(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

wah seems dat most of u all dun gain too much weight. now im worried im gaining excess. i gained abt 2kg since my pregnancy until dec. now almost end jan le, i havent weighed myself. so dunno wat is my weight now.

will be going for detailed scan on 6th feb, which is my 21st weeks. The detailed scan should be done between 18-22 weeks.

i've been eating pineapple tarts everyday now, cos it's my fav cny goodies. anyone heard dat we cannot eat pineapple tarts during pregnancy?

bbjun, take care. maybe you can see your doctor as soon as you can get away from work. got the following from a website.

The truth is many pregnant women fall and go on to delivery full-term healthy babies. A baby is very cushioned by the amniotic fluid within the uterus. It would take a very hard blow to the lower abdomen to cause the bag of waters to bust. I even personally know a woman who fell down a flight of steps at seven months pregnant and she and the baby were unharmed, except for a few bruises on the mom’s arms and legs. The mother did go immediately to her physician to be checked out.

This is not to say that if you fall you should just get up assuming that you and baby are fine and not seek medical attention. It is strongly advisable to see your physician immediately after a fall, just to rule out any complications. This will ease the mind of the pregnant mom as well.

Possible warning signs after a fall are bleeding out of the vagina, sharp pain in the lower abdomen, tightening around the abdomen, and unusual movement or no movement of the fetus are possible warning signs that should be checked out immediately. The concern is that placenta abrupto may happen. This is when the placenta tears away from the uterine wall, causing bleeding and possibly accompanied by pain. Placenta abrupto is very serious and can be fatal to the baby if left untreated. This is why it’s important to be checked out thoroughly after a fall, to rule this out.

Ling, congrats on ur good results. i just bought bak kua from bee cheng hiang and it tasted super good! but we are rationing cos supposed to be for ppl who visit.

hope all of us MTBs are eating well. do u know that at 19wks our baby is 19cm?!! i can't imagine how baby fits into the tummy. weight gain for me is 2kg last week. and for all the MTBs who worry abt losing weight after giving birth, do consider breastfeeding for at least 6 months. i saw my fren when her baby is 8 months old and she is already back to her previous slim self. can feel baby kicking quite hard at the lower abdomen yesterday, made me feel like going to the toilet...

u all so fast buy those baby stuff already??
heard taka got baby fair in March. maybe can go check it out.

btw, anyone has chosen names for ur baby? anyone has any nice names starting wif the letter J for baby boy?

me nw is 19wks. but so far, i dun thk i've felt movement from my baby yet. read abt baby movement is like butterfly fluttering wings, but i dunno hw dat feeling is.... i jus felt weird feeling in my tummy ytd. but dunno whether it's the baby movement.

Oh! I purchased a pre-owned breast pump last week and tried it out on my hubby. At first he didn't respond at all. Then suddenly he slumped over and dissolved in hysteric giggles, grabbing his pecs and shrieking "I've been violated! I've been violated!"

It was SO SO HILARIOUS!! We laughed and laughed for a long while - stopped and started, stopped and started...
Then I put the pump to his little grape again. Just for laughs. HAHAHA!!!!

I super strongly recommend you ppl try it...
Unless of course, your hubby is beside you reading this and has been forewarned

ahnetsan, we went thru the pineapple tart debacle just last week! Basically, the conclusion was pineapple tarts are ok. Cooked and sugar added ma. One funny woman *wink wink* said it's not like we eat a whole "lorry" of tarts. =)

Also, we've chosen a name for our boy and guess what?! It starts with J! Haha... but we're keeping mum about it. Later when we announced ppl will feel like it's anti-climax. Haha.. Flip thru baby name books. Why must it start with J? Hubby's initial is J?

A lot of us feel gas bubbling or as I said, mine felt like heavy lava/magma lamp blobbing. I didn't recognize it until about 4 weeks after I first started feeling it. Gong, eh? Go with the flow!! Baby'll let you know sooner or later!

sweethalo, bit late but re: fluctuating weight, do you take weight at more or less same time of day?
Morning vs evening weight can sometimes differ. Perhaps that the reason for the difference?

toffeecat, whoa only 19cm and you think can't fit? I think it's ok leh. I put a coke bottle against my stomach and think: yeah, can la, plenty more space for bb to grow longer. Haha! Just think: it's going to get even bigger and BIGger and BIGGER!!! My petite skinny sister is 7 going 8 months and I think her big round pregger belly is SO irresistably cute!

stickymouse, I'm thinking you'll look so adorable even when (or maybe especially when?) your bump is HUGE. =)

Ling, re: pre-natal massage. I believe these postnatal massage ladies do prenatal as well.
Mine was put down as postnatal masseur but she's still doing my sis' prenatal ma!
Sis is also "advertising" on her thread that she's using my masseur and will recommend to the thread MTBs if masseur is good.

So I guess we'll both be alerting our respective thread MTBs on the masseur after her massage!

Can't wait to see bb again on Fri during routine gynae visit. =)

Cassey,

is it cos it's June so you starting with J?

we r shortlisting names with A, cos hb starts with A and my 1st K cos same as me.

Addison
Ayden
Aleister
Ansel

hehe bbPotato.. One of the names I am thinking of is Aiden... but the meaning says Fiery so I am not so sure now.

Cassey- maybe I've been measuring at differnt times but usually after my bath in the night.hmmz..

cassey/ ahnetsan,
abt pineapple tarts, there was no debate bet me and hub. he said "can eat meh?" i said " of cos dont be silly" and proceeded to finish a whole tub of it in a week! but now nursing a very bad cough haha!

ling,
wah, ure so kuazhang lo! but bb girl clothes so hard to resist right?? but im quite the opposite of u. i seldom buy ahead of time. now my girl is ard size 3 and 4T. so i buy everything in these sizes cos they look so gorgeous, i always want her to wear NOW, NOW NOW! cannot wait liao hahaha.

mikarei,
congrats on ur bb girl
can join Ling in her sprees liao.

mummyash,
i was from banking before i became a SHM. when i was pregnant with no. 1, the economy wasnt half as bad and we hardly hear of retrenchment so it was ok for me. but now i do hear of friends and ex-coligs being asked to go. im shocked cos its so widespread its even happening to pple ard me. but i say, u take it easy. we are preggers, so make easy targets, but once u hit 6 mths there's nothing much they can do to u. besides, if ure working in a big bank, i doubt they'll risk asking u to go and give themselves a bad name. as long as ure doing ur job, they shd leave u alone. cheer up!

Congrats Mika Rei- little princess! so many sweetie pie stuff to buy! and buy!! ehhee

Ling- great that detail scan is good. Mine will only be on 16Feb.

My hubby is a bak kwa addict. So yesterday, joined in and snacked on 2 or was it 3 pcs... oops!

heya ladies, wow it's really hard to keep up with this thread!

bbjun, hope you're better now? preggers are pretty susceptible to falls, so do take care. babies are pretty well cushioned by all the amniotic liquid though, but if any slight sign is unusual to you do see the doctor.

i've shortedlisted some names for our boy but they can't be used!!!! i will share them here since i'm not using them anyway:

1) Asher Chong (Ass 生虫)
2) Eli Chong (依赖虫)

we're "fighting" over Elliot or Ethan now... not sure what it'll be, but i've recently been reminded that a wife is to submit in spirit to her husband, so i might just let my husband win hehe.

don't you ladies have this very happy feeling now? i'm feeling super happy and very contented because of this baby, there's so much to hope for and look forward to. feeling so blissful!!

ladies, im going to meet another mummy tonight to view her stroller and car seat. if in good condition we are going to buy.

im so excited abt the bb..but must watch spending. my mum got carried away and bought pink bb clothes from mothercare even though it's not cfm girl yet! dr said most likely bcos he cannot see "anything there" but better to wait for the detailed scan. so now i told mum better keep the receipt just in case need to change. she reply, nvm if boy also can wear pink *faints*

im very excited but dunno why i wish bb would come sooner..

stickymouse,
my hormones are giving me mood swings. some days i would be deliriously happy and contented, like what u say, while on others i wld be super depressed nothing is going my way or become hot-tempered and cursing at everything haha. so i guess for me its really the pregnancy hormones wrecking havoc on me.

Stickymouse- Ethan is a nice name.. i was quite set on Ethan before I knew if baby was a boy but now that we know finally, we can't decide. Am moving away from Ethan also because discovered some frens also have sons called Ethan.

Getting worried that I can't find a good name for the little one. We always end up discussing names of the baby in bed and end up making fun of all sorts of names and falling asleep halfway.

bbpotato, you are so funny!! No, of course not! Not cos bb's due in June!
My man's name begins with a J so we thought it'd be a good way to narrow our choices down =)

sweethalo, maybe try to get used to weighing in the mornings? I think it'll give you a better idea of the real picture.
Whoa, it's been some time since we last addressed each other. And I STILL haven't done anything abt antenatal class.
Will check out Gleneagles' when I see gynae Fri. Otherwise most likely Mt A.

Whoa, quite a number of crazed CNY goodie foodie MTBs on this speeding bullet thread huh?
I like bak kwa, but HOW MUCH CAN ONE PERSON DEVOUR?!
I like pineapple tarts, but haven't felt very much into them. Once again, HOW MUCH CAN ONE EAT?!
A little of everything (MOST things huh) is alright, in my reckoning.

Our little ones are so much tougher than we think. Go babies! Well done, mummies!

stickymouse, ooohh.. yes Yes YES!
I guess it's true what some books and mags say. Apparently as pregger mums head closer to labour, they seem to withdraw further away from real world into baby world. This is especially so in the final tri. I feel like, ok, so Obama has been sworn in.. yeah. That's all fine and dandy. But hey! We bunch of women are having babies! Beat THAT!

Caramelle- Regarding girl clothes for boys, my hubby is really terrible. He picks up girl clothes and tells me, this one boy can wear right? I am like - Hello..that shirt has puff sleeves! It's definitely a girl shirt!

How come he can't tell the diff beats me and it really got on my nerves last Sat when we were browsing in Taka. gggrhhh!!!

Stickymouse,

your interpretation so cute.

at least yr hb wanna fight over with choosing e names, mine is I go shortlist then he c which 1 ezier to pronounce

haha Cassey! I stayed up though to watch the supposed historic event but surrended to the comforts of my bed halfway through his 'motivational' speech.. bleargh!

Cassey, regarding the ante-natal classes, Gleneagles does have them. It's in one of those hospital brochures. But I haven't had the chance to call up and update u.. sorry.

sweethalo, your hubby is such a joke.. Maybe men don't notice details as much and see colours more than anything..? Don't be upset with him! Better ignorant gong gong's than a picky critical metrosexual for me anyday.

My man's pragmatic side keeps me on the ground or I'd have gone crazy with the shopping.
Thankfully we're having a boy, I guess.. find it much easier to resist temptation.

Goodness me, I'm getting addicted to all you women on this thread.

Hey Casssey,
I am also delivering at Gleneagles but signed up for the antenatal class at TMC. 1st session starts on March 21 with Wong Boh Boi. Got many good reviews on her classes and also read her book. Seems like Gleneagles is not very specialized in maternity area unlike TMC or Mount A.
I am also going to Gleneagles this Friday afternoon for my routine checkup. I am in my 21st week.

bbPotato, we were actually VERY set on naming our kid 'Trinity' and then we kept our fingers crossed on a girl... turned out to be a boy!!! otherwise we don't be "fighting" now!

caramelle, same same! we are so happy and excited over this baby that we can't wait for this period to be over so we can finally carry our baby in our arms

cassey, my blog used to be about anything, everything, my thoughts and all. now the posts are dominated by baby topics and i'm so consumed! but i still make conscious effort to have a life outside of this baby.... like i still went to play snooker yesterday and when challengers reacted amazed, i told them life doesn't stop at baby hahaha

first mum, when people ask my husband if i have mood swings... he tells them not much difference, 'cos i have mood swings w/o being pregnant anyway hahaha!! poor man!

Thanks. My gynae will book the details scan at Mt A for me, but when I asked, he just smiled and said it's still early. That's why I am puzzle lor, early??? I don't even have an appt date yet leh ...

BBjun, please take care. I also have to be extra cautious now as my company is moving and I am part of the moving team. I have to go to the new site which is currently under renovation every other day. The whole place is such a mess, dusty, open ceiling, cables dangling etc. And the whole place is so big; have to do a lot of walking. Must take care!!

Just went for my check up last Sat. Doc confirmed is a boy! At least can put my mind at ease will not be so stressed up for the next one. haha.

Doc said my weight gain a bit fast, 3kg since preggie have to watch. Can put on only 1kg per month from now onwards. Haiz... how to control. Baby now measured only 200g which means I put on 2.8kg + before pregnancy weight gain of 4kg!! cham ah. After birth dont know how to lose all these gain.

Havent really feel bb movement yet leh. Just cramps not sure whether is it the bb moving or just the uterus expanding. So looking foward to his first kick!

Stickymouse, i like the name Ethan.

CNY goodies - i'm munching on bak kwa now. haha.. and finished half a tub of love letters with hb the last week. no pineapple tarts to eat yet and not intending to buy too many goodies for home cos wait only i eat. so intending to pig out at others' houses. haha

First Mum, same here.... my mood swings can be bad sometimes. from being happy, and then angry or irritated or frustrated. but i normally try to put on my favourite chirpy song to cheer up.

For those with clothes of the opposite sex. Please dont try to wear for eg boys in pink when out during the first 1-2 mths. cos cant really tell whether the bb is girl or boy and worse still, some pple will comment, oh, ur girl is so cute when actually, it's a boy. this happened to my friend. she dare not dress her baby in pink after that.

cassey, wah ur baby's name starting wif J too! well, cos my hubby chinese name starting wif J and cos my christian is J too, so he tot choose J name for our baby too.

firstmum> haha, you very cute leh, with the way u answered ur hubby abt eating pineapple tarts. take care of ur cough yeah. my hubby only limit me to eating 5 pineapple tarts a day, which is not even enough to fill my "teeth holes". haha i can eat a whole tub too before i was pregnant.

wow stickymouse, at least you are able to debate wif ur hubby over the names issue. me and hubby still havent shortlisted any names yet!! and a few names we like cannot use cos our frens' newborns took the names!!

me and hubby also make fun of some names during bedtime and we also ended up falling asleep den next day forgot abt everything.

btw, anyone afraid of the delivery process? im damn scared of it. one fren jus gave birth ytd, took her 12 hrs!! gosh, she cldnt tahan the pain and took epidural. omg, epidural sounds scary too, jab right into our spine!! OMG... any idea of dissolving this fear in me??

sweethalo> ur hubby is so cute. but it's fun to shop for baby stuff wif hubby, right? he pisses u yet makes u laugh.

btw, anyone staying wif PILs? the idea of my baby having to let my MIL take care sort of irks me. the way i see her babysit now, is so different from what i would do and wat i read in websites. always complain to my hubby abt his mother's way of taking care of the kid at home, and he will always say aiya never mind la, if kids are too clean, they will fall sick often one. DIAO, wat kinda theory is dat man.

and we are still waiting for our new flat... by the time our flat is ready, our baby will be 2 or 3 yrs old le.

gosh, i jus saw my MIL giving the 8mth old baby a cny greeting card to play! and he naturally will put things in his mouth. gosh, imagine dat. disgusting leh. dat day worse, i saw her giving him a empty toilet paper roll to play. and as usual, the sides were stained wif his saliva.

i really detest the idea of letting her take care of my kid next time.

ahnetsan, if you are 1st time mummy it will be good to atten antenatal class. Will learn how to take care bb, breastfeed etc, look out for signs of unwell etc. So it will be good to go lor. I havent book mine yet. Will need to book soon.

Cassey, this friend usually very straightforward one, not in a bad way la.. once she told me oso, wei.. ur tummy still not obvious hor, but from behind, your rear part is quite HugE ! Bah, since then I'm quite conscious, not with what I eat, but I make sure she's not looking at my back
LOL... mwahahaha.. gotta try that when I got a breast pump.. thanks for the great idea!

toffeecat, woh.. then I'll go get bak kwa as well.. hehehee.. hmm.. my bb on 20 wk scan only 15cm le.. is it too small..? think all my weight gain and fats goes to the wrong parts of my body... haiz...

First_Mum, yah lor.. I'm advanced planned one.. each time I saw some pretti pretti clothes and told my hb abt it, he would gave me that look that says "dun tell me u're buying a prom dress for our baby.."
work wise, lots of ppl were asked to go from the investment sides I think, but doesn't mean the whole operations are not affected, so still everyone's in a limbo I suppose..

sweethalo, thanks.. am sure ur detail scan will go well too

ahnetsan, to be honest, i also think that nowadays kids fall ill very easily. Last time where got such thing as HFMD or some other funny diseases seen today? Must build up children's own immunity system and i believe in exposing them to certain degree of dirt like playing in the sand, mud, sea, rain will help do that. But of cos not too excessive lah

talking abt bb names, i already planned for number 1 and 2! and because i like to have 2 names, must make sure we get the initials in right, in case next one is a boy, i can still use same initials A.M.

Ling, actually i got the length from a website, www.dumex.com.sg. think my gynae didn't measure the length last week. he measure the weight 203g and the AC, which i forgot to ask wat that is. maybe it's the circumference of the head? if your gynae didn't comment abt bb, then shld be ok. no need to worry abt weight gain too much, my fren lost the 17kg that she put on.

ahnetsan, my MIL will also be taking care of baby. well, just think that your husband was brought up by her and he's now well and healthy, then your baby shld be fine. you can let her know you don't like unhygenic stuff to be given to baby then shld be ok. think my mil also know i bit clean freak but i think she'll take good care of baby cos baby's her grandchild.

Cassey & ahnetsan, read in a magazine that names ended with '--den' like Brayden, Jayden, Aiden, Hayden.. Jeremy, Joshua is quite a nice name, a lot of nice boy's name started with J actually
I've got a friend who's so addicted to movies and tv series (like 24), when she was pregnant 2 yrs ago, she said, so many of the characters named Jack, Jack Sparrow, Jack Bauer, she was so keen to name her bb boy Jack, but when he was born, they decided to name him Luke instead -_-" (and no.. her husband's name is not Darth Vader..)

ahnetsan, we've quite similar hey.. I'm living with my pil since married, and I'm really really scared of the delivery process (actually scared of pain, and needle too, Shelisa also in the same club with us..) and not only the epidural jab pain I was worry about, I heard that during delivery, if dilation (opening) not enough for bb, sometimes doctor will make incision, and after that, they'll stitch us up..
omg, just the thot of it gives me goosebumps.. btw, your MIL is looking after your kids now ?

Agree with toffeecat... at least can trust that MIL will not harm the baby..if a nanny looks after, we wouldnt know what they do when we are not around also or worse is who else goes in and out of the place.. so don't worry so much
cos your hubby turned out fine too ... hehehe

Ling- thanks! yeah looking forward to the detailed scan... can maybe see the face?

Cassey & ahnetsan - yeah enjoy shopping with hubby, he is quite patient and doesn't dislike shopping at all (lucky me) but just quite annoyed when he keeps asking if our little one can wear what looks so obviously (to me at least) a girlie shirt.

dear mummies, thanks for all your concern and advice. Was feeling very worried cos I can't differentiate cramps from the muscle pulls I always have, so I went to see my gynae after my mtgs. Glad that everything is ok. No bleeding at placenta and baby is still very active and can see his heart pumping hard.
Given MC for tom but doubt I can use it cos got another days of mtgs scheduled that I can't change cos all big bosses, I small fry. But doc gave just in case I got body ache from trying to break fall.

Was unlucky that cleaning auntie was cleaning floor with super wet mop on oredi slippery floor. Somemore, she never put sign to caution ppl. Take first step out of the lift and slipped despite having my shoes done by cobbler to put extra rubber layer to prevent slipping.

U are all busy looking at baby's names! Ethan is a nice name and my fren recently named her boy that. We were thinking that our bb is a gal previously and kept thinking of gals' names. Turns out to be a boy. Right now, we are considering Dylan cos my hb's english name starts with B, mine with a C. So tot we can start his with a D. Coincidentally, hb dialect initials are exactly the same as mine and most ppl stare at our names twice to see the difference in our dialect names. Too similar even though Chinese is very different. My FIL's english name starts with A and my SIL's english name starts wtih F. We were thinking of filling up with D for our first child and E for the second one.

Bbjun, glad u are fine! i also scare leh cos i often slipped but never fall and since preg saw 2 pple fall down in front of me at restaurant and kopitiam. we must really be more alert lor.

hey my boy's name also start with J! Ling, my massage lady contact is 93863019 Rohaya. not sure if she has prenatal massg. wow cassey so lucky got pple give up seat.

Hey Kate, what time's your apptmt? Mine's 3+ on the 8th floor. =) Not much confidence in their antenatal class cos no one seems to have gone and come back with anything though I've asked around.

stickymouse, concur. It takes a conscious effort to not get stuck in a rut with only baby baby pregnancy pregnancy dominating all conversations. I find being on this thread helps me NOT talk abt it as much with my friends. =)

ahnetsan, I'm apprehensive abt delivery too and used to feel - give me an epidural before I start feeling anything!! But I'm reading up more and talking to more experienced mums and also, I trust that our bodies have been marvellously made to cope with childbirth.
Eeeee.... your MIL quite strange ah.. PLUS not a must for antenatal classes but I think it'd help me learn more, hubby get more involved, us to bond better (esp since I'm hoping they'll teach him how to rub my feet!) and can meet other MTBs.

Ling, whoa, your friend is so funny. I have one like that too - 3 of us are really close, 2 of us preggers. The not preg one asked the other one "Eh? Why your face and nose looks quite swollen huh?" and also "whoa, you put on a lot of weight leh!" Close friends are hard to come by. I'd still stare at her... maybe and burse into tears. Hehe.

sweethalo, you should buy hubby a woman's blouse in blue as a gift and say "SUPPLIES!!!!"

bbjun, SO glad you're feeling ok and gynae's checked and verified that bb's ok too. Next time, walk behind ppl. Then if slippery, they can fall first!! *so mean*

createjoy, yeah! I agree I've been very blessed. =) I'm hoping as we all grow bigger bumps, there'll be more happy stories!

fwah, this thread is moving so fast..had a hard time catching up if am away. heheh.

mika,
congrats on your sweet little princess

bbjun,
my heart missed a beat when i read your post. glad to know that mummy & bb are safe and sound.

kekeke yeah! What sweet revenge for my little boy! Maybe I will do just that Cassey! hahah... but I will say... Eh this one Man can wear right?? and I will make sure it has puff sleaves or some little bow in the centre...kekeke

cassey, that's what my fren told me as well, to let others walk first. The funny thing is most ppl let the preggie walk in front. I have colleagues who is always giving me way to walk in front leh.

nozomi, Thanks. was really quite shaken and the cleaning auntie watched me fall just stood there and still dunno I m more than 4mths preggie. My colleague was in shock and tried to help me up and told off the auntie after that. It was only then the auntie got scared. Am very relief that this episode is over. Am preparing myself for a day of aches tomorrow after what my doc told me.

stickymouse,
pregnant or not, i have mood swings too. just that i think the emotions are much more intense now! when im happy, im REALLY happy. when im mad, i will pick on EVERYTHING. my hubby sometimes think ive gone mad.

ahnetsan,
ur hubby quite kind to allow u to have 5 tarts daily. mine would refuse to look at me as i shamelessly wolf down more tarts, as if not seeing would make the act less evil haha.

about labour pains, if u dont belong to the anti-epidural gang, u have much less to worry about. for me, it took away ALL my pain. i couldnt feel anything right through episiotomy, delivery and stitching up afterward. or if u have strong willpower and believe that God made women strong enough to withstand natural childbirth without pain relief, then i guess the powerful mind would go a long way. so dont worry and enjoy the pregnancy

ling,
i like that, buying prom dress for ur baby! go to Old Navy or Gap webbies, u would SWOON over the girls' clothings. they are simply gorgeous, u wish u have all the money in the world to buy everything!