(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

i can't keep any furry pets as i have sinus problem. tat aside, cassey, ur little baby girl looks so pretty & huggable in tat romper. ha. did she refuse to take it off after that?

hi all, about the fetal movements, it's quite a challenge keeping count of the times our bb move everyday. but i heard once you start to feel regular movements everyday, it's good to monitor that the baby moves every 12 hours. especially during the end of 3rd tri when the baby is big and has less room for movements, it's good to raise our awareness of baby movements. if there's no movement for long period of time, it's best to go for a scan (esp for those with packages & unlimited consultations/scans) just to make sure the cord did not do anything funny with the baby.

morning ladies, juz finished reading thru the posting...

as for down sydrome test...my colik 2 bb oso hv high risk but my colik go ahead to kip his 2 bb without going f further test f amnio acid...turn up bth is OK de...

ling, congrat on yr princess leh...mi oso looking forward f my detailed scan on 30/jan to cfm whether mine is oso princess bo...if cfm princess sure start buying liow! can't wait le cos gal gal thing realli v cute leH!

mika, as f bb movememnt i finali start to feel it on sat leh...agreed wif wat u said abt 3rd tri is beter to montior bb movememnt leh...heard my fren say dat she got 1 fren oso find dat in 3rd tri her bb movememnt seems to b stop so heng she go down to chk & in time lo if not bb will b in danger le!

hi Cassey,
Yah I heard abt the toxoplasma thing too, and my prev gynae said he'll put a reminder to send me for this test (probably the one your hubby went for - is it a blood test?). But my current gynae as usual made me feel silly for asking and never gave me an answer. So far, no tests planned for me for this. As for precautions, Im already doing all of them. Except my husband going to Taiwan in Apr for military mission for 3 weeks (*wails!) so I have to activate my mum for Project Clean-up.

Agree with you abt the ignorance and lack of love for animal, most of those people who advise me are afraid of cats so maybe that's why they say so.

One of my concerns for after birth is the cat fur, cos my cats are ragamuffin and have long, rabbit-like fur. Which if I don't comb often enough, they will start shedding and hairballing.

I trim their nails every 2 weeks, and they are not the scratching type so Im safe there I guess. Although when I see my nieces, more often it's the kids who pull the cat's tails or something that causes scratches, but for me still a long way to go before baby can disturb cat.

I've already placed a gate at my MBR door so the cats cannot rush in (which is what they always do cos they are not allowed in the MBR. My hubby dont like the fur all over the bed but sometimes I sneak them in to sleep with me). But cats are very clever so they already learn to jump over the gate.

I just bought my crib yest from another mum and it's quite high, so cats cannot jump in (hopefully!). Good luck to us both, and let's worry abt the after-birth problems when they come later!

jam75,your detailed scan same date as mine,feel like can't wait liao... still 2 wks... Regarding the BB carrier,i think so,but it's not good to let our new born BB sit on the chair also.So thinking of get a good BB carrier which got good support one,should be ok bah... and we still can hv two free hand to shopping while carry BB... haha... do you hv any idea abt BB's bed? My husband prefer got roller one..

Ling,did your gynae tell you your BB's gender before your detailed scan?

jessma,
oh, am quite keen in ermm..baking, etc? (i can't PM u too)or even prenatal yoga.. how about u? am looking into baby carrier too..saw babyjorn spree..r u looking for a sling?

First Mum (choccheez),

can you share with us the massage lady name at House of Massage? me abit craving for massage as well.

any mummies bought anything yet like cot or playpen?

jessma, all the while mi hv back prob wan so dun tink i will get bb carrier lo...my fren wanna to get dunno wat brand bb carrier is abt $200+ leh..v ex as dis prc can get stroller le!

my gynae already say more look like a gal but wan mi to start buying things aft detailed scan juz to re-confirmed! hahhaa

hatemenot,
I bought a cot at Baby Kingdom about two weeks ago. It was on sale and comes with free mattress, and fit what we wanted. So just bought it and ask them to deliver in March/Apr.

Before that, was also considering Armslength (Think I got the brand correct). They have bedside cots that are cheaper than those at Mothercare but didn't like the fact that it's not wood.

hatemenot, hmm was oso tinking wanna to get bb cot or playpen...i heard diff view fm diff fren lo...some say yes some say no...so i oso stuck whehter wanna to get bo...some fren say is gd to hv either wan but some fren bot liow but bb dun like to sleep in there & end up waste $$...actuali all my nieces & nephews oso nv sleep on bb cot...my mom already bot mi yao lan le...so mayb i will let my bb sleep yao lan instead of bb cot or playpen

I bought it for about $229, w mattress. Original price is $299 without mattress.

No leh. Was asking them if they have anything on sale. I checked some strollers and they priced it the same as Kiddy Palace. I think I buy at Kiddy better, cos got members discount leh. Will go back a few months later again to check if they have any sale items.

hi hatemenot,
i bought a baby crib/cot yest from another mum here. but i will dettol it and repaint this weekend.

actually my family advise not to buy cos bb may not like it then waste money. and some other mums also told me that mostly the bb will sleep with them on the bed instead of the cot. so that's why i bought 2nd hand, but i was lucky cos it's in gd condition.

and ironically, the seller told me she was selling cos bb never sleep in it!

besides that i bought the sarong rocker with a stand - also from another mum.

waiting for few more weeks then we're planning to buy the stroller (already aiming the quinny buzz + maxi cosi car seat!)

what abt the rest of you?

actually i don't find baby kingdom or baby hyperstore any cheaper... it's just that they have a wide range in the same place.

i was better off hitting on those 2008 post-christmas sales (Isetan, Robinsons). that being over.. the next thing would be baby fair at Takashimaya in March...

bbjun, izzit prc same as kiddy palace huh?? hmm we nid to purchase something fm kiddy palace then we can b members rite?? was tinking if JL, Robinson, OG or Metro hv storewide 20% izzit cheaper to get from department store instead??

caramelle, we were very blessed. a cot was given to us by our friend and in reasonable condition. like you i'd also have to use dettol on it and probably use wood marker to touch up on some spots.

for my husband and myself (we stay on our own) we are determined to let our baby sleep in his own room. we intend to train our baby to identify that room as a sleeping place, and let him sleep on his own. that means, even his playtime will not be in that room so that he will not confuse himself with sleep VS. play. if he's in that room, he needs to identify it's sleep time.

it's important to us a bedroom is a sleeping place (it's the same thing as how we designed our masterbedroom only as a sleeping place, no such thing as tv or radio). so i guess different couple have different needs and mentality.

so to us.. a cot is necessary and not waste of money lah..

hi stickymouse,
yah agree that bb hyperstores are not that much cheaper. although there is one at balestier, called baby avenue which is quite good because got members' discount. im getting my quinny buzz and maxi-cosi combi there for $498 + $150.

another one is bries de joie (a.k.a. babymeadows) at katong mall, they have 10-15% off some items but very small shop.

both shops above have websites:
http://babymeadows.com.sg/
http://www.baby-avenue.com/index.asp

from my experience, it rewards to be diligent to scout diff shops for diff things. but can be quite time-consuming unless you're like me and hubby who enjoy trawling bb stores on weekends looking for gd deals. good luck and let me know your feedback abt other stores as well!

Jam75,
U just need to pay $10 to be member at Kiddy. dun need to make purchase.

Actually need to scout around one. Some departmental stores sell certain items at a higher price. When they have sale, they may be just slightly cheaper than places like Kiddy.

Agree with stickymouse, things at bb kingdom and hypermart are not cheaper. Only some items are cheaper and usually the small items.

hi stickymouse,
true..i never got over the fact that hubby manage to coerce me put tv in the MBR. sometimes i regret because tv in room + laptop with internet = me falling asleep alone first most times.

it's a wonder i got pregnant 7 months after the wedding..heheh. (oops!)

but maybe in the initial months if you intending to BF or need to feed bb regularly, you can put the cot in your room first?

Same as stickymouse, also planning to let BB sleep in his own room. Want to train him to be familiar with his own room and able to sleep on his own when he grows older. So definitely need a cot. Will try not to use a yao lan so, will only consider buying if really need. Since BB sleeps in another room, so we also need to get a baby monitor, just in case.

Nozomi & createjoy,in case can't PM,my email address is [email protected] ,for baking,we need to use microwave right?I think prenatal yoga is a good idea.. Sling is it less support then we will feel more heavier right,got to try it out.. hehe... you see this link http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/418969.html?1223220432

jam75,if you hv back problem then you can't use bb carrier otherwise make it worse.. but stroller is not suitable for new born bb bah... after detail scan then we can start buy bb stuff liao... wait long long until my neck pain liao.. kekeke....

Shelisa and Ling,you both must be enjoy shopping liao bah.. anything you already brought for your BB?

createjoy,my boss still ask me do some work for them,their reason is the two gals still learning so they can't wait for them... I got brife them all the things and now repeating the same brife and i also need to do for them... do you encounter this also?

jessma, i abit confused between pram & stroller leh?? izzit any diff ma?? my fren hv a pram say can b use till 4mth so ask mi whether i wan or not?? all the while tot pram & stroller the same! now i super blur! tot if onli can b use f 4mth dun tink i wan lo cos v fast bb will b 4 mth le!

jessma,
u can also go under edit profile -->log in pw -->under preferences --> unchecked the box(do not send me private messages.--> save profile.
cos' our pm is blocked by default.
i'll also send u an email later..gng out soon.. my friend tried sling and it causes her backache and changed to babyjorn. it depends on individual bah..hehe.

Jess Ma, bbjun already answered you... haha. Sorry me late again. My hubby just checked online and called to register us so they know to expect you. Both have tours on Saturdays but I think not on Sundays. If memory serves me well, TMC's is at 2.30 while Mt Alvernia's is at 2... or something like that.

Mika Rei, my cat (the REAL Cassey) didn't like having it on. She just flattened like in the picture and refused to move until I took it off. It was hilarious... She's such a tolerant dear little girl. =)

caremelle, misunderstanding la! My hubby send the REAL CASSEY for the blood test - at the vet. Not me! The cat's I've owned so far are REAL jumpers. I mean, they used to scale the fence at my parents' landed property so frankly, I think no safety gate / crib is too high for them. For me, it's just vigilance during the first months to set parameters and tolerable behaviours so cats know what they can and cannot do.

jam75,For pram:The pushchair has an optional lie flat facility which allows your baby to face you.can either be achieved by converting the existing seat unit, or by adding a separate carry cot.some type of pushchair can often be used as a travel system by adding on optional infant carrier.

Stoller,are the lightest, most easily transportable pushchair's - ideal if you will be using public transport.The needs of a small baby and an active toddler are very different so 2 pushchairs are often the way to go.

good day ladies
wow this thread really moving fast..

Cassey, I told my hb abt the hospital tour, and maybe we'd like to go for another one one of these days.. the lady we had, auntie Betty, speaks with very coarse voice, and rushed everything thru, rather unhappy whenever we asked her questions.. we only managed to see the 2-bedded, single-bed and deluxe (she mistakenly told us it's the suite
) I used to have a black n white british tabby during my uni days overseas, always sleep with her too
but gotta let her go when I graduated, went thru arguments with my mum as well whenever she visited me there.. now married, my hb dun like pets in the house n he's got sinus
most ppl let go of their cats due to fear of toxo, but it's the litter that might pose the danger, so as u said, get someone to deal with the litter, keep the bb cot/pen high enough so cat couldn't jump in, you're right.. de-clawing is cruel, trim is the best way.. love ur cute lovely kitty.. haha.. so adorable with that rompers..

When is the hi-tea and where ?

Shelisa, thanks.. yeah! Hi-five.. so happy! Even the time zone oso the same for our princesses, she slept through during the detailed scan.. cool orange juice is a good idea, I should've tried that.. chocolate doesn't work, but ever now and then I'd take a little bite, I read somewhere that it's good and make a happy bb..

sweethalo/bbjun, thanks!
First_mum, thanks
you're right, once the shopping start, you just can't stop..

hatemenot, thanks.. already started the shopping.. hehehe.. at TMC, the 3D scan is abt $189 I think, and the 4D scan is ard $200 plus..

Jess_Ma, thanks!
I already shopped quite a fair bit over the weekend.. even bought some 6 mths, 1yr & 2 yrs old clothings.. my hb said I'm over-shopped liao.. on my last visit to my gynae, he couldn't see the gender as bb position is not clear.. but he did mention that possibly a girl.. I had all my hopes high liao by then.. so during the detailed scan, although it took much longer than expected, I was really happy that finally we can confirm

sweethalo, do you go for pre-natal massage now ? couldn't lie on my belly anymore since last month, just very uncomfy, and I'm worried if it causes bb to feel uncomfy as well.. I know what u mean.. I dun really like those chinese aunties either.. I went for a massage & body scrub b4 at citi spa, with 2 chinese aunties doing the 2 diff job, I walked out of there with body pain everywhere, a little bruises here and there in fact, felt like calling n scolding them, or even suing them, but dowan to waste my time, just decide I won't ever go back there again..

jam75, thanks hey.. hope u can find out the gender soon.. my gal very very shy.. I had to roll left and right and poke poke her several times b4 we got quite a good view..

Ladies, anyone can help to recommend me a good pre-natal massage ? createjoy, have you found a good one yet ? amk_gal, mind to share with us ?
thanks..

Thanks First Mum

Cassey, ur cat looks cool! hehhe...

Ling, haven't started on any pre-natal massage yet... actually desperately want to but fearful of hurting the baby. Yeah, the Chinese Aunties kind of treat our bodies like a washboard huh...hahaha....

I went to one before that started telling me her lifestory abt how she got depressed and wanted to kill herself and how she was sent to IMH for checkup. I got quite frightened cos how to run out naked if anything happened? oops!

Re: crib vs playpen vs sarong thing
I don't like yao lan's personally so it was a toss up between crib and playpen. In the end we got a playpen as:
- it's lighter & more compact when packed
- it's soft and good for bb to play in when toddler
- I can wheel it in and out of rooms depending where I am
- the colours are SO much nicer than standard wooden cots!

stickymouse and bbjun, I'm not sure if this will sway your decisions but I read in several articles that babies left to sleep on their own are at higher risk of SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome). The recommended age for transferring to a separate room is only at 6-9months.

For those worried about baby not sleeping in cot, I haven't any experience, but also read in several places that a good way of initiating bb into cot is to place whatever bb sleeps in for initial months into the cot so that bb's in cot but still nice and snug instead of suddenly feeling insecure due to having lots of space. Not sure if those bb positioners thing work to make bb feel snug. Seems to makes sense to me though...

nozomi, just sharing my thoughts abt bb carrier.. I've seen so many many bb Bjorn carriers on the WTS thread that I lost confidence in it, you know. Frankly, I feel like the 'backpack-like shoulder strap' carriers look less comfy as compared to a sling. I bought a Moms in Mind (MIM) sling - bb can be in sitting position and also sleeping position as per when we cradle him/her, you can even breastfeed discreetly in the sling! It's going to be a challenge learning to tie it in all the different styles though. I haven't looked at the DVD/VCD yet.

sweethalo, the REAL Cassey meows her thanks but says she prefers her natural beauty and wants mummy never to dress her again. =)

bbjun, your cot is a good buy. $229 is a good price. the white cot that i saw at john little expo sale is about 299 i think. the cheaper version, brown colour one cost about 199

caramelle, i see.. i was thinking to buy both cot and play pen. One put at my mum's house and one at my new house.. hmmm if the baby dont like to sleep then really wasted, but dont think will let the baby sleep with us on the bed cos our bed only queen size. hee

Cassey, after reading what you say about the SIDS, i think the cot will have to go into my room then. sounds so scary!

Ling, you'll have to make sure it isn't Betty then, when you book yourself in for another tour?! Heehee.. we managed to see only ONE delivery suite (the smallest one as they assign delivery suites starting from the biggest ones on a first-come-first-served basis and that day many deliveries). Saw several rooms.. so I guess it was a good day.

Re: Sinus problem
Actually I have problems with my sinuses but my love for furry animals way way outweighs that!

My parents refused to let my sisters and I have ANY pets when we were younger because I was diagnosed with asthma as a child, tho I never had any attacks or wheezing. But when I was 11, we finally had our first dog and there's been no looking back since. At our peak, there was 1 dog, 2 cats, 3 kittens, 2 rabbits, 6 bunnies and a cageful of hamsters in our home!! When I fostered dogs, there'd be one more dog added to that crowd.

I've never had an asthma attack or any problems more serious than some sneezing and sniffling which goes away in about half an hour.

jam75, I've also been treating pram and strollers as the same thing, esp. cos sometimes in the novels I read, American authors and European refer to them differently.

Contrary to what Jess Ma said, I purchased a stroller-cum-car seat combo (i described it in a post some archives back). The infant car seat cum carrier can be clicked into place on the stroller and when toddler, the stroller itself will serve toddlers' needs. Stroller has 4 (or 3?) adjustable recline positions for toddler to sleep in. It can be used from infant to about 2+ years old.

Interesting how I asked about massage and everyone seems to be doing something about it while I have yet to book myself in anywhere!! =(
You all are such on the ball ladies! I wonder if the antenatal classes teach hubbies to massage their wives..?

p.s. caramelle, hubby asked vet if we should be concerned about having cat while pregnant. Vet said if I've been around animals for a long time (and I have!), my body would have already developed an immunity to taxoplasmosis - which would protect my foetus from being harmed by it. I can't remember, but I think the immunity will also be passed on to my baby when he's born. I sure hope the sinus problem won't be!

jessma, tks for yr explanation!

cassey, mi too blur over pram & stroller cos i ask my fren she oso say same thing but diff ppl use diff term....tink some stroller can used from infants to 3years wan rite...so i beter get stroller & beter to chk the dtls wif sales b4 purchase!

Seems like alot of MTBs are cat lovers. Thanks Cassey for the good news abt immunity... I have been asked by various ppl many times abt my 2 cats too for the baby's sake but hv resisted. Now at least am comforted.

jam75, true about infant - 3 years strollers. Usually stroller usage goes by weight, so depending on how big and heavy your bb is, it may or may not last that long. Having said that, my hubby and I saw some of those that allegedly can last a long time but we felt that it doesn't look like it provides sufficient support for a young infant.

We almost bought into a carseat that's supposedly for infant - 4 years. Something abt it just didn't sit right with me cos it was quite spacious and very much upright, so i doubted it was suitable for an infant. Thankfully we gave that a miss and have since purchased an infant carrier cum car seat that looks so snug and comfortable. We're prepared to invest in another carseat once infant grows out of this one.

Our thinking is: we're rather not splurge first until we've had a chance to test middle-range options out. If baby's needs are not met, then we know what to look out for with our next purchase. Don't want to splurge on a stroller only to have bb reject it. Heart pain.

sweethalo, you know, the books even say to avoid going to the zoo cos the poop of animals are all left and vapours are evaporating. (EEEeeewwwww...) Apparently we're supposed to especially avoid the kids' rides and pet-the-farm animals sections cos taxo bacteria gets onto hands and bodies and fences and barriers and can get transferred to us and then to foetus.

I only read all these after hubby and I went to the zoo last Deepavali (I think) cos I was worried once new term starts, I won't have time and once bump gets big, I don't have the inclination. Heehee. So..

we went to the zoo zoo zoo,
how about you you you?
You can come too too too,
we went to the zoo zoo zoo!

sweethalo, sorry my mistake! yes zapp (not buzz)is 498. i was aiming for this bcos can fit nicely into our honda stream without needing to bring down the last 2 seats. buzz was a bit bigger and i dont have the strength to fold it alone. funny cos when we bought a bigger car thinking we can fit more things in the boot and so far no more than 5 people have been in the car at the same time!

cassey, playpen i think may not be so portable because i dont think it can be pushed out of hdb doors? i had the same idea to push playpen into living room and MBR, but seems the angle is very big. maybe you want to chk first? although i agree it's more colorful and looks fun!

was planning to discipline bb btwn sleeping and playtime so im thinking of getting a playmat vs playpen because punggol houses are oh-so-small! so cannot fit a crib AND a playpen in my tiny place.

hatemenot, oh dear i completely forgot abt getting one for my mum's place. lucky you remind me! maybe my mum will appreciate the sarong rocker thing bcos that's what i used as a child. same, my bed also queen size and hubby say no matter what bb must sleep with us. i told him okay, if you insist. but if bb cry at night or you got no space to turn, kindly take your pillows and make yourself at home on the couch in the living room. haha!

cassey, was tinking izzit beter to get stroller when bb is out or mayb onli invest 1 when bb is ard 4mths & abv??

caramelle, first one I got couldn't get outta door, but we exchanged it after taking some measurements. It came in only one colour - blue. So back then I was telling my hubby... hmm?! Is this a hint that we're not having a girl but a boy?! I guess it was! =)

jam75, I mentioned in another archived posting that hubby wanted to only get stroller after baby passes infancy cos before that he thinks can just carry. Of course la, my man's biceps are so huge I can barely span them with both my hands.

But if I were out alone, I really don't wish to have baby strapped to me the whole day. My arms will fall off and my back will break into two, much less all the small little petite mummies out there! So we decided to get a stroller now. At least I have the option of using it for baby and bags when hubby's not with me!

It's a great one that can be folded down single-handedly - very maneuverable, light but sturdy. We got it second hand off the forum at a great bargain and excellent condition as it'd only been used 4+ months. Previous owners planned to splurge on a more pricey one for their little boy.

My pregnant sister and pal were so envious! My pal asked me if any more such bargains.
My sis joked that I should sell it to her at a profit!
But good bargains on forum hard to come by at the right time once, much less twice.

Anyone read Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic & Baby? There's a hilarious part when the pregnant bimbotic lead gets a stroller JUST for her purchases cos her arms were tired. Then well-meaning ladies started asking about her "poor suffocated baby under those bags".

cassey, lucky you! ok so there's hope to get smaller playpens then. will do some homework now and see if i can get a good nice one for my mum's place.

i love shopaholic series..she's hilarious!