(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

from last night onwards I went on strike!

Strike from pumping and sterilising milk. hahahahah

So since last night I have been latching her instead. Still have 4 bottles of 100ml in the chiller so will try to use those up over the course of the next two days.

Got inspired by the mommy whom I met, the one who sold me her BN Pupsik cos she has too many. She direct latched her bb for 4 months straight. Said they get more efficient over time and can last her 2 to 3 hours each time.

For me, pumping milk 4 times a day each time takes up to 1 hr is no joke. My flow is very bad after the 1st 15min due to blocked ducts. Might as well latch.

So grace babe, I'm joining you. heheheeeee

so happy that I didn't touch my pump and steriliser for 12 hours liao. whooooooopeeeee

Re: weight loss
I can't fit into my pre-preg jeans and bottoms after 3yrs!!! so mummies who are dying to fit into their jeans, dun fret. Think of me and u would feel better! I dun even think of fitting into my old clothes now after thinnking of it for 3yrs since the birth of my elder. I just resigned to fate and buy bigger-sized bottoms. Used to be a XS, or size 0 then become M or size 4 after #1. Now dunno...dun dare to weigh. the last weightout at gynae during week 1 checkup was that I was back to my 2nd pre-preg wt. But hor still far from my 1st pre-preg wt. Before #1, I was 43kg, then shot to 50kg after stopped bf. Since then it stayed that way. Diao....

re: weight
2 more stubborn kilos to go. Think the last 2-3 are the worse. Actually I don't mind slowly losing the last 2 kgs, the problem is that, I think the excess weight is all concentrated on my belly and upper thighs. damn gross. Like a skinny person with a big belly, so ugly!

Re: CDA account
I went with Standchart cos they were supposed to be running this CDA standchart promotion whereby they give you 20% rebate off your card bills, up to a max of $200, over a course of 3 mths. But up till now haven't rec the stupid card leh

tuskywollie, I think the CDA acc only applicable to OCBC and StanChart. for the cash portion of the bb bonus, I think can be any bank bah. My elder has it with UOB junior savers. last time first child no CDA.

fairy,

you are a petite mama like me.
CDA account is very useful to have on standby. I only topped up with $500 so far, good enough for the occasional medical bills.

I can finally fit into my bottoms liao but damn difficult to zip. My waist line is still 3 inches more than before *sob sob*

re: breast therapy

I bought the cheapo $9 donut thingy from BP. Received it yesterday bur haven't tried yet. Will try and let you ladies know how I like it.

alfafa, *applause* u are doing great! 2-3kg is nothing, u would soon be back to your old wt! continue bf and handling bb alone is the best slimming mtd.

vernice,
I'm also wondering if I have infection. Cos two weeks ago (I'm now 7weeks plus post dleivery) I started spotting again .. drown discharge. Problem is it was v smelly. So upset and embarrassed by it. Now the smell is not so bad but there is still a bit of a smell.

moomooland
you bought the gerbert therapy pads? effective? good ms? soothe ur breasts / nipples? where u bought it from...

i wt 40kg bef preg, just bef delivery abt 53kg, now 46kg. i din do body massage. tummy slimming down quite alot in 1 month time. just alot of orange peels / creases.

fairy,
yah man. I think it's the handling baby alone part. Seriously. Hardly have time to sit down and eat breakfast and lunch. Going out for meals also always get interrupted by her wanting to nurse during the first month. Even after that when I switched to bottle feed. I try to eat a good dinner to make up for the lack of proper meals during breakfast and lunch. Day time I just keep drinking milo, horlicks etc to get more nutrients.

Re: Gerber breastpad
forgot who ask me before, I tried out yday again and i think the heat retention is ok, lasted for 15min in air-con room of 25deg. I used it for the first 2-3mins for compression, after which it was left on the table. Dunno if that causes it to lose heat faster or not, but air not a very gd heat transfer medium right?

my bb started having alot of rashes on her cheeks. think she zzz alot on her sides. so worried... hope they go off soon.

i am worried that i can get rid of my excess wt and creases... most of my clothings are tight fitting top and bottoms... sigh... hope i can wear them soon. we can exercise much too right as it will affect our ms....?

reverie,
another petite mama.
I went from 39.5kg to 54kg. I have very light bones lah, like my mom. Now 42kg. Need to lose 2 more. The last .5kg to account for my BM lah.

I'm sure you would be back to usual soon. Natural lightweights will usually lose the excess quite fast. Me also, last time no matter how much junk food I ate still always the same size.

reverie, u are even more skinny than me!!! I think only Irene can beat you in the pre-preg wt category, heehee.

Alfafa, I still have brown discharge on/off, now coming to 4wks post-delivery. It's been like that since 3rd week. 1st week lochia super heavy, then 2nd week can see it tapering off, cuz was like regular menses, 3rd week brownish discharge, now 4th week on/off discharge but seems v draggy.

weight loss
So envious u gals with only 2-3kgs to shed.. my bb is 2 months liao, and I still have 8 more kgs to go.. Gain total of 20kgs during my preggie.
will work hardharder to go exercise.. now look at mirror feel so ugly.. all bottoms can't be fit in, and tops as well cos my boobs are so much bigger now..

Going back to work
bb is 8 wks old, and I am going back to work in 4 wks time.. so sian.. i think i will miss my boy when i return to work. worried if my maid and mum can handle him or not.. also, I hope my MS will not decrease due to work stress..

Sooo happy tt today's friday.. at least my hb is around to help me for the next 2 days.

ann,
I'll try to post a picture of me using the pupsik and sling type of carriers for you to see. A bit hard to describe but generally her head is always held much higher than her feet/ amost like a sitting down position with her legs acrossed. I favour the cradle hold and front carry.

need to go liao. she starting to make a little bit of noise, big one coming. Better go eat something now. ciao!

alfafa, envy envy...i'm the sort who are light but dun look skinny. maybe light bones nia. I still bah bah one with round round face but was light at 43kg. now think 50kg bah...boohoohoohoo. has become an auntie. no matter how I eat/exercise the hips just couldn't go back, so can't fit into my Levis...so sayang. wondering for those mamas who went thru natural birth, can still go back to previous figure and fit into your tight bottoms?

wintertime, from my experience, MS went down after gg back to work. I remembered in my 10th mth or so, MS dropped drastically when I was on a major project and meeting tight timelines and working late into the night. Due to longer interval of pump sessions and work stress and didn't eat well (cup noodles if work late in office till midnight), MS didn't suffer a terrible dip. luckily I got stock in the fridge to tide over and managed to bf till 1yr. I guess if your work is not too demanding and you stick to the pumping interval and eat balanced meal should be ok bah.

alfafa77
hopefully...
I am in my 4th week.. still have 6kg to shed...

i still have lochia too.. not so much..

Wintertime
be cheerful. I am going back to work on 29 / 30 april which is 5 weeks aft delivery. so u r not too bad. i am going back to work on and off and bringing work home to do. no choice. i am the only accounts in the co and i need to cover some sales job to leverage my operation manager work load. our sales ger left just bef cny. lucky i have a car and driving to work during off peak is abt 15-20min. dont worry so much. dont give urself undue stress and ur ms will not be affected much. our ms depends alot on rest, food and water and emotional status.

ya boobs bigger, wear tops also ugly leh

My frens bought me osim binder and gals you all can try buying gurdle to wear?

Fairymoos, we open CDA acct liao, my hb also very kiasu, buy insurance for my gal also
Ya Dr Ong is a nice PD

tusky - i am also doing my bb full mth celebration on both 25 n 26. my mum say its better to do full mth celebration in advance wor..

re: confinement
mummies here how long is ur confinement? 28 days or 30 days or 40 days?

fairymoss - u didn't open the CDA account when u register the bb birth? they got those 1 stop svc. i opt for OCBC cos its nearer to me..standchart got lesser branch leh so more ma fan tho their interest is slight higher..

Alfafa, hey, we are similar in size and wt gain...hee...I also wan to see the pic of you using your pupsik. My mum sewed a sling for my but somehow when I try it doesn't seem comfy for bb.

Mummies, how do you bring your bb out? Using stroller or just handcarry? Brought bb to supermarket just now and got scolded by one auntie. Said supermkt a lot of germs...

Oh and anyone has recommendations for full month cakes? I need to get for my office...

alfafa - think u monitor a while if still smelly or pain when pee then better to see gynae to do simple test only. I also bought the donut thingy but i don find it useful. or is it i donno how to use.

idaarshad - already replied ur email. Will help u buy.

bluebell - is the lady a stranger? so daring... if i were u i wld have told her off.. i sling my bb when i go out... easier then stroller.. but im starting to feel the weight le.. haahaa...

wow u all so petite.. im like a giant next to you all.. LOL... im like double alfafa's size man... hahahaha...

ive opened standard chart acct for the CDA but havent put cash yet.. kekeke... for her savings, we opened with ocbc...

Re: Weight loss
Last time I checked, I have 5 kgs to go. But hopefully would like to lose 10 kgs, haha...

alfafa
Jia you with the bb latching. Besides her daily occasional top notch screaming drowning my eardrums, I'm always amazed at how powerful her suction is. BB is really the best breast pump you can't find in the market.

re:weight loss
true..true..all bottoms cant fit anymore. Tops still ok..can fit in my old t-shirts.

Re: bb cot
HELP mummies..my bb seems he doesnt like to sleep in his cot. He doesnt cry when i put him down, but he seems uncomfy..kicking and squirming..but eyes are still closed..i think he's sleepy but uncomfortable. when I hold him again, he can sleep calmly...
he is also okay when I put him on his playpen in the living room...it is only on his cot, he reacts this way. Last night after 3 hours trying to put him to a deep sleep, hb put him sleep on our bed..right in the middle of me n hubby..and then he really sleeps well til morning..
any mummies have this problem too? do u think it is because of the cot/mattress?

miss83, my baby also dont sleep long in the cot during the daytime. So we put her in the rocker during her naps in the day. But nite time she sleeps ok in the cot.

Re: weight loss
I still have 5kg to go. Haiz it is really disheartening not to be able to fit into my jeans.

asura
u were right about latching. Just now latch my bb and soon after that i noticed got some more lochia. that means whenever latch bb, our uterus will contract..resulting that tummy will flatten more..

sportyger
I was thinking bcoz he sleeps too much on playpen during the day..o not used to the cot.

about weight loss
i agree..really sad not to be able to wear old jeans, shorts and skirts. last time invested alot of nice bottoms!

miss83 - initially we also had that problem... so we let her sleep btwn us.. but nw nt much issues leh... make it more comfy??? initially i didnt put mattress.. only the playpen thing... becos my MIL says dont need so HB nvr buy... then bb keep crying.. zzz.. dn we bought mattress... but she stil squirm n cry... then i put comforter... dn better le... i think try to make it as comfy as possible... i also put the cot mobile... and a winnie the pooh music thingy... its voice activated... when bb cry, will play music n shine light onto the ceiling... my SIL bought for bb... bb seems fascinated by it... kekeke.. but doesnt wrk all the time la...

hello ann, bluebell

me pumping milk w one hand again. intend to just pump once a day now to freeze. will feed her via direct latch.

here are some pics of my bb in a sling as well as in pupsik. i think she is more comfy in pupsik.

(1)this is a mim's type of sling sewn by my mom. love the batik print n w this i have brought grace out countless times.
(2) of her in my pupsil. just got this n it's definitely more comfortable for bb due to the snug fit, as well as the slightly stretchable fabric which moulds well to bb's shape.
(3)(close up of bb in my pupsik - cradle hold)

having said that the advantage of the pupsik, the snug fit, makes it harder for me to remove her from the pouch. becos pupsik sizes are according to mommy's size n not bb size, i had to get size 1 - good fit so v comfy for me n bb. Problem is my bb is v long, born 90+ percentile for bb girl's ht. think i need to practise more on removing her from my pupsik.

2362115.jpg

2362116.jpg

2362117.jpg

my pre pregnancy weight 40kg
preggy at last stage 52kg
now... 45kg

today went back polyclinic for review on the liver test result. and lucky us, the doctor we saw is the head of the chronic dept. he is a very nice man and can see that he is really experience.
Zac's liver test turn out to be fine. but still need to bring the jaundice down. so gotta monitor and go back next wed to take the jaundice blood test again and will see him back on Saturday when he is on shift.

As for the undescended testicles, he checked and say the testicle is there, just that the bag got some fluid and the fluid make the doctor harder to feel the testicle. Told us not to worry and the fluid will go off when he is older. Will need to observe also.

Phew...

fairymoss - to a certain extent, the breast therapy does help in faster letdown, which i appreciate very much. however one little con is that it doesnt allow much massaging to be done, coz of the stiffness. anyway, i think its a pretty good invention. in times of real blocked ducts, baby handkerchief and hot water still works best...

reverie - you can buy from moms in mind, even though its written there out of stock, there is still stock. i got it the very next day..very fast...

but she's being difficult again rt now

haizzz trying to pump but she howling away. have to stop my pump n attend to her liao

sportyger,
which one? the sling or the pouch. I like both but finds pupsik ouch (pic 2 and 3) more comfortable, no ugly long tail also. heee

I attend to her first back soon

Mangogal
My PD is Dr Wong. He is located at Tiong Bahru Plaza, I requested for him cos heard he is good and near my place. Went to see him a few times. Really nice doc and when I called to enquire about BF, he will personally call me back and advise.

As for seeing Eunice Chua, will also see her in 1st week of May, provided my menses has finished by then.

missicandy
also have the mobile cot...sometime doesnt work also hee..will try again a few nights..if he still doesnt seem comfy..then we just put him on our bed..

miss83/vernice
i am back from seeing dr lilian lim, confirm we pay $440 for the 6in1 package. its consists of 3 jabs and consultation fee.

alfafa, i got the MIM sling, but dunno how to use. only use once to carry my boy cuz that time during expo exhibition got the MIM booth and the person helped me to sling. If left on my own, my boy would stretch out his leg long long and refused to get into position. End up the sling is horizontal and I almost couldn't get through the door as my boy was very long at 4mths then. See u use the pouch and sling like so simple and effortless.

misscandy, thanks. you are also using sling right? how do you like it? the thing i don't like abt slings is that the rings at are v irritating; they keep ribbing into my back.

and i find long tail quite unsightly too. i ever went to the toilet w her in my sling (no choice, was alone), and almost dunked the whole tail into the bowl. thank goodness i remembered to hold it up in the nick of time.

sportger,
i don't have wor cos this is home made version. but what do you mean by tie? my mom uses two rings, just like MIM slings, to hold the cloth together. or do you mean how to put baby in? hehe i realised that it is exactly the same as how you would use a pupsik, n pupsik provides free instruction video on their webby

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/pages/instructions.php

enjoy!