(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

I will be heading to bb fair
and I will be buying all items from there...

If I happens to be there on first day, then I will update u girls in this thread

ask u all smth, do u all play classical music for bb?

every morning i wake up, den i will on the radio listen to classical music...but not even once did my boy show any response wor... of cos i will fall aslp halfway thru and when i wake up again, it's early afternoon liao... still the radio's on and no movement from bb....

and when i off it, after a while, i can feel bb's movement liao? like dat means wat? he dun like classical music or he's been enjoying it?
my hb says bb same like him, dun like music... dats y he din move...

and i read in babycenter saying some studies show babies indicate unborn prefer classical music?

Ignorance IS bliss sometimes hehehe... Even my mother say what you don't know can't hurt you haha! So I told her, eh, then u got any old wives tales, etc etc, ALL don't tell me ok? And she hasn't. What a wonderful mummy!

Oh, the only thing that she prevents me from eating is one particular type of banana. You know, the big Del Monte kind? She said that she was told many times that it causes fits, and she saw it happen to some cousin, who didn't believe it and purposes stuffed her face with that sort of banana everyday. Kid born really had fits. So my mum was quite traumatised aft seething this, and while she knows it may e a coincidence, she feels better if I just don't eat it. So ok lor, I humour her.

im gg to the expo bb fair!! but i thk i might go on friday afternoon, since im nt wrking, mayb can ask my mum to go wif me. den mayb at night my hb can join me there.

haha tubbymummy, your mum very cute leh!!

HUH!!! my fav banana is the del monte kind leh!! dat's the only banana i will eat wor.
huh, but y wld it cause fits??? although i've not having dat for some time le, cos cannot find leh... all i can find is only the 'dole' brand, which i dun like leh.

Hmmm, dunno leh, cos I hardly eat goreng pisang also. But I thought goreng pisang is made with other types of banana. Is it the one that we call "Indian" banana in dialect? My mum said ok for me to eat anything other than the del Monte kind, and there are some of those super big huge kind, she thinks they're just strange anyway, so don't eat. Wahahaha...

Talking about banana, I crave for banana split long ago liao... ... so far didn't dare to try because heard of many people say cannot eat. Now then I know the reason.

Shelisa, Jackie,
ha ha ha! I just had Botak Jones' Chicken burger with fries and potato salad! Yoo hoo!

I asked a collig to send me to my doc, just in case they can squeeze me in. He went tell boss 1 and 2. Then they kan cheong also, called and checked on me. Result? Got sent home by No. 1, and even got another collig to send me home! Wah, song bo! Then I told her I want to drink soup, they stopped me near a supermart and I got my soup. Went home, slept and hubby returned. He went out to get BJ for me, and I had that with soup! Wah biang! My hubby nearly died cos I ate so much! Now I am super bloated, satisfied!!!
You know what? I suspect our craving are almost the same! I past by Yami last sunday but must let it go.
Hubby don't allow me to take cold stuff! TCM doc told us. I secretly had a ben and jerry strawberry shortcake ice cream last friday! Super!

Ahnetsan,
Still on and off the pain. Doc no free see me, sister in clinic told me to monitor. Anyway, I think could be uterus expanding or baby growing or virginal stretching, whatever. Now just reduce walking. I have been sitting and doing nothing since I am back!

LFB, glad you enjoyed ur dinner.

wah ur boss so nice to u. super song right?

hmm, u had ben&jerry strawberry shortcake icecream... wow, dat's nice leh.

LFB, think better just lie down and rest ba. Take care ok? if suddenly very pain, then just call your doc's emergency number, don't care. Your doc got emergency number right??

I just went downstairs for dinner. 2 otah + small plate fried hokkien mee! :D But hokkien mee standard drop leh, last time very flavourful (cos got a lot of lard, but unhealthy), today NO lard at all, and tasted a bit burnt. Small plate $4. Feel a bit cheated. But otah very nice, so I'm happy. I also limited myself to 2 only, since you all say shouldn't eat...

LFB- yeah better to lie down and rest.

Actually last night I just could not sleep at all until 4am. When I finally went to bed at 4am, the baby kicked and seemed to be quite violent.. and I got frightened... then I was thinking, wht if we have emergency at 3am or 4am? Also call that number the doctor give ah.. then skarli he tells us that is a common thing... then how?

Eh, the emergency number is exactly for that purpose what, for calling at stupid times of the night when we think there's an emergency. Hehe... No worries lah, that's all part and parcel of our doc's fees right?

Besides, I'm sure we're not the nonsensical type who call for every single little thing. We'll call only when something really seems very abnormal... Otherwise we also wait until next working day to call or even next VISIT to ask questions.

BTW, did u figure out why baby was kicking so violently?? Or was it just one of those mysterious things...? Maybe from now onwards, the kicking intensity will be greater, cos baby bigger liao.

yeah the strange thing was I could not sleep becos felt like something wana come out from below the chest and above the tummy...the minute I felt tired enuf to lay down, the little one started struggling...

I woke my hubby up and he said, still moving or not still moving then ok...*fainted*

I always hv this fear that the small one kena entangled

tubbymummy, wat do u mean by 'jus one of those mysterious things...'

wah sweethalo, scary leh, y u feel like smth wana come out from below the chest and above tummy? is the heartburn or indigestion feeling?

u mean entangled by his own umbilical cord is it?

yeah, scared kena entangled by umbilical cord...

not sure if it is called heartburn but it's like want to vomit like that so could not sleep ... arghh

Ahnetsan,
the ice cream nice! Dunno cos I very long never take or it's nice! Anyway, shh... Hubby will sure have twisted face if I told him

My boss is like that lah. But honestly I think he quite bias. He said so. He gives in to me and another collig, so we both very well known to be popular with him. Got problem, they just tell us gp tell him. If travelling out of office, I sure kana to take his car. He cannot stand some of my colligs! Ha ha ha!

Ya, I going to lie down soon. Actually I realised bb kicked quite often today. As for calling doc, I also scared he said, "wa lau, like that also call!" For pple who like us always get"it's common, this is what pregnancy abt!", we can't help but feel this way, huh? Actually if I need, I will call. BTW, do you know they charge extra when they go see you at A&E? Alot extra, ok? So they shouldn't complain!

That time, my charges for A&E is about 100 for the hospital and another 150 for the gynae! Rest first! If it persist! Please call the emergency hotline and they will guide u!

Nope sweethalo... Calling A&E doesn't incurred any extra charges, unless admitted A&E and that is when all $$ comes in.

FYI - anytime after office hours, they will have those xtra charges

The nurse said that my gynae already gives me rebate! Gynae Usually charge 200 for A&E...

Pls note that for A&E, Gynae and hospital charged seperately...

For Hospital, they will have one consultation charge and then followed by whichever service they attend to you.

Hospital bill Eg:
Consultation - $45
Foetal Monitoring - $45
Medication - $10
Billed and Paid at hospital straight.

Gynae bill Eg:
Emergency Consultation $150
Billed and paid on my next visit.

i haven eaten otah since preg,hb scare not well cook or dirty so i didnt eat... also no bedrm activity since sept, hb scare i freak out if i feel any pain. LFB i also think u must tk more bedrest mayb walk or std ard too long, muscle strain... i sm times fd myself cant sit on flr too long stomach feel pain, i lie on bed awhile felt better.ur boss so nice so envy now economy so bad i v worried i cant fd job next yr...

ya actually i notice bb more strength these days i dun think it's violent cos mum say later stage their elbow n knee poking can mk us feel qt pain bt itz normal.

Tubbym~, I love 'keh leng chio' - "Indian" bananas!

ahnetsan, it's those large, long, perfect looking bananas that are supposedly not good for us. Whether it's Del Monte or Dole, it's the same species. My dad says not just not good for pregger ppl but as he ages, he's noticed that those are the kind of bananas that give him coughing fits at night and sometimes he gets breathless too. Now he's switched to ALL other bananas except those and he's doing fine. I love Del Monte's & Doles, but now I only eat them with Swensen's banana split. Heehee

Had my "peach with granola" again today. YUMMI! Colleague said I look so happy eating it. =)

Re: Calling A&E / docs
I think very often it's quicker and much easier to just Google the symptoms and see if it's common during pregnancy and we're just being overly paranoid... If reliable sources say to get in touch with health care provider, then call dr.

sweethalo, like you, I find myself thinking abt umbilical cord strangulation sometimes.. Especially hearing one of our ladies' story. I think it's one of those things beyond our control though... we can only monitor bb's movements and be alert for any significant changes.

ahnetsan, haiyo. I find myself forgetting my supplements these days ever since I stopped taking it with my morning glass of milk. Sigh. So not even taking fish oil every day.

wakkaakaakaa... sweethalo's revenge!!!

Today asked hubby to tapao Yami Yoghurt for me.. hehe.. he brought back 2 tubs! Peach and Strawberry... hniak hniak hniak hniak... waakakkaka

WHOA!!!! SWEETHALO!!!! YOUR HUBBY SO SO SO SO NICE! *ENVY ENVY ENVY*
Mine would probably say cannot buy whole tub. I'll stop working soon, must cut down on such frivolous stuff.
I wanted to sample Strawberry today, but they'd already run out of s'berry
I try yours can?

Call me also no help ah. I'll talk to u abt yogurt. (*sidetrack: just noticed today tt Yami is spelled yoGurt, not yoGHurt..)

haha yeah at least cassey can also help to goggle info even if she dunno!aiyah c'mon cassey if we emergency qt panic mah surely u wont mind helping us hor :p *go fd swthalo hide together* i'm qt worried if i'm alert enuff... so can only pray hard bb smooth delivery dont give me any test. i fd myself qt pervert, almost evytime i wk up go relieve i will try to get sm respose fm bb b4 i get bck to slp.. qt bad lor think he nt getting enuff rest :p

sweethalo, been browsing thru MIM's nursing bras collection - they don't quite go up to my size.
Don't know if I dare order online. Skali need to exchange very troublesome. =( Wonder if they do refunds...

I think those on offer cannot refund but I am not sure if underwear can refund or not leh...

Maybe if u going to the Baby Fair, can ask them there...

Actually I still think for bras u need to try on.. maybe go to their showroom later ba

Why, O why must I be a giant in a land of little people?!?!
Guess you're right. I shall have to either pop by their showroom, or resort to M&S - $99/2 bras.

*night night*

it's madness LFB who reported to work again! Ok, I am slightly better, though when I did big business, the pain comes back again. Sigh, no choice. Anyway, thanks for the advice. Will sit and rest more often. My job requires me to walk and stand quite a fair bit. Will monitor. Incidentally, bb kicked quite a fair bit last night. Hubby even managed to feel a kick. So nice!

I realised for bras, my cup size is almost the same, but the width has expanded. So I went Triump and bought some bra extender clip that will lengthen the bra lor. Can use lah. I am quite reluctant to buy new ones cos I know later I won't really use. So be it. Cassey, you are not a giant! You haven't see me to qualify that! Remember how I was told off by eating too much? Shan't care!

hello!!

din get to eat sushi. instead had some yucky sambal chicken rice as was rushing home to watch amazing race. think i'm gonna b a tv addict soon. ha...

LFB, u wake up so early???!!!try to take a rest after walking. not too good to stand n walk too much.

did i read fr here or did i read somewhere that the breasts will expand further especially in the last tri and during breastfeeding. so i'm not comfy buying new bras now in case cant wear again later.......

<font color="aa00aa">http://www.breastpumpsdirect.com/breast_pump_comparisons_a/127.htm

Breast pump
Just learnt that Medela PIS is an "open" system pump - not very good it seems.. esp when you compare with Ameda one, twice the price and much lesser functions, and heavier too. i guess is also becos Medela PIS must come with bag but Ameda is w/o bag..

Anyway, just a note, if anyone is considering a 2ndhand pump, be sure NOT to get the open system type. Very bad. Or if you are considering the pump as investment - i.e. will sell in future - pls do not buy open system one!!

And, this above website has lots and lots of info on bf-ing - just realised after clicking around yesterday - so free can check it out =D</font>

Morning ladies.. Sorry for not coming in for so long, was dealing with some issues at home.

Feeling very depressed, broke down last night and wondering if I will go into depression soon. Felt myself useless, can't do anything. =( Really hate it..

Lovely tulip,
I wake up at insane hour, 515am EVERY morning! Wah ha ha ha ha!!! Now I am trying to rest more. Will see how. Anyway, I am use to the timing and hours of my work. So my meal time is always messed up. At 615am, I will have breakfast. At 11am, I will have lunch. If dinner is delayed till 7pm, I will eat in between. Strange right? Well, that's why I opt to stop work for a year. I think I will go bonkers if I con't work after my maternity leave!

Talk about umblical cord estranged.
My collig's daughter's baby nearly kana. After first few days of CNY, one day she realised the bb wasn't kicking. Her brother(who is a doc) told her to go to hospital immediately. The doc strapped her up with the monitor and realised heartbeat weakening. So they immediately induced. The bb came out bluish-purple, with the umblical cord round his neck! Thank goodness for the prompt action! I was like "oh OMG!" So now I also got worry and keep keeping still to fell bb movement. Sigh.... Paranoid!!!!

hi audreyaw, are you okay? don't be blue, if you feel you can talk to us, then let us know. maybe we can help or at least be a listening ear?

take care sweetie..

Hi audreyaw,

Don't be depress, everything will be fine. Just think of your bb and you will be happy. Imagine next time bring bb go out shopping, picnic... etc and all the fun activities.