(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

jtho,

can do what missy candy said and mash/cut up normal food for him, or alternatively bring/buy jarred food from the supermarket like hipp (probably a better idea if you are on the go). am sure the hotel will have a kettle in the room so hot water to make cereals/formula won't be a problem.

p.seed,

my boy's teething problems can last for 2 weeks. there again, recently he doesn't seem to be teething but just less bothered to chew/like chunks of solids in his mouth. if he can't masticate it in 3-4 chews he'll spit it out, unless he's distracted by a book or the tv - ie getting picky too. *_______*

p.seed,

C is getting really picky with food as well. She still takes her porridge cos quite flavourful but she is particular over the consistency. She rejects all cereals now.. sian.. The other day I fried omelette for my hb and myself and porridge for her. She took a bit of the omelette and started pointing at it. I told her that must eat both, cannot just eat egg then put a bit of the omelette on her porridge. She willingly took. hee hee.. But really ma fan now.. saturday went THE LINE for lunch, she din want to eat the eggs there cos overcooked... I really cant wait for all the teeth to come out so that can happily give her everything.

fussy/picky about food..

well, im having the same problem. Andrea is picky with food now. she doesn't want her usual steam rice with dishes but prefer porridge. Every time i feed her rice she will spit it out..and rice all over the place. And im not ready for the mess!

She is also the big boss now..she wants variety of food. different texture and style. Today i made apple soup with mee sua for her..hopefully tonight she will eat the same thing. few days ago i made porridge for lunch and hash brown with hidden veges for dinnner.

And yes, jtho, she wants more flavour in her food..so i had to add a bit of soya sauce.

So as she is growing up, its getting more tough to cook for her.

Wow Victoria
You can cook so many type of dishes for your baby.

for me, until now, still porridge with fish and spinach/califlower and marmite. Nothing new. But on and off,I feed him table food. Maybe I should try cooking rice with soup for him this weekend. But for rice, how to make it very soft for them?

scrumpee
well i have no choice..because my boss wants different texture and different style of food. the other day i made roti babi too. (a penang snack, carrot and potatoes cut into cubes cooked with minced chicken or pork with some soya sauce - and stuff this between two slices of bread and dip into beaten kampung egg and pan fry).

but then im running out of ideas.

I usually steam the rice for andrea. scoop rice and add the usual amount of water needed and add 2 more tablespoon of water and steam till soft. i used a stainless steel bowl..and once the rice is almost done..i get my minced chicken or pork..add a drop or two of soya sauce, some corn flour and 2 teaspoon of water..give it a mix and steam on top of the rice. I usually add root veges into the rice to steam together.

Vic,
Do u add the root veg together with rice and only add meat later? U use rice cooker to cook? My boy also getting more demanding...only wants food that can chew e.g. marcoroni, Ban Mian (I bot the sakura brand from NTUC) , rice n bread. And must get him a bowl & spoon for him to fiddle with...he will usually get his hands and face all dirty cos I will have to give him a little food to fiddle with. Then it will be easy to feed him as he is concentrated on playing.

teddybaby
yes i add the root veg in the rice itself to steam. i steam the meat last so that its more tender and juicy this way. plus add a bit of cornflour into the mince meat before u steam. it makes a lot of difference.

i know this is bad but andrea eats her lunch and dinner while watching her singing show.

Vic, u using a mini rice cooker? Else too won;t it be too little to cook? Unless u also eat the same food as andrea ;) Do u mince the meat urself?

no i dont use mini rice cooker. i steam using the normal pot. i buy the stainless steel 3 legs steamer..put that in the pot..and on top of that i steam my rice and root veges in the stainless steel bowl..and steam the rice..then my mince meat..i put onto another little stainless steel plate and stack on top of the rice.

ya we minced the meat ourselves. i buy the meat and my hb minced them for me ;)

missy, i so hope Jovin will watch cartoon..he only watch ads..i can only cut his fingernails when he is watching advertisement for several times.

jo mummy - waahaha nowadays i dun care when it comes to cutting nails.. il jus tell her im goin to cut.. then jus grab n hold tight... sometimes she will struggle.. but most of the times im quite firm then she will let me cut... lolx... she lurves to pinch pple lor... basket... if not pinch then smack -_-"

vic - wow u mince urself! i buy ready made minced.. hee...

wow missy, jovin nvr let me cut his fingernail no matter how tight i hold his hands..he will scream n run away!

my MIL buy those "yao rou" from wet market and the uncle say better don minced as it will stay some in his mincer which is very wasted. So normally we will put 2small tiny slices in his porridge to cook for taste only..

I am already starting to give her rice with soup.
for dishes, we will give her beancurd, egg or fish, anything that is soft to bite.
She will still take porridge lah but prefer rice now.

yesterday was out shopping with K. and our dinner is slice fish soup with rice. I lazy to cook, so i just brought a spoon out with me and that settle her dinner.

ho ho ho ... sooo funny he run away n scream... wahahahax!

prosper - haha! ive done that once. didnt feel like cooking her dinner... so bought the teochew porridge, steam egg n mince meat frm the economic rice shop... then fed her using those disposable spoon... hurhurhur...

prosper,

I have been doing that quite often.. hahhaa... i bring her spoon out also... but depends on luck cos it depends on how soft the rice is.. if porridge, must be grainy... she is very fussy about her rice and porridge. So far i love jap restaurant... chawanmushi, fried tofu and rice.. hee hee..

yesterday was the first time i brought her out her shopping alone in orchard. Usually i bring her out only a while but yesterday was almost quite a few hours shopping. luckily she can walk a bit, if not she will feel so bored sitting in stroller for hours..

prosper,

yah... now i only headache when we are at home... cos i got to cook something suitable for her.. but we dont like to eat her type of stuff... u know like tanghoon prawns got lots of chilli in it... how to give her? So bo pian, at home i steam 1 egg with spinach and minced pork for her to go with rice while we continue with our chilli stuff... hahahaha

Heee me also guilty mom of feeding her outside food on wkends!

Like asura, one of the best places is jap restaurant cause both brother n sister can take the rice and chawanmushi and miso soup. Else it will be crystal jade kitchen Haha.

i tried a few attempts cooking her dinner and never pass before.
first time, i cook steam egg and turned green and hard.
cook rice become porridge.
end up put pork floss in the rice for her to eat and settle her dinner.
THis is called bad mummy

Now then I know so many of you have been feeding your little ones outside food as proper meals. Maybe I should start doing that so that I don't have to carry the food warmer with porridge every time I go out with Eames, so heavy and still has to bring hot water and milk powder some more. ok...I shall try that out this Sat, treat Eames to a Japanese dinner.

prosper - u didnt add enough water to ur steamed egg is it ? lolx. sounds like it. no la is not bad mummy la. aiyo. jus need to brush up a bit on cooking. =P

wow all give jap food. i no money. go kopitiam. lolx!!! =P

prosper

you can try this..once u cracked the egg into a bowl..use the egg shell and scoop water into the beaten egg. the ratio is 1 egg to add 2 eggs water. so u use the egg shell (it would be half already), one side of the egg shell scoop twice.

the end result..u will get like the japanese chawan mushi type of steam egg texture.

i hope it helps.

missycandy,

I go to suki house at kbox plaza in AMK... very cheap jap.. only $1.19 per plate..hahhaa... so chawanmushi at $1.19... good!!!
I very bad, i give her some sushi rice too cos i dont want to order jap rice set. But i find the sushi rice there not very sour... so should be ok bah.. and i would give her the rice of cooked meat sushi, in case the raw stuff causes contamination.

prosper,

Yah... i think u never add enough water. The water proportion is as what victoria mentioend. If u want chawanmushi type, steam on medium fire then there would be no bubbles.

Cindy, Scrumpee and Asura,

I also bring give Jovin chawanmushi and sushi rice if we dine at jap restn. I always order the "kids meal" althou its always eaten by the parents..wuahahha..bad customer! i also give him the fried/baked salmon, fried tofu but not the skin, and their teriyaki chic without sauce..

I also found it troublesome to bring his porridge out + all the milk powder & hot water..daddy always complaint its so heavy & bulky! furthermore before going out need to prepare the porridge, which takes abt 2hrs (cut vege & cook in slow cooker)

I also dunno how to steam egg at home..hehe..mine is not too hard..but too watery..wuahahha..

A. Fireangel, thanks for your food suggestion. Will try to blend the meat well for my girls.

Jo's mummy, me too! i always order chawan mushi and rice for my girls and they love it very much.

thank you mummies for your suggestion...

yesterday, i brought him to the yu guo for tui na, after that we went for dinner nearby... ordered some dishes and rice, so just gave him some steam fish with rice, he loves it!

fireangel, ok, will stock up some jar food from SG (just in case cannot get something within the 1st 3 days), and just heat up for him to eat when in France... anyway, he loves the Heinz Creamy Pasta and Tuna Mornay, and Creamy Pasta Bolognaise. he is a pasta baby... hehehe

jo
my boi oso will nvr let me cut his nails... norm i've to wait till he sleep then can cut...

prosper, srumpee
so far i still prepare his porridge even when we go out... i did gave him some food that we eat, sometimes he likes, sometimes he don't... tink i'll stick cook his porridge till he's able to eat outside food well..

sun, my boy very light sleeper, so i don wan to disturb him when he is sleeping..i rather let him sleep thru..so i wont cut his nails when he is sleeping..

jtho, may i know how they do the tui na for baby? is it apply oil all over the body? i would like to try but im very scared he will scream n run away..waste my $$ then..heheh..

Jo & Pigpig,
The Tui Na is like message but they know whereto message for baby as to improve their eating and also good when they fall sick with fever. YU GUO is popular for infant and toddle to go, they do have adult doctor too, the baby and kids is at the basement level.
I bring my both my kiddos when their appetite drop not eating well.

Jasmine,

thanks for the useful info...think bb Jo's appetite is good enuf (TOUCHWOOD)..so not really necessary...hahah

Its abt $30 plus with consultation, medicine exclude but normally its cheap for the medicine. Before the message they have to see the Yi Shi. If kids dont take their chinese medicine they will give the tummy pad which is the powder medicine for them to paste on tummy instead of drinking the smelly medicine which I don't even dare to take kekeke...

during my first visit, i paid $22 for consultation and tui na, $16 for medication.

during my second visit, i paid $22 for consultation and tui na.

they don't use oil, they just use powder during the massage, and it only takes around 15 - 20 mins... of course, babies will be more difficult to make them stay still to do the massage, but the physicians are very good, cos they standby a lot of books and toys to distract the babies.

yes, this tui na is good for babies having cough as well as lots of phlegm.. also good for increasing appetite... and after tui na, normally babies can sleep better... just like us adults, can sleep well after massage or foot reflexology.

Gd evening to all

hope alls fine

gng to rain soon I believe .. Tc everyone while otw home..

Jus to share, So happy Tristan fifth tooth is out finally after so long.

Jtho
oh I see!! So more like to improve on appetite
and other medical conditions. Where's tat place? Mayb
can bring her down one day when needed .
Thanks for sharing gal!

Strawberry & Blurjen,

Is Moral Child Development Centre. Last time they've 2hrs, 1/2day & full day playgroup cum childcare. But now, no more 2hrs & 1/2 day playgroup. So, I've put him on waiting list on full day playgroup cum childcare . . . I like their daily schedule.

Price for full day :
Monthly Fee : S$ 500
Working Mother : S$ 250 (subsidy $300)
Non-Working : S$ 400 (subsidy $150)
Uniform : S$ 16 / set
Insurance : S$ 3
Mattress : S$ 30 (no sharing)
Mattress Cover : S$ 10 / set

I think is considered reasonable price, esp got subsidy :p

Jo,
Last weekend let Ryker try the vegie pasta... he dun know how to eat, throw out...i've to cut in small pieces for him... need to let him try few times

Yu guo is near kembangan mrt.

Prosper,
did u prepare the party bags during the birthday bash? Jovan loves the bag of biscuits in it. Wats the name Of the biscuits n where to get? Is it mamalove?

Pigpig & Piggysg

Tui Na is not only for appetite n general medical conditions, it's also for general health and increase immunity.

It's stated in their pamphlet that "Apply physiotherapy to the child monthly will make him/her strong and active, increase immunity against diseases, prevent common cold, and increase appetite."

The address is:
8-B Jalan Masjid
#01-04 Kingston Terrace
Singapore 418929