(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

ahnestan, hope u are ok....... must be very careful of wet floors.

Mika, i have those very tight tummy feeling sometimes that i cant straighten my back also. then like the skin between the breasts and tummy shrink that i need to like hunch....... dont know what causes it... i thought it's just the skin and tummy expanding...

ahnetsan,
I borrowed nursery rhymes books and a fairytale. Actually WBB recommended nursery rhymes reading to the tummy. Went to the one in TPY central and they have a section of BB books.

aiya, I am actually quite worried about water retention cos I used to have this prob before pregnancy. If ppl say my nose getting bigger, I super sensitive lor. Then somemore I am waking up later and spending more time on the toilet seat lately, stare too long n realize I m gg to be late for work liao.. then forgot the cream. sighz.

Aiyo,must be careful ah. I fell once liao n now super careful cos after the fall, super kan cheong like the heart turn up side down.

Don't focus on the negatives. Perhaps your parents just felt that you could manage well on your own n that u are an adult. Too much attention can be an over-kill, like my MIL's case and u will end up feeling suffocated.

Re:bb detergent/powder
can't rem who shared this but said that adult detergent may be too strong for BB's skin.

ya lor, was expecting to see some cassey's posts when I log on at this time. wonder what happened to her...

does anyone know of any warehouse sale going on?? heard kidzloft is having 50% discount until this sat. going to have a look as there seems like there's many great deals..

ahnetsan, this morning I try all the remedies in one shot, but no result! Ok lah, I didn't expect instant results obviously, cos food also need to digest etc right? But no poo today. I'm very scared for tomorrow. Oh, fabric softener is not recommended, because it actually contains a lot of chemicals to make the fabric soft, plus usually contain a lot of artificial fragrance, and baby's skin is very sensitive, so may have reaction. But I like the way it makes clothes feel haha... even though its very environmentally UNfriendly. I can't be bothered to handwash also. BTW the stroller I saw in Spring Maternity that is reversible, the brand is called Gelite, the model is Baby Ace I think. Can fix Maxicosi seat onto it.

sweethalo, ya I was also wondering the same thing, didn't hear from Cassey today! Maybe too busy and tired...

Firstmum, thanks for the advice on the blankets. So far only bought 1 receiving blanket. Also thinking of using the cotton nappy to swaddle, so maybe I'll just buy one more blanket enough already, and really use it for blanket purposes. As the kid gets older, how to prevent the blanket from being kicked off when they're sleeping?

amkgal- i went to the kidzloft place last Saturday but didnt buy anything. My preggie nose could not stand the smell in the place but I think they hv 50% off all white tag items.

Most of the things there can be seen in shopping centres like Robinsons and Tangs. I think they must be the supplier.

sweethalo, what where and who is kidzloft?
sorry, suaku...

Can't remember who posted a link on kidzloft. They are at 154 Tagore Lane, which is not far for me, so we decided to go there on Sat after MIM.

sweethalo, bbjun, Tubbym~, only just got back home and showered. So popped in here for a look see.
I made it in with an hour to spare before the day is over! Haha...

Full day of work - busy busy BUSY. My resignation was 'made public' today so a number of ppl to talk to throughout the day. Went for prayer meeting this evening... Strange, today my brethren at church all seemed to notice my 'suddenly bigger' bump. I wore the G'Jeans gathering ensemble. VERY BIG MEH? I don't see a big diff leh... Hmmm...

Tubbym~, hmm... I was reading your post and guffawing... Hard poo and fabric softener in the same line... mayb it's time to try some of that softener for a DIFFERENT PURPOSE!?!?! *chuckle chuckle*

sweethalo, BABYM
N!!!! I WISH!!! *dreamy sigh*

Breathless breathless day. Feel even more weary than usual. When finally breath in, smell of smoke in the air... =(

Tubbym~ and many others are right - it's the growing uterus squishing everything else. Stomach and intestines get squashed upwards, diaphragm and bladder get nudged too... how to breathe, eat, pee and poo normally?!

Tubbym~, sorry bit slow ah. The poly medical exam male GP wanted to get up close and personal with your cute little bottom ah! *flattered flattered* I feel the breathlessness too... like I said, it's hard to take a nice deep breath - even when I'm lying down sometimes... Must toss and turn, flip and flop, adjust and readjust until I can breathe a bit more deeply =)

LFB, I think it is very sian when obgyn keeps saying it's common. But then it's true ma. Just because it's something we're going thru doesn't make it suddenly serious. It's just that it's human to focus on ourselves so that whatever we suffer from suddenly take on more consequence than if others suffered from it ba. Nvm, we can complain to each other here n get the empathy from our new-found friends that our obgyn is withholding from us!!

l'tulips, are you better now?! You must have been feeling wretched! You poor girl... Rem to kp fluids up!

goldiepooh, have the cramps stopped by now?! Hope you and baby are both doing better by the time you read this. Any update?

Shelisa, I think that icky feeling you've got in the throat IS indeed heartburn / gastric reflux. No way to really quell it except to avoid greasy, fatty & spicy foods, have smaller meals, drink more water, I think. Just bear with it! Again, it's "common"..

ahnetsan, thankfully you managed to saved yourself. Aiyo... Why was floor wet?! Maybe you should wear non-slip slippers/socks at home just in case the floor's wet again next time. I almost fell on my face once in first tri, after that very very careful when walking on smooth surfaces. Hope your leg and arm feel better soon!

*Zzzzzz... off to bed!* Nightey-night, ladies! Let tmr be a better day!

thanks sweethalo! maybe I pop by this weekend too.

Cassey, there you are! You sound like you've had a long day, better sleep earlier tonight. You know, when I constructed that sentence, it DID in fact appear like I was talking about the softener in relation to the poo. Had to retype the whole thing, and add the word "fabric" haha. Eh, maybe your bump has grown a bit bigger between now and when we last saw you?? It's possible. For me, I was washing my hands just now, and I looked in the mirror, and MY WORD, I looked so much fatter. I know, I've been complaining about putting on weight, feeling fat etc etc. But I see myself everyday in the mirror without actually closely scrutinising myself. People won't believe me lah, but I hardly look in mirror, not even when brushing hair (which I only do once a day). When I do look in mirror, it's for a purpose, and I concentrate on that purpose, like is hair straight, are my eyebrows balanced, is my blusher too red, do my clothes match. I hardly pay attention to myself just for the sake of looking at my body or face on its own. So, just now when I looked up, it was almost like seeing myself for the first time in the last 2 months, and my goodness, I've put on so much weight, I actually disliked what I saw. I've never been so big in my life. It's mind boggling, and kinda depressing.

wah mika, ur parents also like bo chap wor. but anyway, my parents arent enjoying the news themselves lor. they jus cldnt be bothered abt it. sad right?

thanks for the concern, dun worry, i think the fall only made my knee and leg painful. so far no other pain le.

bbjun, i see... sunplaza lib dun haf bb books leh... cant find any nursery rhymes books. they only haf books for pre-schoolers and age 6-10 and onwards...y dun haf nursery rhymes one... btw, wat kind of nursery rhymes are there??
dunno which other lib got bb books section...

tubbmummy, hmmm mayb it will only take effect tmr ba...y u scared of tmr, u scare tmr got too much poo is it?

omg i din knw softener is environment unfriendly... i like the way the softener makes the clothes, feel so nice and smell so nice.
guess i wont buy softener for bb clothes den.

dunno if it's the haze or wat, today my nose like super sensitive leh... tot i caught a flu or smth.

anyone tried to take quaker oats? my fren told me to start eating oats cos it helps to enhance milk supply should we decide to breastfeed. and den i went to buy the instant tin one... but still unopened yet... dun dare to eat oats leh...

cassey, haha finally see u after a long day. heehe.. im fine after the fall liao... i also dunno hw i fell leh.. it all happened too suddenly le... but i was glad i only fell on my knee and had my hand supported on a chair... if nt i think i sure will fall badly badly one... i jus hope i din break my knee, cos nw when i touched it, it felt weird and a bit loose like dat. haha

tubbymummy, dun worry, you arent the only one feeling depressed abt the changing body figure... me too...
i even start to think im gg to outgrown the full length mirror le... i think the mirror is too small to accomodate my body liao.

tubbymummy, sure we have grown fat liao. It has hit above 60kg for once in my life! and knowing that we will grow more for the next few months as baby starts to grow double every month. My face also getting rounder liao cos when i fat, my face will show first! Oh ya, u gog congress also rite? Den can say hi there!

Ahnetsan, glad only yr knee pain. Also scare of wet floor, tell hubby last week cant wash the bathroom floor liao cos squat also difficult and also scare of wet floor slippery. Hubby also agree and will pass the job to him. hee
Saw in news that due to haze will get sensitive nose one, so mayb it happen for u, shld be temp. For increase milk supply, u can try eating fish if u dun like oats, it will helps too..

I think we have growth spurts... Monday suddenly after lunch, I was trying a pair of pants then went to fitting room, got a shock too.. suddenly the belly was so huge!

Sweethalo, i realise aft wake up in morning the belly not so big den when comes aft lunch den zoom, its becomes bigger and firmer!haa

Did anyone realise that the pte area starts to grow some thin fine hair like mens? feel someting ard the area initially den realise its the hair..oops

know I can't beat you to stay up late, but I can be the earliest! Started work liao!

Ahnetsan, hope you are ok. Did you tell your hubby when you fell? I don't think I will. He is super kan cheong. Last sat I nearlt tripped over his foot while boarding bus already he nagged like mad! Must be careful.

Cassey, ya lor! The worst is when I did my scan upstair, seeing him is like 5min! So I resorted to asking my sis instead. Think she can answer my qns better than the doc!

re:washing bb clothes
my sister said that can wait cos if you wash too early, the bb clothes will have the cupboard smell. Think Kiddypalace sell this brand of baby detergent, ABD that my sister said cheap and good. I will get that.

Re: Swaddle cloth
Ya, was thinking of buying last week, but acc again to my sis, WBB will sell you this blanket she has and it is better. She will also teach us how to wrap the bb. So I decided to wait fot my class to start.

My right arm cramp is getting worse and now every night, I will wake up to swing my arm to aid blood circulation. And also, I realise by 9pm, I am ready to sleep. When I wake up, I am hungry liao! So scary! Just ate a bread and a slice of swiss roll and a cup of milk! Like that how can not fat fat! Anyone like me? Super tired and always hungry?

chidori, thanks for the info. Im also quite worry that grapefruit might cause phelgm to bb. before pregnant i use to love grapefruit but after that stopped. for apple, i will try to eat it.

TubbyMummy, you mentioned order loose pieces from another lady regarding the blanket. don't mind can send me the link? As i think 5pcs in a pack is too much for me. Thanks

ahnetsan, i already plan when my grandma is cooking for me. i will dash in and have a quick bath w/o washing hair. if she go downstair buy thing, i will find the quickest way to wash hair and blow hair. haha (next time pls be careful on wet floor hor)

Cassey, i nearly drowned myself with alot of cold water as the throat is burning. but i think today so far ok.

welcome Blurmommy. congrats on ir prince

wow, finally see cassey's posts now cos I usually hit the sack ard 11pm.
Had a terrible time trying to sleep last nite. I do agree that we will all undergo growth spurts. I bought this maternity pants from Perfect Mum and even bought L size (for the first time in my life) cos the lady wanted it to fit me till 3rd trimester. Gosh, when I tried on this morning, it's really tight at the hips area and it's really uncomfortable when I attempted to sit down. Decided that I can't wear that pants anymore cos I cld feel my tummy squashed as well when I sit down. There was this maternity shorts that my fren lent me that used to be quite loose and I tried on two nites again and it's too tight for me to wear now. My mum also commented that my tummy has grown alot the past two weeks. Was hoping to live this thru with a small one.
I had to resort to sleeping inclined with extra pillows and cushions last nite as I couldn't even breathe properly when I laid down. I am also starting to get worried becos I have not been eating enuf for the past week. One tiny sandwich is enuf to make me feel stuffed, especially for dinner. I am just a few weeks past the half way mark, I can't imagine how squashed up my insides will be in the 3rd trimester. =_=|

ahnetsan, the nursery rhymes I got are actually extended versions of commonly known rhymes like Twinkle Twinkle Little Stars and Baa Baa Black Sheep. There quite a handful of such books at Toa Payoh Central lib. The extended version is also written in ryhmes but has a story line.
Maybe u can search www.pl.sg first to see which lib nearest to you has these books. I believe those community lib would not have much. It wld be those regional lib that would carry such books.

LFB, tks for the info on the swaddle blanket. Will wait till WBB shows us that in the next few lessons. U are fortunate to actually feel hungry. Nowadays, I eat according to time cos I don't actually feel hungry anymore. Stomach too squashed to feel hungry. I only get occasional hunger pangs and it happens only when I am way past my eating time.

welcome, Blurmommy. Who is ur gynae and where do u intend to deliver?

bbjun, maybe u wanna try to drink a glass of warm milk before sleeping? more or less it does help. Or not u can try to sit up n read some book or do some relaxing excerise before sleeping? Try to put some snack on ur desk, see whether is seduce u to feel hungrey anot. try to wear loose clothes, maybe will make u feel more comfortable.

morning ladies...

kidzloft: was taking a peek at other threads and saw posts of items that are selling cheaply. think i'll go take a look.

those going, pls note they arent open on sundays.

cassey, thanks for the concern. i'm better now. but feeling sleepy now. sign, if only i have the day off. i just had bubble tea the other day after u talking about it! shiok. ha....

ahnestan, did i read sun plaza? so u stay in the north??? if u dont mind buying, can try sembawang shopping centre popular. got a variety of er.... what u call them, fairy tales?? and cos outlet pretty new, the books also pretty new.

swaddling blanket: tempted to get the carter ones sold on BP but not too sure of the material. anyone got it??? and i saw the swaddling blankets WBB is selling at TMC the other time. it looks like those white cloth diaper without patterns/pictures.

grwoth spurts: i think once we hit 5 mths, the belly grows very fast. i had this maternity pants (more like yoga pants) and was wearing it loosely with the backside area still "lang lang". today wore it and it looks fine. telling hb that belly and hips and buttocks getting bigger.

nowadays, i sleep sideways and at times, my hb will also sleep sideways but face the other side such that our backs are against each other. kind of like he supporting me which i felt was pretty good. gives me some kind of support...

Hi bbjun, my gynae is Dr Caroline Khi and I opt to deliver at MAH.. How bout yours?

Sorry I am way behind this thread, haha so Anybody same gynae as me?

Tubbymummy, wana PM you my contact to say hihi during Congress but cant pm over leh. Can activate yrs..

Caramelle, have PM you & Cya!

Welcome Blurmommy & congrats to yr little prince. My edd 10 days earlier on the 12th. Im also delivering at Mt A but diff gynae..

morning ladies...

welcome blurmommy! u may wana refer to the table done up by Blue Dream...

swaddling blankets:
actually we didnt swaddle our girl for long, maybe a week or 2, cos after that duno why the confinement nanny that time told us baby also need to exercise arms and fingers so dont swaddle anymore. hence i never bought any swaddling blanket before (we used nappy cloth).

lovelytulips,
i once read in a magazine that back to back sleeping position is the LEAST loving position for couples sleeping together. the face-to-face hugging position is the most loving. but hubby and me has been sleeping back-to-back for some time now. but i dont think we are not loving ley haha.

bbjun,
since i spend a lot of time at hm, im always in my tee and shorts. sad to say, all the tees cannot cover my tummy anymore and ive ougrown my BIGGEST shorts. dam sad.

Shelissa, i saw it on the may09 thread about someone shopping there and posting her buys. u can go kidzloft webby and see the items also. i know cheeky bon bon is selling cheaper. was at tangs and saw the head support cushion for infant-toddler selling at 15+. kidzloft is selling at 11+. so i reckon the rest of the stuff should be cheaper also.

First Mum, yes yes, that position is the most un-loving. but no choice leh, at least it's comfortable. i face him, he hug me, will squeeze my tummy. and when tummy grows bigger, i think my hands not long enuff to hug him already. hahaha.......

i have alot of tees that cant cover my tummy also. and shorts that are tighter. cannot let my mum knows that the tees arent covering my tummy. she'll nag!!!! sometimes, i take my hb's tee to wear instead - a short "dress" for me.

Swaddle Blankets:
Heard the swaddling blankets is to wrap baby with hands inside the blanket. This is to prevent baby from getting shocked when they heard some loud sounds like neighbour close door or someone tok too loudly. My mil wrap my nephew up for about 1-2 months. Also prevent him to be itchy hand. For the first month, bring baby to check up, my sil jus close car door lightly, baby also jump abit. So the blanket keep them protected, like hugging them.

First mum, my usual tops also too short liao, just dun cover my belly. But at home, its ok but not when gog out cos find funny when we expose our preggie belly to others.. hee

lovelytulips. ohh.. thanks. later go in search search.

First Mum, haiz.. my arms is more n more HUGE!! i can stand to see the mirror now!! hugz

lovelytulips/ creamer,
problem is i stay corridor unit so people walking past wld look into the house, dam irritating, so t-shirts too short also paiseh. but just refuse to spend more money on maternity clothes liao...

good morning ladies,

sweethalo,
grapefruit though sour, its actually alkaline when goes into our body. so should not cause acid reflux.. buy those USA ones with pink flesh.. a bit sour and quite sweet.. I like it very much..

tubbymummy,
okie.. from tonight onwards, I will record down my weight for the next 2 weeks.. experiment starts.. haha...

ahnetsan,
I'm eating red apples.. I hate green apples.. they din state which colour
http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/67314.php

actually, I eat at least 2 portions of fruits everyday but this few weeks, I still can clear my bowels only once every 2 days.. used to be once a day.. sad..
I usually pee first before clearing bowels, hence never experience the pee coming out thing

be careful ah.. luckily u managed to grab the chair in time.. as our tummy gets bigger, we get more clumsy so much take caution..

lovelytulips,
my col confirms that ocean and swenvon (dunno spelling) near chinatown OG market sells the baby detergent etc 20% cheaper than outside.. can go check it out..

To all,
anyone going kidzloft? I want to buy a few small items but no time to drop by.. any kind souls who can help me buy pls pm me.. thanks alot

First mum, yah understand the feeling. last time at my mum place also corrider unit and its damn irritaing when they always look in see see look look, and dat floor is with lift so more pple walk past. I jus swift my curtain agressively which shows i feel irritated by them lor. Jus make sure wind dun blow to yr belly direct, if not baby *chill*. hee. Homeclothes dun need maternity la, jus drop by market and buy from those stores cheap cheap one. hee..

First Mum, i know what u mean. like wat creamer suggests, can just buy those tees from market/psaar malam. those 3 for 10 (do they still exist??).

chidori, i heard baby wipes also cheaper at those chinatown shops.

i might be going kidzloft, but not too sure when. either this week or sat. if u dont mind waiting, you can PM me your items.

ah... apples, i haven been eating them consistently for a while now. time to re-eat them again.

grapefruit can eat like that one meh... not sour??? i only know it helps in slimming, so do take note not to take too much although i duno what's the effect.

Hi blurmommy, welcome to our chit chat here! Me due 14 Jun, delivering at MAH also. Is this your first baby?

Shelisa, if I manage to find the thread on the blankets, I'll post here
But will be later, cos I'll be going out later.

creamer, I JUSt deactivated my PM yesterday, cos I was beginning to receive junk mail due to the PM being activated here. I've PMed u instead already, so u check your mail

Short tops:
Those ppl in US, so many of the preggie women walk around with tops that are too short so that they can deliberately show off their bellies, looks quite trendy sometimes (depends on who does it lah). But now that my tops are all too short, ask me to do the same, I feel quite "er xin" haha.

Growth spurt:
I think I got growth spurt too lah, but not limited to my belly, that's the problem! My growth spurt was in the belly, in the face and in the arms. Now arms are so flabby, and machiam look like got cellulite!! I just hope I can continue to wear my current maternity clothing...

hi sweethalo.. sorry to reply ur question so late...
was down with flu the past few days n am still sick =X my next appt's 2 march.. going to some island in malaysia with my dh from 4march - 11march, babymoon!! hee... he's goin for his dives while i can only snorkel around=(

anyone here experiencing this pulling feeling in tummy, a lil painful but not cramps? past 2 nights having it in the middle of the night...

shelisa, thanks. actually I am tired enuf to sleep but just cannot find a good position to sleep properly as everything is so squashed up until I cannot breath when I lie down, incldg on my sides ytd. Wish the snacks cld really tempt me. My colleagues snack quite a lot and they usually will pass ard their snacks n I have not gotten any appetite to even try at most time.

Re:clothes at home
Definitely loose clothing, ranging from hand me down draw pants from frens, ex-companies T-shirts that are always oversized for me n my HB's t-shirts. My own t-shirts cannot cover my tummy as well. If I sleep in them, I will feel my tummy turns cold when I wake up the next morning.

blurmommy, yup. There is a table that Bluedream updates. U have to go thru the archives to dig that out. But I m sure bluedream will be updating yours in the table pretty soon. I will be delivering at TMC under Dr Yvonne Chan.

Re: Swaddling blanket
Just found out from my fren that for those delivering at TMC, BB will be swaddled with TMC blanket when discharged. Just FYI.

creamer/ lovelytulips,
another solution is to wear those knee-length cotton pyjamas, but hate to wear that during the day....so now i get all the tees from cotton on, not too exp, yet do not compromise image haha... but hor getting the shorts is a problem cos i cnt fit the normal ones ley....

growthspurt
same. putting on weight everywhere!!!

diana,
i had the pulling pain a few times liao. esp when i forget myself and turn my body too fast, or squat and stretch too fast. but usually the pain goes away after 1-2 mins.

Thanks TubbyMummy

bbjun, do you have any food that u crave for? wanna buy some to work place? u sound like u lost mood on FOOD!!

Shelisa, u are so right. I am right now trying to think what to eat for lunch so that I won't be fretting over that later. I have tons of snacks at home which includes my fave potato chips and chocolates. Guess what, I have been looking at them last nite but didn't even have the slightest temptation to eat them!!! I went to buy my fave macdonalds breakfast this morning which was something that I used to crave for, I realize I didn't enjoy it as before. My hb bought me chicken rice and roti prata last sunday to tempt me to eat more, those foods I like to eat, I also dun really have appetite to eat more. I really wonder if my stomach has shrunk.