(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

mummies, i came back from Tangs empty-handed yest after going round and round for almost 1 hour. not sure if i saw any of you as i was there abt 7-8pm.

Tubbymummy, lucky you finally bought your car seat and what a steal! can you believe that after 1 hour, i still cannot agree with hubby what stroller + car seat combi to get. hubby still wants to get the bugaboo cameleon despite my protests! so im just going to cave in.

and good morning to everyone! and for those going for the gathering today, enjoy yourselves!

bbjun, i pm u liao. thanks

bbjun/lovelytulips, same same. pile of work. Later i daydream join them for kopi seesion.

Good morning ladies

Jackie, your baby very big and strong! So many here having boy but secretly wishing for a girl. Hai... I'm the opposite, had been secretly wishing for a boy!

chidori, hope u can join us too! We'll still be there at 4.30pm, so hopefully your course does end early.

Shelisa, I don't think bags are reuseable. I'm assuming that cos saw that some mummies in this forum seems to buy A LOT of bags.

lovelytulips, no, the water should be tap water, boiled, then cooled, like what some people use for drinking water at home. The water from heater is just very hot, and it's not actually boiled. By the time it comes out of the shower head, it has also been mixed with the cold tap water. So if there is a practice in your house to boil water for drinking, use that.

Ladies, can check, whenever i check whether i have new message. why foever so much?
Your search found 6997 posts on 1542 pages in 17 topics.

caramelle, you hubby really likes the bugaboo huh? It's a good pram anyway, so just enjoy using it lah. But is the seller throwing in the car seat as well? If not you should have gotten it last night... Or can always hope for another sale hehe. Think we were there at same time last night, but it would have been easier to spot my hubby than me, he's tall, botak, in white shirt (and was complaining loudly that he's hungry hahaha). Me short lah, stand behind normal shelf kenna blocked already.

JUNE MTBs 20-WK HEAVYWEIGHTS CHAMPIONSHIP

Champion at a whopping 468g: JACKIE's boy!

1 & 2nd runners up at 380g: JAM75 and BING's boys

*Footnote: stickymouse's boy has officially been let 'off the hook' at 360g.

Shelisa, that sounds like new POSTS, and not new msgs... It logs all new msgs posted on all threads...
So overnight, on this thread alone, you'll prob get about 50 new posts already.

Tubbymummy, I may have woken up before you this morning. *grumpy* ARGH.
Finally get a sleep-in day but cannot sleep in. Tmr must work again.

bbjun: http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/#
there is a tv commercial going on. i cant find more details except for the tv commercial when u click on the link.

Cassey, tubbymummy, ok. got it.... just wana make sure it's boiled water and not the heater hot water. lucky i go boil water for drinking. else, it's gonna be another to-do task.

so if we arent using those bags, i suppose the avent VIA is a good buy then??? i remember reading that it can be using in the freezer etc.

tubbymummy,
hope my course ends early..

shelisa,
I think these are all the new post in the all the threads in the forum..

hi audreyaw,

Ah...so it is ok if we cannot feel the movement. Perhaps my gal is not the active type, more gentle. Now feeling better, thought why I can feel a little initially, then not much lately. Seeing my gynae in 2 weeks, can't wait to see my gal.

shelisa, got it.

Those not joining the kopi session later, pls get urself some nice snacks/drinks later, plop urself infront of the ur desk n we kopi session in front of our PC/laptops. hehehe..

Cassey, that's what I thought, I thought you wouldn't be in here till later. I had a hard time falling asleep too, but when i did, I managed some proper sleep. Poor you.

Mummies who intend to breastfeed, will you also buy a small tin of formula milk on standby, just in case any problems with the BFing?

vernie, I can't usually feel much from my girl too. My friend was saying the other day that from what she came across, girls don't seem to be that active in the belly. We're both not sure if that's just an old wives' tale though. But judging from mine (and yours), there may be some truth haha. But I'm sure some mummies here who have been kicked endlessly will disagree!

vernie and tubbymummy,
my gal is quite active.. she kicks me up from sleep if I deprive her of her breakfast.. on the other hand, my col gal does not kick much..

lovelytulips, thanks for the link. Will have to think abt it for a while. Cos if I go, I will be late cos that day I have pre-natal massage from 10am-12pm. Can only reach there earliest 1220pm... n I wld be starving by then, unless they are gg to feed me as well. LOL.

Cassey/chidori, okie. I understand what it is. Thanks.

Cassey, hmm. sound true not hygienic. For cotton ball, i always assume that must injure then use. haha. First timer ma. So act cute and blur.

bbjun, cheers!! later we snack there together.

TubbyMummy, i discuss with my hubby liao. We will standby a small tin of formula milk on standby if if there is prob on BF.

My girl is powerful!! she love to kick epecially when i drink chocolate milk regardless what time. Maybe 1 day can feel she kick/poke/hiccup ard 20-30 times?

tubbymummy, most likely not for me. It's very convenient for me to get a tin if needed cos NTUC is just 5 mins walk away from my plc. If I have no time, I can still call my uncle to deliver a tin from his provision shop if really no choice. I think we can all gauge if needed after attempting to BF in hospital after delivery. If really having difficulties, still got time to get HB to go buy a tin ba. If buy oredi, no use, very wasteful n these milk are not cheap lor.

bb kicks/movements: gynae mentioned first thing to me that it's ok to feel only the movements on and off before 30 weeks. after 30 weeks, then it has to be everyday affair. she says she has MTBs who rush to her, telling her that their bb arent moving when they are before 30 weeks. so she say, dont panic.

bbjun: probably u call the hotline given and ask if refreshments will be served. i didnt really catch the advert so still thinking whether to go onot. but seems like the goodie bag looks good. cheapo me... wahahahhaha

tubbymummy, i htink even if bfeeding, need to have a small tin of formula milk just in case anything pops up ba..... i think when u are in the hospital, they will also ask if u intend to go on half bfeed, half forumla or full bfeed.

Tubbymummy, I wasn't even planning to come here, given what a koala bear I am. I thought just wake up, wash up, get dressed, go out, grab lunch, make my way down. But thankfully I am here now cos there's been another PM & also chidori asking for contact. So at least I could reply in good time. *stares bleary-eyed at computer* Hmm... is there still time for me to catch a snooze!?! Guess not. I shall have a more leisurely lunch then, and run some errands.

Whoa, girls are active too! My sister's girl is a crazy thing... we reckon she'll be a terror when she's born and growing up too.
My boy seems quite gentle though... *eh!?! Hopeful brow lift* Skali turn out to be a girl!!

Shelisa, I've always thought cotton balls were good for nothing except the coloured ones for display in glass jars in bathrooms or on the dresser... and for art & craft! Hahaha!!! You remember the wooly clouds we used to stick on drawings and stuff? Well, now we both know better. =)

Whoa ladies, so many post since ytd I left office.. thot u gals having gathering tmr, still so late never sleep one..? Enjoy ur meet-up hey.. remember, no coffee and share with us some pictures of pretty mothers ok

Cassey, try.. try.. fish skin is very rich of collagen my dear
abt this Khatijah, hmm.. she doesn't do east ? But from what I heard, she's got extra transport charges if we stay at boonlay/jurong west leh.. not sure how much tho.. abt the pre-natal massage, wellness village oso have, its $120 per session.. quite ex huh..

JessMa, I haven't check with gynae abt the coconut.. but my gynae from beginning doesn't have any food restrictions for me, everything I asked before he said can eat, even sashimi he never said cannot one.. the only thing he always says not to take is caffein.. anyway, the coconut, I'll not take it so much either.. either once a week or every two weeks lor.. I din' know the green & botak coconut is diff actually, I always thot the botal coconut is also the green one, but after peeled.. all coconut on its tree are green colour ma..

Tubbymummy, you went to Tangs..? I went to Vivo ytd evening, but couldn't find the children dept..
yeah, chicken wings is very very nice.. I love peking duck's skin too.. they said, pregnancy will drained most of the collagen from our skin, so you're right, it's a good excuse to eat.. hehee.. btw.. my friends & SILs said we gonna needs mittens, lots of them, babies tends to bite it.. so need to change quite often.. Re. confinement food: ginger & red-rice wine with chicken rite..? my mum said have to eat it everyday le..

Shelisa, guess I might see you there then.. I applied for leave liao for Friday..

bbjun, yippee.. so many skin-lover here..

LFB, expo fair is 27 Feb - 1 Mar.. you going ?

Re. Massage - I saw this masseuse name Ida in some other thread, anyone has used her before ?

For those lucky mummies who's not chained to their office desk today, John Little is having sale for Robinson cardmembers.. on top of their sales, there's 20% more disc..

bbjun, i have a very stupid hubby. He got prob seeing english words.. haha that y i must get all the thing done before delivery. So in future if need him to buy anything, i will ask him take the old one can go shopping to look for it!

lovelytulips, I think the avent VIA cups are a good buy. I bought this as a gift for a fren last year. She gives thumbs up for it compared to the milk storage bags she was using cos it was more convenient. It also helps prevent her MIL wasting her precious BM cos her MIL just throw away the remaining BM in the bag!!! With the cups, she make sure she stores the amount that her BB needs at her MIL's plc. No wastage. However, the bags store more and takes up less space in the fridge. I have already bought a small pack of VIA cups on my vouchers to start of with. Can always top up to buy more if needed.

Went for my detail scan @ 19wks 6 days
My baby is 310gm.
Saw the lil bird.
Gynae says he is between small to medium size.

My placenta is found to be low.. Hopefully will move up, otherwise have to do caesarian.. uwekkK..

Need to up my iron intake... sian...

My boi is BIG hor

Gynae mention bb is of good size. Maybe cause i am 21 weeks 4 days instead of 20 weeks

So many warrior mummy 'not-so-secretly' hoping for princess

Tubbymummy, I'm intending to breastfeed exclusively, but still want to have formula on standby not in case my breastfeeding 'fails' (I'M NOT GOING TO CONSIDER THAT. WILL KEEP MILKING MYSELF TIL MY GRAPES FALL OFF)... but in case I decide to stay out a whole day and expressed milk isn't sufficient to meet bb's needs for the time I'm out. (without baby, i mean)

Shelisa, you're so mean! Daddy really so gong?

Ling, if fish is steamed and fatty skin comes off, I'll chuck it. But if skin stays on or is fried, then I'll guai guai eat it. I DO want my collagen!! But I really don't like skin.. maybe I'll just buy chicken wings from 'our' coffeeshop. That is probably just about the ONLY skin I eat. Hey! Does potato skin count!?!? Haha...

bbjun, for the avent VIA cup. where did u buy it? and how much? As in website i saw alot of diff prices.

Dyva, Congrats on your prince.

Jackie, Im envy of ur bb. Mine my gynae say it is normal size. dunno her normal is small, medium or big? Mine weight 320g at week 20. Im diff case, hubby and i hoping for girl and we got it.

WHoa... why are the babies here getting heavier and heavier!?!?!

dyva, you happy with your boy? My sis also has low-lying placenta. So no bedroom fun for the entire duration of pregnancy. She's going into her 8th month now and will know soon if she can try a vaginal birth. If you like, I'll keep you posted on how she does. She's due early April.

Jackie... I thought 20wks, 4 days!! Aiya! I'll have to "disqualify" you from the competition then. *grin* for going into 22 weeks, should be a good weight... I guess?

Cassey, he is stupid 1 la. Ask him buy thing always wrong 1. So to prevent such thing happen, i will either ask him to take the old 1 to find or use his hp to capture the pic then go buy. or not i scare i vomit blood!

Cassey, wow.. this is rare, you wake up so early after night watch last nite hey.. you have to work on Saturday ?

TubbyMummy & Vernie, perhaps it' some old wives tale.. I believe bb's activities depends and varies from one to another, the timing would be diff too.. mine usually more active when sitting down or lie on my back.. last night I was awaken by the excruciating leg cramps again, when the pain subsided, she started her kickings again.. mine's quite active, and the movement, be it poking, flipping, kicking, is getting more and more obvious now, but again, I'm 24 weeks today, so I guess a few weeks ahead also counts..

Shelisa, dense huh? DENSE LA! Stupid not very nice. My man can be quite gong - like, he only thinks in straight lines. But I think it's quite common for males to be like that.
I can also be quite blur sometimes. He tells me something and I'm like "HUH?! REALLY!?". And he's baffled cos I'm ready to believe the most absurd things. Haha.. I like the way he can make me feel like a bimbo sometimes. keke!

Hmm... keep hearing advert for movie: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, opening this wkend. Feel curious about the movie.. Originally thought it was based on a true story, thought MUST watch man! But hubby told me no la. it's just fiction, for bimbo's sake. Chey.

Shelisa, I bought it from Philips Experience Showroom at Toa Payoh Lor 1... er my ex office lor. I can let u all know that there will be a sale in Jun. All avent pdts shd be gg at 20% off for staff. The rest of the pdts are gg between 20% to 40% off. But usually they close one eye n apply that for public as well cos the crowd will be gg crazy. There are different packs of VIA cups. I think I bought a pack of 10. I will check the pricing tonite n let u know. I can't rem the price cos I bought it with many items. Should be around $10+ ba.

Ling, whoa die. Now every knows my lousy habits. I don't usually sleep very early. Just that I don't typically check this thread late at night. I'm usually in bed by 11 - reading, or just spending time with hubby, or giving him time to bond with the bump, and of course, having him moisturise and scrutinise my changing body (as I've shared previously), you know... =) Wo3 shi4 xing4 fu2 de nu3 ren2.

Ling, I'm also having leg cramps in the night, but nothing severe since CNY Eve. More like, hmmm? Then rouse and stretch calves. Not the OOOOOOOWWWWWWW!!!!!! and shoot up kind of CNY Eve.

Eh? Are you 24 weeks today? Or do you mean you've just gone into your 24th week?
Cos I'm into my 24th week... but NOT YET complete leh. and I'm due 1st June...?

Yeah, I work Saturdays... *sulk* But the consolation is that it's half day. But another day of no sleep-in.
I'd choose aftnn half-day above morning cos I really am a koala. Can't wait for April when I stop for good.

Cassey, fish skin be it fried or steamed are equally NICE..
er.. I think chicken wing's skin is less collagen than those of fish leh.. aiyoh.. *fainted*.. potato skin is in my category of non-edible items.. hehee..

Shelisa, er.. *shiver*.. you're callin ur hb stupid here in the thread.. he never check this forum ah..? most guys are not very inclined abt these stuff le.. shopping is like a nightmare for them.. most of my bb stuff I bought one.. until I made so much noise then he helped to ask ard abt the strollers..

Cassey, do u work?? u doesnt look like someone who needs to work leh....

argh, fish skin. i hate that... i always peel off the skin, no matter what i eat, be it sliced fish porridge, fried skin, steam fish etc. any alternatives for collagen????

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button - seems like an interesting movie.... was thinking whether to catch it. whether for the sake of Brad Pitt or the storyline.

i also peel off the fish skin. i dun like lei. so i will stick with cassey's idea of fried chicken wings' skin. wahahaha.

i am waiting for transformers in Jun. buy my hubby said u sure? what happens if u watch half way then go into labour? or u in confinement can go out watch meh?

lovelytulips, glad to hear that before 30 weeks, bb movement is on and off only and it is normal.
otherwise, i will be one of the panicky MTBs running to my gynae liao...so, i shall continue to enjoy my 2nd trimester when bump is not really in the way yet.

cassey, don't think boy will turn out to be a gal...it is more likely for gal to turn out to be a boy. Have heard stories where gynae said gal, came out boy! hmmm...mine better be accurate...i've been buying some girlie stuff though tyring to get as much neutrals as possible...

Shelisa,
My boi really big hor.....U lucky ger, manage to get wat u wish for, ENJOY

Re:Bfing,
Base on my own experience hor, for #1 i also started with intention of total bfing. But my boi could not latch on properly or i am lousy at latching him on. End up my milk ss is miserable. I got to give FM in the end.

So this time round for #2, i am not gg to stress myself out. Will get a small tin of FM, milk bottle n pump ready. If ss is insufficient, will give fm. Cause i believe my sanity is more important

lovelytulips, oui... U haven't even SEEN me before! Don't insult me, eh! *brandishes a parang in your face*
Nah. As I've said before, I converted from FT work to PT this year to cut myself some slack.
I like hanging around here on my off days so maybe it seems like I'm a tai-tai. But no! I'm not!
Will be soon though.. give me a couple of months. Haha

lovelytulips... have! The Vitagen collagen thing! *chuckle*

bing!! Wouldn't THAT be interesting? To go into labour while watching Transformers? Maybe if you tahan until you deliver in the cinema, you'll get free movie passes for life! I'm the opposite of you. Hubby's trying to make me promise to catch it with him. I'm going to be a mother by then already. So *phew!* managed to weasel my way out of that trap.

whoa, vernie, did you have to burst my bubble so heartlessly? But hey, my friend's parents were told she was a boy repeatedly thruout the pregnancy. 99%, 99%. Plopped out, oops. Penis disappeared. Heehee... Nah, I wouldn't hope for a last min gender switch. I already bought plenty of boy clothes.

Jackie, I'm prepared to consult lactation consultants & specialists if things don't go as well as planned. Heehee... Been reading up articles on breastfeeding and they all concur that persistence makes all the difference between "victory and failure".

BlueDream, I have already, haven't I?!?! I'll do it again.. maybe I forgot.

*update* Done!

*aiya, must tear myself away from you all and go get lunch.
Or else I'll be late and kenah interrogated by sweethalo re: last evening's activities.

JUNE MTBs 20-WK HEAVYWEIGHTS CHAMPIONSHIP

Champions @ 380g: JAM75 and BING's boys! *clap clap*

Back in the game, STICKYMOUSE's boy! @ 360g.

*Footnote: JACKIE's boy has been 'disqualified' with a respectable 468g as he was overqualified at the time of 'weigh-ins'

Cassey, oops.... dont be so violent la... hiak hiak. i think i missed out on the parts of u saying u converted from FT to PT cos this thread really moves very fast almost everyday.

ah, when u're a tai-tai, i'll probably be envying u so so much.... well, i'm envying u now

Jackie, regarding bfeeding, that's the concern i have about not enough milk ss. scare wait buy breast pump no use cos no ss. but i read that ss comes with demand... but then, being about to bfeed has alot of reasons, so i guess as long as both parents are comfortable, dont be bothered or stressed by external parties.

cassey, really? i kept hearing stories of the other way round..cos the little birdie failed to show during scans...so gal has possibility of turning into boy...not the other way round lei...are u secretly wishing for a girl? ;)

lovelytulips, I like violence, as long as I'm not on the receiving end. Haha!
Nothing to envy leh. It's a choice we make - there's always a trade-off ma. More 'eng', trade-off, smaller paycheck.

I also feel envious others when I see my tiny paycheck too. But then I stop and remind myself of the mornings I get to sleep in and the days I get to shop without the peak crowd... and afternoons I can go for pedicure. And then I thank the Lord for PT work! Cos I think I'll be depressed if I don't have that outlet for some energy dispensation too.

vernie, yup! NOT too secretly. I've talked abt it at length here. haha. I was sharing that I don't really know what to do with a little penis owner. 3 of us sisters in my family, so to me, one penis is enough for one household. Haha! But thankful for a boy too, la. Curb my spending and keep me sane when I go shopping. Must plop him out quickly and then try for a girl girl. =)

Cassey,
For #1, i attend a talk organise by BMSG http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/ inorder to get myself all prepare for bfing. In the end i didnt manage to do total Bfing thing.

This time round with the pump ready, i really really hope that the milk ss will be much better

lovelytulips,
Like wat u mention, bfing is all about ss and demand. With demand come ss. It good to get the pump ready, cause if bb cant latch well at least u can pump out. Plus, we also need the support from hubby

Ling, did u tell ur gynae abt ur leg cramp? I heard from old ppl if leg cramp dun eat banana. haha, as i said he seem like cannot recongnise english words thus he is a com idiot!! so i can scold him here.

Cassey, my hubby sometimes can make me laugh till tear dropped too. So sometime not that bad.

bbjun, do you have the exact location for Philips Experience Showroom? Is it open daily and for public? Wanna go see see look look.

Jackie, yup yup. But happy to hear it good n healthy..
My hubby side all give birth to boy except im the lucky 1.