(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

11_Beans: My aunt help me to look for CL in Malaysia, the asking price is also $2000, and need to place $200 deposit
And remember you got to fork out the cost for ingredients ....which won't be cheap! Anyway, my mum will be here too, but dun wan to overwork her lah

Hair colouring: think not so good to colour / perm our hair... now my hair is plain black... thanks to my father's gene!
Why not try those DIY hana coloring from Indian shop? My mum used to colour her hair for the past 20 years... her's thick thick hair is growing thin, and I heard about this hana dye. Now that she starts using it, her hair actually become thicker! Guess the chemical really damage your hair!

dolly, hanna makes hair appear thicker becos the repeated application leaves layers of hanna on the hair. That's why becomes thicker. Not the hair itself becomes thicker. Thereafter, the hair is "protected" by these layers of hanna n will not take hair treatment, perm, chemical colour etc, well.
Your mother's thinning hair could be also a reaction to certain chemicals in the chemical dyes, which her scalp is more sensitive to. This is possible with certain brands of colour dyes in the market. This was shared to me by hairstylist fren many years ago.
There are also hanna in the market that is not suitable for preggies. So if want to buy, must find out first before buying.

For hair colouring, do request your hairstylist to avoid touching the scalp. It's tedious but possible.

dolly, I agree with what bbjun said about the henna. When I was younger, I blur blur went to DIY henna. I did once, the colour could not really be seen, just look as if enhance my own colour. Then I realise that with second application, the colour seemed more obvious, and even more so after third time I tried. But then I stopped, and after that, it seemed like my hair could never get rid of that henna colour, regardless of what other colour I try to put in it, or whatever other treatment I did. I got scolded by the hairdresser, cos she explained that all henna does is keep coating your hair, and that's why with each application, the colour becomes more vibrant. But with each coating, the hair also becomes more and more resistant to any other treatment, and nothing can reverse this. All I can do is wait until ALL the henna-ed hair has grown out and cut off. I waited very long lor. She said young people shouldn't do it, it may be damaging in the long run. She also said if really want to try, do it only when we're older, cos a) by then nothing much to lose (haha), b) we may appreciate the thicker look.

Thanks for the info! For my mum case, it's really thickening, cos I can see her scalp through her hair last time, now I dun see it even though when the colour faded. Anyway,my mum swim almost everyday so beside the chemical dye, the chlorine water in the swimming pool also does damage to her hair. And yeah, plus she's old already, won't try other colour except dark brown kind.. so it really doesn't matter

Ya, I also thought in my older age, I may do it! Hehehe... I've always had thick-ish hair, but I think hair thinning and/or balding happens to everyone, so I'll do anything that works haha.

<font color="0077aa">Belated thanks to 11_Beans for details of Bugis Budget Baby (B3) shop!
Re: CL, sister also paying 2k+ for CL from JB.

bbPotato, booked postnatal masseur. Don't have contacts on me now but here are rates of 2 of them.
Mdm Habsah - $55-60nett/session (incl. all bindings, herbs &amp; tpt), recommended # of sessions 10-12 over 2 weeks.
Mdm Rubiah- $50-55nett/session (incl. all bindings, herbs &amp; tpt), recommended # of sessions ~10 over 2 weeks too (I think).
Both can start 3D after vaginal delivery, 2 wks after C-sec.
Interested in contacts, drop a line here again k.

caramelle, poor thing... back to work next week! It'll be hard to focus, won't it?!

Bubu~, I say go ahead. We've discussed this before! BE A BEAUTIFUL BRIDE!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">ahnetsan, hope some night owls come on to keep you company, my dear!
This sloth is going to bed. Night night~! </font>

apart from mothercare, are there any other places i can get good bras for going out??? my bras cannot make it already....... how about spring maternity???

<font color="aa00aa">re : glass bottles
Audrey - my hubby feels much much safer using glass bottles, me too.. cos not so easy to scratch and trap germs, though sterilisation actions all the same lor... anyway we discussed, and think anyway bb also dun hold his own bottle ma, we hold for him... and we bot the Evenflo ones, glass super thick.. and all galss bottles BPA free too.. just a little more ex only, and no need to change the bottle at all (although teats need to change every 2 months, i think)

re : Confinement lady
I gotta get stay in one leh.. cos i first timer, sure super stress... even after the 1st month, i think i will struggle alone with bb, so will prob be using infant care ($$$ again)
AAAHHH... looks like really that price liao.. $2k... gosh...
my in-laws are from malacca, got a good one quoted in M$.. heehee.. but she from malacca (which my in-laws insist cook better - *biased*) haaa... =)

Re : bugis shop
Cassey no prob! Hope u find it (can buy all the chor ceng clothes for bb and towels too)
and they also sell cloths to wipe car (almost bot to wipe BB until uncle say "NO!!! that one for car!!!!" so loudly haaa feel so paisay..</font>

CONFINEMENT LADY
i booked mine in dec 08. finally got one who is free to do for me in june. i was shocked as i had to go through at least 5 to find one! so i presume the popular ones are always booked WAY WAY in advance!

as for the rates, i think range bet $1800 to 2000. the sought-after ones refuse to give discount, its $2000 or nothing! i was quite turned off and decided to get someone else instead. the aunty sounded like she had attitude prob. cnt imagine if she stays over for a mth.

as for deposit, i gave her $200. for angpows, mine is up to me. usu if the lady is gd, the going-off angpow wld be bigger lo. if no gd, then $10 can liao.

CL: Guess no choice for them too, cos they can only work for one family at one time. It also depends on your luck! My cousin 1st CL was introduced by her insurance agent, really cannot make it, very old and dunno what to do! She got to change it half way (after 2 weeks), the 2nd one at least is younger, but really do what she supposed to do and nothing else

Chidori, Yup, My gynae told me if I don’t want to gain too much weight, I must also maintain ard 15kg. Or not after giving birth very hard to shred away those fat. I tried removing my bra at work ytd but don’t seem to work. But after another 2hrs+, the pain slowly gone. My gynae told me to cut down on chocolate and those sweet sweet like cakes. But. . it is just so hard.

jam75, you are right. She say it is normal. As what chidori said ‘tendon of the rib cage that is being pushed up due to our growing uterus. hence causing pain’ So it is normal.

audreyaw, I think mine abit hard to be sagging as mine is small mountain thus not that worry. But I rem u in huge mountain group, I think better wear those support or soft wired bra better.

dolly.200906, yup yup. I think I will buy 2 each, so anytin I can change. I went home ard 3pm for bed rest as the pain is quite extreme. But today im feeling better. Thanks

Blurmom, after my mommy knew im pregnant, she keep asking ard from her frenz whether their daughter or DIL got spare bb clothes to pass down anot. Plus my frenz just gave birth last yr oct, that y I have a lot. But I pass down half to my SIL as she due in sept. Actually last time before pregnant, we use to tho to buy those expensive or branded clothes to bb but a lot of ppl say waste $$ as they outgrown very fast, no point. They say we shld save the $$ to buy other thing. Good luck on ur GTT test.

Bbaugustine, I tried to pm you but cannot. Can pm me? I need to ask more abt the putting the pillow below the bump.

i am experiencing numbness on my right thigh regularly. dunno izzit bcos i am too fat or bb exerting pressure on one of the blood pressure.

anyone has this too?

sweethalo, i also think too early cos if before 10, factor in 1/2 to 1 hr to view, i must wake up at abt 8am to go her hse lor.. think maybe wait till her new stocks come in then go her hse ba..

Re CL.
mummies who had engaged CL previously. Can I know how u all spend on ingredients? I know the cost of engaging is abt $1800-$2000. What are the other costs we need to consider?

I'm in my 31 weeks today!!!
In another 9 weeks, bb will pop out..I kinda of going to miss the feeling when bb in my tummy kicking..so please cherish the moment now

weight gain
I've gained about 11kg..the thing is tat I've gained 3.5kg just for the last 6 weeks..I think my ob will question me tomorrow during my checkup..oh no!!

CL
wow.. the price of a CL increase so fast &amp; furious 2 year back..It's around $1500 for 28 day.. mommies who pay $2000 is it for 40 days or 28 days?? some confinement can last for 40 days..

dolly, but i feel numbness even when i am standing lei. jia lut. think i will ask my gyne this sat during the visit.

kikismom, agreed with u. must enjoy the days now. cos bb will be out soon. =D
hee. i also gained 11kg. but my gyne never weigh me lei.

CL
Didn't check how long my CL will stay, only know the price so far.
My mum already started making the ginger vineger months ago. Already put in like 6 bottles of vineger and some ginger, boiling it every week now.
Other than that, I think it's the ingredient for our everyday meals.

babyethan,
it depends on your own needs. if ure vey particular abt jin4-bu3, you can spend thousands of dollars buying the herbs and tonics! dong1 cong2 cao3 is the killer! i think 3 yrs ago, a small box can cost $600-$800! but if just eat normal tonics, i think it wld be a few hundred ba, cos the marketing costs per week can cost $50-100 liao.

kikismom,
$2000 is for 28 days. 3 years ago, i think i paid $1500 too. inflation!

Re: CL
wa. seems like a lot of mummies are engaging a CL. my MIL doing confinement for me. but i dun think i will get those traditional confinement foods. cos i remember she cook the same food every meal for my SIL during her confinement. i dun take those pig's liver and kidneys. so i will probably ask her to cook fish for me. and maybe some lean pork. =D

re: bath
my IL dun allow me to bath. but i bo chup. and decided to bath after i got home. my mom told me to tahan at least 1 wk. but i find it no diff. if i am going to bath, what's the diff in bath one week earlier or later? hahaha. i'm so non-nonchalant to the elders' superstitious thingy.

Tubbymummy, I dunno tink my gynae pattern dun really concern abt wt gained leh…cos he did take my wt f all visit de….i hv to monitor myself…so far my cousin 2 pregnancy under him she say she put on ard 20+ leh but she oso slim down v fast!

11 beans, I oso tink dat 8kg is ok leh! CL – my cousin oso engage 1 fm m’saia oso costs $2k leh…so tinking the market rate f CL should b ard dis range ba!

Blurmom, how u know bb hiccups?? My colik oso ask whether do I feel bb hiccups I was like huh? How I know …. Hahhaha

Audrey, yr lao gong so gd huh…still willing to learnt cooking huh….so u r queen aft pregnant…I onli din do much house chores for 1st tri cos hv bleeding so aft 1st tri again I do most of the chores le!

Sheilisa, tks f confirmation everything is “NORMAL” hee!

jam75, regarding baby hiccups, they are consistent. unlike baby's movements like kicks which are random. also the impact is smaller. i notice my bb hiccup after i finish my meals for sometime. hee.

bing tks fyi hmm tink i will start to monitor c my bb got hiccups ma...tink i gong gong cannot differeniate hiccups or bb kicks! hahhaa

jam75, haha. My gynae signature word 'NORMAL', but today haven even started eat lunch the pain is back again. argh!!

<font color="0077aa">l'tulips, Spring Maternity's bras don't look very nice to me and I find them over-priced for the quality. I managed to get a basic (read: UGLY LA) one IN MY SIZE!! from a lingerie shop called E2... they have a few outlets in Sg. Original price $29.90 but scanned price was at a WHOPPING 30% off!!

> There was quite a good thread for pretty nursing bras posted by someone here... I just paid for my order this morn. Don't know when I'll get it. Buy 3 for 15% off!! =) Her blog http://daerius.blogspot.com/.
Thread at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2275925.html?1237881575

Eh 11_beans, what's chor ceng huh? *oops*

bing, no worries. FAT YOUR BIT HEAD LA!!
If you're having numbness cos you're fat, my legs would have been amputated long ago already lor.

> Were you at WBB's class last Sat? Didn't see you. I only recog. sweethalo, chidori and bluedream... cos we met up at Gloria Jeans gathering liao... don't recognise u and doglefox... No one came to say hello at the last round leh. Must PM you my mobile# so maybe you can sms me what you're wearing for each lesson *kekeke*!</font>

Cassey, "chor ceng" = rough wear (lit. translation)

You bought the daerius bras is it? I was wondering if I should, wanted to get the sleep bras, cos they look so comfy. And wanted to get a couple of the pretty nursing ones too...

Re: BB hicups
incidentally, I just felt it. It's like something ticking periodically, very interesting! I think sometimes you need to quiet down to feel it.

Re: CL
I am payinh $1800 for mine, dunno abt angpao yet. My mum knows this lady so hopefully she is ok. Many gone already, so I booked very early.

Re: Bathing
I sure will bathe and clean myself. Told dad to get ready the herbs from some medical hall. I think no water, no bathing sure drives me crazy! I cannot imagine! But I am lucky cos I live w/o PIL or my own parents, so no one to nag. Hubby leaves everything for me to decide.

Cassey, i so jealous seeing all the preggie mummies pictures with big boobs and no stretch marks - no fair!!

but her bras are very nice. wondering if i should go down for fitting before purchase...

cassey, thanks for the info. I have seen E2 outlets but nv stepped into one. their models are always in those very sexy lingerie.... (esp during CNY, u will see alot of those very er... funny (???) wears) hehehehe

Tubbymummy, the sleep bras from daerius is at think 18. i saw pigeon ones selling at 2 for 9.90 during the taka bb fair. u may want to check the pigeon ones out.....

lovelytulips, ya but no choice..later we buy then cannot fit lagi worse must return back to her. wondering whether should buy now or wait because this mummy i met said that if you intend to BF for long time your bust size wont reduce much but if you stop after 1 month, it will reduce..is it true?

beans, hahaha.. i am a lazy mummy. Intending to get my baby to hold the milk bottle together when not latching on so he will be trained to hold on his own asap.

Shelisa, mine used to be a small mountain too but grown quite alot ever since i got preggie. And if going to bf, it won't grow back to normal size so soon.

bing, i only experienced numbness on both hands every night i sleep. Got to change my position frequently, haha..

jam, because i used to skip meals or eat junk foods when there are no lunch/dinner at home. So he got no choice but to cook for me.
And also I couldn't wake up every morning ever since I preggie. ^^

Nursing bras
I just bought mine at OIO maternity shop. Oh yah, i realise the 10% disc is meant for undergarament and 20% disc for clothing. Cannot remember how much i bought per piece, usually i don't check price after purchasing.

<font color="aa00aa">alamak.. so it's really that ex for CL.. so i better confirm the one fast... oh dear...

First mum, not sure what time they open leh.. business always very good one.. when i went, it was sunday and they supposed to be closed but cos the customers all keep knocking the gate, they opened the shop (one small gap only) and pple starting to flux in liao hahaaaa...</font>

caramelle, I stopped bf in about 1 mth for both kids due to some reasons and yes, they will reduce back to your pre-preggie size.

<font color="aa00aa">just splurged big time on fish oil...!!! 360 caps at $210. But i buy high potency one, DHA content is 22% and the EPA is 33%... LOL..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">only need take one a day so gonna last me a whole year!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">re : glass bottle
Audrey - hmmm glass looks very thick.. dun think so easy break kind though... i think from lap height drop, confirm wont break.. heh.</font>

i jus finish 3 pages of archives lor...wahseh

Post natal Massage
I've booked mine with heritage malay jamu massage. 7 days at $520. more can be read from their website.

CL
I opt for a maid instead of CL cos my mama will look after the bb for me while the maid help her with the general household chores. My maid jus arrive last Thurs..so far so good..hehe

Now i'm experiencing back ache...sit str dun feel rite, slouch oso dun feel rite..haiz...

eh one of my gf also say she feel her breasts actually become smaller...pls dun let dat hap to me..else i flat chested liao!!

Ladies, I just Got back from TMC! Finally done my GTT, awaiting for result (Maybe Fri)...

Jam75, Shelisa, Bb hiccup got a rythme... Sometimes you can even see your belly consistent poping every min. Or you can feel a *thup thup thup* movement consistently.

TMC Desitin Creamy - 57 gm selling 2 for $22 (small tube)

Baby and Me:
Week 28 Day 2 - Baby weighs 1.3kg, slightly bigger.
Weight is taken by body and leg measurements.

Mummy puts on another 2kg during the last 4 weeks! So zzzzzz, Its a total of 19kg liao!

11bean, You off your PM so I dunno how to reach you... Can PM me your email so I can reply you.

I went to tmc tour just now, negative impression! I will post up my story later/tomorrow... Feeling very weak and tired, need to rest now... Chat later

Just booked my post natal massage. 7 sessions for $420, including aromatheraphy oil, binding and transport. This lady was introduced by 2 colleagues, separately. I assume good lah. Anyway, I asked abt how many sessions we need and she said depend on size. If small size, 7 sessions can already. But for big pple like me, I think I may need more than 10 sessions. Think this kind of money cannot save!

baby hiccup: Didn't feel it yet, but I actually saw it during one of the ultrasound... so cute! The whole body just move up and down!