(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Tummymummy, must be careful. Rest more if need be, cos the aftermath will be worse usually.

Dunno whether we are preggie that's why more prone to accident. I was nearly knocked down by a motobike yesterday in Chinatown. It happened was when I was trying to cross the road at a traffic light. The light turned green and I waited a while b4 I cross even. Suddenly a bike, with a young couple just turned left and cut right in front of me! Luckily hubby pulled me! He was so angry. What I don't like he sometimes think I am careless and clumsy! Scolded him cos I was the victim, not my fault! So now I will be very careful and caution when I cross the road! So scary!

Sorry for interupt.

I have following brand new item to let go.
1.Avent Storage Cup (10x) Bought at $26.90
2.Avent Washable Breast Pads (6x) Bought at $18.70
3.Pigeon Disposable breast pads (36+6pcs)bought at $11.90
I willing to let go all the above at $40.00

If interested please PM me.

Thanks..

LFB, wah that was close! thankflly he didn't hit u. Nowadays ppl on the road are going crazy. I don't think it's cos we're more accident prone lor, cos like u said, u took cautions before crossing the road already. The other day I also had similar experience, crossing the road with a big bunch of ppl, and one stupid bicycle just crashed right thru everyone. Thankfully I also managed to "siam" him. There's something very wrong with these ppl. You be careful and take care.

hatemenot,
u can try "Anthropology" at Raffles City B1. they do have a few brands of wall murals. got stars and moon, but not very sure abt clouds.

cot mattress
anyone knows any gd brands other than babysafe? cos babysafe is out of stk at robsinsons when i went down today. my cot is 28" by 52". ikea have? price range? many thks.

All mummies got to be careful, be it when comes to walking or crossing road. Nowadays instead of making cars to let me cross zebra crossing, I let them pass first just in case. -.-

First Mum: If I didn't remember wrongly, ikea only sell 1 size cot mattress which cost $40. Think you can get the measurement from the website by looking at their cot bed size.

hi Tubbymummy hope ur bruise on the knee is ok... take care and rest well

first mom, babysafe also available at taka and kiddy palace... you may want to try these places too... i saw a lot of babysafe mattress at compass point's kiddy palace today...

<font color="0000ff">Tubbymummy - i bought the Ameda Lactaline at the fair from mums 'r Us at $333 w/o VIP card... upon buying at $333, they give me free VIP card for 10% off in future at mums 'r us leh... izzit the salesgirl blur ah???</font>

tubbymummy, yeah saw the BPs too but no have clouds... haha cause saw one mummy (i think april thread) she painted clouds in the nursery quite nice,
but dont think i can do any painting now, so just want to get the stickers =)

doglefox, do PM me if you want to join by Friday.. as i will be going ahead if nobody wants to join ;)

firstmum, thanks for the lobang! will check out the shop first.

Went to the babyfair yesterday for the Bb Massage Talk. Quite informative and useful with live demostration. Took a video too, will upload tonite and share with you all.
Monday again.. back to work! argghhh

11_beans,
Hah?? Really ah? That's what the lady told me lor! I asked very specifically some more. Even though their price tag stated "with VIP card", I act blur and asked "Is this the special price if I buy now at the fair?" and she said no, it's only applicable if I have the VIP card, which I have to spend $200 before getting it. So I pretended like oh, so if I buy the Ameda, since it's more than $200, I can get the special price, plus get the card right? But she said no, I must have the card BEFOREHAND, then can get special price. I said ok, so I must spend $200 on other items at the fair or at the shop, to get the VIP card, and she said yes. I asked if this was a Fair special, she said no, as long as I have VIP card, then I can also buy the Ameda at the shop for $333 don't have to come back to the Fair. Did u buy on first day, or subsequent days?

Sorry about this amk_gal and creamer!! I gave u the info based on what the lady told me! If you're still interested in getting from Moms r us, maybe u can just go to the shop and ask how come u were misinformed, while your friend could buy it at special price? Then demand they give it to u for $333.

hatemenot, yeah, prob not the best to paint anything now. And painting stuff on the ceiling is pretty tedious anyway! Sticking decals on are so much easier I think. I received one set of animals already, now waiting for the other set of animals to arrive. So excited, can't wait to put them all up!

morning mummies..still talking abt the baby fair eh? yest i wanted to go and stock up on some items but parking was a nightmare at the expo around 5pm. i think it was the NATAS fair that did it. some drivers were crazy enough to park even near the business park there..for me too far to walk so in the end gave up and went home. hubby was not too happy cos he's been circling the area and we almost got lost. hehe
now i hope can get just as good deals at taka baby fair.

btw, met creamer on sat. she so tall and slim i so envy..hehe
wonder if next time when i meet the rest, will i call you by name or nick?

morning ladies...

all these talk abt wall decals is making me excited. i must decorate my nursery soon! i have decided to get WINK wall decals, im pretty happy with the kiddy designs.

innocentwar,
thks. i wanted to get from robinsons cos they have the 25% sale yday. hopefully they have stock for the nursery sale this week.

First Mum, what you mean about the 25% sale yday at robinsons? is it still on? i want to buy allerhand diaper bag. if you are going and not too much trouble, can i "tombang" you pls? but if open to public then pls let me know so no need to trouble you..hehe

caramelle,
i got a mailer that entitles to 25% storewide ended yday. but the limit was only $200, which didnt allow me to buy much things also.

sweethalo/ caramelle,
someone mentioned that the nursery/ children sale at robinsons is from 4-5 march 20% off.

Thanks First Mum and Mika Rei. so is the sale open for all or only cardmembers? how does it work with robinson's? because metro cardmember's sale, to go in you must show the member's card. is it the same? will it be open to public over the weekend?

Thanks First Mum and Mika

I think anyone can go into the Robinson's Preview, only that Member's get an extra discount ba..

Hi Ladies, afternoon.. how lunch?

My auntie pass down the Medala single pump to me. OMG!! when power on the noises is so so loud. Im in the living room, my hubby in the kitchen also can hear the loud noise. Haiz, as to cut cost, save save save. no choice ba. Anyone know the membrane need to change everytime or?? Where to get the membrane? Thanks

<font color="aa00aa">Hey the Robinsons sale, is it the John Little one? Same?? Cos JL one starts tomorrow.. 3 March to 5 March..
the strolelr/walker set is from JL mailer..

Tubbymummy, i got mine on the first day (Friday).. the salesgirl long hair one, quite young but looks experienced.. the card stuck to the display set stated "with VIP card" too, so we asked abt it, and she said it's wrongly written and explained that the purchase at $333 comes with free VIP card for future purchases..

I remember my hubby even suggested that she change the sign / re-write it, itherwise she would have to re-explain for the next 2 days of the fair to everyone.. that's why i remember very clearly...

Also, i filled up a form for the VIP card as well, which they will mail to me wor...
Or you wanna go to their outlet at united sq mall and make some noise?? May still manage to get it at $333 ??

Else when i get the card, can also share to get it at $342 lor..</font>

Tubbym~, how's the knee today? It was an unfortunate fall you had. Poor girl. Nvm, don't look at the knee (can't see with bump in the way anyway!!) and focus on that glorious head of hair instead. =) Hope knee bruising goes away very soon.

Shelisa, *laughs* That's the lawn mower!! I haven't thought about getting another but will do so after the birth if this one doesn't do well enough.
If you're going back to work and hope to continue breastfeeding, it may be worthwhile to consider a higher-end pump. You can get a Medela PIS for about $300 on the WTS thread.

tubbym~, creamer, innocentwar, 11_Beans, First mum, caramelle, Mika Rei, sweethalo...
You are all so into shopping for baby! Bb fair @ Expo, @ Taka, Robinson's, John little.... Tubbym~'s been so conscientious about checking things out for others. A job well done!! I've reading and reading... but as I've shared previously, most of the big ticket items on my list have been procured and I just haven't been in the mood to get whatever's left.

Been having increased difficulty getting a good night's rest. Back's very sore even though bump (in my reckoning) isn't tt big. Started sleeping with one bolster on either side of me yesterday - one to hug and prop leg up against, the other to provide some back support (&amp; hopefully, relief from the achiness)!

<font color="aa00aa">re : Pump
Ameda one is surprisingly quiet (i find lah) and much more value for money.. the tube no need to wash or sterilise cos it's a closed system pump, so only need to sterilise the bottle valve all that. easy peasy.. =D

Medela one, need to sterilise the tube as well, and ensure all residue of milk and soap is washed out, then ensure that it gets dry..
if you get a closed system pump, next time wanna sell also easier.. Open system, cannot re-sell at all (that means dun buy it 2nd hand too)..</font>

<font color="0000ff">re : baby stuff
I got the babycot from Kidzloft during the 50% sale they had, at $249 heeeeewent back to the site to see, lucky they no bluff pple, the price is now at $424..

I need to buy carseat, stroller..
just wondering.. which is better?
1) Travel system that comes with infant carseat
2) Stroller on its own + an infant carseat then subsequently buy normal carseat after 1 year
3) Stroller on its own + convertible carseat for use up to 3 years or 5 years

Anyone made decision on these things yet?

re : babycot mattress
Thinking firm one better support for baby, but latex type.. so ex, and not very "airy" = risk of suffocation if bb sleep face down??
Any thoughts??</font>

<font color="0077aa">11_Beans, too bad I didn't know about the closed and open system til now, when it's a little too late since I've gotten my pump.
But thanks for sharing the tip!!

I've gotten a travel system that comes with infant carseat. I'll probably have to get a normal carseat after the initial year. So it's a combination of your options 1 &amp; 2.</font>

Cassey, lucky you to have many hand-me-downs. i had a few from SIL, and mostly others are 2nd hand items which i bought.

re back pain: my back is killing me too esp when i wake up in the morning or turn and toss at night. sometimes i have to grip hubby's hand to turn cos i cannot turn on my own. one night i grabbed his hand to turn myself when he was sleeping and he got so shocked thinking someone was trying to hold him down. i suspect my hubby got kidnap issues as a child...hehe

well better grab a hand than something else right? with the velocity he shot up, it could have been a painful experience otherwise...

Sooo many achives...
Also trying to get a car seat for baby... Best is from NB to 3, or 4 yrs old 1 ...
Any recommendation ?

<font color="0077aa">caramelle, I don't know how you came to draw that strange assumption but ermm, sorry I didn't get any hand-me-downs. Hubby and I purchased our bb things last year when he finally had a bit of downtime from his crazy work schedule between Christmas '08 and New Year '09. The only hand-me-downs I've gotten thus far are some well-worn mittens and booties... I'm not quite sure I'll use them cos they look quite... ermm... let's just say "used".

Your hubby must have been in deep-sleep.. or maybe he was dreaming of being pursued by a mad man, when you grabbed his hand.

vibe, Many archives meh!? the going has been really really really slow... snail-paced slow these last days leh. You must do revision more often!!

ahnetsan, I'm glad you got your fix finally! I just had one yesterday also!! But didn't want to harp on it. My addiction is pretty much still in operation. Was so excited to see Boysenberry flavour on sale, but I went much too late and that was all sold out. *grumble grumble*</font>

eh why the page like weird weird one??
i haf to scroll to the right to read the whole sentence leh... last time no need one leh....

anyone knw hw to solve tat?

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo yeah! I was also wondering... but bit late for me. You haven't gotten a pump yet?
See if this site helps?
http://www.breastpumps.com/Articles.asp?ID=149

ahnetsan, yeah too!! SO SLOW these last days... The page width is SO SO wide...
maybe with Coach/Kate Spade spree hoo-ha, moderators have no time to jaga display page width. *chuckle*</font>

btw, anyone felt guilty if u missed a day of multivits or fish oil??

i've not been having fish oil for days and sometimes multivits too... but i dun feel slightly guilty at all wor....

haiz.... jus hate to eat pills...

<font color="0077aa">aiyo, ahnetsan, i keep forgetting nowadays. Sigh. When I remember, it's just like.. OH. Oops. I'll eat it now/tmr then.
I'm getting quite lax with these things...

No significant updates on spree. Most of the ladies made their police reports, I think.
The lady suddenly made a miraculous recov and posted a few msgs promising partial refunds.
No conclusion as yet, it appears.</font>

trying to chase away monday blues at my desk. Yes, reading the thread is quite irritating having to scroll left n right all the time.

Ahnetsan, I think I missed one or two days before. I think missing one or two days is fine la. It's not like we are not eating other food, right? They are supposed to be supplements.

TubbyM, hope ur knee is better now. Do take care.

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, *shrugs* who knows? Sigh. I'm just glad I'm not into these things.

bbjun, haha.. that's why now I chop my long sentences myself.
Look on the bright side - Monday's almost over!
Thought of you for some reason over the wkend.. is hubby back this wk? How's the job search?</font>

shelisa,
think the parts are available at robinsons and taka. and i agree that its very noisy!

creamer,
text me if u find gd lobang for ameda dual pump, i also wana buy! will wait for the sale this wed and call them to confirm if the pump has discount.

cassey,
hvnt been sleeping well either. tossing and turning to contort myself into all sorts of funny positions just to find a more comfortable spot!

mika rei,
the sale is private sale? what's the deal?

haha cassey,
same here. i do take filet-o-fish and fish and chips sometimes. hubby says fried fish is better than no fish!??

wow thanks for the info sites on the open or closed pump thing... yeah hvn't got mine yet.

ME hv conveniently forgotten about my pills since last wk... very hate pills and now abit heck care... oopz!

Seems like my constipation has eased up since forgetting pills too...

<font color="0077aa">That's what I tell myself to console myself! I guess my salmon sushi also counts... What abt ikan bilis?!
I love sliced fish soup - but all the good stalls have moved or undergoing reno.
So don't have that anymore.

I've been under the weather the last 3 days or so - sniffles and sore throat. Backache, buttache, throatache, headache...
Feel like going back to nap soon. I wonder how backache's going to be like in a few more weeks and months!?!</font>

cassey,good idea. That wld make our reading easier!

Yup, hb was back for the weekend cos we scheduled a gynae visit on last Sat. Tks for keeping us in ur thots.
No luck with his job search. We planned ahead for contingencies till birth lor.
Keeping our finger crossed that he wld be back latest by the time I need to return to work.
Else, it's gg to tough for me to juggle work n BB alone.
It's not very optimistic to read so many negative msges from our PM these few days.

Btw, my BB is clocking 609gm at 23wk. Right at the 50th percentile I think.

Can't rem who wanted to check with gynae on the Meiji collagen powder thingy.
Gynae says it's ok to take but dun see it as a necessity to take even if we want to counter dry skin.
She doesn't think it will help! Sighz.

First mum, my BB is starting to move upwards oredi. Today, I can even feel him kicking my stomach!
Good thing that he is still cooperative not to disturb my sleep.
Takes a while sometime to adjust him to a good position so that I can sleep comfortably.
My gynae confirmed that he really likes my right side. My tummy just look so lopsided at times.
He doesn't like me to sleep on my left. Gynae says it's ok as long as I m not breatheless on my back.
It's so funny to scan on the left side of my tummy n see a void.
This boy is all the time trying to perform stunts, putting his leg all the way to his head.