(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Jo, is it a normal pasta or special pasta meant for bb ? Everytime give him porridge & cereal also sian.... this weekend must try using your menu

missy, i imitate b4 ha ha she ignore me. if i use cup n straw, she will like to use her hand to touch the milk. ur girl is good leh can drink milk from straw so can save the $ to buy teat.

piggy, i dun think it will hurt the gum. the way she brush is like eating lollipop! haha

toothbrushing
havent started on brushing yet...which toothbrush is good?

milk from cup/straw
think Andrique drinks ONLY water from straw. If he sucks anything other than water from straw, he'll spits it out..Cup - havent started on cup yet..will try soon.

weaning nite feed
Andrique self wean himself off nite feed when he's 9mths. Before that, Daddy feeds him 80-120ml at 2-3am (coz he thinks his son is hungry *rolls eyes*) I dun feed him nite feed.. I just rock him to sleep if he wakes up in the nite. Latest feed is ard 9.30pm. Next feed at 8-9am in the morning.

<font size="+1">So hot n humid today... </font>

piggy, remember to add carrot and corn so that the soup will be very sweet and tasty oh...hehe..
if you don wan to use pasta can replace with mee sua..but must rinse the mee sua at least 2times so tat it wont be so salty..

Mine also using Pigeon toothbrush without toothpaste. But I'm still unable to make her open mouth to let me brush her teeth. And she like to hold the brush herself and bite it like teething toy. Haiz... so sometimes didn't bother to brush her teeth.

Idlecat, at 1st my boy also close his mouth very tight when i wan to brush his teeth but then I try to show him how i use the toothbrush to brush my teeth, then only he open his mouth to let me brush..but must repeat many times..

i will tell him "b, u see mummy brush teeth" then i open my mouth wide and brush while saying "aaaaahhh", then he will follow...

mayb u can try this tonight oh..

blurjen - eh no no i nvr try milk in cup for her yet.. lolx.. only water.. hurhur.. maybe il try with fresh milk ovr the wkend...

jo - i also let her play with the brush.. she wont let me brush her teeth... but agree if they see u do it.. they will also imitate... jus like bathing... i show her wash tummy n arms n legs.. she also follow... very cute... lolx... that time saw papa washing his arms.. she also follow... LOL

aiyer... earlier was super hot n humid.. nw raining leh... shucks.. past few days like that... late morning n afternoon very very hot!!! then knock off work it rains -_-"

jo, missy: ha ha i also show her but she just keep on laughing at me lor

btw anyone sending ur bb to childcare when they turn 18mths? I tot of sending my bb next yr jan but dunno whether she can adapt anot n it is so long hour so dunno she can take it anot. hai.... i got so much worries.....

blurjen, so funny ur gal..heheh..laugh at u..she tot funny..

childcare: i will only send bb Jo to cc when i deliver my #2, now still waiting to get preggie..

missy, they very copycat..they like to follow/imitate wat we doing..heheh..yes agree..very cute when we see wat they doing..

jo, i also waiting to get preggie but v hard to aim for boy cos i hope to have a bb boy this time.
So now i trying to source n look around for good childcare around my house ha ha KS mother.

teddybaby
I give rice to bb since 11 months.. you cook rice in rice cooker just as usual and when the cooker make a click sound (a sign that it's done cooking), you take small portion for baby and put in a bowl, pour a little bit of hot water and put the bowl back to the rice cooker. the rice on the bowl will be softer.
for the meat and vege..i dont steam anymore..my boy dont like porridge and steamed meat. I fry them with onion and butter. then eat it with rice.

minnie
when my boy got ulcers (i think he accidentaly scratched his lip/gum with his nail, i saw it bleeding), the next day he refused to eat anything..even his fave biscuit and puffs..
maybe u can check if there's ulcers..but it will last around 3 days only..after that back to normal..more than 3 days..my guess is teething...

northvirgo
same here..my boyd used to hate meat, beef..will cry n spit it out.. i try to fry now with onion...first week trying this, he still cry cry..but second wk he suddenly like it..

jo's mummy, ya... very difficult for ppl to go home eventhough got umbrella. And for parents who gotta fetch their little ones home. Gonna be super unconvenient for them..

Missycandy
I'm waiting for u loh btw pizzahut is no longer operating at UNITED SQ

when when wan meet me 12-1pm haha

Tristan love brushing his teeth ESP after once he saw me brushing mine but I nv let him brush everyday. Hmm is it a must to use tooth paste?

i read it somewhere that although toothpaste is edible, dentists advise that it still not safe to be swallowed everyday. better clean it without toothpaste..but sometimes i still give toothpaste lah..i still think that the toothpaste can protect the teeth..

queenie - meet u tmr ai mai? lolx! i go find u. hee hee.

blurjen - ya u nt KS.. dont worrie.. i already registered for Kirs for plygrp le... lolx!!! i registered last yr for this yr... supposed to start in Sept... but now reconsidering... see how when nearer to the date... might start next yr instead... hee hee

jo, i'll try to demo brushing teeth more often.

Playgroup - i shall look for those 2-3 hour daily nearby for her at 18mth to learn and socialize with her peer. No intend to send CC as grandma will be bored lah... HaHa.. Now just enrol her weekend kindermusik which she seem to enjoy.

I have found a neighbourhood childcare. Will bring her to childcare when she turns 18 mths. Really looking forward to it so that i can stay with her everyday.

Cos currenttly, she is taken care by maid at my mum house during weekday. Only got to her see alternative and weekends...

So haha, put her in childcare, i can bring her to and fro.. BUt i concern.. Meaning i got to rush home from work to cook for her dinner??

JO mummy,

Ask you, if the stamp you paste on the parcel was not the right anount, will the postman return the parcel back to your address?

Blurjen,
Ah yah... u r not the KS lah... I think I'm the one. Last Dec. already apply 18mth playgroup near my mum pl for this Sept... but... unfortunately fully book, thus on waiting list till next Jan.10
As they only take upto max 12 bb. Wat to do have to wait lor, as I like their daily schedules, small group 1:3 &amp; near my mum pl

Prosper, the postman will not return you, he will still deliver to the recipient but the recipient will need to pay the penalty and balance. Unless the recipient reject to received and pay, then only they will send it to u. but u better check with singpost..hehe..

piggy, no problem..we like to share share here...

Ivy,
oopps sorry thanks for posting. Hehehe
not 1pm lah. 12noon or 12.15pm can? Next Fri

Yah Yah Springleaf tower MacD or anywhere near Tanjong Pagar MRT.

(1) Ivy
(2) Alfafa77
(3)
(4)

sorry I almost always leave work on the dot at 6pm so I have to be very efficient during the day, can't do 2hr lunches. :p

Hi Piggysg,

May i know what is the name of the 18 mths playgroup that you are planning to enrol your child?
ratio 1:3 sounds good.
I know some can take up to 8students..
How do they charge?

piggy, haha after hear u said i think i need to be more ks liao ha ha better go n view the playgroup near my mil hse next wk.

mummies, will u put ur bb in ur mil hse n go playgroup or put ur bb in CC?

Just some update to share

Sticky Tot - Have to explain to him why mummy have to away for a while. He seem to understand when I ask him to play in the playpen while mummy preparing porridge for him. But sometime he will super sticky and cry immediately whe he know u have the intention to put him down.

Sleeping - Am very happy with the progress from innitially he sleep in sarong to have to pat him to sleep in arm to now he can just fall asleep by himself in the cot. Good boy and keep it up.

Food - He seem to lost interest in porridge or get distracted easily. The porridge will stay in his mouth for a while before he swallow it. He dun want to chew too. Offer him a small chunk of carrot, he swallow it and get a bit of choke. Any suggestion to make him chew?

Breakfast - He has been eating brown rice cereal for bfast but recently he can't finish the usual portion. Am thinking of changing his bfast. Mummies, wht you feed ur little one bfast?

Milk intake - His milk intake is very low. Only 120ml/150ml each time. 4 feed per day. PD said is ok.

Sharlene,

Any reason why he doesn't wanna chew? Like another mummy mentioned, possibly a sore mouth with an ulcer? Teething? Sore throat? IF he's ok and is just deciding to play up a bit, perhaps get him interested in chewing again by giving him something easy to bite/dissolve in mouth like a biscuit or puff or bread or something?

My boy doesn't take a heavy breakfast, as he has a milk feed terribly early in the morning. I give him a big pot of yoghurt (adult size portion), and a whole fruit - blended if it's too crunchy for him to manage. These few days he's been taking two pots of yoghurt instead of one, or one pot of yoghurt and a chunk of cheese. All depends on his mood liao. sigh.

Ivy &amp; Hazel,
Where both of U working at? I work at Tanjong pagar, my office is at CPF building area. I cam in too late miss your post. Maybe we meet for lunch next time?

hi all, long time no chat le..

elixir for the first time fell sick on monday night, had fever of 38.4 deg...scare the wits out of me n i brought him to a baby clinic...now fever subsided but kana cough n lotsa phlegm...how do i get rid of it ne?? so heartpain to c him suffering...

worst still, last night was such a hot n humid night n my aircon broke down n had the technician to come n see tdy...capacitor spoil n had to spend 160 for the replacement...not a good week for me this week...

Pinkdemoness
I rem that you are a divorcee right.. jia you. hope ur bb get well soon... it is tough being a mum and you made a good decision to be one.

Oh dear mummies, just to share, i m on chiropractic adjustment. I should be bring bb for a review when i got time. I have been with it for almost 4 months. My neck curvature is back to original. Spine yet to be x ray.

hey pinkdemoness,

elixir has done really well not to have fallen ill all this time until now! so understandably it's pretty stressful for u to have to deal with it for the first time. just monitor him and see how he goes. if he's coughing up a lot of phlegm, it's always better that it's out than remains in his airway/chest and makes him worse. there are medications to help break down phlegm that your dr can prescribe but i am not sure if it's indicated for children of our LOs' age. What will help is plenty of fluid to help thin down the phlegm so it won't be as bad. hope he gets better soon!

Sharlene,

I have been giving my boy cereal + fruits + yogurt + sometimes bread and/or scrambled egg + flaxseed. Recently, i gave him french toast. So far, no rejection from him. He loves bread, egg and yogurt. I just cut the omelette or french toast into bit size and put on the tray and he self feed. Just today, i gave him cereal + mango + kiwi + yogurt + bread..basically I just pick what fruit is available in the tray..Happened to find mango so decided to give him. I did not try the 4 day waiting period for the mango.

A Fireangel, you give cheese for breakfast? What is the portion of the cheese? How often do you include cheese in your LO's diet? I have been adding cheese into my son's porridge recently and not sure if its ok to give cheese so often.

Agnes Chew,

i only started giving it since moving countries, as I do like my swiss cheeses. They do these cubes for kids that are 3x3x1.5cm, so he gets offered that if he doesn't seem to be in the mood for another pot of yoghurt. Cheese is pretty high in calcium like all dairy products, just that I haven't yet found one that doesn't have a hint of salt in it... but I offer it to him as a matter of widening his palate so to speak ;p

Pink
my bb had e same problem as elixir few weeks back,
and it's also her ist time getting sick, fever went up and down
for few days so juz give med even though she seems ok in e day time. As for cough, it ll act up usually at nite, kanna
2 nites she cough til e milk also throw out. So if u Hear him
cough, faster let him sit up and always prepare a small tub
and towel in case he throw up.

Hope he recovers soon and u too take care

Sharlene
my bb also seldom chew her food, when we feed her porridge she ll juz swallow it like drinking water. But for biscuit she ll chew very slowly like enjoying it
humm could it be they are sick of e certain food and juz swallow la!!! Haha

My ger started to behave like squirrel...! She opens her mouth and din chew her food and keep them in her mouth... This has been going on for abt 2 weeks...sigh

sorry mummies for interrupt.

i m looking for Pooh party banner, etc.

prefer preloved for once...but still in gd condition

Pls PM me if you have any to sell..thanks.

hi all, just wanted to check with mums who have had feeding problems with their bubs, how long do their phases last for? Mine had been great foodwise til the last 2 weeks or so. Rejecting her normal dinners n wants stage 1 purees from ella's kitchen only. I'm thinking it could be teething? Just being fussy? Or disliking certain tastes? No ulcers.

P.seed
Oli's been quite selective in the food recently also. DH said that probably he starts to want more taste in his food. DH complained that the porridge I cooked for his son is too bland. True enough, when I added a bit of soya sauce in his porridge when I cooked his next meal, he finished a big bowl of it... Our kiddos are growing up!

I also have another problem... What am I going to feed Oli when we go back to France next month? During the first week, we will be in the south of France, not at home, staying in a hotel... I can't possibly cook, right? Wonder if the hotel serves baby food :p

jtho - wad do u put in his porridge? kirs porridge has taste... or maybe becos i put the si shen powder... and once every 3 days i put cordyceps powder... hurhurhur... meat is pork or beef... then sometimes i will add the dried scallops... veggies wld be spinach or carrots or brocoli or whatever i feel like buying n cooking... sometimes also add tofu or egg...

maybe cn try adding marmite or bovril...

i hope kirs doesnt reach the stage where she rejects her food...
pseed - do u give rice? noodles?