(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

The cordlife talk at Pan Pacific on this saturday is a FREE talk for all. Just remember to bring along your gynae appointment card for registeration. Or you can call 62380808 to register in advance, and you can get a $10 NTUC voucher when u register your attendence on that day.

Hope the above information helps.

fat mom, the maternity belt is to support your tummy to relieve pressure of the back. but for me it's to reduce the movement when i walk. this way, it relieves pressure off the muscles in the tummy and help it heal cos now it's stretched. i think cos i got tummy before that's why, cos most mummies i ask don't have that jiggy effect when they walk. anyone else care to share?

ahnetsan, the pneumococcal jab more exp because it's manufactured by Wyeth i think..big medical companies sure got patent on the jab and will make most money out of it. if you and Tubbymummy kids going for the jab, let me know so I can send my girl to same school as you all okay? im sure she'll be safe..hehe

Cassey, yup it's about the Fri gathering. creamer said she will tell you closer to the date if she can or cannot make it. after reading ahnetsan entry about the famous amos, i told hubby even if i have to crawl there, i will go! cos can get cookies and meet yummy mummies. and the yummy cookies *oops* did i say that twice? haha

and thanks for assuring me there'll be minimal walking my dear. in fact McD at the old wing is perfect cos very near the train station.

Tubbymummy and Cassey, Im like you both. for past few months, i stayed off fast food to watch my diet but with this pregnancy, i took out all the stops and went for Long John, McD, BK and KFC. love BK breakfast..

i really must learn to cook. all day i sat at home and cleared my emails but there's not much else to do. was thinking of cooking lunch but i can't bear the thought of cleaning up after that..wish my mum was not working this week then can pop over for lunch. got to content with packed lunch for tomorrow and friday for now.

tiny bubu, you can also do pelvic tilt (to relive pressure off your tailbone where precious baby is resting on), kegels a.k.a pelvic floor exercise (to strengthen your muscles down under so you won't sufer from incontinence after delivery), stretch your inner thighs (helps during delivery when you have to hold up your thigh area there for long time), calf stretches and foot ankle rotation (to minimise cramps). hope this helps!

LFB, i know, c-sect if not elective is my worst nightmare (and i actually dreamt it few nights back). we can only pray for the best. btw your baby how many weeks old? mine was 575gm at week 24 and seems like she's smaller than most other babies here..

i think i got ask before but can't remember if anyone replied. any mommies here have fibroids during this pregnancy? mine was only discovered when i was 6 weeks pregnant and it was quite big, about 6cm (considering the uterus only 7 cm wide). then now the fibroid has grown to 9 cm but moved to a higher place near the stomach area. my gynae believes it is the fibroid stretching the ligament not the uterus expanding. quite scary cos now when i touch my tummy, i can feel how hard the fibroid is. and there's nothing i can do to remove it, until after the pregnancy. for now got to REN the pain.

fat mom, just saw your qn. i bought my belt from kiddy palace for $37 but if you're not particular can just buy 2nd hand. just google baby farlin maternity belt and there's this lady selling it for $15.

Tubbymummy,
what to do? Anyway, he is nice, just that maybe see too many doc that's why think everything normal lor.

Tiny bubu,
I bought a bouncer from Fisher Price from Toy'R Us last Sunday. There was this model we wanted very much that can convert to toddler chair later. Original price $149, 30% discount, we paid $99. Hubby assemble liao, very nice blue colour, good for boy boy! Can rock, got vibration and got a hinge that will stop the rocking. Thought it's a good bargain. We saw it at Robinson and wanted to get liao. Luckily sis provided info and we save some $$.

Caramelle,
I am in my 25 weeks, going 26 this weekend. I dunno how heavy mine is. My only worry is the baby getting too big. That's why I control my diet. Till now, I have put up around 5kg max! Not that I am looking to putting up more, but I just worried will this be enough for my bb.

LFb, maybe next time u can ask him for a specific measurement? Even if he only gives u, say, measurement for belly circumference, u can still try to check online what weight baby would be? I guess as long as baby is growing healthily, that's more important than knowing actual weight lah. If baby too small, also poses its own set of problems. So headache.

caramelle, haha... can, if I let my kid take the jab, will let u know which school she goes to next time. But as long as there are other mucky kids around, there's still a chance yours may catch something from someone else. I think I might just go for it, but will decide when the time comes. The person I know, the kid caught some pneumococcal bug, and slowly that became meningitis, that's why things got SO bad. I got really scared hearing about it.

LFB, baby at 500gm in week 25 is okay. some babies are 1kg already at week 28-29 so your baby is right on track. boy or girl?

Tubbymummy, i also read another case about this boy, son of air force officer and it's sad. boy died within weeks of diagnosis, and problem is the symptoms in early days are very much like regular infections so hard to detect. im most worried abt HFMD, that one no jab yet but i apparently in a spate of 2 years, the number of infected kids jumped frm 2000+ to 24000+.

wow,that's really expensive!!!even if we use CDA account money to pay for it, we'll still be forking out 50% of the charges - $300.crazy,man!

Sigh,but i guess better to be safe than sorry.if anything happens (touch wood), i wont be able to live with the guilt of trying to save a few dollars...

Thanks for the link caramelle, checking it out now...

Question: What is so bad about getting mumps, measles or chickenpox? Ok, I've only had measles out of the bunch (and have now taken vaccine for chicken pox), but I would have been glad to catch them when I was young, so as to develop a natural immunity against it.

Caramelle : I have fibroids too.4 to be exact. I found out about the fibroids a few weeks before I got pregnant. It started hurting when i had sex with my man or when i carried groceries home from NTUC. After going for a vaginal scan, it was confirmed. But the doctor told me that it was nothing to be worried about.

Then i found out i was pregnant and started to get worried about the fibroids affecting my baby.Gynae said the fobroids could stay inside of me throughout pregnancy as it was growing away from my womb.

During my early 2nd trimester i started having really bad stomach pains and my gynae kept giving me a lot of MC because it hurt to even walk.He told me to talk panadol if it hurt.Which i tried and it worked!i took the fast acting panadol and within 15 minutes, my pain was gone.Amazing!

recently, i asked him if after i give birth,whether i can have the fibroids removed one shot and he told me fibroids usually shrink after pregnancy and cause no harm to the mummy if it stays inside me.

i still get really bad stomach pains because in addition to my baby girl growing and stretching my tummy, my 4 fibroids are also growing in size...

what to do, need to be used to it because nothing else can be done.

before i used to tell myself that even though it hurt, i need to walk around like normal because i cant afford to be complacent and get lazy.but now the moment it starts to hurt,i take 5 and sit down till i feel better and then carry on.

i spend a bit more on taxis nowadays but no choice.would rather spend the bit of extra cash than feel like crap for hours after....

swethalo : forgive me if i'm wrong - if you put $300 into the account, the govt will top up $300 as well. so that means $300 comes from your pocket and $300 comes from govt...

sweethalo, i dont know if true but my aunt told me once you make deduction from the $ for $ topup, the govt wont top up anymore. she advise me to keep the amount if im not using it and use it later for childcare.

anyone knows if mummy have company health benefits that cover baby whether can we use for this purpose?

tiny bubu, you mean panadol helps with the pain? is it only for few hours or for long time? my fibroid also not in the way of pregnancy (for now) and im thinking of having it removed after delivery because im planning to have more kids and can't bear the thought of having to go through the same pains as now. but i also know it will recur, so im trying to use company benefit for its removal while i can. i used company benefit to remove breast lump before, yes im a lumpy girl!

my worry abt fibroids is that they grow with pregnancy because there's a hormone in us that fuels this. then they get to a stage where they start to degenerate (like mine now) i.e they get too big and dont get enough blood supply to sustain growth so they shrink a bit, but the minute the blood supply is enough for them to grow again, the whole process continues.

but like what you said, we cannot do anything abt it so pray for the best.

Yes, panadol helps. I couldnt sleep because the pain felt like somebody stepping on my internal organs with a steel toe boot.and i was crying because i thought there was nothing i could do.but dr woodworth told me panadol is ok to take as long as we dont exceed the normal dosage on the pack.normal panadol takes 30mins to take effect and lasts about 3 hours.fast acting panadol takes about 10mins to take effect and lasts 6 hours.i understand if you're hesitant to believe somebody that you met in a forum but i swear by panadol now. you may want to check with your gynae if you need reassurance.

of course, i'm not trigger happy with the panadol and popping them every couple of hours but it's damn good to know if i feel like crap, i can always pop 2 tablets and relieve the pain.

Also, i used to not be able to sleep because my baby kept kicking me all night.i felt like crap at work and before i knew it, i was having 3-4 hour sleep every night for 2 weeks in a row. i told dr woodworth and he gave me this flu medication to take.he charged me $2 for 10 tablets.he told me to take 1 before bed time.and MY GOD, i had the best sleep ever.i woke up feeling refreshed and best of all, gynae tells me it doesnt harm the baby at all.the baby is still active like mad during the night but because i'm so sleepy,i dont even feel it.

i wanted to remove the fibroids as well but dunno what excuse to give my company for it to be covered.... when i checked with my doctor before pregnancy, he kept telling me since it's not life threatening, no need to remove.grrrr.... now too late to remove already!

Ahnetsan, cot bed mattress comes in size 2", 3" and even 4"

Fatmom, maybe I should drop by ship restaurant one day as it sounds yummy *slurp slurp*
Brazilian wax is safe however quite painful doh! Strip offers pretty good deal and they are located at Suntec City.

Cassey, I have seen those dark belly button and it looks dirty to me... I got this dark hairy line cuts in between my belly, not really straight but slightly offline! Hopefully they will go away after delivery *haiz*

Ahnetsan/Cassey, that young little girl is pretty spoilt by grandparents hence it getting alittle out of hands now.
Smack her upside down? I guess I would do that! However her parents only try to convince or even beg her to eat veggie.

Caramelle/Tinybubu,
I have cysts before and during the first 2months of pregnancy and it went away after that... My gynae told me that cysts may grow back in any time so just pray that they are gone away forever. Hope that everything will be fine for us

for taka fair, my hb only will go wif me on sunday... cos he says sunday best, no ERP, and parking is cheaper, but the crowd will be like mad lah...
and dunno wat to get from there too, go look see look see first. i even complained later all the good stuff kenna snatched le how? den he say aiya, wont one lah. haiz...guys...forever not kan cheong one.. or am i too kiasu? hahahahha

wah if that ex jab can be used from the govt baby bonus thing, den it's ok... heehee jus told my hb abt this ex jab, he say "wah, but bo bian lor, got to take wat, wat if next time... in case... den how?? better to be safe than sorry."

heeehee.. now i feel like having famous amos cookies again.

me nt gg to the talk on sat... hb says he wan to work leh... he rather earn dat extra day of work than to listen to some talk...

i din buy BM bags or glass bottles leh... scare skali buy liao but no milk den how?
plan to latch on so no need to ebm. read feb thread dat some mummies dun ebm, they jus let bb latch on. plus even if i ebm and put in bags or glass bottles, the fridge so messy and smelly, also no space to put, later contaminate the milk. haha

Re Taka Fair
I checked the website. It's from 12-29 Mar. So you will have time if you are not free these few days.

Re Cord Blood
I'm also thinking about donating it if I'm not signing up with Cordlife or Stemcord. It's precious and may help someone else. May I know which organization takes charge of the donation of cord blood? Sorry if it's mentioned and I missed it.

Re Fri's gathering
Cassey, just to double check. I know I was very late in replying your email about the contacts. Are there any more emails which had circulated but I wasn't in the mailing list cos of this? I'll end up in the east if my schedule persist. But if there's changes, I'll be more than happy to join at JP Mac's, or maybe even to be early to grab seats.

Tinybubu, hopefully ur fibroids will really shrink after delivery. It's quite scary to have 4 fibroids adding to the discomfort that we already are feeling cos of the pregnancy.

ahnetsan, me also wanna try letting bb latch on. but heard sometimes bb can't finish the milk. so we hv to express and empty so that new supply will kick in. i'm attending parentcraft starting next week. hopefully there's something on breast feeding. we need to latch bb to both breasts right? so when to know time to switch bb over to the other side? ha.. is this a stupid question?

looks like many of us going to Taka fair this weekend. Hubby said He wants go Sat cos we usually go MIL's place. Think it will crowded too lor, then he will be paranoid that someone is coming over to knock me over. Sigh.

Mika Rei, Ahnetsan,
I wanted to BF whole scale, but my sis kept telling me don't be too ambitious! I didn't buy any bottles yet. As for the EBM, can pump into storage bag I heard. Will look for that later date. Apparently, bb will stop when they are full, and from what I read, we should switch after bb drink one side already. Think bb will usually drink both side to be contented. Any mommy with experience to enlighten us?

Just to check, many of us joing WBB class next weekend huh? Me too!

Morning mummies! i decided to take MC today.might pop by the taka fair later.muahahahaha. but must be in stealth mode because my office is very near to taka.wait see all my colleagues walking past me going to MOS burger.then i'm dead...

Hi caramelle,

I had cysts for my 1st pregnancy (sui liew), 1 at each side. Was being remove when I completed my 1st tri because gynae worry it will burst. That time I was so worried, 1st time pregnant and have to go thru operation while bb still in the uterus. Lucky everything ok.

morning...

haha, tiny bubu, how are u gg to be stealth mode with a tummy in front!? Best if u wear something that your colleagues are not familiar with as well n stay away from the boundaries of the fair, during lunch time. Do ur shopping more within the mazes of shelves and carts.

Ladies. FYI.. Burberry Sale. Suntec Convention Hall 303-305, Level 3 From 11-14 March 10am-9pm. Non Refundable/Non Exchangeable

hi all... i had a dermoid cyst detected during week 5 too when scanning for waterbag. it was 5cm then... now that you all have mentioned, i shd check with my gynae what the condition of it is now.. 'cos i totally forgot abt it!

i'm taking leave tmr to go to the baby fair (feeling lazy to work towards the end of the week already). flipped today's straits times and saw that there are weekend specials only from 13-15 Mar. i suppose they have weekly specials... perhaps tinybubu would consider going tmr/over the weekend instead? means one day MC wasted of course hehee

more sale info (apart from baby fair):

Burberry Sale
Suntec Convention Hall
303-305 Level 3
11-14 March 2009
10am-9pm
Non-Refundable/Non-Exchangeable

Puma/Adidas/Nike sale near Leng Kee
8 Chang Chern Road
Link (THM) Building
Starts 12th March 2009, 5-8pm

Barbie 50th Anniversary Sale
From 6 to 29 March 09
50% off regular priced apparals only
At BHG, CK Tang, ISetan, John Little, metro, OG, Kiddy Palace, Takashimaya, Cher Kids, Baby Chloe, Kids Mall (IMM)

Pre-Stocktake Toy Clearance
Everything from S$1 and 30% to 90% off usual price !!!
Time: 10am to 6.30pm (Monday to Friday), 10am to 5pm (Saturday to Sunday)
Venue: Blk 171 Kallang Way Kolam Ayer Industrial Estate #05-03 Singapore 349250
Date: 11th Mar 2009 to 17th Mar 2009
Brands: WowWee, Siverlit, Barbie, Hello Kitty, Jakks Pacific, Speedtech, and many other character toys i.e. Batman, Spiderman, Transformer, Sesame Street, Spongebob, Pokemon, Toy Story, Dora the Explorer.
Payment Mode: Cash/ Visa or Master (S$30 and above)

The Body Shop Warehouse Sale
11 to 14 March 2009
Wed to Sat 11am to 8pm
Suntec Singapore Convention
Gallery West Level 3 (next to Pearl River Palace Restaurant) Free Gift with purchases of $50 or more(valid for first 3000 customers daily)

Mika, I'm also wondering the same thing haha. Cos read in some books that some babies may actually be full afer drinking from one side, but I was wondering, how to know?? Not like they come with some built in indicator...

LFB, my fren told me the opposite from what your sis said
My fren said MUST be ambitious, and must think that you WILL succeed and keep trying very hard. Cos if you're not ambitious, then the moment baby cries more cos maybe milk supply not established or whatever, you'll think of giving up.

tinybubu, do u usually dress up nicely and put on make up when going to work? If yes, then stealth mode may have to be "ah soh mode" hahaha...

Ladies, hope it is useful to u all.

Upcoming sales

Burberry Sale
11 – 14 March
10am – 9pm
Suntec Convention Hall 303-305

Body Shop Warehouse Sale
Up to 70% savings; FREE Gift with purchases above $50 or more (Valid for the first 3,000 customers only)
11 – 14 March
11am – 8pm
Suntec Convention Level 3 Gallery West (near Pearl River)

Charles & Keith Warehouse Sale
Up to 70% off
12 – 15 March
10am – 8pm
21 Tai Seng St

Crazy Warehouse Sale
Brands like Renoma, Goldlion, BUM, The Cocoa Trees etc; Ladies/Men’s wear, Undergarments, Kidswear, Accessories, Chocolates etc; Prices from $3
12 – 15 March
10am – 10pm
Suntec Convention Rm 202

Jean Perry Home Linen Fair
Special Buys from $1; Discounts up to 80%
12 – 15 March
11am – 9pm
Suntec Convention Rm 201

IT Show @ Suntec
12 – 15 March
12pm – 9pm
Suntec Convention Levels 1-4 & 6

The Lingerie Shop – Knock-out Sale
Up to 90% Ladies & mens
Till 16 March
Mon-Sat 11am – 7.30pm
Sun 12pm – 5pm
B1-07 Palais Renaissance

Tubbymummy,

yes, I agreed. I will go on no matter what. They find me very idealistic when I mention I have no intention to use fourmula milk at all. I have friends who only feed BM all throughout till solid food and still will feed BM. Will pray very hard. I am thinking of not only bb's benefit, but also mine, and also hubby's pocket. I will be out of job next year, must help hubby save money mah. My only worry is Oct and Nov cos I am working and need to pump milk for storage for bb. See how.

blurmom,
i tink its just cotton wool thats why losses its shape after wash. similarly for the pillow and bolster, so u might want to reconsider getting the whole set. for pillows and bolsters, babysafe is still the best. but dont buy their bumpers unless u wana handwash.

tubbym,
my cot is bigger than infant cot, its 28 x 52 inches so the aussino sheets fit perfectly. i dont know what is ur cot size so i cnt comment. but the material and elastic sides are quite good, u can pull until tight tight and it wont come off even after a few days. however im not sure if its dangerous. u may wana check with the staff.

pneumococcal jab
my girl took before she turned 1. its 3 jabs, and $160 each. dont think can use cda a/c leh but im not sure. but some PDs claim that if child does not go childcare/ infantcare, theres no need to take so early. once u pass a certain age, u only need to have 1 jab.

LFB, as long as u persevere, I'm sure u can manage the pumping at office routine. I used to watch my colleagues carry their backpack (maybe Medela PIS) to a meeting room or handicap toilet and lock themselves inside to pump. They do that maybe 2-3 times a day, and kept that up for some months, so I think u can do it for 2 months. Jiayou! know ppl will think I'm mad for wanting to try so hard also, so I choose to only talk abt these things to a couple of my frens, one is very supportive, and one is mother of 3, BFed all 3 of her kids (never touch FM at all), so I only get good vibes haha. Of cos there's no guarantee I'll succeed, but I'll very hard

FirstMum, the person i know of, the kid fell ill with pneumococcal disease at less than 6mths I think, and also didn't attend infantcare. Guess it's a matter of luck. So now I'm wondering if I should just take up on the jab when baby is small, but it's more expensive lor... Oh, my cot is 24x48. Your 28 x 52 is the perfect size for the sheets. Ya, maybe later I go Aussino and ask the staff, I'll be in town anyway.

RE: Breastfeeding

It's recommended to feed baby with 1 bb, then alternate between the feeds.

This is to ensure that bb gets to the hind milk which is like dessert to us, hind milk contains has the highest concentration of fats, it helps e baby gain weight

Morning Ladies!

Firstmum, tks for the info! Heng haven't buy yet, hahaha...

My gums are bleeding badly and sore on my wisdom tooth side! Now I really regret for not removing that useless tooth and its giving me hell of of problem. Argh!!!! Sob sob

ahnetsan, yah later all the good things at taka baby fair taken HOW?? i take all lah! haha..tonight if i go, i check out what are the good buys and report here okay? i think Tubbymummy going earlier, is it this morning?

Mika and ahnetsan, yes correct after baby's milk feed it's best to express the remaining milk so body can produce more milk and at next feed, baby get fresh milk. i hear it's about 15-20mins per breast, no more than 30 minutes then must change. experienced mummies care to share?

capriho, was it painful to remove? day surgery is it?

Shelisa, thanks for info on Burberry sale. maybe can check out the Burberry stroller! hehe

stickymouse, most gynaes esp those busy ones will not mention abt the cysts/fibroids in subsequent visits because they dont want to worry you. if nothing serious, they wont mention so think yours is one of those that's not interfering with the pregnancy. dr tham knows i take a serious view on it, and mine is causing pain now that's why he brought it up. otherwise he also wont make mention of it i guess. hopefully all is okay with you..btw you and Shelisa are the best lah consolidating info on sales!

re taka baby fair: nvm today can looksie2 then weekend we buy!

LFB, you and I have same fear about Oct and Nov..that means after we come back from ML. but don't worry, many mommies do it. just tell your boss you need about 15-30mins around 3-4pm to express. you'll need a fridge in the office to store so put in a black bag to minimise curious eyes. and if possible get a clean room, last resort is toilet. i planned a schedule 9am, 12noon and 3pm, or 1pm and 5pm then i must BF in the morning around 7am before i go work. we will all support each other.

hi caramelle,

Is not day surgery, I stayed at hospital for few days, that's why i was so worried of my bb. I still remember before I doze off, I still begging the doctor to make sure my bb is safe.

ya, lucky it was over, but when he was born (@ 37W2D), he has immature lung and stayed at NICU for 1 week, don't know is it part of the reason.

hmm..maybe not. dont think too much cos it's over now okay?

i have 2 questions maybe you can help with?
- if we need to induce the baby to come out, must we pay extra to the hospital? like when we use epi (although for diff purpose) but im just wondering if need to pay more?

- my SIL gave me the Avent steriliser and it says it will keep the bottles sterilised as long as i don't open. but if i sterilise 4 bottles and i need to use one, surely must open the thing so the rest will become "unsterilised" after that? then if i need to use bottle 2 must sterilise again is it?