(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Tiny Bubu and all May mummies,

Tiny Bubu, may I know why your gal need to go for occupational theraphy? Was it she still can't walk well? My boy just started to walk unassisted this week, still prefer crawling to walking. I think your gal is fine. Sometimes I think the PD tends to go simply by the book. For my boy, I am not worried at all because his regular PD said that learning to walk depends on the baby character as well, my boy is super cautious type, so she told me he most likely will walk by 16 months, a tad later then most babies. And it proved that she is right.

I think the doctors are pretty concerned that she doesn't respond to her name?

Re: talking
As for talking, we really need to take note that most babies here are exposed to 2, sometimes 3 languages. It will be confusing to them at first. This is why if you compared the talking milestone to those western standards, our babies seem to be slow.

To encourage baby to talk, we must make sure they see our mouth movement when we talk. We need to talk slightly louder and higher pitch so as to attract their attention.

We always make sure we point out things to my boy and read aloud for him. Every thing along the street, or things he pointed at, etc. It is tiring but it is effective. My boy can say about 15 words now.

Another interesting thing I read from a book is that caregiver must respond fast enough when baby attempts to communicate. It doesn't matter that the baby only babbles, or point at the thing, important thing is let them understand the importance of communication. When they babbles, just respond, asking what do they want, is it the ball, or the bear, emphasing the mouth movement when u talked. If the babies do not get enough attention from the caregiver when they attempt to communicate, they will not find the motivation to communicate right?

I hope this is helpful to some mummies here. I find it amusing that alot of PD just suggest hearing test when the baby is still not talking by 15 month... I mean as parent, we should know whether our baby responds to sound? How fast a baby start to talk depends on so many factors, including the baby character itself..

Hi Tinybubu,

You may wanna bring the specialist's recommendation to a polyclinic to ask for referral to KKH or NUH Child Development Unit so that you can get subsidised rate. The price difference between a private patient and subsidised patient can be more than 50%. Subsidised 45 min therapy = $31 vs $65. Assessment: $130 (2 hour) vs $360 (private). Therapy is a long term thing..Hence, it may be worthwhile getting subsidised rate.

My #1, 36 month, has just started occupational and speech therapy with NUH. She just went for an autism assessment last week and is awaiting the result. Most likely gonna be borderline PDD-NOS(one spectrum of autism)...Keeping my fingers crossed till then. Personally, the checklist that they use is pretty tough. I guess, for a 16 month old toddler, they are pretty much expected to show eye contact, use some gestures to ask for things, response to their names, smile at familiar faces. Dun think speech is higher essential. My #1 did not really do all these back then although her motor skills were good. She could state the names of items but simply lack social communication skills. Do check out M-CHAT survey (http://www.firstsigns.org/downloads/m-chat.PDF) to take a look at the expected milestones so that you can expose your child to the necessary environment.

My 2 cents worth...

Poohwei, thx for the link and seems that Charlene passes the test well. :)

Somehow feel that her language is still not that strong and perhaps like what pastries has said they are exposed to at least 2 languages hence tad confusing to pick up words to say correctly.

Thanks for your concern,mummies! With Sophie, i guess this is what worries me -

1) Her lack of eye contact. She will only look at you when she feels like it.I tried holding up her fav toy to my face and also to keep talking to her but she die die wont look if she doesnt want to.

2) She loves to play and explore by herself. She doesnt really like playing with other people / babies.

3) She's not talking at all. I'm taking my share of the blame because I work full time and there is no childcare near my place that has vacancies for Sophie.So my Indo maid takes care of Sophie (15mths) and her younger bro (5 months) all day.I try my best but since I only get to spend time with Sophie on weekends, it was very difficult for me to guide her regularly.

4) She's not on solids because I found out recently that when I prepare food for Sophie in the mornings before work and mash it, my maid will put my food in the blender to puree it so it will be easier for sophie to swallow.My maid also doesnt let sophie have finger foods to play with because she's afraid sophie will dirty her high chair.LOL! Again, i'm not blaming my maid because my maid has been fantastic to keep both my babies safe and clean everyday. But i dont think its fair for me to think that my maid can also teach sophie how to "grow up" as well. This is a job for a parent/teacher.

The doctors have told me that this may be indicators of autism and early intervention is the best thing for her. Sophie can walk quite well unassisted now. She only walks like she's drunk when she has just woken up in the mornings or when she is really tired.

So i've taken steps to helping Sophie. I'm in the midst of clearing my leave so i can resign from my job to be a sahm.That way, i have time to be with sophie and her brother.i also can catch up with my other sahm friends.LOL!

Also, i'm looking at putting her in a playgroup so she can mingle with other kids.researching playgroups walking distance from my house.somebody told me about polliwogs where the parent stays with the child during the session.This is $600 per term.Lessons are once a week for 1.5hrs.

Also i think i might sign her up for Talent Plus Playgroup @ Marine Parade CC.It's $145 mthly and playgroup is 5 days a week (2 hours each day). Quite cheap but not sure if quality is good.

Right now i will usually bring her to polliwogs for free play.i love the place.sophie has heaps of fun in the ball pit!

any ideas from any nice mummy about how you think i can help sophie catch up with her peers?

Hi tinybubu

I am surprised that your PD scheduled you for a hearing test when it's obvious she can respond to the theme song of her favorite cartoon programme. Maybe your gal just can't be bothered to respond to her name.

My gal doesn't respond much to her English name but more to her Chinese name. Maybe cos we called her by her Chinese name as a newborn and she was only referred by her English name when she went to the IFC.

FYI recently I heard from a colleague that her friend's son cannot talk at 2 yrs old and was assessed by the PD. They realized it's becos he doesn't take much solid food. The chewing and munching action helps them in their speech development.

You mentioned your gal is not really on solids yet, any reason why so? Maybe can try giving her rough purees. I had a cousin who couldn't talk till he was three and his parents were so worried he was mute! Now he's all grown and doing well in his career. Hope this can bring sone relief to some mothers.

Opps just saw your post. Perhaps just start her on slightly rougher purée first or give bread so she can chew.

We hope she will improve after she joins a playgroup. BTW does she show interest in other babies or younger kids?

Lush : thanks for your kind words. that's the thing, some of my friends are telling me not to go overboard with the therapy and what sophie needs is just good old fashioned playtime with mummy/daddy.things like taking her for a walk downstairs and letting her feel the grass or talking her to the swimming pool and playing with her and her bath toys.

then some of my other friends are telling me i should be super worried and this is definitely autism and i need to read up on autism and go for support group meetings!!!

very confusing.....

Re: Floortime( http://www.mindspring.com/~dgn/playther.htm)

Parents may wanna try out it out regardless of whether the child may be autistic or not. I realise that after doing floortime aka traditional play with my #1 in the presence of #2, #2 has caught up a lot and is learning a lot faster as compared to her peers. (#2 is normal)

Hi Tiny Bubu
Speech is not so crucial if they have eye contact or communication via gestures. So no worries for kiddos who are slow is speech. It may be right to say that it may be the lack of solid food that slows her speech. I have a friend whose son cannot talk properly at 3 becos of weak jaw muscles. Now, he is made to bite on "blocks" so as train his muscle. You may wanna expose your gal to some biscuits?

shirley: MMR is mumps measles rubella

tinybubu: u can also meet up with other sahms and have play dates. babies can learn by watching how each other play, communicate or interact. =) u say ur girl plays alone, does she have many opportunities to "hang out" with other babies? sometimes it jus takes a little time cuz not used to playing together ma. haha.

as for speech, i dun tink ur the only one with a baby who doesnt tok. my girl is borned a day earlier than sophie and is still babbling alot and only says mum-mum (food) and ball-ball. she does throw us an occasional dada or mama or por por but its very very seldom and she jus doesnt want to say the words. btw, ur frm june thread rite?

re : hiccups
hi mummies, my boy hiccups abt 3 times a day..isit normal ? how many times ur toddler hiccups a day ?

re : chix pox jab
mummies, can share the price u all pay for this jab ? only chix pox jab alone

Hi mummies, sorry to interrupt!

I have last 2 pairs of girl squecky shoe size 7 left, so clearing them below cost price at $16.00 (UP$ 34.90). You can get anyone living near Sengkang/Buangkok/Punggol/Hougang area to pick up or I can send over, then when you all meet up, then can help to pass around, or I can cover the normal postage. Do add 2.25 for registered mail.

Last 2 designs - size 7: Insole length 15.2 cm

http://www.kidsngifts.blogspot.com/

4447731.jpg
4447732.jpg

If you have #2 or #3 coming along or plan for a gift, then can consider this last pair of soft sole full leather shoe at $16 as well, innner length 11.5cm - sole with rubber pad

4447733.jpg

poohwei, i thot ur #1 is @ infant care/childcare? how/when u know to send her for assessment?

tiny_bubu, agree with jamie that babies will take time to warm up to other babies... when i invited my friend's babies to my place, we found it amusing that each babies take one corner and played on their own... lately, yuan2 can play with her friends -- very fun to see them interacting

fyi, yuan2 attends full day infant care.

yes, sending sophie to class will do her good
try out different class to see which is more suitable for her.

another thing u can try is show sophie some baby videos like baby einstein, baby can read etc. yuan2 picked up some words from there after watching N times...

re: speech
caregivers feedback that yuan2 is slower in her speech but good with her physical skills... she is the buay si tiam kind that prefers to run ard than sit down to read a book
i was slightly worried but will wait and see... coz many pp said those who are faster in physically skills will be slower in speech...

Hi, sorry to disturb...

any mummies here enrol your 18th old babies to playgroup, those 2 hourly kind?

can advise talent plus, apple tree? which is better?

between 2 hourly playgroup and full day cc , which is better?

pls pm me as i dun check this thread.

Greetings from Malacca!! Waiting for the kiddos to wake up b4 going for breakfast and swim!!! Xuan loves to swim now..Kept playing with the water and she can waddle through.

Re: Sleeping thru the nite
Any kiddos who are still not sleeping thru? Xuan still wakes up 1-2 times at nite for milk. Dunno if she just want comfort latching or she is really hungry!! So tiring!! Aiming to stop latching after my HK trip at Year end!!

Hi adv sport,
Yes, my #1 goes to CC. I was quite lucky to have met a therapist/psychologist from KK Child Development Unit . She is the mother of my #1's classmate@ Julial Gabriel. She was observing my gal for a few weeks b4 she decided to ask me to go for some screening.

My #1 started walking at 8+ months..super fast but super buay si tiam. When we bring her for classes, she can never sit down even at 1 YO. Getting her to sit down on my lap for a story is a NO NO since young. Now at 3, she still cant sit down for more than 5 min during class time in her CC. Only sit-down craft work activities can capture her attention. For stories, she is "slightly" more interested.

Speech wise, she was not willing to parrot after us until recently at 30+ months. However, she is pretty good with saying 1-2 words phrases and naming pictures since 18 months.

Try looking through the M-CHAT survey. For us, the comment made by the psychologist was our wake up call although we knew all along that she was hyperactive.

Now, i m keeping my fingers crossed for the report on 27th SEpt!!

Poohwei,

after reading your story frighten me too.
cos my gal also super buay si tiam.
she not yet started walking but when we carry her, she will try to climb over our body...unless we are outside...then she is distractor. but her on chair or floor...before she can crawl well...she already move to touch everything. and she can dun take nap nowsdays. just wanna to play...and anything she cant get it...will just scream.

her speech so far quite ok...but always repeating apple on her own.

how do i get her to go for screnning?

Tiny bubu: the concerns you have might be due to your maid's way of feeding and keeping Sophie clean. But I read before that some babies who only want to breastfeed and not take any form of solids till much later. I had a friend whose son who didn't really speak and walk till nearly 2. I also don't really believe everything doctors say. I think the best is to use your intuition as a mother.

Poohwei - i'm also worried after reading your post on your #1. not sure if i'm over "gan-cheong" and keep looking out for signs that my boy may not be "not normal". whenever i bring up my worries to my hubby, he would brush them off saying that my boy is normal. sigh...

I have a questionnaire that is for the 18 months assessment with some scores to indicate their level. It was given by my boy's neonate doctor as my boy was born prematurely. You could PM me if you want a copy.

adv, come to think out it...my IFC never really feedback his behaviour to me...only talk about whether he finish his food / milk etc..

ie never comment on his development as compared to his peers etc..
only give stupid comment like yesterday the teacher told me my son likes to kiss her...gosh..

i think its high time i ask how much son progressing in term of physical, speech etc..

porky

i try going to rentatoy.com but cannot go in

then another website is something rental they dun have it.
Is there any other website for renting?

Porky,

hmm no la just that becoz i wil be working over the weekend and my hubby got to drive around with my boy so need a carseat to secure him in the seat just in case he jump about in the car..

yuki, oic...if u need for long term use, u can get a cheap one from baby hyper mart..also can use up till 4yrs old..or u get from WTS

Apologies but am in need of many tins of the following:

[1] 400g Enfapro A+ ($10/$11)
[2] 900g Enfapro A+ ($32+-)
[3] $5 Off Enfapro A+ Voucher

Pls pm me if you've any to let go.. thanks & appreciate lots! =)

Am also in search for pre-loved Parklon/LG Bumper Playmat

hi mummies, anyone got the Huggies free sample M size ? can exchange 2 pcs with my L size ? cos L size seems too big for my boy leh..wanna try the M size and see how well it fits..pm me ok ? tks !

Hi mummies who are preggie again,

I've a voucher to let go. Its for a 60 mins pre or post-natal aromatherapy massage at Raffles Aesthetics, Raffles Hospital, valued at $120. Expiring 3 Oct. I have no use for it cos I'm not preggie again..yet. So can let go at a special price. Interested mummies can pm me. Cheers

Intend to send my child now 16mths to childcare early next year so scouting around for good childcare at punggol, any reviews on sunshine kids is appreciated.

Hi TinyBuBu and the rest of the mummies here,

After reading TinyBuBu post, I got slightly worried.

My boy is about the age of TinyBuBu's daughter. Around 16++ months old. Though he babbles a lot and occasionally screams around the house but he still failed to address his daddy or mummy.

He plays with his cousins well. Can request for things by pointing. Will turn to us when we call his name. He can also walk / run albeit not very steadily. He can also answer when I asked him "where's the bright bright light" in the lift. He will point to the LED panel that shows the floors. But so far, this is the only question he can answer...

I just brought him to the PD for his injection last week. The PD said it's ok, certain kids are slower in speech development.

I will like to verify if it's indeed true? Or is she just patronizing me because she still had a lot of other patients out there waiting? Should I be worried about my boy's speech development?

I already enrolled my boy to Julia Gabriel PlayNest which he already went twice. He seemed to enjoy it. Would you recken that going to JG should quicken his speech development?

Xin,
From what I know, at 16 months, they should have vocab of at least 10 words. My friend's PD at KKH recommend referral to specialist because he couldn't call mama at 17 months. Luckily 1 week after, he can call mama so my friend cancel the appointment. Some boys are slower in speech. I remember my older boy was slower but now can speak v well. The baby also 16 mth now can say simple word like ball, bubble, car, kor kor, jie jie etc. Does your baby has eye contact? If he can play well with people and is sociable, then perhaps just slow in speaking.

Xin

My boy coming to 17 months can only call ma, ball, jie, da. He understand his body well, point at what he wants to eat and enjoys music and 'singing'. I'm not too worried as I know he's progressing well.

Xin,

My boy currently only know how to call papa and yiyi leh.. He is very very slow in his speech, at first i am worry cause he dun say any words at all but now he start to call papa and yiyi i think he should be fine..

Please help her..
She is a relative of mine.
Her name is Vercella Veronica
She is a 7 yrs old girl from Indonesia and diagnosed with Leukemia on 18 Aug 2010.

Vercella Veronica is unable to seek help from any welfare department in Singapore because she is a foreigner. Hence, we need your kind donation to give this girl a chance to live.

Her dad is the sole bread winner and he only earn $150 per month and they have sold off all they have.

We are doing a fund rising for her and you could visit the following website for more details on the donations. Really thanks in advance..

http://vvdonation.blogspot.com/

There is a website that sell some items and all proceeds will be donate to Vercella Veronica.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/4431276.html?1285903311

Pls note this is not a spam!!!

Hi, anyone knows where to get those clips to clip the 2 side straps of the car seat seatbelt together? Esther's been wriggling out by herself... very dangerous when I drive alone with her

mine car seat has (safety first)..its came with it...my old car seat didnt have..so i purposely buy another car seat..so that its impossible to come out...