(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Cassey,

you use your last time photo is it? My God! She is in so much better shape than me! I have to go buried myself now! Gosh!

ahnetsan, I'm positive that's my babelicious mum. I wish I looked like that! =) I never have, in my entire existence!

LFB, whoa if I ever looked that that, I wouldn't mind being a giant or having big boobs ok!!

jam75, to answer your question, my mum is 56. You see what I'm gushing abt huh?

OPEN INVITATION TO ALL JUNE'09 MTBs! (Non-working MTBs, do pls try to drop by, won't u?)

WEST'IES / WEST-SIDE MEET-UP

Date: Friday, 13th March 2009
Time: 7pm & after
Venue: Jurong Point (Boon Lay MRT) Further details T.B.A.

Attendees - Nozomi, Dovey, Jam75, Chidori, createjoy, caramelle, Cassey, *Ling, *Mika Rei, *Katelee
Pending: bbPotato

~Organiser: Cassey
Kindly PM with positive RSVPs for contact# exchange in case I miss out on posts. Thanks!

cassey, i wont be joining the west side meet up even though im not wrking... cos friday is me and hb pak tor day.

hi there,

was talking about the stretchy feeling yesterday night and feeling uncomfy about it, called the clinic and was asked to go down. gynae checked on cervical length and turn out it's alittle open which should not be at my stage. was strapped on CTG and fortunately, no regular contractions. put on medication and mc for the next few days and to review on monday again.

really a scare. if all's well, i'll be back working. if not, argh, i dare not think of it. hope everything's fine.

btw, bedrest means really lying on bed??? can i be sitting up???

bbjun, I'd be happy if I was like tt in my teens! Haha! never was like that, am not like that, will never be! *sob*

l'tulips, I'm glad you got checked - at least now you know there was cause for concern. Bed rest just means minimal getting up and and down... Dr never said anything to me even when he saw me sitting up in bed. Don't walk around too much, including trips to the toilet!

lovelytulips, lie on ur side. sit ok but lie down recline better. how does that strectchy feeling feels like? i sometime feel weird but as long as after lying down or after a night slp back to normal i dont care, i'm so scare i not alert enuff...

cassey ur mum so fit! my MIL also like that in fact slimmer hip small everything small but i think she too thin lah esp after my FIL pass away. i wonder why our mum generation can be so well maintain! r we eating too much good food haha..

The MMR tk later is how late?

Shelisa- hope u find a better bak zhang oredi...hehe

Ling - think if last yr giving birth before Aug08, first child dont get anything for Baby Bonus. Only starts at 3k for 2nd kid.

lovelytulips- think u better just rest in bed and dont walk around...monitor for any tightening feeling or pulling feeling. Don't take any liang stuff for now.

Do take care n best is rest well.

hey gals, how to differentiate the tightening feeling is normal or not? sometimes it's bcos stretching rite? i so worry i cant tell the difference.

Ling, so glad you're better now. Agree that bed rest can be boring, had to go thru that for a while in my 1st tri too, but it's what's best for you. Now that you're done with that, just be careful when u move around ok? Pls take care.

lovelytulips, you also, bed rest don't anyhow run hor... ;-P Glad u went to check out on the pulling, cos most of the time, we think pulling sensation is just muscle stretching or whatever. good thing u noticed it seemed abnormal. I think all of us are wondering now if we'll know the difference between normal and abnormal... You pls take care of yourself too ya.

My hair:
So drama, I almost fainted while doing my hair this morning. Think I freaked out the hairdresser. He was applying dye on my hair when I started to feel more and more breathless. But I still "loon", hoping that the sensation will pass. But I felt very hot and stuffy because they always put so many layers of plastic, towel, cape etc etc on us. After a few min, I decided I needed to lean forward a bit, and happily pulled all the towel etc along with me. I think the stylist thought I'm mad. Aft 1 more min, I turned to him and said "Sorry, I can't stand it anymore, can u please remove this!" and I started tugging away at the plastic cape. He panicked and quickly removed it, and I was close to gasping for air, and my vision was going slightly blur. I bent forward for a while, then when I was sure I wasn't dizzy, i stood up to get my blood circulation going. Another stylist quickly got me a glass of cold water to drink (was drinking hot tea, and it made me feel more suffocated), turned the aircon to full blast, and brought me something to fan myself. I fan and fan like crazy, gulped water and paced up and down for like 5-10 min, before I felt normal again. After that, I managed to sit thru the rest of the session with no problems (but was still fanning myself cos I felt so hot, while everyone else in the salon was freezing). It was really weird lor. I even felt ok enough to extend my time there and did hair treatment.

Anyway, apart from the drama, I'm super happy with my hair now! WOOHOO! I've really had enough of the half black half brown nonsense, take photo also so ugly, so I avoided taking pics of my pregnant self. Today, I went to dye my whole head a dark dark brown, almost black (to cover my previous lighter brown), and just did some natural brown highlights. When my own black hair grows out, it won't be obvious. I trimmed my hair too, so it's in better shape now, and also did treatment, so hair smells so nice, and feels super soft now! Even though I had the breathless/fainting spell, I don't regret going today, cos I think if I go at later stage, my tendency to feel uncomfortable should be a lot higher, can't imagine how I can sit thru 3 hours at that point. I'm a happy girl today! (I took many pictures today hahahaha) *dancing around in a silly dance while flipping hair*

haha think next time the salon ppl gotta think twice to do preggie biz, scare we faint or other customer bcm frozen haha ;p

glad u mk urslf pretty, must be feeling on top of the world! cheers!

Createjoy- I think this is what my Gynae has been warning against since I started seeing him.

Tightening as described by him just means your tummy feel tight. He asked me to watch out of that and whether there is painless contractions. I had a hard time thinking and thinking if I experienced such symptoms that time, as I had posted.

According to him, painless contractions feels abit like pulling between intervals. He says never to let it escalate to painful contractions which is too late then.

If any of u in doubt,pls chk with ur own gynae and perhaps ask for standby meds. Gynae gave me standby which he is is no harm eating anytime we feel tight. It helps relax the tummy. My standby med is called SALBUTAMOL to be taken 6hrly tog with PROPANOLOL when symptoms suspected.

TubbyMummy - glad u are happy with hairdo now... wow hope u are well rested after the initial scare.

I hv been very tempted to do mine too but so far none of my gynaes hv really given me 100% go aheads.. always seem to hv a reservation kind of thing.

1st gynae said, if can do at home. Don't go to shop as the smells and chemicals there can overwhelm you. Present gynae said, u really need to meh? Don't do too often. Which made my hubby nervous too..

hi ladies!

who's going for the babyfair at expo tomolo? can help me see if there's great discounts for ameda breast pump and sling from mums r us booth please?

today I am not the earliest. Just had breakfast. Had some crampy feelings early morning. The pain from UTI is getting more. Just last night and today, I have been going to toilet like nobody business. Glad I am home. The pain and the frequent toilet visits will sure make working unbearable. Anyway, I will be working from home.
BTW, I had this ultimate craving for fried black carrot cake. Went market in the morning and got meself a packet! Yummm.

Morning Ladies.

Cassey, no. at that time we think we are still pretty young and healthy thus waiting for natural. I think mostly is my prob, as last few years my work stress is extremely terrible. Maybe that the reason.

sweethalo, nope. so sad. but last night i have hokkien mee, carrot cake, chay kueh teow and ice kacang!! and slp.. yipee!!

TubbyMummy, im just too jealous of u. my mommy dun allow me to dye my hair and paint my nail.

LFB, do rest well.

Good morning ladies!

Me still in good mood today! createjoy, I'm still feeling pretty today haha.

sweethalo, thanks for your tips on the tightening/contractions thing. I was also trying to think if I've ever experienced anything like that, but I don't think so. Think we'll all look out for these sort of sensations now. But the pulling sensations will come at intervals, like contractions is it? For my hair, I thought about doing at home too, but I already tried that before, and those home kits couldn't cover my previous colour. Then in 1st tri, I went for hair cut, and the stupid stylist manage to change my hair parting without asking or telling me! So my hair has been looking a bit out of shape (to me) for a while. Now all accumulated, can't stand, go back my previous salon. I booked first thing in the morning, decided it's the least crowded, so less fumes to breathe in. It worked for me, I was the only person there until close to 12noon.

LFB, I also want black carrot cake! Maybe eat it tonight hehe. Hey, remember to drink lots of water ok? I know drink more means must pee even more, but it's actually a good thing. Last time when I had UTI, I drank lots of water and cranberry juice, it managed to help clear things faster. Ever since then, whenever I start feeling like a UTI may be coming up (always need to pee, got a bit of burning sensation), I still drink lots of water & cranberry, and it usually goes away by itself.

Shelisa, your dinner always super exciting one leh! Envious.. u all one by one eat carrot cake... For my hair, I never ask my mummy haha! I booked already then told hubby also. He said can do meh? I said no one say CANNOT do what. So he went to research online, found that really no one says can or cannot for sure, so he kept quiet hehe. Eh, cannot paint nails also meh? I did pedicure before CNY, then recently ordered a few bottles of OPI nail polish thru spree keke.

amk_gal, I try to help u look out, anything I'll post here in the afternoon for you ok? The slings from Moms R Us, not Moms in Mind hor?

cassey, yr mom is indeed in gd shape leh...even mi b4 pregnant oso not like yr mommy figure leh!! so envy leh!!

lovelytulips, if dr ask u to bed rest u beter do so....when mi 1st tri gynae oso ask mi to bed rest and he told mi juz lay on yr bed to watch tv dun walk ard so often....aft wat u say abt stretchy feeling sometime i do encouner leh...aiyo i scared i realli not senstive enough to know whether is normal or abnormal!

LFB, beter rest well!!

shelisa, r u sure u have hokkien mee, carrot cake, chay kueh teow and ice kacang all at 1 time??

tubbymummy, i tot u will juz stop doing yr hair aft wat u encounter but u still continue to finished it! realli f the sake of beauty u can tong! my bro is hairstylist he oso dun encourage mi to dye my hair...he say will do it f mi aft i give birth!

jam75, no choice lah, by that time I got a lot of clusters of aluminum foil on my head, if I stop at that point, they will also need to wash it out etc etc, and I will look like a freak, cos they had just added one more highlight colour to my head, and the rest isn't dyed black yet. So I cheong ahead haha.

hi gals..

I am abit out of touch with Wedding Dinners and mkt rate for Ang Paos. Just wondering anyone can give me input on how much wedding dinner costs these days as am going for a wedding tonight at Furama hotel.

hi ladies, thanks for the concern and the suggestions.

trying to stay in bed but been sleeping too much that i got headache. and once i headache, i tend to vomit. worse is, my bedroom has no tv.

with regards to stretching and cramping, i think it's all based on gut or own's feel. if u feel uncomfy and think it's not the norm, pls see ur gynae. for now, i rather take it as a "false" thingy and pay the gynae charges to have a peace of mind. my gynae charges yesteday was 194!!! faintz.

tubnnymummy, u must be feeling oh so pretty. envy envy.

sweethalo, depending on how close u are with the friend. normally will be at least 80.

sweethalo, regarding AP tink no standard ba....some depend on jiao qin, some depend on how much they bao to u, some depend on location, some depend on their budget oso leh! so r u close to the couple?? if some invited couple to go 2gether some will feel the pinch & give slighlty lesser compare to go individual leh!

cassey, sweethelo: yeah. i re-read the letter and noticed that lesson starts on 21 March 09 with the text in bold and a * indicating it is last updated on 19 Feb 09. So i will see you guys on 21 Mar then. hee.

TubbyMummy, my mommy say scare bb will have birth mark thus advise not to dye hair or paint nail wor.

jam75, i have the ice kacang and hokkien mee myself. then share the carrot cake and chay keow teow with my hubby

sweethalo, ok, here's my personal guideline for FURAMA wedding hehehe:

Not so close to couple (e.g. random colleague): $80/pax
Couple is one of husband's subordinate: At least $100 per pax
Close friend: At least $120/pax

The more atas the hotel is, the more expensive it gets. E.g. Raffles Hotel, minimum AP is $120, regardless close or not, so if not close, I choose not to go! Hahahaha...

Tubbym~, what a horrific experience. Now that salon may start turning away preggie ppl... haha... But seriously, I take my hat off to you for the pampering session after that episode passed. =)

bing, yup. That's why I posted the info here for those who hadn't received any updates yet. See ya then!

l'tulips, I won't scold you! I've been thinking abt it too... but don't want to have more than 3 a week. Prob going for my fix on Fri again. =)

Been feeling more breathless and experiencing more heartburn the last fortnight or so... I find that I tire much more quickly too. Butt-ache is quite marked on some days, especially when sitting on the hard train seats.

HEY! Who's the person who dared to 'jinx' me?! Shelisa and someone else is it?! I haven't gotten any seat offers yest or today since you girls mentioned I get them the most often! =( NO WONDER I've been grumpy! *excuses* Heehee... *too blessed until I take it for granted*

shelisa, was tinking can't b at 1 go u can hv so many foods! wat u hv ate last nite is oso my favourite leh!!

cassey, nobody offer seats huh...aiyo i ZERO time encounter ppl offer seat to mi lo! juz 2 days ago i stand ard 1hr 10min throuhout my whole bus journey back to home....alto got ppl look at my stomach la but oso nv offer their seat...if dat the case y they bother to look at mi!

just woke up for lunch! I can't believe that I slept for almost 3 hrs, from 930am to 1215pm! Made a simple ham and cheese sandwich and ate that with leftover CTK. Still yummy despite being cold.

I had stomach discomfort ever since the UTI episode. So now I religiously drink cranberry juice and water. Tubbymummy is right, drinking does make it better. So ladies, drink like a horse now! Prevent UTI, it's not fun at all!

Cassey and Jam75, NO one give up seats for me! Most of the time, I am the one who find the empty ones. I am use to it. If I am taking train to work, it's only one stop, so it's ok. But if I am travelling further, I usually find seats. This is why I take buses more often, cos from interchange, the chances are higher!

Tonight I am cooking. Wanted to lesser the time eating out. Cooking cabbage rice and luncheon meat thin. These are my hubby's fav. Chat later!

jam75, WHOA, stand for 1 hr plus?! Feet get wobbly!! Remember to shift your weight around if you have to stand for long periods, yeah? Can't you take a train? Sigh. Bus likelihood of seat offers are very very low. I haven't gotten any at all, I think.

You must practice your pathetic-old-thing face... you can try pathetic-little-thing, but I'm not little so it doesn't work for me. *grin* Practice practice!
Or else, like my sis "suggests" put 1 hand on bump, 1 hand on lower back... then lose balance lose balance... then ppl will feel very sorry for u. Hahaha... I think you'd sooner FALL OVER than get a seat offer though!

LFB - aiyo! Cabbage give you gas... luncheon meat = salt, which may worsen water retention!! Haha... I'm not very encouraging hor. Ok la, I love chicken-mushroom-cababge rice!! Enjoy your cooking! But do try to use fresh meat when you can - although I just say that... I absolutely adore processed meat!

Hot hot day today. I want bubble tea!

hi all, finally am back to do some postings.

tubbymummy, the tightening thingy, i felt it also, once in a while. like wat sweethalo had mentioned, it's something we hv to monitor. if it gets worse and frequency increases, need to call up gynae. my fren said this is practice labour. it is not uncommon to have it, jus need to make sure it doesn't progress to preterm labour.

wah tubbymummy, your salon experience really drama leh... you must really haf frightened ur stylist!
can tell dat you really happy now, wif the new hair colour. so envy you, can do ur hair... my hb forbids me to do my hair, despite can see the white hairs super obvious and im super irritated by it, my hb still say no to me dying my hair... even my gynae say it's ok to dye hair nw, jus dun do often... haiz...

talking abt tummy tightness and stuff like dat, im scared dat im gong abt whether it's something normal or something to take note of...

LFB, must rest hor... dun anyhow walk around yeah.

yeah lor, tubbymummy, i also like dat, whenever feel like UTI coming soon, i drown myself wif water... after peeing for dunno countless times, the pain goes away... but i din try cranberry...

i also heard abt cannot paint nails leh... but dunno wat's the exact reason behind it, some say cos the paint will get into the skin, which is not good.

sweethalo, furama hotel, normally give between $80 and $100, of cos it also depends on how close you are to the bride or groom. but nwadays ppl seldom give $80 le, min is $100 liao now. also depend whether u need to bao back the amount they give u last time. but if only normal fren, i will only give $80. heehee cos only furama mah.

ahnetsan, i read somewhere that can paint nails, but must paint at airy place and dont' do it too often. cos it's the fumes from the nail polish tat we inhale which seems bad for the bb.

wow, jus went into babycenter... realised today is my wk 24! and as i read on abt wk 24, i read this! -

"You may notice faint red streaks, otherwise known as striae, or stretch marks on your tummy, hips, buttocks and breasts. Lots of women have very itchy skin as well - pregnancy hormones can make your skin drier and stretching over a growing bump doesn't help. Rubbing on creams may make you feel more comfortable and help soothe the itching but it won't get rid of stretch marks and is unlikely to prevent them. Stretch marks are typical at this stage of pregnancy and will fade to silvery white marks after you give birth."

i was like OMG, nw will start to see red lines aka stretch marks?? *crossing fingers*, praying i wont get them!!!

ytd my boy was moving ard the whole day and whole night... i only felt his silence from 10+pm til 1am...

but the strange thing is whenever he moves ard, i cld feel vibrations or sensations or dunno wat feeling in my buttocks area and vaginal area, it's jus the whole bottom also got feeling like dat... i dunno if the feeling is from the tummy or feeling spreads from tummy to all the way down...

anyone know why it's like dat?

nail salon sit near fan, or spacious still ok bah. i also wonder. i think hv to self gauge, if super busy day and every breath you take, tat alcoholic smell is overwhelming, may not be too good to stay there too long or go too frequently? do at home open the windows should be ok bah. but will be harder to do it ourselves, with the bulging tummy blocking the way. ha!

why everyday after i eat something, my stomach area will feel hard hard one?? i mean the area from bust area to above the belly button... and from belly button downwards, the area feels soft.

LFB, mi too prefer to take bus as i will go out abit early to interchange to take bus like wat u say got more chance to hv a seat lo!

cassey, if going back my own house i will take mrt but travelling time is the almost the same as taking bus (ard 1hr) mayb mrt juz 10 to 15min diff niah...but most of the time i go my mom plc so bus is more fang bian f mi..MRT or LRT all NOBODY give up seat to mi de! aiyo sekali i put 1 hand on bump, 1 hand on lower back... then lose balance still nobody c & i realli fall down not worth it lo! cos bus oso same thing all zzzz all the way!

ahnetsan, i got rcvd AP $60 leh even 10+ or 20+ oso hv but no name indicated lo! oso like 6pax (family) bao onli $80 lo...ma chiam is having buffet at void deck!

wah piang, jam75, u suay sia... where got ppl bao such amount of AP one? so bad one.... i only got received $10 and $20 from malays only... also got no name indicated one. think they know they bao so little, so no 'face' to put their names down!! chinese all bao more than $80.

FAINT!! family of 6 only give $80???!!! i hate such ppl lor... they think they attend malay wedding is it?? kanasai one...

den during ur wedding, u got profit or loss?

jam75- wow this kind of ppl damn shameless! Bring so many and pao this kind of AP! I had my share of those ppl at my wedding too... but that was 9+ yrs ago... didn't kn nowadays still got such creeps!

Thanks all for the AP input. Didn't kn that mkt px for AP still stands at around the same as my time...hehe... I thot restaurant costs wld hv gone up after 10yrs so wanted to double check as don't want to shortchange the couple.