(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Ling... what time is your class? Mine only has vacancy for 7pm... I will be sending out the payment shortly.

I was thinking of the KK one in Apr too but figured the timing is abit off in case I want to hv gynae checkups on Sat morning.

Now hving 2nd thoughts abt the Aqua class too.. cos last night squeezed into my tankini and the sight was not at all welcoming! Yelch!!!

sweethalo, decided on TMC classes already? =(
creamer, it's just us then!

First Mum & ahnetsan,
can you pls opt to receive PM msgs? Else, pls PM me with email addie... THANKS!
To opt to receive PM,
> click on "Edit Profile" top left of this page
> un-check the box that says do not receive PM from other users... or something like that
> save changes

Ling my dear, im not SAHM (yet) so yes still slogging in office. not a minute goes by without me wishing i wasnt though! actually i wrote a long post abt being SAHM and my fears but im afraid im just overgeneralizing since the SAHM i met here defies the stereotypes! so i just deleted my post.

Whoa Cassey.. hahaha.. your indoor princess very well protected with you hor..
one very lucky feline..

Anyway, if you're meeting up with SAHM mummies, enjoy alright.. we can all meetup during weekends one of these days..

bbjun, thanks God is u guy doing is the ordering or not .

Ling, i thought my bb invite ur bb out for ladies night. now u often leg cramp?

Cassey, my detail scan also only took me 10 mins and it is done. maybe bb inside fighting. that y it took quite fast. Actually i hope it took longer as i can see bb longer also.

Reg: MIL
Err, no much comment on her. Only appreciated her at on cny eve she allow us to go back our parents house eat. then her side eat at the 1st first of cny. Always feel our own dearest mommy is the best!!

sweethalo, starting in March.

Shelisa, ermm.... I looked at the little fella for AN ENTIRE HOUR! And it was so NOT fun. The scanning probe hurt cos sonographer just couldn't get a good shot and apologised for having to press down harder - thanks to my little fella, who was facing my spine. (Is he "camera" shy?!) Parts of my belly still felt sore over the next 2 days. 10 min scan babies rule!!

cassey> if u see my MIL's fridge, you will find it disgusting. and it's damn disgusting.... her style of keeping things is beyond wat u all normally will practise. even my hubby and his sister cannot tahan their own mother's way of doing things.

ahnetsan, is it all stuffed chock full of multi-coloured plastic bags - some tied up, some open; and unidentifiable packages of food almost seeming to be their very own habitat of organisms?

It is amazing to me how our ILs store food. But maybe it's a takeaway from the kampung days.

caramelle, oops.. sorry.. thot u're already a tai tai liao.. I actually quit my previous job after marriage, thinking of getting a short break first.. I was exhausted from my wedding preparation, I didn't take any leave at all during that time.. so I was officially an SAHM for that period, after few weeks, I realized I missed working.. so when I was headhunted, I came back to work..

just like stickymouse, I'd probably consider to stop working when I have more than 1 child.. but for now.. with us wanted to buy our own house and a baby in tow, I would still keep working lor..

Cassey- maybe we attend different classes can swap notes... hehehe...

Bing - yes it's held at AMK Hub on weekdays and weekends.

Here's the info:

Weekday 7pm - 9pm
Sat: 2-4pm , 4.30 -6.30pm, 7-9pm
Sun: 10am-12pm, 12.30-2.30pm, 3.30-5.30pm

Next class is 14/3 for Sat and 22/3 for Sunday
Weekend class cost $235.40 for non-patients, $214 for TMC patients

wah i din knw AMK hub got TMC classes

wah i din knw the detailed scan could be hurting... gosh, hopefully my scan next fri will be smooth!!

cassey> it's not those colourful plastic bags dat are in the fridge...sometimes even the fridge will haf a funny smell... there's everything and anything in the fridge, u can even find opened packets of dunno wat titbits dat are left there ever since i knw my hubby...
and those leftovers foods can be left there for dunno hw many days.... and no one bothers to throw away.... aiya anyway, her whole kitchen jus sucks big time! i cannot imagine anyone cooking in tat kitchen.... i jus hope my flat will come sooner so we can be out of this plc....

cassey, I do appreciate your mum's approach and tries very much to do the same. That's why I end up venting frustrations here, not to her. My only wish that my MIL is more opened to hear, see and accept things that are not norm in her eyes.

ahnetsan, I am trying to imagine... cos my MIL has two HUGE fridges for just herself and FIL and I see liao, want to faint. Twice I went to her place to water her plants last year cos she away on long hols, I nearly puked trying to help her with a bit hsewk. Food gone bad, still in fridge, got nasty smell. She also keeps the used rice scoop in the fridge and take out and continue to scoop rice.. like that one! Took me a long time to figure out which pack of food is spoilt to take out and throw cos there are too many things inside.

Seriously, I don't really care how she keeps her stuff, neither do I really tell her what to do unless it's totally unacceptable in terms of hygiene/health reasons. If I ever bother to help, it's becos I really do care for their health. I attempted to tell her that her cooking is too salty and not to buy certain things in the past, but she doesn't listen. End up my FIL's blood pressure shoot up then she starts to cut the salt she puts in food. My hb is still adjusting to this neat and tidy fridge that I keep after two years. He has been seeing packed fridges with bags & pots of leftovers since young that he always asked me why my fridge always look empty. Cos everything is kept nicely in boxes and neatly categorized!!!!

I appreciate the differences we have and thankful that we don't have to stay together. As long she is happy with whatever she is doing and doesn't impact me that badly, I cover two eyes and continue to vent my frustrations on blog, forum and frens. kekeke...

i heard there're classes conducted by the hospital which are FOC... anyone knw wat kind of classes is dat? i guess those FOC classes must be the simple and basic ones??

bbjun> omg haha, my MIL also has 2 huge fridges!!! haha for ur MIL, she keep the used rice scoop in the fridge and continue to use... my MIL worse, she jus left it at the rice cooker there, and next day when she cook rice for dinner, the scoop is UNWASHED and they continue to scoop rice.... urs better le, at least it's in the fridge, mine is outside the whole night, who knows got any cockroach or lizard happen to crawl over the scoop or not... *puke*

abt food gone bad, stil in fridge, nasty smell, same wif my MIL, and no one bothers to throw away... once my hubby tried to throw an expired packet of ham, kenna scolding from his mother say expire only a few days, stil can eat one lah... we were like 0_0" and swear we will not eat it if she cook it...

my MIL also cook too salty i think, plus she cantonese, tend to put alot of 'taste' in her cooking... my FIL and MIL both haf HBP, but they stil like to eat salty food, and esp those roast meat

lucky u, got own house le, no need to open ur MIL's fridge anymore... i stil need to open the fridge for another 2yrs...

sweethalo, haha. thanks ar. just called them but they super busy so have to wait for them to return my call. planning for sat late afternoon or evening.

ahnetsan, bbjun, same. I avoid my IL's fridge cos of the frightful mess. I don't think I've ever smelt anything cos seeing the mess, I automatically hold my breath when I go get myself a Yakult. Which, fortunately, is now probably like, what, once a year?!

ahnetsan, COMPLETELY DO NOT NOT NOT ENVY YOUR POSITION.
Thkfully, when we needed a place to stay for a month after wedding, parents-IL were ok with hubby moving into my parents' home cos they knew the deal when it came to finances and practicality. No problems there cos mum had maid who could handles chores instead of me having to split laundry, cooking and chores arrangement with MIL at her place.

Due to some difficult circumstances, ILs came to stay with us in our home for 4+ months late '07 to early '08. It was a disaster. JUST FOUR MONTHS and I was seriously struggling not to go mad. Had to keep a can of air-freshener at the door cos I'm very keen-nosed and the whole house stank of yao4 jiu3 that my DIL uses.

Guest bathroom was a mess. Kitchen cluttered. I'm thankful they didn't start leaving food around on the dining table. THEY LEFT IT ALL ON THE KITCHEN COUNTER INSTEAD. STILL UNCOVERED. STILL SITTING THERE ALL DAY. =(

I was staying out of the house, eating out... basically trying to avoid the whole shenanigan.
Are you and hubby financially able to consider renting as a temp. solution?

bbjun, so wierd huh? IS IT THAT DIFFICULT TO WASH A RICE SCOOP?!
Agree. Venting to friends (& MTBs) really helps keep our peace with the ILs per se.

ahnetsan, EeeEEEeEEEeeeeeeeeeeEEEEEEEEEEEeeeeeEEEEeeeeeee!!
Aiyo. Wash for them la. Disinfect in HOT soapy water when they're asleep.
Whoa, if I were you, I'd go straight back to work.

haha Cassey, I think so too... Ahnetsan... I wld quickly get a job and chabot out of the hse and find excuse to eat dinner out with hubby everyday.. kekekee

cassey,
PM enabled

CLUTTERED FRIDGE
same for mil's fridge. cassey's description wld paint a very vivid pic of how it looks like. i always wonder how she manages to find anything, she prolly has to go through many bags to do that.

and once, she gave me a rotting carrot that has gone soft to cook porridge for my daughter. just imagine.

another time, she bought some brownish-looking corn on the cob for me to cook. the kernels at the top already rotting and dried up, so i buay tahan and told her "mother, this corn is not fresh anymore" and she squinted her eye and retorted "no la! just chop off the top still can eat!"

wat's DIL?

of cos lah, who envy me nw dat person can go bang wall liao.... anyway, me and hubby haf no extra finances to rent out now... im nt wrking nw, so he's the only one wrking...and my hubby seems to love his home... and we cant possibly move to my mother's plc, cos i basically dun call dat plc a home to begin wif and my hubby doesnt like it too

gross lor, stil got yao jiu smell, faint....

talking abt bathroom, let me complain abt my FIL... he apparently was banned from using his own master bedroom toilet by my MIL... so he has to use the common toilet. and suay enough, me and hubby use this common toilet too, cos our room is not the master bedroom thus there's no toilet in the room...

and i super hate going to the toilet... the floor will either be stained wif those dirty footprints left by my FIL and he obviously chose to ignore and not use the pipe and wash it off... Or the toilet bowl will be splashed wif bits of his poo..... and again, he jus ignore and not wash it clean..... it's super disgusting when i go in the toilet and i see bits of 'things' there!! and worse, it's at the sides of the bowl or it's not properly flushed down... i always go back to my room and signal my hubby and show him my super unhappy fucked up face.... and he will knw wat i mean, so he poor thing, got to go clean the mess up....

sometimes when my hubby's nt at hm, i bo bian, i got to clean up the mess.... i've never cleaned the toilet at my parents' plc before, yet i haf to clean up some old man's mess here!! my hubby always scold his father, but scold liao, today ok, tmr stil the same pattern again....

and after my FIL bathes, he will always leave his big white yellowish stained dirty underwear on the toilet bowl flush area or the wash basin!!!!!!!

haiz........

First mum, YUCK!!! ROTTEN CARROT?! She thought it was pre-mashed carrot, is it?! Hahaha!
I think many of our parents and ILs came from hard backgrounds so they're not as quick to trash things as we are now.
For that reason, my heart goes out to them. Poor ppl. We're such a privileged generation

ahnetsan, Dad-IL
very mean leh. your mum enjoy a whole toilet. the rest of you have to share ONE common bathroom.

When ILs stayed with me, basically, it was - look, you have the whole house. I'm just going to live in my room. I didn't use anything or go anywhere. Didn't watch tv, bought automatic dispenser type air-freshener to help me in the mornings... didn't cook... didn't eat at home.

They washed like 1-3 bamboo poles worth of clothes, every day. Even when we spoke to them about being environmentally friendly, Dad-IL said, aiya. How much? We pay you back lor.

For 4-mths, home became a hotel. Good thing I read a lot so easier to stay in room. So to me, it was up to them to clean up after themselves. I didn't clean up until after they moved out.

I guess whoever's house it is, whomever's rules to play by.

cassey> i tried to wash the rice scoop... but u knw, the bits of rice get hardened on the scoop for god knw how long already, and no matter hw i scrub it hard, i can still feel the scoop is nt clean cos there's forever some rough feeling of super super hardened rice bits on it!!

dats y i use the normal eating spoon to scoop rice out instead of using the scoop.....

but hw am i gg to find job nw in my current bump? plus nw recession, which company wld wan to employ a 20 wk preggie woman??

so normally i jus stay in the room and only go out of my room to take water or go toilet... luckily my hubby's room got tv and everything in the room...

Ok, I'm SO going for epidural.

Tubbymummy, I'm still watching labour and delivery video after video... hehe... After all the quiet breathing and weary falling back against pillow, whoa this woman with epidural is still smiling and laughing as bb's head crowns, although she looks tired. That's the way to go for me!

tubbymummy, createjoy, First mum, ahnetsan,
Don't think u've checked yet, but you all have pm.

sweethalo, wait for your email after others revert k

haha!!! ahnetsan, I think it's the email account you've lodged with the forum.

caramelle & others wondering, don't feel left out pls!!
I'm take the weekday afternoon gathering planning discussion off the forum,
before all the working MTBs read and read, turn green like broccoli.