(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Tubbymummy, even the nurse told me to have full bladder for my oscar scan, i oso managed to finish the scan before empting my bladder hee...

tubbymummy, i din need a full bladder for my detailed scan. think now our uterus pop out from the pelvic bone already, so dun need the bladder to push our uterus up in order to get a clear scan.

so happy, got my spree items today. jus in time for cny. i'm already in the festive mood. dun feel like working already. ha!

i very KS with the stretch mark oil/cream. i use on whole of tummy, breasts and sides of breasts, hips and buttocks and my upper arms. i apply on all those areas which may expand. pray hard stretch marks wun appear.

TubbyMummy,your gynae didn't scan your BB's buttom mah?that's part shldn't be block by umbilical cord.. but anything way this saturday you can confirm liao... I haven't start stretch marks,bc gynae told me still early when i last visit.. but next week i will buy one as recently increase very fast liao and i plan to buy organic strech mark cream..

Sweethalo,shld be very very pain ... now can't think abt it...don't know later can bear with it or not... but my mum encouring me to normal delivery.. Re:Gynae change:you changed hospital also right?for me,it's because my gynae will transfer to another hospital which is inconvenient to me so i might be stick to KKH TPS but change gynae.. the person i can call is KKH Private suite appointment center as i don't have my current gynae's number..

bbPotato,this one you will still normal delivery mah? Re: Epidural,we will not noe how long is our delivery time right... so don't know whether shld opt it or not..

Cassey,last time a lots of ppl normal delivery without painkiller/epidural,don't know how they can bear with it.. One of my friend,go hospital by herself and her mum said will go there soon,BB already out when my friend's mum arr there,only take about 1 hr bah.. and she nv use painkiller/epidural...

Poor you, bbjun. First the fall, now the tyrant MIL. Wedding prep must have been a bit of a nightmare. Now time for bb, almost like a deja vu situation. If she never changes, how will she ever bridge the vast gap with her kids and children-IL? It's quite tragic.

Tubbymummy, no need to drink lots of water before detailed F.A. scan.
Re: Stretchmarks
All the mags and books I've read (except the adverts la!) say that stretchmarks are dependent on genes and rate of weight gain.
Genes: some of us are born with more elastic skin than others (i.e. did you mum get stretchmarks during preg?). Rate of weight gain: the more rapid, the more marks. They agree that creams do not make much of a difference, but they do say if it makes mummy feel better either psychologically or physiologically, then it's all good. =)

I've been using cream from early weeks, just cos I came across a Body Shop one that I thought smelt really nice and I like massaging the cream into my then non-existent bump to remind myself of the little life in there. Then I received stretchmark cream for Christmas so now I use that lor. It also serves as a reason for hubby to sayang my belly and bond with the little guy.

Jess Ma, your poor brave friend! I agree with you though. As I've said before, I do believe we were created to deal with this and I think it's just that the younger generation is not as open to "hardship" ba. Like most mums say: xian4 zai4 de nian2 qing1 ren2, chi1 bu4 qi2 ku3. My sister is quite gung ho. Says she's going for the real deal if she doesn't need C-sec. I'm willing to reconsider my position on I WANT EPIDURAL, but at the moment, am still keen on taking the easy way out. Hehe..

Let me throw out a discussion question and see if and how ppl respond.
How have things been in the bedroom department?

Mika Rei, about confinement lady/agency. My sis has engaged one since 4th month of her pregnancy.
I'll ask about it for you over the CNY weekend n check back in with you again once I get news k?

thanx cassey, i'm clueless abt CL agency. heard that many had started engaging a CL as early as in their 1st tri. so i better buck up. wait for ur update soon!

cassey> bedroom dept been quiet for me. my hubby is scared dat it may hurt the baby... already told him dat it's safe as long as it's not too rough... but he stil dunwan, prefer to play it safe.

ahnetsan, thanks for responding. I know of some couples who have to abstain throughout pregnancy due to complications. Plus recovery from delivery and exhaustion of babysitting, wouldn't that be A WHOLE YEAR of non-activity?!

We waited ages for dr to give green light cos both both my sisters had problematic pregnancies - 1 had 2 miscarriages in 5 months, other had 3 episodes of hospitalization due to bleeding in the first 4 months but praise God her bb has been safe so far.

After reading so many articles and books talking about awakened sex drive in 2nd tri and heightened sensations meaning having a better time and even more O's than ever... I find no agreement with them at all. =(

We're all going into our 3rd trimester soon when intercourse could be likely to trigger the start of labour..
so it's pretty much now or go through a 6-month drought... N I'm thinking poor hubbies...

haha Cassey, bedroom has only heard snoring so far since I got preggie... it seems he is afraid to hurt the little one or frighten the fella... says he doesn't need any... *shrug shoulders*

good morning mummies,
think mine maybe not stretchmark, when i check again last night, then lines are not there anymore..
I'm going to be diligent in applying my cream

bedroom biz, my hubby is also worried abt hurting the baby and I feel so deprived nowadays.. wonder how my hubby can tahan..

Hi ladies, good morning. Long time nv come in as rushing project.

bbjun, gret to hear that u are fine.

Ling, today im gg for my detailed scan. hope the orange juice does make her dancing inside. NEEDLE!!! FAINTED!!!

wow.. cny ard the corner. so busy doing those preparation too.

Cassey, my bedroom dept is also very quiet, can said almost close dept liao.. haha.. my hubby is too too afraid that will hurt bb even though gynae told him it is ok. he say whenever he do, he cannot enjoy as he also rem bb is inside the tummy. thus im almost close dept.

Hmm... seems a lot of very cautious dads-TB. Heehee.. Maybe it's more poor wifies than poor hubbies!

We know bb will be fine cos at scans can see little guy in his pool.
So if mummy rocks, bb gets spa massage! Jacuzzi neh, good for bb!

HAPPY CNY, ya all! Enjoy your pineapple tarts & bak kwa! For this mummy, oOOooo Abalone, HERE I COME!

sweethalo, I quote your post: " ...says he doesn't need any..."
HEY, men are not the only ones with needs, eh! Mummy also has needs ok!
(Maybe tell him that when you give him the blouse *chuckle*)

I've read of men who find their pregnant wives really sexy - not just cos of their bigger assets and new curves, but also because they know that within HER bump lies a child HE fathered. I think that is SO sweet... *sighs*

As we MTBs get more "bumpy", I feel that continued / renewed intimacy is a very real way for our men to encourage us as they show appreciation for and attraction to our changing figure. More real than getting us pressies & more affectionate than fulfilling food cravings (if any) =)

hi cassey, 100% behind you! my hb also like other DTBs we discussed..scared of hurting the bb. but if not now, when?? we're getting bigger lei..i think want to tell him him if he doesnt realize my needs, i will "play alone" which is worst and more sick for my kid! haha..i try that tonight and tell you how it goes next week

and your point abt men finding pregnant wives sexy..so sweet! yest i was out with him to buy maternity clothes..he say WAH why everything cannot fit, like whale like that. i so angry, told him im a whale because of him!

*sigh* not easy to be a happy mum today..but so looking fwd to the long weekend! and to all my chinese friends here: have a happy new year ahead. may it bring you more wealth, health and happiness!

and abt the epi thing right..the other day i went to youtube and search for epidural. there was a vid which im not going to post here..but let's just say lucky we won't be able to see the needle going in..otherwise don't think anybody will want..so scary! so pls pls don't go and research on "epidural video".

after watching just few seconds, im so spooked that i think i rather go natural!

and the point abt backache..im not sure it's 100% unfounded. after all, it's inserting anaesthesia through a needle into the spinal area so maybe there will be side effects in future. i've always been wary abt inserting foreign objects into the body..scared will cause problems. but some mums say, it's better to numb the contractions so you won't be so tired to push when the time comes --> this is more important!

so i guess depends on individual's pain threshold and when the time comes, have faith in God and make the right decision - epi or not - we are already blessed to get a gift!

caramelle, scandalous!
You naughty girl! I hope your hubby wakes up to your needs. Let me know! But erm... not too much info huh? Unless you pm me. HahaHA!

Whoa! You have good reason to be angry with your tactless hubby! He owes you 20 foot massages, redeemable at ANY time of the day or night!! If my hubby mentioned any word which even so much as hints at blubber, I'd probably pinch his grape until he squirms.

Hey, putting down the source (youtube) and the keyword to search for, you're dangling a carrot in front of my face! I'm going to hunt it down and watch it for sure la! Humph. I've watched epidural being administered in a VCD recording from my gynae (of course on a program which featured himself la). Hey, maybe if you watch a labour video, you'll be so spooked you don't want to give birth? Then how? C-sec!?

Quote from Your Pregnancy Week by Week: What to Expect from Conception to Birth, Prof. Lesley Reagan - a DK book:
Q- Can the epidural catheter damage my spine?
A- It is extremely rare for the catheter to move inside your spine. If this did happen your carers would notice it quickly, since the area of numbness would move to a higher or lower level, which they will sort out immediately. It is virtually impossible for an epidural to damage your spinal cord or paralyze you.

cassey, yah i was angry with him. 2 nights ago i sent him to sleep on the couch because he wanted to watch tv instead of keeping me company while i iron his clothes. then after that i felt guilty and cannot sleep! in the end, i sent the cats to coax him back into the room. but next day i told him i felt neglected. i think hubby should make wife feel special when she's pregnant..she's doing a lot for the family, even risking her life giving birth to his lifeline and not to mention subject herself to weight gain, morning sickness, jabs etc. maybe im expecting too much

some months back, i read this article in mind your body where the hubby bought LV bag for the wife as a "reward" for what she's going through. im not asking for LV lah (although it would be nice!) but a kind gesture would be much appreciated...

caramelle, I must say, your ragamuffins are very smart indeed! Give them ear scratches on my behalf! Poor you.. is it the preggie hormones acting up? Make hubby iron his own clothes!! Sometimes guys need the soft approach (*coo..* darling, baby and I want you to stay with me, pls pls pretty pls?), rather than the throw-him-out-on-the-couch approach. Do you think that will work on your man?

My man and I talk a lot. Or rather, I TALK a lot (as you can tell by now *wink*).
He's a wonderful listener - in fact, he's a godly man, doting hubby & supportive ally.

He hasn't bought me anything leh!! (Except very un-romantic stretchmark cream for Christmas... does that count?)
But I appreciate that he's been there for every scan and apptmt... that he rubs massage cream onto my belly... that he rubs my feet if he's home early and I've had a long day... that he holds my tummy when we go to bed at night... And of course, there was that ONE morning weeks ago when it was pouring and he rushed back from work just to drive me to work so I wouldn't get drenched.

He can be aloof cos he works 16-20hr days and sometimes STILL brings work home after that. But when he comes to tuck me in - bleary-eyed from exhaustion and he buries his head in my neck, kissing me and sighing "I love you SO much" - it never fails to melt my heart.

Ok, caramelle, I'm gushing here.. *Baby's moving in protest!* I'd better stop

ahnetsan, hmm.. your MIL sounds a little negligent. maybe you can talk to her abt it? or try sounding out your mom to see whether she wanna help take care. btw you asked ur MIL already? my hb just asked recently. i'm also staying with MIL but i haven't seen her taking care of babies though.

bedroom dept also quiet for me too...

think i saw somewhere that if we go for epidural then cannot give birth on the back. and the spinal problem is when the needle is inserted beyond the spinal fluids and into the nerves or muscles. and the needle/tube will be there throughout the delivery process. so i'm extremely worried and scared. i'm also scared of the birthing pains. monthly period already cannot takan.

toffeecat, can la! It's when the epidural is being taken that anaesthetist has to have access to your spine. But after that, you still deliver lying backwards with pillows propping up your back as per normal. I know cos of that VCD recording from my gynae. The woman featured in that episode said she didn't even scream thanks to the epidural.

bluedream, no dates mentioned.. Registration form only asks which MONTH you're registering for, so I guess new classes begin every month..?

Pamphlet says:
You can begin your first session from the 24th week of your pregnancy. Partners are strongly encouraged to attend.

First session is a talk on nutrition. That is only on a weekday evening 6.30 - 8.30pm.

Choices for sessions 2-6 include:
1. Weekday 6.30-8.30pm
2. Saturday 1.30-3.30pm
3. Saturday 4.00-6.00pm

If delivering at Mt. A, weekday $160.50, weekend $181.90
Not delivering at Mt. A, weekday $192.60, weekend $214.00

sweethalo, I'm registering for the Sat 1.30 classes starting Feb. Just as well.. if it does start in FIRST week of Feb, I'll be 24 weeks. Right on time!

cassey, i will send your love to muffy and coco lisa (the cats). think you're right..being in the army must have hardened him and i've been giving him a tough time these days cos let's just say the neglect has led to a vicious cycle btwn us.

your hubby sounds a bit like mine, at least the work-hard bit. he also does 14-hours workdays and i will complain because i have to eat dinner alone. but reading the posts here, can say im very lucky because some husbands are away for work for months while the wife is pregnant so relative to that, im very lucky.

sweethalo, ARGHHHHH!!!! Feb classes @ Mt. A already full!! =( Register quick for March!!
I've registered for March's - Fri evening talk, Sat 1.30 classes.

April classes will end by early-mid May. There's still time for those due in mid-end June.

My guy also sold his life to the army, that's why. I saw your previous post abt long hours in the army and was thinking, yup, mine's one of those slaves too. 16-20 hr days are ridiculous. Like the show ArmyWives (I've never watched it though), we army (or Navy or Air Force) wives are a specially called bunch. The Lord gave my man an independent wife cos it's the best helpmeet for him.

But I'm thinking if I work those hours, I want to go home to a relaxing environment, not more demands. So I try to make it pleasant for him as best as I can, although I still need to talk. Heehee... Thank God for pets!

ladies..fyi only if you are interested..i think KK antenatal classes still available for Feb. i changed from weekend (sat) to weekday because the weekend schedule has a 3-week break in between. mine is starting 19 feb for 9 weeks.

hope this helps!

Cassey, wah he also in the army?? If work long hours confirm officer right? At least mine is like that. Im also trying so hard to change myself because Im naturally very hard-headed and am always surrounded by family and friends. I find that when I got married and got my own place..I kinda lost that. So I got the kittens to keep me company..and like you said..thank God for them because they are always there. And soon Im going to have a baby that will keep me busy!

So now Im trying to look for the good in things, and leave the rest to God and complain to good friends like you all!

Is anyone lucky enough to get halfday today? Wah lau, I mentally prepare myself to sleep in the afternoon then I found out no half-day! Fed-up ah!

To all who are still working, keep your spirits high. They can take away our half-day but not our long weekend!!

caramelle, yes, officers' wives club, eh? I was really hard-headed and a super dominatrix before marriage, had lotsa family activities and girlfriend meetings throughout the week. Since marriage, I've been uprooted from my stable existance in the East and moved to the west where I had no friends, colleagues or relatives!

But in the leadup to our wedding, with our pre-marital counselling, I was really convicted and pledged to make an effort to change. I guess my man has had to learn to change too, and be a little more expressive with his affection. It's a mutual thing, but it has made a huge difference thru the years. I'm often upset with the organisation he works for, but try to remember the object of my frustration and keep it objective instead of venting it on him. If I'm frustrated, imagine what's it's like to be slave to this organisation! Our hubbies are the REAL victims.

I'm on my own a lot too but I make plans to meet up with friends as much as I can and when I'm home, I can just snuggle up with bed with a good book. Before I had my sweetpea Cassey, I was constantly lonely n wallowing in self pity. Now that she's here, she's great company and has so many silly goofy antics to keep me entertained so it's alright. =)

Haha!! Mentally prep for aftnn nap somemore.. My man is home and we're off to our gynae soon. =)
Hang in there, caramelle! The day will be over soon! I still have to work half day tmr! Boo hoo hoo...

hi all ladies & army wives, wishing everyone an advance Happy Chinese New Year!!!!!

I still hv a con call to go through before I can call it a day. so still not in the festive mood yet.

Cassey, enjoy your visit to the gynae! What a great way to wrap up the week and start your long weekend! Happy Chinese New Year!

Mika, you and I (and the rest of the poor working MTBs) must hang in there.

Gonna reward myself with 30 minutes of online shopping for maternity clothes now..

toffeecat> im pretty sure my MIL is going to take care of my baby. cos nw we staying wif my PIL until 2011 or 2012 (GOSH!!!) and since my MIL already babysitting, my hubby say she will take care of our baby, and the impt part is we dun haf to pay extra for nanny!! haiz...

how to tel my MIL to be less negligent and not indulge in her online games?? if she's my own mother, i will scold her. but, MIL abit difficult to say leh.... but i've complained to my hubby abt it le.

my hubby doesnt want my mother to take care of the baby. my mother is the over-careful kind, and she will get paranoid over everything...

haiz

ahnetsan, overly careful can be a good thing especially when handling babies right? but if you are staying with PIL then maybe more convenient for you cos every day can see baby.

for me, most likely my mum will take care. she's a nurse so can be overly careful too. but i find that a mother's mum (i.e. your own mum) will take care of baby like her own. because she see her own flesh and blood carry baby for 9 months and deliver baby. i see also that my MIL really dote on my SIL kids. but maybe just my MIL lah..

think it through and talk abt it with your husband carefully. as what some MTBs have said, if your MIL brought up your husband to be what he is today, the man you love and choose to spend the rest of your life with, you can only be assured that she will also do the same for your child.

take care and keep us posted.

cassey,
wah ur officer sounds very romatic ley. envy envy. mine was also like that in our courtship. but after yrs of marriage and 1 child, we are always making fun of each other so much so that if we say or do mushy things now, we'll more likely collapse in laughter than bask in the mood.

ahnetsan,
from my memory, i dont tink the administration of epi is painful at all. in fact u so want to have it immediately and hope that it can alleviate all the labour pains that u dont feel the pain of the jab at all. look at the BIG picture haha.

bbpotato,
pls take care and drink lots of water, its no fun being sick and pregnant, over CNY somemore. im recovering from my bad throat and cough, its been gg on for weeks and put on antibiotics now.

Happy Lunar New Year to all mummies!

Looking fwd to the end of the day already after a morning of meetings!

bbPotato, take care ya. Must get well before Monday to enjoy the festivities.

Re: bedroom
just a couple of times but hb has concerns about hurting bb despite knowing it's safe. I think he aceded becos I said I have needs too.

Re:present
I got a bag that he bought as xmas cum motivational pressie. Not sure if it's to appease me n my swinging moods in first trimester when I was fretting about still not able to find a job for him to come back Singapore.

I think pretty much hb n wife needs to communicate a lot to understand each other needs. with my hb away most of the time, we rely alot on this to know how each of us feel towards things n not take things for granted. Despite being a workaholic, he does know what happens to me in Sgp that he will make efforts to change or do hsewk when he is back.

Happy CNY to everyone in advance!
Having reunion dinner tomorrow, looking forward to yummy food! (but not looking forward to the bloatedness after haha).

Bedroom:
Few and far between. Sigh. I don't think hubby's afraid of hurting anything. Rather, I suspect he's just trying to be more considerate towards me, in case I'm not in the mood, he doesn't wanna make me feel like I'm obliged, so let me initiate instead. Hmmm, but I'm getting tired of initiating haha! But I'm not complaining, cos he's been extra nice ever since I'm pregnant, plus he voluntarily took on all the housework now (I only wash dishes sometimes), changing of cat litter etc. Oops, maybe HE's too tired for any bedroom action!

Childbearing present:
I know of women who gets huge diamond rings from their hubby after childbirth, so I jokingly asked hubby the other day "Eh, how many carats will my diamond ring be after I give birth?". The look on his face was pretty priceless ;-P

Youtube:
Ooohh... I'm gonna go search for C-section videos! And the epidural ones too! I quite enjoy these videos... (ya, I'm quite morbid/sick like that). I watched a C-sec video on some pregnancy website, and it was pretty eye-opening. I thought of watching a few more to mentally prepare myself for birth. I know my view would be blocked during the actual C-sec, but it would be nice to know what to expect, and not freak out over every little sound I hear...

Counting down to detailed scan tomorrow. It's at 8am, so early!! Hope I don't fall asleep at the wheel while driving there...

Cassey, enjoy ur gynae visit today! Re. hospital choices, I did heard a lot of good feedback on Mt A, but really disappointed of what I found otherwise during my hospital tour there, aside from that, I also heard that Mt A's may have better facility for emergency surgery.. but not according to what my gynae said, was asking his personal opinion on these 2 hospital, he said although they're almost the same, he prefers TMC, at Mt A, most of the nurses are older, hence, might have given better care and attention during post delivery.. but TMC staff are younger and faster, which is very crucial during the delivery process, furthermore if we opt for natural birth, but then emergency C-sec is required, at Mt.A they'll have to wheel us out and go to the C-sec room which is one level diff, while at TMC, the C-sec room is just side by side.. I told him that personally I like the room at TMC better too..

Shelisa, orange juice, lime juice, cold one.. confirm will make baby dancing.. took lime juice this morning and some sprite this aftn, bb been dancing, kicking hard all the way thru.. hehehee..

ahnetsan, me too.. not only scared of the labour pain, delivery process, but also the after-pain.. I'm staying with PIL, until God knows when.. we still haven't found a place of our own yet, and still not getting any luck with balloting either.. btw what online games ur MIL is playing ?

tofeecat, heh heh.. I just took my dose of shi san tai bao for this month, quite heaty, so gotta control on the cny goodies (like bak kwa etc).. bb's weight up by 100gm since last wk at detailed scan.. real happy, but my weight didn't go up tho..

sweethalo, detailed scan couldn't see the face as clear as the 3D/4D scan, but definitely can see the silhouette/shadow as per usual, the features are more obvious now, like the nose, the lips, I almost cried during the scan..

Kate, think we'll be in the same antenatal class, it's at AMK hub rite ?

createjoy, thanks for the massage lady info.. will check around and find the best one.. some friends also gave me some other recommendations..

FirstMum, I just got some more 2 & 3 yrs old clothings..

JessMa, with the toddler's clothings, the backpack.. I think I really a bit kuazhang now.. haha..

bbjun, how are you today ? feeling better I hope.. gosh, you MIL seriously needs some professional help.. both soft n hard approach didn't work on her is it ?

goldiepooh, belated congrats to u n ur prince
dun worry abt the weight gain, if counted since pregnancy start, I oso ard 3 kg, but it's not only the bb's weight, u gotta count the amniotic sac (water bag) and by now, the placenta also took up much of the weigh..

TubbyMummy, welcome!

Happy CNY for all mummies here! I still got a few hours to go too today, no half day le..

Cassey,my cursin also normal delivery and she told me that she got no choice that time... even pain also just bear with it and she told me no need to attend any lesson sure will noe how to delivery one... heheee...

bbPotato,good luck to you ya,i will try normal delivery 1st too.. ;)

Shelisa,hope your bb can performce a orange dance to you.. hehe..

ling... same here... no half day! So no mood to do work. I just need to dong another one hour.

Thanks ya.. ya.. feeling better. Minor lower back muscle strain. cannot bend too much.

My MIL ah.. I dun really carry hopes for her to change cos she oredi old liao. Heard from HB she is like that as far as he can rem since young. So cannot ask old dogs to learn new tricks lor. Just live with it and manage as it comes, and avoids all possibilities of conflicts.

Ling, glad to hear that your baby is growing fine. heehee, i usually find it hard to stop eating cny goodies once i start. just drink more water and eat more fruits. the other day i was a little crazy and bought a bag of cherries and strawberries and apples and oranges and pessimmom. the last one is for my mom :p

Shelisa, hope you saw ur baby dancing

ahnetsan, think we'll be giving MIL extra money for taking care of baby. also staying with PIL till end 2010/early 2011. my hb asked MIL cos sometimes it's better not to assume that MIL would want to look after baby. also more polite to ask. she's also doing ur confinement? have to say everything upfront otherwise dunno who will take care of u, take care of baby and clean up the house, cook, etc. think ur hb shld tell his mom abt the safety part then and also abt taking care of baby. good luck!

Cassey, ok maybe i'll go check out the video on epidural.

knocking off in another hour. YES!
Happy New Year to everyone!!!

Ling,good to hear that your BB is growthing well,hehe... got new backpack waiting for her... yesterday i went to raffles city,there also a lots of BB girl's clothes,keke...

ladies, i need some advice from you. just got an email that my company is organising a staff retreat in malaysia (i suspect kota tinggi) in end feb when i will be in week 23 (almost 6 months).

just want to get your opinion, if it was you..would you go? considering that it will be a bus ride (not sure how long though) and you will share a room with another colleague.

thanks in advance!