(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

ivy
safer to bring our bb to PD rather than GP la... tink better to do tat until they are older n immune sys much higher then mayb can consider bring them to GP ba...

sportyger
icic, u pm me her detail n i'll try to call...
if she's fully booked then no choice...

wa. all mummies already lookin for PD? I dun even have any head or tail how to start.

I have also booked the massage lady, $420 for 7 sessions.

sun - if my hb was around he won't allow oso...i was thinking moderate should be ok la...mayb i will confess to him tonite...wahahahaha...i will tell him its not freezing cold one...now bb keeps kicking me hard, dunno whether he's enjoying the bubble tea or wat...

As for massage lady i tot i can do without it la...jus let my body recover naturally after delivery lor...wanna spend the $$$ on some other things instead....

Sunshine,

Ok the charges for Kinder clinic is more or less the same. Justa diff PD attending to the bb.
So far for my gal...

Consultation is usually $60
2 mth - 6 in 1, rotavirus injection cost abt $460
4 mth - 5 in 1, Hepatits B injection cost abt $460
6 mth - 6 in 1, rotavirus injection cost abt $460 again.

Plus medication abt $20. All in all cost $500 +GST each visit.

Normal cough cold diahorrea abt $100 plus.

As for massage lady, worst case u just take from those massage place and call in to ur place for 5 to 6 time abt $800.

blurgal
ya lor.. think in thrid trimester and near to delivery date so can start thinking as pd is needed oso during our delivery.. maybe u may wanna check with ur gynae on which pd will he/she be appointing/recommend for you.. i oso dunnoe pd needed to be appoint one till expereinced mommies say so.. hahaha.. FTM la..

p3pp3r,

Haha.. actually i got no idea we need to appoint PD too. I thought any clinic or doc will do.
And the price of the jabs just scare me. So expensive!!!

wah so grateful to Seabreeze, Sassybaby & Ivy, Wish A Boy and other 2nd time MTBS advise for PD, hmm..I know that my hubby grandmother house at hougang gt a PD nt far frm us...so we may go to that PD...will go n find out what are their charges

Vernice,
Honestly i dunno anything abt cdc. Simi lai eh...
Hahaha...

Mummies to be,
Again I wan to say when u give birth, there will be a PD assign to every bb. So dun worry abt finding one now. Not necessary ya...

vernice
i check the baby bonus website, it is applicable for the use of cda acc at kinder clinic le.. so thought maybe can use it liao..

Re: Cost of PD
ya.. indeed, the price is really steep, but i guess for the well being of bb, will have to sacrifice other things to meet the cost of taking bb to a pd liao.. coz at the end of the day, itz still the well being of baby which is much more important.. i heard alot of cases including from my relatives not seeing pd for their child either end up with very bad fever/frequent sickness or even worse case like ended up hospital stay.. so in fact at the end of the day, adults will be stressed with energy and loss of money as well..

by the way, the baby bonus we r getting is in cash right, i mean the 4k? and the cda is another amount of money in bank acc one right? abit confuse.. can any mommies highlight on this? =P

Kome,
You bought everything new for this pregnancy, including nursing bras? You are not using what you used in your first pregnancy?

p3pp3r,
ya i just checked too.

sassybb,
no prob. FYI- maybe u can check with ur PD if can use. Don't waste. Below is what i extract out.

<font color="0000ff">The savings in the CDA may be used to pay fees for all your children who are attending Approved Institutions registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme. These include child care centres, kindergartens &amp; special education schools registered with the Ministry of Education, and early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service. The CDA savings can also be used to purchase MediShield or Medisave-approved private integrated plans for all your children and pay for all your children’s medical-related expenses. These would include consultation fees, treatment fees and prescription costs incurred at healthcare institutions</font>

p3pp3r,
if i am not wrong, the 4K is given out in 4 installments. CDA is whereby govt will match our dollar to dollar savings up to $6k.

Hi Sunshinebb,

Am busy doing nothing at home. Nowadays tired easily cos at nite can't zz. Still reading the forum though and did some shopping thro BP.
Always see Kome buying things...

Actually wanted to share something that happened to me the day after our gathering. But everyone in good mood due to Christmas and New year so dun feel like sharing then.

The last 1 week of 2008 was quite scary for me to go thro. Especially my hubby still overseas. I was badly constipated on Saturday nite and was on the Throne for more than 2hrs+!! with the poo stuck near the anus and not moving!!I Used too much force until got blood from my V. Strangely no blood from anus. Was so scared cos was bearing down uncontrollably a few times. Afraid will push my baby out. So distressing!

In the end, managed to get all out and my whole bottom was swollen!! Called my gynea and he said bleeding from v is normal if heavy constipated like me. He said it shld stopped within 1 day. But i bled for at least 5 days!!! So monday, bring forward my appt and he said no bleeding from my v. But i checked and checked, cfm from my V.

So made another appt on tues. This time round, he did a through check in my v, even can see my cervix. He probbed and found some broken vessels near the cervix. So it's really fm my v. Anyway, he cfm bb/cervix were in good condition. That's when we heaved a sign of relief....but still got bleeding for a few days..Dun dare to do anything except walk slowing/sit/lie down. I have never eaten so much fruits than the past few few weeks.

Anyway, by tmrw, will be 31wk. Saw my gynea on monday and he said baby's doing fine. Between the weight of 1.6 - 2kg. Did the strep2B test as well. Result was negative. Red blood cells abit low, so Dr gave me another multivits with higher iron content. No wonder, recently feel a little weak and been seeing stars at times.

Cold drinks/coke,
Was out for lunch n ordered iced milo. The noodle uncle told me not to drink too much cold drinks cos not good for bb. Almost everyday, i drink 1/2 cup OJ, yesterday, cold ribena. Bought 1 can of coke since last week but yet to open. Maybe later..

Asura, u very independent. The moment we found that I am pregnant, I came back to SIN right away. At least, got family around me. My auntie commented that I shld be more independent and stay in Shanghai w hubby. We tot otherwise. Trusted the doc here in SIN.

CNY notes,
Finally changed all we need yesterday and today. POSB has a separate Q for changing note. Luckily, the counter staff at POSB allowed me to change more than the max allowed..If not, gotta Q another round.

Bra,
Not wearing bra at home. Only when going out, I will wear those non wired type...very cheap and super comfy. $7.90/bra. But gotta change size now. The knitted bra from MEV oso super comfy. Meant for nursing as well.

PD,
Am looking for good PD in the West. Any recommendations?

Titbits,
Keropok can eat rite? I have been eating Twisties (BBQ) once a while.

so if appoint my own PD still need to pay extra for the PD to check bb at the hospital??

if that is the case i ask my gynae to chose one like that still need to pay extra?

Sassybaby
Thanks for your advise. Maybe should really get a PD for my baby under 2 years old.. Then transfer to GP. Now my ger has been seeing the GP when she is sick...

Prosper
My massage lady is recommended by my collegues. Think my whole company mummies uses her.. Finds her good and strong... Used for my #1 and also recommended her to my sis and my cousins.. Keke.. Her name is Salbia and her no is 98325375

Sunshinebaby
Think you can book them first. Anyway, no need to give deposit.

p3pp3r
Yes, the 4K getting in Cash but in 4 intervals I think

devil ...

me dunno any good GP so i just bring him to the PD lor anyway now that he is older i just feed him the med tt i byu from pharmarcy cos its the exact same med that the PD gives me

unless u have a good GP ... cos so far all the exp that i hear from my fren who go to GP or polyclinic ... end up going back to PD again one

p3pp3r ...

have PM you my HP number, can contact me tom

sassbaby ...

yap Dr Terence Tan's Q is a killer and it doesnt help that he usually comes in later compared to both Dr Lim &amp; Dr Lee.

Dr Lim did the Pneunomoccal jab for my #1 ... v good lar he distracted my son first and before my son realises it ... kanna jabbed liao hahahahaha

but usually when he is sick he will see Dr Lee ... she is oso v nice

the 3 PDs at the Mt A Kinderclinic are q good lar ... lucky me giving birth there heehee no need to headache

Re: Children Development Co-Savings (Baby Bonus) Scheme (extracted from baby bonus website)

Children bring joy to the family. The Baby Bonus Scheme supports parents’ decision to have more children by helping to lighten the financial costs of raising children. It was introduced on 1 April 2001 and enhanced on 1 August 2004. The latest enhancements on 17 August 2008 extended increased benefits to the first and second child and benefits to Singapore citizen children beyond the fourth child.

You will get a cash gift of up to $4,000 each for your 1st and 2nd child and $6,000 each for your 3rd and 4th child. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will also enjoy Government contributions in the form of a dollar-for-dollar matching for the amount of savings you contribute to your child’s Children Development Account (CDA). If your child is born before 17 August 2008, he or she will enjoy the Government matching contributions in the CDA if he or she is your second to fourth child.

The CDA is a special savings account that you open at any OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank branch for your child who is eligible for CDA. You can save in the CDA any time until 31 December in the year your child turns 6 years of age. The savings will be matched up to the cap of $6,000 each for the 1st and 2nd child, $12,000 each for the 3rd and 4th child and $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. The Government will match your savings in the following month.

The savings in the CDA may be used to pay fees for all your children who are attending Approved Institutions registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme. These include child care centres, kindergartens &amp; special education schools registered with the Ministry of Education, and early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service. The CDA savings can also be used to purchase MediShield or Medisave-approved private integrated plans for all your children and pay for all your children’s medical-related expenses. These would include consultation fees, treatment fees and prescription costs incurred at healthcare institutions.

sassybb,

Think when u had ur #1, CDA account not given to first bb. Now they give to #1 as well. But for ur #2, u would get $6000 top-up if u contribute $6000 to CDA account. So it is like half price. #1 can use #2 account. So not bad.

Thanks for ur advice on the PD. For sickness, i would defintiely bring my bb to PD. But for jabs, i would probably stick to GP. Any idea whether i can go to PD for development assessment without taking my bb to him/her for jab?

agnes
happy to see u online!!!
glad tat everything is fine for u now... must rem eat more fruits/veg to avoid constipation... now no more constipation right?
u ciao so fast... tot of syaing 'hi' to u aft the talk but b4 the talk end, u disappear liao... i'm actually sitting 2nd row behind u... tink u came in late for the 2nd speaker right?

agnes, your constipation seems serious. Must rem to eat more fruits and veg and drink more water. I have also been drinking cold drinks cos I dont really like hot drinks.

Agnes, good to see you back as I also wondering where hv u been after out gathering ?

So I hope ur constipation prob hv been solve?
I one day no poo buay tahan already...been drinking prune juice &amp; eat yogurt on laternate days to keep my bowel moving, so far so good
Take more vit C fruits to heal ur any cervix/ V area

Tidbits, I try to control cos heaty or constipate if eat too much...

So is the wedge pillow good for u?

Asura,
I believe u can. Bb 1st assessment will be done by the appointed PD when u give birth. then follow by 2 mth old then u bring for injection.

As for the 4 mth injection that will be the next assessment. As such i rather u stick with ur GP for the injection and assessment. If not u go to PD for assessment, u need to pay for another consultation fee again which is not worth it lor.

Seabreeze,
thanks for the explaination on the baby bonus. I think so far for my no 1 i have receive a total of 2275 now. Each time they give is 750. So I also not sure lor. Hahaha...

I have decided to donate my bb cord blood to the Singapore Cord Blood Bank. Called up the centre yesterday and the coordinator will be meeting up with me next week.

sassbaby ...

yap those #1 born before 17 Aug 08 only have the $3k cash ... my #1 oso ... so now those who give birth to #1 have $4k + $6k (CDA acct) ... better heehee

sunshinebaby ...

they will check on their motor skills, eyes development (whether can follow the object left-right-up-down), speech (when older) etc

Vernice,
I deliver at Mt E. I call in Dr Lim as my son PD this time. Cos I was assign Dr Siva from Kinder Paragon the last time when I have my gal. Me and HB dun like him as he very chor loh to my gal during 1st assessment. He just pull up his 2 little hand up down up down. and make her lie on her stomach and i can see my gal struggle struggle and then cry out loud. So heart pain. Next terrible thing is my gal had very high jaundice but he say she is fine. Bring my gal to Mt A and see Dr lim and he say brng her for blood test and show very high jaundice and need to admit immediately at East shore which is nearer to me at that time. 2nd paragon Kinder also very far from me.
There will be a call out charge for Dr Lim, when my gal stay in East Shore Hospital for 7 days due to jaundice, he charge me abt $600 for the whole 7 days. That is y i say dun need to find a PD now, wait for hospital to apoint u one. Usually these PD work hand in hand with ur gynae. So ask ur gynae's abt the PD next visit.

Sunshine,
Yes, baby development check...

oh...okok.
thanks sassybb.
i think i wait for hospital to appoint any PD 1st. after that then get one that i want. easier.

vernice
me too... wait for hospital to appoint...

another 2 hrs to KO...
juz ate old chang kee curry puff... must drink a lot of water coz heaty... hahaha

Pups
Me last time blur blur did not prepare alot of things. For my #1, i just brought 2 nursing bras and now i brought 4 more. Some sleepsack which last time i never use. I had reuse my #1 sterilzer and some clothes only.