(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

vivien, mangogal, Teddybaby, all the best best best! Jia you!

Teddybaby, how's the lift upgrading at your side? My scaffold is up!!!

hi mummies, my bb refused to sleep. she demands to be carried around, then only will fall asleep, once put her in cot, she wakes up.

does a 2 week old bb need to be swaddled? do you all still swaddle ur bb?

moomoo - my bb also leh... but i read somewhere and my frn told me that if bb cries.. either hungry or diapers dirty... if bb is full they sleep better leh... dunno how true... once home from hospital i nvr swaddle le... but my bb since yesterday to today very cranky.. keep crying to be carried... dun wana be to put dwn also... whole afternoon i carry her in arms... then jus nw i put her sleeping tummy down... then turn her head to one side.. u might want to try that?

at 1st i let her sleep in my arms against my chest and shoulder... jus pat and let her sleep.. then i put her down tummy down on her bed and turn the head.. hope u knw what i mean.. and she slept... but the nurse told me if lying on tummy must observe bb more often... scared they try to turn their head n suffocate themselves...

seabreeze
ya mine is also like egg white hump lumpy discharge. ok, will be looking out for signs these few days, i hope my bb come out these 2 days .

sunshinebaby
today went gynae and he said let me wait till week 40. (27march) hopefully before that bb come out lor. hope ur bb also come out soon!

teddybaby, vivien, mangogal;

jia you... no action from me think its false alarm haha so going to zzz then pop in to read... all the best to u all n have a smooth delivery ...

Hi mummies, congrats to those who hv popped (sorry cant remember your names coz just managed to finished reading all the posts.

seabreeze,
wow u popped earlier than me eh..I m still waiting. My edd is 28 mar counting down to 8 more days.

Mangogal, vivien and teddybear,
hv a smooth delivery! All the best

Srumpee,
I will b seeing Dr Chua on mon, hopefully I m dilated. When is your next appt?

Missycandy & Moomooland,
My bb is 3weeks+ & I still swaddle him & I think it was bcos of tat he sleeps well most of the time. But sometimes, I'll oso let him be more "free" & not swaddle him.

moomooland, for the 1st mth, it's better to swaddle them. It gives them a sense of security, cos before that in our womb, they also have limited space n it's cosy. Newborns are scare of cold also, so better swaddle them to warm them a bit. Dun have fan direct to them also

missy, moomoo, irene, me also still swaaddling le... already gg to be one month liao.. ehe.
Anyone knows till when then don't need to swaddle?

I only do half swaddle now.. bb doesn't like his hands to be swaddled since wk 3..

wow, seems quite a number of gals delivering soon.. congrats and jia you.. we will see more photos soon.

Checking in again on the posts! Hope everyone's doing good!

Well, I'm still persevering with BF. It's hard work but think I'm getting more now. Bb's weight is increasing.

For those who have not given birth yet, I was not induced during my delivery. I worked through my contraction for HOURS!!! The last 7 of the 19 hours, I used laughing gas to help with the pain relief. It really helped and I didn't need any epidural either. The last bit was the pushing part and that was a different kind of pain which I couldn't use any laughing gas. I was given 3 delivery positions to try to push Shayna out, on my back griping my thighs open, kneeling position and on my back holding on to a bar above me (that worked best for me).

Anyway, if I can do it, think any of you can, too!
Jia you!!!

Congrats to the mummies who've popped! Have a good weekend.

mummies - seems like swaddling at night is the best option. thought bb doesnt like to be swaddled anymore. well, think will half swaddle her in the day time

Moomooland,
I do what you are doing. By swaddling, they are more secured & can sleep better. I oso half swaddle him during the day when he is not sleeping.

Vivien, teddbb & mangogal
hope you all have smooth smooth delivery this morning, jia you!!

Swaddle
my CL also swaddle my bb all the time. she said first month especially must swaddle, cos scared sometimes got loud noises will frighten them so better to swaddle...

Confinement
CL prepares a pail of herbal water for me everyday for "wiping" but i use it to shower instead heehee... v naughty hor. Me shower at least 2x a day, morning & night before sleep cos cant sleep if not clean clean wor.

SG,
You super leh, still dare to look into mirror to pull out the lochia.

teddybb and mangogal
yes me popped...but seldom come in the forum cos mum say can't stress eyes too much for that few days lor..

me hope that my confinement ends soon leh..cos i can't tahan my CL liao....she will always say bb does not drink enough milk and tell us to give bb FM. she mentioned bb drink FM will have enough sleep and not wake up often..and try enough not matter how much BM my bb drink he will still get hungry..

my CL doesn't boil the herbs for me to wipe...she say wan to wipe ask me use heater water..faint.. then the next day when my mum came she ask CL to boil it for me..CL also told my mum to use heater water..my mum say NO..then CL no choice got to boil for me...

st
I would tell your CL that it is your wish to BF bb so request that she respect your wishes. BF babies will feed more often than FM. That's normal as FM is more filling. So it doesn't mean your BM is not enough. You can also tell the difference from the poo. BM poo is more watery and less smelly.

koala, bor bian...coz stuck there halfway very uncomfy. =p

st....can understand yr position....my cl left yest'd...so glad tat she's gone!! here we are trying our best to BF, there they kept interfering.

re: swaddle...my bb swaddled also kenna scared by my cl...her voice damn loud n sharp lor...glad tat my bb, hb n myself have peaceful nw....my poor bb...cl always tok loud loud at bb's ears. =( say her also like tat...hiaz...

moomooland...no more liao...using panty liner in my 4thweek...finally. today finally get to eat char siew rice...heee...but still stuck at home. sianz...home alone with bb since yest'd afternoon..coz hb working. hw i wish i have mum or mil to help me...but heng my mil's shop downstairs so will pop by during my meals time.

mummies, my bb also cranky during nite time...super energetic dun wan to sleep..very tired..can last for 2-3hrs..my mil says coz i went out late nite during my preggie..hiaz..any mummies also went out late late for supper during preggie?

babe, SG
ya man...but it's true if at night bb drink FM i sleep better heheh...so if wanna BF means less sleep for me..CL mention less sleep for me will not make me strong lor

sorry really need to vent it out here..else i will go crazy

Hi Bliss
Your doc SC Chew too? When r u delivering?

Need some advice.
My EDD was supposed to be 31 March. After seeing doc yesterday he confirmed that i should induce on tue 24 March and suggested i go on epi as bursting the water bag will be painful. And for those who's bb is small, they can drink alot of anmum milk. My bb grow 700g within two weeks! Now bb too big... sigh. was too small... Now 3.1kg, head 9.8cm and body 11cm... and i am only 1.55m. Doc also propose whether i want caserean... I am still thinking should i take the epi... hubby said no turning back wor if u dont take the epi bef induce... i can still take aft bursting the bag but scared the pain really scared me off...
regarding bf, do we clean our nipples when we bf at home and when we are out? how?
regarding yujiao, do u mummies take them? Hockhua selling the premium grade S$40 or S$45 for every 100g. heard it is good for healing of the wound...

regard the milo i checked with a frd. she and my sis told me to drink 2 bottles of chicken essence before delivery too. They said then will have the energy to push n not so tired. Milo with egg oso said logic... wonder can i take the milo before i go out and essence bef i check in... haha.. me greedy...

ST,

have u tried pumping out ur milk to feed ur bb at nite? My bb is now on TBF, she wakes up only every 3 to 4 hrly for feeds. But cos she still havent got the hang of latching on, i pump and feed her. I think latching, bb tend to fall asleep so never drink full enough. If u feed her EBM, she would be able to take the quantity enough for her to sleep through for a longer time.

Asura79
yup i did pump it out and bb can drink up to 80-100ml.. my CL will also give me alot..and told me if bb full will not drink all, better than give me abit then he less full then will cry again for milk. and she say my bb is big cc.

only when bb on FM my CL will also say you see..bb drink ur EBM still hungry.. but when on latching she will say bb not taking enough one see i told u one..so give FM ok...faint..

for EBM my bb can wake up 2hr later sometimes even lesser

Reverie
ya i took 2 bottles of chicken essence and i really feel i not so tired..maybe becos i also anxious too so don't feel tired

st,

Humm.. ur CL really very anti-BF. Cos my CL is only concerned with the total ml she drinks. She say if she drinks enough then no prob at nite liao. When ur CL leaving? How many weeks is ur bb now?

Miss83,
Yes i clean he buttocks with wet wipes. I've always like Pigeon but tollyjoy is ok too...
See whichever has got promotion will just get it... =)

miss83,
sometimes i also clean the bb buttock with water using the cotton wools, especially when she poo poo. but most time i use the wet wipes only la ..

Bfing,
i start latching the bb on the 1st day when she born. i'm quite lucky to have the BM from 3rd days onwards:30ml on 3rd day, 100ml on 4th, 180ml on 5th days onwards (this is each pump from both breast, 4-5hrs interval).
I tried to latch bb on but i think she only got abt 20-30ml after 30-40mins suckled. So, end up i also need to bottle feed her(~90ml) or she will cry till ur heartpain. I think the BM is really watery lor, i tried to drink some yesterday & it taste like milk mix with lots of waters .. so diluted. No wonder it can last only 2-3 hrs b4 bb got hungry again.

Asura79
bb is only 1 week few days old..so still have 3 weeeks more before my CL leave.
Does your CL wipe the floor for you?

reverie
same here...asking bb when he wants to be out...
this morning when i woke up, already got 2 sms asking if there's any signs..*sigh* ...

ST,
My CL also talks loudly and very rude too! Sometimes I've visitors at home and she will behave v bossy to me (why you still dun go pump milk? or... weather so cold, you better put on long pants!)... walau sometimes I just stare at her when she talk like tat. But wat to do, most times i still lun lor cos scared later she bully my bb cos bb sleeping with her in another room now. And you know sometimes bb will make some noise when sleeping or turning but not fully awake yet, my CL will talk v loudly to bb and wake her up.

Actually I engaged this CL cos my friend used her before and said she quite gd cos this CL dun encourage people to carry or rock bb, said its bad habit. But duno why with my bb, I always see her rushing to carry her and even pat pat her to sleep... aiyo i almost fainted! Had to tell her not to pat.

Also, my friend said she v gd will sweep and mop floor for her. But for me, she didnt leh. Maybe its becos I have a part-timer maid but she only comes in once a week. And my CL showers at least 3x a day (which is clean lah) but she drops hair on the floor and I see already buah tahan but I dun wanna ask her to sweep. I already told hb I'll just give her $20 angbao when she leaves. On her first day i gave her $80.

Anyway I've to withstand another 2 weeks of torture. She even extended 1 more day on her own accord without asking us. Cos she made phonecall to bk her bus ticket for 3 apr (when last day shd be 2 apr). So I had to pretend to ask her the next day if her ticket cfm and she said 3 apr, so i look surprise and she said "never mind lah, 1 more day i do for you". i was like... faintz.

Sorry, need to vent out frustation here too.. feel slightly better now hahaa.

miss83,
The first 2 days when bb came home, I used warm water & cotton wool to wipe bb buttock when she poo poo. But she moved a lot and kept crying so eventually we found that wet wipes is faster. My CL is using Tollyjoy and seems ok. In fact, thinking of buying NTUC wet wipes to save $$ next time... anytime tried NTUC brand before?

I'd like to ask if anyone has tried using baby sling/cloth carrier? Is it any good cos i'm looking for something handsfree for my bb, like when I'm out alone so its easier rather than a pram.

koala
i just bought bb sling moms in mind..in OG having 20%disc..UP $45, i bought it only $36.
I think will be useful esp if u have something else to do..can carry bb while ur hands still free..

Miss83,
Can I check with you if its easy to use & secure? Wondering if bb will feel very cramp when she's inside cos at 1-2mths they will "sink" into the carrier right?

hmm i dont think so..u can adjust the carrier..
my family and relatives in indo always use sling..even when i was bb also they put me in sling hehe..the sling can be used from newborn til 18kg..
if u buy moms in mind, they give u the vcd instruction how to use it..there are 6 models of how to carry bb..

I counting down the days that my CL will be going back. She will be going back next sun as she only had social pass to stay in Singapore for 23 days only. Next sun than i will shift back to my mum's house and she will help to do confinement for me for another 17 days. My mum want me to do 40 days confinement.
At least i don't need to tahan that CL already.

st,

My Cl very hardworking one... she mop and sweep floor everyday. Then she wash bb's clothes everyday. After cooking each meal, she would mop the kitchen floor also. The only thing is that if she is tired, she would not let me try to latch on bb for too long so that she can quickly feed my bb with EBM and go take nap with bb. otherwise, she has been very encouraging with my expressing.