(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sorry to interupt.

Selling away Medela Harmony Breast Pump @ $50 with original packaging.

Used only once, self collection.

Interested pls pm me.

Xuan (mitan) , my colleague of 1 kid advised against me to buy the sling as the weight distribution is not good. She recommended me either ERGO or BECO carriers. Think i will be looking into that. I like the BECO ones, very decorative, but quite expensive too... but she swears by it say can use until 2 years old... =)

for your info only.

http://cozybabies.com.sg/

i will be going for the baby fair as well. Hopefully it's cheaper! =D

Carseat
Huh? Can't sit? I just bought a infant car seat recently, thought my boy can sit on it when I'm out.

Carrier
I didn't buy carrier, hubby don't like it. Anyway even I have one, it will only be used when stroller is folded up. So don't see the point of spending so much on 1. But do take note that not all bb like carrier, my sis' daughter don't.

Baby Fair
Hope those who are going get real good deals, I won't be there. =(

Tubbymummy, actually the reason for not waxing till now is i have read stories about infection then it became like a nightmare......

carseat: i saw one mommy who just gave birth put the newborn in those Maxi Cosi infant carrier...

Sling: i think it's gd if only 1 parent is ard n need to carry the baby and carry alot of thing. i'm probably getting a 2nd hand one from my friend - the MIM sling. but i heard all these u gotto perfect it, else u'll find it useless.

BabyBjorn looks gd, but it's so ex... can buy a stroller with it...

Baby Fair: will it coincide with the IT fair??? wait very crowded. thinking what good buys there will be...

kikismom, that only happen in very 'pan tang' family. that time my SIL give birth, we visit her. My mum force hubby and i resch home imm bath with flower to wash away those dirty!! Or not she will nag for days!!

chidori, $600 ia alot leh? U all staying with PIL? Or they cook dinner for u?

ahnetsan, before pregnant u already SAHM? Or after u found out u pregnant then resign? Everyday staying at there house will make u mad soon! i feel u shld at least take care for 1 yr 1st. As 6mth bb still so small. If they let them bang his head, u dare to scold them back? U cant right?

Kelly Ng, great to hear that. But do rem to keep urself dry so u wont easily feel itch. Most impt avoid seafood for time being ba.

hatemenot, same day??

morning ladies...

xuan/ tubbymummy,
i had the ERGO and sold it after using it for a few times. here's my personal feedback:

1. yes it distributes the baby weight well. my girl was around 8kg+ when i bought it.

2. being quite vain, i think the ERGO looks quite ugly on women. cos its quite bulky at the back and around the waist so for parks and beach when wearing t-shirt its ok, but when u wana go shopping and wearing a nice blouse, it just doesnt do justice to your outfit!!

3. after a while the carrier (plus baby) makes u sweat like hell (unless u stay in aircon ALL the time)!! ur chest and ur baby's chest wld produce a big wet patch of sweat!

4. baby does feel quite comfy and secure though cos mine fell asleep in it. but like i say i gets hot and the head would flop to 1 side.

however, i still think its excellent for travelling (to colder countries) and good support.

thanks tubbymummy/hatemenot/audreyaw/firstmum for all your feedbacks.. will defintely consider the ergo or beco carrier now..

Oh oh.. if baby fair same period as natas fair then better to go on 27 Feb (fri) to avoid the crowd.. defintely going to be 'people mountain people sea' during the weekends..

mummies, about the bb sling, here's my 2 cents worth on it. like what First Mum say, better to get a cooling material. i find for this, the sarong/Asian slings are better - more comfy for mummy and bb. if sweaty later bb got rashes even more headache for mummy.

and since i hear not all bb's will like it, why not borrow from a friend/relative or buy a 2nd hand one to try first? that way if bb don't like, not so heart pain to discard. i read there are many threads where mummies are selling this. either the bb outgrows it very fast, don't like it or mummy not comfortable with it. surely that's some feedback for us right?

for me, hubby say he wants to buy batik cloth and the ring and make for me a sling. don't know if he can or not..haha but i will ask him to make and try on my cat. he say that way more traditional.

by the way, being the shopaholic that i am (i just cannot resist kids and baby stuff), i also once owned the MIM sling. it is very very difficult to use! nothing like what u see on the demo tape! the ring is damn hard to adjust loh! and the baby is unlikely to cooperate and let the mummy contort him into weird positions to place in the sling (unless urs is the textbook baby in the video).

First Mum, that's the most common con i heard about the sling. but surprisingly, i know someone who can use that for the son till now 2 years. and i also see alot of pple using it along Orchard Road etc....

xuan/ tubbymummy
I'm consider to get a ergo carrier too..I own a bbBjorn like wat tubby said after using for 30mins u will start to have backache & it very taxing on the back so thinking of getting a ergo btw I've never come accross any counter selling ergo any ladies can advised me where to get them?

First Mum
"hi 5" I also own a sling which I dunno how to use it after seeing the demo...haha bb never seem to get into his comfy position sigh... but I realised many mummies seen to sling their bb very well lei..

lovelytulips/kikismom,
mayb the mummies really have textbk babies for them to perfect their sling skills loh. mine was screaming away and squirming in the sling. i really suck at it.

kikismom,
i got it from a BP. on and off, there'll be BP on ergo carriers. u can look out. also at baby fairs/ motherhood fairs, they usually have a booth.

hi everyone, does anyone know for steriliser, is the 2 bottles steriliser sufficient? what capacity do you ladies plan to get?

Sling
I used had 1 too and end up throwing away cause don't know how to use at all. That time don't have what demo cd, is those normal sling. Both my mum and i just gave up trying how to sling the bb in.

Carrier
Do remember to get those with good back support as you need to support bb wt as well or else you are going to get backache by end of the day. And yes, it's hot to use carrier without aircon. End up both u n bb sweat together. Oh, remember to put a small towel below the bb chin, bb tends to drool.

Dovey
Depends on how frequent you sterilise your bottles. As for me, I only sterilise everything (bottles, pump, pacifier etc) at the start of the day so I bought those which can put a few bottles and few trays to sterilise all at a time.

RE: Sling
my boy loves it, needs it to sleep whenever we are outside, so poor daddy and mummy will hv to use it to pace around e place before he can get to sleep

RE: Carrier
try ERGO, dun really feel comfortable with it, mayb my boy legs are too chubby then, will actually pressed against them, till there's a deeping red marking on them

FirstMum: Tks for your detailed feedback on the Ergo. Ya, agree that it looks quite tak glam, even bulkier than a BabyBjorn, and it's bound to be hot. Showed my husband he also say it's quite ugly haha. But when I showed him the sling, he scratch his head even more haha. So till now, Ergo is still my top consideration. But will go check Metro to see if they have, can try on first.

shelisa,
nope. I dun stay with in laws and my MIL cook like once every 3 months..

thanks for the info on car seat.. was looking out for one too

chidori, ohhh. then i feel $600 is alot alot alot leh. As not staying with them, not eating with them. The amount is she requested or?

I am selling Dumex Mamil Mama Low Fat Nutritional Milk Powder For Pregnant & Lactating Mothers. Flavour is Vanilla taste. Selling Price at $8. Self collect at Jurong Pt, Queenstown MRT.

Do PM me or contact me at 97638817 for fast deal.

chidori, i oso feel $600 alot leh...if u'll earning quite abit then is ok....my bro earn quite alot so she give my mom oso not bad amt...f mi if give $600 tink quite siong leh...if mi now give $600 later wanna to let them take care bb they will sure expect more liow....like dat realli broke!

chidori, agreed with jam75. $600 is siong. Then i rem u mentioned ur MIL doing confinment for u, then need another $500. im gg to faint!!

audreyaw, tks for the info... my frd said she's using the 6 bottles steriliser, thot too big so she bought the 2 bottles... but the MIL is used to the 6 bottles, so 2 bottles is unused, not sure if i shud buy from her... is pigeon's good?

dovey,
if u use the 2 bottles steriliser, then u have to wash n sterilise many times a day cos infant feeds every 3-4 hrs! a lot of time, water and effort. unless u intend to BF fully and use it as a spare one only. besides doubt it can fit breast pump inside.

chidori, u mean $600 is the monthly allowance?? u hv to give another $500 to take care of yr baby? or u mean in ttl $600 is allowance + taking care of yr bb??

chidori, that alot leh. $1100 per mth. Cannot talk to ur MIL?? As bb come out even more expenses. still have to mthly give her so much. How to save for bb future?

jam75, shelisa,
yupz.. she asked for $1100 per month.. maybe when bb out then I nego with her.. when she see my gal so cute maybe will give me discount.. haha..
sometimes she stresses me out with the money talk.. I dun wan my HB to be wedged in between yet I worry about our family finances..
for now, I will take it as it comes

chidori, hmm.. no choice ba. only have to wait for bb come out then nego with her again. Or not gold mountain also come flat mountain liao.

somemore mine is not gold mountain, at most coal only..

anyone know what the difference between wide neck and normal pigeon bottles?

chidori, $1.1k realli alot leh! aft give her dis amt tink i eat grass liow lo! we still hv own expenses, insurance etc to pay...like dat where got $$...anyway since is her granddaughter & Not taking care f a living tink she should not ask f dat much lo...if u'll not earning alot leh....my mom nv request $$$ fm my bro wan...so how much they give my mom juz take!

jam75,
me and my hubby are also normal salaried workers only.. thats why I do not have the option of being a SAHM.. though my hubby said he will support my decision.. cannot bear to see him slog so hard..

chidori, frankly speaking if 1 person working & juz normal salaried dun tink can survive leh...now everything so ex! my hb dare not ask mi to quit my job...he oso say i can't stop working as now got bb le! my hb say b4 married he still hv saving aft married & got our own hse now no more saving....cos we paid everything ourself de...IL nv fork out single cents....at least my mom & sibling do give us big AP to help abit!

thats true.. it will be a major adjustment of lifestyle.. same here lor.. we paid for our wedding, house, car without using a cent from our parents..then now bb coming liao..

chidori, you MIL really 'lion open big big mouth'.
hmm.. just wondering what will she do if you give her less? will she not take care of your baby?

caramelle, today very slowly by our usual standards! Haha... See, when I stay home, there's nothing much going on. When I go out, I have to read thru 3 archives. Sigh...

chidori, the wide neck Pigeon bottles are shaped more like those Avent ones, the bottle and the opening (at the screw top) is bigger. Like what Shelisa says, it may mean more easy to wash. But you'll prob be able to fit one less bottle into the steriliser when compared to the standard ones. I think function-wise no difference, just personal preference I guess.

chidori, $1100 per month?! That is alot!! If that's to happen to me, I may as well quit my job and take care myself since I only take home $11xx.

hi mommies, I'm new here. BB also due mid june. I haven't signed up for WBB classes yet. It sounds useful. How do I sign up? Thanks!

ooh.. someone misses me? kekeke...
Have a whole morning of meetings till 1plus and I m taking some time to draft an impt email to my FIL, remember? :p

Welcome junies.
U can sign up for WBB's antenatal class by calling TMC Parentcraft line to book and then either go down to pay or send in a cheque.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
Scroll down on that website to get details on the class and the number to call.

Hi Kelly, no worries. Preggie eczema!?!?! ARGH! I hope my eczema doesn't relapse cos of this pregnancy. It's an absolutely nightmare to deal with.

createjoy, not sure if meeting khaw. Seems unlikely cos she's said she's quite busy. =( Will let u know

First Mum, *sigh in dismay*, I got a MIM sling. Keep procrastinating with the demo video... must get around to it soon. Hope my little fella cooperates.

Dovey, I saw the 2 bott steriliser too... was going to get that cos it looks so elegant & slick. Asked salesperson and he said 2 is ok if you intend to sterilise each time you want a bottle or 2. In the end still got the full sized one (8 botts) cos lazy to run several cycles a day. Haha... Going to just store inside and pick out as I want to use. =)

Hi junies, welcome here... You can sign up by calling TMC at 6251 4090.
Details available at http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm

Thanks bbjun! Will call them tomorrow to sign up. Do I tell them I'm signing up for WBB class?

I have not done any preparations for bb arrival. My SIL, MIL, mom and everyone keep telling me dun need to buy anything. When the time comes everything will have. Who buys I also dun know? I realise that you ladies are already buying nursing bras and carriers. I have nothing yet

Anyway, how much weight have you mommies gained?