(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun, thanks for the info, feel more relieved hearing that, 1 shot got to pay $1600, heart pain leh haha...

stickymouse, anyway our initialy or fixed EDD is still estimated date only, we wont know when our little ones are eager to come out and breathe the air kaka...

Shelisa/Ling,
Yes, I resigned. Decided to have a break till b b is born. Yes, I can encash AL.

Crystal,
How long does it take to deliver your 1st child? You plan to go without epi this round? My friend encourage me to go natural without epi but I am still thinking of using epi. :p

aiyo... i cant acess this thread since yesterday evening....

neeciel, i think 800 to be paid upon the start of the package. remaining is before delivery, depending on the mode of delivery i think.

if one shot pay 1.6k by cash, more heartpain. if by card, can still earn points. wahahha

aiyo, my flu machiam coming back.... been sneezing and having block nose.

btw, neeciel, u bought the mash potato last time?? it is goldhill brand?? is it nice?? just got 1 from fairprice finest yesterday....

Sorry to interupt your thread. I am Oct08 mum. As my mum prefer to use Baby Bjorn than the 2 slings I bought for my daughter. I am putting the 2 slings I have on sale.

I got a Mum in Minds sling (Cotton Sateen, beige colour) bought at $45, used less than 10 times. I also got another carrier, very popular in the west, Sleepy Wrap (Tan colour) at $80.

Actually MIM is good for infants as BB can sleep inside it. The rocking effect also help to put my daughter to sleep. As for Sleepy wrap, I find the tying method easier than MIM sarong sling. For nursing mum, it is very discreet that you can nurse while shopping. Hehe... Also, I can actually be hand free. Both got many different ways of carrying BB. Just that my mum still prefer Baby Bjorn so no choice got to sell both away.

For more information:
MIM:http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/slingphotos.html
Sleepy Wrap: http://www.sleepwrap.com

I'm willing to let go at a good price. At half price or lower. Just dun want to let my 2 slings go into waste. Interested, just pm me.

MIM Sling:
1947714.jpg

Sleepy Wrap (not my baby, just show u the colour):
1947715.jpg

sharing my package..
antenatal care: $800 from week 20 onwards.
checkups and consultations on scheduled visits from week 20
routine urine test for protein and glucose
basic level 1 ultrasound scans in the clinic
pregnancy appreciation sessions during visits and labour orientation class of
3 hours in English at 36 week

not included:
checkup and consultatins prior to 20 weeks
blood tests amd all other investigation
unscheduled visits prior to 36 weeks
emergency consultations after office hours
medications and injections
ultrasound photos from clinic and special scans in x ray dept
all postnatal visits

normal delivery: $800

I paid $170 for first visit (consultation + scan +urine test +multi vitamins). fish oil ($30), calcium ($13) per month

gynae is experience and no nonsense type..not bad.. plus point is waiting distance from my place with night clinic.. waiting time < 30mins.. hence, for convenience, I will stick to him

Welcome, Kate Lee. mine EDD also change from end of june to 13 june 09.

neeciel, i also super broke after all check up. i visit my gyane 3 time and i spend ard $600 ++

Hmm, neeciel/bbjun/lovelytulips, our package seem the same, it is only ur gynae delivery charge is cheaper and mine is $1200 b4 gst for normal delivery. if need forcep or vaccum will be $1500 b4 gst.

BlueDream, so jealous, you really resign. hope you make the right desicion. you can go shopping with Ling, she also tender resign liao. i rem another mommies in this thread also resign liao. u all got meet up and join class together.

mine gynae clinic also cannot use card. card or net only. i was also thinking if can use card then slowly pay can earn point also not that heart pain leh.

chidori, ur package include pregnancy appreciation sessions during visits and labour orientation class of 3 hours in English at 36 week, not bad leh. i think mine don't have. but you can only start the package on week 20. i think ur package abit higher but delivery is normal. my waiting time for gynae also ard 15min-30mins.

shelisa,
sometimes also difficult to compare coz different gynae different level of experiences.. important thing is that we are comfortable and convenience for us..
in my week6, when I had spotting, i see gynae once a week.. that month i spent $800 alone on gynae charges.. but as long as my baby is healthy, I am thankful enough

chidori, yup it true. most impt we are comfortable with. we can hear more, next time if anyone ard us pregnant, we can share the knowledge with them. i always believe 一分钱一分货. so now anything fine on ur side?

shelisa,
yup me ok already
.. going on to 14 weeks already.. went for oscars and results were fine.. now scouting for maternity wear.. its so expensive in sg

chidori, it great to hear that. spore maternity wear damn ex.. simple t-shirt already $49.90. trying to source for simple 1.

Kate Lee,welcome.

Shelisa,ya i will share my info ;)

Bluedream,do u hv 1 mth notice?me also tender resign liao,we can join class together.

hey gals...
mind if I join u gals here? Currently expecting my no.2 due in 25th June.
My no.1 is coming 14mths old. =) I'm a SAHM...
I dun usually log in..cos I'll be VERY busy at home entertaining my son n doing housework... With this 2nd pregnancy..I can really feel my energy bar used up even before the end of the day.... TIRED!! So do pardon me if I go MIA for a while... now can log in cos son was sleeping...now have to go... need ot feed him liao... I'll share my package when I've got more free time.

U gals take care k? Talk to u ladies again...

good morning ladies,

got internet problem the whole day yesterday, couldn't log in at all..
good thing is MS a bit better today..
yippee

bbjun, I oso dunno, but now I'm doing all this, nail-clipping, cutting (got xmas wrapping), on the floor lor.. not that I'm very superstitious, but my mil already said this many times, so better respect and follow lah.. no harm anyway..

violac, which part of aust was that..? in perth couldn't find much leh.. chinatown got some but damn ex, frozen too.. but that was years ago lah, maybe now got more asians there.. so more durians too.. hee hee...

Shelisa, congrats ah.. I felt wk 12 also one of the worst of MS.. but now coming to wk 14, a bit better, except after the blood test (he took 2 tube), feel quite dizzy the whole evening and the next day too.. wk 16 can see again ah.. that's good, I'll be seeing my gynae on wk 17, hope can see gender liao.. the book says that on wk 18 usually can see gender clearly

Thanks Shelisa, ur package very comprehensive and quite reasonable, most other gynae would also charge that much on average, Raffles one is abt 2K plus but include delivery fee, mine is sure cheap, but I don't really know the detail price of every diff type of scan or vitamins..

Jess Ma share with you too, I only know that package price $550, 13-15 consultation counted from first visits, inclusive of ultrasounds, standard vitamins (folic acid ($6) &amp; prenavit), urine tests, didn't even know it includes that blood test I just had last week. Not include NT scan, detailed scan, and any other non-standard scan, optional fish-oil ($32). Haven't ask abt calcium, but my mother bought me one bottle at home, and I'm taking the pre-natal milk every night before sleep. The package is Medisave claimable up to $450, so I think it's worth it.

I guess my $$ will goes more to the delivery and hospital, mostly are quite similar, dr Adrian's fee has gone up, I got friends who gave birth in 2007 who told me this when she saw the current price I have, gotta check my file at home, also ard the same as Shelisa, I'm considering Mt A or Thomson, not decided between 1 or 2 bed, if 2 bed, I'm afraid if my neighbour snores or got noisy visitors, then can't rest peacefully, if 1 bed, more privacy but if left alone there feel a bit scary (u know, hospital feel in horror movies..)

crystal, I'm first time mum, may I know what is a laughing gas ? I got this book on pregnancy and delivery, showing pictures of labour, baby's born, c-sect, both look equally scary.. with the natural birth, more labour pain, but the picture of the cut for c-sect, even more scary to imagine ppl cutting ur tummy.. *faint*

tulips, we can claim medisave for delivery too, the claim amount is diff for natural, it's more for c-sect..

createjoy, I began to eat a bit messy these two weeks, took a sip of coke, ate sambal, prawn, had lemon tea from coffee shop this morning, think my bb tellin me to stop liao, got mild diarrhoea this morning.. it's okie, when do u plan to take the pre-natal class n where ? maybe can see u there
my hb agree to go for the pre-natal class, which I told him would be later ard wk 20 plus..

Kate welcome and congrats

viola/bbjun/Shelisa/Kate, I keep seeing other mum's gynae changing the EDD, mine all the way remains the same leh.. asked him last wk if any changes, he said dun have, still the same..

BlueDream, that's nice, now can concentrate more on bb and urself.. my hb asked if I can still cope with preg n the job, but this is the job I really wanted, if I left now, won't be easy to be back here.. so far in my dept, got 3 ladies on maternity, 1 pregnant 8 mths, 2 pregnant 5 mths, it's baby boom here.. and no one is leaving yet..
anyone's tummy showing more now ? I can feel some very solid-round2 shape on the tummy just below the navel, should be the water bag I guess..

kate &amp; lavender, welcome!!

wow, you all know the package deals already. i haven't. my gynae or the nurses didn't talk to me about it. i think mine's starts at 16 weeks and it's abt $500 bah. but i don't know what it includes. unlimited consultations + scans maybe. delivery package i forgot, my hb knows. let me check with him agn.

just started my week 14 today. hopefully my MS has disappeared for good. last nite threw up gastric juice so badly that i burnt my throat, still feeling the pain now. Ling how are you getting on?

Jess Ma, i like spicy too. my mom said prefer spicy food means having boy, ha! don't know how true, let's test it.

cheery, i think antenatal packages can claim mediasave of up to 450. submit the receipts during admission and i think the pple will do for u the claim.

can anyone let me know what's the rate for CL now?? trying to look for one now....

morning ling,happy to know that your MS a bit better now.thank you for those info,i think $550 is quite good price,let me chk with KKH tomorrow then let u know how is it.i drink pre-natal milk everyday but not really like the smell.1 or 2 bed i think should be no much diff,if 1 bed then u can ask your husband company you to stay there.

Mika Rei,hehe,don't know whether it's true or not.do you still like sour food also?for me,smell it already want to vomit.

Jess Ma, hmmm... i think slightly sour i still can take, too sour won't make me vomit, but it's just too sour for me to take. i prefer spicy. curry and cut chilli are nice. wah, think of curry veg already want to drool.

today my tummy feels very tight. anybody feeling the same? arghh... don't know how to ease the tightness. already using clarins oil while bathing.

Mika Rei,ya me too,i also like indonesia ayam penyet with the chilli.hehe...

Sometimes my tummy feels very tight too,don't know what's the reason,but after i go rest for a while then feel better.tomorrow i go and ask my gynae then let you know.

welcome Ashley Wong, Little_eye &amp; lavender_lover.

Jess, i love spicy food but i do love sour food too.. those fishball soup or fish soup quite turn me off.

Ling, i also feel week 12 MS is the worst. last time i will have the feeling to vomit but reach week 12 i really vomitted out and the feeling is bad. vomit until cried, tear, flu. haiz. but it great to hear your MS gg better.

Ling/Jess, if your gynae package is cheap i think maybe his delivery charge wont be too expensive. the diff bte 1 bedded and 2 bedded for Mount A for 2 day 1 night the diff is ard $600.

i am so excited...

i keep thinking that in very short 6 months, we'd be fussing over a baby at home... 6 months is a short time!

ling, i studied in perth! that's many years ago too. i attended an asian church and one of the uncles there own asian provision shop, somehow he got lobangs to import wonderful durians.

don't worry about changing EDDs, we know it's only an estimate to tell us we're 40 weeks in gestation.

lovelytulips, warning: iron pills cause constipation. i feel horrible 'cos i feel like i'm full of sh*t hehehe and yet nothing happens in the toilet

Shelisa,the fishball soup too fishy.. ;-) first time i vomitted out was happend after i ate fishball soup.but fish is good for BB.everytime i visit them is around $100-200 incl blood test and routine test.

Ashley Wong,welcome..

Later i go to buy aloe vera to put on my desk,it's for preventing radiation.

Jess Ma, I take both spicy and sour too.. but tryin hard to cut chilli tho.. they said not good for bb.. whoa, that chilli very very evil leh.. bought with my hb @Marina Sq before, he got diarrhoea for two days straight.. some more, sambal got prawn paste.. so try to cut down ah..

lavender_love, Ashley welcome!

Mika, MS a bit better today, still got it on Monday and Tuesday tho.. will be 14 wk tomorrow, hopefully it continue to disappear..
try to eat something solid, vomitting gastric juice is not nice at all leh.. I know how u feel.. my pre-natal milk was small container one, almost finish, going to get a chocolate one next..

Shelisa, you're having flu ? I'm having cough.. think it's the season, rain a lot too lately.. bear with it ah.. think the MS should be better by 14 wk.. heeeh.. the diff btw 1 &amp; 2 bedded in Mt A so much..? haiz, have to reconsider then..

violac, yes
very excited to think of our baby.. but for now, I'm scared more abt the labour time.. heey..
*hi5* also perth ah.. so lucky got lobang, was there a few years only see durian one in a while, just 2-3 box each time too.. so not to interested lor.. my friend told me now got more asians there, not as quiet as it used to.. I missed the fish n chips @freo..

iron pills caused constipation, really..? I'm taking prenavit frm my gynae, should be the iron supp I think, so far no constipation.. I took it together with the folic acid &amp; fish oil, maybe also I ate a lot of fruits that helps, somehow I feel that eating fruits help me with the nausea.. so now just continue whether got nausea or not..

cheery, as tulips said, gotta submit it on admission to hospital, think they'll help you from there..

Feel so good that I haven't vomitted yet today so far. This is my 14th week. I had laksa today for lunch which is so very lemak. So far still ok. keeping my fingers crossed. Think morning sickness is improving. Sharing this as it is very encouraging - to finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. I used to vomit 6-8 times a day.

jess, honey water? really? cool thanks, i'll try. i was on the verge of buying prune juice already.

ling, really which uni were you from? i was at UWA, i actually found better fish and chips near my place (my fav take-out dinner during exam periods). cicerello's was more like a... once-in-a-while when family/bf visit me then i bring them there hehhe

i was taking pre-natal vits before and i never had constipation problem. it's only when i begin to enter 2nd trimester where the baby's bones are forming that i take fuller-dosage calcium and iron pills. i think i'll switch back to prenatal multi vits soon, there is iron content too but not as much as the individual iron pills.

violac, i was at curtin
aww.. bring back old memories, dimsum at northbridge, I missed the fried squid there, yeah.. freo is nice to talk around with visiting families.. I like Miss Maud's smorgasboard..
actually I really like it there, can drive without jam (and NO ERP!) and thinkin that if one day I got married, I want to live there.. but now cannot liao, hb is the only son, so can't go anywhere liao for now..

calcium also causing constipation ? hmm, must increase my fruits intake then.. the clinic moved forward my next appoinment by a week as it originally falls on boxing day.. they're closed I think..

neeciel, we spend so much but still have to earn needle pain.

Jess, i wont vomit but it just turn me off. recently im more craving on cold dessert like ice kacang, chedol.

Ling, yup, the diff is quite alot. 2 bedded &amp; 4 bedded 2 day 1 night diff ard $200. last sun i have bad heaty that my left ear was affected. i almost cant hear anything as i think too heaty then affect my ear too. normally if my body too heaty will affect my ears, will cause them pain, swollen or cant hear. till today still flu and some phleme greenish. eat medicine liao but seem to recover very slowly. plus i dun dare todrink too cooling scare affect bb too.

Kate Lee, you are making all mommies here that have MS getting happy as most of us reaching 12-14 weeks. counting down.

stickymouse, after i see ur msg. you make me so excited. you make me feel like i have done nthin so far, haven buy maternity clothes, haven buy bb clothes, bb products, my products. seem to be gg to rush. hahaha.
i advise u not to drink prine juice, that time i rem a mommies here drink prune juice, ended up tummy painand she rush to hospital. i think take banana, red dragom fruit or thing with more fibre?

shelisa, is chendol the black black one? 仙草 or something like that? heard it's very 'liang'. don't take too much.

iron can cause constipation and dark stools, i think calcium still ok bah. but calcium and iron cannot take together, cos the body cannot absorb. so since we are on iron pills, have to drink lotsa water to prevent constipation and the need to exert force in case it causes bleeding.

Shelisa, needle pain already begin from early pregnancy.. can't believe it, I've been avoiding needle all my life, now gotta take it so many times.. eeh, so ex.. last time they said only $60 diff inclusive of food for hb too.. how come so ex now.. I have been coughing, so took some lozenges and Ku Shen (green powder), just found out this morning that it's not safe for pregnancy.. haiz.. bought strepsils over lunch time then.. Shelisa, better take care, weather not so good lately, with bb must really watch ur health k..

Mika, chendol is the green green one.. look like huge nose wax.. hee hee.. I dunno if it's liang, but grass jelly is liang.. btw.. I just bought this wheat grass drink, is it 'liang' too..? and, if cannot mix calcium and iron pills, can I take iron pills in the morning, then calcium in evening, will that work..?

mika is right. calcium does not cause constipation, it's iron. happens that i'm taking these two together (but one in morn, one at night). if i cannot make it, then i 算了 won't exert already.. 'cos i dont' want to get piles!!

(by the way, chendol is green. xian cao is grass jelly

shelisa, i haven't done much either. i've only bought some maternity clothes and looses dresses 'cos my existing ones cannot make it already. newborns are really basic, you don't have to stock up so much, just the essentials.

so far we've kept in mind a cot and stroller model. just that we're not in a hurry to purchase yet. and i'll get my parents to buy milk bottles in the US, so there really isn't much for me to do except get diapers and toiletries. newborns got food, got sleep, got cuddles can already hahahaha

have i oversimplified things?

read somewhere that iron pills is best taken at night when the absorption rate is highest. Anyway I have been taking my supplements at night right before i go to bed cuz I was worried about vomitting them if i take them in the day as my MS was bad.

oh, chendol is the green one. ha, i don't take chendol, don't take grass jelly, so mixed up. so it's the grass jelly tat cannot take too much.

wheatgrass is not medically proven if it's good or bad for pregnancy. but moderation should do fine i think.

take calcium &amp; iron one morning one night is ok. since kate mentioned iron pill is best taken at night, maybe can take iron pill at nite and calcium in the day. then it's well spread out.

stickymouse, you gonna buy sterilizer? i also don't know what we need to buy. my friends always say there's so much shopping to do before the bb comes. i'm still not sure apart fr cot, pram, clothes, bottles, diapers, sterilizer, changing mat, powder, baby wipes, wat else is there? maybe a manual/electric pump? wat else?

Shelisa, no choice leh for our little ones, we got to sacrifice =)

hopefully my MS will be better today, stil got it on and off, now already 13 weeks, still feel super bloated and nausea in the evening esp past 2 days, affecting my dinner =(

welcome Ashley Wong, Little_eye &amp; lavender_lover =)

I'm very excited ,tomorrow going to see my BB and do the NT Scan.last time i was confused,i though NT Scan and test DS is diff testing.

My MS became better since this tuesday.

Ling,wah.. in that case i got to control,don't eat too much chilli and specially sambal..

Shelisa and Ling,you both flu and cough?can try steam pear with honey,it's helps.

Shelisa,my gynae told me that actually we can eat a bit cold dessert,i still dare not to try.I like low fat ice cream.If the dessert is not only cold also "liang" then you better don't eat first.My lady boss asked me to not eat watermelon first.

Stickymouse,ya,honey water or steam pear with honey both can.Or a bit japanese sweet potato.

Jess, watermelon is liang meh?? i already started drinking coke and pu-er tea and oso eating watermelon.

neeciel,watermelon a bit liang.but still can eat bah,i eat once a week also.coke is not really good for health.

some pple tell me watermelon is heaty. i also confused. but i only eat a few cubes. i also drink coke and some chinese tea when out eating.....

and i drink teh o almost everyday!!! :p

feel so nausea after dinner and i vomitted again. sianz

Thanks for the warm welcome gals! =)

Think for food wise, moderation is the key...dun eat too much of a certain food or drink... just eat as per normal. Just make sure no halfcooked or raw stuffs n also fises wit high mercury level like sharks etc.

for tose who are thinking of getting pumps..do invest in an electric one... saves u n hubby ALOT ALOT of trouble n pain... I'm serious..been thru n done it...bought a manual one initially then realise it's such a chore and pain to pump breast pain... thus ended up buying a electric one n saves time too!!

Watermelon, coffee.... I've been drinking since preggie n even for my 1st one..also doing that. Wasn't really particular in what I ate..just ate normally just making I dun eat the forbidden food I've listed earlier. Caffiene intake have to watch though... can cause pre mature labour or MC...

ok.. gonna go... so tired everyday....sigh.... but enjoying every single moment with my little one... no regrets aving kids!

Mika, chendol is green green 1.. i think not 'liang' as they use flour and colouring. no wonder on last sat i start with my iron pills, no wonder go toilet diff colour. scare me leh. i nearly wanna go see gynae ask her y suddenly all dark dark or black colour 1??

Ling, Green wheat we cannot drink.. that time i go 'fu hua' wanna buy that green wheat drink. that person say too liang.. if u drink those can 1 ok. but not those fresh juice or fresh wheat.

Ling, im didnt eat those heaty food! just dunno y after 'p' so easy happily body heaty.. how to eat tonic?

stickymouse, for bb clothes, i ask ard to ask ppl to give me. maybe only will buy a few new clothes. so can save.. but our clothes pretty ex.. try to look ard before buying.

Kate Lee, my gynae ask me morning eat iron, noon multi vitamins, night calcium.. so i can change myself? or must follow gynae instruction?

Jess, Actually for ice-cream im still taking almost everyday as my mommies or aunties say ice-cream is ok. but for those 'liang' cold dessert i also still take but very seldom, maybe 1 week 1 time. sometime it is due to body too heaty no choice must eat. Actually my mommies dun allow me to eat those ice kacang or chendol, she said scare the ice too cold but i still eat abit.

lovelytulips, actually my SIL 2nd pregnancy she also drink tea-o at least 1-2 cups a day without fail. the bb come out still so so healthy but the skin abit dark. so i feel no harm drinking those tea, coffee or coke. it just not too much.

neeciel, u try the non-caffein coke?

So happy that today is Friday and there is a long weekend ahead!

I was so upset and angry with a colleague yesterday that I couldn't even eat dinner properly. To think I need to work with her on a few projects. Don't think my patience can last so long. No wonder the rest of my colleagues don't want to work with her. Sigh.

welcome Ashley Wong, Little_eye &amp; lavender_lover =)