(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

hello ladies, internet down for the whole day, just manage to crawl in.

last sat went for NT, my darling was sleeping, so my gynae gently use the equipment to hit my tummy more then 20 times but my bb just seem to enjoy the sweet dream. after 10 mins still the same, so gynae try to take the best position and tell me the risk of DS is very low. Nert appt on 27/12, gynae say need to take blood test for DS and 'di zhong hai'. my gunae said base on her experience, and the bb look like, i shld be expecting a little princess.

Anyway any mommies here sign package with female gynae? As last sat i just sign package with my gynae and i feel it is pretty expensive. alot of ppl tell me not worth it.

bbjun, sorry, im blur blur liao.

Sharon Chee, so u means the strepsils in orange flavour is safe to eat?

Ling, that time the nurse also say me, like that also pain next time dunno how to stand the give birth pain. i was like . . .

hi all, MS doesn't seem to subside. arghhh... still keep throwing up.

i think better to avoid sugarcane even if the store preparing it seems ok. cos sugarcane has high absorbancy, it absorbs dirty water easily when put on the ground. so if the sugar cane was not stored properly before reaching the store owner, even if the store owner wash it, the dirty water is still IN the sugarcane already.

Ling, i didn't know clarins oil need to be rinsed off also. the booklet and the box no instructions. hmmm....

Ling, put the pillows in between your legs like bolster when sleeping. actually it really feels better. the leg above wun be pressing on your tummy.

bbjun, can dye hair, can rebond or not? heehee

Shelisa, glad for the good test results for you
how much is ur package ? gotta check what is inclusive in the package, some of us got cheap cheap package but doesn't include anything (tests, etc).. blah.. they all think got poke by needle is fun ah.. I'd rather stand tummy pain than the poke of a needle.. but.. during labour oso must take the epidural injection leh.. but after the remark, I'm a bit worried too, my threshold of pain is very low..

Shelisa, so fast u know is a princess liao ah?? How come leh??

Today my MS is much better, only morning after my supplement i feel nausea, dunno if tomoro will be better, if yes that means MS bye bye liao =)

Sharon, thanks for the advice. will monitor and see if the flu/sore throat goes away.....

Shelisa, so fast know the gender?? wow..... those who knew about my preg start asking if i know about bb's gender already... they more gan chion than me.

neeciel, when u going back to see Dr Chan? She was saying that will probably be able to know the gender then. I also hoping to know then can buy stuff... post-xmas sales will be tempting...
glad ur MS is much better... think it will go away soon la..... probably exceptional times... like me, i vomited and felt very nauseated only yesterday after a whole week of being ok.

cheery, i'm at my 11th week now.. if i can have any wish granted now, it'll be for MS and the bloatedness to go away!!! drinking some bandung makes me feel better... so i'm drinking some now.

by the way, does anyone know if we can use ru yi oil for gassy tummy? would it help?

i'm doing my NT test next week.. wonder if will be able to see baby's gender..

For ladies using the clarins oil, the lady at causeway point also told me no need to rinse off. by morning most of it has been absorbed so i dun find it oily.. i guess it's fine not rinsing off.

lovelytulips, my next appt is 23 Dec at 330pm =)
ya she told me can see gender then and baby will be stable liao =)

When is ur next appt?

i think u have to monitor wat u eat throughout the day, maybe try avoiding oily and fried stuff and try not to eat too full?

amk_gal, NT scan can see baby's gender so fast? NT scan done bw 11-14 weeks leh, so early can see ah?

I am using ru yi oil for my tummy, it does feel better.

Shelisa, how come ur package nt worth it?

haha ling, u make me drool too! just yday i craving for sashimi...i got ate crab hee 1 pc when i 6wk.. crab, & sotong- bantang the kid very active next time lah but actually can eat moderately. luckily when i 3 wk preg i ate jap buffet din know preg eat raw sashimi till shiok shiok.

do u all eat sunnyside up?i know half boil cannt lah but sunny side up leh?also must fully cook till soild?

haha lovelytulip i also very heaty leh,got a big fat ulcer at the side of my tongue just nice ganna my teeth so unbearable pain. talk like big tongue sound weird weird.. keep eating fried chn, curry.. becos no appetitie haha deserve it...

aiyoh mika now i slp on my left, put bolster too heavy leg numb, put pillow not thick enough so mafan. my pillow for head think too hard (bought 2 mth only) seahorse one qt ex leh but slp on side, slp till ear pain also. now thinking whether to buy new pillow.

ya lor leg raise help blood to flow back to heart and reduce cramp, we shd do it every night at least 15min esp wn bigger oh.

today just saw my darling. 4.4cm, wk 11 heartbeat 141 , doc say doing good but i thought someone said before shd be above 160? wow lau today saw at kkh , a normal scan n see gynae only 60+ , my mt e gynae $180 leh...but hb say dont switch to kkh cos my mt e gynae see half yr liao. happy leh, kkh psychiatrist say i can continue see her even if i dont deliver in kkh. got a medi to help me relax and sleep..

huh sharon chee cannot leh i cant tahan chewing prune, drink already very mian qiang. ya lor bbjun i heard dye hair is ok aft 1st trimester too. as long as the hairdresser dont touch the scalp but not really encourageable lah. rebond ah must find out more.. ya lor mummy want mei mei as long as not very dangerous go ahead lor.saw this thread on rebonding during preg fyi : http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1114954.html?1205816798

i also thinking last few days after reading delivery, sound so pain and if last min caesarean ganna both labor pain n surgery pain lagi jialut.. i cant imagine the sleepless night we gonna suffer when we more than 30wk so heavy... i hope i like my sis induce labour better then i dont need go into panic with contraction or waterbag burst hahaha.. oh btw i found my wrap skirt from ebay already, thanks for advising me.

createjoy, cannot eat sunnyside up unless the egg yoik is fully cooked, not those poke liao egg yolk can stay on ur fork one, those cannot eat lor.

Createjoy, try Hallmark down pillow or Tempur queen pillow. A good down pillow is very soft yet provide support to our neck. Tempur queen pillow also not bad as it will intend according to our face shape. It is good for side sleeper or back sleeper. Dun get the typical neck support type as it's only good for back sleeper. Both pillow come with different thickness depending on how big/small size we are. However this 2 pillows are damn exp in Malaysia - over RM600. Maybe it's cheaper in Spore.

I am using Tempur Queen personally.

createjoy, think metro having some promo for hallmark and tempur with the metro card. just saw the promo leaflet today.

ya... cannot eat sunny side up. but hor, those macdonalds egg mcmuffin can eat???? the egg looks cooked but some parts a bit raw?

i'm having this big pimple on my body, near the chest area. it looks so ugly so i went to press it.

neeciel, i'm going on 20th. think it's a sat cos pai seh to take too many off and time off. hopefully can know gender then.

actually, i take it as quite stable more or less already. it's like a relief. actually, after the gynae checkup with the oscar results, it's like a rock down for now. guess there are other things to worry about later on........

hi all, MS doesn't seem to subside. arghhh... still keep throwing up.

i think better to avoid sugarcane even if the store preparing it seems ok. cos sugarcane has high absorbancy, it absorbs dirty water easily when put on the ground. so if the sugar cane was not stored properly before reaching the store owner, even if the store owner wash it, the dirty water is still IN the sugarcane already.

Ling, i didn't know clarins oil need to be rinsed off also. the booklet and the box no instructions. hmmm....

Ling, put the pillows in between your legs like bolster when sleeping. actually it really feels better. the leg above wun be pressing on your tummy.

bbjun, can dye hair, can rebond or not? heehee

faint, why my post keep being repost. sorry everyone. i dunno wat's wrong.

i think those not fully cooked eggs, better don't eat bah. cos half boiled egg are also a no-no. so half cooked eggs probably same theory.

createjoy, i slp half way also will turn to the other side to slp. actually now, sleep in wat position also not comfy. ha! but i heard slpg on our sides improve blood flow to the bb, tat's why we feel more comfy. so no choice loh, bear a bit, then turn the othr side.. until slp already, then wun feel uncomfy.

thanx for the link on rebonding as well. i'm still having mixed feelings. sigh. rebonding really can cut dwn a lot on maintenance. and beauty brings happiness to mtbs and then to bb right? ha... mayb jus use the hair iron.

shelisa, how ur gynae judge, did he/she tell u? bb got cross leg or legs open one? heard cross leg more likely gal, open leg more likely boy. some old-wives tale agn.

just did my oscar on sat and nurse called me today to inform everything is ok.. my baby is 6cm++ at week 12+

some of you taking the thalesammia blood test. my gynae didnt mention about this? is it a must?

chidori, i think some gynae can draw your blood for you and send to lab for thalesammia blood test, you dont have to do it together. I think our gynae wants us to do it together cos is located at the same place, more convenient.

cheery, think no more liao, if you are near to 35 at birth age then have to do another test on diabetics near to delivery.

morning!

finally went to see a GP, was given paracetamol and pirton for the flu. that's all. was asked to drink lots of water...... doc say the med are safe for pregnancy. and my mum was fussing that i should see a gynae instead.

chidori, u can also do the thala blood test at polyclinics or normal clinics but the waiting time is long. i remembered it took almost 3 weeks to a month for polyclinic when i last did mine. but it's cheaper than doing at the gynae. think i paid ard 50-60 at poly. not too sure about gynae.

it's not a must test, but it's a good test to take so that u know whether the baby will be a carrier or not cos if both parents are thala minor, there is a possibility of the child being a major. but if 1 parent is minor and the other is ok, possibilty will be a minor or being normal. but u would want to know so that u can take precautions when baby grows up etc. like if baby is minor, then not get in a relationship with another party who is a minor also.... er.... am i right?? did i think too far????

morning ladies,

createjoy, wah lucky u got jap buffet.. that day I took 1 piece of sashimi, just one, kena scolded by hb liao
usually sunnyside up is half cooked leh, the yellow portion, unless u ask them to be fully cooked.. but better avoid lor.. scrambled egg oso, they kinda half cooked only.. eeh.. 11 wk can measure the heartbeat too..? I read from the book, it said that some predicts if the bb heartbeat is 140-160, possibility it's a boy, if it's more than 160, it's a girl, just prediction lor..

yeah, a bit undecided here, prefer natural as it recover faster, but worried of the labour pain, I shiver to imagine caesarean, need to cut some more.. induce, means another injection.. think no matter what we can't avoid pain leh.. the pack and parcel or being a mother..

anyone's gynae offered triple tests? 'cos i'm supposed to decide if we want to carry it out next visit.

but gynae also mentioned if we're people with faith and will decide against abortion in any case, can very well go without the tests... so still undecided...

hi mummies to be,

for those using clarins, i dont rinse off too as my skin is quite dry and I dont use alot. =)

i got one pregnant colleague about 4-5 months pregnant, she went for rebonding. I was pretty shocked but she say it's okay. Don't know how true but i must say, she is very brave to attempt that as there's alot of chemical and maybe smell during the process

Just saw gyane this morning, did the NT scan and blood test. According to gyane, reading look reasonable. Just need to wait 2 days for the full report.

BB is 6.05cm at 12 weeks 5 days

vomitted twice yesterday. second one was very bad. burnt my throat and nose from the acid. woke up with a terrible sore throat in the middle of the night due to the burns. better this morning, but i know it's swollen inside..

stickymouse, triple test not very accurate (read from book). so i won't be doing it..

neeciel, someone said she managed to see gender during NT screening.. so i'm keeping my fingers crossed la. =)

pray pray today no more vomiting.

Morning mummies.

Ling, I also want to eat Sashimi for the longest time. Right now, I practically avoid jap restaurant cos I cannot eat sashimi. See other ppl eat, I cannot tahan.

I also crave for sotong but hor, my mother scared me out by telling about a myth on sotong. She said that the umbilical cord may go round the baby cos sotong has tentacles. Wah liew, every day I think of fried hokkien mee but dare not order. Order liao, the uncle must be thinking I am mad, HOKKIEN MEE WITHOUT SOTONG.

What is triple test?

amk, i thought all tests are not entirely accurate and are only indicative (but not diagnostic).

i'm more concerned about chromosomal defects as i have friends around me whose babies have Digeorges syndrome (apart from the commonly heard Down and Edwards).

bbjun, ur mom's story v scary. i was thinking eat a bit nmind bah. now with ur story, i'll think very hard. ha!

stickymouse, u know wat's edwards & digeorges syndrome? i oni know down syndrome. triple test can test for edwards i think.

thanks ladies,
no history of thalessamia in family and gynae did not mention at all, hence, wondering if there is a need for my case..

triple test is done at 16 weeks, with accuracy
85% for down symdron. think about $90.. oscar done at 12 - 13 weeks with accuracy 90%.. think your gynae is right.. if you are firm on no abortion, then there is no need to do the test.. unless you wan to be mentally prepared for a special child but then, that will make you worry all the way to birth..

bbjun, actualli it's ok to order without sotong. my hb likes hokkein mee but he doesnt take sotong, so he either says no sotong or he dun eat it.

chidori, thanks yeah that's pretty much what i read about triple test. i just thought screening tests are as they are.. just to screen and if any further accuracy is required the tests just go a step further to being instrusive (like amnio). abortion is probably not an option, but at least we'll be prepared if immediate steps need to be taken right after birth (e.g. surgery etc. etc.). not cursing lah, just aligning expectations with possible realities. being religious doesn't mean we want to be naive and pretend we don't know anything also... u know what i mean?

just that i hardly heard of girls talking about triple test so i asked....anyway, thanks!

Tulip.. paracetamol and piriton (anti-histamine) is safe for pregnancy as I have taken the same in hospital just tat piriton dun work on me so the Physician changed it to Polaramine (another type of anti-histamine). As for Paracetamol - make sure u dun over-dose will do.

lovelytulip,
the prob is I WANT TO EAT SOTONG. Everday, I pass by old chang kee, I want to eat sotong balls also dun dare to order. sighz.

You shd look for a CL now. I oredi got mine. Most of them need 6 mths booking one. Can start looking ard oredi.

bbjun, i continue to eat prawns and sotong leh, MIL told me pple say scare eat sotong wait baby too many hands, never heard of wat ur mum mentioned... realli scary leh haha

lovelytulips, rest well =)

I agree with createjoy, put bolster not comfortable, put pillow, too wide for my feet leh (I'm quite small size ma..) I put some cushion now, but ends up slipping to the floor.. last nite woke up at least 3 times.. except for half a cup of milk, I didn't drink anything else, but each time so full bladder..

tulips, take care of your health.. are you taking the thala test..? dun think I will, my gynae only suggested the basic tests like NT and blood test.. so will stick to his advise lor..

violac, ur gynae quite right.. long time back got a coll who's 35 yrs old, she said her oscar test quite risky, but she said, not going for further tests as it might endanger the foetus, and she said that no matter what, she'd still love her bb and give the best she could afford, she gave birth to a beautiful and healthy bb girl.. so it depends, they said all these tests are 90%-95% accurate, none of them are 100%.. dun think too far and relax hor..

hatemenot, so many mummies here not rinsing the clarins oil.. maybe tonite I try not to rinse then..
save time oso..

I'm waiting for 5th or 6th mth preg so that I can go for haircut, now even walk pass the hair salon wanna puke from the chem smell liao..

Jackie, ur bb size good leh, mine only 6.1cm at 13 wks.. maybe bb follow me, small frame..

bbjun, I walked pass this jap rest the other day, see them eating sashimi bento, almost drool on the spot..
serious ah..? the past 3 wks my mil bought hokkien mee for me once a week, with SOTONG... and I ate them oso.. my mil not extremely bantang I guess, she still cook for me chrys tea, and last time bought grass jelly for me too, the only thing she asked me not to do is not to cut anything on bed, so no scissors/pen knife nearby.. other than that, for food she very cincai one, one night bought me rojak too..

er.. just check with u ah, after first trimester, can we have steak ? If medium rare cannot, medium allowed or not ?

tulips, just to share.. I heard if u're lookin for CL, better by recommendation, a lot of nightmare stories abt them, and the good ones usually booked as early as 6 mth in advance..

bbjun, i continue to eat sotong leh... i eat all types of seafood as long as it is cooked, even crabs.

neeciel, i tot is eat crabs then too many hands?? hmmm ..... i think got a lot of version... hahah

thanks, will rest well. got to also i guess. :p

bbjun, ohhh... then i go fuss my mum. she say she help me find. haha.... dont know how to go about finding one that is gd or ok.

Ling, I took my thala test before i was preg, when i went to do my health checkup.

steak in medium is nono regardless on the stage of pregnancy, cos it's still a bit raw. must eat well done. if the cook didnt cook it well, ask them to recook. cos should not take raw food.

i eat rojak also, but not a lot. dont eat grass jelly cos some say it's too cooling.

now tryign to find a good CL. wondering whether can find or not. the time to start thinking of alot of things already....

lovelytulips, they are all myth lah...me and hb nt pantang, he let me eat watever i want.

steak well done nt nice leh, got a few times wanted to eat steak but gave up cos nt sure can eat medium well... so cannot ah??

Ling, no lah i'm very relaxed one. i just wonder how many gynaes offered that test option to you ladies...

i still eat whatever i want to eat, save for raw foods, alcohol and high mercury content foods. but otherwise, i eat anything.

my sister gave birth in the US this year... my nephew came out damn solid and strong. when people ask her what she ate during her pregnancy, her reply was "shen me SAI dou chi" hahaha so funny

neecial, my usual doneness for steak would be medium rare... but i've now switched to medium well, to me that's already cooked enough hahaha

Sounds like I really got scared by my mom. :p
Well, I guess I will eat sparingly.

Ling, I know the bantang stuff u mentioned. I am still in the midst of some craft project work which requires sewing. I need to finish them since I took them on before I was preggie. Hope to finish them this week and send it out to the person who ordered it. Then I dun touch anymore liao.

Shelisa,so early sign package?how many weeks?last time i ask KKH they said package start from 28 weeks.what's BB length now?My gynae ask me go for DS test this friday,is it same as NT scan?i'm a bit confuse.

tulips/neeciel, medium well not shiok leh.. tried once abt 2 wks ago.. very diff from medium rare.. and.. cannot eat sotong ball, really..? but sotong ball cannot see the tentacle anymore ma.. all yuan-yuan not symbolize many hands..?

violac, that's good
my sis in law gave birth in aust 2 yrs ago, she was craving for steak, so keep eating steak during preg.. bb gal very healthy and cute.. I'm still trying to convince my hb to buy me durian.. he told me it's very heaty, not good for bb, some more my sis in law din eat, of course lah, durian where got fresh and cheap in aust hor..

bbjun, the bantang stuff, I at first dunno, but since mil said so, I try to avoid lor, just a bit puzzled, nail-clipping included or not ah..? I used to do cross-stitch during my free times, just hobby lor, but now all put in a box first, hard not to do cutting n sewing with that..

Jess Ma, think most of gynae start their package in wk 12 or 16, I know some at wk 20, mine start in wk 6 or 7 leh.. DS test.. NT test is to test the Nuchal Translucency (the thickness of the fluid in the bb neck) to predict the DS possibility, Oscar also the same, inclusive of NT test and blood test, another one is Amniocentesis..

Ling, ya not shiok lor for medium well thats why skip steak totally, dun want to waste money, maybe will still eat medium rare one day haha

now, makes me crave alittle for sotong balls. whahaha

Ling/neeciel, i thought medium well not very good cos it's still not well done. i have not eaten any steak yet although wanted to eat. alternative will be to eat burgers lor cos the patties should be so-called well done, and not so hard. hahaha..... makes me drool for teppankayi type of beef also.

i think those who gave birth in aust/states have very solid and strong babies partly becos of the amount of beef they take and milk they have.

hb was saying, next time bb start eating, will feed him/her lotsa milk and beef. grow up solid and strong. ahahahhaha

lovelytulips, no need to wait until baby come out. you should already start taking in more protein and iron (BEEF!!!) now and of course milk if you can take to it. i try to squeeze in a salad somewhere in between all that meat.

p.s. iron is more important for you than for the baby, it's for blood production. you need to pump up blood supply for the day you lose blood when giving birth. don't run on empty "petrol tank".

ling, i had VERY GOOD durians in australia during uni days!!!

ladies... don't be bound by myths and live in confusion/fear, yes? i'm very sure women of the past sewed quilts and knitted socks/wraps for their babies while they were pregnant (last time not like now ya, we buy from Mothercare). besides... what if non-chinese lady uses scissor/needles? then later on you hear from someone with a 'modern' version of using penknife. what do you think it's beginning to sound like?

if you are ever comfortable to debunk them, it would be freedom from fear... isn't that wonderful?

just some personal views, of course i know different cultures have different myths of their own. the ang mohs also got their own version of umbilical cord tying around baby.

humans are such... when all is wonderful, we just enjoy it... but when something is wrong, we try to think back to something we did to put the blame on so that the fault appears justified.

anyway... my point is... this is a beautiful period for all of us here... a baby in the making, from nothing!! enjoy the miracle so special to mummies that even daddies cannot entirely comprehend