(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Thanks sweethalo, I'll look out for MIM at the fair. I believe I'm still going to the fair. For now.

chk wif u'll other than folic acid & vit dat our gynae prescribe to us....izzit necessary to take other supplement??

jam75, i only took supplement that gynae give me. iron, multi vit, fish oil, calcium & vit b.

Check with mommies here, for bb blanket. how many pcs shld we standby?

this thread is so so quiet today.

I have multi vits, fish oil, calcium n iron.

I actually dunno how many pcs of blanket is a safe no, considering that it may be dirtied with pee and poo as well. Then next time my BB will be at BBsitter oso need to stand by at least 2 pcs at her plc. Buying 5pcs from the lady who is selling bibs cos I saw that it's relatively cheap.

Gg back to work liao.. will pop in later again.

shelisa & bbjun, seems like yr gynae give u more thing to take le...mine onli pink color vit & folic acid onli...do u'll still take folic acid??

jam75. my iron included folid acid. thus no need to take folid acid. not sure y my gynae give me so much thing. she ask me eat, i eat lor.. haha. but her fish oil damn ex.. so i intending to buy from GNC.

shelisa, u mean iron is included folic acid so not the normal folic acid (yellow color wan)... my gynae onli ask mi to take pink color vit & folic acid...i scare fish oil smell leh lucky gynae nv ask mi to take!

jam75,
my gynae says after first trimester no need to take folic acid already as bb spine is developed fully already..
I'm taking pink multi vitamins, DHA (fish oil) and calcium.. some mummies also take iron..

as for blanket, I standby 3.. some experienced mummies told me new napkins can also be used as blanket for babies so I bought a pack of those too..

My multi-vits (pink) has folic acid oredi. So not required to take additional. As per what chidori mentioned, folic acid is more crucial in first trimester.

re movie: i watched benjamin button last week. not a bad show. was glued to the screen for the whole long 2 hours plus. i do not need the loo that often so i thoroughly enjoyed the show, although it definitely was high tide when the show end. but at least i didn't need to squirm in my seat trying to get the baby off my bladder. mayb try fully emptying it before the show & only sipping water slowly can reduce the need to go loo?

re fat : my face is getting rounder by the day!!! arghhh.... i cannot deny it. everyday look at the mirror, everyday kena reminded. starting to wonder how to slim dwn after delivery.

re urge to pee : ask u all, do u hv full bladder whenever u hv the urge to pee? or oni a bit most of the time? i sometimes feel urge to pee, then change position, suddenly dun feel it already. then walk some more, feel again, then think better go toilet. in the end, oni bit bit, faintz, waste my time.

jam75, me same as chidori. My doc also told me same thing, no need to conitnue taking 5mg folic acid after 1st tri. Just need to take the normal daily requirement of 400mcg, which is included in my multivit. My multivit also got calcium, but not much, so he prescribe me additional. And the expensive fish oil lor...

jam75, yup.. my gyane told me that the iron pill included floid acid. my iron is like black colur. den burp got 1 smelly smell. actually good fish oil u burp liao will not smelly. i try the GNC 1, then i tell u burp got smell.

Mika, same prob with u. that time within 1 hr i go toilet 6 times!! same time change position also the feeling will gone. i think it is normal ba?

huh like dat y i still continue to take folic acid...hmm tink nx appt will ask gynae again le!

mika, i hv the same prob wif u...always feel like going to pee...sometime walk awhile wanna to go but when in juz a little...now my frequency to go pee is realli jia liat till my hb say beter dun go watch movie...he oso choose to go shopping where i can find toilet easily!

I'm taking pink multi vitamins (obimin) which also incl folic acid, DHA (fish oil) and calcium. as mentioned before, better not to take calcium together with multi-vits because prevent iron absorption.

jam75, fish oil won't smell. my capsule quite easy to swallow some more.

bbjun, the bib lady blanket is very small leh 30x30 cm iirc. better chk with her again. otherwise if got spree for cheap blanket at babymallonline also can buy there. im not sure how big blanket needs to be, if too big like dangerous for baby if never wrap tight/swaddle. yet if too small, baby will outgrow very fast then cannot use already. so i also prepare the cotton napkins - cheap and easy to use/wash.

jam75. but ytd something funny happen. from 8am-3pm total i drank abt 1.5litres water. until 3.45pm i still dun have the urge to go toilet but i still force myself to go toilet but not much. i think keep gg to toilet is common as i ask my gynae before.

re movie: i watched benjamin button last week. not a bad show. was glued to the screen for the whole long 2 hours plus. i do not need the loo that often so i thoroughly enjoyed the show, although it definitely was high tide when the show end. but at least i didn't need to squirm in my seat trying to get the baby off my bladder. mayb try fully emptying it before the show & only sipping water slowly can reduce the need to go loo?

re fat : my face is getting rounder by the day!!! arghhh.... i cannot deny it. everyday look at the mirror, everyday kena reminded. starting to wonder how to slim dwn after delivery.

re urge to pee : ask u all, do u hv full bladder whenever u hv the urge to pee? or oni a bit most of the time? i sometimes feel urge to pee, then change position, suddenly dun feel it already. then walk some more, feel again, then think better go toilet. in the end, oni bit bit, faintz, waste my time.

mika rei, I have that sometimes. It is especially irritating when I am sleeping and to make my way to the toilet to only realize it's a wee wee bit. When I am out, especially for movies, I make sure I empty my bladder and take sips of water instead. There are times I can feel my boy kicking my bladder and I will scold him cos by the time I reach the toilet, there isn't much, as usual. Sometimes, I purposely hold it for a while and the feeling will go away.

caramelle, thks. Am aware of that but think it should suffice at least till about 4-5mths. I don't think I will use the blankets to swaddle the BB. Most likely just the cotton napkins when necessary. May be getting one swaddle blanket for him for outings that's all.

caramelle,
you are right. calcium and iron cannot go together.. i usually take my calcium or milk at night and multi vits in the morning..

calling for the 70kg club,
my col with 3 kids told me that eating grapefruit one a day can help to maintain or lose weight.. she did so during her pregnancy when her doc told her she is putting on too much weight...
i'm just wondering if grapefruit will cause phelgm in my bb.. as oranges (according to old wives myth) will cause excess phelgm in bb.. I eat one grapefruit every alternate day.. update you gals if there is any results..

to all mummies,
having apples according to study in japan is found to reduce the risk of asthma in bb.. so do try to take more apples if possible.. I'm eating at least 4 every week..

going off for class liao.. have a good evening ladies

caramelle, I think the blankets are 30 x 30 inches, so that's about 70+cm? I thought that size quite ok, thinking of ordering some from her also hehe... Just one pack, don't wanna over do it. But I don't like the colour combo for girls, I think there's too many pink ones, and I prefer a nice mix. So will see how... Maybe order loose pieces from another lady, just one or two...

Chidori, ok, u try the grapefruit trick, and let us know how it goes ok? 2 days ago, my weight just jumped 1kg overnight again. It happened 2 weeks back also. So sad
If grapefruit can help control unnecessary weight gain, I'll try too!

Tubbymummy, hmm..you have a point. although 30x30 inches is very big! okay, will ask my mum as well and revert if she gives me something useful.

hahaa.. I realized I m very blur today. I didn't know caramelle indicated "cm" behind. I read it in inches cos I rem that dimensions. Then was relating to my fren's son who grew quite big within 5 mths... So I tot it shd be lasting until then.

I hate grapefruit. Totally dislike the taste. :p But I am falling behind my fruits intake becos of my smaller appetite now. I can't find room to fit the fruits in. sighz.

knocking off soon... finally.

do hold the reins when buying receiving blankets. the purpose is to swaddle babies but as far as i rembr, i didnt use any cos i use nappy cloth to swaddle. reason being its thin and airy, so baby wont be hot. overheating of infants is quite dangerous. for those who wish to swaddle with blankets, i guess 5 pieces is enough.

wah piang, dunno wat happen today... whole day i can only see blank page for 2009 thread.... sian... finally can read thread...stupid system, dunno wat's wrong today.

but heng ar, no need to read archive... heehee

lovelytulips, how are you feeling now? stil got vomitting mah? still shitting after the 2x?

bbjun, wat kinda books you went to borrow to read to tummy? dat day i went to lib, but dunno choose wat books to read to bb leh... den ended up buying junk food back. heehee

shelisa, i see....tot ur grandma will peep at u bathing...heehee... sianz right, old ppl like dat one, cannot bathe during confinement...it's crazy lor... how can dat be tolerable lor... disgusting and sweaty and smelly maybe...heeehee

yeah i also think drinking more water will help in constipation, can help smoother trips to toilet.

jam75, hw's ur diarrhoea now?
haha, you very cute leh, wanted to hide somewhere to avoid bumping into frens... i guess bo bian one lor, now dat we preggie, we sure put on weight one mah... dun care wat others say lor... they are jus jealous dat you are preggie.

btw, normally piles will appear at which week of pregnancy? since i read dunno who say it's common to haf piles during pregnancy. and is it true dat we will kenna piles more easily if we constipate more?

bbjun, u very funny leh, too engrossed in looking at ur nose until u forgot to apply stretchmark cream....

tubbymummy, wah u steady la, one time try so many things, den in the end, got go shit or not?

shelisa, i had that 'something-stuck-in-throat' feeling during 1st trimester. mine also felt like got phlegm stuck like dat, but it's actually not phlegm.

eh wat MIM fair ar? when and where ar?

mika, sometimes i feel the same way too, so now i jus go toilet pee whenever i think i wan to go... sometimes it's only a bit. esp in the middle of the night i will suddenly wake up, but dun really haf full bladder feeling, but i jus go toilet and pee, jus to play safe.

and it's weird cos i read in books dat 2nd trimester the urge to pee is not as often as 1st trimester... but for me, it's like not much difference leh.

fish oil rocks man!! i love my fish oil. cos i cannot swallow any pill bigger than the yellow flu pill, i bite the fish oil and let the oil seep out and i jus sucked it dry... haha. sounds gross for some right, im sure? but i like the fish oil taste, very yummy leh... a bit like the cods liver oil taste like dat.... heehee. and when burp dun haf fish oil taste leh.
but i hate the pink multivits, my hb always cut into pieces for me and i haf to chew them and swallow wif water... dat pill smells like antibiotics for me sia... disgusting one...

is swaddle blanket really necessary for bb?

chidori, i also heard cannot eat too many oranges cos bb might haf phlegm next time when born and it's gg to be very uncomfortable for the bb. but i guess as long as dun eat more than one orange per day, it's ok ba.

wah i din knw eating apples help to reduce the risk of asthma for bb. will tell my hb and ask him buy some back for me. red apples or green apples ar?

hmmm i think i not eating enough fruits... it's been dunno hw long since i last ate fruits le...
think soon not enough fibre le...

btw, anyone experience this? when wan to shit, exert too much strength, den somehw the pee will be out too??

anyone know besides capella and maxi cosi, wat other brands of strollers can fit infant car seats too and the handle can be reversible?

Ahnetsan- I think TubbyMummy mentioned one she saw at Spring Maternity too.. it has reversible handles as well and can fit the car seat on it. I can't remmeber the brand but I've seen it at both the Vivo and Suntec outlets.

MIM is Mom's in Mind- sells nursing tops etc. They only hv showroom at Jalan Pemimpin but will also be at the Baby Fair. Tubbymummy wanted to go to the showroom which doesn't open usually on weekends.

im so sick of my parents.... they dun seem to bother and care abt my pregnancy at all....
they dun even bother to inform my grandma abt it... my grandma staying in KL wif my uncle, and all it takes is jus one phone call to KL to inform them only, my dad takes his own sweet time.... even now confirmed gender of bb le, stil dun wan to inform them.... haiz....

i also cant view the threads until now.... was so sian at work. oops... hahahahah

sweethalo, ahnetsan, i'm better now. was feeling abit sick this morning but it went away. hopefully nothing's wrong.

face rounder, putting on weight - seems like tat's what bothering most of us now....... my face also look rounder......

ahnestan, how do u bite the fish oil and suck it dry? omg..... doesnt it taste weird? although i duno how it should taste like.....

dont get too upset about ur parents la..... they probably just dont feel the need to inform yet...

strollers that can fit infant car seats - think graco and peg prego has them. think mothercare also carries such strollers.

lovelytulips, haha, i put the fish oil capsule in my mouth, den i bite a bit, den the oil will come out, den i suck the whole capsule dry lor. hahaha... yummy for me...heehee.. no leh, it doesnt taste weird and it doesnt haf the fishy smell...heehee

haiz, my parents jus dun care abt me la... no one cares abt me, only my hb cares abt me.

ok i check out graco and peg prego too. of cos, my main concern is still the cost. heehee. so must compare compare first before buying.

bb stuff are so damn expensive sia....

btw, anyone planning to buy detergent softener for bb's clothes?

ahnestan... probably i'll try biting one of these days. whaha... but they are so easy to swallow leh. much easier than my multi vits which i always got prob.

peg prego is super ex....... but nice.

wow, dont sound so depressed leh. got hubby good already!!!!!

heard softener not so gd for bb?? i intending to get pigeon detergent. heard chinatown those toiletries shop like ocean selling it cheaper.

Been slowly buying baby clothes but think it's still too early to wash them ba.. wait till one wk before delivery then wash?

wah i din knw softener not gd for bb. why ar? i tot put softener makes the bb clothes softer and nicer?

yeah lor peg prego super ex...

i bite the pills cos i cannot swallow... so even if the fish oil capsule is easy to swallow, i also cannot. somehow the pill will come back to throat area one and i will choke and will feel vomiting. so i gave up, jus bite them and flush down wif water. haha

which is better? pigeon or kodomo or the dunno wat ABD detergent is better for washing bb's clothes? or any other brand is better?

wah chinatown toiletries shop is cheaper? which part of chinatown?

sweethalo, i thk i will start washing bb's clothes when i cleared the drawers for bb and maybe in late or may ba... scare if wait til one wk before delivery, wat if delivery a bit earlier than the due date den how? cos i heard first bb normally will be earlier than the due date one.

oh btw,i sort of fell ytd afternoon at hm.

the floor was a bit wet, and i think i slipped and fell abit, my knee was on the floor and my right hand holding on to chair. luckily i din fall on my back or front...

din remember i fell until today my left knee and left leg become painful.

sweethalo, 1 week before like too late to me leh.

think i'll wash ard early may.

ahnestan, i also heard alot pple say nowadays pple deliver earlier than EDD, be it first or second. even the CL i engaging also say that.

dont know which is better. heard of piegeon, kodomo and tollyjoy. but i think pigeon is more ex than the other 2.

u know the hawker at chinatown near OG? it's on the 2nd/3rd floor. think there are a few shops selling toiletries there. alot of pple one... i go there to buy my shampoo, body shower, pads etc. nv tried buying pigeon or kids detergent, bath items. heard about it only.

i think cannot use normal adult detergent to wash bb's clothes leh... different mah.
by right, bb's clothes must be handwashed one, i heard. but heck care la, jus use washing machine.

mayb go compare the different brands, see which one cheaper den use dat brand. heehee

ahnetsan, dun fret. your parents maybe busy enjoying the news themselves until forgot to tell your granny. my mom also din bother to tell my uncle and he stays in singapore some more. can't be bothered.

btw, i din experience the pee come out when trying to exert during poo. but i experience very tight tummy. so tight that i couldn't raise my arms and couldn't straighten my back. experience this about once a week. anybody too? wondering wat's tat.