(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

wah! TubbyMummy don't get so worried

I heard that as we enter into 3rd trimester must really apply alot of cream cos that's the time bump grows the fastest

hi mummies.. i have a can of unopened similac mom to give away... any taker? cos i oredi have a can of enfamum which i probably can't finish too... btw, i'm working and stays at north-east area...

TubbyMummy must have think too much of getting stretchmarks, hee..

Guess we can't control that right?

First Mum, I think ntuc household brand will not be as good? I tried its rice once, not to my liking.

Is it? Can ask my hubby buy from watson when he's on the way home then. Hee...

sweethalo, i am quite lazy plus forgetful in these types of applying. Anyway most impt thing is don't ever stretch your tummy even u can't stand its itch. It will definitely worsen the marks.

innocentwar, sorry that i don't drink milk powder. Can't stand the smell whether before or during pregnancy, just make me vomit lo. Haiz..

good morning ladies!

My tummy has grown so much the last two weeks that skin at tummy feel so stretch that I think it's gg to burst at times. I really wonder how much more it can grow. Everytime this stretchy feeling comes, I will wonder if any stretch marks is formed. Will check my tummy every morning when applying the cream.

Re: milk powder
Aiyo, I just finished my tin of similac last week and only left a couple of sachets (samples) to finish. I put most of these in office for just in case hunger pangs moments. I was so happy that I finished that tin that I m drinking Meiji low fat milk this week. sorry, innocentwar. Really dun like the milk powder.

Re:bb position
I don't think we shd be worrying about BB's position at this point. They will usually turn in the 3rd trimester but not in the 2nd. During most of my scans, it shows that BB is lying inclined. Not turned as well. What cassey shared are the usual tips provided in most books n websites that may help BB to turn in the 3rd trimester. So don't worry so much about BB's position now.

Re:baby avenue
Been there a couple of times and only bought a bath tub n stand from them. Agree that they have more items on stroller and car seat. The rest of the bb pdts, incldg cots, are not exactly gg at attractive prices. Pdt variety is also not that much.

<font color="aa00aa">Creamer >> No leh, like quite wierd to hang it there like that.. somemore is dual pump.. i think i will totally laugh at myself lor.. i saw Mumsfairy selling at the fair though... not sure how much... wanna start stocking up on bottles liao... think i will bring the ameda original out with me, then can buy compatible bottles...

tubbymummy >> i heard there's another baby fair in March.. maybe the sale even better then? Otherwise can always loan you the mums r us vip card when i receive it ma... hehe

re : weight
just had my checkup.. gained 1kg in the last month.. !! Doc says that's v good.. cos bb grew well and i din gain much on myself heeee
but i think hard to keep up with this for the next few months lor.. lol
gonna exceed the target he set for me, which is 10kg till full term aaaaahh!!!

re : vitamins
i think we need 1200mg of calcium a day.. the supplement maybe only 350 or 450mg nia... so my b'fast every morning is standard one, 2 slices of hi-cal milk bread, 1 slice of cheese, and 1 fried egg (sandwich).. filling, low-fat and healthy.. plus a small apple..
i think that's why i manage to maintain the weight also. cos starting, almost every morning ba zhang, nasi lemak, beehoon that type... gained super fast, 4 kg in 1st trimester!!
now, it slow down liao... heh.
and i think nutrition-wise.. now better lor.. calcium shd be pretty close to the daily requirement..
I'm not taking any fish oil, but my MIL stuffs me with fish everyday. Expensive fish - while the rest of them eat the normal fried batang type, i get a whole steamed grouper to myself (and she makes sure i finish the whole thing).. lol.. quite the fortunate, so i giving her additional jia yong during this period as well... cos, feeding my son as well ma.. hee

re : bump size
i think mine quite big wor... hahaa... and bb is super active, esp on MRT.. i think the "too-tooo-too" of the door closing disturbs him LOL

re : sale :
John Little members' preview starts today till 5 Mar !
Robinsons member preview, from tomorrow..!!
erm.. same card right.. haa "internal competition"</font>

morning mummies.

audrey, any recommendations on what type of towel to get for drying baby after bath? also there's a brand called goldbug (available at tangs/robinson/og) that sells the face towel. this one also must get special towel is it? looks like my 3M microfiber towel..hehe. maybe for quicker drying?

btw Tubbmymummy, not sure if i promised you or someone else..but confirm the freestyle at KKH first few years is $799. just checked it again after my class last week. hope this helps!

re: wipes
my friends strongly recommend J&amp;J wet wipes. it's soft and thick. get it during sale which is around 9.90 for 3 packs.

re: diapers
First Mum, i read from some online forums with other mummies saying it's good cos it's material is equivalent to pampers active baby and half the price. i am considering to order. u wanna share? U can try NEPIA too. i read it's good also. and it's cheaper. =D Goo.N is selling New Born (58 pcs) @ 18.80 with delivery charges unless u order over $80 while Nepia is selling New Born (60 pcs) @ 15.00 with free delivery.

anyone here has the robinson's card and going to the cardmembers preview? i want to buy allerhand diaper bag..so hope can "tompang" someone. hehe..
let me know okay?

morning gals...

i also have a tin of unopened similac mum to give away. im in the east...

audrey,
duno. never tried ntuc brand wipes before so cnt comment. cold storage also has their own brand No Frills.

bing,
i will use a mixture of petpet and nepia for my newborn. ntuc brand is not bad also although need to change more often. but ok since NBs poo alot. as for goo.n diapers, ive tried. and i dont really like it. nepia is my fave, soft and works very well for my girl, although shes got v sensitive skin. even better than pampers and mamy poko.

11_beans,
whats the JL members sale abt? any additional discounts for card members?

caramelle, how much is the diaper bag?

ahnetsan, I m one of those with robinson card but didn't get the mailer. Think they decided to forget me cos I haven't bought much from them for the past year. :p

caramelle,
for infants, get the hooded towels. its not too big and can cover the head before coming out from the bathroom, less likely to catch cold. pigeon brand is not very absorbent. u may wana check out aussino.

btw mummies, aussino has the BEST value fitted cot sheets (but commonly out of stock). cheap and lasting. babysafe was a disppointment, even though it's so costly.

bbjun, bag is $128 without discount so with 20% should be $102.40. im not sure if they will do the 20% storewide over the weekend, if yes then i can go buy myself..would you know?

caramelle,
er..depends on how often u wana change it loh. 3 to play safe ba, otherwise 2 is enough. also if your baby is the type grow v fast then hooded towels may only last 9-12 mths? before they become too small.

caramelle, I m not sure whether there is a storewide thingy over the weekend. But based on ahnetsan's post, it should be cos it's supposed to last till 22 mar. 4 &amp; 5 is for members only.

Just realised I can't go cos tom is dinner day with my mum n then Thurs I have a telco meeting with someone in States at 9plus pm. Think I will just pop by if I have time on Friday to have a look. I want to see if this bag is better than what TMC gives. If so, may consider buying cos intend to send BB to infant care. May be good to have two bags. Was hoping to look for one that is more like a backpack rather than a sling.

caramelle, not me hehe. I bought the Medela Swing already. Figured that since I won't be returning to work, the pump will just be complementing my BF routine, so didn't wanna spend so much $ on a dual pump.

11_beans, thanks for sharing your MomsRus card
But I won't need to buy the Ameda pump, I was helping a couple of others here look out for it at the fair. I'm glad you got a good deal. I already ordered and paid up for the Medela Swing before I read up about the open/closed system thing, so oh well, I'll just stick to that for now. Maybe some other mummy here can benefit from your VIP card if they wanna get from MomsRus

First Mum, thankfs for the tips, will go check out Aussino. Do they carry various sheet sizes? Cos I think baby mattress got a few sizes right. Thankfully I didn't buy the babysafe ones, saw them selling $19.90 for fitted sheet. Are baby cot sheets usually this price? I thought it was a bit expensive for a small piece of cloth haha. Oh, have u tried the Ikea sheets before? I think the dimensions are just nice for my cot mattress.

bbjun, my friend really loves her Avent backpack. Comes with a few compartments, all with pockets etc, so lots of space to stuff baby knick knacks. Maybe u can check it out, but I'm not sure if it's commonly available in all stores, I don't remember seeing it (but I wasn't looking out for it either, maybe that's why).

Question: I'm going to visit a friend in hospital later, his wife just gave birth. What present do I need to buy? I thought of fruits or flowers, but I'm sure she'll get lots of these, end up being thrown out also, so like very wasted. Any other good things to buy?

thanks First Mum and bbjun.

ok nvm, will take the risk for this weekend. otherwise im sure there'll be another 20% storewide before june! the bag im getting is a sling bag. hubby loves it because once you unzip the bag, the contents don't fall out yet it opens up easy enough for you to take the things without needing to dig through the whole bag. at first i think a bit wasteful to pay $100+ for a diaper bag, but since hubby likes it, i won't say much. there are many different models including a backpack one i saw, but the one i want includes a thermal bottle holder and many compartments - backpack should have the same features so go take a look!

tubbymummy,
the aussino sheets fit my 28" by 52" perfectly. im not sure if smaller cots u can just pull the extra cloth underneath the mattress, u have to check with the shop. i tink it was 19.90 for 2 sheets. the babysafe bumper also v lousy, it totally lost its shape after i washed it once and it costs me like $89.90!

oh ya, ikea bumpers are gd and cheap. after many machine wash cycles, still retain form. but the material of the plain/ white cot sheets are quite coarse, compared to aussino(which is flannel).

Tubbymummy, what would YOU like if i go visit you after you give birth? i'd imagine baby products no? like clothes or baby soap/lotion? im not sure if there are diaper hampers but would imagine this is very useful for a new mum. hope this helps!

tubbymummy, thanks. I will go have a look at Avent one again. Cos the last few times I saw, they also selling more of the sling ones lately.

If cot bedsheets are too big, just fold underneath. That's what the sales ppl will tell u. Same for bumper... just let it overlaps.

Re:visit
Buy something more practical lor. Depends on ur budget. Noel has gifts gg at $50 which consists of diapers or BB clothes set. I think these are more practical than flowers and fruits. I m sure they dun more having more diapers.

Ok, thanks for suggestions. It's kinda last min, just got news today and I'll be going down to see them in the next hour or so, so like very rushed, my brain kinda stopped working haha.

<font color="0077aa">First mum, actually, I kinda like that my bump is "small", although I think it isn't leh. But I feel good when ppl comment that my bump isn't tt big for my stage. Am I being bimbotic?! I know bb's growing fine and that's all I care abt. Better good size bb, mini bump than the other way round leh!!

Tubbym~, where were you all day yesterday? Your dream is so silly!! I've been having the dumbest dreams. Books say we usually still have those dreams, but with more interrupted sleep, we tend to remember more. =) Good thing it isn't real!

11_Beans, good on you! for the 1kg gain in 4 wks! I think my little fella doesn't like crowds.. he's very very still whenever I'm on public transport. But like mummy, he loves food and will always stir mid-way thru and after meals.

One thing daddy loves about our little one is that he always makes a fuss when I squish him. So whenever I lie on my left, he'll kick the left. Whenever I lie on my right, he'll kick up a fuss on the right. It's hilarious the way he fusses inside whenever I'm trying to get to sleep.

Tubbym~, for your friend and wife, I think a nice basket of consumables will make a nice practical gift. A basket of toiletries for bb(shampoo, bath gel, powder, massage oil... etc. etc.) and perhaps nipple cream for mummy.</font>

Jamie

Sorry for the late reply, of course Medela Electronic pump is better than Avent one. If Avent, you will get very frustrated cos you will get a handache and you will find you can not pump enough milk for your little one.

Gals if you are buying maternity wear. visit: http://www.coozfashion. I am a member and got a promotional code: cooz10. key in that to get 10% of when check out. Last this month.

HELLO EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!

tubbymummy, you certainly had a scary dream wor... made me lift up my shirt to check my tummy too when i read abt ur dream...hahaha

bbjun, wat week are u in nw? how does the stretchy feeling feel like? is it like itchy or tight feeling?
yeah, i also love meiji low fat milk... rather than those powdered ones.

wow 11_beans, wat week are u in nw? wow,lucky you!! how did u manage to do tat?? only gained 1kg in one month! envy envy envy

caramelle, the robinson sale lasts til 22 March, jus dat during 4th and 5th march, there's additional up to 10% discount for cardmembers.

bbjun, TMC gives a backpack, but the backpack given by FBI is better looking than the TMC ones. (shit, dat reminds me, i havent sent cheque for the FBI, must remind hb to do so before im 29weeks)

btw, i haf a hand-me-down cot bed... can anyone advice which baby mattress to get? is there any brand or any better mattress for baby?
so, it's better to get baby mattress bedsheet from aussino is it?

tubbymummy, haf u decided wat to get for ur fren? hw abt chicken essence hamper? or diaper hamper? i reckon if i were to receive flowers or fruits, i will be damn sian one. haha.

firstmum, wat's ikea bumpers? wat's babysafe bumper?

ahnetsan, I m gg to 24 weeks soon.
It's just a super tight feeling n sometimes I feel like I m bursting. Ocassionally, I feel itchy at the tummy but quite seldom.
Aiya, remind me of the FBI bag.. my hb lor, told him to take the backpack, he picked the sling one. Anyway, I just tot it's good to get another one for outing cos oredi planning to put bb in infantcare. I dun want to be packing n unpacking things in and out of the same bag for different purposes. I dun rem hearing from ppl that TMC is giving another backpack to us leh. Really ah?

bbjun,
the super tight feeling and sometimes feel like bursting feeling is the tummy stretching?? omg, i better apply the cream more diligently...

oh u alrdy got the bag from FBI alrdy? i haven even sent the form out...

yeah, TMC got give backpack, but it's not as nice looking as the FBI one.

ahnetsan, ya. Cos we sign up at the counter at TMC so oredi got the bag directly from them.
If TMC is giving backpack, then I KIV my buy n see if the bag is suitable. Dun want to waste unnec $.

I assume it's the tummy stretching itself cos having experienced this feeling quite often the past 2-3 weeks n observing how much bigger my tummy has grown. My hb who sees me once every two weeks remarked that tummy has grown so much that he has to hug me from side.

Bumper is this layer of quilt that u can put ard the inner side of the cot to prevent BB from putting their hands out the rails n prevent thrm from hitting their heads on the rails.

Can't give advice on mattress cos I didn't research on it since I have FOC one coming with the cot.

yeah confirm TMC got give backpack, cos my fren jus gave birth in january at TMC. she got 2 bags lor. one from TMC and one from FBI. yeah lor, KIV ur buy first, dun waste $$. somemore diaper bag not exactly cheap leh.

ahnetsan/ bbjun,
i tink the backpack is for FBI/ SBI (can choose bet that or sling bag). upon delivery, TMC will give sling bag.

ahnetsan,
bumpers usually cost quite abit. but i remember i only paid 20+ for ikea's. and its durable.

cassey,
i like BIG bump and slim body haha! but god didnt give me this option leh. so ure rite, baby growing well is the most impt thing.

aiyo, y bumpers doesnt come together wif mattress? and y bumpers usually expensive?? haiz... ikea still got sale right? heehee better go down this wkend to check it out.

eh TMC give sling bag? hmm, i tot also backpack leh... mayb my fren requested for backpack ba. or mayb i remb wrongly.

ahnetsan, wah robinson members get additional 10%? are you going for the sale on 4th or 5th? want to tompang thing..hehe

caramelle, additional up to 10%, but i dunno wat items haf the extra discount.
i also dunno whether i will be gg to the sale or not.. cos dunno wat to buy from there... i let u knw tmr ok? tonight i discuss wif my hb abt wat to buy, den i let u knw tmr if im gg ok?

Just received the delivery booking confirmation letter from Mt A, it includes the maternity package brochure, pre-admission form and also list down the items to bring for admission.

I m expecting a phone call from TMC in Mar/Apr. That's what my clinc nurse told me. She will book for me n TMC will call me to confirm details and also to collect deposit.. something like that. I don't have to do anything but just wait.

Ya, was quite shock as well, so early.

In the letter it also mentioned baby's personal bathtub is included in the maternity package, it's the same tub used to bath baby from his/her first bath to prevent cross-infection.

wah hw much is the deposit? can the deposit be fully paid by medisave?

ya lor, mt a got give baby bathtub one... TMC dun haf one...

deposit cannot use medisave iirc..in fact they will check how much medisave you have. i was at gynae clinic last friday and heard this nurse say to the preggie lady next to me: aiyoh your medisave only $3000, hope won't be a caesarean..

to me was a bit insensitive lor to say like that..that's why i don't really like my current gynae's clinic.

i just got SMS from Tangs. they also having cardmember's preview 5-6 march, got 12% rebate. but they don't have allerhand bag which i want to buy! *wails*