(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

hi all, so many of you going for NT and oscar scans. i think my gynae not into this leh, unless high risk bah. maybe i'll ask about a detail scan, just to make sure. how are these scans done? just another u/s scan but with 3d images? anybody else know the gender of the bb already? these scans can tell or not, since it is more detail than our normal scans?

hope everyone is doing well. seem that there's quite a few who had bleeding scares as well.

hi createjoy, think you are really very stressed bcos of your last 2 m/c. sayang u!!! quite hard to tell u to relax after wat you had been through. talk to bb ok? feel it and tell it to be strong and healthy.

hi cheery, so happy for u, can see baby dancing liao. multivits, iron will cause heatiness i think, drink lotsa water so wun constipation. cos constipation will cause u to exert pressure, esp those mommies who got bleeding scares, better try not to exert ourselves too much. abt bra extension, any bra selling place will have bah. even can try bra dept in shopping centre.

Mika Rei,

e detail scan is oso 2D, just that measurements of e whole body will b done, etc hand leg

some gynae will advise for NT scan first if high risk then proceed to further tests.

createjoy,for your situation you quit your job is a right choice,now need to take extra care liao.. My stomach also very tight,i think is bc we took duphaston,i got asked dr last time.I took 8 days MC begining of this mth,after i stop eat medicine then bleeding again so now a bit scare liao,i will follow doctor's instruction,take d medicine until 3 mths.And boss calling me while i'm on MC and he asked my colleague to push me for the outstanding project,my colleague get scold by the boss bc she didn't do that,i feel not nice to her also.seem like only i quit the job then they will hire someone to help up.Boss feel that i spoil company's rule,he said i'm the first case and last case also as i'm the first gal in their company that getting married and pregnant and take 8 days MC and also planning to take unpaid leaves.you can drink milk before sleep,or maybe after you quit your job then can sleep well liao,we have to rest well.Last time used to be eat outside,now my mum help us cook,can save a lots,hb earn also same as your hb.If i quit then let you know,we can plan some activity together ya,hehe... Last year i run marathon,luckly didn't register for this year,maybe next year we can join together if you like ;) Will pray for our BB to be strong and healthy.thanks for sharing ya,take care and good luck too!

lovelytulips,thanks,ya i'm feeling better now,my company location last time in TG pagar,now shift to Jurong east liao,very far and work overloaded,i'm thinking maybe can try some temp/part time job,but not yet deci.. later see how first,now got to settle few more outstanding projects with current company.

Shelisa,if i quit job then i think will be less expenses also,maybe can looking some part time job bah,somemore office so far from my home,even next year i go back to work also got distance problem.sooner or later i will quit,so thinking of quit the job earlier and rest for these few mth to get stable.and these mth i need to rest also,they will not allow me work at home all the time,morning 6 o'clcok wake up,night if no OT earliest 8 o'clock arr home,11 sleep..

shelisa,
woo..seafood ... better stop then... try not to eat food like roja, prawn soup, etc ... u shld know wat i mean lah ... now abt coming 10wk

now economy is bad... dont get retrenched already very gd. next year we got to worry about 4 mths maternity. dont know come back still got job onot. then and again, no pt worrying since we cant forsee the future. so just endure if can lor....

Jess, u stay in the east issit? that's why move ot jurong east, it's far for u....

Shelisa, dont need ask hubby cos he has seen me from long hair to short hair and he is ok with all. but i think long hair is more femine leh.... hahhahaha... long hair wana cut short, short hair wana grow long. :p

Lovelytulips,i stay near hougang..

my friend perm hair then rebonding after that perm again,hehee... i think few mth later we still need to cut short hair bah,cos difficult to wash ;p

Jess, wow from TG pagar shift to Jurong east. very sian lor.. the bus journey already turn me off too. i can fully understand if work overload really cannot stand. last time before i pregnant i work as admin supervisor, my work load is so heavy until cause me bladder got prob as i got no time to go toilet at all. so fully understand those stress cannot stand!! my SIL so blessed to have a good boss, know she pregnant quickly employ another worker, let her take time off, let her take unpaid leave, can even bring her son to work place if my MIL sick. this type of boss extinct liao. since it is, i think if u really cannot stand liao then talk to ur boss ba. see whether he 1 2 keep talent anot? he can suggest employ another new colleague and change u to half day basic.

cheery, i know. i really 'ren' 'ren' 'ren'. sometime my grandma see me 'ren' until like that then she will say aiyah eat 1-2 prawn wont die la. dun like that suffer la, cum eat abit, fainted lor.

lovelytulips, ohhh no wonder. i with my hubby for 7 yrs all along im long hair. that y i quite worried he not use to it. till now he still tell me he find it weird when others said i look better with short hair now. haha

jess, i stay in hougang too ...
... which gynae u visit ?

shelisa, u are so funny ... hehe .. gd tat u can eat lor ... i always feel very uncomfortable aft taking food one leh ...

cheery, last few weeks i also have prob eating food. after food always though to vomit but only stuck at the throat there. now only at morning then feel like vomiting. but sometime also siao siao anytime feel like to vomit. very soon all mommies here gg to end out 1st tri. hope MS gone!!

Good morning ladies,

Jess, that's nice to work from home.. as Poulinea said, maternity leave is 16 wks, as much as I could, trying to endure lor.. I also took abt 1.5-2 hrs to get to work, I stay @boonlay, took bus to mrt, then reach city took another bus to office.. I agree with Shelisa & neeciel, economy so bad, I'm with a financial inst, foreign one - so no 13th month, there's a lot of bad news goin on here, companies cutting headcounts etc, everyday just hope doesn't ends up retrenched.. no matter how bad MS is, still have to chin up and go to work.. but in your case, if your hubby can sustain, and you can't take mc for bed rest, then resigning is a visible option.. you may want to discuss this with ur hubby.. hope your bleeding stop.. try not to get stressed too, it affects your body and your bb.. wow, you run marathon
I'm impressed, you must be very fit then.. I'm more of those laze-exercise kinda person, the once-or-twice a month gym gal.. hehe..

createjoy, welcome! glad to see more mothers gathering here

Shelisa, sure, will share the NT experience here once it's done, however, I heard it was just some kinda scan.. hope no injection or poking needle, really really hate needle..
hmm.. hearing you, now I also feel like cutting my hair leh.. oh.. the detergent, there's somethin that soft soft one called essence or something.. my friend is using it for her baby clothes I think.. but quite ex tho..

cheery, so happy for you, can see bb so active and healthy

Mika, not so sure abt the 3D images, I saw in the form there's an option if we want to see 3D (must pay extra I suppose), but I my friends told me that usually they were offerred 3D images in the later part of pregnancy, when can see more of the bb.. I saw it once at a friend's place, just like real life photo, non coloured tho..
neeciel, haa.. the nurse ticked the oscar first trimester ah.. my doctor ticked the one above that one, the P2, NT scan one.. diff test then..

Shelisa,how short is your hair now? wow.. Your SIL have a really good boss.I work as IT,handling all the network issue and software development,boss always ask my colleague push me to finish those projects,make my colleague also stress.But one thing is good,boss let me work at home recently as office renovation.Now they are looking for new IT staff liao finally after i took 8 days MC,but boss didn't tell me directly that he interview others.How is your work now?

Ling,i think you got no seat all the way right.. You are so hardworking,you so late then can reach home,what's time you have your dinner?how about lunch?My husband ask me to resign but i still not decide yet.Some times i need to rest but still need to do work. thanks for you blessing.I'm tat type very easy to gain one,now few months nv exercise liao.. hehe..

Jess, network is good, I'm doing applications, can't access it from home, financial inst very strict with security.. yup, no seat lor.. if I go off earlier, sometimes I just wait for the next train to come, even so, some times, some people, just pushed or shoved leh.. my hubby asked me if I want to take taxi, but it costs at least $35 during peak hours, some more, some taxi drivers drive like a failed F1 driver, sudden break and all, not to mention if they've just smoke, the smell make the MS worse.. your hubby very nice, very supportive, it's your decision lor.. but above all, your wellbeing and bb's health is the top priority.. have you gain much weight this 1st trimester ?

Lunch time soon, but dun feel like earing, just got my breakfast out in the toilet.. throat pain

thanx for the info, bbpotato and Ling. i think i'll see wat my gynae says after this visit then. if he sees no risks then mayb dont' really need to go for other further scans. how much are the NT scans and oscar scans?

ya, economy not going to be good. i'm really hoping that i can keep my job, don't need pay rise, don't need more leave, just status quo for the down period will do. keep my fingers crossed.

having sick and cough this few days..... Keep on coughing non-stop even after taking the medicine for doctor.... Feel very tired now cause yesterday night cough until i can't sleep.... Anyone have a good way to get rid of cough?

Ling,i can't access it from home too,but i copy the whole application,after amend ask my colleague paste it back.. Taxi?agree with you,expensive and sometimes they drive like car racing,hehee.... I gain 3 KG during ini 4 wks,but loss 3 KG after that,bc of MS.. after vomiting you need to drink some water and continue to eat,no choice,not eat for ourself only,got to eat for BB also..

Hapeverafter,beside taking medicine you also need to keep drink boil water and sleep ,rest more.hope you getting well soon.

Ling. me too.. i am so so afraid of needle. i think that time i did told u ladies my gynae nurse draw 3 tube of blood from me. i shouted so loud that when i stepped out of the room all other ppl staring at me. lolz.. essence i heard before, pretty ex.. maybe i will try to buy small bottle, if feel ok then consider changing to this deterget.

Jess, my hair behind is shorter then ear but both side hair is longer then ears abit. i think the hair dresser trying to make my hair got shape not so old fashion ba. IT, very siong 1 leh. have to crack ur brain have to keep rushing project. if ur boss can employ another colleague maybe it is very helpful to u at least to share ur burden. i don't think he will do anything to u as maybe ur company really need another worker as work load getting high? actually im quite lucky ger here i think. my work load is pretty little. sometime only some urgent thing need to settle on ths spot but most of the time the paper work can delay. as i told my frenz 8 hours working hours, i only need to use less then 2 hours to settle my work. so mostly spend my time watching drama.

hapeverafter, i think u better rest well then try to eat light food and drink more plain water.

Hi Vincent,

My doc has proposed amnio to me due to my age. But after much thought, I decided to go for the blood test and NT scan first as there is a certain risk in amnio.

hi ladies, it's so not fun. half eating my lunch, and half wanting to puke. and that duphaston is just not making me feel any better. my lunch is at my throat, still deciding if to go down or to come up.

Shelisa,last mth i went to cut hair,but not short hair,is shouder length.

My boss told my colleague already,he said now hire 1 ppl later when i go back to office then got 1 redundant already,even now they haven't find any suitable candidate yet.Actually he has good intension,he just don't want to fire any staff there.. Now working at home and prepare to taking unpaid leave,only need to clear some outstand work,i'm still ok,relax a lots than work in office liao.. you are so efficient,only 2 hours can finish 8 hours work,you doing admin or account?Your office can watching drama ? wah.. so nice..

Mika, my doctor said the NT scan is around $100 and Oscar $300 (plus minus).. share with us how it goes okie..

hapeverafter, is your coughing due to flu/cold ? because sometimes, pregnancy can cause heartburn & gastric problem, which also causes occassional cough when the acid reflux, but if your cough is quite severe until you can't sleep, can ask your gynae to prescribe a safe cough meds, have u tried lozenges ? doctor said can even suck lozenges as we sleep if it helps to soothe the throat..

Jess, wah.. I can't do that, as my team quite big and they all accessing the same thing.. bo bian lor, gotta come to work.. taxi driver xiao leh.. got one time the uncle drive very slooow, to the point of road hogging, in the highway, with sudden breaking here and there, I got nausea, started gagging, he panicked and speed up like nuts
hehe.. that's good mah, gain 3kg and lose it again, so back to neutral now
I don't drink water, dun like the taste, only drink fruit juice and decaf tea..

Shelisa, hahaha yah I remember, when I told my hubby abt your needle story, he looked at me in horror and asked " will you be like that too?" lol..

feel very tired lately, are we allowed to take essence of chicken in 1st trimester ? is it too heaty ?

Mika, same here i have bad nausea these 2 days dunno wat happened, esp morning when i took train and was standing all the way. I noticed nausea can get worse when i am in enclosed area like car, train or public toilet...

Jess, if can try to continue work as working also easy to let time pass easily. u intend to take how long unpaid leave? actually my work load not that high. so slowly do also need less then 2 hours then finish. im working as clerk in construction place. maybe my project is pretty small that y the work load not that high. as we are in the container working, inside only have me and my manager, he cant see my monitor + i wear head phone so only when other step in look for me then i close the screen to my work screen. haha

Ling, that is so so sacry. i nearly cried. i keep imagine other thing but . . still pain lor. maybe have phobia ba.. last time in sec sch even funny, i forget what injection is that. whole sec 3 already done the injection except me ended up my teacher caught me up to the room and ask my 4 classmate to hold my shoulder n leg to avoid me from running away. then ended up im too too nervous, the nurse try to inject my hand cannot insert then she keep poking. that y i hate needle!!

mika, u wanna try to take some sweet or cold milo? maybe it will help?

Ling,next time you need to ask the driver to slow down liao,and bring a plastic bag to be ready.. you can use the red date boil water,not bad,eat fruit directly better than drink juice.

Shelisa,ya it's true but this work overloaded,not suitable for my current situation liao,want to find some other part time job if can.wah your manager must be thinking why you are so concentrate in front of the computer,haha... Sometimes you can go out breath fresh air,your BB will thank you ,keke...I'm going out walk for a while,cannot stay at home whole day not going out,hehe..

Jess, yup yup. they thought i so concentrate working. so funny but sometime when work come i confirm handle my work 1st.. i do breathe some air when i walk down to toilet.
enjoy ur walk.

neeciel, i feel the same too. and sometimes standing up makes me nausea as well.

shelisa, sweets and milo helps.
even sour plum helps when my gastric is still under control. these are my faithful companions. ha! thanx!

reading thru this thread really helps lifting the mood. i don't feel so alone dealing with all these uncomforts! thanx everyone.

Mika, what i usually did is i try to eat something...like instant mashed potatoe, i realised alw make me feel better after a small snack haha

Shelisa, hwahaha.. u very funny le.. actually they have smaller (children) needle, and we can request for that if it's just for injection, but for drawing blood, nurse would usually ask, small needle takes longer, are you sure ? like that, then better normal needle, faster get it done..
your work so nice.. my eyes a bit sore now keep staring at the computer screen..

Jess, some taxi uncle are quite nice, but got some of them a bit cranky liao.. so usually I just keep quiet lor.. your job, s/ware devt & network is tough and quite stressful le.. I'm not techie but my brother is.. take a walk, get some fresh air, bb will love it

Mika, same here, thanks to you and all ladies too, today the MS is tripled from ytd, a bit cranky, thot by now it should be almost gone.. but try almost everything since morning and the nausea & headache just getting worse and worse.. it's nice to have you all here at times like these.. *hugz*

Ling, i dun care smaller or big needle. as long as it is needle i scare liao. i think u better walk ard and see green thing. i think to overcome MS, i think most impt is dun keep remember whether later after eating food will vomit anot? or keep reminding urself confirm eat liao have MS. i think very soon MS will gone.

Mika, but rem dun eat too much sweet. control abit.

neeciel, the instant mashed potato u talking is it buy from 7-11 one?

neeciel, instant mashed potato is yummy!!!
i like salthy food. but i don't like those mashed potato with strong potato taste. i like the salty gravy part...

Ling, hmmm.... nothing's helping ur nausea & headache? my gynae says panadol is ok to take, preg will get headaches. my nausea also coming back too, although just now it got better after the sour plum i took. sometimes it got so bad i just go stick my finger in my throat to force myself to throw up. but hang on in thr yeah, when's your edd, ur 12 weeks in sight yet? will get better soon.... let's count down together!!!

Shelisa & Mika, the one i bought from Shop & Save or NTUC, is Gold Hill brand dun hv gravy one. Add boiling water and stir lor.

Shelisa, haha.. ya lah.. big or small still needle.. but, heard that later part still got one more.. so.. gotta fight the fear.. for our bb..

Mika, I ate lunch, ate rockmelon, rose-apple, strawberry.. still very giddy.. so fed up, two days ago wasn't like this.. er.. Mika, dun poke your throat, might hurt it.. my edd still the same 5 June, this Fri would be 12 weeks, after NT test, am goin to ask my gynae if any changes in the edd.. yeah.. let's countdown, look forward to 2nd trims..

Been eating strawberry a lot, so just googled if it's safe, turn out, it has folate (source of folic acid) in it.. yippee..

Shelisa, just the mashed potato lor, is quite nice leh tho no gravy. Nt very dry lah is only a small serving. I oso like salty food hee

oh i love rock melon too, think i prefer mash potato with gravy.. if anybody can find those with gravy (besides kfc) pls do let me know =)

oo.. all these reading is making me hungry. keke

hi ladies, i also thought MS shud be better, but no leh... yday i ate a bit during dinner, then my MIL made a hard boil egg for me for supper... 10 mins later, the egg came out... so sad...

haha, i like rockmelon too...

hatemenot, 7-11 has the $1 or is it $1.50 instant ones with gravy... not bad leh. but i'm not sure if all 7-11 have. Shelisa you know?

Hi Jess,
Can feel your work real stressful. Women are protected by law, your company cant fire you because you are pregnant (unless you offer to leave). Why dont you list down the pros and cons, to help you to decide.

Ling, i will endure.. regardless wat. we are so brave n noble..Ling, u so fast reaching week 12. hope ur MS gone by that time. counting down haha

neeciel, ok i will to buy that brand and see nice anot as sometime work until half way very sian tok to eat something.

hatemenot, same. i was quite bloated after lunch but after reading i feel so hungrey. feel like eating strawberri... i rem 7-11 also have those instant 1.. i rem the brand is maggi 1.. i think quite nice leh.

Dovey, maybe egg make u feel like vomiting. next time maybe change ur supper to a glass of milk or ceral? or not try to eat those food u like maybe like donut? beadcurd?

seem quite a number of mommies love rock melon. i also love rock melon. smell nice n taste sweet.

gg off duty. ladies enjoy dinner. eat those food u love n those keep reminding urself that scare later might vomit. be nature. finish ur dinner, do something u like, like have a slow walk at the garden? go supermarket walk walk or not play game watch tv? take care

Dovey, hard boiled egg diff to digest leh, try nt to take at night lor.

Shelisa, got a lot of choices i only tried the loaded flavour, red packaging one with bacon bits inside.

Ya tried the 7 11 one before too but cant have it anytime i want leh, so instant is the solution if i am at home or office.

long time no post already! went for my first gynae visit today! saw the bb during ultrasound scan, measuring 24mm today at 9 weeks 1 day. Its heart was beating away furiously and I think I saw its head move up and down. My EDD has been changed to 22 June 09. (Can someone kindly update for me please?)

I have also taken up the Down Syndrome screening test to be taken 4 weeks from now.. Cost me $300..

Any civil servants out here? I was just wondering if it's worth using MCPS to pay for the checkups.. if no difference then I think i might want to stop using it..

anyway, i got traces of glucose in my urine this morning when i went for urine test. a bit worried, but gynae says will test later on in pregnancy cos now still too early to tell if i got gestational diabetes..

u gals make me wana eat mashed potato and so i had hubby buy 2 small whipped potato from kfc. that's my dinner. wasnt feeling really in the mood to eat. then i realised it's tues - i always kena bad nausea on tues and thurs. haiz...

amk_gal, u must be excited since it's ur first visit. and happy for u that everything's well. very cute rite to see the ultrasound scan??

regards to glucose, i guess reduce ur intake of sugar now... i head it's common to have traces in urine. as long as it's not in the blood, it's fine.

seems like a few MTBs have spotting.. do rest well and all the best to u and your baby

went for my checkup today.. baby was dancing during ultrasound and measured 40.5mm at 11week 2 day.. my EDD has been shifted from 15th to 7th Jun 2009 (can someone help me to update?)

amkgal,
there is a cap for MCPS one right? or it that the civil servant card? my hubby also civil servant..