed hap to be empty i b very scare to b alone. hb not staying w me for sure. he didnt volunteer and i wanted him to have gd rest b4 bb cry mk him less rest aft discharge and i got tons of things for him to do like spring clean, change bedsht all that while i in hosp. I really hope for natural delivery leh think will be more memorable esp i hope my hb will cherish me &amp; bb more after witness his birth. i heard it's magical moments for many daddies n of cos mummies.

took 1+hr read archive!sigh! dun rem who post what and what i want to add on already! tk care mummies!

back to work after my leave.

Re Goo'n nappy
Will prob get that since I heard so many good reviews. Sis in KL now, she said she might get me pampers, so I will wait for her to come back and see how.

Re cream
may I know what cream is good for tummy and breast? I was given a tube of coco butter but I afraid it's too long ago. Now my tummy got abit itchy, so better put.

Re stomach tightening and hardening
I heard from my friend that she got it and was admitted to hospital. She was given HL and have to rest amap at home. If we dismiss it, the baby will come out soon. Actually, I also dunno what does that means. How to know the difference between contraction and kicking? I quite blur kind, may mistook what is happening.

Re instant noodles
Oh my, my fav after pregnancy! I don't actually fancy instant b4 I am pregnant, but somehow during my 1st and early 2nd tri, I crave it like mad! My fav brand? Tung Yi, the oily one! Yummy! I will drain the oil from the fried onion and then pour them into my noodles. Shiok! But I like my noodle firm. If soggy, I will sulk and get frustrated!

Re trip
So nice of some of you to be able to take trips! My hubby would never allow! The furthest I can go? JB, with my bil driving us there. Told him it is perfectly fine but he just paranoid. Sometimes going slightly crowded place already black face.

morning!!!

jackie, yes, the mummy's tummy is the best. so keep them there till it's time to pop out.

cassey, i might have sat thru it also but cos my gynae visit was another 2 weeks away, i thought i better get it checked.

anybody having this problem: sometimes bb stretch or kick and suddenly, it hits the bladder and i feel like i'm gonna leak.......

trip.... how i wish i could go on trips. but well, luckily i didnt book any since i cant really walk alot now...

fat mom, enjoy ur HK trip.... mai dong si chi dong si (pardon my bad hanyu pinyin). hahaha

Tubbymummy, i was thinking of getting another pack. was thinking of pigeon but it seems ex. these days, i dont know what is enough. like the breast pads, is 1 box enough? diaper liners, is 1 box enough?? it's all making me paranoid that 1 box is not enough... 2 boxes too many... hahhahaha

btw, do we need to get baby lotion as in for moisturising the bb's skin??

forgot to reply:

tiny bubu, i think what we eat do affect the bb's weight in a certain way. that is why some pple say eat durian, the bb will gain weight. however, i know of pple who has no weight gain in a month but yet the bb grows.... my guess is that instead of the weight gain in mummy, the weight gain goes to the bb. not too sure though...

but what i am pretty sure of is that, if u do not take enough calcium, the bb will absorb the calcium from mummy (machiam snatch mummy's calcium. weight gain for bb probably works the same way...

fat_mom, im not sure exactly what's the model of my stroller but it was $769 and yes can be used from newborn. if you're thinking of getting a lighter one when baby is older, would suggest you wait cos newer models would come up and specifications will improve. for me, i need to use one right after baby is born cos my other one is quite heavy. wah so lucky your friend can buy for you from japan..they don't mind carrying/checking it in for you is it? hehe
my dutch friends also offered to buy me bugaboo/quinny from holland, but i know it's not easy to ship it plus when these kind of items are lost in freight, the liability is very low. and from what i found out, it's not cheaper to buy it there (as least for europe) so since about the same price here, i told them no need..

hey thanks for info abt the bebesound, i want to buy a 2nd hand one just to reassure myself when i cannot feel baby move.

i also asked my mum how much more i should give her (better to discuss it all now before it creates questions later) and she also said up to me. i think it's hard to put a figure set for it, since most of the money would go to the baby needs anyway. for her it's not a job/chore to look after the baby so more like a thank you token from us based on how much we can afford to spare. can't imagine if we give $200 then every month we still buy branded goods or expensive items, like that you'll not create a good impression.

enjoy HK!

funny thing this placenta is, cos i heard it's "clever" enough to only filter the good things for the baby and yet when you mummies eat durian it still goes to the baby! i guess it doesn't filter out the sugar so that's where you have to watch your diet. also cos if you eat too much sugar, baby run risk of getting diabetes since their organs not mature enough to handle excessive sugar amounts.

re maggi: you are all like my hubby who loves maggi! luckily so far i have no cravings. in fact, i find it quite annoying when i go for lunch with colleagues and whatever i suggest to eat for lunch they'll say OH YOU ARE CRAVING IS IT?? can't a girl eat what SHE wants? haha

Morning Ladies, So busy to log in. But I was running thru the archive I saw tummy tightening and hardening from LFB. May I know what gg on?? As all along my tummy is quite hard but I tho I was normal. I didn’t ask my gynae before y mine tummy is more harder then others as I tho it is normal. So is it normal or not normal?

Shelisa, hard is normal. but tightening you feel like got someone put a belt around you from time to time and constrict the area. did you ever get that?

hmm about tummy tightening... sometimes i do feel something like tat.. usually only for a short while. i always tot it's the baby who's like pushing hard on one spot..