(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun, i hv not go & c any stroller yet but hb wan to get those can hv 2 way handle...dat is front & back de....oso weight should not b too heavy and oso not so ex....tinking mayb max we wanna to spent is ard $250 ba....heard alot of gd comments abt combi leh! is combi in yr list?? i tot of lucky baby brand lo...

as f weight gain i oso scared i put on too much later can't slim down...so far did u actuali eat alot?? f mi still my normal 3 meals but 10+ to 11am start to get hungry again will take bread or biscuts lo...again 4+ abit hungry liow...but i dun take supper ... usuali onli dinner!

lovelytulips,
capella is korean brand but also assembled in China. Latido is China brand and made in China. I asked the sales ppl at kiddy ytd and they said almost all brands of strollers are assembled in China. Ya, have the same sentiments about Macclaren. Find reversible handles a must cos when bb still young, facing out can be quite daunting for them. Too many things to see.

Hmm.. dun think I have time to go JL before CNY.

jam75, combi is next after capella. HB prefers capella (can't rem why). I wanted to go see lucky baby brand cos I saw ppl using and seems quite good. So far, have not seen it yet.

I am eating slightly more than usual but usually can only eat more during lunch time. I can't take much for dinner cos some how I end up too bloated to eat much for dinner and it will be quite uncomfy when I take a normal full meal.

jam75, combi is quite good also. but i find the cheaper ones too flimsy. one of the top range is the miracle turn but it's also 700.

seems like not everywhere is assembled in china. scare of their QC leh... especially for babies. think i probably stick to capella unless i manage to see other better brands.

wonder if there will be more sales after cny. must make full use since it's time to get our stuff. feb's gonna be a short month so it's like, time gonna fly very fast......

bbpotato, i feel like my legs are going to break sometimes. now dare not wear even a bit of heels, wear flats and i look so sloppy. ahha....

lovelytulips, bbpotato, maybe u shd get ur hbs to massage ur leg calves to promote blood circulation? THink it will help... at least not so suan. If my hb ard n I having aches, I always ask him to help massage a bit to just get a bit of relief.

good morning ladies,
anyone keep a pregnancy blog? I'm thinking of doing so.. but dunno which website is better to start with..

stickymouse,

I have the same feeling as you.
Baby now complaining if i am not sleeping on my side. Will keep kicking till he comfortable.

hi all, me having a baby girl!!!! yeah, can start buying cutie dresses for her already! and my li'l girl brings me luck, so happy. heehee!

re: weight gain. i'm in 20w1d & hv gain 1.5kg to date. am hoping to manage it well. are you all having trouble with appetite/eating? i can only eat like pre-preg days or slightly lesser every meal, cos i'll feel v bloated for the nxt couple of hours. so uncomfy. i thought i can start enjoying my meals and hv more food intake. hmmm....

mummy ash, happy for u tat u can feel bb movements already. don't feel down. how far along are you? there are lotsa changes in just a few weeks of difference. so some of us feel things first mayb cos we are slightly further along. be prepared for bb to disturb ur rest or sleep from now on, then u'll start missing the days tat you can hv some smooth, gd rest w/o the involuntary jerks & movements.

i think i'm a lazy mum. i haven started shopping or even browsing around for bb stuff. will hv to start researching abt strollers/prams and pumps and bottles after cny. so tat i can hv my list ready for bb fairs. ha! mediacorp is holding a bb fair at the end of feb. and the usual taka bb fair is in march right? looking at the discussion, seem like there are many factors we hv to consider when choosing a pram or pump or even just a milk bottle. and my knowledge abt these are limited to their collective names, eg. these are prams, these are milk bottles.
anybody has any ready list tat says wat to look out for when buying these things?

Hi jam75,

I am using combi stroller for my son, it's reversable and light (because my unit @ 3rd floor, no lift, weight is the main concerns for me). I bought at Baby Kingdom (if I am not wrong) @ less than $180, that time they have promotion for this combi stroller.

chidori, I do keep a preggie blog but I kept it private for sharing between me n hb cos he is always away.

U can try www.wordpress.com. I find their security features good. Can set the whole blog private and secure or specific postings to be private. U can keep several different blogs under the same user account. So dun have to rem so many names and passwords.

All MTB have got the appt for detail scan liao? I am at week-19 but my gynae still have not booked one for me leh, next appt with him is on 31-Jan which is my week-20 liao.

bbjun, massaging helps but only until then. the next day, "suan" again.
i also try to keep my legs elevated when at home.

chidori, wordpress is pretty good from what i hear. u can try that.

Mika, congrats!! u'll sure have tonnes to buy.... there is always no end to pretty girls clothes...

capriho88, combi stroller at 180?? wow... that's cheap.

bbjun, hmm i oso saw many ppl using lucky baby brand like not bad oso...i saw 1 at carrefour wif reversible handle costs $199 but oos le!

lovelytulips, the combi miracle too ex le...dun wan to spent so much lo...somemore i no pass down simi oso got to get new one realli hv to spent a big bomb!

jam75, i same same la... except for some baby homewear, i got to get everything new.

capriho88, nevermind la... so it's proven it's ok since others are using it also.

mikarei, congrats! enjoy shopping for your princess. I was drooling at the little gals' clothes at Kiddy Palace ytd and was lamenting that the boys' one are not nice leh.

capriho88, I think most mummies have theirs booked liao. I am gg for mine next week at week 19. U can call and ask ur gynae?

mika, in wk20 onli gained 1.5kg...aiyo i now worried whether i put on too much le i now put on 4kg in wk20 leh...seems like mommy here dun put on much...scared liow!

capriho, dat's cheap f combi lo wat's yr model?? as long as cheap & useful i dun mind many ppl using the same...haha

bbjun, my sis is like stickymouse, I think. She's been trying AGES to put on weight but can't keep any weight on her frame. She's 2 months ahead of me and put on 14 kgs in her 5 or 6th month. But she still looks really good and hopes she only loses the tummy. How privileged huh!?!?

Unlike the rest of us "mortals", worrying about losing the pregnancy weight. I'm a little paranoid and trying to ration out 6-8kgs over the 10 months. So AM SO SO glad lost 4kgs in the beginning. haha!

Mika Rei, congrats on a girl! Now u'll splurge on all the gorgeous stuff!

Capriho, can it be because your gynae DOES do the detailed scan so he doesn't need to book you in anywhere?
Don't worry, it's done from wk 18-22 so although most of us do it at week 20, you still have some time. Have faith in your gynae huh?

capriho, tks!

cassey, my fren oso small frame...even b4 pregnant she already 10kg lighter than mi le...she is juz 1 mth behind mi she still din put on any weight lo...f mi kip on worried abt weight gain....i oso hope throughout 10mth not more than 10kg!

Congrats Mika in getting a princess.

Yup, if really no pass down, need to spend a bomb.

Last time my boy also like dat, everything need to get new 1s.

Then 1st time parents, dunno wat to get, get all e small size clothings very fast outgrown.

Btw, any1 interested in getting medela breastpumps? I m organising a spree for it

Hi Lovelytulip - same for me I can't sleep for long on my right anymore so either flat or on the left.

MummyAsh- cheer up, It seems the blob-ing feeling maybe flutterings- hubby found it on some baby site- and it is our little one moving

Chidori- I am keeping a preggie blog in blogspot and hubby is keeping one of his too in blogspot. Quite fun

Weight gain- anyone experiencing see-saw weights? Mine is up and down until I also dono how to keep track...

Re:MRT and Bus
I also agree with you all,yesterday i went back ard 6 plus,got one lady look at me then close eyes after that,another young man keep look at my tummy also close eyes after that.. next time i will just avoid the peak hr and protect ourself since i'm not working now or ask ppl give up seat to us if we really need it.sometimes thinking is it they all too stress at work liao so all don't want to give up seat to us..

Yesterday i went to Baby Avenue,share some of items price here:

Cherrywood Baby Cot: $359 , delivery + assemble: $25
Pinewood Baby Cot: $239
100% cotton bedding set $60
Cot size: 136cm x 76cm
Maclaren TZCHx10 xT $568
Baby bjorn carrier synergy : $299
Medela mini electric breastpump : $193.5
Harmony breastpump : $101.8
Bebe sound: $109.9 (listen,talk and play music to your unborn baby

bbjun,good idea ;-D my boss also same,sometimes 7 plus still ask me meeting.. that's time i didn't reject him,but after that i tender resign letter to him liao...It's good that you set a limit there,if not they thought you are supper mummy,will keep give you work to do even after office hour..

amk_gal,is your gynae good?I might change gynae to Dr KT Tan later on as current gynae will transfer to other hospital .. do i need to continue visit my current gynae and ask her recomment and transfer me to DR KT Tan or i can directly make appointment with her?I visit gynae @ TPS,how about you?

Mika Rei,Congrats on your little pricess.. and enjoy your CNY shopping!

dear mummies,
emergency qn:
I just fell down cos came out of lift and this auntie mopping floor with very wet mop. Though my shoes are added with non-slip rubber a few weeks ago, I still slipped and then land on my knees. Called my gynae clinic and they asked me about staining and cramps etc... ask me to go down for check up if I feel very uneasy/shaken.

Cannot tell if I m having cramps cos I m feeling very shaken n scared now. Plus always have pulling ligaments ard tummy. So what shd I do? Go clinic to check or not?

Jess Ma,
You can make appointment to book Dr.KT Tan at 62944050. She is at private suite on Tue pm and Sat am. Get your record from your current doctor and bring along during your first appointment.

I lost 3KG during 1 trimster,but put on 6KG in 19wks 2days.. My friend last time gain 10KG during 10 mths but BB is 3.3 KG,we need to ask gynae is the weight gain on us or on BB when we visit gynae each time...

Chidori,will start a pregnancy blog soon as husband still develop it.. previously i using wordpress and multiply..

Poulinea,thank you,you seeing Dr KT Tan also?my appointment with my current doctor is on 04 Feb..do i need to wait until that date then can get my records?do i need to pay for that?

bbjune,if better to go clinic and check now... make sure everything is fine... if not you will keep worry and it's not good for BB also...

Jess Ma,
Normally the record is free. You can request for it when you see your gynae next time and book a date with Dr.Tan around 1 month from 4Feb.

bbjun, if i were u, i will dash to the clinic. cos duno if everything is ok...and it will always be on ur mind until ur next checkup, which is not "healthy".

1. BP for baby cots - Inclusive of latex mattress, 100% pinewood + 7pcs bedding set

2. BP for babymallonline spree 3rd shipment

3. Desitin creamy ready stock (Only 7 pcs left!)

4. Strollers BP

5. Lansinoh milk storage bags 50pcs BP

6. Medela Breast Pumps inc Freestyle and PIS BP

Pls PM me more more info

bbjun,
you better make a trip to your gynae and check if baby is ok.. then rest at home.. monitor for any abnormal discharge, bleeding or cramps..
take care..

lovelytulips, bbjun and sweethalo,
thanks for the link.. i go check it out

jam75,
me put on 7kg so far.. but these 2 weeks weight is more stabilied.. i think most of the ladies here put on a little only..

bbjun,
hope ure doing fine. u didnt fall on ur tummy right? guess its ok as long as no cramps or abnormal discharge. just to share i fell twice during my 1st pregnancy! once i abrased my knees badly (fell into drain!!) and another time sprained my ankle (missed the kerb while running after taxi). but lucky both times i also didnt end on tummy. was also shocked but after that i felt fine so didnt visit doc both times. so dont be excessively worried if u decide to skip the doc k.

Thanks ladies. I m trying to monitor while attending meetings. If really start cramps or what, I will go n see doc. Trying to stay calm n conc in meetings.

Good afternoon ladies
Wednesday liao, soon would be cny, yeah.. long weekend and food feast! Anyone eating bak kwa here ? Is it too heaty for us ? The clinic just called me and said that my detailed scan result is out and everything is normal..
yeah!

Mika, congrats on your lovely princess ! Ha.. you, me and Shelisa in the princess club hey.. I've bought clothes for 1, 2, 3, 4 yrs old.. my hb said I'm the extreme case of a kiasu-mom..
I'm still compiling my own bb shopping list, based on those shared in the forum and what I've asked friends/families.. for teh REAL shopping of these stuff would be next mth at the bb expo fair..

Jess_Ma, not just clothings.. I bought winnie the pooh cutie backpack as well, to my husband dismay.. he was like, ahem.. you buy it for baby or for yourself hor..?

jam75, I haven't have list of the massage yet, just asking ard with some friends and found out that most of them have post-natal massage but not pre-natal one.. I looked at the forum and found one advertising for post-natal jamu massage (http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/1697784.html?1232349666), I read thru but also dun have pre-natal massage

createjoy, do you have the contact of the massage lady ? I'd like to check with her if she also does pre-natal massage, my hip-joint pain getting worse as days goes by now..

bbjun, pls take care, we're more vulnerable to flu, sinus, etc nowadays.. gotta watch ur way in public transport & at the mall.. much ashame for me to admit, I really can't say enough abt ugly singaporeans.. even as I opted for the safest way nowadays (took a bus straight from home which cost me more and took me longer to reach office), still couldn't always predict which jerk would sit next to u.. got this young lady who still have her LV bag on her shoulder as she sat down, bumping onto my tummy, quite painful, not only she didn't apologize, she sat with her elbow poking and cross her legs with her heels on my feet.. sigh.. be careful alrite.. no such thing as courtesy in Sgpore's public transport/area anymore these days.. we gotta protect ourselves.. abt weight, I oso put on all the way le..

Janet, welcome!

bbjun, just saw ur post, pls go to ur gynae as soon as u can, am sure ur boss would understand if u explain.. and pls pls be very careful.. thanks a million for the tips, actually Philips is one of those I've shortlisted, now I'm removing it from the list.. thanks again!

bluedream, thanks for updating the list!

ahnetsan, welcome and congrats to u n ur prince!

bbjun, go clinic & scan. take blood pressure also. don't wait. my car was recently bumped fr behind by a van, the jerk was quite hard, i also went to scan immed, although no bleeding or staining, gynae it's the right thing to do. at least keep the gynae informed of things, keep a record, they know wat to look out for in the future. u on package? then laggi better.

jam75, i lost weight during first tri, then gain back to original weight, and now the 1.5kg is on top of the original weight. heard that rapid weight gain is in 3rd tri. so i better gear up for it too. thing is, like i said, i get bloated too easily, so i dun eat a lot, or conciously eat slightly lesser. ok, i hv a strange body.

i keep preggie blog too.. heehee.. secretly! so tat i can always hv a record/memories of these exciting months.

can't sleep on my right for more than a sec as well. very uncomfy.

hi capriho,
ask your gynae. my gynae also a bit bo chup. when i asked abt blood test then he schedule..when i ask abt detailed scan then he schedule. maybe being in forums and having so many info resources makes us very "aware" of these things..plus we are all in the same forum here with same month EDD so you'll expect to go for same tests right?

dont worry abt asking, although my mum did say that during her time never go for all these test or scan and bb still come out okay. quite true also but now technology so advanced so if we can take advantage..why not right?

so dont feel bad to ask for it. my detailed scan (not FA Fetal Anomaly scan) is on 14 Feb Valentine's Day
which is week 21 for me. according to the x-ray dept, best to do around this time because bb more developed. im not saying they are right..but just telling you what they told me. good luck and get a scan date soon so can start looking forward to it!

Cassey, I haven't go again for the tour, but after reviewing with hb, we felt that safety comes on top of comfort, so most likely we'd still go ahead with Mt.A and opt for single bedded room.. as for massage, can share with me if the masseuse your sister has is worth to recommend?
dun even notice my nose is expanding until a friend asked me if my nose is swollen..

Shelisa, how did the orange-juice 'bribe' go ? Should've work I guess, I still feel a little 'blob' feeling now and then, but the kick or push from inside the tummy is getting stronger and more obvious now.. especially when I had cool and sweet drinks..

Stickymouse, omg.. you're still so slim and looking good woohoo! So envy u.. for me, I've always been on the chubby side even b4 pregnant, the part above belly button always have fats, so, looked like 2 bumps from the side.. hee
even when I lift my arms, it would still looks like KFC's drumstick...

Chidori, sorry for the late reply, it's only 2 weeks away.. now quite tight up with office and cny.. will sure let u know if I'm joining.. btw under TMC parentcraft, there's a Yoga lesson, 5 lessons for $160.50, 1 hr per session.. but I haven't called and asked them abt the schedule yet..

Mummy_Ash, are u in the banking industry ? It is very depressing, so much news (bad ones) going on the media these days.. until at some points I told my hb I don't wanna watch those news anymore, too many speculations, some so-called finance-expert/analyst think they know everything abt our companies, and adding fuel to the fire with what they think is their 'smart' comments.. I'm going to work not knowing what's gonna happen and if I'd still keep my job, I even have to think twice before I submitted my leave for my routine gynae check.. but.. talked abt it with hb, it's really nothing we can do now, we can't control those analysts' mouth, we can't control the market conditions, we can't control the global economy, we can't even prdict what HR gonna say if they are to let us go.. yet.. what we can do is to do our job and pray for the best.. worrying abt it would just make us stress (hence, stress our bb) and lose our focus too.. I'm not sure what you believe in, but there's a saying that when God closes one door, He opens another

Dovey, I can't cross leg, thigh too huge liao.. lol...

capriho88, detailed scan usually taken on wk 18-22, can ask ur gynae to arrange for u..

hatemenot, sorry, correction on the scan price at TMC, 3D is $189, 4D is $279, price before GST, I'm thinking to get it done during my 30 or 31 weeks..

Oh, bbjun, you poor poor girl! *hug*
Don't be overly anxious or baby might also get agitated.
If you haven't yet done so, sit down, take some time to just quieten down and talk to baby, sayang sayang bump.
I concur with First Mum that if you didn't land hard on your bum or belly, it's prudent to keep monitoring first.
Please do let us know how you get on.

congrats to mika on your little princess! =)

thanks to jess ma for the detailed pricing too, really help loads.

bbjun, maybe i would advise just to go and see gynae if you dont feel very well. Just to have a piece of mind

Ling, I think it's a good call to go to Mt. A on the safety thing. And OH DEAR!! If my friend asked me that I'd probably glare at her for a full minute, then dash to the toilet to stare at my nose for a while. Then maybe I'll go home and start taking precise measurements every day from that day forth! Haha... *kidding, eh* I was looking at nose in mirror this morning and thought I discerned a bit of growth. Is it my paranoid imagination? Must check with others if they see it =(

Mummy Ash, I did wonder where you'd gone these last days... I'm glad you're back! With a blob report and all! I also waited for very long before I could feel anything, you know. Now I'm starting to be more sensitive to our little guy's moving and I think he's kicked my hand-on-bump twice so far. Still much too rare for daddy to feel. Must do in-womb training. Maybe orange juice will help. hehe
I'm not in the banking industry but I reckon just do your best to fulfil your responsibilities, my dear. Be assertive and diplomatic if asked to take on tasks that you don't believe you can manage. Job security is dependent on so many other things that are often not within our control. So, just do your best and take care of your physical wellbeing as best as you can too.

Re: Blogging (or rather, journaling)
I was recording thoughts and updates on my ultrasound scan pictures. Then a bunch of girlfriends got me the most gorgeous pregger journal so I've been putting in a few minutes to write in it every week. Whoa, they only gave it to me in my 2nd trimester so it was a LOT of writing to do before I finally caught up. =)

I really appreciated the thought cos there are coloured pages with "picture frames" in which I am to paste pictures of myself and scan pics too. I think it'd last longer than a blog. Just that blogs are good for keeping friends and relatives posted as to how things are going.

Blogging mums can share blogs for me to kaypoh?! Next time I can check out your bb's pictures too!

bbjum don't worry. Calm down, best that u don't get too worked up. If u can get away from the meetings, better go to the gynae.