(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">audrey, I know they say sitting with knees below hip level helps baby get into position more easily. As does squatting or going on all fours like a dog. However, there's still plenty of time yet for bb to get into position at this point. So don't worry abt it, hey. I've heard of bb's doing a complete flip at WEEK 37!!! Uncommon as that is. We're still quite early on in the pregnancy to worry our pretty heads over this...

From: http://www.askbaby.com/getting-baby-in-position-for-birth.htm,

How to encourage your baby into the 'optimum position'

While nothing is guaranteed to help your baby into the optimum 'anterior' position for birth, there are some techniques that are said to help encourage this during the final weeks of pregnancy. You could try these from week 35 onwards when your baby begins to settle.

* Place a wedge or pillow under your hips so that you sit with your knees below your pelvis, you should do this whether you're at home, at work or in the car.

* Avoid crossing your legs as this restricts space at the front of your pelvis where baby needs it most.

* Try to avoid sitting down for long periods of time as standing up and being active encourages baby into an anterior position.

* Spend at least 10 minutes a day on all fours, rocking your hips. If you don't find this comfortable you could try leaning over a beanbag or leaning forward onto a dining chair.

* Try yoga or breastroke to open out the front of your hips and pelvis.

Also see, http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/babyinpositionforbirth/#8</font>

Cassey,
yes, I am looking fwd to losing the weight. Hopefully I will succeed! But this is some sacrifies we have to make at times.

ahnetsan,
I went to baby avenue. To me, nothing much, unless you are looking to buy car seats and stroller. We need none of these so I find quite a waste of time. Sis was nice enough to bring me there.

I am also waiting for Taka fair. Will prob ask sis what are good to stock up. I am totally loss when coming to such items.

LFB, do share on wat are good to stock up during the taka fair ok? thanks!!

Frankly I think if there is a Robinson's Member's Sale, it shld be cheaper cos most of the products are std discounts so far that I can observe.

Medela always 15% off
Avent always 20% off

So with cardmember's additional discount plus card discount of btw 5% to 10%, it shld be better than Taka fair (assuming don't hv Taka DBS credit card)

i came across this and wanted to share with MTBs here...

[Apparently now there're more reasons to indulge in chocolate!!!

a study found that those who reported chocolate consumption of more than 5 servings a week had a decreased risk of developing the pregnancy complication preeclampsia - a disorder characterized by high blood pressure and protein in the urine.

it is speculated that this is due to the cardiovascular benefits of antioxidants known as flavonoids present in dark chocolate.

of cos this doesnt mean you could stuff youself silly with chocolate, but it does mean it's probably okay in indulge in them once in a while.]

Haiz... My gynae scared me by saying I will require c-sec if my boy not turning down and now make me so frightened. >.<

I always put both of my legs on chair, hugging them and I always sit on chair. zzz.. Got to change my habit now.

Actually I am thinking if I should get VIA cups, was wondering if I had enough bm to store or not. Haha.. Other than that, I think I got nothing to buy in Taka fair.

i just checked my Robinsons mailer again...

"Robinsons Super Savers are available from 4 - 22 March 2009, while stocks last.

CARDMEMBERS' PREVIEW
4 &amp; 5 MARCH

the 2-day cardmember exclusives on 4 &amp; 5 March enjoy up to ADDITIONAL 20% off

For nursery, kidswear &amp; toys, up to 20$ off regular-priced items, and additional 10% off regular-priced and selected kidswear and toys. (but excluding featured items on the mailer)

hope this is clearer now.

No just that since most of the items like Avent and Medela all seem to offer std discounts and Nett items are not given discount, so if u hv the dept store's card, u can at least enjoy the card's discount as well.

For eg, Robinsons is up to 10% but usually only 5% since don't spend so much
Taka is on Cardmember's Days 10%
Tangs depending on which Tangs card you hold from 6% to 10% and sometimes 12% on Member's Sales days

Ahnetsan,

sure. Actually I searched the net and found some pple wrote abt what to put into baby bag and also what to prepare b4 baby arrive. Let me check and if possible I put the list down. Can be a guide, no harm. There is this mummy who also posted for new mummy who is giving birth in TMC single bed. She darn good, listed what we need and what hospital charge. Will try to find the link.

wow TMC also uses Pampers diapers...

Ling asked a very good qn... hopefully got answer to her answer as i also wan to know...

sweethalo, wipe backside. Esp when you are outside, you don't bring cotton and wipe baby's backside when you change diapers right? Is for the sake of convenient. Cotton and water I only use it when baby is young, I use wipes when baby is older.

ooo.. thanks... cos i thot we use cotton balls for backside, wash cloth for mouth then wondering yyy so many packets of wet wipes selling everywhere...

BTW, anyone uses Breast wipes before breastfeeding? Just learnt this from saleslady at Tangs.. she said more hygenic then towel since each piece is new

sweethalo: Hee.. I never had breast wipes when i gave birth last time, there isn't such product lo. Guess beside each piece is new and also convenient since we no need to wash it every time we use it. ^^

ahnetsan! Love u deep deep ah! Saw the info about chocolates, and I've been eating a little bit every other day, so I'm super happy if it even helps slightly with preventing preeclampsia, cos I'm supposedly prime candidate for getting it! (that's why now have to take aspirin everyday for prevention. Oops, today forgot!)

sweethalo, the breast wipes got no alcohol is it? I thought these days, a lot of wet wipes also alcohol free, cos alcohol is drying. I assume the breast wipes are also fragrance free? Actually why not just use cotton wool with water...?

I go take choc now to eat. Hehehe...

hehee... good pt TubbyMummy- i am also not sure leh... but she mentioned that the wetwipes has chemicals which we shldnt use on our breast esp since baby's mouth will be there...

sweethalo, i didn't know wipes have alcohol too.

TubbyMummy, cotton wool might have some wool leftover "trap" somewhere when u wipe it? if you know what i mean. Haha..

sweethalo, hmmm so maybe those breast wipes are like super gentle kind. But still, I thought as long as it's mass manufactured, sure will have many chemicals and preservatives, otherwise how do they manage to keep it on the shelves for so long. But it's a good idea, prob more convenient than using numerous towels and keep washing.

audreyaw, ya good point, I know what u mean, like those tiny cotton fibers right? Some more I think our skin over there looks like got a lot of uneven surface to trap these fibers.

TubbyMummy, that's what i mean since it's trapping dirt now so i believe it will trap the fibre too. -.-

As for the breast wipes, might buy for outside usage since i am intending to go tbf for at least 6mths. Can't be not going out for that period right? Hee..

yeah think I will get a few packs too...

Think that wet towels may also be too rough on the tender engorged breasts too... eekkks!!

Oh ya, what if it's rough?? Maybe buy 1 pack to try now? hehe... what is the brand name? Oh, I was just at tangs today, wasted.

bbjun, sweethalo, cassey, creamer,
regarding tummy size. i find it quite upsetting when people make comments carelessly loh. its like what business is it of theirs?? that's why cnt wait for my chk-up this fri, so at least i know baby's doing well, nevermind the size of my bump. then i can go and EDUCATE these people!

sweethalo,
wet wipes are life savers!! they are like the most useful baby/ toddler product if u ask me. even now that my girl's toilet-trained, we still bring wipes everywhere, cos they can clean well when water's not readily available. in infancy stage, can use to clean poo loh. then the insides more sensitive then use cotton balls.

i intend to use cotton pad for breast leh. those facial cotton pad dun think will have fiber right? so usually which wk does doc expect bb to engage?

Thanks First Mum.

Are the brands of wetwipes all sama sama? Seems like Tollyjoy Jumbo pack is the cheapest so far?

82pc x 6 pack for 19.50

createjoy, true, maybe those facial cotton pad won't have as much fibers. But if u wipe a few more times, the fibers also look like they are slowly coming apart... Maybe u can try it out later/tomorrow! Hehehe... My doc also said my baby is breeched, but he doesn't look too concerned, so I'm assuming it should be 30+ weeks before engaging?? I didn't ask.

sweethalo, hehe... curious mah, try now see what it's like. A bit pointless lah, I know.

sweethalo, few wks back I saw at Robinsons, Pigeon wipes 82pc x 6 pack also $19.50. Thought I read somewhere that Pigeon wet wipes are good. With Robinsons sale coming, maybe u can get additional member rebate?

Experienced mummies got recommendations?

sweethalo,
actually the best wipes are from NUK. but too bad cannot get at departmental stores anymore. cos they are fragance and alcohol free and thick enough to clean poo effortlessly. just 3 pieces does the job. pigeon wipes are pathetic. they tear easily and are so thin, u'll probably need half a dozen to clean thoroughly. but for hands and mouth ok loh. they also have the more expensive range, not sure if those are better.

tollyjoy thicker (i buy the canister type), but can be very damp sometimes dunno why. so it all depends on ur purpose.

First Mum, really ah? Weird, I got a few ppl saying Pigeon wipes are good. but I didn't ask them why it's good lah. Ok, shall take your advice instead. So now NUK wipes cannot be bought in any shop in Sin is it?

sweethalo, I didn't thought of whether is it too rough to use towel. Now I got to take those that I bought last mth to try first. Haha.. TubbyMummy just reminded me, what is the brand name for the wipes? I working near to Tangs, can just walked over to buy them during lunch time.

First Mum, don't be too upset about those people. Think in position side. Bump small = lesser time to get back in shape = not so much stretchmarks (MOST IMPT!!)

All my bumps are not obvious so I hardly have any stretchmarks (touchwood!). Whilst my friend who had a big bump, her tummy is *speechless*. Imagine she's only 21/22 when she had her first child.

Yup, but i bought smaller packets of wipes when kids are toilet-trained. Find those big packets will dry out the top piece and the cover does not stick as well.

createjoy, shouldn't be as bad as cotton wool but i believe there will still be some as I used them with my toner currently and occasionally i still get some on my face.

sweethalo, not all brands of wipes are good in my opinion. some are too wet, too "soapy" feeling. I like using pigeon brand, not wet and soapy but is slightly thinner. Didn't manage to get those more exp range as I usually buy them from ntuc.

Johnson &amp; johnson brand is thicker than pigeon but now wondering why I didn't buy that in first place. I think I only bought it once..

heheh... thanks for the info First Mum and Audreyaw.

Sorry i forgot the brand name but I think the Salesperson there will know.. It's the only breast wipe I saw there- just in the cart where all the wet wipes are...

tubbymummy,
everyone's opinion differs ba i guess. but i swear the most popular type (red packaging)is very thin and difficult to clean poo. most people still use it cos its one of the cheapest around. but i tink although cheap, need to use more so where's the cost savings? but thats just my personal view la. btw J&amp;J is quite ok, but expensive.

audrey,
thks for your kind words. unfortunately i got small bump, but put on fats in all other places. so alot of weight to lose after delivery also haha!

sweethalo, is ok. can go over when i'm free and not rainy days. By the way, which floor am I supposed to go? I hardly go there..

First Mum, yup. Usually i got to fold the wipes before I can use it. I use it cause convenient to buy. can J&amp;J fit into like pigeon box? Cannot remember if J&amp;J does sell it in box type. I prefer putting it in box for home usage, don't dry up so fast.

Saw some mummies selling Goo.N wipes but was thinking if it's good or not. Really don't mind whether is cute or normal packaging, the result is more impt. Haha..

audrey,
yes, J&amp;J foil packaging can fit into pigeon box. in fact almost all brands' foil packaging is std size. i think except avent.

abt goo.n, i also bought but havent opened it yet so cant comment. cannot resist the cute duck tub heehee.

First Mum, after u use the Goo.N wipes, let us know if good or not ok? Thanks

I had a dream this morning just before I woke up. I dreamt that I woke up, and while i was lying in bed, lifted up my t-shirt for some reason, and saw that there were new angry dark red stretch marks! Then I woke up after that, and for a moment, I thought it was true! Had to look at my tummy to double check haha.

First mum, good. Lazy to go elsewhere to buy wipes since ntuc is very near my house. Thinking if goo.n box can fit j&amp;j or not, haha... if is not good to use then at least can make use of the box to put other brands.

thank you sweethalo. come to think of it, can't open it to try now. the rest will be dry up by the time we deliver. -.-

tubbymummy,
sure no prob.

haha. ur dream sounds scary. u must have been worrying abt developing stretchmarks in the day la, dat's why u dreamt of it.

audrey,
actually also got ntuc housebrand. but never tried. btw i tink J&amp;J always on sale at watsons. can chk out.