(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

dun think detailed scan is 3D scan leh.. 3D is optional but detailed scan all gynaes will ask to do..

cramelle,
your hubby still laugh? haha.. if its me, I sure scold hubby upside down one..

mika rei,
if you want tmc, can call 6354 4115 fetal assessment department, the test is A3: FA scan: Obstetric ultasound (week18 to 22)
not sure if they entertain calls from patients to book directly though..

chidori,
possible also for non-TMC patients you think? i chk with Dr penguin if he will arrange this for me, otherwise might call TMC on your number above...

<font color="0000ff">Re : Constipation

Try Fybogel, really good. B4 pregnant, i used to go only once a week.. after pregnant, worse, and i dun dare to push too hard somemore..

then i started fybogel (half dosage only) - recommended is 2 packs a day, i only take one pack a day after lunch.. and i start going everyday, and dun need to push so hard also..

of cos, supplement that with loads and loads of water.. and some fruit and vege too.. =)</font>

thanx chidori. i called. they dun take walk-ins. must at least have a dr's recommendation letter. i'll hv to chk with NUH.

OOOH, I have to look thru 2 archives to see what I've been missing thru the forum!!

Ling: There are total of 6 sessions for Mrs Wong's class at TMC. I've signed up for the one starting at March 21. =)

Kate Lee: We are going to attend the same antenatal class at TMC on march 21!
mine's at 2-4pm. What's urs ?

Btw, talking abt stretch mark cream, I'm currently using bio oil. It's very well recommended in all the pregnancy magazines overseas, but we cant seem to get it here in sg. Not too bad, but I'm too lazy to apply everynight, i guess I will pay for it when my stretchmarks start appearing!

Is any new mummy sourcing for breastpumps already? I've heard many good comments for PIS pump, I wonder if it's worth paying tt much of money for it tho.. advice anyone?

Happy New Year everyone!! May the new year bring us lots of joy and laughter and healthy babies!!!

welcome caramelle, creamer, doglefox and goldiepooh!

just came back to work :p got so many posts. bought 5 tops + 2 dresses from non maternity shops during the short break. so plus my old stuff and the 3 maternity bottoms, got 2 weeks worth of cloths. yeah! just wanna check with those who know the gender whether this website is true? it's true for me. http://www.motherhood.com.sg/tools/gender.asp

neeciel, guess your PILs will be happy. maybe can use the above to try for your baby gal next time :p my hb also took some time to get over the gender. now he seems quite excited. bought baby posters and started to write a list of what to buy. while i'm still very nuah. haha. anyway we're doing the hard work here :p

Ling, think we'll be asking my MIL to look after. i'm also staying with her. the house is 3rm flat so quite small. so think we'll have the babycot in our room which is also quite small with our queen bed and 1 wardrobe and 1 cupboard. think just enough to squeeze in. my mom offered to cook for me and if my MIL dun want to look after can also stay at her house. so we see how. dunno how to ask :p must choose a good day.

the 3D scan is during 3rd trimester. think the detailed scan is just our normal scan just more detailed and better equipment?

Kelly, thanks. hope you start to like the bird's nest taste. i like it a lot with the bing tang. think i'll go compare some shops prices first. the fu hua promotion is about 25% i saw.

bbjun, i also can feel a little bubbling sound. i imagine it's baby blowing bubbles or swimming. think babies start to take in the aminoacid thing already rite? sometimes i also think i can feel the heartbeat. sometimes can't. then hb says baby's sleeping so cannot feel. hmm.. think i read somewhere that most babies are most active from 8pm till midnight.

anyone not gaining appetite? think i'm not feeling more hungry or more urge to eat. my mom and mil both complaining that i should eat more for the baby. hmm.. haven't weight myself think at more 1kg increase if any. by 1st trimester should gain 1-2kg, 2nd about 5-7kg. 3rd trimester supposed to gain a total of 10-15kg roughly i remembered correctly

hi mummy ash,
yes i start looking for breastpumps (and strollers, cots and clothes too!) but im FTM so super excited! i told DH better buy those necessities early, because closer to delivery time may need lots of money to pay for hospital deposit, other medical costs plus bb new needs like diapers all that. is this correct? i only consider those places where i can delay the warranty and delivery so won't waste it.

i went to first few years at paragon yest and saw Medela PIS Advanced at $599 - cheapest as recommended in other threads as well. Although it comes with choice of bags (slingback or even limited edition bags whereas Robinson all that usually only sell backpack), Robinson selling for $698 with extras eg disposable breast pads, nipple cream and 3 bottles which is worth slightly more than $100. quite worth it unless you want a different bag (but quite obi to carry backpack, esp for mums going back to work).

advice pls from other mummies who are expecting 2nd or 3rd child now..when to start buying? and which items to buy 2nd hand and which to buy new ones?

thanks in advance!

for those going for detailed scan at TMC, any ideas if got sign up for FBI or SBI, can the 10% discount be applied to the detailed scan?

before x'mas went for appt, but still can't confirm bb gender yet. so no choice have to wait til detailed scan on the 23rd den can confirm. Hopefully it's a gal gal even though bb is first grandchild of both family... kekeke... :p

toffeecat, me the same... my appetite have been the same since pre-pregnancy... first trimester din gain any weight at all... now at 17wks also at most gain 1 kg so far... think no need to worry too much... as long as our bb developing well and our gynae din raise any concern, it should be ok...

innocentwar and toffeecat,
really envy you ladies, never put on much weight.. me already put on 6kg now at 18 weeks..as long as baby is growing well it is ok lah..

caramelle,
your Dr penguin should be ok if you go to other hospitals since he does not earn any commission anyway..

regarding breast pump, me thinking of getting medela mini electric plus. maybe even second hand one.. coz not sure if will be successful or not..

Ling,
i'll be a couch potato at 8pm today. hehe

createjoy,
am not too sure about maternity bra..but a couple of my friends bought their nursing bra from sorella (can be found at minoshe outlets). If on sale, it would be ard $40++ (< $50 for 2 pcs). they wore it during their late trimesters too..

i rem someone mentioned about the pulling pain. I went to consult my gynae last fri..she mentioned that the womb is stretching. I would feel that my below is aching too. she mentioned it's also due to the stretching/expanding uterus.

chidori,
I would be very keen to attend the prenatal yoga class if there is any at JE!

Mika, like chidori said, the 3D scan the brochure said is optional, but I'm not sure when is it recommended to take, is it during Wk 20 or later..

caramelle, ur Dr penguin didn't arrange detailed scan for u..?

Mummy Ash, I tried calling TMC for the class, called so many times until fed up but no body answer.. abt the pump, my friend said that if u plan to bf, it's worth it to invest in a good breast pump, but for me, I'll wait until near the time, my sil planned to bf as well, but after give birth, didn't have much milk, so she only bought the manual one to express bm and bf only for 3 mths, some more she's a SAHM.. so it's ok.. but if have lots of bm and have to go back to work, my colleague said better get the auto one, she bought her Medela pump for abt $600 I think..

Re Stretch Marks: I notice the skin around the tummy getting very very tight.. altho I'm using the clarins oil every night, but still, every morning it'll feel quite itchy.. I guess have to be diligent and apply the cream as well in the morning (at least twice a day), one of my friend said that she apply anytime she feels her tummy itch, she has no stretch mark..

toffeecat, the gender prediction, I couldn't tell yet, maybe after next wk
whoa.. u're staying in 3rm with mil ? must squeeze a lot hey.. my pil's place is 5rm, we've another spare rm actually, but we still prefer bb to be in the same room with us at least for the first few months.. so we're moving some of our stuff to the other room, our room is not master rm, so it's quite small and would have to squeeze as well tho..

Hi Ling,
Im seeing him for the 3rd time this Fri. Im in week 16 - so this should be the time for him to arrange my scan right? I called them earlier and found out Im taking the Triple Test and another multi-purpose blood test (HIV, Hepatitis etc) this visit - quite common for everyone I guess?

I agree that better to buy the pump closer or even after delivery time, because you won't know which product is best for you so just chk out the models and ask DH to buy

toffeecat, tried the gender prediction and it says boy..my DH also suspect boy cos i was always hungry in first few weeks. and my SIL say because nowadays i don't look pretty so must be boy..
this fri i try and see if can confirm

hi gals, toking abt wat to buy realli headache lo...if nobody pass down realli spent a bomb lo...i got nobody to pass down so everything hv to get new wan so quite siong oso...my fren say beter to get those bb thing during taka baby fair leh!

ling, dat time dr say yrs most likely is bb gal huh?? i went last sat chk up he oso say mine look more like a gal leh...but he v funnie ask mi not to go shopping 1st wait till detailed scan aft cfm then start shopping...when he say is bb gal i so happi...hahaha...tink PIL will b disappointed since hb is the onli son....

nozomi, same here, will be glued to the tv with my mil..

caramelle, I think I've taken the blood test last month.. not so sure what blood test was that, supposed to be my regular visit to the gynae a week after my NT scan, suddenly he pulled up a needle and took 2 tubes of blood from me..

jam75, mine still dunno, my gynae couldn't see anything as blocked by bb's legs, so he said prob a gal.. hearing that, my hands have been itchy wants to buy pink bb clothes n such.. but hb said dun buy first.. better to confirm.. same lor, think mil might b disappointed too, hb oso the only son, and her daughter has a bb gal.. but I dun care liao.. my detail scan is next wk
hope can confirm then..

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers. A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 13 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 6 Jan 2009 (tomorrow)
3) Time: 10am - 2pm
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: Siemens Center. 60 Macpherson Road, Singapore
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076 or Dr Liu, hp 9678 5889

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to Ob doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

hi Ling, i'm not exactly sure about the detailed scan or 3D scan. but my understanding is 3D scan is available anytime you wan it, it just cost more expensive than our normal scan. you can do it everytime you go for your checkup.
the detailed scan is also a 3D scan, jus tat becos we are only doing normal scan, we need to do a 3D scan (to see more details) at least once in order to check thoroughly.
am not sure if i'm correct here.

caramelle, i have the same thinking as u.... better start buying now when i still have some extra $$. hahha...

btw, does anyone knows why confinement lady is only engaged for 28 days???

what's the rate for a CL now?

I think it's becos 28 is exactly 4 weeks, easy to count? Besides usually the mother stays in the hospital for a few days before returning home, so 28 days would exceed the confinement period oredi right?

The rate now is about $2000, inclusive of the first angpow to give when CL comes and the 2nd angpow when she leaves.

just started work and adjusting back to working.. gosh, everyday is 12 hours of work. insufficient sleep and rest.

my hubby and i were considering whether to go for tmc parentcraft held at amk hub, or to kkh antenatal programme. finally decided kkh's cos it's cheaper and the overall duration is longer. hubby tot there'll be more information so might be worth forgoing the convenience of having classes at amk hub..

my tummy is getting quite big. anyone feel like ur tummy is "in the way" when u sit??

Hi Lovely Tulips, i went to the one at suntec, but they have some other outlets at Heartland mall, tanjong pagar and raffles. I find the staff there quite friendly and give some good advice esp for first mum. But buy only if you need or like it. Can recee at other places. Sometimes not necessary to buy maternity wear, some normal clothings are long &amp; stretchy material which is equally comfortable. Manage to find some at neighbourhood area at very cheap prices!

Hi Crystal, congrats to your baby prince! Hope to know mine in my next visit too..hee

Hi Dovey, yup have started my first swimming last week. My gynae strongly recommend and encourage me to go swimming since my first visit to him. He said can help to improve fatigue, dizziness, mood swings, leg cramps, swollen ankles etc.. seems like its a good exercise since after being preganant we have to stop alot of other sports. hmm.. i will heed his advice and try to go every week if possible.

creamer,
may I know which pool you swim at? I'm having problems with public pool being too crowded..do they allow us to swim with board? I'm worried of leg cramps plus I'm not a strong swimmer..

morning!!!

creamer, they quite friendly la... they kept telling me, the clothes are designed by themselves, if after preg, can alter it again to fit again. but i dont really like the pants material. it's a bit like leggings but cost almost 60 bucks....

i like those soft material 3/4 flare type of capris. used to get it at 10 bucks only. but seems like either it disappear or some shops selling it for so ex like 29.90.

chidori, u wana try going those safra pools? think it's less crowded, and best to go during morning

creamer, u bought maternity swimwear? i'm thinking of gng in my bikini... those maternity type so expensive...

lovelytulips, i think safra pools r pretty good... but the one at yishun is super crowded on weekend mornings... my hubby swims there almost every sun, lots of kids having lessons, and they blocked at least 3 lanes for the kids... i was planning to go Mt Faber Safra on weekday nights, hopefully not as crowded...

Dovey, i used to go yishun on sat morning, at ard 9am, then leave by 11am. the crowd is still ok. no blocked lanes (now dont know). one thing gd is they have a lot of pools. so for pple like me who arent "pro" in swimming, i will just slowly swim ard the jacuzzi area or the "training" pool if it's not so crowded. think another gd thing is they have at least 2 lifeguards at the pool area, which i think makes me feel more at ease.

Ling,blood from nose is too heaty.. try to eat normal food to "bu",don't take shi san tai bao first bah.. and try to excise a bit after you recover from flu &amp; cough.. yesterday i sleep quite well liao,i brought the seahorse pillow,i don't whether it's because of this or not.

Ling,hope you can noe your BB's gender when u next visit.My friend go to check bb's geneder on 25 weeks,she eat some chocolate to seduce her BB so at the end she noe liao... hehe ...

Mika, thanks.. I also read that 3D scan is optional, I just unsure when is the best appropriate time for us to take it.. I'll ask about it anyway next wk during the detailed scan..

amk_gal, gosh.. you work such long hours.. is that inclusive of the journey to-from home or just in office ? any idea the kkh antenatal programme is for how many sessions ? yup, tummy getting big, but not big enough to show yet..
couldn't hunch anymore when sitting down.. but the bb movement getting stronger each day.. it just bring a smile whenever you feel it hey..

chidori, agree! I dun like public pool either.. am trying to seach those in hotels or country clubs, if they can charge per-entry. Dovey, the maternity swimwear I saw at Marina Sq is abt $70.. Tulips, dun think I'll be awake at 9am on Sat..
you very good leh.. I'm not a morning person..

Anyone going for the kkh aqua pregnancy class, just saw the website updates, the class would commence on 7th March.. I'll be in Wk 28 by then, 3rd Trims liao, should be good to ease the leg cramps &amp; swellings for that period..

Just came back from gyane office....Confirm bb is BOI

After the initial disappointment am just glad that bb is growing healthy. Plus can re-cycle gor gor's clothing. Save $$$$$

Jackie,

dun b sad.

we can hold hands together, having 2 boys also.

Jess,

dat's cute, how to seduce the bb with choc, I think those that hvn't know e gender will b interested to find out more.

Ling,

wow u so fast can feel the movements liao. must b nice.

ling, how much is the aqua aerobics huh?? izzit wkend wan??

hmm u'll can feel bb movement huh??? like so far i din feel any leh...like bb movement should b feel in wk wat huh??

hi Jackie,

u just came back from dr kek's clinic? am also with her..hehe.. she is a very nice motherly lady isn't it? i realised she waived the scan charges when we are on certain months..is that the case? last rd, i was with her during my 5th month onwards.. she waived the subsequent scan charges after few rd of visits.

Thank so much for the bra &amp; constipation suggestions! aiyoh yday little nyonya ending qt sad. sigh she so good dont have own child that stupid robert still got son. think the ending at the altar robert's son make-up too old i got a shock for a sec thought robert didnt die become friend, then recall it's his son. i dont understd y in the end yueniang give up chen xi to libby, becos she really like paul meh? wife no longer the prob what.

Ling i'm starting my kkh prenatal class 22 jan. someone ask duration it's 9 hr in total.will be signing aqua class today cos i be going to the support grp at 2.30pm.am thinking of wearing my bikini cos its 4 lesson only and my bikini both top &amp; bottom is tie type so still can wear i guess haha. piles (zhi chuang) is when poo poo will bleed till toilet bowl red lor. i almost fainted 2 years ago so scary. not those u wipe abit red that is just tear. wow the bb fair is 1.5 mths later haha if u going can remind me again :p

chidori, i saw a few thread the pump u mention not too good leh. hmm not sure also i haven really start reading up. u may wanna check for testimonials from other moms. toffeecat the website u want us to test , mine is accurate lah :p

Congrats to all the mommies who just knew gender of bb! healthy will do lah quite a no. of us disappt... heehee nvm lor try again.

innocentwar, glad to know that no appetite increase is normal. my colleagues also saying shld increase soon. now my hb also start nagging that i shld eat more. so i'll wait and see :p

chidori, no need to envy. think in a few more months we'll also catch up with you liao :p yups most important is that baby is healthy.

Ling, ya, it used to be my SIL also staying in the upgraded extention room till last nov when she got married. now it's not so crowded. and less one or 2 persons to fight for toilet haha. hope you get to know your baby's gender next week. think we all quite excited to buy stuff for baby

caramelle, think triple test is only when recommended by the doctor. usually if we take NT scan then triple test not needed. the blood test is for HIV/Hepatitis is routine but i think the triple test is taking the blood from the cord blood which is a big needle through the tummy, so there is a small percentage of risk. better discuss more with your doctor.
createjoy, yeah if the chart mostly accurate then can try aiming next time. think also better to go along with the western viewpoint too :p whatever the case, it seems fun to know whether it's accurate. i also dun quite like the little nonya ending. feel that yueniang shld be with chenxi. maybe she feels guilty towards yuzhu i guess.

createjoy, ya lo i oso got a shock how come robert zhang nv died?? cos they make him look as old as yue niang lo....so i abit confused till i tink back oh is actuali robert zhang son!

i oso dun like ending...i oso feel dat yue niang should b v chen xi and oso feel dat yu zhu should b ok rather than go to mental hospital...somemore wat happen to liu yi dao?? oso nv realli c yue niang &amp; hb 2gether wan leh!

caramelle, sorry i got the info wrong abt the triple test. it's a blood test, non invasive. the info that is correct is if the NT scan and normal blood test results is ok then no need for triple test as the NT scan+blood test is more accurate.

What is a triple screen?
A triple screen is a blood test that measures three things called alpha-fetoprotein, human chorionic gonadotropin and unconjugated estriol. The results of the blood test can help your doctor see if your baby may be at higher risk for certain birth defects such as Down syndrome and neural tube defects.

hi jam75, i heard wireless is better cos it will not cause our ducts to get clot, so breastfeeding will be easier. not sure if true. long time nvr wear wireless bra already.

Jess_Ma, I think you're right, it's too heaty liao.. all antibiotics and all meds finish and still got green mucus/phlegm
I supposed to take shi san tai bao end of this mth, I'll see how lor.. I haven't take my vitamins yet.. worried it'll make more heaty, but I take calcium pills at nite, it should help with our joint pains I heard.. thanks for the info
taking ur advise, I just bought a box of chocolates to seduce bb next week.. hee..

Jackie, congrats 2 u n ur lil prince

bbpotato/jam75, the movement is not like obvious kicking or so.. it's more like butterfly in the tummy.. or like some fish is moving inside..
got certain timing too.. usually got more at night.. I'm 19 wk 5 days.. have been feel some slight movement since wk 18..
by wk 20 should be more..

jam75, the aqua aerobics is $111.30 on Saturday, I saw it in this site http://www.kkh.com.sg/SharedCMS/Templates/Singhealth%20Generic%20Template.aspx?NRMODE=Published&amp;NRORIGINALURL=%2fForPatientsnVisitors%2fClassesforWomenandParents%2f&amp;NRNODEGUID=%7b30C61E66-E542-4CD1-B28C-17AEE2A7EC98%7d&amp;NRCACHEHINT=Guest#2

createjoy, thanks for explainin abt piles, think what I have is tear.. skin too dry.. but no constipation so far.. I'm considering btwn kkh antenatal class &amp; tmc now.. both are equally far from my place.. hmm..

toffeecat, yah lor.. went to those shops like mothercare, kiddy plc, can only drool looking at the bb clothes.. hand itchy to buy liao..

little nyonya ending not as great as the whole story plot.. very funny, if an qi father n brothers oredi know, she so naive still dunno meh..? haiz.. it's a hao xin mei hao bao story? she so nice yet can't be with the man she love, has no children n miscarriage some more..

I started on the bird nest too, will take it every two weeks, I bought the premium single bottled one, bought 6 of them.. will take young coconut when I'm 28 wks, mum said will make bb hair glowing n nice, but some ppl said also it'll help with labour, that's why must take only in 3rd trimester..

bbpotatoes, my fren was saying if wireless wan will look saggy ma...hhehe...so tinking izzit wif wire beter...

mika, i oso heard if breastfeeding beter to use wireless leh! but simi is ducts get clot??

Jackie,

yeah, she has no packages + her queue is super long. Everytime burn a big hole in my pocket. hehe. i guess we are the only