(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

dolly, yeah i'm a teacher too. currently the ones who i've approached wanna charge around 550 - 600... plus food will be 600-650..

AMK Gal - me wld pick Bb sitter 1 cos hse is clean and she is experienced! plus nearer ur school so u can pop over faster if there's any emergency... plus the 2nd one like doing it purely just for the $$

Caramelle - cheerup girl... Best is still to have a word with hb and see what he has to say. I think sometimes guys also dono what to do especially when faced with such a situation. I kn mine wld be at a lost as to what to say also...cos he won't want to get me more angry and upset. Focus on your little bundle for now.

<font color="cc0099"> got caught up with apptmts and tirednes of changing Kyle's feeding schedule... Took time to catch forty winks so haven't been here.

Kyle J. had his newborn photoshoot today and was an absolute cherub. Throughout two entire hours of manipulation and putting him into cocoons and taking him out and putting him into other stuff and taking him out, he just slept and stretched from time to time, wrinkling his little forehead. So adorable!! Photographer and assistant said he's one of the best babies they've photographed thus far. *Good boy, Kyle J!!* Thank God for a sleepy little fella!

Things aren't going THAT superbly in the breastfeeding front. While he's latching on heaps better, he isn't suckling. Last night he suckled for >30min in total over a 2 hr nursing period. I was exhausted and he was STILL not done. In the end, I just cuddled him to sleep. Seeing lactation consultant tmr after my gynae visit. Hopefully she'll be able to shed some light on how to improve the situation. Must confess I had a number of apptmts today (photoshoot &amp; massage) and fed him expressed breastmilk with dropper and bottle. I hope he still remembers how to latch and suckle tonight.

<font color="cc0099"> junebabyboi, Re: Menses - Lochia (post-delivery bleeding) will last up to a fortnight. Thereafter, I've read that the first period can come within 6 weeks of delivery... but can also be delayed up to 3 months.

NewbieMom, Re: Shower - I had my first shower in the hospital, before my little guy was 24 hrs old. My mum isn't fanatical about these things and her way is can shower but when it's nice and warm, sun is up and with the chinese herb bath thingie as my first rinse and shower with hot water.

l'tulips, thankfully episio wound is ok liao! No pain today!
Massage lady charges from $45 per session onwards, minimum charge of $300 for 7 sessions depending on location. Inclusive of everything, so no "hidden costs".

LFB, Re: When to Feed Baby - as a general guideline, every 3-4 hourly. Newborns don't always wake to tell you they're hungry. Other signs are turning head from side to side, rooting (opening mouth in search of nipple), lip smacking, hand clenching... I guess you'll figure your little fella out when it comes to that. Some babies want a feed an hour after a previous feed.

jam75, Re: Epidural - I think different people do experience a range of differing levels of pain relief. I, for one, did not feel anything during the pushing and the midwife guided me as to when I was having a contraction and needed to push... and also whether I was pushing in the right place (in the face vs abdomen vs bowels). Just fyi, bowels is the correct region to be pushing. You never know how it's gonna work for you until after you take it so I say just relax about it and go in with an open mind!

ahnet~, Re: Wierd Vaginal Pressure - I think it's baby's head pressing down on certain nerves on the pelvic region. A bit late to reply, but try sleeping on your side to encourage baby to move away from the location of the ache...?

bing, thanks! Apparently baby care books say that babies cry in the first fortnight as a reflex. Only from week 3 onwards, they start crying as a form of communication. Interesting.

creamer, Re: Massage - I booked her back in early 2nd tri of pregnancy. Smsed her when we can start, she said day 4 onwards. So I confirmed a date with her and took it from there.

caramelle, I'm saddened to hear of you going through this rough patch at the moment and hope that as I read on, it may have passed. Have a good talk with your hubby about how you feel (as opposed to what on earth the entire incident was about) and here's hoping your final weeks before you pop bring you closer together as a couple. Hang in there, my dear. *offers you a packet of Famous Amos cookies*

Blurmom, excited for you that you'll be induced soon!!! But I'll miss your updating table though. With my sporadic logging on to the forum, I'm not sure I'll be able to keep up with news. Btw, update for Ling's little Elena - 49cm, 2.3kgs. No head circ provided. THANKS AND ENJOY YOUR FINAL WEEK!!!

sweethalo, yup. From Gleneagles. I really liked her during those times she came by my ward to see me during my stay there.
Very reasonable rates.

Chidori, since you have apply for ML, take some rest before your edd lor, do some last min preperation and enjoy yourself! My ML starts 1 week after yours as my edd on the 12 June.. Plan to relax and go buffet with frens before we lost this freedom after delivery.. hee..

Blurmum, Sure will kan cheong one hor when nearing to your induced date esp you know u are on standby mode now liao.. hee. Yes, go snap more of your preggie pics and baby movement, its something we will missed after delivery! I jus got my hubby to take my pregnancy photos showing my belly at all different angles and manage to capture my baby movement on video 2 days back to keep as memories.. My hospi bag oreadi pack liao left wif the toiletries. Thinking mayb next week will put the bag into hubby's car on standby liao.. haha.. Update us after your next visit on 1 June see really will popped on dat day!

Tubbymmmy, usually is half a kg per week but few weeks back got once dat go up 1 kg within a week. Dun know is it becos of durians dat i had and my baby gain 500gm within dat 2 weeks. haa.. Ok, will update you on wat my doc provide me after tmr visit.

Cassey, Kyle is sure very adorable wif all the stretching and dat peacful sleeping look like an angel rite? Hey post 1 of the pic here to let us drool leh.. So can start on the 4th day after delivery means its the next day after we got back home after a 3days 2nites hospi stay rite?

Tubbmum

i will check with my gynae too just in case i need to c sect.

My bb is pretty small 2kg at week 35. Hopefully she will grow to a good size.

PeachBB, ya ya, I had a small baby too, and resorted to eating durian once or twice a week, and drinking preggies milk powder on alternate days. If you don't eat durians, try drinking those powdered milk. And increase on your rest/sleep time. Sleep early, and take naps whenever you can (if you're working full time, nap on weekends). The combo of these foods + extra sleep really did the trick for me

Thanks ladies for the shower advice

Cassey : Saw Kyle's pic, very cute.

I wonder when i'll pop....the stretchmarks are starting to appear now. Yikes. Reaching 38 weeks!

Caramelle,
poor thing, got so angry over some stupid ass woman! Don't worry too much. Your baby will be affected. I suggest talking abt this issue with hubby. I guess you probably angry cos he didn't make a point to explain and assure you. Tell him your worry and lack of security. Explain how vulnerable we are now and how we need their support, love, care, attention! I always tell hubby what I need and honestly, men sometimes are clueless what we need. Have a heart to heart talk, express your disappointment to him and let him know. All the best gal!

amk_gal,
go with No.1, at least she is with experience. I will always look for someone who will love and care for my bb. No.2 seems like a newbie with not much committment. Better not trust!

Cassey,
3hrs interval? I heard from someone that her bb needs feed every hr! I was like huh? Ya, prob will have to wait for my bb to come out, then I know his routine! My massage lady charged something like $600 for dunno how many sessions. Aiya, forgot liao, so forgetful! Will have to check. Seems like mine quite ex leh!

Tubbymum

Does rest and eating durian really help? I been waking up to pee at night and having interrupted sleep. how big is your bb now?

PeachBB, that's the problem, we are not getting quality sleep at night now, so we have to be sure to get MORE rest, to make up for it. Perhaps go to bed earlier. I realise that at the point when my baby was growing the slowest (only 100g a week or less, when other babies are going at 200g/wk), I was sleeping late almost everyday, like 2-3am.

I think the durian+milk+sleep combo really works, at least for me. Even my doc suggested for me to take durians. Durian worked for sweethalo too (as she mentioned above), preggie milk worked for Cassey. My baby was 1.5kg at 32wks (which was 2-3wks underweight), so I went into semi-panic mode, cos I don't want her slow weight gain to continue on like that, and started the "weight gain diet" haha. Her weight then increased to 2.7kg at 36w4d (last week), which is 1.2kg increase in 4wks+! Since she is of reasonable weight already, I have stopped taking durian since last week. I will be popping next Wed, so I figured even if she only grows 100-200g by the time I pop, it's already fantastic by my standards. But I'm still drinking powdered milk on alternate days (or when I remember haha). Give it a try, no harm anyway, but do take some cooling drinks to counteract the "heatiness" if you're gonna take durians.

wah had to read so much archives before I can post anything hee. and it was just yest that i read the posts. But its good that this thread is active.

Tubbymummy/creamer, I also put on 1kg within one week! hopefully most of the weight is going to baby.I have been getting hungry so frequently. It feels like a first trimester all over again-Super hungry and tired. Every 2-3 hrs must eat and last nite woke up in the middle of the nite to eat also. sigh.

I went to see gynae today. He asked me how I am doing and I replied, "Baby dont wanna come out!" So he did a VE to check but no dilation at all so he says still have to wait for baby to come. Before I left the doc office, I told him that hopefully I will see him next in the hospital where he will deliver baby instead of seeing him at the clinic next week again...hee

Bing, I have been going out shopping as well since baby is not keen to come out yet! My hubby is surprised I can walk so much despite me being 38+ weeks now.

Chidori, my due date is quite close to yours-6 june but no sign of baby wanting to come out also.So I just try to enjoy the spare time I have now. I think its good to take time off to relax and spend time with hubby before baby comes.

Caramelle, don't be upset anymore. Talk to your husband if you feel upset. Baby is coming and you really need the support of hubby. Take care.

sweethalo = ^-^ thanks for ur encouragement. I am trying my best to beef up bb weight.

Tubbymum - glad to hear your baby is of reasonable weight. Is your tummy much bigger now ompared to when you at wk 32? my tummy doesnt grow bigger.

PeachBB- best is don't worry, eat durians, get plenty of rest esp if u can steal some afternoon naps. During my 1st tri, gynae told me get as much sleep as possible as baby grows more when we sleep.

bbaugustine, my checkup is on Thur, I'll know how much of the 1kg went to baby hehe... Looks like your baby will only make his appearance a lot closer to EDD!

PeachBB, From 32wks till now, I think my belly did grow a bit bigger, but not like from small suddenly grow scarily huge lah
(it was reasonably sized to begin with, that's why I was quite surprised that baby was small) Don't worry too much about belly size, cos some mummies here got very "neat" bellies too, but babies are of good size. Like sweethalo says, just try to eat durians and rest a lot

sweethalo, me surfing the WTS threads, see got anything interesting or not haha

I think I've come across the brand in some watch magazine before (or was it in some showcase window), but have no idea how good it is, or the background or whatever haha. I also suaku hahaha...

Tubbymummy, are you excited? you are going to have C-section on 3 June right? At least you got a date to look forward to! I still have to depend on baby to decide when he wants to come out haha. Think he will come out close to my edd. Just hope it will not go past the edd.

I notice my tummy getting bigger cos my belly button is going to be flattened out! At this stage, baby is still growing, thats good.

Just came back from Subway... TODAY newspaper got this coupon 20% off the beef one
haha,just nice!
Then still not enough, bought a coconut and a half slab of ribs at Cold Storage and just finished them w hubby. So many coconut at Cold Storage today selling at $1.55, wonder why. Anyway, finished them all... blurp!

bbaugustine, dunno whether excited or not leh... Quite scared to lose my freedom haha... But I can say I'm looking forward to not having all the aches and pains that I'm having now. And yes, I do feel a lot more secure about having a fixed date haha. At least I know I'll pop either before or latest by that date, no later. I'm not comfortable with the unpredictability of childbirth (yes I'm weird like that haha).

<font color="cc0099"> yay!! little guy just latched on n suckled for a good 30min out of about 35-40min nursing! BUT that was supplemented by 60ml more of expressed milk using bottle feeding. He sure is mummy's hungry little monster. I wonder how long he'll have to suckle to get that much milk out of my boobs... *horrified at the thought*

Stupid diaper got lopsided during our feeding tug-of-war (him bracing his legs against pillow and stretching them out and me pulling him back down to the breast) and he did an almighty poop, got it all over his romper, bootie, my top, shorts, breastfeeding pillow and dribbled onto the fabric couch.

creamer, I'm not sure leh... I erred on the side of caution anyway... also wanted to try to settle at home before making apptmt. So I was admitted Mon, discharged Wed, could have started massage Fri or Sat (not sure about Thursday leh). I chose Sat. Have to wait for pictures before I can downsize them and post

Thanks, NewbieMum! Kyle beams his pleasure at you.

bbAug, AHAHAHAHA!!! So your real answer to "How are you?" is actually I WANT BABY TO COME OUT!! Must be nice and comfy in your belly... Enjoy your rest while you can. Go shopping and enjoy whatever food you want wherever you want!

PeachBB, the powdered milk for preggers really did work for me to boost my little guy's weight. I switched from 2 glasses x low fat fresh milk/day to 1 x fresh milk + 1 x powdered milk in my 6th month and little Kyle Justus' weight became very average instead of the consistant below average. He was born at wk 38 on the dot, weighing ~3kg. Hope it helps for you!

Sweethalo: Guess will go Tangs this Sat after my gynae visit, if not popped yet! Anyway, I dun feel that baby has engaged yet, so think still will have some time for GSS

BTW, thot you should be happy that baby let you shop almost the whole period of GSS before coming out? :p

Cassey, Thanks for sharing with us your "diary" really encouraging leh! Even the pooing part is so funny
Guess we'll all kena some how. Do you have confinement lady with you?

Yeah Yeah, I also heard if bb feeding on breastmilk only is not smelly leh, Cassey, yours smelly?

Think Cassey must be busy cleaning up the poop

wa. luckily not a lot of OTs to do after my last post. hee..

some updates. went to TMC do to a CTC and VE in the evening. bcos worried abt bb movements and hb accompanied me after he came back from work. it turned out that bb is fine. must be sleeping during the day hence not much movements. and nurse said i am into labour with contractions every 8 mins. VE is more painful that my papsmear lei. argh. but bearable. aniway, i was given a choice by gyne to deliver or wait. and i chose to wait. so i was allowed to go hm to wait and make sure bb kick 10 times a day and see gyne @ his clinic on thurs. haha.

so the waiting continues.......

wow bing, so excited for u! brave siah, for me i so tense i might give in o induce so that i know when he really coming. now so scare already paranoid.

Amk gal i will tk the 1st bb sitter too. to me it's more impt tobe clean and their reason for bb sitting must be correct not bcos nothing better to do...

I just saw my stretchmark too!! suddenly appear today on my left belly... sob sob yday dont have!!was it bcos i didnt apply cream twice a day consciously last few days or most of us at the last few weeks grow too much cant be help...

hi all!!!

finally i get a chance to come online!!!!

my birth story -

For some of you, i think you guys were online on Friday evening @ 5pm when i was complaining of stomach cramps.So i smsed my hubby at work and asked him what i should do.he told me to get ready and pick him up in a taxi from his offce and we'll head to sengkang to see dr woodworth.

Reached the clinic at 6.30pm and told the nurse that dr woodworth said i could cut queue the moment i arrived so the nurse sent me in.at this point, i had trouble walking but still thought that it was just bad braxton hicks as no other signs of labour.

the moment i walked into his office, he smiled and said that it's time for the baby to come out.i thought he was joking as you cant really tell just by looking at somebody.so he asked me to lie down and did a VE.he said i was 2 cm dilated.i thought he would tell me to go home and monitor BUT he looked at my hubby and told him to bring me home to shower and grab my bag and meet him at the hospital.my hubby freaked out as we didnt expect for baby to pop at 37 wk 3 dys!so my hubby asked if we could go to mount a and after a while, dr woodworth gave in and said no problem to deliver at mount a if wanted.

we then took a taxi back home.there was a jam from sengkang to river valley so we spent most of the cab ride either in silence (shocked beyond belief) or calling up friends and family to tell them the news.

we got home and started to pack stuff.i called up mount a and they told me there was no single bedder available then.i called up TMC and they also told me no single bedder available but they had 1 premier single room left.hubby and i then decided to go to TMC.

after our shower and packing, he went down to buy subways for our dinner.then whilst we were eating and watching tv, i paid a few bills online as due date was the next day and i knew i would be in hospital.ahahaha.

left home at 10.50pm.reached TMC at 11pm.after taking temperature, went straight to level 2 (labour ward).nurse asked me to change into hospital gown and strapped monitor on my tummy for baby's heartbeart.10 mins later, dr woodworth arrived in a tee and berms.he did another ve and found i was 4 cm dilated.as he was doing my ve, my water broke.felt so uncomfortable.there was no smell and the water was colourless.

nurse gave me an enema while hubby went down to admissions to register me.dr woodworth informed me that baby will e out around 8am.

they wheeled me into a delivery room,gave me epi and put me on the drip.they also gave me laughing gas.

hubby slept while i watched tv.couldnt sleep because nurses kept coming in to check on me.during the night,they kept increasing my epi dosage as it was not high enough for me.

at 6am,nurse told me to get prepared as they want me to start pushing at 6.30am.they said epi was still going to continue throughout pushing unless i was too numb to push.then they would lower down epi dosage.

i woke hubby up.he fed me some warm water as was sivering due to epi.

at 6.30am,i started to push.no pain as was on epi.at 7am,dr woodworth appeared and got dressed.i pushed in total 20 times.sophie was born at 7.48am.small tear was sewn up on me.then i was wheeled to my room by 8am.

hubby was in tears watching his daughter.i was happy but high on painkillers.plus i was on a catather as well.

hubby was allowed o bring our digicam in during delivery.

was discharged on mon aft.baby was really good.no crying and very alert.kept looking around.latched on without prompting.

however,i started crying every night because baby was getting so hungry and i had no milk.felt like a failure.nurse cup fed her glucose water.then later had to cup feed her friso before she was full.

spoke to the lactation consultant and she told me my frustration is normal and not to worry.taught me to massage my breasts.

milk just came in this afternoon.praise the lord...feel so happy now.

will post pics of her soon.

Cassey - i am drinking the preg mum milk daily. By this visit, i will know whether it work for me.

sweethalo - i am not taking durians as frequent as milk as not easy to find durian nearby my area.

Tubbymum - Same here, my tummy was a reasonable size and misled me to think that bb is of a good size. So was surprisely shocked to hear otherwise from doc. Sob Sob. My doc adviced me that rest is more critical for bb development compared to mummy's food intake. Maybe that why i have previously not taking food supplements. haha. a lesson learnt!

Tinybubu - Congrats..really touched to read your birth story. i hope to see my little one soon.

Hello Tinybubu,

Congrats! We were wondering where were you and how long your labour lasted! Well done! Gald that Sophie and you are alright and she is back home. Don't worry too much abt the milk supply, it will come eventually. Demand will yield supply. When I read threads from other months, they are all facing these problems and it's natural. Just relax and do your best! Tell us more when you are free.

morning mummies..

1st one to rch office as hubby said send me 1st then he go to reservist..

dolly- las nite dinner was yummy.. &amp; as i add $9.90 &amp; come wif a set i get one brew ice lemon tea... so nice.. hubby kept saying drink slowly or else he going to confiscate..

chidori- if got gal cry on my hubby shoulder i think he will let her lean on.. tats y gals like to be around him.. he even got call very late at nite frm his female colleague to ask for advice.. used to it..
(anywhere he going bald in the top middle of his head.)
no gal will fancy lah

tiny bubu- so touching...
glad that u have a smooth delivery ..i guess i will cry too when i hold my little one

Tinybubu: Great to hear from you, so no epiosotomy done? Just small tear? And yeah, demand = supply, wait for a day or two and the supply should come

Annie: Wow, brewed ice tea some more! Haha, anyway,I read that ice tea supposed to have less caffeine, wonder if it's true, but I've been drinking that sparingly.

dolly- seldom have ice lemon tea.. but sure it nice to have it.. even my boy sucks happily inside..kekekekeke

today thought of buying fruit juice or ice milo as we start the journey early so nobody ther but hubby drove up to my office level cos he don wan me to have those.. &amp; he already inform the store &amp; office ppl to inform him if i took cold drink so i can only see ppl drink..

morning mummies.

Congrats tiny bubu!

blurmon/ doglefox, my next appt with Joycelyn Wong is this Fri. next week might be seeing Adrian Tan or Caroline Khi instead cos she will be away for a week.

peachBB, dun worry. Take beef, milk and durian to beef up BB

CONGRATS TINYBUBU!! Great story there, you make it sound pretty easy hehe... I'm glad your milk supply is in. It'll only get better from here. No more crying ok?
Look forward to Sophie's pictures! Ooh, do let us know Sophie's "vital stats" as well, so it can be updated in the table.

PeachBB, that's why, my reasonable sized belly lulled me into a false sense of security. But the sleep/rest part is really important. It's the least you can do for your own body and for baby... Especially if it's not easy for you to get hold of durians in your area as well. Anyway, don't despair, if you're 36wks now, you still have a couple more weeks to try to fatten baby up!

I just realised it's school holidays now right? Or starting soon right?? Better check that my doc is in town to cut me open! He wouldn't be so cruel as to not tell me even until now right??!!

thank you to all mummies for your support. happy to report that after all the kind words, i decided to give up the cold war yest night. he looked so sad and miserable from us not talking that i didn't have the heart to continue. i talked to him nicely but didn't address the issue. im still skirting it because i didn't want him to think that it bothers me a lot. since he came back quite late yest, it gave me some time to understand y i was so upset in the first place. i knew it was a prank and i knew he prolly didn't know her. but i was upset because of the way he handled the call and also because some of the things that crazy woman said - i was guilty of them. maybe without realising it i did neglect him and despite my "advances" which he didn't want to react to, i should have still been there for him. i kept asking if i did something wrong so all the reproaching made my very resentful towards him.

Cassey, thanks (for the virtual cookies!). btw, your massage lady sounds reasonable, mine charges $60 per session because she's staying in the west side. will text you later for the contact.

CONGRATS TINY BUBU - Ibu is mummy in malay so maybe we can call you TINY MAMA now!

Annie: Wow, ur hubby very strict huh!

TubbyMummy: No worries lah, your gynae should have told you long ago if they are holidaying

PeachBB: Dun worry, sometimes the scan also not so accurate one. On one week I was told bb gain less than 100g, and the next he gained 800g!

caramelle- glad everything sorted out
for both of u..
u add ibu is mummy in malay .. ai yah is daddy in malay u didnt add ah ..nek nek for grandma &amp; ah tok for grandpa leh..kekekeke

dolly- he said it jus take 10mths of enduring &amp; diet to have a healthy baby or i wan a baby who is unhealthy &amp; be sick &amp; have to be taken care for long term