(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Wah, dun bother about outlook v dangerous lei, like sending their hb into the arms of other more attractive women... I think inner beauty v impt, but sometimes need to take care of outer beauty also lor...

shelisa/jam75
after giving birth, I also no time to ban mei mei.. hb always complain & compare y other wives can ban mei mei y u cant huh... aiyo where got time in the morning..got to rush to work & bb crying ..no one help..sigh..unless i woke up damn early ..haha

Tubby
I ve yet to go metro maybe I will go to check out the ergo next week..

Shelisa, your cousin is so tact'FUL' ah. Meanie.
NO NO!! You DON'T DO Kegels while peeing. You try to stop pee in order to KNOW which muscles you squeeze when doing Kegels. I.e. If you clench the correct muscles, you'll be able to stop your wee mid-stream. BUT after learning which muscles to use, you do Kegels AWAY from the toilet bowl. You do it while waiting for the bus, on the train, watching tv... but NOT on the toilet ok. *Aiya, other ppl already answered you*

Tubbym~, Stomach still churning all morning... Afraid to have lunch. Must have something light. Hey! Maybe I should accidentally-on-purpose forget my wallet for future gatherings leh! Hmm... post here already cannot.

Shelisa, jam75, l'tulips, OUI, said before breasts one of the first places for stretchmarks to surface ma... Treat your girls well! Before they go on strike and make a swift DESCENT down south.

Actually, Tubbym, you still look alrigh... If you've already put on about 10kg and are still your current size, then how chubby could you have been before that?!

TubbyMummy/jam75/kikismom, inner beauty is impt. But appreance to other ppl is external. So sometime when i dun dress well, if i see my frenz i will try to hide. haha!! as they will say 'wow, u so auntie, wat happen to u?' So i tell myself after gave birth, i more or less have to dress up. To make myself, my hubby and bb proud. Or not keep hiding also cannot forever. Plus i have alot of frenz getting marry after i gave birth thus i must be hardworking to shed the fat. Or not i use chopper to chop off the fat on my tummy.. like that more faster.. wahahaha

tubbymummy, so u tink all men can't resist beauty woman temptation huh! so in order not to let dat happen u muz oso mindful abt our outlook...do u tink some hb will afraid wifey betray them if those wifey got gd figure & outlook!

kikismom, realli aft yr hb complain u din attempt to bian mei mei huh?? so now he use to it dun complain & compare anymore??

jam75, ya, during pa-tor times i didnt make up le. sometimes i make up, my hubby said i looked like clown lo. so sad lei.

but my best friend strong advises me to up-keep myself. e.g. exercies, make up and stay pretty. cos she said guys sure prefer pretty and younger women ones. so why give urself a chance to let ur hb stray? everytime i meet with her she will tell me lo. i have confidence in my hb but still think every women would want to look their best right?

Tubbym~, I agree with you. I feel that as women stop taking pride in grooming to look their best (even if not best, then just to look a bit better), their confidence begins to wane too. As a result, they start wanting more and more assurance from hubby, then NEEDing it. It's that change from attractive confident woman to sloppy needy ah-soh that's a put off...

So to me, grooming ourselves is really done for ourselves. Not cos we want to 'keep' our husbands from straying, but so we stay upbeat and recognise that we're great mummies but no slobs on the street either!

Shelisa & jam75, my hubby won't dare say that in case his (tortured) grapes get pinched again. Heehee... Told him abt MTBs being called 'whales' by their own hubbies. He kinda silent gasped and very cleverly didn't comment. Haha!

I've said to him a few times aiya, I'm turning into a oil lump of lard. ARGH! SO FAT! From FAT to FATTER. He said, no la. Only bump getting bigger ma, you'll still my beautiful lovely wife. I love it! He knows exactly what to say when I'm in one of my downcast moods and can even accompany it with supporting gestures... even tho I know he's just placating me. But still, nice to know he will still bother to patronize me la. Heehee... I'm an easily contented woman.

shelisa, same here when i dun dress up myself i oso will hide when i saw my fren...hahhaa! i oso hv 2 wedding aft i give birth so muz realli shed off excess fat to look nice when attending wedding...i like it chop off our fat! hhahaha...included NO PAIN AT ALL LA!

bing, i do agree wif yr fren leh...guys usualli prefer their wife to look pretty lo! tink yr hb like my bro dun like woman to put on mk up! sometime he will comments lady wif thick mk up like clown oso hahaha!

shelisa/jam75
I totally agreed tat appearance is very impt cos it give a gd impression & self confident to yourself too lor but I'm belong to those "mei you chou nu ren, zi you lan nu ren" catogery... too lazy & tired to makeup or dress up..he give up but sometimes he will still nags..:p

Shelisa, great minds think alike. Whenever I'm preparing meals, I used to fantasize about just plopping my tummy roll on the cutting board and lopping a whole chunk off. Abt the right height some more. Then I think, I'll bleed and it'll hurt like crazy, but bleed bleed, call ambulance, say it was an accident, go hospital for stitches... then FLAT TUMMY LIAO!! Quite instant ma. Sigh. But as I've said, I'm a pain-phobe.

bing & jam75, kaypoh'ing ah.. maybe just a bit of (appropriate coloured) powder, slight tinge on the cheeks, properly maintained brows... Grooming isn't always = obviously made up leh. I think men are also captivated when they're made to feel strong and like superheroes... So even ugly women can catch well if they've got that skill down pat!

cassey, yr hb so loving huh! now dat i weight the same as hb he always tease mi lo...i oso got alot of nick given by him! if i in gd mood i dun b bother if not i will scold him back!

Cassey, ur hubby so so sweet. Unlike my hubby jam75 and me.

Reg: Makeup
My hubby is fine i put on simple makeup like foundation and eyes brow. But he just simply dun like my cheek red (he day like monkey backside) when i feel it is so light only.

jam75, no pain no gain. haha

Cassey, exactly. When we look good, we also feel more confident, so even if we're not dolling ourselves up for hubby, we should still do it for ourselves! I don't dare to ask my hubby too often if I'm getting too fat, cos I don't think an insecure or needy woman is attractive at all, so I'd rather keep my insecurities to myself. I mean, of cos I've asked b4 lah, and he's always been reassuring, but I'm not gonna make it a habit. Oh and I'm good at "camouflage" dressing hahaha... Come on, I've lived with my body for 30-odd years, I should know by now what's more slimming on myself, even when preg! hehe

jam75/Shelisa/kikismon, if we start dressing up etc, and hubby starts feeling insecure, that's their problem right? Better than WE start feeling insecure haha. Ok, it'll be a bit tough to be so PRETTY full time, but at least for weekends, how about that?

Shelisa & jam75, *growl* whoa must photocopy DAD ETIQUETTE articles for your hubbies. Very bad leh. I mean, our physical discomforts are setting in more and more... Our emotional well-being also under threat... All the books and mags have tips for DTBs on how to be sensitive to your wife... how to spoil her. How to show her she's still attratice... How can they just step all over their wives at a time like that?!

Come here, come here.. I sayang sayang.
Husbands, come here, come here... I SMACK YOU BOTH.

audreyaw - did u go to MIM showroom? Wonder if shld go look see too

Hatemenot - thanks!

jam75 - I think if the one mth confinement, if we don't bathe and smell bad and look oily all over, lagi turned off for hubby... hehee

Tubbym~, I see there's an age-disclosure thing going on back there eh. *wriggles brows* Heehee! I don't have to be a 9/10 everytime I go out... but cannot go out in PJs or in baggy tee and lok-kok shorts. That's like a 2/10! Usually at least 6/10 for regular times out. Try to be 'beautiful' at special events like anniversary dinners and such...

Yeah, it's really dressing to suit your type. Nothing 'beats' rolls on display.
I cringe whenever I see HUGE curvy girls in *GASP* skinny jeans. *yeech*

shelisa, No pain No gain...but using chopper tink i choose to do more excercise or starve myself beter! haha

cassey, v insenstive f hb to nv shower extra love to us when we already so depress on wt gain issue...my sis got say my hb u kip on say mi fat i won't give bith to 2nd wan & ask my hb to give birth instead! hahhaa!

Cassey, can we say MUFFIN TOPS? And not only on the chubby girls, on the skinny ones as well!! I don't think I can ever go out in a 2/10, cos even if I were blind and chose the wrong things to wear, my hubby, ever so helpful, will say point blank "HUH You're wearing THAT out??"

TubbyMummy, Usually weekend i will put on light makeup and dress up abit. Then sometime i will ask my hubby like that ok? He forever say ya. So boring.

Cassey, i told u before. My hubby english not good. HE don't read magazine/books. HE only see pics on magazine/books!! Fainted.

sweethalo, i sure to bath!! before my hubby turned off. I myself faint 1st.

sweethalo, tink during 1mth confinment hb don dare to sleep beside us lo! hahha

cassey, haha sometime i wear baggy t-shirt & those short to eat breakfast....hb oso got comments i look ah soh leh! but u realli onz leh still mk afford to dress up...i dress up depend on my mood! hmm acutualli my hb oso quite caring type la but insenstive when speakin onli...hmm beter say some gd word abt him...if not u will like Y DO I married such guy! hahah...sekali he do come in & c wat i wrote then i mati liow! hahah

hubbies - i read an article on how should hubby be attending to their wives and i left it open at that page, asking him to read. hahaha....
he hasnt called me a whale, but did mention about hoping me to get back to my pre-preg figure.

actually, even if he dont say, think i'll love to slim back to fit my tight tight jeans and shorts. and of cos, i think being called a sexy mummy, chio mummy really appeals to me leh..... think i'm hiao la.....

but hor, i hate dressing up, and putting makeup. lazy la..... i can orchard in shorts one leh. oops

tubbymummy, my hb sometime oso will ask mi to change other outfit wan when he tink i look ugly or aunti in dat outfit!

heheh... I think 1mth confinement, i will still wash my hair and bathe... can't tahan lah... someone trying to bf baby= don't bathe like so unhygenic

i already made my hb promise that he wont stop me from bathing and washin hair everyday. ha... but he had a condition which is to blow dry my hair everytime i wash it.

cannot tahan not bathing leh..... esp with our hot and humid weather.

sweethalo, i will bath oso...my mom comments nv bath for 1 mth realli cannot ta han & v dirty lo...my mom will boiled those herbal to let mi bath during confinment!

shelisa, my IL told me dun bath. later feng-shi. my SIL also said the same. but i cannot imagine not bathing for 1 month. i am going to stink like hell. also what is going to happen to my hair? bald? plus later BF baby, bb cry cos too smelly liao. wahahaha.

bing, im sure that im gg to bath. maybe 1-2 weeks use herbal + warm water. But after that back to normal bathing. Alot of old ppl say u dun believe u go bath la, next time u old u dun complain here n there pain. Anyway when ard 20yrs old i already have 'feng shi'. My mum say bcos when i have chicken pox, i didnt listen to her. Keep drinking cold water n ice cream thus i so young have 'feng shi'

ya lo. my SIL say during confinement, cannot bath. cannot drink old drinks, cannot go outside, cannot switch on fan, cannot touch water. can onli drink the warm red dates tea. OMG. then trapped in the room with 4 walls and door closed to prevent th air from getting to our body. *faint* i dunno i can tahan or not. my SIL cannot. she bathed and turn on fan during her confinement, then she said she regretted very much bcos she is suffering from pains here and there aka feng shi, now lo. that's why she told me to seek her advise strongly. my mom said so too. but really dunno lei. the ang mo also like that. got feng shi ma? but my colleague said they take different food also ma. so it's totally different way of confinement. cannot compare. unless u want to do it their style. i see how ba. i cannot tahan, i will bath also. i think i can live without cold water and fan. but not bath.

my mum and MIL say shd bathe due to hygiene reason, but make it quick. Maybe wash the hair with dry shampoo for the first week.

If we dun bathe how to breastfeed the baby, think baby will be turned off by our smell.

bing, im sure that my room is with aircon n fan!! without this 2 thing i cant slp at all! spore weather so hot!! dun drink cold water?? I cant leh. Im sure that when im old i everywhere also pain!!

Rach, dun say bb turn off. myself already cannot survive.

Shelisa, then chi articles lor... what to do? Or whatever language he uses... or comic book! For men, need a comic version of What to Expect When your Wife is Expecting.

Tubbym~, yeah yeah, skinny/slim ppl have muffin tops... But I'm really talking ROLLS... and legs of ham. Hmm... good. Your hubby very on the ball. My hubby, on the contrary, see me suffering the 'disorder' we've personally christened "Sophia'litis" and usually just sighs "just wear a t-shirt can liao la." So many years on, he still doesn't quite get that I don't exactly 'do' tees... I think he just does it so he doesn't have to suggest a REAL piece of clothing, only to be presented with the reasons why I don't want to wear that.

jam75, mayb you SHOULD make him read. Haha.. I think I'm fortunate cos I'm REALLY am not a pants person. I do NOT display the monstrosities you ppl call thighs. So even going downstairs to coffeeshop or recycling bin, I usually throw on an outdoor dress or my demin skirt with a polo tee or a tank. But now that we're preggers,and wearing longer tops, don't look so nice with skirts leh. So bo bian, wearing pants more often. SO WARM though.

Re: Showers & Hair Wash
Mum is ok with continuing with these even if it's every day. We've agreed that I'll just have to shower when the sun is up and blow dry after hair wash. Mags & books say it's silly to apply the no fan no air-con superstition here in our tropical climate cos it's hot and we need to maintain personal hygiene. I completely agree!

sweethalo, Moms-In-Mind is a 'network' of companies started by mums. There are a number of companies under MIM, I think. So Bellisima (?) is one of them.

hahaha Cassey - if someone writes that book for men, Chapt1 must be - GO take a massage course!

Re: Washing hair
I am very tempted to go to a salon to wash hair alternate days... hhehhe ... and feel pampered! hahahha

sweethalo, I thought first one should be learning to compliment the wife every day...? Haha... massage yeah, yeah.. good. With diagrams and all. Eh? But if the diagrams feature slim, slender wives, then if he looks at me and cannot find the correct places then how!?

Whoa.... EVERY ALTERNATE DAY? I actually loathe salon ppl touching my scalp. I keep telling them OUCH OUCH OUCH! DON'T SCRATCH! DON'T SCRATCH! They say they're not scratching anymore, but it still hurts leh...

I think I have a 'virgin' scalp. Since school days, I haven't tied hair up anymore... now I get migraines if I keep it tied up for more than half a day - even if it's a low ponytail. Come to think of it, I also seem to have 'virgin' feet (no sores/blisters pls) and pubes (no waxing/shaving!).

hehehe... just wild hopes la... don't think can go out to salon lo... hhaha

I told my hubby, morning i follow him to office, do my hair and take cabby back! hahhaha

Re: confinement
I oredi have feng shi before uni days. Too much sports injury, esply on my ankle, n i bathe... n end up with painful joints on certain days.

Am still gg to bathe & wash hair during confinement, using the herbs lor. Mum agreed that must be hygienic. Must use warm towel to wipe down and keep our wound clean if CL didn't boil herbs for bathing that day.
Aircon is fine for confinement.. just dun let it blow directly at u. Fan is the one that the older generation shuns.

Stretchmark creams
Waa... Must put so many areas? I only put on my tummy leh. Somemore the cream is free de, if not i think i didn't even bother to buy at all lo.

Makeup
I didn't makeup during dating lo so won't be even after birth. Figure will confirm get it back to pre-preg cause I don't want waste $ to buy whole wardrobe of clothes ma. Haha..

Bathing during confinement
I will definitely going to bath for that 1 mth, cannot stand it at all.

sweethalo, not sure if I have the time to go there but anyway I don't think i got anything to buy?

cassey, serious ma going downstair u oso dress until so nice huh...i don bother at all juz wear my hse t-shirt & shorts nia...hope i won't bump into u ard my area then i going to hide when i saw u...hahaha!

jam75, hey. Not cos I'm bimbotic, eh! That's only because whatever I wear at home is completely NOT appropriate for going out. Remember I don't live with my ILs so have moderate privacy at home. Usually I'm in flimsy night dresses and less commonly, camisole and skimpy shorts. =) If not, I'm in MUMSY night dresses that I will NOT want the world to see.

RE: Bath

I also bath during e confinement period, esp if u r opting for massage, with all those oily stuff and hot weather, it's hard to stand it.

But must use e herb and ginger to boil lor.

cassey, toking abt flimsy nite dress hor...nx time when yr bb grow older will u stop wearing such nite dress le?? we oso stay alone so we nv close our toilet door & oso wear nite dress but was telling hb nx time when our boy bigger cannot le!

jam75, yeah.. we also talked abt it. I guess when he's a toddler, I'll have to wear something more appropriate. I WANT A GIRL NEH!! But I'll keep wearing it in the privacy of our own room when bb moves out and hubby and I are alone, I guess =)

cassey, u'll r indeed a loving couple leh...juz kpo abit u'll married how long & dating f how long?? u'll still sound so romantic like dat! tink when my son bcome toddler i oso dun bother to change to nite dress in our own room le!

jam75, why cannot wear flimsy nitedress? my mum still wearing those sexy nighties - hers more sexy than mine - when she's at home with my dad and sis. i think my mum does a better job of looking the pretty wife than me, she always got makeup, blowdry her hair and curl it and wear accessories. me, i always keep it simple so before when i had straight hair, so shiok. comb a bit then can go out. now i perm my hair so every few days must blowdry and curl also - i really follow my mum's style!

but my mum maintained her size, still so small and sexy at 50. think i don't have her genes lah..so must rely on nice clothes and makeup to look good.