(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Devil,
We use Pigeon bottle and teat detergent since day 1. Now after every milk feed we just wash with tap water and at night, use the pigeon detergent to give it a thorough wash.

missycandy,
For milkbags that do not come with the fastener, can use the bag clips from Ikea. One bag contains a lot of clips. But have to do a double fold of the bag before clipping to prevent sippage. Then remember to keep the bag standing upright ;)

Hmm seems like nobody are buying bb changing station? Maybe not neccessary? Or just get Toyogo drawers can liao hor?

The shop is beside OG at level 2...OG exit at level 2 can goes thru on lefthand side

Hoon, think you hv to cut dwn sweet stuff and ur baby will be alright, dun worry

Blue egg milk bag, can buy frm any shops in spore?
Or Missycandy, order frm u ah?

mangogal
i bought the Toyogo drawers to put bb clothes alr. cos think it's cheaper and big too. somemore it didn't take up much space too

I bought the blue egg milk bag at the BP section

mango - bb changing station is dangerous the moment bb starts flipping... its not a neccesity... any normal table can do then jus put the diaper changing mat... you cn also do it on the bed... or safest is on the floor ... never leave bb alone... in jus one sec, bb cn flip and fall...

blue egg bags im buying from a mummy... i can give you the web then u contact her urself or if u wan me to get for you then collect from me also can... she sells at $6/box but her stock running low so you must let me know hw many you wan then il check for you... she's doing her confinement now so have to go to her house to collect it... she stays toa payoh/bradell area... im not sure when i will go and collect from her but i have reserved 20boxes from her... 10 for myself and my friend wants 10... =P im not sure how many boxes she has left so if you wan, have to let me know asap so i can ask her to reserve...

I got something to share. If u all are not particular abt the brand of nursing bras, can try BEAUTY brand. I bought 4 nursing bras @ 2 for $17.90 at OG Albert Complex yesterday. Bought 2 wired and 2 without wired. It is at the THYME MATERNITY corner. If I am not wrong, is 3rd floor near to the winter clothing/luggage corner.

missycandy
wow ur milk bag is cheap. i bought mine at $8.50 at the BP section..luckly bought only 1 box.haha

now someone selling at $7 in BP but urs still the cheapest

st - ya... another mummy intro to me... hee hee... i was thinking of askin the current BP to decrease price then il buy more... but dont wana spoil her market la... not nice... anyway the lady i order from limited stock... so better order 1st...

vernice - someone is holding overseas spree for the Playtex bags if you are interested... im not sure whether still ongoing... you cn check out the overseas spree section... =)

vernice, re wardrobe/drawers: me bought the ikea 2 door wardrobe..coz was thinking even bb grows up liao..still can use...not too big nor small..still can put bb's toys/ barang barang..did go n see the toyogo drawers..$100+ but to me like not very worth buying..

Re: baby changing table...i din get this..coz only use awhile then like missycandy says when bb starts to flip, very dangerous liao..can just change them on any high table (dining/study table)..probably for 1mth..after tat when we "recover" liao..can change them on our bed ba.

mummies, anyone feels soreness on the breast? i woke up this morning..feel that the sides of my breast like pain. i dun wear wired bras aldy like tat..wah can't imagine if we get engorgement hw wor..heard its hard like rock.

re: nursing bra

mrs wong said we should not use wired bras because your breasts can have milk lumps and prone to engorgement..

devil

i will check my notes later to see if the steps are inside...

missycandy,
thxs on the playtex info. but prefer something more convenient like blue egg heehee...can u help me order 2 more boxes? like that i will have 75 pieces liaoz..hope it is enough..u order 10 boxes ah..need so many? the bag can recycle one?

oh i am staying near Toa Payoh/Bradell leh..u want me to help u collect? where u stay ah?

SG,
the wardrobe u bought from Ikea is it 200+? i only saw 3 designs that are more for kids...The toyogo drawers cost like $50-60+. The normal wardrobe i saw at vhive is $100+

vernice, eh i din buy the kids wardrobe..i bought the normal wardrobe, tink bb must grow up ard 3yrs then can reach the handle ba. haha..coz i aldy have spare ikea cabinet wardrobe doors at home (we change to sliding door for my masterbedroom) so i only bought the "body" of the wardrobe + baskets, clothes railings and get the man to instal the door for us. recycle..haha..total still add up to $220 ba. oh the toyogo drawers i saw at carrefour ard $100, tats why i dun feel worth it might as well get a proper wardrobe..nx time no nid to change, lazy mummy)..haha..
i din go to vhive..but i tink their furnotures all not bad..can consider.. =)

Vernice
Impression cotton one also can wash. Am also using it now.
I bought the the chest of drawers for my #1.
http://www.onewayfurniture.com/ssf-3116-035.html
Find it quite useful. I bought it at AMK. One of the furniture store.

Serene
Thanks! Maybe I go there and have a look.

Pups
Need to dry the bottles? I heard from my collegue that if the bottle is dry, there will be a smell. So now, after washing the bottles, am still putting into the boiled water.

RE: Robinson Sales
Yesterday went Robinson centrepoint member preview sales, it was really "Traffic-stopping Sales" with so many people (it's Friday) took leave to shop!!! But it was quite worth it as I bought with 20% Off, still got further 10% Off, minus x2 $5 vouncher.
I think today sales is open for all; got up to 20% Off nursery items.

RE: AMK BB shop
If compare 3 for $10 plain white short sleeve shirt selling in the shop with those selling during Metro/JL sales, the latter is more worth it (UP: $10 ea, sales 3 for $10).

RE: Wardrobe/Plastic drawer
We actually want to buy IKEA 2-door fullsize wardrobe for our baby but we want to avoid knocking during installation. So, now temperary use old Toyogo drawers. I personally think wardrobe is better as with the same foot print can house so many things inside, whileas to get a few new plastic drawers might cost more.

RE: Bra
I think we should start wearing no underwire bra during 3rd trimster.

devil,
i like ur drawers but out of my budget heehee..i don want to spend too much on wardrobe now so cap at $200 only.
The impression cotton also can wash ah? but the material doesn't seem as lasting as the felacy one leh..u bought those for maternity one rite? R u going to use them for confinement too?

idlecat,
wa so good buy ah..hmm..maybe later i can go before attending wedding din at suntec. Public sales also 20% off?

re: bra
but those no wire one no support leh..then breast like drooping right?

SG,
I didn't know Toyogo is so exp?!?! Last time i saw the 5 tier with wheels at NTUC only $69.90 leh...hmm..
I also tot the same as u...get one more lasting one at least can utilise longer..
Thanks for advice.

Vernice,
The chest of drawers I bought at about 200+ i think. Normally that kind of furniture shop can try to bargain. Keke...

For the impression cotton, I use normal ones, not the maternity ones. So far so good leh.. I washed many times liaoz... Still very good condition. Yes, am going to use them for confinement also.. But for confinement, i will just use and throw away.

Re: bra
Am also using no wire one. Feels more comfortable as the breasts gets bigger.

devil,
u didn't use the maternity one ah..then what's the diff betwn using that and our normal panties? The size abt same right?

i don really like the maternity ones cos they are so big and wear up to belly button wor..later my pants lower than panties.

so the bottomline is for us to use disposable during confinement is not to touch water only right? so any disposable is ok?

vernice, u are most welcome..dunnoe leh..i also shocked to see the price so ex..prolly, those are the big ones ba..yah..might as well get a wardrobe sikali after bb shower got gifts can dump in also mah..wahahha..

Vernice, re: disposable panties..Isetan also got sell cotton low waist one..tink $3.90 for 5? but i dunnoe good or not going to try that during confinement coz i bought diff. kinds to try..erm...i did buy the norm. ones not for maternity but i see them like so small wor..hahaha dun tink i can fit in..

SG,
ya lor..i donno which one to buy too..normal or maternity..those normal one buy from watson even cheaper..
then the sales gal was telling me some mummies after give birth tummy still big so they wore the maternity type

vernice...too many pattern n choices liao..yah i saw watson selling even cheaper..but i aldy bought like 5pkts liao..shld be more than enuff..maybe end of confinement can wash if they are still clean..anyway dun tink can slim down so fast... =)
u bought alot of stuffs aldy? me still left those bb wash, lotion, sanitary pad..diapers haven buy..tink other than tat more or less settle liao ba unless i miss out some items. hee..
so boring..today no program..dunno hb wans to bring me go out walk walk ornot..Yawn...but everyware nw is crowded.

SG,
ya lor so many choices..very confusing for 1st time mummies like me. u bought 5 pkts? i was thinking of 10 pkts if like 1 day change twice wor..
i only bought those big items and clothings. That time bought Avent bb was at Isetan sale but only 1 bttle. The rest all haven buy. I tot of using the normal sanitary pad wor..those night one which are longer..shld be ok right? Those maternity pads are usually very thick, not comfy.
Diapers - i "tobang" sassybb to buy the Goon one cos that's the cheapest i think. 58pc for $16.90 only.
i also haven buy breastpad, breastpumps and other daily used items. Hope my mum will go buy then i don need pay. haha

i also no prog today..wait till evening then go wedding din..don like to go out recently when there is crowd. but maybe later will pop by robinson before din since location nearby..

missycandy
Ya, i getting those clip to clip it if really need to use the playtex milkbags. It is much more cheaper.

vernice80
I brought the milk bags from a spree. I get 2 pkts of 8 oz.
I using the TOYOGO plastic drawers type one, coz now temporary living with my parents next year might move to my own house already so do not need any drawer yet.

Mummy
Me too abit boring now. Just asked HB to buy back KFC to eat. Hungry again. Heehee.....my son sleeping now so can yakk here a while.

Vernice, me also FTM..oh yah ah..haha i tot 1mth 30 days just buy 30pcs will do..will go n get somemore..maybe mix mix ba..dunnoe which one is good also. =)
yah, the normal night one shld be good enuff..somemore longer with wings haha..shld be well protected but i also dunnoe must buy hw many pkts then enuff wor..
oh...i heard the goon diapers nt bad also..my another fren told me huggies ultra is good..but i haven go n check out the pricing..i got breastpad but only 1 box..will have to get buy ba..aiyo..buy this n that, quite siong hor? dunnoe add up hw much liao..
me wed. also attending a wedding dinner..lately alot of "bombs"..haha...headache dunnoe wat to wear wor..

kome..so nice gt kfc..haha..hungry..grrrr...dunnoe wats for dinner..lately getting lazy..no mood to cook..coz cook liao must wash the dishes n pots..stand there too long backache. hahahha excuses!!

SG
Normal one is good enough. Better got those longest one with wing, will not get stain that easily. Buy 1 packet should be enough if not already after confinement can go out and buy again.

Think you will need at least 2 boxes for the breastpads. LAst time i used about 1 and the half boxes during 2 mths.

Kome...u mean 1 pkt of sanitary pad is enuff for the confinement mth ah? i still tot need at least 3pkts wor..haha...
ok ok..will get another box for breastpad then..not eunff then buy again.. =)

SG
Sorry, i so used to it. What i using is the whisper one, 2 pkt in a promo pack. Get more than 32pads one should be enough.

Kome,
ya when u move to ur own place then can have perm fixtures..

SG,
I not FTM heehee but i seldom go office unless there is work to complete. For sanitary pads,
last time Watson got promo on this Laurier night wing 10p for only $1.99 or $2.99 then i bought a few packs cos i usually use night one during day time. Safer mah..i think that is good buy lor.

Ya...till now i donno like spend how many thousands on checkups, bb stuffs, maternity clothings liaoz..my hb was saying the $6k that govt match 1to1 also not enough one lah.

Re: Diapers
I think huggies a bit more exp leh..but can try lah..since bb use so many better get good one at cheaper price.

re: Wedding
It's the YE season lor..i got 2 next sun i think..so cannot go for one of them save $$ heehee..now i give up on wearing very nice clothing liaoz...as long as it don't make me look so big and fat i am ok haha

SG
You are welcome.

Vernice
Saw those nice nice clothes but can only see cannot wear. Even the maternity dress that i keep for CNY don't nice.

Have you buy any clothes for CNY?

vernice, FTM = first time mum? haha..or u r not SAHM = stay at home mum..*confused*..hee..
yah, my sis told me to wait for the $1.99 / $1.95..i also use laurier night one..but worried nt long enuff..maybe will get the safeguard / sofy 35cm. ks abit..hahaha
=) yah lor..the $ ware gt enuff..+ the cash we need to fork out for hospital..somemore they split into "instalment" payment..gt to save here n there lor..bor bian. hee...

Re: Diapers ..yah maybe buy some good ones for night use..so that bb can sleep longer..day time use house brand? or cloth diaper if got CL..hee..

Re: Wedding..wah 2 on nx Sun..siong ah..heng can dun go one hahaha...i also din buy alot of maternity clothings..alot passed down from my sis. surprisingly we can fit in tops from bossini wor..1 pc $9.50..cotton n baggy very comfortable. somemore Size S..makes me happy =) haha

vernice - the bags cnt be recycled... used once then throw liao.... im nt sure if it can be recycled though... but i wont be... =P 10boxes is equiv to 250bags... if i constantly pump when i go back to work or even at home... will be used up quite fast... i stay sembawang! hee... i can tell the lady to add in 2 more boxes... =) or u wan to contact her urself for ur 2 boxes? im getting 20boxes.. my frn was 10 as well.. so not nice to get u to carry for us la.. thanks for the offer though =)

toyogo drawer - i bought at carrefour 4 tier for ard 49.90 wor... dunno if its exp or cheap...

Kome - im quite clumsy so i think ziplock is better for me... hehehe... wait try salah then leak then wasted!!! but i do agree it is much much cheaper =)

Diapers - i plan to buy the Goon diapers online as well.. but probably nearer to due date... will see how big bb is then... deciding hw many NB to get and hw many S to get... no hurry yet =) will place order in Feb..

re: CNY clothings...i bought a top n capris liao..but was thinking if i shld wear it for coming wedding dinner..hahaha..but then it will not be new clothes anymore leh..shang nao jing. i alwyas make it an attempt to at least have a new top for the 1st day of CNY..bottom wear old jeans ok de..tok abt jeans..i doubt i can fit in after birth..heard tat our hip bones will be expanded and won't go back to norm. size wor. so sad..

Kome,
if u r small or medium frame, i bet there are a lot of clothes u can wear. For me, pre-preg size already rang from M-L so now become XL worse still leh.

yeap i bought 1 green tube dress at Suntec Perfect Mum abt $66plus.
2018185.jpg

Re: dress..which maternity shop sells nice n comfy dresses ah? so far, me din get dress wor..always wear pants/ capris... caca advised me to get a dress so that when we discharge at hospital can wear also..won't "stretch" our stitches..

SG,
haha confused. yeayea i am FTM not SAHM. Wa u still can fit size S!!! must be very small frame. i am the 1st one in my family to get preg..so don have a lot of 2nd hand clothings..everything also new.

re: Diapers,
i guess i only use diapers for night or outtings only..daytime use cloth one save more $$ since will be having maid. I only getting 1 pack of NB 1st..then if bb can wear comfortably then i will order more online..

re:CNY clothings
i only getting 1 new set...cos my granny passed away liaoz..so beside my parent and in law place no where else to go lor..so don need get too many

Missycandy,
cannot recycle ah?? oh..u stay very far..ok maybe i will drop that lady a mail myself thanks!

missycandy,
haha got to hold the top if not saggy mah...now i will wear tube with cardi..looks better. wont be saggy cos i still wear bra strap mah heehee..

SG,
u can try Perfect mum at suntec or maternity House (more exp but nice design) or spring maternity. So far i bought 2 from maternity hse of which one can double up as nursing dress and 1 from perfect mum as shown in pic.

SG..hahaha me also FTM..aiyo the small size is very baggy type lor..haha but i'm not tall lah ..haha 1.58m nia..used to weigh 45kg..now weighs almost almost 60kg liao..and i looked like a teddy bear nw. hahahah

but i lazy to travel all the way to suntec wor..did go to Perfect Mum at Kovan few weeks back..i bought a tube top...but forgot to look at dresses..hee..PS spring maternity also like limited..maybe really got to go suntec more variety ba. =)

Vernice..haha..doopid me, typing my own name to reply u...sorry!!! ahahahhah getting blur liao..coz i'm hungry!! wahhaha

Toyogo
If you're planning to get stuff from Toyogo, they have a shop @ Lorong 8 Toa Payoh. Price is cheaper than wat you get outside. Can go check it out.

Milk Bags
Still thinking which type to get...

Kome, have you tried the Playtex ones b4? Havent seen them b4.

Misscandy, can share with me the contact?

SG,
hahaa its ok..now only 60Kg? heehee that's like my pre-preg weight lor so u far better off than me. I haven tried Perfect Mum at Kovan but the shop at suntec also not that bad lah..

Spring maternity do have lesser dress and not as nice one.

its time to have dinner. ok lah i better go bath go get ready to go out...
Talk to u all again!! bye!