(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

i ate the goldhill potato b4 too! nice! but i haven been eating that for quite some time, not sure got msg or not? i also no appetitie. ya notice i feel very bad when i dont sleep well then dun feel well dont sleep well.. vicious cycle... v tempted tk flu medi slp.dr gave say safe but i still try not to take lor. is 12 or 14 wk the safe line??

sigh just few days aft scan i miss n worry for bb liao. feel like go another gynae scan again. :p my hb joke say i shd buy a u/s machine then less panic.. really feel very tense leh..sigh cant help it... hope bb know mami heartpain dont give me problem, safely come to the world... i doing oscar on 9 dec. heard the scan can see bb hand n leg all that v clearly and v 3D , live show...

=) wondering if I can join in. EDD 25/06/09. =)

This will be my baby no.2 =) My 1st one is currently 13mths odd. =) Hopefully this time round will be a girl. =)

morning ladies.

neeciel, okie i think i will look for the pack with bacon bits inside as i think will be more salty.

amk gal, did your gynae advise u to take the test or u request for it? as taking the test does contain some danger there.

lovelytulips, last night u took the whipped potato make ur nausea better?

chidori, u make me so excited. urge to see my bb dancing inside too.

createjoy, we also tok to buy that u/s machine back so we can see the bb everyday. but i rem someone tell me before u/s will kill our cells ? dunno is it true?

welcome lavender.

hi ladvender, welcome ...

shelisa, did u gain any weight huh? how many wks liao ?

chidori, ya so cute to see e bb leh ... like u realise u are really gg to be a mother soon ... my hubby was so "jing zhang" when seeing e gynae ... so funny ... :p

ladies, is it necessary to go for OSCAR huh ?

cheer, i am 10 weeks 4 days today. i went to gynae 3 times but each time seem to maintain the same weight or less 300-500g. maybe i have MS that y my weight like up abit then down abit. how abt u?

Actually my gynae did not ask me to go for OSCAR but go for Nuchal Translucency. they said OSCAR is 90% then Nuchal Translucency 85%. so i think not much diff. i need to do Nuchal Translucency on my week 12. i think u better check with ur gynae

shelisa, we are same lor .. 10 wk... wat is ur bb's length liao ? I'm still ard e same weight .. nvr increase at all ...
actually, i feel tat as long as we're below 35yrs old... i think no need 4 e test leh ... hmm... i think most MTB are "jin zhang" abt their bb lah ..

cheery, i cant rem on week 9 i go for scanning bb is wat length liao. my memory abit poor. but i do rem my bb is jumping and heartbeat very fast. i think OSCAR & Nuchal Translucency is to measure bb neck thickness? (anybody correct me if im worng) if the neck thickness is normal then dunno to go for the Down Syndrome test if abit weird then doc will ask u to do the Down Syndrome test. i rem my gynae tell me taking the Down Syndrome test will have risk on m/c. so i think ur gynae will sure ask u do OSCAR or Nuchal Translucency test.

cheery, no.. i don't think so. i rem my gynae told me need to do a Nuchal Translucency then from there measure the bb neck thickness? i rem Down Syndrome test very ex 1. amk gal say $300. i think my Nuchal Translucency test $50-$100. then from there then gynae will advise need to do amino test (Down Syndrome test) anot.

Sorry din manage to log in these few days. The posts are running very fast.

I am indeed lost 3 kgs in just 3 weeks. Now my appetite is slightly better.

I got a huge worry now. My contract is ending in just few days time. My employer still has no approval news to renew my contract. I need a job to survive. I am so upset. Any of you got job lobang to recommend?

hi all, i also thought that the normal scan to measure the neck thickness and the blood test may b enough. then if high risk then go for further scans. but seem like a lot of you are going for the scans already. hmmm... think i hv to do some research myself. if the normal scan + blood test % is still quite low, then might as well go for the NT scan to play safe.

Shelisa, i ate the whipped potato and sleep!!! no chance for nausea to hit me then.

lunch again, dont know what to eat...

Jaime, maybe u wana state what's ur occupation, then we have any lobang, easier to let u know. but then, i think most will not recruit as full time in dec, knowing u gonna give birth in 6-7 mths.

Mika, i think normal scan not able to pick up the neck thickness. i think need more sophisticated ultrasound machines. i think to prevent worries, just go for the NT scan....

hi jaime,

hopefully your boss renews your contract with you. try asking them about it =)

me flu for 2 days ler.. later will see GP and get some medicine. Seems that i cannot recover on my own leh

jaime, hope your contract will b renewed... does your boss know you r pregnant?

hatemenot, my gynae said we can still take panadol, won't harm the bb... but better to go see doc and get medicine/MC and rest well...

Jaime, did ur boss know that you are pregnant? Or you wanna try to hunt ur manager or boss that your contract gg to expire soon? don't worry first. think positive.

lovelytulips, oh.. that good. sometime after my dinner i went to sleep, middle of the night i will wake up by the nausea. actually im craving for kfc whipped potato. too bad my work place no fast food or 7-11.

hatemenot, think better look for GP ba. the long it drag it doesn't do good to the bb also. eat some medicine slp early and shld recover soon.

how everybody lunch today?

neeciel, did u sleep well last night? maybe due to low bllod pressure. wanna try to drink some sweet drink like milo or ribena?

my MS is still up down up down leh... xianz... tmrw is start of week 9 for me, hope it will get better, cos i heard MS peaks @ week 8... good that tday i get to leave office @ 4pm... :D

Shelisa, recently i alw dream while sleeping so maybe nt enough rest and been chewing on candies due to nausea, still MS can get pretty irritated at times.

Dovey, i am week 11 now, still no improvement, hope ur MS gets better soon =)

Dovwey, y so good can leave at 4pm? i also 1 leh..

Neeciel, try to realx. make urself busy in order u or think or feel the nausea. i think the candies u buy better chose those like less sugar or fat or artifical too much type. but i heard ppl heard u think more in the day or before thus will have dream. last time when i 1st get to know i am pregnant i also almost every night dream alot of diff story. relax

My boss doesn't know I am pregnant. I only left few more days here. I do hope they renew for money sake. But I find that such a big MNC firm can't make such a staff decision. A real disappointment.

Shelisa, thats why i come to office rather than rest at home, maybe too tense now oso cos rushing for dateline... hmm i am taking this Halls Vita-C candies with real fruit juice, i know maybe dun hv fruit juice lah but is def not low sugar =(

neeciel, then try to change some other sweet ba more healthy.. i am eating sweet like nimm 2 or the natural confectionery. u try?

ok ok thanks shelisa, shall look out for it =) i oso a bit worried cos i read that this week baby will develop their own sugar glucose, i scare wait my baby too sweet haha

First Mum, i got no problem getting back to sleep and lucky for me cos i get up to pee quite a few times.

neeciel, i think it will be good if we control our sugar level. they say scare later will have what pregnant diabetes?

First mum, when starting pregnant ard week 6-8weeks i encounter such thing. then after that turn back to normal. only now every night sure to wake up to go toilet urine 2-3 times. i feel maybe due to too pressure or nervous abt bb that y internally happen such thing. relax.

thanks for the welcome ladies. =)

ok.. the NT scan is actually good enough to give a gauge on the bb. Only if there's some grey area in the NT scan result, it'll be good to do further testing like the Oscar etc. Cos Oscar testing is actually rather risky...there's a risk of MC in it. Thus gyane usually won't encourage ladies to do it unless the NT scan shows abnormal results. Also it's compulsory for ladies over 35 to undergo it as the risk of having an abnormal bb is higher for the age group.

Ladies, just tkae it easy. Dun get so tensed up over the pregnancy. Relax and enjoy the process. =) That's the beauty of being a lady. ;p

First Mum
Maybe u can try putting some lavendar scent in the room n drin k a cup of warm milk. Smoothes your soul n can put u to sleep better.

neeciel
u can try drinking a cup of lemon juice. U can DIY yourself at home n bring to work in a tumbler. Just get some lime or lemon squeeze the juice out and mix with honey or manuka honey instead of sugar. =) u get a nice honey drink with lime/lemon refreshing taste. It'll also smoothe your MS. Can give it a try. =) If u prefer something sweeter..add less lime/lemon.

neeciel
meantime...try to eat more nutritious food. U can go get stuffs like chicken essence, bird nests etc. I read bef..MS this thing usu will hit ladies who haven been eating/getting enough nutrients before pregnancy.. thus there's this inbalance of nutrients in the body when the bb is in. As the bb will 'take' the necessary nutrients from mummy... mummy will be left leaving awful.... thus the MS symptoms coming in. That's why some people say, it's good to prepare the body first before trying to get pregnant by ex n taking enough nutrients even before conceiving. That's y MS will hit some ladies..but not all.

Ladies, do rem to take as much calcium as possible. Cos your calcium intake is gonna be 'taken' by your bb too. So calcium intake must up....

lavender_lover, as u said must we take more calcium. beside milk is the any food that high in calcium? so now we can start to drink bird nest? we shld drink 1 week how many time?

lavender, is honey very 'liang'? lsat time i will have menses once i drink a cup of honey water, i did drink calamasi juice if i am having lunch or dinner.

Realli ah, mummy nt eating well and will have MS??? i alw tot i have balance diet cos i am not picky about food but i dun take so much instant noodles anymore kakaka...

lavender/shelisa/neeciel,
ya every nite wivout fail i wld get up ard 2am and stay awake for 2-3 hrs. and even when fall asleep also like semi-conscious kind. get up every morning feeling so tired...

have been wanting to buy the lavender pillow mist, ok ok will try it!

BIRDSNEST
apparently baby will only benefit from it from 3rd trimester onwards. so dont need to start so early unless mummy wana "bu" herself. oso too much is no good cos linked to asthma and phglem in babies. in 3rd trimester, i took 2 teaspoons daily (the concentrated type) and my girl has very good skin haha!

I oso din start taking bird nest only once awhile if i am having a bad cough cos i believe can smoothen the lung and lighten my cough a bit...

shelisa, the down syndrome test kkh is offering is FTS test (dunno wat's the full word). it consist of an ultrasound for nuchal translucency, and also a blood test from me for some substance.. 90% accurate, compared to scanning which is only 80%. no risk to baby.

as for ladies wanting to start tonic like birds' nest and chicken essence, my tcm doc advised taking from 2nd trimester onwards. birds' nest must be taken with gao li sheng (else will become cooling food), and for me she advised against taking chicken essence cos i'm the type who'll fall sick after taking cos it's too heaty for me.

actually the tcm doc says in the first trimester the bb cannot absorb much nutrients anyway.. so no need to take tonic.. just try to rest more and eat whatever u can..

huh tk with gao li sheng mafan leh.. nobody make for me... then i think i 3rd trimster then tk concentrate btl . any tcm say cannot take bittergrd? last time i saw the chen mei er (she often in interview qt famous) she say cannot tk. but my current tcm dr say can take but no green papaya.
btw ladies, please help me see this website : www.healthchecksystems.com/hi_bebe_fetal_doppler_bt200.htm
i'm thinking whether to get the doppler for reassurance since i so panicky... it's $184 incl shipping with LCD display, can i have some opinion from u gals... Thanks!

cheery,i visit KKH DR Jannet Chen,how about you?

Shelisa,if can, you walk down to breath more fresh air,hv to excise a bit also ya.

Ling, ya,no choice got to bear with those taxi uncle not nice one,if not they drive more fast liao.

Yesterday i got start flu,run at the nose and sneezes.Yesterday night after office colleague called me and talk to me so many things,most of them is not good one,after that i difficult to fall in sleep,i today wear a lots and drink more water liao.Just now boss call and keep push me for the project because of my colleague feedback to him one,after that i sneezes and bleeding again ,brown color and with two small gore.I just went to see doctor four days ago for same things,doctor give me duphaston for another 3 weeks.. Any MTB encounter same problem?

hi jess ma i think u should bedrest a week to fully stablise current condition, it's not good to keep coming back... but then brown is old blood mayb u are not bleeding.. u monitor & see doc again if u still got spotting. last time u got gore? if not u got keep? sometime if u not sure what u pass out shd keep and brg to doc see

hi all, this afternoon tried to take a 15min nap, and it turned out to be a couple of hours. so so so tired.

lavender, didn't know bad nutrition before getting pregnant will cause MS. i thought it's cause our hormones went up in order to carry the bb, thus causing us to have nausea. and once placenta is developed and takes over, our hormones are back in balance and we'll feel better. so will eating nutritiously in 1st tri do some help to eliminate MS? heehee...

i heard that bird nest and worm soup can start from 2nd tri onwards. but also not too often, maybe once a month each is good enough. worm soup too heaty if drink too much and bird nest too much easily get fat, bb gets a little and the rest goes to you. haha...!

createjoy, you buying the doppler? there's rental service overeseas, but don't think we have it here. so i think buying is the only option. i think if you easily panicky kind, it's very gd for 2nd-3rd tri, cos i know of some mommies who get quite gancheong when they din feel the bb move for a few hours inside them, then start worrying and calling up the doc to go down for checkup. but with this, at least you get to monitor bb, so even if they sleep longer that's why din move, you'll not be so uptight.

jess, sometimes i also like that, i vomit until very jia lat, then will hv a bit brown colour come out. but i've gotten used to it after so many weeks. ha. but i dun hv gore leh, only when i had the bleeding scare then i have. maybe really need to rest more, cannot have bedrest also sit down, don't walk about too much.

yup...I'm talking if you wish to 'bu' yourself... not the bb.... should try to take bird nest or some 'bu ping' once a while to strengthen your body. =) If u are looking into 'bu' the bb more, after 2nd tri is the better.

Mika
I didn't know about the MS thingy too until i read it up in some TCM books. I dun think it's hormones to be blame totally... cos there are cases of ladies who has MS thru out the pregnancy stage or some last into 2nd tri also have. So I more or less believe in "bu" the mother first before anything else. The MS thingy is more like electrolyte imbalance due to some lack of nutrients.

neeciel
not sure about honey being 'liang' cos my gynae and family doc always ask me to take honey whenever I've got sore throat. Cos they say honey got smoothing properties and good to take it esp manuka honey as it'll up your immune system... less likely to fall sick. It's definitely a healthier alternative to sugar...esp if u are craving for sweet stuffs. =)

Shelisa
for calcium intake, the milk(get those low fat but high clacium kind)... =) or the preggie ladies milk. Also can get calcium pill to take. My gynae got provide calcium pill so I usu get my intake from these two sources.

keke.. u can call me stubborn..cos for my 1st pregnancy, I simply eat everything. Of course things like raw or half cooked stuffs are not in the list. So no sashimi, no Ya kun eggs, also no cockles etc. Oh ya, there's 5 fishes been prohibited too. But I still eat crabs, prawns etc... my boy *touch wood* so far so good. Healthy n active. I dun really believe in things like what crabs cannot eat lah wait kid walk sideways etc... this kind of stuffs. Hey! Seafood got good source of iodine and nutrients too! of course gonna watch the chlorestrol. basically I feel we should just eat in moderation n normally. Dun have to eat extras or purposely avoid well, unless it's the prohibited food lah. =) Should enjoy! not make ourselves miserable.

hey all just wanted to tell you that my baby's heartbeat stopped at about 11 weeks ...
have to go and wash bb out..... the rest of you Please JIA YOU!

can I check with you all if you know of such test on both wife and husband on the chromosome incompatibility?

celia
so sorry to hear about this. Be strong...also do take good care too. *hugs*

think I read bef got some test on chromosome thingy..but not sure if it's the one u are toking about. Can try asking your gynae about it.

morning ladies.

celia, we are so sorry to hear that. hope u can rest well. pls rem to take good care of yourself.

First Mum, i think better to ask ur gynae. see whether she got any formula to help u. i do feel lavender and warm milk doesn help. u wanna try?

amk_gal, sound like the test u taking very safe and accurate but my gynae didnt intro me such test. after u take the test do share with us how the test is done?

createjoy, i rem those bottle bird nest some brand does contain 'gao li sheng' u can try to lookout at 'fu hua' or yu ren sheng'?

lavender_lover, im already 10 weeks 5 days but my gynae didnt give me any calcium pill except every morning 1 tablet of folod acid. normally we need to request from gynae or she will depend on case by case and decide whether 1 2 give us the calcium pill?

celia, wat happen to u ? this is so sudden ... do take good care of yourself...

hi jess, think of taking up Mr Adrian woodworth @ SK ...
i think u better rest more leh... have to try to rest & let ur mind rest too ... dun be stress up with ur work... u hv to rest Alot leh ... bleeding is a sign of miscarriage if u dun take care...

hi ladies, is it tat taking too much cold drink is not gd for bb huh ? cold honey, jiu hua , apple juice, etc