(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

JasC: 38hr.. tht's LONG!!

Which hospital?

my #1 was deliver at KKH.. took me 20hrs, I already cannot tahan.. furthermore, no food after admission for the whole day till birth!

When admitted, all the standard procedure was administer on me.. Induction/CTG/bound to bed, keep pestering me for pain killer when I rejected all.. trainee came in & out!!

I was like alien who insisted no pain killer.. then midwives take over also commented: 'so, this is the one who refuse pain killer!'

With all the bad experience, I banned KKH for my subsequent birth.

Joyce
one of my frens who are on tbf, what she does is latch on during the day and last feed is ebm..
Btw, she tandum latch both her #1 and #2, super mommy rite? #1 is now 20 mths old, and #2 is 4 mths old.. she latched all the way during preg!!
Her babies don't reject her breasts ler.. best is after delivery she already has milk.. coz #1 continues drinking mah.. I've ask my girl to suckle now.. she gave me the yuckzz look hahaha!!

I have known lot's of pple who does tt.. one of my close friend does tt, but when she pg #2, bfg triggles miscarriadge, hence, her initial gynae advice her to stop bfg #1.

Her #1 was breach & was directly C-section as her gynae advice, #2 was natural birth knowing her position allows her, but her gynae gave her shorter time to try natural, Subsequently, she changed her gynae to Dr Paul Tseng (same as mine) at 32/34wks, & successfully did natural VBAC. Her #2 girl was bf'd for more than 3yrs.

My boy, says, no milk for baby, he will drink all the milk in me!
anyway, I dun think he will remember how to latch le

Hi Joyce

It's KKH, but no trainee doctor for me! I still take my normal meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Only on the second day after I got my 3rd prostin tablet inserted, I had my last meal for lunch then after that no meal, may be ice cube or milo only! I was admitted on Sunday, easter day and I thought I was going to have easter day baby!

I thought of changing hospital too but then due to my age and budget, better stick to KKH, after this one will close factory.

Hi Joyce

My gynae suggested no bottle, no FM so just let bb latch since bb has reserve for 3 days. My #1 failed because my MIL helped me with my confinement and asked me to give bottle and at night she feed my bb before I could get up and after that my bb refused to latch on. BB is very smart, once BB tried bottle will refuse breast. One weekend I struggled with her from 12 am to 5 am and she just refused to latch on and in the end I gave up.

This time round for #2, I will heed my gynae advice, no FM although I bought the bottle, my hubby is quite supportive too.

JasC,

If bb sleeps in same room with u, so much easier to bf.

I place the cot near my bed, when bb cries, I'm the 1st one to attend to her/him, usually after latch, I just leave it on my bed (co-sleep) with me.. when next feed, I just turn my body towards the bb to latch.

PPle who do not successfully bf usually due to pressure from MIL/care-taker who believe more in FM! & insisted FM is better over bfg. sometimes, they also 'think' you will rest better if bb are formula fed!

I think can start introduce bottle after 6wks or even longer.

dodo and shers- i've linked ur blogs to mine....
xue- i seemed to have difficulty going to ur blog? is it under renovation or something?

Joyce

This time round I'll stay in the same room where the baby cot is. Previously I did it too but last min my MIL want to stay overnight so no choice need to give the bed to her. This time she's not taking leave to help me, just my helper from my mum's place.

Yes, will introduce bottle later. This baby better know how to latch, else will seek lactation help soon.

JasC,

KKH nurse is good in bfg.. my #1 was taught by a senior nurse who look after us in the midnight..

I stated tbf, so she brought bb to me & ask me to latch. then I ask her to teach me.

i am not going to let my MIL tell me wat to do man... everything she ask me to do, is opposite of wat my gynae says..

and i'm staying with her somemore.. but i spoke to my husband, when i go out to teach, i will bring baby home to my mother..

i was quite firm in my decision.. i told him i carried her for 9 months, i have the final say. i don't want anyone to tell me wat to do (except my gynae) and i will bring this baby up by myself.

sian man.. i married her favourite son......

audrey: u married fave son also kena, married the most "un-fave" son will also kena. no diff one la.. it's the parents that's the problem.. i also told my hb i nt gg to listen to his mom abt anything at all. too ancient la their thinking and i cant click with them. so for wat. wont even let them pick chinese name for the bb. HAHAHA.

audrey..hehe..is always like tat...think some of us staying with mil will have the same problem as u...but sometimes we cant reject them as they are still our hubby's mother...

anyway i have a few bottles but no FM at home at all.. anyway i'm not going to buy because knowing these older folks, sure ask me to feed FM.. but i think they mean well la. i waiting for the quarterly sale to buy HDB den can faster move out.. if not sian one leh..

since i got married, i always keep myself inside the room.. only dinner time den come out..

and if i got no work on that day, my husband have, i will follow him out and wait for him or go back to my mum's place and sleep..

so uncomfortable until now.

anyway thanks all mummies for the advice.. i hope i have milk to feed her and she will not refuse to be latched on..

i already requested at my last checkup that i want bb to latch on immediately.. den the gynae say ok.

jamie
yah me also.. i chose the name by myself. and i just tell my husband "this name ok?" den he ok lor. haha. somemore my husband side the aunties very kaypoh one.. they like to gossip n say things like "wah she give birth, confinement not staying ur place ah?" then my mil also everything listen listen listen..
i always complain to my mother, den she say too bad lor faster buy house den move out.

anyway we married that time, my family never ask for dowry, never ask for table money, never ask for anything. so i always tell my husband, my family didn't "sell" me to your family for free ok.. since u didn't "buy" me over, pls don't tell me wat to do.

porky
yah lah cannot reject.. i'm not rude to her, but i'm not friendly either. i usually just smile n say hi mother, eat already? den smile smile den go back to my room haha. and stay inside there unless i must use toilet. hahaha.

at my own home, i can walk around the house without bra but at my mil house, she got 3 sons leh. how to walk around without bra. so hot somemore.............

Although it's my first, somehow I feel my PIL will be more understanding when comes to settling "things" with their DIL. As far as I know, they are projecting this thinking of "There's nothing much we/I can do if she wants to do it that way".

Guess, my mum would be the one who's more nagging and complaining type of person but no choice for me since she will be the one taking care of baby after I return to work...and oh yes not forgetting daddy will be around with my mum too.

audrey, since u say ur hubby is mil's fav son...will ur PIL move in with u one day ? have u consider this ? so next time ur mum will help u look after baby ?

my father in law is scared of my mother in law hahaha. he never talk at all one leh.

that time i had a quarrel with my hubby den his mum overheard, wah lau eh when i walk out of the room her face damn black. like charcoal.

she dont care who right who wrong, her sons will always be correct. i hope i dont become like that when my babies grow up haha

porky,
they wont move in cos she got 2 younger sons to look after.. 1 is 23 1 is 18 years old.

and i am intending to buy far far far away from them.. now we stay jurong west.. we are looking at punggol when the quarterly sale begins in april..

the further the better.......

yah my mum will help me look after.. my mum very clean.. always keep the house super super clean..
my mum in law seldom clean house.. i always get rashes.. and i have to clean myself.. our own mums still the best..

ok i'm going back to teach..
catch up with the thread later

i hope i will be a good mother in law next time hahahahaaha

audrey: most of my frens confinement they run back to own mom's place lei.. so i think it's perfectly fine la.. anyway listen to own mom better than mil.. if stay w mil, want to argue back also difficult.. anyway wear bra la!!! now boobs already growing n growing u wld't want them to start sagging alr rite?!!!! kekekekeke!!!

audrey, oic...haha...then u are quite safe liao...ya..punggol is very far...i dont think ur mil will take the trouble to visit u since she stay in jurong...i stay in punggol too...go to jurong less than 3 times in a year...

Audrey,
My 2cents worth, if your MIL is the caregiver then will be more wise to stay closer. My PILs stay in Jurong West too while I am at Dover. I have been sending my ger to and fro from their place for the past coming 3 years. Darn tiring siah !

This round for no2, the are shifting in not that I really want but I need them to take care of no1 & 2. That will really save alot of hassle. I do foresee we will have conflict but since I am working hopefully keeping my finger x. Anyway, my previous confinement I have a huge disagreement with MIL but I learned that she is giving in more at time goes by... so I also close 1 eye lor

Anyway, I stayed with my mum for close to 3 weeks after my confinement for no1.

I think chocolat will understand more cos she is staying in Punggol but her PILs are staying in Bt Panjang. Now she is a weekend mum and can only bring her son home during weekend.

Audrey,
maybe i can tell u diff between premier n classic at KKH. Cos last thurs I already ask them back diff :
- Premier : our gynae will attend when we at delivery ward until give birth n the following day check up our gynae will check on us until we discharge.
- Classic : our gynae will attend when we at delivery ward until give birth n the following day check up doctor in charge will do NOT our gynae.

I think no diff la only following check up n all the report still with our gynae for wat we pay more few hundred $ only for 5 min check up?

rc_cola,
thanks for sharing bout ur birth experience. i admire u for wanting to deliver without epi! its something i don't think i can do since my first baby was 3.8kg and #2 seems to be bout same size only her head seems bigger! my #1 head circumference was 35cm and i couldn't push her out, in the end had to be assisted with forceps (imagine that without the epi??!!!)

but i truly understand the beauty of a drug free birth. i am sure with proper 'mind' training and discipline, it can be a really rewarding labour. i have heard bout hypno birthing from frens and also seen it on TV, etc.

but unfortunately, i am facing a mental block with regards to the pain coz i did experience real full on labour an hour b4 i got my epi for the first one. plus the forceps, i just cannot imagine doing it w/o epi.

its jus me lah...and i am still figuring this out and trying to see what sort of birth plan suits me...

jasc,
thanks for explaining to me in detail about induced labour. it doesnt sound as simple as i thought! oh no...i was thinking bout being induced so that i could be given epi, didn't want to risk getting to the labour ward too advanced or dilated for epi. but these medical interventions might not be so straightforward, ya?

i will wait till my next gynae appt and discuss with him my options...see what he says first

thanks so much for your reply!

audrey,
hey, same as u! my pants v tight...i haf to wear pants at work so its been getting v uncomfy for me. i can no longer sit cross legged leh...so cham right?

chocolate,
oh no, i hope ur piles will get better or lessened...

thanks for sharing bout the b-feeding...i stopped when my girl was 13mths...she weaned off by herself and i TBF direct all the way! she is the opposite, she totallly rejected bottle when i intro @ 4weeks. and has never drunk from bottle! this time round i hope to be able to train #2 to latch and take bottle too. hoping #2 won't be as fussy as her sister! sighs, my #1 was stuck to me like a koala bear coz no one else could feed her! i am grateful that i managed to tbf her, but i also had no life coz of that.

Audrey,
me also my mum do confinement for me but i still stay with my MIL leh ... n my mum will come everyday to help me
n i hear got pill to induce BM also.

I already go take a look for nursing bra at metro material ok n price not ex
but no lace leh.

okipoki & Audrey,
I guess there's always pros and cons. Me and my mil working styles and caring for bb is also at 2 different ends. Tried to talk to her but still she has her own mindset. haiz...But seriously if there's a choice for me now, I wouldn't mind to close both eyes and stay with my pils. My heart pained at the thgt that I might be having the same arrangement for comin bb again. I look forward to every Fridays but always extremely heavy hearted on Sun when I've to bring my son over...and cos of the distance me and hub only visits him on Wed. We tried to persist on a daily basis initially but it was really tiring. This I must salute okipoki. Due to the fact that bonding time with my son was only thru the weekends and plus I din succeed in bf which I feel since I cant care for him this the least I can provide him...I realise I missed out a lot on his developments. There was a period of time when he refuse to come home with me and was sticky to my mil...I was heart-broken. For this comin bb, I'm considering all options..juz dun wanna be a weekend mummy anymore and I hope to have my 1st son back home with me too

Chocolat,
Hahah same same here, my styles and MIL's styles are diff but she learns to accomodate as time goes. I do explain to her on my reason and she does as well. So far no complain on her for Chloe since she really dotes and discipline her strictly.

There is one occasion when Chloe also prefers MIL but she started to be clingy to me when she falls real sick one day. I took care of her days and nights - is all worth afterall with many sleepless night.

Shers,
Wahaha!!!
Dont need to page for me hor...Haha..alway catching up the thread lah! Just that today too busy didnt log in. Hiaz...my appt again at 1000hrs...Got a Hospt tour @1200hrs.

chocolat,shers,
where to get those dry shampoo that u mention?
else think have to cut short the hair... it will be so hot n smelly!

Ling,
ya the weather so hot cant imagine if cant wash hair n shower for 12 days
so oily n smelly man. Me next weeks then cut short my hair ... simple n easy to take care.

Lily,
saw ur moo moo bb clothes, etc... i luv that set oso.. wanted to get last round when shopping for bb's discharge clothes.. haha.. but mum asked me to get something plain n white first...:p I will get that maybe for full month!

Lily > I went to Kiddy Palace at JPT but purpose was just to window shop. Hehe. If I knew those moo moo items were there, I be crazy to get some too.

How much are they priced?

Hi Audrey

The package I signed up is Premier package, that's why my downpayment is more. I think Lily is right about the checkup.

As I'm more comfortable with only female gynae, I rather pay more and don't want any trainee doctor to disturb me. I understand that they may come in a group at times.

wah lau how come the stupid kkh pple never tell me about the B1 premier? i dont want other pple to check on me.. i dont want those medical students around also..

ok tomorrow i call and ask... all they told me was if i choose b1, my gynae will only come in when i am going to deliver.. if a1 then she will come immediately when i admit.. that's all they told me..

better call and ask.. dont want all these trainee pple around me..

re: MIL
she wont be the main caregiver.. it will be me because i'm stopping my teaching at music schools.. i will only continue teaching from home (my mum's home) and going to student's house.. and i have arranged the students in such a way that its all near my mum's place..

i don't want to quarrel with mil then put hubby in a tight spot.. better avoid than face her..

she's nice la but just not comfortable with her i guess.. my mum ask me to treat her like a friend.. i cannot do that man.....

last night cant sleep sianzz ...

SK,
i also yesterday go window shopping n end up found that one n buy hehee
for cap $6.90 n mittens set $6.90. Romper n tee i forget cos already long time. If got member disc 10%.

Audrey,
I think for B1 not have medical student n trainee doctor. Only for subsidi (B2 N C) will have ... i got ask last time. But if u want sure better call

hi lily,
u're here early!

i can't sleep either. i try not to drink water so much to avoid getting up to pee but i feel SOOOO hot and dry!

when are u due?

good morning cheekz, lily!
i am at the office already.. good sleep, sleep deprived for the past few days, so last night knocked out, even though very urgent.

Have all mummies here decide ur baby PD b4 delivery?
My gynae recommend Dr Koey. Not sure good or not. Got 2 frens baby PD is Ang Ai Tin. Dono want to switch to AAT or other PD.

Audrey,
Thats quite a good arrangement at least u have your mum to help out
Anyway, bo bian is alway the case the MIL & DIL problems.