(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

BF-ing course
Might give it a miss. Hubby has been very busy for the past week and will be that busy till end of next month. And also due to family issue, I got to take leave every month so don't think i have extra leave for other matter. *so sad*

i know pelvic exercise helps to prevent leakage and is good for us.. but i jus cant understand the exercise steps leh...
i see liao i also dunno how to do...

Caramelle - Can opt to go with Mum too...

Yes think will ask hubby to go with me but thinking whether shld ask Mum to go instead since she is helping me through confinement...

audreyaw- the course is on Sat afternoons

Xuan
Thanks for the link...

2149001.jpg

I think this is more colourful compared to the rest..do u know what is the different between ergo carrier & organics carries.. their price different is $70...

Ahnasten
I experience leaking when I'm puking..not the normal leaking it like watertap hahah..puke once leak once cannot control type..luckily it in my house toilet not in public...:p

Sheslia
my pre weight is 53kg lei so put on 12kg for the whole 10months should be ok..*crossed my finger*

Anxious, no leh, i eat normal meals lor. Jus that i will finish my plate with the food ordered as compare than last time when i dun finish the carbo stuff like rice/noodles during meals. Me like you also eat every 2-3hrs during 1st trim cos will feel hungry (think is baby- cos dat time i even have 2 breakfst lor!) But now back to normal liao. Hmm ya, if doc bo say anything den its fine. No worries den.

Tubbymummy, go at 11am not as crowded even on weekend? Cos dun think wana take leave to go on fri cos dun know got good buys anot. Most prob is weekend. Yah, the IT show is really horrendous last year!

First mum, u went for the past 2 years, not much good buy at baby fair as compared to those shopping centre discount? But is there having a variety of items from big ticket items like car seat to smaller ones like breast pump and baby to small ones lismall stuff? Since expo space so.

Jam75, wow yr fren super leh, only gain 7kg throughout pregnancy. And slim down within 1 month. You got ask her got any "mi jue" anot or its thru her genes? *envy*

Sweethalo, glad ur nose is clearing up! If not, u blow yr nose away and belly button bursting like wat u said. hee.

creamer- hehee... Belly Button relief! ahah

Re: Baby Show- think will go in the morning on Friday then.. actually had wanted to go with a fren in the afternoon but she can't confirm yet.

ahnetsan, shelisa, Thanks for your concern.
My MIL will not change one. She will be in denial mode, feeling that she has not done wrong and will be giving herself 1001 reasons to defend her actions. The last time I confronted her before my wedding, I have to force her to shout up to listen to me cos she will butt in to defend herself on everything. So oredi know her pattern very well. But since I used BB n pre-natal depression as warnings, she would not be doing anything stupid to irritate me for some time. She will only be mindful of what not to do for some time and it's likely she will forget everything when my bb pops out. When that comes, we will have another set of probs to deal with.

Re:leaking
Have not happened to me even though I have been sneezing quite frequently in the mornings. Best exercise to help this prob is pelvic exercises. Had been doing this exercise for years since my aerobic class days. THe instructor purposely taught us for this reason n for easy child birth.

creamer, I m oso intending to go at 11am on sat. Keeping my fingers crossed that it would not be too crowded at that time.

Re:giving up seat
No diff. I think I get seats from alighting ppl more than ppl giving me seat.

Ahnetsan, we have the same prob. Starting last week, when i sneeze, a few drops of urine will leak. Just change panty liner will do, not so serious till change short. So now when i sneeze i will cross my leg.

kikismom, pre preegie, my weight ard 59kg.

caramelle, is not me.. is kikismom posted. kikismom, pls advise.

haha, same.. i also cross my legs...
last night change my shorts cos normally when i sleep i dun wear panty one...

if never do pelvic exercise, does dat mean child birth wont be easy?

I only know do pelvic exercise would prevent womb from dropping down. My friend who is a nurse told me that so I always do that.

ahnetsan, I really dunno. I just repeated what the instructor told me. Supposed to help strengthen our pelvic muscles and she listed those two as benefits.

shelisa/ jam75,
im not very wt-conscious ever since i got married haha. so i pretty much eat anything i want and any amt i fancy. so now that im pregnant, i gorge myself even more! cos its like the only time no one wld criticise u for being fat? so its hard to control la. besides im quite sure with 2 kids later on, sure lose wt!

anxious,
some mummies here mentioned taka baby fair is in march. i usually get informed thru mailers abt taka and robinsons sale. if i receive, wld post it here. sometimes can get very good deals.

creamer,
20-30kg??? HORRIFIYING!

ive been to a few motherhood/ baby fairs, cnt remember which is which. but each time i'll come bk empty handed. cos i dont take samples which i wont use and mostly the booths are trying to sell programmes like cord-bloob banking, insurance etc. those baby products like wipes, toys, diapers actually already v readily available outside so no big deal.

ahnetsan,
incontinence is my greatest fear abt being pregnant/ giving birth. we must do kegels religiously. although i also dont cos so lazy.

First Mum- so no point going to the fair? I'm also not sure what to get at the fair... don't think will be so cheap also leh...

Wonder when is the next Robinson's Member's Sale... it's really worth it to go to that one....

hi caramelle, not kikismom but thats the ergo carrier http://www.ergobabycarriers.com/babycarriers/item/BC3HR/

as per ergo, their carriers are available at these stores/websites in sg..

http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/retailers/results_list.php?showonly=INT&tab=INT&country=SG&state=&city=&name=

you can go check out at metro.

shelisa, no pro. will update once i've been to the sales. hope i can go this weekend. hehe

hmm.. so far, i dun have any leaking problem yet.. hope it stays this way

anyone experiencing shitting but it's all watery and green colour? i've been shitting tat since monday... though stomach not painful, and it's jus normal shitting feeling.... and once a day only....

any advice? should i call my gynae and ask? or it's normal?

I haven't done pelvic exercise but it makes sense that we must do it before the worse happens I guess.

Was reading the past posts and realise that there are more bb boys than girls. My hubby and I both very worried next time our girl cannot find boyfriend cuz my gf gynae told her the ratio of boys to girls now is 1:2??

now my hubby try to chope the preggy ladies with boys. Haha

I have gf also put on 7kg only during preg and she giving birth next month. Just saw her last week. Face, arms all still look slim. Only part that expanded was her tummy. She says bb in her tummy take up too much space already so difficult to eat more food so she eat moderately.

Can check with you mommys how you know the bb weight?

Cuz when I went my detailed scan last week the woman like very impatient and did not offer much info of what she's scanning. When I asked her, she just said. 'Let me see first' Then proceed to mumble, 'this is the leg, this is the hand, this is the head.' Thats all. When she can't take my bb heartbeat she use the scanner to keep hitting my tummy till I feel very pain but dare not say. When we left hubby still had to ask her bb sex...
which she just mumbled, 'yeah, girl. ' Very uncomfortable experience..

Good afternoon ladies,

I didn't logon yesterday and I had to go through 3 archives and still reading! Boy, you girls are really fast hey..

Caramelle, please take care and drink lots of water..

Bluedream, thanks for updating the list, so many June MTBs..

wah junies... the sonographer sounds scary leh... "use the scanner to keepy hitting ur tummy"... so rough one... which hospital you went for ur detailed scan...

anyway, the detailed scan report will show the wt of the bb.. ur gynae will also tell u one when u see ur gynae after ur detailed scan.

wow, your fren power.. gain only 7kg. so envious...

Ahnetsan- Could it be because you take too much vege?? Sometimes that could be the case

You could just call your gynae if you feel uneasy about it. They get calls everyday so better to put yourself at ease

sweethalo,`
not sure abt this yr's. wait for mummies' feedback on the forum lor

yes robinsons sale my fave! can get almost everything u need.

eh no leh, i dun thk i ate too much vege... nw i only ate a few mouthfuls of dinner... never eat much these few days leh...

Ahnetsan- do u take iron pills?? If do, shld be dark green to blackish colour... hehhee

First Mum- I asked Customer Svc at Robinsons why i don't get mailers from Rob Sale anymore, they say they selectively send each time to diff members leh... anyway is usually published in newspaper! So fedup!

ahnetsan, i think pelvic exercises are like u are trying to block urine fr coming out and then relaxing the muscles so that urine can come out those kinda feeling bah. then cannot hold breath, cannot tuck in stomach muscle, cannot squeeze legs or use buttock muscles cos it jus mean u are exercising the wrong muscle group.

and pelvic exercise is to strengthen the pelvic floor (aka pelvic muscle) so that it can hold our bladder + uterus + i dunno wat in place instead of 'dropping dwn'. read tat it is useful for childbirth too. and most importantly, it prevents incontinence. incontinence is so scary & inconvenient. so even if i don't know how much it will help in chidlbirth, it's to our utmost good that we at least hv lesser possibility of having incontinence after childbirth.

junies,
wah ur encounter sounds terrible. i dont understand why we pay so much and still have to be subjected to such treatment sometimes. haiz.

to be honest my gynae also v moody one. never catch her in a bad mood man.

ahnetsan, I had that for one day. It was green becos I took iron tablets.. watery becos I had too much papaya the day before. After that one time, I m back to constipation again. sighz.

sweethalo,
yes shes right. when i used to frequent JL/ Robinsons sale, i get mailers and coupons very often. then i stopped going and the mailers stopped as well. i think they do have a system to track whether we go to their sales cos we use card mah. and many times the private sales are not in the papers.

yeah lor mika, i exercise the wrong muscle grp... cos when i try to squeeze, i realise im nt breathing and im tucking in the stomach muscles... dats y i gave up on learning pelvic exercise...

first mum> wah it's scary to haf a bad mood gynae... mayb cos ur gynae is lady? or it's dat day of the month?

I went KK. Not sure if its good or not cuz when I got preg I thought KK was a good since its a woman's and children's hospital. Now I get relatives n friends telling me its lousy. I haven't been to others so I dun know. I very sad with the scan, so I ask if they do 3D scan she said yes. 'Ask the doc' and did not provide any more info. So i'm like a lost sheep, dun know what's happening

To my knowledge when I go for my monthly check ups I dun ask anything. I just lie there and let doc scan.Make next appt and leave. All in 3mins.

What do you ladies ask when you're at your gynae?

Ahnetsan- how u feeling today? call ur gynae if it happens again today

ahnetsan,
no la, my gynae os menopausal liao haha. shes v old liao. but went back to her cos shes v experienced and her stitches healed v fast for no.1.

shes v stern one. i think many pple know that. shes the no nonsense kind of doctor.

junies, well, the watery and green thing i jus experienced today... dats y i brought the issue up.

i dunno abt KK, but it's one hospital not in my shortlisted hospital at all. haha... wah u never ask ur gynae any qn whenever u go for mthly checkup? i always ask my gynae qns and all he answer me is it's normal, it's normal. haha. make me look stupid and idiot like dat. heehee

bbjun> hmm, no leh, i din take iron pills, and i din take papaya too. dunno y like dat... tried to search on babycenter, no answer leh. haha

creamer, i oso envy my fren onli gain 7kg...but she was sick when she is ard 7mth so she lose quite abit so dat is y she onli gain 7kg throughout the whole pregnancy!

shelisa, hi5 mi oso b4 pregnant is 59kg & is at my peak liow! actuali i hv put on 4kg aft married & was trying to shed away extra 4kg....juz when i happen to start my jogging f 4x & i pregnant le....i now 66kg liow...realli scared when i hit 70kg tink realli cannot take it...i hv nv hit 60kg b4 leh!

junies, your regular check up so chop chop one! Usually my gynae will check thru my wt gain, blood pressure and ask if I have been experiencing anything unusual that I shd let her know. if there are queries I need to clear with her, I will ask her n let her "educate" me. Then we have a few minutes of scan and she will usually scan longer if my hb is ard cos he can't be at all our appts. She also will keep my hb entertained when he is waiting for me to get dressed. :p

If we are going thru any test reports like detailed scan report, blood test report, she will go thru each item to explain the implications if it's not within range. And also explain some unfamiliar medical terms if needed. Sometimes she will also share abit on what to expect in the next few weeks lor. Usually spend about 10-15mins with her per visit.

If I were u, I wld have changed hospital. It's sound abit too much to have 3 mins check up n have a sonographer doing that to your tummy!

junies,
i also dont ask much questions unless they randomly pop up in my mind. if its routine check up, mine also over in 5mins. some mummies have very patient gynaes and they mention 20-30mins each consultation! wad a luxury!

my mthly checkup also last 10-15mins...
think dat should be the way ba... if not it becomes too bo chap leh.

normally i write down qns i wanna ask on paper, den next visit will ask gynae... if nt i sure forget one

First Mum- then it's chicken and egg prob right, don't get mailers then won't go, don't go then don't get mailers...

I used to get mailers too but we were away for 3 yrs so of course stopped shopping there mah...ahhaa

ahnetsan, sexy.. never wear panty..

First Mum, actually before preggie. we are same pattern. But i noe after i give birth, i sure sure cannot lose weight one. that y i have no choice but control abit.

bbjun, seem like ur story are even more intresting then Channel 8 drama. Shld ask them real life ur story.

kikismom, yup i knew. But hope whole pregnancy i gain 10kg.. at most 12kg.

Xuan, thanks in advance.

jam75. after married u only gain 4kg. After i start a relation with my hubby, within this 6yrs, i gain abt 10kg.
I hope we wont enter 70kg. But i tell u, confirm more then 70kg want. hugz hugz.

junie, u shld be daring and thick skin when gg checkup. the more she dun 1 2 talk to u, the more u ask her!! make sure she answer or not u bug her. you are paying her consultant fee leh. not FOC!! Anyway their consultant fee is not cheap at all. So next time u must ask n ask, write down in a paper, next time appt take that paper out and slowly ask her. usually my checkup also ard 15-30mins, she will explain how my test done. how i feel? but her answer always 'normal & common' but at least better, got reply..

it also took me 5 mins to have my routine checkup..
1) my gynea just check thru my record
2) ask me lay down to hear the bb heartbeat
3) follow by the scan
4) ask me whether i still need any pills
end of our consultation..but is the waiting time tat kills...can wait an hour for our turn which only take 5min inside *sigh*

shelisa, cos i quite concern abt wt gain so hv been going gym 1/wk till my back hv prob so stop exercise f quite sometime & hv gain additional wt...i oso tink dat at dis rate tink dun wan to hit 70kg oso v difficult!

My gynae is a nice man. But I just wish I had a better hospital but its too late to change now I guess. The nurses will do the weight and blood pressure thing then I will go to the main rm to wait for my turn.

bbjun- u still got something to change into? Me just lift up my skirt to scan only. Done, then wipe the jelly lotion away. When I ask its always, everything is fine.

I'm actually ok with KK, just the detailed scan that day really painful for me and bb. Hubby also keep quiet when she hit tummy cuz we both dun know if its a norm. Later when we left then we discussed abt it. My poor bb was actually lying on the left side tummy until she got squashed by the scanner and she slowly shift to the right side. So the nurse asked me to lie on my left so she can scan bb on my right side. Bb so poor thing, use her whole hands and feet to cover herself up til nurse cannot see her heartbeat.

I just try to convince myself bb born anywhere also a bb. Dun think so much about the hospital.

Read abt the expo sale thing. Just told hubby about it and he said he'll take half day go with me! I just went robinson, JL, OG yesterday. Nothing to buy for bb at all. Hopefully the expo sale is good

me too! every visit to my gyne is less than 5 mins. and we have to wait for half an hr to get into the room.

breastmilk
anyone tot of buying mini fridge to store their expressed milk?

shelisa, think they shd document my SIL's one. Hers is super drama until not one of my frens who heard it from me believe it actually happened in real life. When I first heard it from my SIL, I cried for an hour in front of her cos I can't imagine myself gg thru that kind of childhood without having freedom of having frens, nor even the privacy of her own room. Then these taiwan ladies (MIL and her sisters) conspired together to "kidnap" my SIL to taiwan for matchmaking n wedding when MIL found out she is intending to marry an angmo. If not for a nice cousin's tip off, I can't imagine what would have happened. I have also heard stories about some cousin whom I never met who eloped becos of an arranged marriage and no one in the family mention her at all. Hence, I never bother to watch any taiwanese dramas n most idol dramas as well on TV cos it reminds me too much of all these crazy ppl.

Cassey, yo.. where are you today ? You want to do OT (reading thru the archives) tonite ah..?

Re. Baby & mummy's weight, I always thot my girl is quite small as most ppl said can't see much of the bump, last check at 20 wks 3 days at 406gms, and mine at 52.6kg..