(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Dolly, have gynae did a VE on you yet? Mayb also dilating liao? haa

Annie.. haha! dats y she tot i upgrade to mummy liao.. she got mild contractions so shld be soon also lah..

Since last nite VE, i still have spotting till now(brown discharge). How long will this cease huh?

dolly- yah timing now.. wow u really can sleep i scare take a nap i cant sleep at nite

creamer- lets see shelisa or u pop out 1st kekekekekeke

Hi creamer,

I am from dec 09 thread, sorry to barge in. just like to ask if Dr koh force you to buy fish oil supplements? and how much it cost everytime? because i think he's getting more commercial as compared to few years back. not sure if want to change gynae.

Tototan, Dr Koh didnt force me to buy fish oil leh but this supplement is a norm so i buy from him everytime. He just ask if i need, if dun need he dun force one. Actually, everytime is i tell him i wan to buy instead. It cost about $45.

Hi creamer,

thanks for the reply! just wanted to be sure. because i saw all the ladies there buying 2 packets everytime they come out. and from other threads, some say he just make you buy from him. reason is because i hate supplements. thanks again.

congrats split

Congrats Split!!

Tototan, cos they now change into smaller packaging, i.e 2 packs are equivalent to 1 pack of 60 softgels.

Annie, think diff brand ba.. i still got 30 caps left.. think will left over.

bbpotato, oh still can eat when BF ah, but "bu" wat huh? since bb deliver liao. hee

Annie, my is $45 for 60 caps leh. So yrs more ex wor..

bbpotato.. thks for the link. oh think the DHA will be absorb in our BM and pass to our baby to promote proper brain and eye development. So no waste liao.

superbee : ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. my baby was being fussy so i needed to attend to her.she just fell asleep and i saw your message saying must PM you before 3pm.

sigh!!! sorry i couldnt let you know earlier.wasted,man!!!

Thanks for being so nice and offering.Really appreciate it!

congrats to all mummies who have popped or are about to pop. i am SO SO SO jealous because you're getting to see your babies soon! but at the same time, i hope my girl waits a bit more because i already make dinner plans for next week! hehe

re fish oil: annie, even though we both seeing gynaes at kk, they prescribe different brands of supplements? mine is neurogain, think also $45 for 60 softgels.

re sleeping at night: annie, difficulties in sleeping means what? like aching all over when you sleep in one position? i'm like that leh..for past week i dread going to sleep because so hard to turn in bed at night. like my whole pelvic area threatening to break like that. feet still swollen, and tonight will do the oil test on my tummy just for fun. old wives tale says that if you drip oil (apparently any kind of oil: baby oil, olive oil, cooking oil??) on your tummy and it flows downwards in straight line means you're about to deliver. if sideways means not yet.

btw, seems the magic dilation number is 2cm then all gynaes ask to induce/admit. hehe

caramelle- guess different prescribe different fish oil for bb growth..

my ex colleague only mention difficulty in sleeping as body aching & feeling cramp all over then when she go to TMC she was told she going to deliver so ask me did i experience tat & i said no as i been sleeping without waking up to pee at all..
very tired...i also experience the private part like going to burst but till now okay leh.. as for feet swollen up it started to get better & not so swollen up...
wow but i dare not drip oil leh wait my hubby said i crazy

annie, last sat i see my gynae he ask me how i was feeling. i said aching all over! then he ask me why??? i look at him puzzled...men shouldn't be allowed to ask such questions and comments when they will never go through process of pregnancy and childbirth!

Caramelle.. haha! serious ah the drip oil thingy.. it all depend on belly shape and positioning to determine the flow direction mah. Hee.. You can play play lah no harm den let us know is it for real for you!

creamer, but i scared ley! if really flow downwards i still have not prepared everything. still need to get a diaper change table to put across her cot...

caramelle- hehehehehe mine also did ask me how i feeling i told him below pain .. & he jus put his finger inside my virginal then said he can feel my boy head & might be poppin out tis week but still no signs leh...

bbpotato : thanks!!!!! just sent her a PM.dunno if she will check even if she's not at home....

keeping my fingers crossed!!!!

hpe she's able to get for us..

Congrats to mummies who POPPED!!!!

Jam75,
Woody also haven't done VE on me. Wondering when will he be doing so as anxious to kw whether I have dilate. Have been experiencing cramps lately.

Annie,
I'm taking same brand fish oil as you but mine is $34. Yours much cheaper.

Caramelle,
My condition exactly like yours. Pelvic like breaking when turning. Try to do Kegel exercises for relieve. Was told that if continues to ache, when deliver thru vaginal will have difficulty in open wide legs or turning.

comfort : i was also very excited to know if i was already dilated but wody didnt wan to do for me at first.he said if he does VE then there will be high chance that even if you're not in labour,that the VE will cause labour to start...

only when i couldnt walk properly and had to stop and rest for every 10 steps i took in his office that he finally did VE for me.

hiya, ahnetsan has "popped". Her Baby boy, Jairus has arrived at 3.56pm today, 3.335KG, head circum 33cm, length 51cm. Assisted Natural WITHOUT EPI.

Wat a brave mummy!

Creamer: No VE yet and heard from another mum under the same gynae that he dun do VE
The fish oil fr my gynae is called Prolacta, it's $60 for 60 pills, we can still eat during breastfeeding, cos our milk contains DHA... so baby still drawing our brain juice!
so yours is cheaper! What brand is that?

Annie: Tried to catch as much sleep cos I couldn't sleep well at night, woke up almost every hour, either BH, tummy or my running nose, so just go and sleep whenever I feel sleepy

caramelle: Diaper changing table, found one at Kiddy palace, doesn't look nice but it's below $30! Haven't bought yet though, wonder if it's useful

Split: Congrats! Just sms TubbyMummy, she's at Mt A too, what room are you in? Maybe she can pop by tmr!

Congrats to Ahnetsan too!

congrats ahnetsan!
her boy's statistics so many '3's hehe..

creamer
my girl was 5 days early only.. i really hope her bro is earlier than her...

11_beans
i know that pain feeling.. got once pain until i cant walk and need to stop until the pain goes away then continue...

Dolly, mine also Prolacta brand.. Kee.. so mine is cheaper.

Ahnetsan, so brave without epi wor! Paifu! Waiting to hear your birth story. Congrats!

Tinybubu,
Oh, didn't kw that VE can cause labour. So maybe that's the reason why he haven't done VE on me. Come to say that, he's quite a careful & gentle man. keke

You mean when the true labour pain starts, walking becomes a difficulty? Is the pain like sharp pain on & off?

dolly, thanks for info about the change table. which kiddy palace you remember? cos compass point one dont have leh. i saw one at mothercare $79 - quite expensive leh..i got no space for separate changing station so thought of putting it across her cot then can double up the space. to change on my bed i must bend down and scared can cause backache

Caramelle,

got this from e net

Standard List Of Things To Pack In Hospital Bag For Day Of Delivery:

Documents To Bring:

1. antenatal checkup card
2. ATM cards (?)
3. gynae's letter (if any)
4. NRIC of husband & wife
5. outpatient appointment card

Items For Mother:

1. disposable breast pads --- to absorb leaking colostrum.
2. disposable cotton panties.
3. elastic hair band --- to tie up hair.
4. face towel.
5. going-home dress --- to wear on day of discharge (a full dress is easier to wear and is more comfortable, particularly if you happened to undergo an emergency caeseran delivery).
6. hair comb or brush.
7. maternity pads --- to absorb heavy postpartum blood flow.
8. mobile phone and its charger!
9. nipple shields --- to protect sore or cracked nipples while breastfeeding.
10. nursing bra --- to use with disposable breast pads.
11. socks --- to keep feet warm.
12. spare plastic bags --- to store soiled/wet clothes & towels.
13. spectacles with case --- if you are short-sighted, but leave your contact lens at home.
14. tissue papers --- bring the soft-pack travel-size type (eg. NTUC/PASEO brand).
15. toiletries --- eg. shampoo, soap, facial cleanser, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.

Items For Baby:

1. baby blanket or wrap towel --- to wrap baby when going home.
2. booties.
3. mittens.
4. newborn cotton vest.
5. newborn-size disposable diaper.

*** Hospital May Provide The Following: do check with your hospital beforehand, or from the start of your 3rd trimester.

1. baby clothes.
2. baby diapers.
3. baby wrap blanket/towel.
4. bath towels --- in case you need to shower, simply request from the nurse.
5. disposable panties.
6. maternity pads.

*** If you do not want to use what your hospital provides, you can bring your own.

comfort : do you remember how a jialat menstrual cramp will feel on the first day of menses?it's like that.and walking a few steps will make you breathless.

creamer : you need to let dr woody know if you have any symptoms like spotting.send him an sms with all your symptoms.and he'll be the best person to tell you whats going on.

dont panic as it could be nothing but better to play safe than sorry.dont worry about disturbing gynae.they are used to it and they know it is their job.

but just in case (hehehe), pack your hospital bag,yeah?

caramelle,
im bringing button-front pyjamas, nursing bra,disposable panties, breast pads (just in case), set of clothes for going home, sanitary pads, toiletries and camera and hp chargers. for hubby, spare set of clothes, toiletries and charger. TMC no need bring anything for baby.

hope my slipshod list helps.

Creamer: Yours only $45? Wow, it's like 25% off! Where do you buy it? At MtA pharmacy?

caramelle: It's at compass point! Must ask the stuff cos they dun display, it's those metal thingy with plactic material, so when open up, can put it across the cot bed

split: PM you TubbyMummy room number.

Caramelle: Here's the list from LFB

Documents To Bring:

1. antenatal checkup card
2. ATM cards (?)
3. gynae's letter (if any)
4. NRIC of husband & wife
5. outpatient appointment card
6. coins for vending machines

Items For Mother:

1. disposable breast pads --- to absorb leaking colostrum.
2. disposable cotton panties.
3. elastic hair band --- to tie up hair.
4. face towel.
5. going-home dress --- to wear on day of discharge (a full dress is easier to wear and is more comfortable, particularly if you happened to undergo an emergency caeseran delivery).
6. hair comb or brush.
7. maternity pads --- to absorb heavy postpartum blood flow.
8. mobile phone and its charger!
9. nipple shields --- to protect sore or cracked nipples while breastfeeding.
10. nursing bra --- to use with disposable breast pads.
11. socks --- to keep feet warm.
12. spare plastic bags --- to store soiled/wet clothes & towels.
13. spectacles with case --- if you are short-sighted, but leave your contact lens at home.
14. tissue papers --- bring the soft-pack travel-size type (eg. NTUC/PASEO brand).
15. toiletries --- eg. shampoo, soap, facial cleanser, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.

Items For Baby:

1. baby blanket or wrap towel --- to wrap baby when going home.
2. booties.
3. mittens.
4. newborn cotton vest.
5. newborn-size disposable diaper.

*** Hospital May Provide The Following: do check with your hospital beforehand, or from the start of your 3rd trimester.

1. baby clothes.
2. baby diapers.
3. baby wrap blanket/towel.
4. bath towels --- in case you need to shower, simply request from the nurse.
5. disposable panties.
6. maternity pads.

For Daddies :
Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Camera and charger and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore)
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your baby’s name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.
Admission form and bill for CPF deduction (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation