(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

anyone tried scotts emulsion original flavour?
is it nice? not fishy? just tried the orange one today n my boy likes it..dunno the white one will like it or not..coz hubby said white one more effective hee..

Re: Feeding Problem
yes.. I got this problem too. But it's weird coz seems only I'm having this problem. My mil and sil don't seem to have this feeding problem. When I'm working, sil is her main caregiver. She always say Vera is an easy baby. 'Easy baby'?? How come this doesn't happen to me leh... When come to feeding time, I need to use distraction too. Donno since when, I let her have bread with porridge. I have no choice, she'll eat only if I put a little piece of bread on top of the spoondful of porridge. If I only give her porridge, she either pushes the spoon away or turns her head left, right, up or down just to avoid the spoon... If not she'll cry if I don't give her what she wants. Recently, I think she's sick of bread. She wants Gerber puffs... The same thing she'll do if I don't give her. Sometime I ask myself.. What's wrong with my porridge? maybe my cooking sucks.... :p

miss83, I had tried it myself when I was a kid. Very fishy taste (ok, to be really exact: when you smell it, it's more fishy than when you put in your mouth. When it's in the mouth, it's not as fishy but has a little of sweetness. After swallow, the fishy taste remains and if burp, the fishy smell is the strongest and that's the smelliest to me when I was a kid) but I didn't detest it when I was given as a kid. Most prob. because mum introduced it to me when I was very young so I sort of get used to it already. I tasted the Orange flavour one too when I was older. I find it quite tangy but I liked it too. Hehe.. At that time I was old enough to feed myself already. I would use the Chinese soup spoon to pour the orange one to feed myself. :D Yes, I'm going to introduce the scotts emulsion to Vera soon. Already bought a bottle, it's original one. Most prob. tomorrow morning. Like you, I also donno if she'll reject or not.. Let's see bah..

Hey miss83, I was thinking perhaps I should try it myself before I give it to Vera and after all these years the taste might be different. So I tested the Scott's Emulsion Original Flavour myself just now. Ok, the taste is still the same.

Hello Sung,

RE: Solid Quantity per meal
For Vera, it's 2 ladles/scoops porridge in a bowl. She will have 2 of such meal per day.

RE: Playgroup
Like you, I also just started my research on playgroup. A few of my colleagues told me to start register now as their children have to be put in waiting list when they registered... I was thinking "wow.. so hot? Thot birth rate in SG is low..?" Anyway, I started my research from here:

http://ele.ecitizen.gov.sg/Education/PreSchool/

If you scroll down all the way to the bottom of the page, you'll see Quick Links. Click at "Child Care Centre" (usually CCC will offer Playgroup program) under For Parents. Then Select SengKang region to look for what are the CCC in SK region.

The above is how to come to this link:

http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_main_result_region_vm.asp

I live in Yishun so I can't tell which school in SK is good for recommendation. Anyway this is how I start my research. I had short listed a few near my area and the next thing is for me to go down and see the place for myself. Hopefully I can find something suitable for Vera...

lizy - my mum says that kirs is also easy to feed... within 10-15mins cn finish her porridge.. but when i feed it takes longer leh... zzz... maybe they choose who to "bully" ba... hurhurhur...

aiyoh.... I suddenly realised that I have been the only one posting here.... :p Hee... i just post as and when I think of something to share. Maybe it's Friday today, I feel so alive!!!

been a long time since I last posted here but been a silent reader all along and all your tips are so useful to me.

missycandy and lizy- same here ! I have very a big problem feeding my boy like whatever I gave him he would push the spoon away or use his tongue to spit out the porridge. But my mil also commented he is an easy baby which I don't understand why it never happen to me. I was also wondering is it my cooking sucks ? haiz...

He has been having a fever for 3 days already. Reject solids, milk intake terrible. Really don't know what to do with him.

missy!!! yesyes... Vera seems to always bully me!! And sometime it's so hard for me to coax her to sleep too. When she's with me, she will always play this, play that. Climb onto me and want me to piggy back her. sometime she bites me too and only me! -.-"

Mummy_Bean, oh dear.. I hope your little boy get well soon. understand how you feel and the kind of stress you're having now. But did the doc say anything?

sung,
re weaning, I just feed him bottle instead of latching. He is ok maybe cos i only latch him 1-2 a day, rest bottle feed, so he is quite used to it liao.

Blurjen,
No worries

TGIF!!!!!!!!!!

WOooooooohooooooooooooooooo

hey hey mommies. Long time no visit. So sorry. Work's been moving at a frantic pace and looks set to get even worse. Nevertheless, it's Fri now and I've no mood to work. Think my battery is running out by now. Been going on pure adrenalin so far for the whole entire week.

Anyway, just wanted to check is anyone considering shicida? Heard mixed reviews from friends with older tods so far and am undecided.

Anyone experienced it? Or how about little neuro tree?

mummybean is favian's mama right? hmmm... *hugs hugs favian*

lizy - kirs prefers to play with daddy more.. lolx.. whenever she sees him come home, she squeals! -_-" see me will smile n laugh n run to me... then will run away again...lolx... but for food she looks for me or popo... for fun, she looks for the men( papa, kong kong or my bro when he is ard)

mummy bean,

has your boy seen the doc yet? my boy had high fever last thurs and doc took his mucus to test and it's this virus called parainfluenza which doc say quite a number of cases these weeks.

the fever lasts about 5 days and fever medication MUST be given every 6 hours to control the fever.

i've kept him away from infantcare for a whole week now. he's ok and his appetite is slowly returning. they get bodyaches with this virus so will be super cranky and cry for no apparent reason. no appetite and constantly tired.

you might wanna check with doc if a mucus swab test is necessary. not to scare you but just to share coz the last week has been a super tiring week!

alfafa,

i went for e Little Neuro Tree preview...when my son ard 6 mths old...they claim to provide LOTSA enrichment for ur tots...even teach a foreign lang like Japan.

I found their claims too unbelieving...i asked to sit in to view one lesson in progress but was flatly denied...besides, they dint let me see e res they use for kids...nothing fantastic...so i guess itz no more LNT...
As for shicida, it seems more like for older tots...not sure if itz very rigorous...

I onli let him try Little Gym...my gal frien nudged me for JG...in e name of exposure...well, i oso up to my neck in work so hardly any energy to bring him anywhere.

Mayb e next enrichment is to expose him to music...N for learning, Kidsphonics sounds qite cool! Appeared in news before...

For me, itz been a long long long while...glad to see this thread still running...

I oso received e ipad review...wondered who did this...

cheers!

My family's work dist'n for abel:

a. play/hugs ~ grandma (paternal)
b. go gai gai (shopping) ~ grandma (maternal)
c. exercise ~ grandpa (maternal)
d. car ride ~ daddy
e. eat/sleep ~ mammy
f. temp relief ~ 2 uncles n aunt of mammy or any
familiar strangers

Talk abt effve delegation of responsibilities ... start frm young eh
** chuckle **

Phew..finally had some personal time to be online peacefully..or else I would be doing one hand typing and another stopping my boy from destroying my laptop.

Lizy- thanks for asking. Ya it has been tough especially these few nights to stay awake taking his temperature and etc. I feel like I had aged so much in a week with the lack of sleep. The doctor didn't say anything much as I thought it was the normal teething process. So I went to see the GP to get brufen since I had ran out of it and I thought she was quite unprofessional. Didn't even use the stethoscope to listen to his chest. And just did PR-ing to my husband and I.

missycandy- Bingo ! ha..thanks for the hugs...I need a hug also... ha..

chocalate15-oh thanks for sharing ! the doctor didn't say anything cos I thought it was the normal teething process so I just went to see her for brufen since his fever could be as high as 38.6 but it din occur to me it could be a virus. His fever was on and off for whole week, he would be at normal temperature in the morning and a fever in the afternoon and then back to normal at night. ya it is super tiring. For him and for me especially at medicine feeding time. Now he shun away from me when he sees me coming with a syringe. haiz..But I think if this continues tomorrow I would bring him to the PD for a swab test. Thanks for sharing !

Oh ya I read about quite a number of mummies bring their babies to Yu Guo for tui na. Just wondering for mummies whom had tried does it improves the appetite of your babies ?

I thought of bringing my boy to try the tui na since his rejection of solids is literally driving me nuts.

Lizy..

Bree is ok at home if she does not see me, she is ok with my mom or hubby for more than an hour..

then after that hour.. she will call for me.. mama mama.. if i am not within her sight.. i answered her.. "yes, mummy's here in the kitchen etc.. she will crawl around the house to look for me.. if she gets to see me.. a kiss and a hug is enough to satisfy her.. she will go on playing again with hubby or my mom.

so far.. out of the home.. she is not like this

Sung,

About going to the bathroom.. i bring Bree to her playpen.

then i told her i tummy ache. got to to bathroom.. i asked her if its ok for her to wait for me inside her play pen and play with her toys or books while waiting for me.

it takes a few minutes to "negotiate" with her..
sometimes she is ok, sometimes she does cry.. but after a few minutes.. she will play with her toys..

same goes if i need to shower.. even if my mom comes over to stay.. she will refuse anyone especially after 6.00pm at night.. its exclusively me..

she gets more upset when anyone else comes to her when she cries at night.. normally she will end up shouting "mama mama" till choke and vomit.. who ever goes near her will "kena" from her.. she will push their hands away a few times first.. if the person insist.. she will claw their face. hands neck or chest.. Haiz..

Lenny,

I actually envy u for Bree's clingy as I do not get this kind of attention from my boy as he is a public lover. Ha.. and he will even push me away if he sees his daddy back from work but can understand how u feel. Enjoy this clingy process cos as they will outgrow it one day and by then we may miss them clinging onto our leg for hugs and comfort.

Hi alfafa,

HY is currently attending Shichida method's classes. Tomorrow will be his fourth lesson.
I have not been to the review class for shichida class but decided to enrol him cos my niece was there for 2 yrs before she was placed at a full day childcare. The results shown from my niece is very encouraging and my hb and myself decided to enrol our own child at shichida even though it is expensive.
We had gone to little neuro tree at marina parade and had a talk with their principal before enrolling HY at Shichida but we decided to go ahead with Shichida as I feel something is lacking there at LNT and because they run on franchise, we were very concerned with the kind of standards they have. We had earlier considered LNT because we have heard that the owners of LNT used to be under shichida (heard they were relatives) and the course fee for LNT is at least $200 lower than Shichida.

At LNT,they only includes Jap but at Shichida, they expose the children to german and other language beside jap too. For children of young ages, it is said to be good to expose them to different languages.

my personal opinion about selecting an enrichment class for your child. if eg. u have an active child, i would think it is better to enrol him/her in a class where it will enable him/her to sit and concentrate and if you have a quiet child who will sit and play on his/her own then i think should expose him to classes where it will allow him/her to interact with other kids and also train the motor skills...eg. tumble tots..or gymboree..etc.

For me, enrolling HY in Shichida is to train his memory, develop his character and build up his confidence and also to socialise with other kids.
I personally think mind training for kids is very important. It will make them wiser and easier to teach and pick things up when they go to mainstream school in future.

I used to work in the office of JG and chiltern house. I think the quality of the teachers there are not bad. They are paid better than teachers from other schools. Personally, i really like JG's speech and drama classes. And would consider putting HY there if i've more money cos shichida is already burning a hole in our pockets...:p

sung,

i look for easy ways to do things - just dump everything into a claypot and boil on med/low heat as i don't have a small slow cooker. then scoop out into a blender and blend all into a paste. i do blend a lot - at least that big chunk of meat/fish + equiv of one tomato + one carrot - all comes out in less than a whole rice bowl full of paste. the leftover broth is pretty tasty - can use as a stock for rice/porridge/pasta, or just freeze and use it for something else in some other dish.

strawberry79
My get oso sun mrng but at springleaf...
I am starting gug at suntec on tue and thur too... wanna skip but she everyday at home so bored... so no choice but to send her for some social activities...

Tuskywoolie, strawberrys,

this is fantastic! Thanks so much for sharing. I too believe firmly in mind development courses but the grand question is which one. I'm not too hot on the ESP aspect of shichida though, find that bit too disconcerting but otherwise am pretty impressed so far. Maybe I'll check out other alternatives to shichida before I decide.

Am also wondering if I should enrol her for Pat's schoolhouse now. Yah I'm probably late already cos I know there is a long waiting list. Anyone enrolled their bub there yet?

alfalfa,

About pre-school.. we are still looking around.. not really firm yet.. now calling a few to make appointment for visits before enrollment.

riverie_island

Yep.. Bree is now at JG, Twice a week at Forum Galleria. her classes are on every Wed and Fri at 1.00pm

I am not sure how much they charge for trial cos i did not go through a trial. I just enrolled Bree in for a term.. thinking that if she don't like it.. i will just pull her out when term ends.

So far.. she enjoyed all her session so i will continue and let her go all the way to the next stage.

today is our 4th lesson at springleaf shichida. The teacher was late by more than 30min. She dashed into the sch and we stopped her as we had just requested for a make up class during the june holidays. She apologised that she was not feeling well last nite... then i told her to rest and wait for the nxt class... She was very sorry and almost bursting in tears... I was told by my ger's classmates' mums that shichida also very screwed up... i agreed. my sis agreed too. they gave me some times and gave other mums some other timing... this is not fair. when i checked with my ger's kindermusik classmate mum, we could not telly the timing... And they not so accommodating to our request and timing...

During the wait in the class, my ger embarrassed me.... She has always been rough and do not know how to share... She bullied her 2 gers and 1 boy classmates! faintz!
She threw the soft plastic ball to a ger on her face and the mum who looks protective asked me where did my ger throw the body at and calm her frightened daughter by hugging her and bring her out of the room. Another ger's mum began to fend her ger when my ger approached them. My ger attached her last victim, a boy, by being a little violent with the shovel and accidentally hit his botak head with a little white scratch mark. His mum just sayang his head and continue talking with us... i feel bad...

I told hubby i m a sahm and i dont seem to teach my ger well... think i rather go to work... He said then i should teach her well then, be insistent and consistent... quite pressure being a sahm...the wellness of the kid is in my hands...anything the mum is to blame...sigh...

Lenny

u stayed above jurong point? far to get there? I saw on the webby that mini 3x... How much did you pay? Is the class full?

My ger going to start gug coming week. Think she needs more social skill. she is a terrorist at home.

I m still v pei fu you that you can manage bree yourself... i m still thinking how m i going to go to gug at suntec wo my maid following me... tough...i have alot of what ifs...
if i put her on stroller and she refuse to sit half way...?
if it rains?
if the lift and escalator are not working?
if she poo poo outside? I cant manage her alone cos she cant lie and sit still...
too many what if...

some kids at this age still cannot control the strength they use... so we have to constantly remind them to be more gentle... kirs also sometimes can be quite rough... but more so when she is alone.. with other kids, its the other kids who bully her =P but when she tries to touch the other kid's face, i will tell her no... or use her hand to sayang them softly... and just tell her too... hmmm im more worried if she bullies other kids.... im fine with other kids bullying her... LOL!!! she just has to learn to toughen up =P

you just have to teach them no matter sahm or ftwm

Riverie Island,

the condo above Jurong point is Centris.. but i stayed at the one diagonally across Lakeside MRT station.

a One-way Cab fare from my place to Forum is about SGD16.50 inclusive of Satellite booking charges.

My suggestions to your questions:

if i put her on stroller and she refuse to sit half way...?
A: Bree refused the stroller even till now.. she will cry till she can vomit. i just tried this yesterday at Jurong point. i am ok with Bre crying but not ok if she cry till vomit and shaking all over. I normally use my ergo when i am out with her.

Most Moms i knew or i see at the mall.. they just let bb fuss and cried it out in their stroller. This is only good and will not cause psychological or emotional damage to our baby if you know that they are not hungry, diaper is not soiled and they are not unwell. for controlled crying method, don't let bb cry more than 5 mins..if bb continues to cry.. stop and pick bb up to assure and calm her then put her back into stroller again.

I tried this with Bree. she can cry till vomit even before the 5 mins is up.. haiz.. i hope ur bb is not like Bree

if it rains?
normally if u take train.. the walkway to suntec city is covered.. else take a cab.

if u are alone with bb and have a stroller. ask the taxi driver to help you to fold the stroller and pack into the boot and yes.. take out and set it for u when u reach destination

if the lift and escalator are not working?
Its kinda rare for all the escalators in the shopping mall is not working. if there is such a situation.. ask a passerby to help you.

if she poo poo outside? I can't manage her alone cos she cant lie and sit still...
prepare a toy to entertain her while u change diaper for her.. i normally give Bree my Handphone, anything to entertain her that i get hold on.. like brochure or flyers i received when i was out with her.

and i do talk to her when i am changing her as well.. most impt.. must calm down.. if we are jittery and they will sense it then our bb will be all over the place.

before u undress her, get everything ready like wipes, diaper cream, new diaper opened and stretched.. all these to minimise the hassle of struggling with holding her down and fumbling for stuff from your diaper bag. (Organise your diaper bag.. in such a way that without looking into it.. u know where everything is.)

i am using ju-jube diaper bag.. very functional and good for moms bringing bb out alone and do things with one hand.

hope what i suggested help

If u are still not comfortable in going out with her own.. get a friend... who is also a mom with a baby..then go out together... help each other till u get the hang of it..

I am fortunate to have my gf who walk me through this stage.

Reverie.. practice makes perfect. if you are really worried, practice handling your gal yourself when your maid is around (or like Lenny said, with a galfren who is apt at handling her kid). personally, i have been shopping with my boy since he was 5 weeks old cos i go nuts if i don't go out everyday. the first few times was nerve wracking but it also showed me that people are generally very helpful or understanding. i had doorman/taxi uncle handle my pram, fellow mummies in feeding rooms watching over my boy, even strangers carry my pram on escalators haha.

in additional to what Lenny said, have a pram that you can close/open with 1 hand. Not all taxi uncles know how to operate a pram and not wise to let kid loose at a taxi stand. Also pull-ups makes poopoo change easier when you are out.

and yes, thank God for all my GFs who walked me through the initial stage too!

Reverie,

yeah agree with missy - u ftwm also doesn't make any difference to whether u have to teach her how to behave herself. You are a parent after all. Just gotta be consistent, and no matter what u do, don't fall into the trap of being what tracy hogg calls a subjective parent (one who takes everything bb/toddler does very personally). if u are going to be in charge, u gotta be objective
Just be firm and consistent and very patient as at this age now they are going to test our fuses! Not worrying/stressing helps a lot too. Like what Lenny and Don said too - only way is to go out and try things on your own. Go for locations where u know there is easy access for strollers and changing rooms. Make short trips first and then gradually extend.

Some other tips on crying toddler in the stroller:

What works for my boy is when he gets bored and starts fussing, and I know that he's definitely not hungry/thirsty/uncomfortable (usually there is something happening like he wants water/nappy change/too hot or whatever), I just talk to him as I 'm walking like tell him and show him things I am looking at, and what's around. If u make a day out interesting, they will be quite easily distracted
Unless they are tired, which is then quite understandable that they get very stroppy and fussy. IF that's the case then what I do myself is have a bit of a break too - sit down for a drink and take him out onto my lap or something, just to give him a break from the stroller. Even sitting for 15 mins for a bit just breaks the monotony and he stays quiet when I put him back in. I also talk to him and tell him how long more we are going to be out, what else we need to do, and where else we need to go to before going home, and make it sound exciting ;p. If u know what and why your kid is whining then it's a lot easier to manage I think

updates - gino cutter has arrived. will be going to collect frm her later. dont have list with me now. its at home. will contact u all when i get home to arrange collections :

Now with children, we have 3 "Day" to celebrate!

Mother's Day
Sunday, 9 May 2010

Father's Day
Sunday, 20 June 2010

Grandparents' Day
Sunday, 28 November 2010