(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Very sad, just received a call from my gynae's clinic, telling me that I got gestational diabetes.

Felt like I've done something very wrong to deserve this. Maybe I've been eating too much sweet stuff already.

hello mummies

vernice80

the nursing bras at spring maternity costs $29.90 you can check it out at http://www.springmaternity.com

missycandy

yes the breast pads cheaper in japan. i think 1000 yen at most S$16. the one you got 144 pieces is the special promo ones. the normal ones are 126 pieces.

devil

i went for the mrs wong's breasfeeding class last week. she said to sterilise for 6 months. cos after that, baby will put anything and everything inside the mouth so no need.

re: baby cot

yes i mentioned it the other day. must measure the door first... even if the standard 28" x 52" sometimes the design is such that the bed might fit but the side railing would not. contrary to what most believed, the guy in charge told me that it is not necessary to get the standard one. it could be too big and babies may not like to sleep in it much also.

btw kidzloft got 30% discount for regular priced products. but u have to show the motherhood magazine. i went to buy my cot bumper and the rest of the bedding stuff.. then forgot bring the magazine.. but the lady kind enough to just give me the discount .. if not only 15%

serene

is the aprica pram u bought for newborn?

vernice - ya i counted... lets becos it comes in pieces not pairs... so 144 pcs... is 72 pairs... if i change ard 3 pairs a day, i use 9pcs a day.. 1 box of 144 pcs will only last me for 16days? nt even a mth wor...

Devil - is it cheaper here? the pigeon pads here are quite expensive wor... cheapest is 13.90 for box of 36+6 which works out to be 13.90 for 42pcs... so 1 pc is ard 0.33cents... if i buy $30 for 144 pcs, it works out to be 0.20cents wor... isnt that cheaper???

Babyfair is in march.. at least it was this yr march.. shld be next yr march as well.. hopefully i cn make it ... hee hee

Serene - waa only $8 ? works out to be ard 0.19cents per pad... 1 cent cheaper than mine... ahahaha! =x

vernice - where is the amk bb shop???

nana - nvm lo... i already told the girl reserve for me liao.. not nice to back out right?

missycandy,
SG selling the pigeon breast pads 36+6 = 8.90.
the amk shop is opp the amk polyclinic..blk 700+ plus can't remember exactly..some mummies did mention earlier.

missycandy

hmm.. i thought the price of breast pads in sin is $8.90 for 36+6.. wow $13.90 for a box quite ex...

are u considering to use the washable ones at home? so no need to change so many times right? i bought the avent ones..

The shop at people's park selling baby stuff.
Cheong Choon Store. Blk 34, #03-132, Upper Cross Street. Tel:6532 3855.
All ranges of babies Product & Furniture.
This shop is selling breast pads in sin is $8.00 for 36+6..

hmmm jus nw i was walking ard 700+ for abt half an hr leh.. lookin for baby shop but cldnt find it leh... =( nt sure hw it looks like also and AMK is not my territory so a bit lost... =(

8.90 meh? hw come my frn said its 17.90 weird... hmmm dunno leh... hai... anyway i already reserved from the girl wor... so its not nice to back out last min... so its okie.. if i need more then il prolly buy from SG liao... =)

Washable ones im not sure leh... am considering it but havent actually gone to feel it...

also deciding on breastpump... i quite like freestyle but pricey... nt sure if the Ameda pump is good enough... i wana get good one becos when go back to work i still wan to express for my bb... plus i need something small and light weight... becos i already carrying heavy bag ard during working time... =\

Nana & Missycandy
I have also brought the Avent washable breastpad. Wanted try out the washable one.

Missycandy
That shop is at the shophouse beside Jubilee. Just opposite the polyclinic
The blue egg milk bags that you buy very cheap. I brought the playtex on 140 pcs for $12+

BABY BJORN SYNERGY CARRIER selling at $230 (Usual Price $299)! More than 20% discount off! Have 5 sets (brand new) to let go.

This popular Baby Carrier combines maximum comfort and lightweight breathability in perfect harmony. BABYBJÖRN Baby Carrier Synergy is made from a smooth breathable material and provides extra support for your back and shoulders, so you can carry your child for longer. Find out more about the BABYBJÖRN Baby Carrier Synergy.

http://www.babybjorn.com/en-gb/Eng/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Barsele-Synergy/

Grab it fast, pls email me at [email protected]

Mummies, any of you bought Ikea bb cot before?
Any comments? Hmm...dunno isit durable but the price is reasonable.
But, I will be buying the changing table station frm Ikea...where will you all be buying the changing station?

Hohoho... I am back home...
Finally my ger sleeping...
Went for scan today again... baby weigh 1.4kg now... Dunno to be happy or sad... Hahaha...

Kome and venice, how many packets u need? I stay in serangoon gdn... near to Kome... but i always goes to AMK for food so can pass to venice...
Let me know the no of packs ya... If i dun come online, drop me email at [email protected]...
Cheers..

Busy day at work, somehow holiday periods always busier than usual, haha guess coz so many days off that must catch up more during work days :p

re. Avent products
i heard from OG sales asst that Avent better than other brands such as Pigeon or Tollyjoy coz it's the only one still made in Europe and shipped to SG. the rest are made in Thailand or ard Asia. so buy for the quality, esp their steriliser and pump. Not sure how true though, i buy Avent more coz i heard good reviews abt their pdts and hoping that they would last for 2nd and consequent births since this is my 1st child

<font color="ff0000">hoon</font>
dun be sad dear, hugs hugs. Rem to drink more water and take care of your diet. Be careful can be all right through pregnancy. But you must watch your diet even after pregnancy k. coz i read that pregnancy diabetes sometimes is an indication of how prone the mummies are to diabetes later in life. Sayang!

re. Diapers
i also bot bumwear for bb to wear. Hoping it will last and will be easy to wash. Most importantly can help bb prevent bb rash
Hmnnn just a bit worried if bumwear will be too big for NB even though i ask and the sales asst said ok. Still looks somewhat big to me hahaha.

Nana, Pups
Thanks! And now I am still sterlizing my ger's bottles... She's already 18 months. Then how do u wash the bottles after milk or water? Just use normal tap water now?

Misscandy
Yah.. 36+6 pigeon breast pads only $8.90 leh.. Where u got the pricing from? It is ok to ask the lady to cancel your order. It's ur right if u found something cheaper than hers...

Baby Stuffs
I finally persuadedmy hubby to get baby's stuffs.. Haha.. Told him about 3 months left, we havent got anything for baby yet... Then he said okok.. We go get it during the weekends... Haha... Hopefully more sales will be up...

Hi sun,
Nothing really interest me at Metro Expo Sales.

Hi vernice,
Got sell bra but didn't see any nursing bra. I'm also looking for nursing bra but don't like cloth type without padding. I can't wear my normal wired bra now even with extension. It is making my chest very uncomfortable. In the end, bought Sorella no-wire seamless bra $22.90 (buy 2 get 1 free) from Robinson. And today preview sales got further $5 vouncher discount.

Hi Devil,
You might want to go OG 20% Storewide Off Sales (till 01Jan). We've bought quite a lot of baby stuffs and toys during past OG sales. The best time to do shopping is actually during 2nd trimster; 3rd trimster should rest more. I'm getting tired more easily nowaday......

Hi meebaby,
If cot is not of standard size, might be difficult to get bedsheet.

sung

i bought the sling... looked so nice right... i bought the geisha trim... not so girly so my hubby can wear oso..he wanted the plain black or brown but i dun like it... i dun intend to get carrier so i opt for sling...

devil

mrs wong said just wash with water and detergent. she said no need to get the detergent meant for baby bottles.. too expensive.. but must wash thoroughly... some more she said ur hands must be very clean.. she called it the 7 steps of washing hands.. cant remember.. too many steps..

Question: Is it necessary to buy bottle warmer and which one is good? Is the pigeon one okay? There 20% discount at Robinsons.

Hoon,
Sorry to hear that your gynae said you have gestational diabetes. Please don't blame yourself, just take care of your diet. Even though my sugar levels is normal, I also love sweet stuff so I have to watch my diet, too. Cheer up!

Hi Nana

hee i'm eyeing the blossom trim, tink it looks kinda of cool and easy to match with clothes. haha i also opt for sling coz tink then bb will be much closer to me and feel so comfy, juz a bit worried if will lead to backache coz already hv back pain so holding back from ordering still...eyeing and eyeing hee hee

re. pigeon disposable breast pads

tink most of the larger deptal stores when having sales will sell it at $8.90 instead of usual price of $12.90. got mine at OG for $8.90 at the 20% sales. if sales still on like idlecat mentioned, shd be able to get it at same price. i only got 2 packs to try out first. if really need more, will send hb to buy later hee hee.

babe

mrs wong said no need to buy food warmer... she shared something saying that your breast milk once u expressed it.. kept some outside at room temp and some chilled ones... but i find it strange.. even with formula milk.. just used cooled down boiled water... not warm water... but i am still getting the bottle warmer...

so sorry for the mix up... i knew it was... hahaha because im lookin at milk bags and breast pads at the same time so mixed up!!! grrr.... $13.90 is pigeon milk bags... not breastpads.. paiseh... =X

so lets say 42 pcs is $8, one pc is ard 19cents.

the one im getting is 144pcs for $30, one pc is ard 20cents.

the question now is, to save the cents, do i go all the way to upper cross street to buy the $8 pads or let the girl deliver to my office and save me from travelling there? LOL

Serene
Where u get your pigeon breast pads from?So cheap? only $8? can tom bang?

Idlecat
Thanks! Maybe I find time to go this weekend...
Me too.. Finding it difficult to walk for long nowadays.. Get tired easily...

Nana
You remembered the steps? Can help me ask her? I did not attend her classes.

Hoon
Sorry to hear about that. try to cut down on sweet stuffs... Dun worry too much...

Misscandy
The pigeon breast pads u can get from kiddy palace also.. They're also selling at $8.90.
No need to go to upper cross street.

Kome - the playtex milkbags cnt ziplock.. need to tie with rubberband or those clips... my frn also suggested playtex becos much cheaper...! but i dont like the fact that have to tie ourselves... scared spill =P

missycandy,
ya the price difference not big lah..so its up to u lor unless u r buyin more than that.
Also, did u walk past This Fashion at amk? Opp this fashion is Jubilee then u walk straight down will see Polyclinic and the bb shop is there. but i think can try the chinatown shop that worried_gal mentioned to look at other pdts too..

oh i saw at the amk bb shop got 15% for medela swing/single pump wor..but i didn't see freestyle..can check it out

babe/nana,
i also wonder if want to get milk warmer. but then decided to wait till bb pop 1st then get wor..scare later not enough milk or wont be keeping milk in freezer so don need warmer right?

idlecat,
my bra also tight even with extension now. so usually i go braless at home lor...maybe will go robinson take a look.

Re:Disposable panties:
i went BHG to look at the disposable panties got 2 brands Impression and Felacy. Impression is 5 for $4.50 whereas Felacy is 10 for $10.50. The salesgal was saying the Felacy cotton type can wash leh...which one should i buy ah? any advice?

Kome,
the playtex milk bags u got very cheap wor...140 for $12+? where u get them?

re: bb wardrobe/drawers
mummies, which kind are u getting ah?
initially i tot of getting TOYOGO plastic drawers but then think again like not very worth it.
Then i went vhive to look at normal wardrobe and saw one @ $169 like not bad. and can use till when bb is big. There is another one at ikea too but cost $259.
so now donno which to buy leh

hubby also suggest getting toyogo drawers.. see thru then easier to get the clothes... we already have wardrobe for future use.. so no nid to buy... hehe... but bit too big to put bb's clothes inside...

hmmm im nt familiar with amk.. i walked towards jubilee... then got a bit lost... then faster walk back to the bus interchange lor... =\ maybe next time..

missycandy,
i still need to let maid put her clothes leh...i tot get those medium size wardrobe then can dump the rest of bb stuffs inside..

haha maybe next time u come can inform me then i bring u there

hahahaha... wads the name of the shop ??? ur maid from where ah? im stil thinking wan to get maid or nt... hear so many stories.. so sian...

i have spare 4 door wardrobe so we dont need olredi.. hehe

Devil
Pigeon Breast Pads_36+6 only $8.
The shop at people's park selling baby stuff.
Cheong Choon Store. Blk 34, #03-132, Upper Cross Street. Tel:6532 3855.
All ranges of babies Product &amp; Furniture.
All Kind of brand, like Piegon, Avent, NUK. etc.
And selling the glass bottle cup.

i donno the name of shop leh hehehe..It opp blk 724 which is the polyclinic..

i haven employ the maid yet..will leave the decision to my mum cos she will be the one facing maid most so impt that my mum is comfy lor.

oh..i intend to get a 2 door wardrobe..my hse very empty one haha..

hmm u cn check out some big furniture shops... they have promos all the time... like defu or something... always get brochures...

i didnt notice the polyclinic.. didnt pay attention.... was paying attention to bak kwa... LOL!!!!! cnt wait to eat it!!!!! *drools*

ooo my hubby went for his colleague's wedding dinner... but came back liao... hehehe... just b4 12mn... =)

i understand how u feel... last time hubby go drinking once a mth.. i also sian... then i will go my frn's hse play mahjong til morning when hubby go home then i also go home... =P

but after the last session where he came home drunk and i was so upset and angry abt it... he has stopped going drinking... even tonight the wedding dinner i told him make sure dont drink.. he said wont drink... come back cn smell bit of alcohol.. he said drink 1 small small cup... toopid de... he cnt hold his liquor that well already... seldom drink thats why... hehe....

*sayang vernice*

wa..ur hb so good now ah..

hmm..my hb actually very seldom meet friends one..today is like once in a blue moon meeting Jc mates wor..then ok lor..i also went out to meet friends for din..but i donno how to play mahjong so usually after that come home liaoz..

so now i keep myself entertain by watch youtube lor..keekee