(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

I m not sure when the deposit is exactly required and cld vary between hospitals. I m repeating what my clinic nurse told me. If TMC calls me, I will update again.

Think TMC one follow this table.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/fees.htm
If got medisave, single-bedded, deposit is $1200. Hope I read the table correctly.
Yup, deposit cannot use medisave.

anyway, now come to think of it, doesnt matter your medisave even more than $3k also cannot use all right? cos there's a limit on the medisave deduction? think it's $1350 for normal + $450 for antental checkups. not sure how much for c-sect..

There is a minimal amt that we need in our combined medisave (with hb) before we can use our medisave to claim for delivery. I read this somewhere in the CPF website before. I can't rem how many thousands.

Hello! me back from visiting friends in MAH. I was supposed to visit around lunch time, so didn't have time to run around buy baby items like blankets or creams or whatever, so end up I bought a half dozen box of chicken essence, and a small bouquet of flowers. I know flowers & fruits will sure get thrown away, but still, she hadn't received any flowers yet, to it was nice to put mine down
Bright happy sunflower.

I went wondering on my own for a bit to check out the hospital under normal circumstances (that means, not while I'm on hosp tour), and it seems ok. My fren's wife was in a 2-bedder in the older wing, looked like standard 2-bedder lor. But the 2-bedders in the newer wing looks nicer. She told me that they are very pro BFing, and this morning a lactation consultant already came in to help her with BF, and she has already managed to latch baby on successfully (she only gave birth in wee hours of this morning). While I was there, 1 nurse came in, think she was Filipino, she was very smiley & friendly. She wheeled baby in, and within 5 min, another lactation consultant came in to check on the BFing. I feel quite assured now, knowing that the staff there are so helpful with the BFing

The medisave claimable for C-sec is $2,750. The $450 claimable for antenatal costs is the same.

i jus checked with my fren. she say no need to haf a minimum amt in combined medisave (with hb) leh before we can use medisave to claim for delivery.

tubbymummy, wah, cool, ur fren's wife so lucky, managed to get bb latched on within such a short time!!

btw, haf u all decided whether to take single bedded or 2-bedded?

minimum amt required in combined medisave only applies for 5th birth onward...

btw, have decided for 2 bedder... single bedder too ex...

innocentwar, so min amt only req for 5th birth onwards... wah who will give birth to 5 children sia... shiong leh...

eh wah need $15 combined?

so nw is need or dun need min amt?

from the cpf website...

Q: Can I withdraw Medisave to pay maternity expenses?

A: Medisave can be used to pay the delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses incurred for the delivery of the first four living children of the mother on or after 1 August 2004. Prior to 1 August 2004, Medisave can only be used to pay the delivery expenses incurred for delivery of the first three living children.

Medisave can also be used to pay the delivery and pre-delivery expenses incurred for the delivery of the fifth and subsequent child of the mother on or after 1 August 2004, if both parents have a combined Medisave balance of at least $15,000 in their Medisave accounts at the time of delivery.

The patient can use her own, spouse and/or immediate family members’ Medisave to pay the delivery and pre-delivery expenses. Immediate family members include patient’s parents and children.

The pre-delivery expenses have to be claimed under the Medisave Maternity Package. However, post-natal consultation fees cannot be claimed under Medisave

Q: What is the Medisave Maternity Package?

A: The Medisave Maternity Package is a package that allows Medisave to be used to pay expenses incurred during delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses such as consultations, ultrasounds, tests, medications etc. Prior to 1 August 2004, Medisave cannot be used for pre-delivery expenses.

ahnetsan, thanks for looking out for me. yah that's the one i want but her price quite high, i can get it cheaper with a 20% storewide discount at robinson's. anyway msg her already to make an offer so see how..

re TMC 2-bedder i heard due to limited beds end up most mummies will be upgraded to single bedder right? this was when they were renovating the 2-bedders and there was only 2 rooms each.

think maybe now will have more 2-bedders cos reno finished already I think... Maybe they're short of 2-bedders, cos some who opt for 4-bedders get complimentary upgrade to a 2-bedder, as long as their doctors are TMC docs or under their scheme or something. Right?

wah if due to limited beds, most mummies ended up being upgraded to single bedder, den do they charge by 2-bedder or 1-bedder rate?

yeah lor, her price quite high leh, let's see wat's her best offer.

heng ar, no need min amt for cpf medisave, if need, i also dunno whether me and hb combined got so much or not... for me, i defintely dun haf. hahaahaha

dunno leh, i find this whole upgrading thing so confusing. I assume u still pay the lower room rate, cos they give u the upgrade, not u asked for it what.

ahnetsan, if they upgrade you, they will charge 2-bedder if that's what you're booked on initially.

btw, did any mummy hear that in june usually there are more deliveries? my teacher friend was telling me that some teachers plan to deliver in end-june so they can have extended maternity leave...shiok ah cos june already holidays (although must come back on some days but mostly quite relax) then from july to november maternity leave then december school hols again!

dunno leh, i find this whole upgrading thing so confusing. I assume u still pay the lower room rate, cos they give u the upgrade, not u asked for it what.

Yes, u pay the lower room rate if u are being upgraded due to issues with room availability.

June got more ppl delivering? Dunno leh. It's not like u can control your conception so well that u can be sure u are due in June....
Sure, u can plan when to do it but whether u hit the jackpot at the right time... eh.. how to control!

caramelle, actually quite true, didn't realise it until u mentioned about the sch hols and all.

Ok own up, how many of u here are teachers?? Hehe...

Tubby best hor? and if you come back to work like 1 month before school hols, most likely you'll be doing relief teaching cos you don't have a form class. so fun!

Hahaha.... no ill intentions lah. I actually think it's nice, cos u get to go thru your last preg month feeling a bit more relaxed since it's June hols, then at most go back in Nov for a while, then it's hols again, it lets the mummy have more time with baby, by the time sch starts again in Jan, baby also 6mths old already. If I were a teacher, I'll prob wanna try to plan it that way too!

But of course, planning is one thing, actually achieving it is another, like u said. Still, no harm trying

talking abt this planning thing, don't know if you all heard abt the chinese calendar which states the mummy's age, conceived month and can predict whether you have girl or boy. my colleague gave me this table right after i got married and i was following it diligently to have baby in april (coincide with hubby) but didn't work leh..cos so stress. so if you ask me, i think the planning thing don't really work.

wah who are teachers here ar? i also din realise abt the june holidays and dec holidays. damn shiok right like dat?
why din i become a teacher??
wat a waste.... haha

hmm.. the planning doesnt really work but i find the table very accurate so far.. cos based on the few mommies in my office & friends, their baby gender is really as per the table accordingly to their age & conceived month..

yeah yeah i also find the table accurate leh!!! i also haf dat chinese calendar thingy. hee... and it was accurate for my frens and for me.

wah amk_gal, you are a teacher??!! cool!! den ur maternity leave coincides wif the hols and it's so shiok right?

There are actually two tables floating ard on this and there are slight differences between the two. Dunno which one is more accurate but both predict salah for me!

My mum did her own calculation from some chinese book n told me it's a boy when I told her my EDD. Said that unless my gynae calculate my EDD wrongly, it shd be correct. Told me that my first edd date of 25 Jun is 3rd day of the 2nd lunar 5th month, so it's a boy. If EDD is in the first lunar 5th mth, it's a gal. Anyway, she is so zun. I was teasing her to set up a consultancy for this since the website didn't predict it right for me. LOL.

I dunno how to use that chinese calendar thingy. Some ppl told me that it's chinese age match to angmoh month, some ppl say it's both chinese age and chinese lunar month, some other ppl say something else altogether. So what should it be??

My cat has fallen asleep on my lap. He looks so cute, I don't wanna wake him up. But I'm feeling very uncomfortable, can't shift into a more comfy position!!

Cat mummies, did u all research on any strategies to intro baby to the cat(s) at home?

sian!!! the little boy kenna bang his head again!!! i saw the boy lie on his back liao, and he was crying!!! yet fil say dun haf lor.. he jus wont admit lor...damn him!!!!!!!!

<font color="0077aa">innocentwar, it's not that we don't drink powdered milk. It's more like most of us detest the taste of Similac and have leftover samples we're struggling to finish. I hope you have better results with the other threads!!

First Mum - That's hilarious! Slim body, big bump! That is a choice ma... for ppl like bbjun &amp; creamer, etc!! Just not for the rest of us commoners.

Tubbym~, I want bb &amp; hubby with me so probably going to single ward.

caramelle, that's what a lot of ppl say - esp about TMC. That you pay for lower grade even if you are upgraded. But while I've heard some ppl say that it's true, I've also heard from others &amp; hospital staff during tour that you pay for upgrade... i.e. you pay for the kinda ward you eventually use. Hmm... That was what I experienced with Gleneagles... that's what the Thomson and Mt. A personnel told me too... So I have my doubts.</font>

Cassey, me too, gonna choose single bedder, cos I want to recuperate in peace. Heard some 2-bedder ppl say that it's very difficult to rest when your neighbour has endless flow of visitors etc. Earlier when I was at MAH, the next bed person was pumping milk, and the machine was going "wwhhrrr-wwhhrrr" throughout the entire period I was there. I might go crazy if it were me. I don't want to be the person bothering other ppl as well. AND I also want hubby to stay with me.

read this post somewhere...

[Hi mummies,
Would like to share tips how to trained ur baby to sleep well during nite time. Rinse or wipe ur bb at about 9pm.( try to distract your bb not to let them sleep at evening time at abt 6pm) Do bb massage at the same time talk to them. Make sure that their playpen or bb cot bed is lay with cotton comforters as they will feel more comfortable. Once finish with the massage, put ur bb in and talk again as at the same time pat their forehead, nose bridge and ears. Do not carry them or rock them around, as they will want the same thing you need to do everytime during bedtime. Try these method or just email us at [email protected] if you've any quires abt your bb or abt breastfeeding with no obligation.]

can serve as a guide for us next time.

As part of Singapore push to create a more compassionate society, The Singapore Kindness Council is producing a series of photography adverts to promote kindness in our everyday life. One of the adverts shows that we can help by giving up our seats in the trains and buses to mothers who are expecting.

As such, we are calling all expecting mothers to come forward and be part of our photography shoot next Tues 10th or Wed 11th March. the photography shoot will take 4 hours long and selected mothers will be reimbursed with S$1000 for their contribution. Interested parties pls call our casting director Delvin Lee at 8233 7533 to make an appointment.

wow cool reimbursement of $1000 wor... anyone going for it?

i've jus read in a thread dat babies are best not to sleep in aircon room... is dat true??

I am home, was busy at work so didn't manage to come here the whole day.

Diaper bag
Didn't know TMC give bag, I got mine quite some time ago. Haiz.. Not cheap leh, cost me more than $100.

Booking Confirmation Letter
Hmm.. How come my gynae didn't mention about the letter to me? I was told to choose hospital and how many bedded ward only, was done when I'm 24 weeks' scanning.

Upgrading
I know when Thomson do upgrade for you due to no room available, you pay the bedded you chose initially. My sis who gave birth a couple of years ago got her free upgrade.
I choose a 4-bedded room as there isn't much in Thomson and also don't think I can sleep well in any room as my nose is sensitive to air-con during sleep.

I havent read archive, shall continue later if there is a need.

hmmm if people can give up seats to pregnant mothers it'll be so nice. but i camera shy... and my bump is so small, hardly look pregnant...

anyone going?

haf u all decided on what brand to buy for baby shampoo, shower, oil and stuff like dat??

is johnson&amp;johnson still a good brand? i grew up using tat brand... nw g0t so many other brands

managed to come in only now, busy day.

Re: Bed
I have chose single, from start. Think better to rest well when I can after birth. And I also have big family, more of me disturbing others than they doing to me. Ha ha ha!

Re: Diaper bag
When you pay the FBI, they let you choose the bag. I chose haversack cos it's brown and I can removed the ugly sponsor tab. Did that liao. At least hubby can carry when we go out. Think will settle with that. Sigh, better save some $$ since going to be jobless next year. The hospital will give this lime green sling bag that is totally opiang, in my opinion. SIL uses, yikes!

Re: Take photo
As mentioned, think they prefer nice looking preggie. I am seriously big, ah soh and da glam. No need to contemplate, will just forget it!

Re: Teacher
Ya, I heard that too. So nice hor? But how to calculate, unless you are super fertile and everytime sure zun!

RE: I received the confirmation from TMC when I was I enter 2nd tri. But paper on my table, haven't fill up. Maybe I go ask nurse next week.