(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo: tks for ur help! I’ll go call them tmr and check out registration form. I was also thinking should I bring hubby or mum. Bring mum is gd idea, cos mum should be more helpful when it comes to these things. But also thought of bringing hubby so that he is mentally prepared what BFing entails and looks like, and won’t freak out when I start BF in future. Hmmm…

kikismom: Believe the Organics Ergo is more expensive cos it’s made from 100% organic cotton, while the cheaper one is made from normal non-organic cotton. So depends on how particular u are. For me, I think the normal cotton is good enough. Did u go Metro to check it out?

creamer/bbjun: For Expo baby fair, I think 11am on weekend should still be ok, but bear in mind Natas starts at 10am on wkend. Maybe u wanna be KS a bit and reach at 10-10.30am? Can sit down at one of the food outlets to have breakfast first, then slowly stroll into baby fair at 11am ☺

ahnetsan: I also kenna leakage once or twice, but I’ve had rather poor control even previously. Starting to do my Kegels now too, but keep forgetting. My friend with 3 kids said that if don’t do, incontinence will continue till after you give birth. And what’s worse, after giving birth vaginal muscles are stretched, and this will affect sex, so better start doing the exercises.

junies: Your scan experience sounds so traumatising. I’ve been to KK couple of times in my life, and that’s why it wasn’t even on my list when I got pregnant. The ppl there are rude. Ok, maybe not ALL, but those that I encountered are like that. Even the docs there that me and my friends came across, they behave like they’re simply going thru the motions, and have no compassion. It’s just like supermarket cashier counter like that. Some ppl told me that at KK, u must “bang table” a bit, then they will treat u a bit better, dunno whether true or not. Don’t let ppl bully u ok? ☺ I like my gynae too, when finish scanning, he’s the one who gently wipes the jelly thing away from my belly. I thought that was the norm, until I went other places for oscar n detailed scan, and realized no one else does this for me haha.

Ling: I think you just won the baby heavyweight championship!! Cassey can confirm? 406g at 20w3d.

70kg gang: Me too lah, pre-preg 56kg, now already 64kg+, based on my doc’s scales I’m 1kg heavier still. Like that how not to hit 70kg?? Some more I also belong to the “shorties” gang, at least u all are taller. CRY! chidori, here’s some consolation - I don’t think u look like 63.5kg ☺

Tubbymummy, thks for bringing that to my attention... Yes I think she just did!! Although there are still some more to go - namely caramelle and sweethalo...

JUNE MTBS 20-WK HEAVYWEIGHTS CHAMPIONSHIP

Currently in First Place @ 406 g, LING's girl *whistle whistle clap clap*

1st Runners-Up @ 380g: JAM75 and BING's boys!

*Once again, stickymouse's boy has been edged out of the competition...

OUI... MUMMIES-TB.. PLEASE PLEASE STOP WITH THE 70KG THING LEH!
It's tempting me to throw myself out the open window beside me. My husband still needs his wife...

Audrey, you are SO SO slender... your hubby is a mere feather!
Is he as tall as you? If same or taller, then he's really really skinny!

Stand with me then. Guarantee you look willowy thin.

think e weight gain till delivery isn't so much a concern, so long both bb and mummy are healthy.

I gained abt 15kg for my #1, by the end of my confinement, I m back to my pre-preggy weight.

Thank you Tubbymum for your sweet words!
I hope my next visit will be good. I just sad I dun know bb weight.

RE Weight issue-My mom and hubby always remind me not to eat too much so I try to control. SO now 1.64, 54kg when i last weight. My hubby say try not to put on weight, try to exercise more. But I dun know how to exercise?? My mom also very worried I become fat so she cooks everyday and bring to my workplace! Ask me dun eat too much outside food no good. She will cook brown rice, vege, fish/chicken and soup so I must say I'm very lucky.

Just that next time confinement have to be at MIL place.

Ladies, you must force your hubby to eat more so we will progressively look the same size as our hubby. One way is to order lots of food when we're out then say cannot finish. Then force hubby to eat all. Haha! I tried that during dec and hubby put on alot of weight. Now he knows my pattern and stopped ordering. And he started going to gym so he's back to trim and fit again.

Hit 70kg? Pls, I was there b4 I am preggy! Long story, gained 15kg after marriage. I am only mere 1.54m. Anyway, will tell myself I will shed them when I am done with deliver bb! Hubby everytime said I am like a whale, sigh.

Stayed at home today cos I was having dizziness and headache again. Whenever I have pple asking me whether I have MS, the next day I sure kana my dizziness again! I try not to be supersition but just so heng leh!

wow junies, ur mum sounds nice... she actually cooks for u and bring to ur wrkplc... my mother cldnt be bothered wif me, din even bother to sms or call me see whether i wan to eat anything or not... even when i go back my parent's plc, there's no food or drinks for me.... you really very lucky leh. so envy...

seems like ur hubby the keep-fit kind of man... so nice

LFB> poor u, how's ur headache nw... better mah?

Cassey, I am not when I stand with my hubby. He is even taller than me and no, he's not feather but bamboo stick. Haha.. Feed him oil also can't grow fat, sigh..

bbPotato, is true that both are healthy r more impt but seeing myself keep putting on wt really make me so haiz...

junies: Your mum is so nice. My mum too busy to do that.

re: weight gain
ok i will step in and make all mummies here feel better okay? when i got married in feb08, i was 61kg, then pre-preg i was 73kg but in first tri i lost abt 3kg, then at last weigh-in at week 16 i was 73kg back. but maybe because i started big my bump not so obvious and i wear quite baggy clothes.

as long as you eat healthy dont worry abt losing the weight okay? don't binge on too much fast food or high sugar food - can lead to gestational diabetes. also remember that some weight is also the amniotic sac liquid and if you do massage diligently after childbirth + BF if you can, then you should lose the weight. if you started out small eg 50-60kg and gain 15kg but eat healthy, it's normal to lose up to 12kg within weeks of delivery. my friend had twins and lost 16kg within 3 weeks - combi of BF-ing and taking care of the new babies.

so fret not, and keep well my ladies!

but one thing abt being plus-sized is that the weight is distributed all over, so cannot expect to get seats in the train cos ppl think im just fat in general. because of that i never take chances and always go to harbourfront from outram to take the NEL home - so confirm get seat one!

ahnetsan, yes. I do share those too... but when the rumblings and gastro-reflux set in, I'll try to take something milky to see if it can get the acid to settle a bit. So sometimes I get confused between indigestion/bloatedness and gastro-reflux and what not. Whatever it is, don't let yourself and bb get hungry k. Take a small snack if you can't manage anything more.

junie, my hubby has a very healthy appetite. But he just needs to run for a week and his belly is flat again. I guess muscles do burn more than fat so he's quite an efficient energy burner...? He's finished all the bak kwa at home and almost all the love letters. He starts on them straight after dinner but is still not fat. But he DOES weigh quite a bit tho =)

audrey, bamboostick!!!!!!???? *rolls with laughter* I dated a scrawny man just before my hubby... now everytime I look at my hubby and wrap my hands around his bulging bicep, I give thanks that I didn't marry my ex. =) Or else I'll look like a foundation pillar beside a chopstick. =(

LFB, your boss can do without you meh!?! =) Hope you'll feel better soon.
Pamper yourself with a relaxing long warm shower... scrub and (hubby!) moisturise... then maybe will feel bit better and sleep well..?

caramelle, I don't think plus-sized harder to get seats. I think it's cos you happen to travel a very crowded route. I'm a plus-size - TWICE, EVEN THRICE, over! Just ask the GJ girls!! - but as I've shared, I've been offered seats on several different occasions... and NOT by rubbing my bump either! Maybe it's what we wear..? Hmm... But I really think it's mostly got to do with the 'route'.. Me more often Jurong area ma.

ahnetsan *WHHHAAAAAA.........T?!
*What do you mean you can't stop your wee?!?!
Maybe this time bladder too full... try it on a smaller bladder? Whoa, like that I don't know how to help you neh.
Ermm... have HAPPI time with your hubby tonight and try to squeeze him..? *grin & chuckle*

Hmmm... Just out of curiousity, I googled bb hiccups in utero...

Quote #1:
Hiccups for an unborn baby are completely normal. When your baby hiccups, it will feel like a small spasm in your belly. Hiccups will generally feel distinct from other sorts of movements. Some babies will not hiccup at all while still in the womb, while others may hiccup several times a day every day.

Quote #2:
Not only can hiccups be felt by the mom-to-be, but it can also be detected during an ultrasound and picked up on a Doppler while at the doctor’s office for a routine visit. After a woman has been assured that these hiccups are normal and are not bothering their baby, then they become something that can be looked forward to on a daily basis, much like their baby kicking.

Hmm... I think my boy hasn't hiccup'ed before then.

aiyo, almost 5mths no bedroom activity le wor...i think i might haf forgotten the 'feeling' le...heehee

well, i tried to cut my pee halfway la, but cannot leh, it jus keep peeing... hahaha, dats y i say i gone case le...

will try again later...

Cassey, i know what u mean abt dating smaller guys. i used to go out with a "mini-me" too and luckily that didn't work out cos i can imagine im prolly twice his size now! and my hubby also seem like he cannot put on weight, he eats cakes and cookies just like me but i can see that the morning runs he conducts is giving him far more mileage than my lunch walks.

maybe you're right abt the train route. i should try taking train from tanjong pagar to boon lay then ask hubby fetch me from there. cos his camp near there..quite troublesome but let's see if the westies are kinder to plus-size pregger mummies!

my colleagues have commented that "Im carrying well" which i take to mean that im not putting on a lot of weight. i've been debating for so long whether to buy maternity clothes or not, but i think i need to now cos all my clothes are not fitting anymore. going to check out the WTS threads for kind mummies selling theirs. esp bottoms, because my skirts have zips and buttons which are not cooperating.

how's everyone dressing up these days?

ahnetsan, dun give up. Dun stop doing the Kegels. It will improve.

caramelle, oredi wearing maternity clothes for quite some time. Mostly hand-me-downs from frens. I can still wear a couple of my normal baggy dresses though. Some are becoming a little wee too short to wear due to the bump. However, I must say, the maternity tops are usually too big for me when I am smaller size to start of with. So some of the tops makes me look more preggy than I m actually. Does help making ppl on the train more conscious, even though they are still not giving me seats leh.

i also find the maternity tops a bit big for me... i got a few but i find them too loose. even those maternity pants i dun like to wear too, cos they will drop as i walk and i look super ugly in them, cos the front part will be dangling too obviously.

and i got a few dresses which i think i can stil wear, but the problem is i dun haf any matching shoes... and i cant wear those high heels anymore.. and im now always in my tevas slippers, hw to wear that wif dresses?? haiz... i also dunno how man.. anyone got any suggestions? and my flat covered toe shoes, they are a bit tight for me...can stil wear la, but i dun feel comfortable le...

yeah bbjun, will try to continue to cut pee halfway. haha, btw, i din know dat exercise is called kegels... so chim one...

ahnetsan- don't think it's so wise to doing exercise when u really peeing leh... read can cause urine infection.

Do it when u are reading or playing on laptop.

ahnetsan, u can do that even while u are sitting at your desk. Just contract the right muscles.

Why not buy a size bigger for your covered shoes? I m used to wearing covered shoes and just went to buy another pair cos I worn out the only black flats I have.

So many posts to catch up since yesterday.

Just went for my gynae visit this morning. Seems like my little one seems to take after his dad, has been putting on more than twice the weight since last month. At wk 20, he was 380g and at wk 24 , he is now 840g!!! I wonder if I will have enough space for him to grow for the rest of the remaining 3mths plus.
( I am just a small-frame girl.)

wah...

but when i squeeze, i realise im using the stomach muscles leh.... and sometimes i even realise im nt breathing when im squeezing...
i just cannot and dunno hw to contract the right muscles...

i lazy to go buy shoes leh... cos must bend down and difficult to choose shoes dat i like... and i also dun wan to waste money, later cannot wear again, den i heart pain again....

wow cool, merlynzz, ur boy is already close to 900gms at wk 24... so cool... i read baby can weigh up to 1kg to wk 24...

ahnetsan, just keep trying... especially when NOT urgent. Sometimes bladder very full the GUSH just comes like the Niagara Falls and cannot be slowed down or stopped. Did you manage to slow it down a bit bit?

sweethalo, no worries, ahnetsan is not 'doing her Kegels while peeing'. I'm asking her to cut off her pee so that she knows WHICH muscles to activate in order to do the exercises!!

caramelle, colleagues also say my boy's very 'neat' and only last 2 weeks they've started saying bump is growing obvious. Not wearing maternity clothes yet except for a pair of maternity pants I bought back in 1st trimester before bump even started growing. Heehee... But like bbjun said, the front of the non-maternity things are getting short. The usual tops I wear already 'shrink' in front to accommodate boobs. Now boobs PLUS bump, the difference is quite obvious, esp the dresses.

bbjun, yeah. Spasm in the belly. Mayb I'll mistake it for a contraction? Hmmm... I guess we may know it when it comes ba. Later on in the third tri...

Merlynzz, Whoa! Your bb increased in weight so quickly!? Hmm.... Can't wait to find out my fella's weight on Fri then.
You'll have enough space for sure.. God works in mysterious ways and we are fearfully and most wonderfully made!

*envious of all you small-frame girls... and tall slender babes too*

Goodnight, ahnetsan. Tmr, try to squeeze them again... kinda like you're rushing for the loo but there's a long queue...! =) Or you're trying to hold on to a tampon. Or your sanitary napkin is full to overflowing so you're holding back a fresh waterfall of 'the red liquid' to try to buy yourself a bit more time while you grab another pad and rush to the loo...

caramelle, where DO you live? Take from TANJONG PAGAR to BOON LAY!? Just to test the West'ies out and for hubby to pick you up!? Crazy woman ah. If no one gives you a seat that's a LONG way to go...

ahnetsan, crocs has some nice mary-jane shoes that are suitable for MTBs like us. They are non-slip and light. I bought a pair of covered crocs shoes for my work.

Cassey, I guess the past month of festive eating have made an impact for his sudden growth. Well I better start to eat more wisely now.

caramelle & ahnetsan.. u mean u not wearing maternity clothes yet? i've been wearing maternity clothes since mid of my 3rd month, my bottoms simply cant fit anymore! *depress* anyway, you dun really have to buy clothes from maternity stores.. bigger size dresses or tops works well for me.. just bottoms that i really need to get from maternity shops & "L" size tights under longer length tops works as well.. got the tights from cotton on.. 2 for 20.. cheap & comfortable... haha

ahnetsan, how abt tryin crocs? i've been wearing them.. covered & very comfy for me..

Cassey i live in punggol but hubby camp is very far in the west (yes they make him commute almost 1 hour every day!). so when im bored and finish work early (and cannot wait to see him) i'll take the train down to boon lay then he pick me up at JP. that way he can work a bit later without me waiting alone at home - esp when my mum not cooking dinner for us and we are eating out.

i know it's long! that's why on those days must wear "obvious" clothes, otherwise got nowhere to break the journey and turn back!!

Xuan, my problem is with bottoms, cos my skirts don't fit. but i think dresses are better cos not constricting at tummy area. so now looking for cheap ones on the WTS thread. where's cotton on?

Me also half the time wearing maternity clothes. Got couple of tops/dresses that are babydoll so they still fit, but front part riding up, so I wear tights with them. A few of my t-shirts are also the longer kind, so I continue to wear them. Bought a couple of maternity tops, and got a couple of hand-me-down maternity jeans. AND today, I just bought 2 tops plus 1 pants at Dorothy Perkins! Only $61 in total!!

Eh, I'm still wearing heels. Not tall stiletto kind, but thicker more stable type, about 2 inches tall. I don't own ANY flat shoes, and frankly, I'm clumsier when I wear flats cos I'm so so used to wearing heels. But after ruling out the skinny heels and anything taller than 2 inches, I'm down to only 2 pairs of shoes, so I live in them now. Tried buying more sensible shoes, but haven't managed to find any that I like. I look retarded in covered shoes too, cos my feet are fat.

Merlynzz, sounds like baby has a really good weight gain!

cassey, no elephant memory lah, just envy you cos you've not put on any weight yet & most of us already 5-10kg heaveier..
actually having bouts of forgetfulness nowaday.. i forgot to bring my hp out when going to work today.. can confirm to you that this wont be the last time it happen either.. haha

caramelle, the cotton on outlets i know at wisma, bishan, tamp & parkway, not sure where else..

tubbymummy, yalor & they're cheap too!

caramelle, Cotton On is an Aussie basics shop. Available at a number of major shopping centres. I know of Lot 1, IMM(?), Square 2... not sure abt J'Point. You're really a keen traveller! I'd hate to take the train for long distances... even if you can get a seat, still end up with backache after that. Or is that just me?!

I'm still wearing my regular skirts, bump and all... just with the top of zipper undone slightly and I wear a tube top over the waistband - ala belly band style. Was going to buy belly band but didn't want to pay 30+ bucks for essentially something that's exactly like a tube. So I wear those... and my regular tops over.

Also, I'm letting my newly purchased stretchy tube tops (those that flare out under bust and end at hips) double up at skirts too... The length is ok and the stretchy portion just covers from just above navel, downwards to the pelvis. Heehee... friends, colleagues and family don't even realise it isn't a 'real' skirt until I tell them.

Re: Crocs Mary-Janes
It's really strange but I must have freaky feet. My Crocs Mary-Janes actually hurt and gave me blisters. I've retired them to the shoe rack but am upset that I bought a comfort brand tt ended up still giving me blisters. =(
Does everyone else find Crocs undisputably comfy?!

Xuan, haha! God is fair! My size was NOT enviable to start off with ma. That's why now I reserve exclusive rights to making others envy me. *chuckle* After birth, it'll be back to me envying the rest of the slim and petite world. I better enjoy this while it lasts. Seriously, I think the G'Jeans group can verify that I don't LOOK like I haven't put on any pregnancy weight. So it doesn't make any diff. I'm still the same size and bigger than all the others... whether you've put on 5 or 10kgs.

We're all turning scatterbrained... =( Occupational hazard plus pregnancy. I die.

I find Crocs give me blisters too- afterall they are rubber shoes la... but my hubby said, must wear awhile then ok... wht stupid logic is that

I stick to leather shoes anytime..

Hi mummies...

looks like i've been missing out alot here.. hehee.. this thread is super active man... having difficulty catching up.. hahaha..

cassey: u can type my nick as "sourz" for short.. no prob... cos i think there's already an "ade" rite? i'm due 10 jun.

bbjun: tks. i've seen mt. alvernia already but not TMC yet.. guess may have to find time then...

tubbymummy/bluedream: 1st child. EDD - 10 jun. Doctor - Dr Chen Chern Yi. Bb gender - boy. pls do let me know if u or bluedream need any other info. tks for updating.

audreyaw & kikismom: tks & hi!!

me have yet to have the guts to try any mummy milk powder... still on meiji low fat milk too.. hehehe...

by the way, where do u all go for the antenatal class? how much & what do they teach in class? can go wif hubby?

p/s: me going for the abbott talk.. anyone going? hope to get to know/meet any1 here who is also going... *smilez*

hi welcome ade sourz

I am attending the one by TMC. it starts 14March and will be at AMK Hub. Apparently class is conducted by Mrs Wong BB, who is very experienced and popular amg MTBs.

Call the Parentcraft centre at 6251 4090 to reserve a place if u want

sweethalo, was in front of the idiot box watching America's Greatest Dog. Heehee!! THANKS for reinstating some of my feet's self-confidence. My hubby also said shoes only become comfy after you break them in. But as I've said before, I can't take blisters at all... So after almost a year of buying those, I tried them on again last month. Again they gave me pre-blister red sores. =( I think I'll just put them on for half-days and short non-walking outings. p.s. Thought rubber supposed to be more comfy?

sourz, not sure if there's an ade... haven't noticed one before... I'm enrolled in the same class sweethalo mentioned. Before that I had registered for Mt A's classes. Generally spouses are encouraged to attend. Prices differ depending on whether you're delivering at the hospital or not... and whether you choose a weekday or weekend class.

Mt A's weekend class is abt ~185 for patients (if i remember correctly) and ~214 for non-patients.
TMC's weekend class is ~214 for patients and ~235 for non-patients.