(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

shelisa, i dunno if is quite true but i talk to bb everyday asking her/him not to give mummy nausea, cos if i cant eat her/him oso cant eat haha so no nausea but got bloated de...

New to this forum and first time MTB. EDD 25 Jun and currently at 9w1d with Dr Yvonne Chan, TMC.

Very apprehensive everyday as I am in my new job for the second week and have no idea how to break the news to my new bosses. Probation is 6mths! Feeling very stressed as I face most thgs on my own with hb posted overseas.

MS is more managable as I hit this week. Just bloatedness at certain times of the day.

neeciel, i also told bb like this. but sometime bb corporate sometime don't. ended up due to hormones change whole body rashes, now seafood, peanut, cheese, chicken, egg and ham. so both suffer together. bloated is it due to too full?

welcome bbjun, probation 6 mths? hopefully u can cope with the new job so that your boss will not aim u.

Thanks, Shelisa.

So far, so good cos the real job has not come yet. I do not know when it is a good time to speak to the bosses. Perhaps after 12w.

My NT scan is like normally tummy scan. Just that lots of measurements are taken. So may take a while if baby position is not correct.

Ceclia, don't give up. *hugz*

Jess,
I kinda have the same experience with you. Counting down to my last day of work now. Duphaston work for me. Have spotting in my week 6 for 2 days. I am taking duphaston 3 times a day till next week. Gynae say if everything fine 2 wks later, the interval for visiting him will be strech to 4 wks fr 2 wks. But think you need lots of rest and try to feel more relax. I went through 2 breakdowns as worry abt work and b b at the same time. Sleepless at night cos keep thinking of things that should not be worrying.

Need to tighten the belt more now. But at least no more spotting and b b is growing well. 62mm in wk12. DS risk is negative. Sleep has improve although need to go toilet every night.

createjoy,
you would be sthm?

Hope no more mommies are leaving our group. Babies, hang on tight tight.
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Del Hospital</TD><TD>Expecting #</TD><TD>Current child</TD><TD>Month/Year </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mainemum</TD><TD>29-May</TD><TD>Assof Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lovelle (Claire)</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>oscarsem</TD><TD>02-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawerence Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Feb-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kikismom</TD><TD>03-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlueDream</TD><TD>04-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Ho</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ling</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>dalandcrystal</TD><TD>06-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jen Shek Wei</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb-08 </TD></TR><TR><TD>neeciel</TD><TD>07-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chidori</TD><TD>07-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kee W.H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>vernie</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Henry Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lovelytulips</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anxious</TD><TD>09-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>innocentwar</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Ah Leng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mika Rei</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>stickymouse</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shelisa</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Yuin Wen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>split</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaime</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>msn_queen</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>capriho88</TD><TD>16-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Phua S M</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Apr-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hapeverafter</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Ah Leng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy SAHM</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chen Lin Han</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pigletgirl1</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Phi</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pigletgir1</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>createjoy</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shirlaine</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>hatemenot</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ilim</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon Koh</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>Dr is Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon Chee</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbPotato</TD><TD>22-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>amk_gal</TD><TD>22-Jun</TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>yukiee</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Dec-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dovey</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lavendor_lover</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Oct-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poulinea</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene22</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veronica Scalea</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously</TD><TD>13-17 Jun</TD><TD>Dr Aziz</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Dec-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cystal</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheery</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>ileinaheng</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veronica Scalea</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>First mum</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess Ma</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Janet Chen</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dorcas/Lim Jamie</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Bluedream, sound everything fine on ur side. happy for u. at least it is good news.
week 12 can see bb in 62mm? wow. im so excited to say hi to my bb next sat on gynae visit. try to relax more as u need plenty of rest and slepp.

Hi Shelisa,
Thanks. So far so good. bb is able turn their position in the NT scan. My bb 1st position is facing the womb wall. After a while, turned around to sit on the womb. My hubby say bb is playing inside. Haha.

shelisa, i think probably due to wind inside the stomach. I dun eat anything b4 bed or when i wake up, sometimes middle of the night very hungry and feel giddy, guess due to hunger thats why ended with wind in the morning.

bluedream, glad to hear that u got no more spotting.

bbjun welcome, i oso with Dr Chan.

Bluedream, you are making me very excited.
i tok NT will put needle in the belly button. scare me man as i damn scare needle. it seem to be very easy and relax.

neeciel, i think u better before sleep drink some warm drink or snack abit like ur instant mashed potato?

Shelisa, no needle required to scan bb.

But my nurse say need to draw blood for testing soon. With my hubby going to test for thalassemia 2.

Shelisa, aiyo that one is amniocentesis test lah... NT scan is just scan only mah....

ya think i better start drinking some milo before i sleep.

neeciel, Oopss.. wrong info.. i tok need to use needle. Hmm, milo is good.. try to drink some before sleep. maybe can make u slp better too.

If we are sure that this doesn't run in the family, we can opt out of this test? What is the cost of the two tests?

BTW, just curious, each time you take your blood pressure at gynae, what are your readings? I tot mine was low but gynae never say anything.

i have e following to let go:

1. 01 BNIB tube of elancyl stretchmark cream @ $24
2. 01 BN tub of body shop papaya body butter @ $15
3. 01 BN 500ml bottle of palmer's cocoa butter formula w/ vit e @ $15

pls pm me if interested, thanks!

hi ladies, hv been checking out the threads here abt yr experiences often after discovering that I am pregant (using the test kit). Seems like its gonna be a late June/early July bb. Its my 1st &amp; i will be going for my 1st gynae appointment tmr. :)

Hope to chat again with u ladies again soon..on our motherhood journey..

welcome joyce, and congrats on ur pregnancy. thanks blue dream for updating my EDD. =)

no worries about me saying that high risk for miscarriage is between weeks 9-12. just quoting info that i saw in two different sources. if gynae say it's between 6-8 then 6-8 la... just be careful in first trimester. (good excuse to make husband do more housework!)

i'm eating whipped potato from KFC. tend to get very hungry at night. dinner at 7, hungry by 10. once i fall asleep, the horrible feeling goes away. i been able to delay taking breakfast till around 9-10am so can shift lunch backwards and likewise take lesser snacks.

i see my colleague put on 18 kg in her pregnancy and only managed shed 6kg after delivering, and 6 months after tat only lost another 6... another 6 to go and it looks really tough.. i try to take lesser snacks if it helps to put on weight gradually la...

just hope the nausea will go away soon.

so late at night think no one's online now, couldn't sleep, just went to look for food in the fridge, ends up with strawberry (again..)

Shelisa, as promised, sharing with you abt the NT scan, went this afternoon at TMC, it's good (NO needles involved
) just normal u/s scan from the tummy, just more details and the bb need to be in a certain position for the doctor to measure the thickness, and the bb size crown-to-rump (55mm today), I was lucky, my bb so good one, doctor said in the perfect position, some mummies had to wait the whole day sometimes for the bb to be in the right position. See bb kickin and clasping hands too
very happy..

oh, NT test cost abt $100 plus, OSCAR test consist of NT test PLUS blood test, cost ard $300 plus. If NT and/or OSCAR test found risk, might go for Amnio. My NT test comes good, 1:2000, the risky one is 1:300 and lower.. hope this info help..

createjoy, honestly, very hard to drink just plain water, so far the chrys taste I like leh.. at first drinkin fruit juice as well, but found them very sweet and can't finished them at times, that's y lately took only chrys..

neeciel, I'm 12 week today, but still have occasional nausea and headache.. like Shelisa said, maybe gotta wait until 14 week liao..

msn_queen, bbjun, joyce welcome

Dovey, me too, praying hard here to keep my job, everyday the news on my company doesn't sound good.. very scared too.. just like bbjun, me also still in probation.. but I told my boss already, if they decided to let me go, there's nothing I can do either..

amk_gal, same here, keep eating, keep waking up at night too and can't go back to sleep.. my mum also nag abt the weight, so I'm trying to eat more fruits, keepin some of them next to my bed if I'm hungry at night, better than me rampaging the fridge for other stuff..

Bluedream, thanks again for updating the list, getting longer now hey
so happy to see all the mtb here..

I'm new to this thread here. So we all hav our fair share of MS
( I'm a SAHM, currently expecting my #2. MS is making my life so miserable..awww...

Thanks for the welcome here.

Bluedream,
Thanks for the update. My #1 is a boy born in Jan-07. Currently have not really decided which Gynae to go to. But will need to decide soon as need to do NT scan on coming sat checkup. My Last gynae is Dr Heng Tung Lan... I think Sharon Koh is also with her. Hmm, me still cannot decide :S

BBjun,
It's better to take the Thalassemia test becoz u naver really know if there is someone who has this in your family as a minor carrier. The #1 that I did, I did this test twice. As the 1st test result come out to be -ve, after further test with hb... it turn out that its actually my blood count low and need to have iron booster for the rest of my pregnancy. Thalassemia is "地中海貧血", and will need bb to have blood tranfusion through their life.

Now everyday MS has been rather bad! It juz make me dun feel like eating anything... even all kind of favourite food! I think #2 is feeling worst than #1, any 2nd mum has the same as me?

hi Ling, you mean you had to pay for your NT test? i had one done today and it was the same procedure as measuring the length of baby (a matter of clicking and dragging the mouse). it cost me nothing, just the usual $50/ultrasound.

my baby was in a very obliging position too, NT test easily done.

Hi msn_queen,

thanks for the info. Will heed your advice then. I used to have bordeline low blood count in my younger days but I think the last few body check ups that I had has been normal. As for my hb, his family has history of high blood pressure all the way. But will take the test, just in case then.

bluedream, I just realised I am not in the table yet. Please help add me in at the next update instead. EDD = 25 Jun with Dr Yvonne Chan, TMC.

Gynae says MS will peak after 8 weeks but mine just stay the same and gets better sometimes, especially on weekdays when I need to work. It is only worse on weekends. I think BB really cooperates with me cos I will tell BB that I am gg work and cannot afford to be sick and tired at work. Seems that BB also knows when it is weekend.

bbjun, i think Dr chan will advise you to do the blood test for Thalassemia, we dun hv family history on that too but is better to check. Same here, my hb oso got high blood pressure inherit from his parents but i dun think that has to do with Thalassemia, so dun worry...=)

Hi bluedream i'm not sahm, intending to wk after i give birth. feeling worried, no ms recently, touching 10th.my doppler got delay. i no confident aiyoh y like that...

ya lor shelisa my doc also say 1st line base is 14th wk not 12th...

Hi MTBs,

I've been vacillating betwen the May/09 thread and this one since finding out I'm pregnant about 1.5 months ago. I've found a wealth of info from this thread - thanks!

I'm about 12 weeks pregnant with 1st baby. My EDD is actually 30 May 09 but I hope you won't my "hanging around" here. ;-)

morning ladies,

hope every1 is doing fine over the weekend ...

Did u ladies try to buy any magazines regarding pregnancy ???

welcome lldll

Thanks Cheery for the welcome.

I haven't got any pregnancy mags though have been reading all kinds of pregnancy articles books online/book stores. I think for me, it's sort of "surreal" and "afraid" (kind of) cos' still waiting for the blood test to come back whether all is ok with my FTS though the scan itself shows a risk of 1:1000+.

Ling, how are you feeling? pass 12 weeks already. haha... i think we are just hoping that we are lucky enough for MS to stop at 12 weeks sharp. many a times, i heard MTBs having MS till 16 weeks. but life seems much easier to pass when there's a nearer target. i still throw up once a day, bad gastric and nausea whole day long every day, and i'm only 2 days till week 12. wondering if gastric and nausea will really suddenly vanish when i wake up on wed. seem like it's never ending.

welcome Daffodils &amp; Idyll.

morning ladies.

Ling, it seem like NT is just a normal scan but y urs is so expensive? on week 12 i will sign a package with my gynae. this package is $800 w/o GST consist 13 visits (urine test, u/s, consultantion) other tests like NT or blood test and all excluded. i rem my NT scan also at $50 w/o gst. this sat gg to do the test hope bb can be in the best position. but i was thinking if bb not in the best positive, we can keep staring the monitor bb turn here n there.
but rem dun drink too much chry.

Morning ladies.

Shelisa, your package seems very reasonable.

neeciel, have you signed up a package with Dr Yvonne Chan? I spoke to one of her assistants there at my last visit and they were telling me that they will explain to me at week 15/16 when I visit them again. How much is her package? I think the number they gave me is more than Shelisa's package but I just can't rem.

good morning ladies,

violac, I think it depends on the package we have with our gynae, my package doesn't include any of these tests, only the regular visits &amp; vitamins, other tests, like NT, detailed scan, etc, we have to pay.. when we counted this, actually gynae to gynae packages not much diff, the only differentiating factor is which hospital they can deliver, again, now they're quite flexible too.. one thing I like from my gynae package is that I can use it even during my 1st trims, most of them only allow you to start package from 12th week onwards..

Mika, still hoping for the MS to stop.. gastric go away? nope.. still there.. every morning, regardless of what I do, nothing helps with this one.. last night can't sleep some more, when I did, woke up every 1-2 hours.. xian..

Shelisa, am not so sure lei.. the lady schedule me for the week 15 test as well, when we paid, altogether cost $200+.. I oso thot how come so ex, then she said, it's including the upcoming test.. yup, bb will keep moving one, even during last fri's scan, bb only in 'nice' position for a shortwhile only, few minutes, then as we scan, bb move, turn here n there, kicking n waving..

bbjun, same here, the MS also remains even in my 12th week now, a bit better sometimes at work, I'm guessing maybe because we have to focus our mind on our workload and doing some walk-around also help with the nausea..

cheery, yup, bought a few.. found them quite good for 1st timer like me

welcome marnie..

Hi hatemenot,

I did sign up the FBI at TMC. The discount is dependent on whether your gynae is in their listing or not. But it comes with other privileges like discount for their parentcraft lessons, some shops, some hospital services etc. You can read about it here.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn

They gave quite a lot of freebies, incldg a bag that comes with changing mat, magazines, mama milk samples, etc. You can ask at the info counter on the first floor.

bbjun, i rem mine was quite ex liao. i rem that time some mommy with Dr Adrian Woodworth even cheap. i rem they said $550 for the whole package starting from the first visit (include urines test, vitamins and u/s &amp; consultantion)?? lovelle, Ling, yukiee, pls correct me if im wrong. but i feel mine still worth to sign up as each visit consult $60, $50 scan = $110. (package 13 time $800)

Ling, u shld ask her y u shld pay the upcoming test 1st? shld ask her whether can do liao then pay? or not seem confusing. or did the receipt write the upcoming test thing?

hatemenot, I didn't sign up with fbi, I thot this scheme is only for mtb who's delivering @TMC ?

I'll be delivering at Mt.Alvernia, can I still sign up for this ?

hi bbjun,

thanks for the info. =) i am still thinking whether to sign up. Called up and asked, the discount for the maternity package is about $80 off the total bill if choosing 2 bedded.

But seems to be quite worth it since there are so many freebies =) thanks!

hi ling,

sorry for the misunderstanding. thought you are delivering at TMC cos saw your post you went over to do the NT scan at TMC =)oopzz

Shelisa, you're right, I'm with Dr Adrian, package very worthwhile, $550 for at least 13 times, can start from first visit (regardless how many weeks of pregnancy).. about the test, I'm not so sure leh.. as doing this for the first time, so both me &amp; hubby not so sure how it goes.. gotta check the receipt tonite then.. there's supposed to be 3 tests as what I see, the NT test, the 15th week test and the 20+ weeks test (detailed one I think)..

Hi hatemenot,

u are welcome. I forgot to mention that they also give you 3 books. One on pregnancy, one on taking care of newbown and the last one on taking of toddler (hope I rem correctly). These books are written by Wong BB who does their parentcraft classes. The books itself worth about $48, I think. Very easy to read information and very practical tips as well.

hi ldyll, dun be so worry ok ... just pray hard &amp; wait 4 e results ... try to relax &amp; dun be too tense up ...

shelisa, y can't drink too much chry huh ?