(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cheery, actually you yourself can just go any gynae clinic and do the ultra scanning, make sure bb everything doing well then u and ur hubby go discuss which clinic u shld use. or see anyone can recommend u. i feel that u shld'nt delay anymore.

stickymouse, so far my gynae only ask me to eat folid acid. she didnt ask me to eat other vitamins leh.

innocentwar, same. im also sure that within this 1-2 years time i sure to stay in spore land. sob sob

celia,
EDD will change here n there based on bb size.. but not to worry.. is about +- few days.. and gynae always take the 1st EDD which is calculated base on LMP.. HTHs..

Cheery,
You can book the appointment now for next week. You can choose a gynae near your house too (for convience).

thanks babycupid..
can i check if those bb clothes that have strings instead of buttons are better?
u know those that we can tie to fasten?

cheery, mc from gynae.

shelisa, trying to rest lor... now pondering what to have for lunch. everyting kind of doesnt appeal to me.

i guess for those who wana travel, better travel in the 2nd tri. when bb pops out, no time for it... unless u dont mind bringing bb along....

cheery, i'm on supplements already. iron, calcium, multi-vits, fish oil. maybe cos my weight dropped, and my MS quite bad, no appetite, so dr gave me pills to at least start providing nutrients for bb.

Shelisa.. my gynae told me to take multivit but my family doc against it as my family said that there is no medical evidence that multivit will help the BB and Folic Acids is the only thing that is medically proven can reduce the chance of BB suffering from spina bifida.

I trust my family doc more as she treated me since kid and her HB is a very experience gynae. So now I only take 2 tablets of folic acids everyday and that's all.

Sharon Chee, i tok 1 day 1 folid acid will do? if eat too much will have side effect? i tok green vegetable n nut also have folid acid?

celia, i think take button better. if string later bb play with the string very dangerous. they maybe use the string play with the neck, or they put into mouth or poke their eyes.

lovelytulips, same. everyday lunch time is the wrose. i can walk in the coffee shop up n down for ard 15 mins then got feeling what to eat. so sometime ask my frenz working around me fetch me out to shopping to eat at least it might let u crave for other thing.

I dun take any multivit mah.. usually multivit already contains folic acids, that's y most of u will take 1 only. Also I dun really like vege which contains folic acid.. add it on I am suffering from mild spina bifida too - that's y I am under high risk category and require higher dosage of folic acid

hi sharon chee, ic, maybe your case need more folate acid. yes, multi-vit contains folate acid and iron.

i think generally, iron is for the production of blood, calcium is for the bones and teeth. even if not for the bb, it's good for us to take, cos bb drawing a lot of our body's supply. not enough blood we'll feel faint or anemic. not enough calcium, our own teeth may drop, and we also can prevent osteoporosis in the future. since now medical more advance, we are given these kinda things, even though i really hate to take pills, i'll just take it for the sake of bb & myself. not present gain also may hv future benefits. anyway, if have too much, will naturally discharge out of body, no harm. but taking them always make me nausea. arghhh!!!

FOlic acid is taken to prevent BB from suffering from spina bifida.

Spina bifida is a birth defect that involves the incomplete development of the spinal cord or its coverings. The term spina bifida comes from Latin and literally means "split" or "open" spine.

Spina bifida occurs at the 1st trimester of pregnancy when the two sides of the embryo's spine fail to join together, leaving an open area. In some cases, the spinal cord or other membranes may push through this opening in the back.

Because of the abnormal development of and damage to the spinal cord, a child might has some paralysis. The degree of paralysis largely depends on where the opening occurs in the spine. The higher the opening is on the back, the more severe the paralysis tends to be.

Children with spina bifida often have problems with bowel and bladder control, and some may have attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) or other learning difficulties, such as hand-eye coordination problems.

gynae wont check..

I knew about it bcos once i had a back injury and during the treatment the doc found out tat I had mild spina bifida where my last spinal cord did not fully developed and that's y I have very weak back support. I am consider lucky as there is no opening in the cord - just the cord is not as thick as it supposed to be. That's y I did not suffer from any paralysis.

Mika/Sharon Chee, if sometime i forget to eat in the morning.. can i eat in the afternoon or night? And sometimes i can totally forget to eat it. how??

Shelisa.. if u forgotten to eat in the morning.. then afternoon/evening lor.. It won't create much harm if u miss a dose.

No worries yah...

Shelisa, did your gynae tell you to eat one in the morning, another in the aft and another at night or something like that? I think it's cos if we puke, at least we have chance that we don't puke after every meal and so some of what we eat stay down. I take iron in the morning, calcium in aft, fish oil in night. If i puke in the morning but could keep my lunch and dinner down, at least my calcium & fish oil will have chance to take effect right? So you forgot dosage nmind, can still eat in aft, forgot, then eat at night. Forgot today, nmind, then eat tomorrow. But try to remember lah, it's for good of bb & you. It's supplements to improve health, not something that you need in order to survive.
But Duphaston or the hormone pills, better remember to take around the clock if prescribed. Cos it helps to keep the bb. It increases our female hormones which is needed to carry the baby at least for now.

Sharon Chee, thanks but im those blur blur type n absent mind type. so sometime when i sleep then i jump up from the bed then i rem i forget to eat but i m still lazy to walk to kitchen to eat the folic acid. haha

Mika, can check with u something. my whole body have rashes, i think ard 500-600 dots of rashes. then gynae said is due to my hormones changes that y some women will occur rashes. y my gynae cannot let me eat some hormone pill to balance or stable my hormones?

im new to this thread. june MTB as well. no MS and putting on weight v fast! all the food im taking seems to go to me instead of the foetus.

shelisa,
i had very bad rashes for my 1st pregnancy as well. so bad that i cannot tahan and always scratch till bleed. the itch was very very unbearable. then my mum cooked black beans with brown sugar and i used it to wipe all over the body (now i tink abt it quite gross) everynite. its a "mifang" from my auntie. it really helped the rashes and it went away by 2nd trimester.

Shelisa.. u r not alone.. I also have lotsa rashes on my back as well as chest. Small red dots.. Luckily it's not itchy.. It's due to hormone fluctuation in our body - just like some preg lady will gets lotsa pimples/breakouts on the face. U can't take hormone pill to balance it as it's part & parcel of pregnancy - hormone fluctuation.

my mum said she had the same problem back then and all rashes went disappear within few days after she gave birth. I bet we just have to sacrifice for our lil one...

First mum, welcome.. ur mum cooked black beans with brown sugar, then u wipe it. then did u wash it away?? so after the rashes gone does it left any scar there?? or did u apply any cream from the gynae?

Sharon Chee, because mine is whole body except face. then my both hands, i think each hand have ard 100+ dot of rashes. as i take bus to work, i scare i might scare other ppl as they might not know that it is cause by hormone fluctuation. so recently regardless how hot i still have to wear a jacket to cover. gynae say some ppl after 1st tri but some ppl after birth. im so worry. as spore weather are just too hot to wear jacket.

shelisa,
just cook with water so its actually very diluted like brown water and no need wash off cos its supposed to soothe the rashes. it smells ok too, not pungent or anything.

no scars for me lucky. gynae only gave me calamine which doesnt work loh. only when its first applied. no oral medication either.

First Mum, ohhh as have cook with briwn sugar.. later ant will come bite bite anot? haha.. sorry, im trying to act cute. anyway when u start to have rashes and how long does it last?

My gynae give me a tube of cream, i find it the more i apply the more it born. then my family doc give me a liquid to apply and a cream to apply. i also feel after applying the more rashes born. but i rem u said u scratch until bleed also didnt leave any scar?

Shelisa, yea, i think it cannot be balanced out with hormone pills. it's a natural reaction of the body for certain pregnant mommies. I heard there are different kinds of rashes. Some are cos some women have ultra sensitive skin during pregnancy and will react badly to washing powder or dish washer or something like that. Others are cos of the hormones that react from internally, these are harder to manage. But all will subside either after a while or after birth. Try observing if you are allergic to anything to see if it will help?

Mika, now i treat myself like have chicken pox. famil doc ask me to avoid seafood, nut, cheese, ham and egg. so now i eat very plain. actually i love love seafood but too bad i rather not to eat now as i scare the rashes will be more n more. i already changes my shampoo and body soap to johnson n johnson as it is quite mild.

Shelisa,
Your rashes sound kind of serious. Do take care ya.

Ling,
I only experience the lower back pain during the later stage of the pregnancy stage. Maybe you want to ask gynae abt it.

Jackie, haiz.. what can i do?? i only can accept it..

First Mum, ohhh as have cook with briwn sugar.. later ant will come bite bite anot? haha.. sorry, im trying to act cute. anyway when u start to have rashes and how long does it last?

My gynae give me a tube of cream, i find it the more i apply the more it born. then my family doc give me a liquid to apply and a cream to apply. i also feel after applying the more rashes born. but i rem u said u scratch until bleed also didnt leave any scar?

bye ladies.. enjoy ur weekend.

Jackie, I also dunno.. last week it just came and go.. but from early this week it's getting more frequent, and the last two days, I can't even walk without limping, very painful.. from the lower spine, to the side hip joint..

thanks, yah, think I'll check with my gynae..

hi ladies, today TGIF but i wasnt happy at all leh... been feeling very nausea days back, lsat night and today is the worst...

hi Ling,

i've got lower back pains since 3 weeks ago too... i searched it up and kinda thought it might be posterior pelvic pain.. mine's at the base of my spine where it connects to my pelvic bone (or the tailbone). our hormones loosen up the joints in our bodies in preparation for expansion, that's one reason.

my gynae said it's normal, will probably go away but will return in late pregnancy when the body weight shifts to the front and we keep arching our back. she encouraged me to go swimming (but only with a companion as preggers tend to develop cramps easily)

you can find tips on the web for how to relieve yourself of the pain... i learnt to use my hands to press myself up from my office desk so as not to strain my back

neeciel, my hubby is writing down the food I ate, to find out which one causes the nausea to be worse and which one that helps.. it kinda works.. share with you some tips that works for me..

- get enough sleep, the lesser your sleep, the more nause you'll get the next day
- if you're hungry in the middle of the night, try to eat something solid like bread, plain one also can, it'll help your tummy not so empty in the morning
- don't sit straight away after medium to big meals, like lunch, take a stroll for a shortwhile
- munch on something that you (your baby) like
for my case, fruits, grapes, berries..
- if mouth got some alkaline taste (it's horrible I know), I took some sweets loh.. if not, it can make you nausea too..

thanks Ling for the tips =)

i am taking sweets as well throughout the day when i am at work, but 1 thing i dun follow u, i dun eat in the middle of the night, so most of the nights i got fainting spells during my sleep.

hi stickymouse,

yes, yes, me too, from the base of the spine, then getting worse to the right hip joint and if I walk longer, it stretches as far as the outer thigh as well.. even when I lay down in bed also the same, move from one side to the other is very painful..

I tried checking around the net for solution, it just said that this kinda pain is common during pregnancy, I can hardly walk, how is it normal then, very frustrating..

Aside from swimming, any other way, like yoga perhaps ? I'm scared for swimming, there's too many chemical & bacteria in the pool, some more, if it's public pool, afraid if there's some kids accidentally kick or something.. yoga sounds like a safer option.. but hey, thanks for the info yah, really appreciate it, feel quite relief that I'm not alone in this too..

not sure about other sports, but swimming is actually good maternal sport because the buoyancy relieves you of the weight. even your baby enjoys the light-weightedness in the womb.

don't worry about chemicals or bacteria, the waterbag is ever the best designed home for our babies!! (on a side note: if you're worried about bacteria then shouldn't you stay way from sex during pregnancy 'cos of "even closer contact"? doesn't make sense right??

just try to make your everyday actions easy on your back as far as you can... stand up a walk around a bit if you've sat for too long, learn to walk straight and watch your posture, keep your back rested against the chair backrest etc. etc.

thanks a lot stickymouse for the tips, will check around for swimming pool nearby

think also gotta buy some good chair cushion, tend to sit long hours at work.. maybe that's what made it worse too.. thanks again! *hugz*

Dear BlueDream, jus went for my first gynae visit... my edd has changed to 26 Jun 09 liao... Gynae is Dr Chan frm GlenE.. Thks very much for doing the list ya!

Hmmmm.... I did the v scan as well.. was so tensed and scared after seeing what all of you went thru but it wasn't tat bad la! :D So ladies who have not tried b4 tink u dun ve to be so scared.

evening mummies, went for my check up this morning, finally is tummy scan from today onwards.

Can see my baby jumping and kicking away the very initial scan, after a few seconds baby just rest still, gynae keeps talking to baby hoping will jump again, but too bad, baby simply sleep thru the rest of the scan.

baby measured 40.7mm today, am 10 weeks 6 days =)

I am new here and in my 10 weeks of pregnancy now. My EDD is on 15 Jun 09. So excited just like the rest of you.

My MS is quite mild..no throwing up but nausea mostly. I also had some slight bleeding lately. So had to retake the Duphaston.

I will go for the Oscar test on 5 Dec. Any idea how is the Oscar test like?

welcome jaime, i am gg for oscar test on 26 Nov.

Oscar test is using ultra sound to measure the thickness of the back of the baby's neck, if DS baby will have a thicker neck compared to normal babies. If i am not wrong, there will also be blood test to determine the protein level as well.

welcome jaime. =)

How are mummies feeling already?

anybody having any pimple outbreak? me started having like at least 5 big ones on my face.. really don't know what can be used for them.

Thanks neeciel for letting me know wat is oscar test.

I am a first time mummy and got lots to learn. Now screening thru on where to buy maternity clothes to prepare myself for the next 2 mths.

I do not have any pimples or rashes outbreak. Luckily for me at the moment. I just do not have a good appetite. Now I can only eat less than half a bowl rice. And within 3 weeks, i actually lost 3 kgs.

jaime, i oso first time mum =)
do read up more and u will find that all knowledge at ur finger tips =)

wah u lost so much weight!! i lost a bit due to nausea and now i am eating 3 meals only, dun snack in between meals already.

neeciel, 10 weeks 40.7mm is quite big???
u going oscar on 26th?? same here!! what time is ur appt?? prob will bump into u. :p

welcome Jaime. that's alot of weight u lost. but i guess u'll regain it in the 2nd tri. i lost very little only, 0.5kg..... cant wait for MS to go away.

hatemenot, i have breakout on my left side chin and a big one near my ear. hahahah..... i just leave it to be.....

good morning ladies.

neeceil, 10 weeks 6 days measured bb at 40.7mm.. good progress. so excited for u. i will only visit gynae on 29/11 for my week 12.

welcome jaime. did ur gynae say abt ur weight loss?

hatemenot, i do have pimple outbreak ard week 4.. then each week by each week it disappear slowly. so not to worry too much. but some ppl say if u pregnant boy or girl will easily have pimple outbreak continue thru out the pregnany. some ppl say is boy but some ppl say is ger. so i guess gave to guess now ba.

good morning ladies

wow, everyone going for the Oscar test ah.. my gynae schedule me for only blood test next week, but not Oscar.. is it really important to have one ?

Jaime, welcome! I'm also first time mum, just like neeciel said, read through and you'll find a lot of information we shared here..

jaime, neeciel & tulips, you gals lose weight during this trimester, due to the MS, nausea and all that.. my friend also, she lost 4 kg during her first trimester.. but not for me leh, I put on weight, aabout 0.5-0.9kg every 4 weeks.. haiz.. fat mummy..