(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

chidori! THANKS THANKS!!! *oops* ERMM... NOW YOU CAN STAY HERE... You're a life-saver!
Eh? Old JP basement only bubble tea, polar... where's Yami?

Blurmommy, haha... I've got ONE up on you. You can't tickle what you can't find *chuckle*

caramelle, *oops again* Haha! Those who cannot stand the test of temptation shall account to their own disappearing waistlines!

eh i attended my hb's fren's baby shower jus last week wor.

even hb's another fren whose father jus passed away nt long ago, also attended the baby shower wor. and we also attend his daughter's baby shower, jus days before the last week shower.

talking abt baby shower, i've never been to one. yes, all my friends are single high-flying career types who still cannot believe im having a baby. so i very suaku one!

when should we have one? and what to expect at one? presents??

cassey, hahaha tot is u ma! not purposely change a top to post up mayb is 1 of yr photo juz cut & paste & post there to show us wat the top look like ma!

now like tea break time u'll tok abt yummi yogurt again...aiyo u'll mk mi crave for it leh!

wah fried cucumber wif braised meat... never tried before wor... i only tot cucumber can be eaten on a chicken rice plate.

Oui Mika Rei, don't blame it on us hor!
Chicken rice - at the Bt Batok train station. The S11 coffeeshop further down from the bus interchange. I know cos I work near there!

*Tubbym~ is off Cassey's hook.*

Blurmommy, maybe I'll see you at JP. =)

caramelle, in local custom very few ppl having bb showers - they usually just have the full-month celebrations... and call THAT the "baby shower".

In western culture, baby shower is organised in MTB's honour in the last trimester of her pregnancy. Ppl visit the MTB with gifts and well-wishes in preparation for her impending delivery. I prefer that - then you can sort thru the gifts and figure out what you need to buy. Instead of having to post up all the NewBorn Gift Packs on a certain forum's WTS thread cos you've already bought what you need. Duh.

err.. sorry wrong number.. its bitter gourd with braised meat.. paisay...

ahnetsan.. WHen things dun happen, then pple will not make much noise.. but when it happens, then all fingers will start pointing here and there

caramelle again, I think as the recipient of all the gifts, you're supposed to "cater" for the event.

Blurmommy, I think bb can sense you're excited abt something and wants to join in the excitement. =)

Lazy to wash and dress up to go out. =(

What shall I have for dinner...? Now that blurmommy mentioned "braised", I feel like eating braised beef... or beef stew... or beef anything! I haven't had meat since Wed night, CRY! I got no meat will die one. I can never become vegetarian...

caramelle & tubbymummy, baby shower is 1 mth after giving birth. the baby showers i attended are mostly held at hm or at condo's function rooms, one at a restaurant (they jus book a few tables and had buffet). i can expect food at all the baby showers, buffet style. and we all bring gifts or ang paos for baby. anything from hampers to bb clothes to toys to chicken essence can be presents. some baby showers hv cake cutting cremony, some dun hv. frens & relatives are invited. and everybody goes thr to oogle at the newborn and goes gaga when the baby smiles or even open its eyes to look at them.

Cassey, not sure if you watch Friends but it's like when Rachel was pregnant and they gave her a diaper genie!

this baby shower thing sounds like fun! perfect excuse for me to get my friends to contribute to my endless list of baby items! im thinking of having one, but my IL side say like bad luck to celebrate before the baby comes. actually the malays have this small event around 7th month called "lengang" (not sure how they spell) where they call a massage lady to position baby ready for childbirth. i've never been to one, but my ILs was talking abt it. and this event also people give presents (!!!) but mostly money and well-wishes.

no lah ahnetsan.. got pple do party before delivery one.. so shower its before birth lah.. haha

now sg very ang mo pai already... heehee

Cassey me too. Wanna go shower and prepare to go town, but it's SUCH a hassle. These days ever since preg, it's such a chore. Must dig around for clothes to wear, put in more effort to look less like a slob (I seem to be able to look sloppy easily with a big tum), must make sure I put on sunblock, must bring water out with me (cos thirsty all the time), must this, must that. Goodness.

I WANT A DIAPER GENIE!! Ok, I might consider throwing a shower and hint to my friends for a diaper genie hahahaha.... well done caramelle for the inspiration!

ahnetsan, I hope my post clarified bb shower things abit.

That's the problem I have with the local versions of things... Like when they consider ROM an "engagement". It's ridiculous - especially when you're explaining it to a foreigner. Like
"You're engaged!! Congrats! So when are you getting married?!"
"Ermm.. I'm married, actually. It's just that I get to get married all over again on my wedding day."

I told friends abt hubby and my engagement and they all went "REALLY!? YOU ROM ALREADY!!?!" *sigh*
Breaking ROM = divorce. You can break off an engagement without being divorced ok. Buay tahan

ha, forgot to mention. in local context, the abovementioned is called baby shower, aka full month celebration. but i dun think it's such in othr parts of the world.

busy with meeting the whole morning n just came back from lunch. Appetite not there but still eat cos it's time to eat.

Re: Assam curry/mee siam
I never heard of such things. I had fish head assam curry from the famous toa payoh Ocean restaurant in my first trimester and took mee siam a couple of times. Even ate it with my mother n dad. Mother never say cannot eat leh.

Re: Pantang
I have heard of preggies cannot go to wedding but I went to one during my week 6. I also invited two preggies to own my wedg. I dun really believe in that. Attended one BB full month celeb at beginning of 2nd trimester as well. The only thing I follow is not to go hospital lor. Wanted to visit a fren who delivered at Mt E back then during week 5. My mom n colleague told me not to. My mom's concern is not the clash or what but she views the hospital as unclean cos ppl die there as well.

hi Mika, thanks for the details. come to think of it, maybe hubby and i have been to one. because we got a voucher to collect cake from bengawan solo - like that one right? btw, why must give cakes to others?

eh ROM is considered engagement ar?? wah i din knw man... ROM means married le lah, where got still engagement one... weird sia

i always tot baby shower means the full mth thing cos most of my frens are doing that!!

Tubbym~, why are you going to town, you woman with breathlessness and dizzy spells? PLS PLS BE CAREFUL.

Actually, I've heard of friends organising bb showers for MTB, never of MTB organising for herself leh.
I wish I were still with my Aussie brethren - they'd organise one for me... Here no one does tt.

Mum nag at me not to buy so much, say I'll receive at Full Month celebrations. So dumb.
By the time I wait til Full Month, I'd like to have CASH please... not newborn gift sets and silly gold anklets.

cassey, now not all "breaking ROM = divorce"... Some are still consider single as they are filed under annullment (dunno spelling)...

Its very complicating with folks around us, as there can be so much version...

haha... cassey, i get wat u mean. After ROM is actually considered legally married. And engagement shld come before ROM. Just like baby shower, it's supposed to be before the baby is due, but it gets haywire when put in local terms. it's the east meets the west meets the traditional meets the modern tat we hv such 'confusions'.

Mika, ya think the local version is the full month thing. Wah, I don't think I'll have that, isn't it so traumatising? We're still looking not very fantastic, baby is still so young and susceptible to germs (so many people around, bound to catch something?), most of the gifts are useless cos u would have bought everything by then, unless it's cash. Think I'll do away with that whole shebang. Ok, maybe I'll make my parents happy by giving out some cake/eggs combo. But that's it.

bbjun, my mum pantang me go hospital because she say pregnant women the immunity very low so easily can catch bugs. more scientific perspective lah. but if she ask me to fetch her, she say ok - she works as a nurse - double standard lah my mother!

"By the time I wait til Full Month, I'd like to have CASH please... not newborn gift sets and silly gold anklets" --- yeah man, i agree wif this.... i've seen hb's fren's 1 mth old bb wearing those gold anklets...wah piang, quite a few leh, there were like 2 or 3 on each ankle lor... i was wth lor, for wat sia.... might as well give me cash.
and really man, cash is stil the best gift!!

Cassey, I agree with the stupid ROM thing. I tell people my wedding is xx date, and they go like oh, ROM or dinner? And I said it's my WEDDING, then they say "orrhhh, so when's your ROM?". Peng san. I also get people telling me "Oh, they ROM only lah, haven't get married" and I'm like "Eh, ROM is the important one where u sign your life away, not the ching chong dinner ok please."

caramelle, it's chi custom - kinda like we give out cakes before a wedding too. Kinda like an announcement 'card'. Probably something to do with luck somewhere along the way too.

chidori... ahhh... sooo! Ok OK! I shall go there later this evening. THANKS! You're a good girl. I hope you got some work done.

ahnetsan, yeah. It was so annoying. Everyone to whom we said we were engaged asked ROM AH!?!
Relatives said "HOW CAN TT BE? HOW CAN YOU BE ENGAGED AND I DON"T KNOW?
I was like... hello? Have a look at my engagement ring?!

createjoy, usually work day, i will buy 2-3 fruit for myself. As im someone that love veg and fruit!

Blurmommy, you are cheated by me!! haha. i always muach deep fried chicken wing, pizza, kfc, cheese fried.

ahnetsan, actually my younger turn 21yrs old when im doing my confinement. my mommy also dun allow me to attend. so sad. i really dun understand all this 'pan tang' thing leh. dun follow scare the old ppl angry, follow liao make us guilty. haiz.

Cassey!!!!!!!!!!! ur hallucinations is spreading virus ard this whole thread!!!!! I WANT YUMI YOUGURT!!! i also wanna dance with the peaches.

lovelytulips, u went kidzloft?? their price really as shown in website?

Cassey, oh of course, it's like a bridal shower. unless we shamelessly organise one..hehe. anyway i must cater mah..so since i provide food, they provide presents!
eh what you talking about silly gold anklets? if you get more than 1, can pawn the rest for money? hehe...

Tubbymummy, im so disappointed in you. you want a diaper genie - just like those ang moh people?? hehe
my hubby ask me to explain to him the need for one, i told him so that we don't have to go to the bin so many times, and diaper genie is very convenient plus odor-free. he say cannot buy, later i become lazy!

actually, when we are all having our first/full month shower, not many mummies in this thread can come right? because mostly still in confinement?

cassey,
i give up liao.. reach bottleneck.. maybe think abt how to do over the weekend then continue on mon.. haha... lazy me..

cassey, i tot they can state under single in application form? muahaha....

I nvr had my chinese wedding dinner.. so alot folks come pin point that I am NOT married! Beh ta Han lor! Till now they are still debating about this topic... In the law, I am officially MARRIED! right?

ahnetsan, at least the anklets can still wear a while n then when older, can sell it or remould to other jewellery pcs. Better than my MIL buying ox coins to put in cold storage.

agree that all these east meets west terms are confusing when ppl do not really understand the terms. I tried very hard to explain to my older ex-colleagues when I was gg for my ROM. Even my in-laws didn't see our ROM as marriage. Only my parents see it that way.

those old traditional ppl think married only means must have those dinner thing. if ROM only, to them, it's only in the eyes of the law, not in their eyes mah. one of those chinese customs.

caramelle, i went hospital last mth leh, to visit a grand soul. i go to a nursing hm too, to visit another grand soul. hopefully these grand souls are not so pantang, cos i didn't ask them if they are ok with me going. haha!

and i think the card u receive for the cake, is it from relatives or close frens? i think i receive it only from relatives or close frens as the traditional (which i can't really explain or understand). most likely they wun hv baby shower then. maybe they jus wan to share their joy.

wat's a diaper genie????

blurmommy, i think the old folks consider the tea ceremony a big thing. so if only ROM but din pay respects to them, they think u are 'not married'. haha!

caramelle, if u haven't noticed, I'm not very chinese in this way haha. (I look like I'm made in china though hehe) I know nothing about chinese customs, pantang things, whatever. Most of the kids around me (niece, friend's kids etc) are brought up in the western world, so all the knowledge that is passed down to me is also western. My mum herself was the sort who showered during confinement (actually she barely did a confinement), so I don't think I'm gonna meet much resistance there hehe. So yes, I like my diaper genie wahahaha! But I don't think I'll get one myself, unless some nice friend buys one for me :p