(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

amk_gal,KKH class can't liao ah... i just abt to call them today.. previously never think abt it..

Ling,ya but i can see tummy already,wear t-shirt a bit tight.. not a bit only actually...your face got lots of breakouts maybe bc you taking multi vitamin,heaty??Some of the oil we can't use,need to chk with them..

bbPotato,you will be fine.. we waiting for your good news ;-)

Shelisa,weekend i go and chk.. My mil said after drink 'shi san tai bao' want to vomit out one.. but it's good... for me ,i'm heaty type,afraid later bcome more heaty liao...

bbPotato, Thanks for your information.

jam75, yup. take moderation is ok.. not too much. As shark contain mercury (if i dun rem wrongly)

Jess Ma, i same with u.. all along body heaty type. now i abit heaty liao. so drink alot of plain water, then slip in abit of chry, like that mouth got sweet sweet taste. maybe u check it out can? my grandma didnt tell me need to vomit out leh.

bbpotatoes & shelisa, my cousin say cannot take at all...at least wif wat u'll say take moderation will b fine...i won't missed my mom sharkfins soup le! hee

my cousin v onz lo realli No coffee & tea....but i still drink coffee & tea once a while aft my 1st tri...realli peifu her!

bbpotato, gathering sounds good..
hope the infection is cleared.. dun worry, you'll be alright..

Shelisa, I already start taking one packet, it is quite heaty, but my grandma said not to take it after 2nd trimester.. I think Jess_Ma means that after drinking it, you'll feel like vomiting, very strong taste.. but I'm quite used to chinese medicine, so I feel it's quite ok..

Jess_Ma, I've been wearing clothes one size bigger than usual, and I choose the loose cutting one.. maybe that's why not so tight for me..

lovelytulips, when we did oscar test, i tot ur tummy already pretty obvious?? i think everyone's tummy grow at a very diff rate, my colleague's tummy is so small as if she is not pregnant and her baby is as big as mine.

chidori, u got the same result for the 3 tests ah... so zun one ah =)

Jess, better sign up soon else no slot.

ling, toking abt clothes...i hv yet to wear any maternity clothes but most of my bottom cannot wear liow...2dae i still wear 1 jeans skirt used to b loose wan now i wear i can't even button up but i bo chap juz wear since my top is long enough to cover up...haha....lucky b4 i pregnant i already bot quite a no of bb doll top & dress so can last mi f a while...but hv to start buying maternity clothes liow if not nothing to wear le! haha

bbPotato,
yeah, we should meet up for a drink someday in the west
My bump is also so much bigger than the previous one & i didn't buy much maternity clothes(only 3pcs) last rd (imagine i can still squeeeze in my normal size clothes). But now, i really need to source out more.

jam75, i love shark fin so i will still eat if i got the chance to eat wont purposely go eat it.

after i found out im pregnant i also imm cut tea n coffee and those cooling thing. But i still eat cold and chill thing.

Ling, strong chinese medicine taste. hmm. must give second thought. i scare the chinese medical smell.

ladies, i often wear t-shirt and jean to work. as working in construction not convenient to wear shirt or dress. but this week i have try the wear maternity jean but it is high waist type. it make me so uncomfortable. so for those like me use to wear low waist jean or short rem not to buy high waist as the rubber make ur tummy abit itchy n tight.

i think dont need ba... since shark's fin proportion is so little. and i think some resturants also put very little only, think mostly the starch and other ingredients.

yu sheng - i think dont eat if it's raw fish. eat yu sheng with abalone!!! :p

neeciel, i think the clothes i wear somehow "determine" how big my tummy looks ba, and the time of the day, as in whether i've just eaten or not eaten anything etc..... but personally, i think my tummy is showing....

cant wait for my appt tomorrow. hopefully will know the gender....

lovelytulips, ya agreed the content of fins is so little, some restaurants even used fake ones....so guess wont be too harmful to us.

Oh thats good, rememeber to share with us if u managed to get ur baby's gender, my turn on Tues =)

Shelisa is right, the book also got write that shark, mackerel and tuna have mercury. so have to abstain. but i already ate during my 6th week at my SIL wedding cos i didn't know i was pregnant

wow you work on a construction site? must be tiring cos have to stand and walk ard all day rite?

nozomi, just got 80% confirmation that i'll be having a baby gal. sigh..

think my emotional state also getting a bit haywired. cried for an hour after coming home.. cos i feel everyone in the family got high hopes for a boy...

bluedreams, think i got left out in the list. my gynae is Dr Tan Yew Ghee and due date got shifted forward to 16th jun from 20th. think now the gynae measure the head diameter.

11_beans, yesterday i also feel a bit pain the the bottom of my breast near the bone. but doesn't seem to be the same place?

Ling, can we drink shi san tai bao? cos when i was first went to see my gynae, it sound like one of the things that he says cannot take. dunno whether cos 1st tri or what. but he says it may cause jaundice. think better check with your gynae?
also i know it's hard to cut down our favourite drinks, maybe can drink half the cup that you usually drink or think of another drink that you like? eh, spicy noodles also not too good for gastric leh. but i also always eat things i'm not supposed to eat. think everything in moderation should be ok... :|

bbjun, think your hb quite encouraging to talk abt different foods until you get craving :p my hb like to restrict the food that i take.

<font color="119911">Sorry gals,

about ginseng again.. just read somewhere in a study done in hkg, ginseng in the early stages of pregnancy can lead to deformations.. so please please be careful...

Re : bird's nest
My MIL tell me not to take bird nest, gynae also, not in early stages at least. According to MIL, bird nest cause asthma in bb.. According to Gynae, erm. no use even if take. So maybe best to stick to fresh fruits and vegetables??

Re : Shark Fin
Read in books, cannot take shark, also no catfish. Because these 2 types of fish in particular contain high mercury, very bad. Though before I knew i was preggy, attend so many wedding and corporate lunches, all eat shark fin. but now i stop liao...</font>

Shelisa,how we can eat those tonic... too 'liang' can't,too heaty also cannot.. not need to vomit out but feel like want to vomit.. ;-) later see how first..

Ling,i think i also need to change to bigger size liao.. if not feel very hot also..

neeciel,ya,now checking liao..... KKH one mth one session..

toffeecat, regardless boy or girl. most impt is the bb healty. after that you can try again. u have to control ur emotion.
cheers up!!

lovelytulips, pls rem to keep us posted

Jess Ma, I still continue drink lor.. but will drink plenty of plain water. but if start to sore throat then stop awhile.

11_Beans, err bird nest really cause
asthma? this is the first time i heard of it. like that we totally cannot drink?

jam 75 i also always breathless leh think it's becos i seldom exercise all the while though i slim then 1st trimester doc say dont go shopping dont walk too much so hardly go out cos i not working so inactive lor haha. hah so i'm not the only "lao tai po" around..
yup monday just saw at clinic shark fin high mercury aiyah but not as if eating alot and often.. i think small bowl once a blue moon ok.. yu sheng i dont think is good idea the preserve veg all preserve and coloring and raw... just like we must avoid salad that may not be properly washed i think it's the same for yusheng. i also got hair leh i thought it was there all the time mayb just got longer or wat haha so it's a norm.. i thought only will have a dark line up to belly button? hair also like that???

Nozomi, i think it's impt to go antenatal class to learn the proper way of caring for bb and breathing technique. esp if 1st bb afterall ur mum &amp; in law gave birth so long ago, u wont want to be in panic if they happen not to be around. amk gal Kkh feb class end in april. 9 session mah 2 mths only. that class is spread out such that we learn to cope different things when we in different weeks. and though urs abit late but at least the breathing technique be fresh in ur mind when u give birth, not to worry.

hah shelisa i also leh very protective go shopping see kids walk by i faster cover my tummy scare they run and bump into me. nobody give me seats too.. i grab seats myself unless i feeling ok and got elderly then i give in to them. Toffeecat, still can try next round for boy mah. as long as healthy girl boy ok lah dont be sad.. girl can dress up so sweet &amp; preety, boys cloths so bored. and girls usually not so naughty leh. somemore girls usually sweet and more thoughtful. then next time jie jie can help take care of little bro? think positive oh.

ya actually read alot book say bird nest got some protein but not exactly alot not very useful, dont know how much it really help to make bb fair but if really want eat maybe take last trimester and eat good ones. oh ya no stingray too... catfish??? how often we eat that? do we have that on "zhu char" menu?

ling, not as if u eating half the btl of wastermelon powder... abit dab on ulcer not much not very liang one. i took 2 weeks to recover... at home do nothing laze ard sometimes go my sis or mum place. haha y? u want to plan ur days after ur last work day? go kkh support group class with me lor. 1st tues of the mth. plan to go some breast feeding classes later in the trimester.

oh yeah i'm at west side too!! bukit batok... ya ya can arrange go out. who ever saw got fair or free/cheap bb or mummy classes then we go together lor ok?

Jess Ma, 1 month 1 lesson then how many lessons to complete in all? In time to complete meh??

createjoy, i used to stay at bukit batok b4 wedding =)

KKH

Antenatal Programme

Weekend classes for Jan intake already full.
Weekday classes
6.30 pm - 8.15 pm
WED class 21-Jan-09 to 18-Mar-09

Thu class 22-Jan-09 to 19-Mar-09

Fri class 30-Jan-09 to 27-Mar-09

Feb class 's timetable not out yet,but will be end in May.

createjoy,i'm try to use bamboo salt that toffeecat told me one.. seems like better a lots liao.. i'm waiting chistmas day then i planning my days after my last work day liao.. christmas day is my last working day in that company,but seem like boss still want to assign me some new jobs to do although now he got 2 new staff.. want to go learn something.. r u plan to register KKH Antenatal Programme ?

jam75, so good u can still wear ur normal jeans-skirt ah..? all my normal clothes can't wear anymore, 2 wks ago I tried my normal black work-pants, unbutton also cannot cope liao.. so I'm stuck with bbdoll dresses onli, I only have 6, so every week wear the same one
do u wear the maternity pants/skirt yet, my mum bought for me the one with adjustable waist, but just like Shelisa, I oso find it uncomfortable to wear for now..

Shelisa, when it's cooking, I can smell it from outside the house.. but I like the smell of tcm leh

tulips, good idea.. I was ready to give up yu sheng until ur post, suggested it to my hubby liao..

toffeecat, oh no.. really..? I didn't know abt the ingredients tho.. but I was told that at least 4 generations in my family has been taking it when they were pregnant last time, my mum, grandma, great grandma.. think I didn't have jaundice when I was born.. but again, it might differs from one to another.. my sil also took it 2 yrs ago, and her bb boy very fair and healthy
for food, you're rite leh.. I'm trying hard not to have teh o, so took decaf tea.. but yeah, take things in moderation, except for those that's a big no-no, I totally avoid..

11_beans, catfish is not a seawater fish, sure we cannot take ah..?

toffeecat, dun b sad.. u can try again.. if mummy sad, bb oso sad.. cheer up okie..

createjoy, u won't believe it, I've always been quite addicted to those bitter green powder 'ku shen', I can finish one bottle in a few days only.. my mum n hubby would scold me each time I take it.. u're goin to breastfeeding class..? they usually have free lesson after we give birth..

toffeecat,

<hugz> try not to think so much..ur bb will feel it. BB girl will take care of their younger siblings, closer to mummy + as pretty as mummy.
Every life is a god's gift, it's a blessing to be able to conceive a healthy and fullterm child. (just my personal opinion after my experience) =) You would be blessed with a boy boy in the next preg. rem to stay in happy spirits throughout.

createjoy,
erm, i think you got the wrong person mentioning about the antenatal class? i didn't mention about it..heheh. hey, u lived in bukit batok (near mrt?) i lived near imm, it wld be so near then. ;)

Ling, sometime i walk pass those TCM shop i nearly vomit even before pregnant. i feel the feel very strong. Light still fine with me.

Jess Ma, no choice, you still under the company thus whatever he give u, u need to do. When reach 25th, then u tell him sorry, have to handover the project totally to the 2 new girls. as u are FREEDOM now!!

toffeecat, dont be sad... can always try again. and a healthy baby is most important. must stay happy..... remember u can shop and shop for girls...

yup yup, will update u gals... no preference for gender so i hope i will be surprised! ahaha

neeciel, stingray ah... dont know. but i think i got eat. dont have it all to yourself should be ok. :p

u remind me of, can eat canned sardines???

i'm craving for carl's junior now.... haha

neeciel/tulips, stingray I also ate before (in wk 5 &amp; wk 7), dunno can or not.. canned sardines, I ate dunno how many times liao.. tulips, the guacamole nice hor..

Shelisa, it's not that bad ba.. before I drank, my mum and sil both scare me n said that it smells &amp; taste bad, gotta have some sweet drinks to gulp afterwards, or some candies to soothe the taste so u won't vomit it out.. but turn out when I drank, it's really not that bad, the ku shen I took was more bitter actually.. if u really not used to it, can have like honey water, or cool fruit juice to drink straight after lor.. but if u worried it might get too bloated, u can take some candies too..

lovelytulips, cos my MIL cooked sting-ray for me that day, i din come across article saying cannot eat, so i ate lor...

i think sardines can lah...

i am craving for Jack's place now... lobster bisque and rib eye steak!!

Ling, guacamole?? i dont know which one.... will go find out...

Steak?? Hog's Breath! but hor, eat well done steak at good places seem like a waste leh....

lovelytulips, i have exactly the same thought as u...if not i wld have headed to Jack's Place last week liao.

U know wat, i ended up substitute with beef noodle

tulips, it's the one with the green avocado sauce..
yeah, me too love Hog's Breath.. just took the prime ribs med-rare last wk, very nice.. I won't take again until I give birth lor.. my sil took steak all throughout her pregnancy, but I'm not that brave la..

hiak...

i went to eat japanese beef bowl. and told them, i wan the beef thoroughly cooked. the person look at it.... turn out the meat was like abit difficult to chew.....

think i'll eat beef patties next time....

Ling, so was your sil's bb big size??? heard eat beef can be quite big wor.....

u eat it med-rare ah... brave of u. think my hubby will probably give me the "kill u" look if i order that.

Ling, ur SIL got for well done ah?

tulips, jap food i eat until sian liao leh cos HB is a big fan of jap food, i dun want to compromise today leh haha

tulips, yeah
my sil's bb quite big, but very pretty, rosy cheek and blue-grey eyes.. but the father also very tall, ang moh kia.. hehee.. my hubby so far try to let me eat certain stuff as long as not too much/often, like steak is a once-in-a-while kinda thing and sil took before, so he's quite ok, but he's very against durian, crab &amp; sashimi.. I managed to get my mil to back me up for durian..

neeciel, my sil was in aust, craving for steak most of the time.. not well done.. but dunno if it makes any diff with aust beef &amp; sg beef.. me same like tulips, dowan to go jap rest one, cannot eat sashimi, kajiki etc, heart pain.. better dun see at all..

back fr e gynae, me expecting boy.

there goes my dream of having a ger one more time, hb said closed factory liao. sob sob

can start shopping liao.

still hv to wait for gynae to revert on the test results

toffeecat, my hb is a food lover n cannot tahan when I dun feel like eating.

I think beside the fish u all have listed, pls also do not take too much codfish as it also has relatively high mercury level. Once in a while is ok.

Carter's sale @ 43 Tampines St 92

The sale inc brands like Carters, Osh Kosh, RG and Tough skins
The sunsuits are at 3pcs/$10.00
Bottom for both genders (up to 24mths) @ $1/each
Mostly long sleeves tops for boys but when my sis and her colleagues came out, they saw someone came in with boys short-sleeves top.
Rompers at 5pc/$8.00 (think it is Carters brand)
Hv new-born bb blankets and limited clothes for maternal wear.

Re: birdnest

I think don't eat too much because my SIL who is TCM said is cold and next time baby easy to have cough and asthma. If really want to have fair skin, eat fruits still the best.

For my case, both my hb and I are quite tan but my son very fair and have rosy cheek because i took lots of fruits last time, scared of constipation.. haha

Read from article also mentioned vitamin C can help to get rid of the "hei she shu".