(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Hello everyone! Me just back not long from baby fair too. Wah biang, I was there from 11am, and there was a HUGE QUEUE to go in! they open doors at 11am, so I thought people q-ing to go in. I also went to join Q, and thankfully it moved fast. Then, when I was 3/4 ways thru the Q already, saw my ex colleague who told me actually the Q was for goodie bag, otherwise can stroll straight in! Oh well, since I already Q for a while liao, I might as well benefit from the goodie bag. I got parents with me, so took 3 bags hehe. But inside nothing much leh, chay.

Think caramelle covered quite a lot in her post already hehe, so I don't have to say much more. But since got request for info for some specific things, here goes:

Moms R Us sling (for amk_gal): Saw both the sling and the Ameda pump at the booth. The sling usual is $45.90, selling for $40 at fair. Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump, usual $388, but there's no offer at the fair. You can get it for $333, but only if you have VIP Card. This price applies even if u go to the shop to buy, not just at Fair. Spend $200 to become VIP member. Chay.

Babysafe: I bought the latex mattress, 24inch x 48inch x 3inch thick (smallest size), usual price $175 I think, selling $120 at Fair. The bigger sizes got more savings I think. Saw quite a lot of ppl buying the latex newborn pillow (flat one), so prob cheaper than outside too, but I didn't check price, cos I decided my baby not using pillow. The same company also selling Mustela pdts, quite a lot of ppl buy. I stock up on stretch mark cream, usual $59.90 per tube, now $40.

Philips Avent: Everything 20% off, also have the steriliser bundle set, if anyone missed out on it previously.

Ergo baby carrier: at Moms in Mind booth, 10% discount (usual $180 for normal range, $200 for Ergo sport, also got organic cotton range, but forgot how much).

There was a booth selling a lot of Pureen stuff, I bought 2 packs of maternity sanitary pads (stick on type), $6 per pack of 20. Also bought ABD baby clothes detergent, 2 bottles for $9.90. Didn't buy any of the Nestle stuff, cos decided I don't want to buy these stuff so far in advance.

That's all I remember for now hehe.... I believe it will be a nightmare over the weekend, so anyone going then, good luck, and try to get there before Natas opens (cos Natas crowd is mad, constantly got Q to go in!). Parking is $2.30 for 1st 2 hours, followed by $1.10 per half hour after that, $2.30 per entry only after 5pm.

Sorry, the Ergo was not at Moms In Mind booth. It's at the same booth selling the Gelite, but the forum doesn't allow me to type in that company's name, dunno why...

thanks, tubbymummy n caramelle, for the sharing on the BB fair. I think I will give this a miss and enjoy my weekend with my hb elsewhere instead.
I m really not looking fwd to squeezing with crowds.

Ling,rest well ok,stop work when you feel that you need to rest... wah... you still wear high heel shoes?? I think better don't,ok... it's not safe to us and baby leh... For the baby fair,i heard that it's not much things there,for baby clothes is cheap,like 4 pcs $10.but i 'm looking for stroller... so still thinking whether want to go or not... With NATAS fair,must be super crowed one...

Jess Ma, got no clothes ley..only got 1 shop selling but i find the clothes material very warm..

Tubbymummy, oh so THAT must have been the reason for the Q? although i was there around 12 plus..so maybe it was for another goodie bag at natas fair?? hehe

Caramelle,i read from other forum,they said got leh... very cheap somemore.. but they didn't mention the quality good or not... Have you brought stroller?

wah i jus found out this frm a fren - if you bid or sell something in auction sites and instead of trf $$$ by ATM and parcels to be sent to home, you use the method of collection at MRT Station gantry to 一手交钱一手交货, you will be fined by SMRT, max fine is $2000!!!

crazy right??

hey thanks caramelle and especially Tubbymummy for the update on expo baby fair!! wah the sling only 5.90 cheaper, not worth going la hor... think i'll give it a miss and stay home and sleep...

i fell down today... stupid neighbour always make the floor wet. everyday i go home the floor is wet and slippery and today i finally fell... luckily fell forward and my arms could take my overall weight...

OMG, amk_gal, you ok mah?? got any bruise? any pain?

you mean u fell at the corridor is it? why ur neighbour like dat one???

Jess Ma, yup i bought my stroller already. bought bugaboo cameleon + maxi-cosi car seat. u leh?

re clothes: i only saw one booth opposite pureen leh selling richgi i think. where else got clothes?

Hey Gals!

I went with to the fair but only at 3.40pm.. no more good bags liao... didnt see any queue leh... sigh..

Nothing much for me too.. only bought some promo gift set packs that were taken back from John Little and BHG due to packing gift box being squashed at $10.

Quite boring on the whole.

By the time got there, all the BPA free Philip Avent bottles sold out liao.. arrghh!

amk_gal,
wow, that's really idiotic of your neighbour! Must be careful in future.

Talk abt accident, I was walking towards library this evening, walked past a woman's clinic. There was this stroller infront of the passage way blocking me. So I walked by the side, between the stroller and the entry of the clinic. Then, suddenly the door flung open and hit me! The preggie was in shock, as much as I was. Luckily didn't hit me cos I use my left arm to block. It's was the shock that shook me! The preggie kept apologising. I know it's not her fault. Hubby was so angry! He wanted so much to kick that stroller, who parked at the narrow pathway. Told him I am alright and took him almost 1 hr to see open! So I must be careful when I see doors. Next time may not be that lucky!

I am going Chinatown market tmr. Looking for bean husk pillow, small towels and also bra for myself. Buying those ta-glam but comfortable kind for house wear. I remembered buying a bean husk pillow for SIL before.

ahnetsan - ya lo fell at the corridor.. landed on my knee, but think it's ok.. lucky my ankle is strong so no sprain...

they keep splashing the area outside their house with water, day and night. just now i walk past again it's wet with fresh water again. and cos they're just beside the staircase, the stairs also ALWAYS wet..

sweethalo - sure will rest more over weekend.. and walk extra careful too..

that day i was in the toilet queuing up, a unit with squatting WC was available and the lady in front of me asked me if i'd like to go first, cos she dun want to squat. i pointed to my tummy and said i cannot squat anymore. kind of an idiotic question to ask... sigh.

LFB - i bought my bean husk pillow at mums r us. it's not bad leh. longer and heavier than the ones sold at mums and babes.

by the way, any MTBs going to use Goo.N diapers for newborn? i'm thinking of sharing one order with someone cos must spend $80 for free delivery.. scared buy a lot in the end dun suit baby (though so far those who use say no problem la...) but i live in AMK la.. so must collect from my place...

and any recommendations for maternity pads? heard kotex very hard to use cos very thick..

Sweethalo,
bean husk pillow is to put on baby stomach, to prevent sudden shock whe they hear loud noise or sound. It's like as if the child is held down. Anyway, all my nephews and nieces use them. Those from Chinatown cheaper, think less than $10. I saw some shop selling, think $20 something.

amk_gal, Wah, your neighbour so irritating, keeping throwing water out for what?? Even if they mean to wash, if the floor is wet and ppl keep walking all over it, it becomes even dirtier. You be careful ya? If fall again (choy choy choy), think u should just go and tell them to cut down on their "washing" frequency. And ya, the sling only $5.90 cheaper, not worth going there to squeeze with ppl. How much are the Goo.N diapers for NB?

LFB, I got similar door opening incident as you. I was at DBS bank, and I was about to leave. The glass door only opens inwards. There was a man outside, and he looked in and saw me. I was about to reach for the handle to pull the door open and walk out, but he beat me to it, and pushed the door right into me. I stepped back fast enough, otherwise the door would have banged into my face and belly! I was so shocked that I didn't even scold him, just said something about him being ill bred and stupid. If I weren't so stunned, I'd have shouted very loudly at him. I can't believe these people. If never see me, that's one thing, but the whole door was in glass, and he saw me and my belly lor! And no, he DIDN'T APOLOGISE.

sweethalo, inside the goody bag were:
- 1 pack Tollyjoy antibacterial wipes,
- 1 sample bottle of Kiwi Kleen natural Extracts floor cleaner
- few sachets of Palmers Cocoa Butter creams
- couple of ballpoint pens
- whole bunch of vouchers & catalogues, and Pumpkin Patch catalogue.

Disappointing boring stuff. No milk powder, no diapers, no teether, etc. Chay.

I got 3 bags some more. Tons of wasted paper... these ppl not very enviro-friendly. At least the wipes and floor cleaner can be used. I don't like Palmers, so wonder what to do with it. Maybe use it as generic moisturiser...

Eh, what happened to all the usual night shifters ah? Nozomi disappeared v long liao, wonder if she's ok...

ya, when dept stores got sale, there's usually 20% off for Avent anyway, so today's not very exciting. Prob good if u missed out on something, and happen to be at Fair today, then can just buy there I guess.

Baby clothes also so-so only. Don't feel that it's so cheap leh.

yealo... those generic baby clothes also not cheaper mah.. $5.90 for pants... can get from Robinsons got 20% discount plus got Robinsons rebate some more!

ahnetsan, ya lor my pile have not been reporting for at least 3 years! sian, now gotta watch my diet..

wow amk gal, LFB & tubbym, glad u all alert enough! that's y i'm scare going out and scare my MIL slippers trap. it's nt we careless but sometime we just met shuai pple or shuai luck. really must be very careful, i'm also very scare of my niece playing ard me. i cant imagine next time i want no. 2 and no1. still so young 1+ play ard me, dash to me, want me carry..hw do these mothers cope??!! Pei fu pei fu...

aiyoh saw npaper got a 21 yr old father play fly high high and merry go round w bb, mk his brain damage. so poor thing... i immd msg my hb cos he always play that with my nieces i dun wan him to play that with my bb at least not the 1st yr. according to doc the skull was not fully develop yet, such impact mk the soft brain squash like tofu.. urrgghhh so gross description...

aiyoh i just sold my SD card at ebay & asking the buyer to meet me at MRT stn! how?? can ask him put in envelope as long as not seen $ transaction ok or not? that $2000 fine was seen on where???!! auction not illegal transaction y fine?

my mum going JB this sun leh asking her to buy 2 pck drypers and a pck nappy cloth. shall i ask her buy 1 more huggies? huggies better huh? will 3 pkt new born diaper be too much? bb dun grow that fast ba hor? who bought dryper from msia? how much RM? i saw kkh selling 2pck for 14.20..

createjoy, I went to touch the sample for drypers and for huggies Ultra, the huggies one seemed to feel softer/smoother, so I bought that one instead. Oh ya, it was me and the profuse bleeding lah... But I managed to cure temporarily. At the worst point, I drank prune juice, ate prunes, ate apples and guava everyday, and drank a lot of water. Suddenly one day I went 3 times, almost like diarrhoea! Zou huo ru mo haha... Now more stabilise, almost everyday, and no blood. So thankful. I still eat prunes everyday. Thankfully I enjoy them. Speaking of which, I better drink more water now...

sweethalo, I don't have Robinsons card leh. Is it worth it if I make hubby go and apply? Cos seems like Robinsons got a lot of kiddy things, and from now onwards, guess we'll need to buy these stuff regularly right?? Robinsons credit card privileges extend to the rest of the group, like JL and M&S or not?

Yes the card can be used at all stores in the grp.

I think can get it since I think got no subscription fees.

I am considering to get hb to go get the Taka DBS card... hehee

I thought First Mum said Huggies not good leh..

Today really very quiet lor. Last Fri was the super scary 5 archive day haha. Ya, was wondering if Robinsons card or Taka card more worth it. If get both, like so pointless, cos don't like having so many cards. Unless cancel current ones...?

Oh is it, didn't realise First Mum said Huggies no good. Huggies got Huggies Dry and Huggies Ultra is it? Not sure what the diff is though.

I think Robinsons card is very worth it when they have the Member's Sale twice a year... really very good offers... especially bedsheets etc.

Taka used to give DBS cardholders same privi as well but recently noticed that only give Taka DBS cardholders rebate and discounts!

Hmmm, maybe I'll consider Robinsons then. But need hubby to apply, he'll sure grumble and say why need all these cards...

I went to kpo the Coach BP thread again haha... Chin Leng (mod) reported to police already. Interesting...

haha... isit! I read it yesterday... don't kn why they bother to give deadline... and still must get consensus to go report police

I think the whole thing is so messy also. I mean, I thought if all gather together and make one police report, isn't it a stronger case? Individually go and report, the police still must link it all up, who knows how long they take to do that. Maybe getting everyone together is a bit impractical lah, but at least go in a few batches, better than nothing. Moral of the story: Go to the shop and buy. Otherwise, lots of ppl go to US one, just tombang them instead. Hai.

I'm so bored now I'm even watching TV Infomercials! Oh goodness, even that has ended! Now dunno watch what...

haha... my hubby watching his DVD...dono how many times rerun liao... faint!

Actually we overestimate the powers of our police

wah the goodies bag really boring leh.. i was hoping for diapers etc... give sample bottle of kleen cleaner for wat sia?? 0_0"

createjoy, apparently if u dun 一手交钱一手交货, den shd be okay at the mrt gantry. cannot be someone inside and someone outside the gantry.. if the stupid smrt staff see den will kenna... but i dunno whether this is true or nt, cos i heard it from my fren.... *shocked* lor... cant believe it.

wah someone reported to the police already? hmmm.. dunno wat will happen next...

ok gd night everyone.... chat again on monday!!

Ya, I'm wondering how much they can do. Recently heard of some ppl we know being cheated overseas (A LOT of money), but same thing, what can the police here do? It's only taking an official record, having it in black/white somewhere in their system.

actually the police here all zhuo bo one... my fren also police, he everyday also like very free one... and even got cases, they also take their own sweet time mah... it's like a steel bowl and can shake leg kinda job.

Actually I realise that even if they give diapers, it wouldnt be nb ones.. so no pt ... I got a Huggies sample from the Mothers & baby goodie bag... but is is Sz L!!!

haha sweethalo, cos my hb fell aslp le, den i nth to do, nt tired yet, so come in and see see look look lor... and i haf to type very slow and quietly cos i scare the keyboard sound will wake him up...even though he's snoring away. haha

Police no use one la... they sometimes dont even want to open a case unless you bang table. Take statement also so lousy... can't even write the statement coherently.. dono pay them do what...

and u thk the mas selamat case is really wat they make it to be meh? hehee.... who knows, its the police who alrdy killed him, den pretend say he's on the loose.... alot of such tactics and tricks one....

oh oh, hope there's no police spy ard here.