(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Hello everyone! Didn't log in for one day only, already so much to read! Hope no one bleeding too much from ang bao giveaways...

Welcome LBF! LBF, creamer & Cassey, I *think* I felt baby move... finally, at 20wks! It was Monday night, and I was lying in bed on my tummy, and suddenly I felt a couple of taps from the inside of my abdomen. Usually when I lie on my tummy, I can feel my own heartbeat from my abdomen, so I thought maybe it was that. I practically stopped breathing and waited, but realised the heartbeat thing was a separate mild pounding instead, and the 2 taps were something else altogether. For once, that night, I wasn't having any indigestion or much gas, so it wasn't that as well, so it must have been baby! Then a few minutes later, I felt another mild tap and nudge. Last night, I tried lying on my tummy again to read, and once again, I felt it, and I think I can finally confirm it's baby! Yay!!
I told hubby, and he was pretty excited, but obviously he can't feel anything yet. Can't wait till he can feel it too! So far, I've been watching out for those sensations, but haven't felt them any other time of the day, and in any other positions. Maybe baby doesn't like me lying on my tum, and decided to kick harder to protest haha.

Ling, I've been hearing about the shi san tai bao thing even from other people, but I asked my mum, she also not too sure what it is, cos she never had it too haha. Our family very clueless about these things. Can I cook it with chicken and eat like those normal herbal chicken, or just double boil with water and drink the "soup"? Any idea if men can take it? Thought if can, I can make it with chicken, and hubby can eat together with me for dinner or something. So troublesome just to prepare it for myself...

caramelle, I've also been hesitant about buying maternity clothes, cos some are pretty expensive, and after giving birth, prob won't wear most of them anymore, so it seems a bit pointless. Instead, I bought 2 pairs of 3/4 pants from Fox, they're hipsters with a rubberised top, so can stretch and sit below belly, and I just wear longer t-shirts with them hehe, after give birth still can wear. My friend also passed me a few pairs of maternity bottoms, plus I have a few pre-preg dresses that are empire cut, and I'm still able to wear those. So I think I'm good for now. But I did think of buying a couple of tops just for variety sake, saw a couple that I like from Mothers En Vogue, but haven't bought yet. Will go check out Bellysima and Modern Maternity. I doubt I'll order online, cos I'm quite top heavy, so all my life (and I believe even now), I have problems with clothes fitting me properly, so I want to be able to try on the item first. My friend also told me one of the Dorothy Perkins outlet here carry some maternity clothes, I'll see if I can hunt down which one.

Mummies, saw in Straits Times today, Takashimaya offer Avent Express Steam Steriliser bundle set at $188 (original value $289.90). Based on the picture shown, set includes steriliser, one 4oz bottle, one 9oz bottle, one sippy cup, chiller bag, bottle brush, pacifiers, and 3 bottles of avent brand baby toiletries (there are a couple of other items that I can't figure out). Those who are planning to buy Avent may wanna check it out. Ad is on Straits Times main section, page A15

ling, my mom oso hakka leh...but she do give us ang bao regardless of whether we married or not...even my hb oso got ang bao fm my mom leh!

i weight quite often like at least once a wk or 1 every 2 wk...cos i scared my weight realli go up too fast...hahha...dr adrian nv take my weight leh...so far onli 1st time niah...now 5 mth le he oso nv take my weight leh! oh ya 1st check up wif dr adrian he has told mi NO INTERCOUSE leh....but nv say when can intercouse leh...but my fren say 2nd tri onwards should b okie...i din know abt final mth may trigger contraction wo! so beter dun do it on last mth ba!

jam75, I'm using digital scale at home, so even if put on 100g I also know. Not sure if that's a good or bad thing! I'm so KS, I weight everyday kekeke... And 2 days ago, I found out I put on 1.1kg overnight!! Dunno come from where. But my scale at home always measures less than my doctor's scale. Over at doc's, I'm always about 1kg heavier. But I'm not sure digital or needle type is more accurate. I would think both can be accurate, but the one that is more frequently used, and is older, the accuracy may be a bit off?

Sorry LFB, realised I was calling you "LBF" instead. Pai seh... Anyway, I was laughing at the FAT remark, cos when I went for pedicure and eyelash extension, the ladies attending to me also thought that I was just fat. But I'm not offended lah, I just think it's funny

whoa! Thread's moving super fast again like a bullet train.

caramelle,
actually, I've never had concerns about the rhythm of bedroom adventures. Baby is in its own pool and we walk also ma. Sometimes even jog after a bus... so what's a little rocking?! Anyway, PLS, NO STAYING ON YOUR BACK HOR. Read week 16 on should stop lying flat on back cos circulation to bb via placenta is compromised with pressure of uterus falling backwards onto dunno-whatever. So get on top, girl.

Dovey,
poor you. I hope your diarrhoea eases off. Colleague caught a strain of stomach flu and stayed on the toilet bowl for >2 weeks. I don't know about po chai, but pls hydrate yourself.

ahnetsan,
you're very funny leh. Mum don't give you can still chase her around with mandarins. *lol* We give big angpaos to both sets of parents in advance for their CNY expenses (last year $800/set, this downgrade.. haha!). My parents and ILs have always given to their own children and children-IL. Parents give a super lot cos they usually return what we give (last year hubby and I got $500ea from my parents). ILs give less cos they need more financial support. In fact, this year hubby and I got double angpao's from MIL cos she said one ($20) for Eve (ya1 sui4 qian2) and one ($24) for CNY proper when we went to visit her. Nvm abt your mum la.. As long as she sayang sayang you can. Maybe her own mum had that same family culture so she thinks she can save now. =)

Ling,
I've no way but to be explicit here. In final trimester, nipple stimulation, deep penetration and ejection of semen into vagina can all trigger slight bleeding or contractions leading to labour. That's why 3rd trimester usually not as frequent. Maybe month 7 still ok but not after.

Tubbymummy,
Yay! YAY YAY YAY!!!! See! Eventually it's GOT to happen, right?!?! Mummies here advise must encourage the little fella when she kicks and moves... I find myself smiling as I rub my belly whenever I feel him move. Sometimes I catch myself and think I'm being silly. But the idea of a mini-hubby frolicking around in my internal pool is quite funny.

Re: Maternity Clothes
Other than a pair of pants I got from MotherCare, my other "maternity" clothes are regular clothes from various places. It's especially easy with these days' trends to get tops with lotsa room to spare at the belly ma. Beautiful flowy, floaty flirty tops and dresses are in plentiful supply ma! Many ppl thought my CNY clothes were mommy clothes but nope! One of the tops that received the most compliments, I just happened to walk past This Fashion and spot while enroute to the toilet. Haha..!

TubbyMummy, congrats to finally feel ur bb.. in the next 2 wks you'll feel more of the movement, and u'll also notice bb has certain timing to move.. for me n Shelisa, our girls is in US timing.. so move more at night time
abt shi san tai bao, it's not to be mix with chicken or any cooking I guess.. from the look, it's very thick n very strong scent too.. I think it's double boiled, filter the herbs, then put the soup into a bowl.. I couldn't finish the soup at one go, too bloated.. so I split it into two small bowls.. errr.. dun think it's for men le.. as it's useful for the womb ma
think the preparation is not so tedious, abt half an hour only.. I take it once a month..

jam75, really ah..? she still gives you both angbao ?? whoa.. I gotta ask my mum then.. heehee.. thot after married it's only us children give to parents.. hmm.. dr. Adrian oso never take, first few times I bo chap asked him what's my weight, so he told the nurse to help, the last two times, without he said so, I just jump onto the weighing machine myself..
hah..? he told u cannot 'do'.. ? hmm.. from 1st trims I already asked him (me no shame one..), and he said it's totally okay.. now oredi 2nd trims, u can ask him again lor.. very stressful if abstinence for 9 whole months plus the confinement time ma..

yo Cassey, where are you today ?

tubbymummy, the dorothy perkins @ great world city offers maternity... but i think the selection last time was better, more varieties... now not much liao...

creamer, have fun tmrw at the detailed scan... dun forget to update us after that... mine is next thur, still gotta wait a week...

Ling dear, don't worry. my MIL also say funny things which are very untrue. as if we bully our darling husbands, we are modern women leh. we don't need to bully them because we can do it on our own too! im so happy for you having a girl, im 80% sure mine is a girl too (cos dr cannot see "anything"). some inconsiderate relatives say my MIL won't be so excited abt my girl bcos she already got 2 granddaughters. i told them, gee that's too bad. guess i don't have to go over so often to my MIL's place then. hehe

abt bedroom dept, whyyyyy so quiet for most of us? we cannot give up, if you want something must ask for it right?
even if it means you must initiate. suggestion: ask him put the stretch mark cream for you..can lead to other things..hehe

but must be careful not to have your tummy crushed, and "boat must not be too rocky" - pity the bb inside like in a storm! row your boat gently down the stream

if anyone else got other tips, share also leh. im running out of tricks!

tubbymummy, not KS la...i oso wanna to weigh everyday but juz scared everday i c there is an increase i will faint lo! aiyo now cny i more scared pig alot of new year goodies wo....even my bro comments i look fat wo not pregnant! my hb still say i look like kong long leh!!

ling, i din ask dr adrian wan he tell mi NO...tink cos i hv bleeding in 1st tri so he say NO ba....but then my fren no bleeding oso juz 1 mth diff niah he oso say NO leh...but i pai sey to ask him leh! my fren say aft birth gynae will give u green light to GO AHEAD wan leh...but tink f dr adrian hv to ask him wan if no dun tink he will tell us....hahaha

jam75, you dear silly ol' girl! Don't worry about it. Compare weight taken at about the same time of day on the same set of scales - digital or otherwise. Without going into physics, our weight is dependent on pull of gravity where we are, and so it fluctuates depending on our location. Mass is the one that stays the same. I'm a FULL THREE KGS lighter whenenever I weigh myself at mum's. Thought I lost weight when I stayed with her last time. But went back home and got slapped on the head with the ugly truth.

Tubbymummy, night weight varies from day weight ma. Generally there's a 2kg range between which weight fluctuates. Morning weight typically being the lightest and evening weight being heavier cos we're full and hydrated. I would just attribute the "1.1kg overnight weight gain" to this natural fluctuation within the 2kg range.

LFB, I've been getting frequent left-sided migraines, sometimes accompanied by dizziness. I find that resting in a dark, quiet room with a slight weight draped over my forehead and/or eyes helps. Sometimes I throw bolster over my head, other times I fling an arm over it. I know it makes you feel absolutely wretched. I've read that adequate hydration can help with pregger headaches so let's resolve to hydrate ourselves better this OX year if we aren't already doing so!

LBF... eh? No, LFB (Aiya! TUBBYMUMMY, YOU MAKE ME CONFUSED!!!! *Growl* haha..) Who cares that others think you're fat. Just smile a sickly sweet smile at them, cradle your tummy and say, "oh yeah, I guess you didn't know. But I'm having a baby." Give them a regal nod and sashay away, rubbing your bump with smug satisfaction. *chuckle*

My relatives have been trying to bump molest me. I'm trying to take it in a good light cos I find my tiny sister's HUGE bump irresistible myself. hehe.. Only incident was when a 20 y/o cousin asked if I was joking when she was told abt my expectancy. I put hands on my tummy, then said, "ermm.. nope. There REALLY are 2 of us sisters preggers at the same time." And she just kinda looked awed.

It's been annoying for my poor other sister. Ppl kept trying to feel her up before I arrived, thinking she's the other pregnant 1. hahaha!!!!

Ling, *waves frantically* YOO-HOOO.... I'm hEEEERRRREEE!!!

Mentally, I really feel up for bedroom fun, but physically it's like the apparatus is a bit wonky or worse, completely out of order!!! ~>_<~

caramelle, at the risk of bursting your balloon, stretchmark cream trick doesn't always work out. My hubby will toil over it and rub me all over, then kiss me goodnight. Sometimes he nuzzles my neck and his whiskers makes my hair stand up and puts a big goofy grin on my face.. Just as I'm putting my arms around him, HE GOES OFF to wash his hands and then plonks off to sleep. =(

Whoa, I just realised my hubby is super good at anti-climax stuff (pun intended).

Tubbymummy, yah i so know what you mean. im heavy too and not comfy to buy clothes online unless they are super stretchy and cheap! i bought 2 dresses from OIO Maternity for CNY party (which was quite ex) then regret because after that i went to isetan and found nicer dresses which i can use also. i like those long dress type which can hug the bump. i think there was a yummy mummy in our thread take picture in one...who was it now? and Mothers En Vogue -- quite expensive right my dear? better buy early so get more use out of it.

Cassey, yah better get off my back. few nights i sleep on my back..wah the next day almost cannot get up. you mentioned in another post that the pre-natal massage can help is it?

caramelle, the yummy mummy was stickymouse! The fortunate slim one with the BIG active bub in her womb!
I don't know if postnatal massage will make a big diff. but sis tried my masseur and said better than no massage. She's trying out another masseur in the coming weeks and then letting me know which is better.

Cassey, i know! think you mentioned before that you and hubby like have a routine abt the cream. my hubby also washes his hands after the massage but i will grab him with hands and legs like octopus tentacles then playfully hug until he gets the message.

eh here's another one. tell him this whole pregnancy thing is making you feel warm, then add if it's okay if you sleep in the buff? see if got reaction - cfm he cannot resist you one!

btw cassey and other cat owner mummies, on a totally separate note, my kitten is in heat season again! after just 4 weeks from prev one. now i think must send to vet..she's been wailing past 3 nights. if you know of a good vet, can PM me? many thanks in advance!

Haha... Wasn't it you?! You can take it up now and organise!
I think we kinda got detracted cos of the East'ies being left out part. Then CNY sneaked up on us and here we are now.

You know, caramelle, I was seriously contemplating opening my place (Pioneer) over CNY long weekend as a gathering venue for MTB's on this thread to pop by to catch up with whoever else at whatever time is convenient for them. But I know my hubby wouldn't have appreciated all us women yakking away. And anyway, like I mentioned, it's been crazy busy for us. Coming weekend also burnt...

Whoa, caramelle, how to koala-bear hug him when my belly in the way?! Also.. What if I clumsily collapse from leg cramp, then how to have fun? Haha, actually I've done that before.. Then wriggle wriggle the bum and wraggle eyebrows at him...

OOOPS!... baby kicking in protest again.
*Ling, I'm starting to be convinced my boy doesn't like mummy engaging in R-rated talk neh.*

Dovey, my reply to u got cut out.. if u got diarrhoea, try not to take any medicine until u consult it with ur gynae.. if u go GP, make sure u check with ur gynae before taking the medicine given to u.. po chai pills, according my mum n grandma it's ok, but if u want to be more safe, try to drink a lot of (warm) water to prevent dehydration.. and eat safe, plain food like porridge.. if diarrhoea got worse, can try charcoal, my gynae gave me that..

Cassey, your poor UNpregnant sister! Haha! I haven't really had to suffer the molestation yet, because I don't really celebrate CNY, so didn't have to deal with multitudes of relatives. The only people who touch my belly are some friends, and a couple of their husbands, and I don't mind. At least it's looking more like a pregnant belly these days, instead of folds of fat! Oh, and that 1.1kg overnight weight gain, I don't think it's a daily fluctuation thing, cos I mainly take my weight right before bedtime, and the increment was from one night to the next night. And since then, it's stayed at that increased weight!! I haven't been pigging out, didn't even have bak kwa this year. Sigh...

Thanks Dovey, I'll check out Dorothy Perkins at GWC when I'm there.

jam75, I was also specifically told by my doc at my first visit (during 1st tri) not to have sex, cos I was experiencing cramps. But once the cramps stopped, and after a few more scans confirming baby is healthy and all, I just went ahead and did it. It was coming to 2nd tri by then, so I figured it would be ok.

I'm trying to finalise a list of all the baby stuff I need to buy, and the stroller is causing me the most headache. The one that I like the most, the bumper bar in front cannot be removed easily, and when it comes off, the sun canopy comes off together with it. That's stupid. But my 2nd favourite one, I have to get a whole package that includes the bassinet, and the cost is $888. I don't want to spend that much, cos I think the bassinet is not going to be of use to me, but they don't allow me the option of buying without the bassinet. Now dunno how...

Tubbymummy, oh dear. Maybe you need new scales. One that's a friend more than a foe. Heehee.. I haven't had any men molest my bump, except hubby. And he can molest it as often as he wants!

I didn't feel like bak kwa or pineapple tarts much this year. But just eat a bit anyway, to get me in the mood. Didn't work. Didn't even feel like my Julie's chocolate love letters! Stare at my CNY goodies trolley and sometimes feel =( when don't feel much like eating anything. On the bright side, though, I'm glad my boy's ruined my appetite to help mummy stay on target for weight gain.

caramelle, you're with KK for antenatal classes, yeah?
Ling, Tubbymummy, you intending to register? If yes, where?

cassey, u so gd huh...no bak kwa or pineapple tarts....aiyo i hv been pigging the bak kwa, love letter, almond cookies all sort of cny cookies leh...feel so guilty wo...so v diff f mi to ctrl the extra kg due to pigging during cny!

jam75, sometimes I'm glad! But I do miss simple pleasure of a good meal. Enjoy your good appetite! Might not last into the 3rd tri!

Aiyo, thanks to caramelle and tubbymummy, I keep watching graphic obscene youtube birth and labour videos on my off days. I recently converted to part-time employment, that's why I'm so free to hang around and post and post and post msgs.

caramelle, ya, Mothers En Vogue quite ex too, that's why haven't buy yet haha. But I think I should, so I get more bang for my buck. I like those maxi dresses too, like the one stickymouse (was it stickymouse?) was wearing, but I'm SHORT (156cm only), so I look painfully lost in them. Sigh... There's a shop at Holland V that sells many nice long dresses, usually halter neck with roomy bias cut body (so can fit in the bump), but I didn't even dare to try, cos I know i'll just look stupid in them. So sad. Maybe you can check out that shop if you look good in these dresses (don't remember shop name, but same row as Sasa). Not cheap though, think $80-150 range? But you can wear them whether you're pregnant or not, so may be worth the splurge.

Oh and about the vet, my cats got fixed at 6mths old. One did it at a vet in Paya Lebar, which was very cheap, but it's not for those who are particular about the outlook and environment of the clinic, cos it's located in industrial area, looks run down and smells a bit of cat pee (yuck), but it was run by a bunch of very nice women who truly seem to love cats, so I went ahead. My other cat had complications, so I took him to Mt Pleasant hospital. Pretty good.

cassey, tot most of my fren say 3rd tri appetite will increase lot more leh??

ladies, do u frequent go toilet even if u dun drink alot?? aiyo now i like a while hv to pee liow...especialli nite time lo...if i wake up to pee will hv hard time to zzz back!

Cassey, hehe.. there you are!
hmm.. u're very descriptive there hey.. so.. can only active until month 7 then.. as I said then.. make the best use of this times.. hahahaa...
okay.. okay.. ur warrior very alert with the discussion topics ah..? hey.. it'll be great if you're opening up ur place @Pioneer, I can just walk there I guess.. but hmm.. bunch of pregnant ladies in his house, yup.. not his fave sight I guess.. hehee

Caramelle, same here.. that nite, my mouth oso very itchy to retort, if u think it's ONLY bb girl, then no need to see her so much la.. but I knew if I said that, it's gonna be war, and it's new year time, so I just kept quiet lor.. relatives are mostly inconsiderate, they only know how to talk &amp; critisize others, very irritating hor.. you're so cute with the stretch cream n octopus style, so far I'm quite happy mummy, hb always acquiesce with my requests
hmm.. abt the "rocky boat", talked abt it with Cassey, still haven't found another alternative solutions to that yet... oh, abt the back pain, I'm going to search for pregnancy pillow (e.g. Denton) at Kiddy Palace, cheaper options than the one at KKH.. can't stand up by myself after sitting on the floor

jam75, we've been with dr Adrian for a while now, you know him la.. very speedy n express one for each visit.. I make sure I ask all I wanted to ask before I walked out the door.. bb weigh, bb length, my weigh, glukose level, and every other thing I note down before going there.. have to ask one.. aiyo.. dun b paiseh lor.. actually during the 1st trims one I got my hb to ask
mm.. if have bleeding usually they'll advise to abstain for at least 1st trims, but usually aftr that if stabilized, he wud give green light..

Ling> i not sure it's the hakka 'law' or not, cos my idiotic mum is teochew. and i've asked my frens, all say their mums stil give hongbao leh. damn it!! so now i've come up wif MY LAW, next yr, me and hubby nt gg back for reunion dinner, cos MY LAW is daughter married liao mah, no need go back my side for dinner anymore. let's see how my mother will react, make her eat up her own words!!!

anyway, 2 days ago, i think i felt my bb punching or elbowing me on my right side of tummy while i was in the car and scolding my hubby! cos my hubby purposely cut queue to the turning right lane while the car is at the going straight lane, then the car behind us honk us. den i scold my hubby say y cant he jus be guai and queue at the back like the rest, instead of cut queue. den i felt like punching or elbowing on my right tummy! dat was the first time i felt something like a punch. so i guess its the bb. and my hubby proudly says 'see, even baby on my side, who ask u to scold his papa'. haha

but there was the first and last time i felt it le. i dun feel anything like dat since den.

Cassey, addictive right? hahaha... I watched 2 clips on C-sec, and really lah, it's making me think many times over whether I wanna go ahead with my elective c-sec or not. I haven't watched more than 2 videos so far, cos it's pretty traumatising. But I'm gonna watch more later hehe. The epidural ones look fine, I'm not afraid of needles at all. Gonna check out natural birth videos too.

Still haven't decided, but I'm thinking of not registering for any antenatal classes. Looked through some of the topics covered, and spoke to gynae about it too. The nutrition during and after pregnant topic, I think it's quite a fair bit of common sense, and we can find lots of info online these days anyway. The taking care of baby topic, I've actually had quite a bit of hands on experience, as I used to help my mum babysit, and know how to bathe baby, change them, feed them etc, so I think I just need a refresher lesson from my mum. The labour topic, if I'm going for c-sec, it'll be irrelevant to me. The only topic I'm most interested in is breastfeeding. So I asked my doc, and he agrees with me on all counts, and even told me that if all I'm keen in is the breastfeeding part, then I shouldn't bother with antenatal classes, cos I can just get advice from the lactation consultant after birth, it will make most sense to have advice when I'm actually trying to breastfeed. So right now, I'm more inclined towards not taking up classes.

jam75, yes!!! This full bladder syndrome started right from first month for me and didn't quite go away even in 2nd tri.
Re: Appetite.
The books I read said typically 4 and 5 month are the feel good and binge months. As baby gets bigger, intestines &amp; stomach get squished right to the top of ribcage, so capacity for food goes down. Eat just a little and get heartburn, bloatedness and indigestion. My sis is in her 7th month. She used to stuff herself silly but now slowing down liao.

Yup, tubbymummy, I also recommended Mt Pleasant to caramelle. All my pets have always gone to Mt Pleasant.

Cassey, no can't be me cos im a northie! i was thinking of offering my place too (!) also but i got cats lah..then some mummies might be scared so better spare them the fright. ok will try and take lead of this...in few days time.

and yes, im with KK antenatal class that starts 19 feb 6.30-8.30pm. are you joining too?

Tubbymummy, stroller at $888 - are you talking abt bugaboo? i found a great steal second hand cameleon for 800 + 150 for the maxi-cosi car seat. went to view yest and though it's a pinch for me, im thinking to buy now and forget abt the pain and be merry for remaining days staring at it.

and thanks for advice on the dress shop. i think i know which dress you're referring to..i saw some at isetan and was thinking of bagging a few this weekend. but like you said at $90 per piece, better buy early and wear for a long long time.

abt the vet, i think i know which one. i got one at jalan kayu but the young vet also kayu herself. i went there to check cat vomitting, she gave me medicine for cat fleas and ear mites lah..wah every time i go there i end up like paying for a gynae visit..and imagine i got 2 cats. haiya..was reading abt namly clinic and toa payoh vets but havent had any personal review. nvm..will continue my search. thanks dear!

Whoa... ahnetsan, then you must scold daddy more. Heck, scold baby too. Maybe it's an "eat-hard-don't-eat-soft" baby. Ha!

Ai, tubbymummy, I must have watched at least 10 super explicit and toe-curling birth videos. Hydro-birth, home birth, natural birth... you name it. I've probably watched it. Haven't watched C-secs. I'm strangely fascinated and encouraged that I don't need an episiotomy.

Was considering hydro birth, but gynae advised against it. He said he'd do it if we just wanted to be different. But we thought it'd help with the pain, he said nope. It doesn't do anything for the pain and is very unhygienic. So.. erm... no need to think about that anymore.

Re: antenatal classes
I'm interested in labour and birthing, baby massage and getting to know a new circle of friends who are in the same phase of life as me. I mean, how many of my young and beautiful friends want to discuss the colour of POO?

"IMPROMPTU" GATHERING POLL:
If I open my place at Pioneer on Friday, say 2-6pm, anyone not working and free to pop by?

caramelle, guess you haven't seen my pm. Mt Pleasant is the way to go. My pets have all received wonderful care from them - even when I used to have rabbits.

Hospital at Whitley Road. Branches: Clementi, Serangoon, Katong, Sembawang.

Ling, you lucky girl. ask only and you will receive. i must deceive then can receive..hehe
and will check out this pregnancy pillow you mentioned. im so needing it!

but gathering maybe central location lah my dears..maybe we have dinner together. and surely we need at least 2-3 gatherings before everyone can meet properly cos schedules will not be so forgiving for everyone at same time.

ahnetsan, cannot be so fierce with papa. i often get angry with hubby and i realise i will have sharp pains. so now i take it easy because i think bb can sense when we shocked or angry so they will react. smile more okay

special thanks to Tubbymummy and Cassey for advice on my other 2 babies..will try to ask Mt Pleasant.

btw, i jus realised recently dat my feet seems to be swollen. i remb on the first day of cny, i suddenly realised my toes are shorter! and when i wear my covered toes shoes, i realise my feet seems to be bulging out! screamed and my hubby say yeah, seems to be swollen! OMG!!! but, i dun feel numbness or anything like dat to my feet leh!! am i swelling up too fast, since im only like 19 or 20 wks? can someone help? and my fingers also seem to haf put on weight, i cant really wear my wedding band anymore, got to squeeze it in. gosh, and im only married last yr!!! i feel very sad

caramelle, the $888 stroller I saw was at Spring Maternity, think the brand is Gelite. I tried to google it, but couldn't find much info, and also not the model I saw at Spring (maybe it's new). I like it cos it fulfills all my requirements of adjustable handle, sturdy, collapsing mechanism is easy to use, not too heavy (meaning I can lift it by myself onto car), baby can face forwards or backwards, can fix car seat on the frame, the brakes are easily activated, and most importantly, I must like the look of it. I tried out one stroller in Robinsons, and while everything was pretty good, I almost broke my toenail trying to kick the brakes back up. So this $888 one met all my requirements, plus it comes with a bassinet that is attachable onto the frame. I won't use the bassinet. But they won't let me buy it for cheaper without the bassinet. Then $888 plus another $300+ for maxi cosi, that will come up to be quite a lot...

The other one is a Micralite I saw at Mothercare. It also comes with bassinet, but I can have option to buy it without. While I can't adjust the seat so that baby faces me, I can fix on the maxi cosi when baby is small, and that would face me, so I'm ok with that. But the stupid bar in front can't be removed without taking off the sun canopy too. I thought if the bar can be removed on it's own, will be easier to put kid in, then fix bar back on.

I like Bugaboos too, and that Chameleon deal you got is a steal! But I think the seat needs to be removed before you collapse the frame. If you don't find that a hassle, then I think you should definitely go for it! For Chameleon retailing outside, it's too costly, so sadly, I'm not considering it.

My cat just came to say hi and smeared my legs. I'm so glad I have cats

Cassey, clever girl ah. Plan a gathering when hubby away at work is it? hehehe..*evil wink*

Im working lah..and cannot join. Such a pity. Next time when you open your house again maybe?

TubbyMummy, I couldn't agree more, initially I fret over diapers, bottles and the small stuff.. then past two weeks, just realized I totally have no clue what stroller to buy.. mind to share what brand are you looking at..? $888 so expensive..? I shortlisted a few of them actually, Combi, PegPerego, Lucky Baby, MacLaren and Capella, but I dun like MacLaren's design.. so left with the other four.. wanted to get one which is foldable, not heavy (so can use it when taking public transport too), and can be used from newborn to 2-3 yrs old.. btw.. omg.. how can u're not afraid of Needles..?

Cassey, I already registered the childbirth education class @TMC, starting in March @AMK Hub, with Mrs. Wong BB.. better hurry if you're interested, her class is easily filled up.. omg.. how can u dun eat all those sinful goodies..? I ate at least half a kilos of bak kwa myself over the weekend..
oy Cassey, y watch those creepy videos.. I dowan to see.. just the thot of it and how u girls share here already made me shivers..
eh..? hydrobirth not hygiene, I wanted to book the tub initially..

Gathering: Cassey, I'm working until at least 6 leh.. *sob*.. took me one n a half hour frm work to go home (reach JW area)..

ahnetsan, mwahahaha.. u tell her ur Law next yr, prob she'll chase u around with her food
the whole family from my mum side dun give angbao when children are married tho.. but children give to parents.. same thing with my MIL, she oso dun give angbao to us or my SIL.. my bro actually wan to give to my bb, but then my mum n MIL said cannot as bb not yet born..
ur bb very alert hor.. I read that by now bb can hear us talking, be it talking to bb or within ourselves.. maybe bb was trying to stretch the hands up n say,"I support mummy! Yeah!"

ahnetsan, fluid retention...! No need to scream! Not cockroach. =) Just wear your wedding band on a chain around your neck first? I haven't had any fluid retention thus far but heard that it sets in in 5-6 months sometimes and often in final months. So I'm hoping I don't get it soon or AT ALL!

caramelle, will need central gathering for all of us to meet up. A restaurant/eating place just isn't as relaxed or own time own target as a home or an open place (like beach/park). Plus must contend with either ERP or fake snoozers on the train. =( The more the ppl, the harder to organise. So I thought perhaps the various "regions" can stage our own smaller meet-ups first as it's easier to arrange that way.. Oh well.. see how's the response, I guess!

Tubbymummy,
my last post for today bcos going to window-shop for baby stuff at vivo! actually if you want to consider bugaboo bee which is abt 800 plus also i think then might meet all your requirements too. yah with the cameleon must take out the seat before i can store the whole thing..is still a sore point so am going to mothercare harbourfront to see how i can go about this.

your point abt maxi-cosi is very true..now then i realise quite a hassle to put bb in with the silly bar in the middle. okay will also see this later and see if got another solution. i heard mothercare has its in-house brand of car seats which is like maxi-cosi and much cheaper. will update tmoro.

tell you cat i said hi, and i will kiss my kittens for you!

bye friends, see you all tomorrow!

ahnetsan, my parents &amp; my in-laws both give us ang paos every year. only the other relatives stop giving. and we also give them ang paos every year. so actually it just cancel out. they don't wanna earn our $, we also don't wanna them to spend too much. nobody offered to give the little one in my tummy leh. ha, not the family culture i believe. not born yet, so nobody give.

I'm registered with Mt A, starting in March, where I'm likely to perhaps catch up with creamer for the first session on a weekday evening.

creamer,
my sis said her 1st session (January) was a big group - abt 40-50 COUPLES. I'm thinking both of us are "giants" so maybe it'll be easier to spot each other. But we might very well miss each other altogether!

caramelle,
yeah, my weekends are always rather packed and I won't work Mondays and Fridays. I don't want hubby to feel overwhelmed by ladies invading his territory so must "go behind his back". I hope he's not spying on me here... You are not, are you, hubby?!

Ling,
maybe we can plan our own mini-"coffee" session with fellow JW'ies first...

ok ok..now my very last post for today.

Cassey and all, see if i can put together a potluck dinner at beach/park. how come nobody stay central one?? maybe then we can go to condo clubhouse and go swimming after that lah! or maybe i see if i can pull strings to book private room at royal plaza on scotts for buffet dinner..hmm..yummm...

Ling, one last note abt strollers. i don't know much, so sharing with you what little i know. if too light might be dangerous cos if you hang things on it, might tumble backwards. i find asian vs european strollers is 1 main difference. european strollers are heavy and bulky but high on safety (eg peg perego, quinny buzz/speedi, other mothercare models) whereas asian stroller is light and colorful, easy to open and close so compromise a bit on safety i guess (eg combi, aprica).

so the modern mum's solution who takes MRT on her own and with hubby who's driving: get one each if you can. heavy duty one for the weekend mall trawling and light one for when you're on your own with bb.

(don't tell your hubby i say one ah..later kena scolding for putting ideas in mummies' heads.

cassey> yeah i should scold both hubby and baby more!

wow, must salute u watching those videos. til nw, i stil dun haf the courage to search for those videos, im scared.
im skipping the impromptu gathering at ur plc. pioneer a bit far for me, im at sembawang.

caramelle> haha, i wont be too fierce wif my hubby, jus scold him when he's too much or naughty or when i jus feel like scoldin him. haha

tummymummy> i really salute u, hw can u not be afraid of needles?! omg... hw i wish im nt afraid of needles.

Ling> haha, but my PIL give me hongbao one... dats y i very angry wif my mother. i dun care even she chase me wif food next yr, i dun care man!!

wow, me and hubby haven started looking for strollers, too many brands and different functions, we really are gong abt it.

cassey> omg, fluid retention?? so fast?? am i drinking too much water? or these few days keep drinking sweet things and eat those sinful goodies??

i also been waking up in the middle of the night to pee... and after dat i cant go back to sleep, need a long while before i can go back to sleep. sianz.

ahnetsan, I think your baby's punch is also a supportive one! haha... Tell daddy to be nice, and just "guai guai" queue up to turn like other people, so that mummy won't have any reason to get stressed up and nag him.

But driving while pregnant is really unhealthy I think. I get hot tempered quite easily now, so much so that once I flashed my middle finger up at someone who was bring a jerk on the road. I know, I'm rude, but I couldn't help it, I was so pissed off at that guy. Another time someone almost hit me from the side (on MY side), and my heart almost stopped, then pounded frantically for the rest of my drive. I reckon that's not very good for baby...

BTW, I think you have fluid retention too. Think the water retention is hormonal, and may not be caused by drinking too much water, so keep drinking your water as long as you feel thirsty. I've been drinking lots too, can't help it, feel so hot and thirsty all the time.

asked hubby AGAIN abt bedroom fun and he merely said, no interest ever since he knows I am pregnant. He got no sex drive at all. He even told me I should feel lucky as he is kiasi and kiam siap! So no need to worry abt straying off. LOL!

Wah, I din know strollers are that ex. Actually, I am not getting. SIL giving me her cot, sis giving me stroller and steriliser. So I can save $. Will stop work for a while to care for bb, so have to be prudent with my spending.

ahnetsan, fluid retention more to do with physical and hormonal changes pregnancy than high water intake. So try cutting down sodium... (salt, MSG, soya sauce...) as sodium exacerbates water retention and hydrate yourself throughout the day, not just before you sleep (like I do!)

LFB, whoa, your hubby is so super bo chup abt your needs. Can he at least massage or cuddle you? If he's really not comfortable, start off with hand-holding and kissing? Kisses, hugs and caresses never go unappreciated in my book! If my hubby said those things, I'd feel like my pregger body turns him off and feel so depressed. *Angry* How do you feel?

Whoa, why the fuss abt strollers huh? Hubby and I are like... get one that is multi-functional and suits all of our purposes, middle priced, reliable brand... looks comfy, nice colour, have "chemistry" with us. If bb likes it, great! If not, we know what to look out for with our next buy.

I've heard of parents spending a bomb on a plush branded stroller, only to have bb not like it for whatever unknown reason. So in the end have to get another one. I check out the WTS threads sometimes too, just to see what's on sale.

wah... ive not been taking alot of salty foods leh, hmmm, think mayb it's my MIL's cooking. being cantonese, she tends to put more "taste" in her cooking... but now i dun really like her food le, so i dun eat much at dinner.

and even lunch, i will usually eat mian xian or noodles from the coffeeshop downstairs my house. i tot it's already not salty le.

is there any way to stop or reduce water retention?

tummymummy> be careful when u drive on the road. now i refuse to drive unless bo bian, cos i find the seat belt uncomfortable for me now.

OMG!!! i jus realised i've been typing tubbymummy as tummymummy!! SORRY SORRY SORRY!! gosh, i din realise it until now!!! sorry again tubbymummy, hope you wont be angry!

Cassey, we're looking for chemistry with stroller too
And it turns out, both me and hubby have got the same taste, so that makes things a little easier. The tough part is, we both like 3-wheeler designs more, like Quinny and Phil&amp;Teds. If 4-wheelers, then we like those like Bugaboo or similar. But all these brands that I mentioned so far, they all cost upwards of $800. While we like style, we also feel it's pointless parting with so much money. So it's a struggle now. Quinny has a couple of models that are cheaper, but they're so heavy, so I'm not considering them too.

I know if I end up buying something practical but that hubby doesn't like looks-wise, he'll end up not wanting to use it. And then I'd have to push it around myself all the time. NO WAY.

I've been looking through WTS threads, but so far nothing has caught my eye. Will keep looking...

Wahahahaha! It's ok ahnetsan, I didn't even notice! I've been calling people wrong names too hehe. You can continue typing tummymummy if it's easier to type, I don't mind

I got no choice, I'm the family driver. Sigh. I put the diagonal seat belt between breasts and over belly, horizontal one under belly. Not very comfy, as the horizontal one tends to slide up, but no choice.