(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

i need help.... haiii.... how to adjust bb's sleeping time? currently she sleeps during the day and wide awake at night.... its killing us slowly... haiii... during day times.. i put her outside.. where there is light... bright natural light... plus on tv/music... then play with her.. but she will sleep... haiii... then at night, on the air con, in the room, dim light only when feeding & changing diapers... if not all lights off! but she refuses to sleep leh... she will make noise and cry.. then i leave her be.. then she will scream -_-" shes awake usually frm 11pm til 4/6am... then she will sleep til ard 8am... then feed her.. after feeding burp... and bathe her... then she will sleep... on n off wake up for her feeds... then sleep... -_-" its like totally reversed!!! i need to change it now! am going back to work 2nd week of june and i cnt afford to have her waking up/staying awake at such erratic hours... i wont be able to work properly!

advise pleaseeee!!!

ive added mummy bean & pigpig =P

swimming diapers - alfafa i'm keen! let me knw if can get it. thanks!

mummy bean :

no problems. bb doesn't actually suck out the med fr the syringe - think no matter how powerful bb suction is also cannot acheive that *lol* u have to slowly squirt it in so that it seems to him that he is sucking something in

Wonder how come there is bitter paracetamol syrup. One would have thot that drug companies would have a bit more common sense in making meds for bbs/kiddies....

re:swim diapers.
I do have some (L size huggies brand) to sell since my gar only used once/twice a mth but with my no#2 ard, so long never go swimming. do pm me if interested.

<font color="119911">misscandy</font>,
my boy only readjusted his slp time when he is 2mth+ only. so now, my mum will off all the lights and sound (on tv with lower vol) to make him slp at 8pm. then he only woke up at 12-1am for feed if he slp at 7pm+. if not, he wil only woke up at 2am-4am+ for feed. his feeding for night range fr 3-7hrly. but during day time, he feed 2-3hrly.

dun let bb slp much during daytime.

<font color="119911">Jo</font>,
wow, yr boy gd drinker wor..150ml...

pigpig aka oxgal,

My boy drinks 130 ml every 3 hrs.. ya.. he is a big drinker.. he is also big, oredi 3.8kg from birth. Of course, some mummies in this thread had bigger ones. Wonder how's their bb drinking amt like?

misscandy,

my CL taught me a trick to wake my boy up in the day. U can try wetting cotton wool and wipe her eyes. She may not like it and fuss a bit but it worked on mine. He will wake up and look around, then we can "entertain" him so tt he wont fall back to slp. If it dun work, jus hv to tahan and pray yr bb knows her day n night soon...

tusky, i gave my boy 100ml as usual.. but after that, I will latch him.. so it's up to him how much additional he wants to drink before he sleeps.. i reckon he at least suckle another 30-50ml before he doze off. btw, i lie him sideways to latch.. so i might doze off first before he does, but usually not the case.. once he slept, i will place him in his bed which is next to us..

jasmine, at least she pick up fast on the household chores part.. i hope my maid can pick up fast too..

Jo - yes i have been praying n praying.. hahahaa!! it doesnt work.. i also tried... use wet cotton and wipe her eyes... she jus squirm and go back to sleep -_-" if force her to stay awake she will cry and pout... grrrrrr....

afcai - shes turning 2 mths soon.. i hope she does tell the diff soon... if not i dunno how im goin to be able to work... already hubby very ke lian... haiii...

she is going to be a drama queen when she grows up man...

pigpig and missycandy, thanks for adding me. Approved your requests already. =)

missycandy,
understand how u feel. actually initially my boy also fuss a little when I trained him to sleep at night and he would wake up like 2 am and kept playing. In the end, I would always finish his feeds and place him in his bed even though he tried to grab my attention by coo-ing and etc I would ignore and after sometime he would get tire and go back to sleep. Give ur bb sometime, think she is trying to get herself adjusted too. Jia you =)

Afireangel,
ha..ya know what u mean we still need to do assisted feeding even though he is sucking the syringe. Anyway when I was a little girl I use to hate syrups too cos some drug company really makes some medicated syrups taste so powdery and yucky. I agree with u they should have some common sense before manufacturing the drug.

Hey ladies...

Gathering at my place anytime ya... except tuesday n thursday... What abt next week?

Some mummies hv my mobile... tinkle me when u have a date... if not email me at [email protected] as i seldom log in to catch up the post so dunno what is happening out there... ;p

Kris
eh, I also dunno how to tell is infection just that the wound hurt very much so I went to see doc.

Quite a no. of mummies staying in SK. I'm staying in Punggol. If you all wanna meet at CP do count me in. I can also open up my house for simple gathering

Alfafa
When is the baby fair ending? I want to get a playgym for bb to play with.

Ann
My girl just 6wks also drinking 90ml.

bluebell - the fair ovr le... maybe u cn try metro fair i think they sell.. i think! but i dunno when they end. u cn google it? hee

mummy bean - wa ur boy likes to be in the stroller ah? my kirsten refuses leh.. im tryin to train her but pushing her ard the house day time.. but she wil squirm n cry.. -_-"

gathering - shall we set it on Wednesday 13th May ? or you all prefer friday 15th May? i'm fine with both....

Attendees for gathering @ Sassybaby's Srgn Gdns
Wednesday 13th May or Friday 15th May

1. missycandy &amp; kirsten (both dates yes)

missycandy:

ya my boy loves being strolled about... and he always falls asleep when in stroller...u can try pushing ur girl downstairs...and facing u...maybe this helps... my boy also will fuss when I stopped strolling him...ha...so I will jus rock him with the stroller if I am out in restaurant dining...

alfafa,
Re: DIY Nursing Cover
The problem is, i've returned all my sewing machine skills to Home Ec teacher liao, i don even know how to use a sewing machine! But i bought the materials tdy. see if i can lay my hands on a machine..see how. If not, maybe i'll go to those sewing shops.

Anyone knows if the baby fair sells discounted nursing cover???

I stay in Sengkang too!

I'm posting on behalf of my friend who is a beautician.
She does services such as pre and post natal massage, confinement massage, slimming etc.
You can call her direct at 91270522, Michelle for any queries.

<font color="119911">hws the gatherin at vivo 2dae? muz b great wif the bbies ard.

accompanied my #1 in playgrp for 1/2 day, she seems ok but dun let me leave, dunno hw long will she takes to adapt.

bluebell,
the hurting part is not my wound but the muscle above my wound, hb say it might b inside healing, so i juz leave it.

im fine wif either meetin at cp or ur plc, can ask my hb drop me off.

misscandy,
i will prefer 15 may coz bb gg for jab on 12 may, dunno if can go out the next day another.</font>

I am actually from the Apr mom's thread but have been following your thread for a while. The information and advice given and shared by other mommies in this thread have been invaluable. Seems like most mommies are confident of bringing bb out for gatherings. I am finishing my confinement on thursday and cringe at the thought of taking my bb out. Am so afraid that I won't be able to cope. Kudos to mommies who are so comfortable taking their babies jalan jalan!!

Pei:

don't worry... I had the same worry as you too initially. I started bringing baby out to near places like shopping mall around my place. U can train yourself doing so and you realise it is actually quite fun going out with your little one.

hi mummies how is everyone...didn't come in for a long long time liao

happy to know that i will be an aunty soon..my SIL sat on my bed with my bb and then she got preg.
so my bb and hers will be in the cow year

mummybean,

My first outing will be this fri, don't know where to go yet!! Quite excited but a bit of trepidation also :p Hopefully all will go well!!!

2. Kris &amp; baby (15th May)

pei - good luck!!! hee hee.. its not that bad really... so far.. ive been lucky... baby does sleep thru.. wakes up for feed... then il change her and put her back to sleep...

mummybean - yalo.. i push ard the house.. when i stop moving she starts to fuss... tsk tsk...

3. Seabreeze &amp; baby (both dates)

pei - i try not to be out too long... if possible i get out of the hse after feeding and changing her... then if possible by 2-3hrs get home... hee... but i always bring along my milk feeds, diapers and spare clothes... =)

Missycandy, sayang. I am sure bb kirsten will know her time soon. Trishelle also just recently got better nia. And she is coming 9wks! Hah. update us tonight see how she does to your parents. Heh. So I very envious when bb younger than her can zzz through man... But I think for now, as long as she zzz at night, I must thank god liao. Now I hope she wakes up less for feed. Haha.

Mommies bfing:
Don't know if its true but I find that drinking milk before I sleep somehow or maybe makes my milk thicker n fuller? Such that if I feed her after drinking milk for last feed, can last 4 to 5 hrs.. Might be worth a try.

Gathering:
Sigh I am afraid won't be able to join cause of the swine flu. Hubby is getting paranoid man... Say dangerous to take taxi blah blah. Will see if I can persuade him later on. Hope till then no case in singapore!

Hi meebb/wintertime...

saw another pd today...Doc Teoh frm Mount E...

solved e puzzle to my bb's refusal to latch or squirm when feeding him w fm...
***he is tongue tied!!! he used a pair of scissors n snip a little bit under his tongue...how u noe ur bb has? when he cries, see if his tongue is pulled down...naturally, it should roll out but when e muscle pulls it down, his tongue cant grip ur nipple or teat...

we kena blurred by our 1st pd...not offended but wonder how come he can overlook this fact...this 2nd pd encouraged me to go back to tbf n avoid fm if possible due to wind/not so good...unless bo-bian...he oso gives us Friso soy...he oso showed me how to mke bb latch on ur breast properly w/o tiring urself...

1 side - 10-12 min x 2 = 30 min or so...avoid prolonged feeding...or u can go by dd/ss. if bb has enuf, he shld loosen his grip on ur nipple...

if ur ms is starting to drop cos of mixed feeding...jus relax/ drink lots of fluid...it will come back again...

signz...seems like i hav to unlearn n relearn everything frm scratch...

but, it sounds so much simpler n easier...

e outing @ sassybb/ sgn gdn...im keen! date: preferred 15 may...fri

details: tuskywoollie/ abel bb (may come on my own if my mil/hb can take care of him for me...as swine flu still on orange alert)

thks ladies...itz a blessing to b in this thread as e support here is tremendous!

pups I find Mustela Physiobebe no rinse cleansing fluid really good for removing sunblock, even the waterproof ones. Er, have to confess I like Mustela products. Was given a swhole set as baby gift so tried everything and they work for me.
Nice to see you today!

By the way, Daphne is really queen of gadgets! Thanks for the stroller hooks. I just put them on my stroller. Seems great and matches colourwise too hehe

Starflower, when you want to take your baby to swim, let me know, I will join you, then can go to Vivo after for B&amp;J! I'm ordering Goon disposable swim diapers for my friend, will pass some to you if you want to try.

4. Cindy &amp; trishelle (KIV) =P
5. tuskywoolie &amp; abel (KIV)

grace chng if you want Beco, that will make 3 mummies who want to buy. Then can get the offer price plus free delivery plus free demo/fitting. PM me if you decide on it. We're getting from the Singapore distributor - www.cozybabies.com.sg

candace, add me in : Kris Chew &amp; Kayla (15th May)
i brought her out wif hubby on fri, sat and sun. so far so good. she can remain seated in the infant car seat and stroller, only time she kicked up a fuss was when hungry... so i must make sure she is full before stepping out of the house.. excited!! hope my gal can be guai guai on that day, if not her mummy sure malu....

4. Cindy &amp; trishelle (KIV) =P
5. tuskywoolie &amp; abel (KIV)
6. Kris Chew &amp; Kayla (15th May)

Gathering @ Sassybaby's Serangoon Gardens
Friday 15th May. Timing : TBC

confirmed attendees -

1. missycandy &amp; kirsten
2. Kris &amp; baby
3. Seabreeze &amp; baby
4. keron&amp;jeris &amp; Kayla

TBC attendees -

1. Cindy &amp; trishelle
2. tuskywoolie &amp; abel

RE: Fever suppositories
From my experience with my #1, fever suppositories are to be used only for high fever of 39.2degC and above. for mild fever of less than 38.5, use only paracetamol. 38.5 and above use nurofen, but think too young can't take. Mummybean, paracetamol for after-immunisation fever should work. Usually would subside soon.

a question ah, I am from the apr thread. But can join yr upcoming mar thread meeting? The one at sassybaby's place?? Am pretty bored staying at home lor...

Gathering @ Sassybaby's Serangoon Gardens
Date: Friday 15th May
Timing : 1230pm - 430pm
Food: Shall we cater again? hee hee hee. Shall order from another company. I think this time round will have more mummies attending compared to the last one... =D

confirmed attendees -

1. missycandy &amp; kirsten
2. Kris &amp; baby
3. Seabreeze &amp; baby
4. keron&amp;jeris &amp; Kayla
5. Kome &amp; Anver
6. Pei &amp; Mikaela

TBC attendees -

1. Cindy &amp; trishelle
2. tuskywoolie &amp; abel

ps - pls pm me ur contact number

pei - noted do pm me ur number. =D

kome - yeh and we get to see anver! hee... i have ur number so dont need to pm me.. hee

Missycandy
Think need to trouble you to send the SMS to remind me. Coz I might not be able to log in often to read the post.

Hi mummies, been missing here for sometime. Down with mastitis last week. Then now my menses is back though i tbf and only week 6. Went to gynae today to check cos the menses pattern diff from pre pregnancy days. Sigh thought i can go pad less for a few more months..

kome - no problem! once everything confirmed il sms u. it shld be confirmed la. ive smsed sassy.. she says anything is fine jus let her knw.. then judging from the response i think most prefer friday.. so will fix it on friday... =)