(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

dolly,
actually hubby SIL didn't eat from hawker centre l but rather those hdb kopitiam zhi char stall. she ate hor fun & hubby bro eat fried rice. she kena food poison but her husband was ok wor... so weird rite?

jackie,
ya loh glad that her bb#2 can discharge early this time too. cos her #1 was in kk nicu for a mth due to low birth weight (<2kg). but she is very blessed to have a easy delivery i.e stomach pain &amp; when she reached hospital, bb head out already for both delivery. no need epi or anything at all. just push once then done! like very easy hor...

dolly,
Hahaha, i guess gynae only believe in proven medical science

superbee,
Cause both her bb are premmie mah. So bery easy to pop as compare to a 3kg bb. For me, i rather have a full term bb

dolly,
i dont think is becos she super relax leh. just that she also blur blur &amp; didnt expect will deliver early too. as what jackie say mayb her bb small so easier to pop also. unlike my #1 too fat &amp; comfortable inside then become overstayer &amp; cannot deliver naturally. so this time round, my target is to keep my #2 slim slim... :p

Cassey,good to hear that.. Now you can enjoy any food that you want first,otherwise later confinement a lots of food can't eat again.. hehe~~ wow.. you already full term liao..

I had my hotcakes on Sat morning...so happy! Think it was dolly that was talking abt hotcakes??So I had that craving and decided to give in to my craving for breakfast on sat. How satisfying.

Yesterday walked quite a bit to get dinner with hubby. I enjoy long slow strolls. Nowadays, I feel a lot of downward pressure when I walk though. Not sure what that means.

I will be 37 weeks by the end of this week.Yeh! I join the club of full term mums then no need to worry about baby coming out. He can come out anytime he wants after this week hee. Feels like a waiting game...Its a nice cool lazy Mon today!God gave us good weather today...

Hi ladies. I'm from Feb. 09 moms and since I've gone back to work, I'm stopping my breastfeeding. Hence, I've the following to sell for cheap:

1) Medela Pump In Style Dual Electric pump. Full set with 4 bottles and NEW tubings. It's retailed at almost $800 but since I've used mine for a few months, selling for $350 ono. I got this the US, so it'll need a transformer to work. Can get transformer at any electrical shop for cheap.

2) Medela Pump and Save Storage bags - a box of 50 bags selling for $30.

3) An almost full bottle of Stinging Nettle from GNC (works just like Fenugreek) selling at $15

PM me if interested.

Just to check wif all mommies-

anyone taking part time confinement lady (no staying over)&amp; how much they charging? hubby wan me to take part time CL/helper to help assists daddy to do confinment for me...

ooppsss it was ahnetsan...yep had craving satisfied. Always liked hotcakes but haven't eaten them for a long time. Couldn't wake up for breakfast in the past. But now preggie baby must have his breakfast every morning so got mum and hubby along for Macs breakfast on sat. Air was cool and it was a nice stroll to Macs. I also had my yakitori craving satisfied on the same day to celebrate Mother's Day, for me and my mum haha. so I was a happy mum on Sat.

any mummies signed up for cordlife? compared private vs public cord blood banking? Just wanna hear some input.

bbaugustine, i signed up for cordlife bcos we wanted to have the cord blood for our baby and didnt want to donate to the public. but if u're not interested in keeping it, then u can always consider donating to the public.

<font color="cc0099"> Baking my blueberry muffins again. Smells delish! *drool*
Thanks, chidori, bubu~, Jackie, EC_Mum &amp; Jess Ma! Seems like I'm all better *yippee!* Only the final remnants of cough left.

chidori, I've been thinking about you and wondering what you've been up to lately. It's been so long...! My little guy is head down but still hasn't engaged as of last Fri, so it may still be a long wait yet. *OOPS* I've been sleeping at 2am these days. Am I going to have a crazy night owl baby on my hands? Uh-oh....

bubu~, HOW CAN PUT YAMI IN FRIDGE?!?! NO!! I guess just leave at room temp for a few moments after removing it from freezer? I just scrape and scrape at it like a crazed animal
Sometimes the scraps "fly" around.

dolly, how strange of your obgyn. To bring EDD fwd and then say if baby doesn't pop at 41 weeks, induce. But I guess he knows what he's doing. My obgyn showed me a chart that says weeks 36-42 are known as the foetal danger zone due to placenta malfunction. Tt's why when I went back to him with this flu, first thing he did was check placenta function. Thank God all was well. Our babies are full term now, so if they wanna pop, pop la!

EC_Mum, I'm voting SkylerMum or Ling as first June MTB poppers. Ling's EDD also brought fwd to 31 May. Hee!
I really REALLY dread looking fwd to EDD, only to have it come and go and STILL find myself very pregnant instead of a mother leh.

bing, BIG BUTT YOUR HEAD LA! What utter rubbish. You're so small! My little guy was also estimated at 2.7kg when I saw obgyn last Tuesday! Been having lots of soft stools last few days. Up to 5x a day. Don't know if it's got anything to do with flu and meds. Your time may be coming soon! I don't think vaginal exams will start til AFTER wk 37. So I should get my first one on Fri. *YEECH*

> But hey, no water retention at all for me yet. Thought I saw my right foot a bit fleshier than usual a couple of nights ago, but then it looked like my regular foot again the next day. I guess I don't know my feet very well. Hubby also thinks they don't look different. I'm wondering if tt mean baby isn't in any hurry to come out? I'm REALLY dreading being overdue leh. Haha..! But I guess no choice if that's the way baby is inclined.

SuperBee, WHOA! You're tempting me to go get a touch of food poisoning! *WHAHAHAHAH!* Congrats to your broIL &amp; sisIL!

bbAug, I was just going to say it's that ahnetsan talking abt hotcakes... then I saw that she also clarified. haha!

Ahnetsan, lazy me having instant noodles again. This time it's PRAWN flavour with cabbage thrown in. =)

<font color="cc0099"> bubu~, answering your question: how to get rid of durian smell in fridge. here are some options:
- Option A: Get more durians so that the aroma of the new batch of durian expel the old smells.
- Option B: Get your hands on a nice flattering colour of clothes peg. Stick that on the bridge of your nose and viola! Smell's gone!
- Option C: Get hubby to an electrical shop and pay for a brand new fridge to be delivered. VIOLA! Job done!

*guffaws...* Perhaps a tad too much MSG in my system, I reckon..</font>

<font color="#f778a1">How come <u>no one</u> on our thread has popped yet??!! Other months' threads, all got someone or other popping at 34wks or before!</font>

cassey : umm, thanks!!! eheheh.

i bought a lemon this morning as per Chidori's advice but been napping all afternoon.Will have to get lemon peels in a bit and leave them inside the fridge...

http://www.gomestic.com/Homemaking/10-Effective-Ways-to-Remove-Bad-Smell.33462

Just saw an advert on channel 5 saying that if we have flu or flu-like symptoms, to wear a mask and if we feel unwell, to stay at home.i thought things were dying down?why did the government have to put out an ad like that?tsk.tsk.

i think i'm going mad... i'm repacking my hospital bag because i think the previous pyjamas that i packed makes my butt look big.

i'm packing 2 pairs of pyjamas - 1 knee length nightie (not breastfeeding but just a simple sleeveless nightie) AND 1 spag singlet and flannel lounge pants.

Then i'm wondering what to wear home...

i think i'm losing my mind!

tubbymummy : choi!!!! 34 weeks too early lah.

hahaha. all of us praying that we'll pop only once we touch 37 weeks so should be anytime now for a few of us...

and i've been following May MTB thread. A lot of them pop before EDD (around 36 to 38 weeks).Scary huh?Could be us too....

bing : where did you get your PJs from? a friend of mine told me to look out for pasar malams and buy from there but i stay in river valley.i think i will wait till i'm bald and toothless and still no pasar malam will come...

<font color="cc0099"> Tubbym~, is that your desire, you wicked woman?! I keep thinking to myself praise God that we're all in the home run!!
Everyone's approaching full term soon and we're pretty much all getting past Wk 34... which is also a rather critical milestone.

Bubu~, my pleasure =) Hosp bag: I just threw in a nice thin loose but not billowy dress for my discharge. Brought a set of auntie tie-dyed PJs (v low cut and I can just slip straps off my shoulders), as well as shorts and men's tanks to wear. Heehee... still missing a jacket. </font>

annie : thanks! cotton sounds good.do you know where the nearest triumph outlet would be in town?i'm going back to the office tomorrow and i work near somerset mrt...

amk_gal, i was looking for babysitters too and shortlisted 2. but also went to check out infant care centres and i find it's not as bad as i thought. infant care centres have a daily schedule of things to do, and certain timings for feeding and baths. i think that those employees more obliged to do a good job since they are paid by a registered centre and from what i saw, the caregivers were local elderly ladies - a bit like sending to babysitter but just that they have more babies to watch over. the ratio at the centre i went to is 1 caregiver to 3 babies, and when i went to visit mostly the babies were sleeping or playing simple games. so do consider them if you can find a good one. pricing wise, i think infant care with the subsidy for full-time working mum like me is the same if not cheaper than babysitter.

re coconut: had my first yesterday after thai dinner. i dont really like the taste but for baby sake i just gulped it down. i bought one at ntuc few days back but couldnt open it! how do you guys open it?? my hubby tried with a knife then he asked me for hammer! but MIL said cannot knock2 in the house. please..any ideas?

and btw, i bought thai young coconut. guess that should be the right one?

still havent packed hospital bag. and now hubby just told me he'll be on exercise and will be on night duty from 14-19 may..he said since i practise sleeping alone at night i'll be okay. crazy boy lah he! anyway if i need to "activate" him at least we're in the same country..

cassey : i read online that after delivery, our tummy will look exactly like when we were 5 months preggers.... thank goodness for that.the number of clothes i'm able to fit into now is dwindling down to a sad number of select pieces...

now i look at some of my undies and tops and wonder how the hevk i was able to fit into them pre pregnancy.they look so tiny....

at 34 weeks 4 days, baby was 2534g.
Going to see gynae on Sat and i'll be 36 weeks 4 days, wonder how heavy she'll be then?

Any mummies here started the nesting instinct yet?that could be a sign.eheheh.

gasp : a MAY MTB (nic : Kerene Teo) just posted this -

Question on TMC Hospital Bill
Hello, any1 went for c-sec (emergency/planned) at TMC with 4-bedded?
Can I know what's your total hospital bill?

I got a super BIG SHOCK when my total bill is $6111 (cash + medisave). Its for 4D3N stay (both mom &amp; bb) + 2 days bb jaundice stay.

Last time I went for emergency c-sec (2 years ago) and cost only $5000+ for the same stay with 6hours NICU and 1 day jaudice.

How to have more kids when hospital bill itself is so HIGH medisave also my money leh ... sob sob.

that's a lot of moolah!

tubbymummy,
Choy, choy, choy. No joke to have a 34 weeks premmie ah. Not only the medical bill will be scary, taking care also not easy leh.

tinybubu,
Too much free time on hand ah? Hu xiiiiiiii.

<font color="cc0099"> bubu~, my nesting instincts kicked in back in week 34 when I went crazy shifting furniture around at mum's, then got paranoid about the BHs remember?! *chuckles at my own silliness* I've been cleaning and baking now that I'm home. Taking down curtains and sending comforters to the laundry... But it's been almost 4 weeks and still no progress! Chey! *grumble grizzle*

> And yes, when we leave the hospital, we should have about 5-mth bumps. 5 months I was barely showing. Actually, I'm still wearing pre-preg clothes now, except for a pair of maternity pants and unzipped skirts. I can still fit into my dresses and stuff cos I was never slender enough to wear clingy stuff anyway. I can still wear my tankini, except with all the stretchmarks showing. So I HAVEN'T appeared in public in it.

> My sis also had a total bill of S$6+K from Mt Alvernia with emergency Caesarian, 4D3N stay. Excldg bb's jaundice therapy cos they returned a week later for that.

ahnetsan, stay good. I'm only having them cos I can't be bothered to cook properly. =)

caramelle, use a meat cleaver (i.e. CHOPPER). Hold it close to the blade, use CORNER of blade closest to your hand (for best control) to hack into the top of the shell. Try a pentagon/octagon shape. Pry open lid once you've broken thru. My man is getting so good at it, he reckons I'll have to issue him a coconut hacking cert sometime soon.</font>

Whats the nesting instinct?

Tomorrow I'll hit 35 weeks

Hubby over mother's day weekend told my mom that my girl's 1.6kg when I'm 33weeks and 2 days.

My moms scolded me like crazy, and I'm forcing food down my throat. Had Ya Kun breakfast, went to the bank to settle some stuff and packet taiwan mee sua on the way back...

I heard mommies carrying second baby usually pop faster than due. I wonder how true is it?

qi7 : This is an uncontrollable urge to clean one's house brought on by a desire to prepare a nest for the new baby, to tie up loose ends of old projects and to organize your world.

Cassey,
u must b joking that u r "tempted" to get food poison bah? ;) food poisoning is horrible feeling leh. imagine keep running to toilet n stomach pain every now &amp; then...

Re After delivery,
i still recall 1 wk after i delivered #1, i was at Compasspoint and one aunty was asking me when i m going to deliver cos she say i looked like 5-6mths preggy.*faint* then 6mth after i delivered, my fren asked me "u pregnant again ah?" cos i still have tummy loh...

Oh ok la... today I finish washing 4 bedsheets and 8 pillow covers hanged them up plus tidy loose ends with the banks and banking my boy's money into the acct.

I'm just gonna rest... It's like striking lottery, just dont know when...

My bag is packed. Yesterday hubby threw my son's ball in it. I asked him: why Do I need to bring the ball to KKH!!??!! And he gave me the funny look...

qi7,
ya i also heard #2 is earlier than #1 &amp; #2 is bigger than #1. wonder how true??!?!
well for my hb SIL, #2 is born 1 wks later than #1 and weight is heavier for #2 though is a girl while her #1 is boy.

if you girls have starhub channel 70 (discovery home and health) they're showing the latest season (season 2 ep 1) of deliver me from 5.30pm to 6.30pm today.

I just bought 4 coconuts and carry all the way from Tampines Mall... Stuffed into my MIL fridge and she threw me a black face hahahahha!

Not true? My boy is 3.895 when delivered. My girl now is barely 2kg. I hope mama's birdnest and pig trotters soup works...

<font color="cc0099"> SuperBee, I might be a bit of a goof, but NOT that much of one! My sneezing and coughing episode already left my stomach muscles begging for mercy. I don't think I'd like serious food poisoning.
So don't worry, I won't do anything foolish!

> WHOA.. hantam your friend upside-down for being so insensitive! I'd better go out with the baby then, in case people ask me. I don't want to appear in the papers for bashing ppl up wor. A salesperson once asked me... ermm... are you... pregnant? I smiled at her and said OF COURSE! IF I HAD THIS BELLY OTHERWISE, I'D DIE! And she burst out laughing and said, hey, you never know leh. Must be very careful cos some people really have pregnant bumps withOUT being pregnant!

Caramelle, hope it's successful! Do it at the sink in case of spilling. Ordering anything from daerius? Me typed order but hvn't sent.</font>

just back not long ago from the diabetic clinic. Doc said that if I still cannot control lunch's sugar intake, he may put me on insulin! Ahhhh, don't want! Have to be good. Actually, I have been, it's just that lunch I can't control, so I tend to eat outside(woring what!). Anyway, need to monitor somemore!

I am praying for popping around 38 weeks! I have this constant paranoid that something will happen! Choy choy choy!

Thanks to Cassey, I have waffle craving! As the waffle iron is over at my mom's, I have to settle with ready made. Bought some frozen multi grain waffles from Ego. Not bad, but of course not fluffy like those I like! Sulking......

Tonight's dinner? Ritzy chicken nuggets, baked! One of Nigella's recipe! Looks fantastically good on TV. Will bake some and eat with my multi grain bread, lettuce and tomatoe! Sigh, I have to humour myself most days for meals!

Tinybubu, I am not surprise with TMC's bill size. Apparently, this is norm. Guess for us, we can't really control cos we want the best for our baby!

Cassey, Yes! Nesting instinct! I packed my place, bake and cook like nobody's business and thinking of how to make my house looks better!

tiny bubu, lfb, wa. i didnt know TMC bill size is so exp! my hubby's cousin delivered at TMC 6 mths ago. natural with epi. 4 bedded 2 days stay for mom &amp; bb. upfront need to pay ard 1.6k cash.

<font color="cc0099"> *wonder where sweethalo, Ling &amp; bbjun have been...?*

LFB, stick to your Subway? Is that not good enough? Else, will it work if you cook extra for dinner and pack for next day's lunch? WHOA! WAFFLE IRON NEH! You're a crazy woman..!</font>

Cassey,
no sub at work lah! If not problem solve. Anyway, I will try to eat like a mouse now! What to do? I am so near, no wish to start jabbing myself like crazy!

I like baking and cooking, my de-stress way. Freshly baked waffles smells heavenly, esp I did my own style. Throw in some choc rice, some raisin, cinnamon sugar whatever! You should try, I have this wonderful recipe that yield fluffy waffles! Will have that after delivery!!!!

it's been a tired monday for me.. been falling in and out of nap. dunno why....

wah TMC 4 bedded so expensive meh???

wah waffles, feel like having waffles tmr since it's tues and it's half price!!!

LFB, yeah control.

Cassey, still have not gotten around to ordering cos was on leave from work last week on thur so MIA from forums over the weekend. eh the passionspice is the nice one right? there's another range called kelly or something...

<font color="cc0099"> LFB, pity no Subway at work. Is there one that you can pass by in the mornings to pack lunch? Poor girl.. I used to fix my own multigrain sandwiches at work - with turkey breast ham and lettuce... I REALLY hope you don't have to jab yourself with insulin daily. How's baby's weight at last check?

ahnetsan, maybe cos it's a cloudy day? It's been looking like rain on my side, but no droplets yet.
Yay! It's my turn to siah you again. I've been keeping true to myself. Had waffles every Tuesday since I stopped work in week 34. Had it weeks 35, 36, 37... tmr will be my week 38 fix. Wonder how many more Tue Gelare waffles I can have before baby arrives. Hoping tmr may be last or second last.