(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Thanks Serene and pups.. will go down have a look tomorrow.

Kome,
I believe so too. And cos my boy just started childcare which is a major transition for him so he needs the extra attention and security. I am trying to be very very patient with him.

At least your boy lets your mum tuck him in. Your mum staying with you? Mine needs me to put him to sleep! So, I will put him on my bed and lie with him until he falls asleep. I usually fall asleep with him too cos I am really tired eversince start of this second pregnancy. But I have to make sure I wake up after that to do things first before officially hitting the sack.

thanks kome...i will be using cloth nappies in the day...probably gg out time den use pampers ba...tink can save costs this way...

For diapers, I will be getting the bumwear. Although is a bit expensive, for for long term should be worth it. I may occasionally use the disposable ones if I bring BB out.

Pups
I am staying with my mum. She help me to look after my son. Now my son co-sleep with my parents, so my son know if he want to sleep he look for my mum and if want to play than he look for me.

Pinksorbet
Heehee....same thinking as you. I intend to use the bumwear cloth diaper during daytime and GooN during night time or when going out.

Kome,
Oh, i see. Saves you time this way too. I have to tapau dinner and pick my son from my mum's place after work. Very tiring. He used to sleep in his own room, but when I am preggie and not convenient to keep carrying him over to his room at night after he sleeps, he ended up co-sleeping with me. Hubby not as diligent in carrying the boy over in the middle of the night. Quite terrible... backache cos of limited sleeping space and even want to pad with pillows also no place to place those pillows!

Pups,
Thanks! Now I know the differences. I think steam sterlizer would be better? How about the electricity it is taking up? Do you know?

Pinksorbet
I think cloth nappies in the end about the same cost as pampers leh.. Coz u still need to use your strength to wash and water and electricty bills in washing those?? Esp if baby poo poo on the cloth nappies.. You'll be screaming away...

Devil,
I don't think the electricity part is significant. For the Pigeon Rapid one which I am using, the steaming process is only like 7 - 10mins each time. I think if you boil the bottle, it is going to take longer cos of the larger volume of water involved. Also, after steaming, it is an auto-off. So you just wait until the system cools down before opening it to assemble the bottle. Saves you a lot of time and effort too ;)

Yiyi
Last time got buy 4 diapers for my #1 so can use for my little one.

Pups
I understand how you felt. During weekends, i sleep with my son also not much space for me to sleep too as my son like to flip alot.

Pups
Thanks... Thanks... I'll have a look at the Avent one. Thanks for your advise. All along I thot the sterlizer is using some pills.. Haha.. I so sotong..

Devil,
No problem
When getting a steriliser, try to get one with a tray at the bottom layer as well as a tray for the top layer. This is how the pigeon one is, and it is versatile for bottles of all sizes. Cos I know the previous Avent model which I was looking at (they may have improved it now) was actually slots to slot inverted bottles in. These slots were quite proprietary to the Avent bottle size, which means if you need to have wide-mouth bottles before you can use such systems. I use a mix of Avent bottles and normal bottles (cos of my medela pump) so I have to be mindful about the type of bottles the steriliser can take ;)

one of u was talking abt the Goon diapers(can't remember who is it)...i also want to order can tag along??

i think Goon diapers is the cheapest right?

Pups
Check with you. Pigeon steam sterlizer can be used on Avent bottles and Medela parts? If can, maybe I get Piegon. Coz Avent stuffs very expensive...

Please PM me if anyone is interested to order capella s705 stroller in bulk, need at least 5 orders! Can get it at $260 nettOG selling at for sale at 296 now..

devil - if put the nappy liners on the cloth nappies should be ok rite? tot nappy liners should be cheaper to use than diapers in the long run....then oso scared that bb will get rashes if used too much diapers frequently...

sorrie ah, me first time mum so alot of things dunno need to learn from u mummies here....

kome,
i also donno how many i should buy leh..i will be using cloth diapers during day time. any advice? btw where do u all stay ah?

devil,
i agree with u. Avent is exp..i regretting now sob

Capella S705,
is it the newer model? $260 is a good good buy

mangogal,
That is not what I mean. I have not been following the newer models of Avent, so cannot comment much. But 3 years back when I was comparing between Avent and Pigeon, I preferred Pigeon straight away ;)

pinksorbet,
Nappy liners is to prevent too much poo stain on the nappies. But once baby pee or poo, still must change entire nappy leh.

ya mangogal,
but too bad i bought at Tangs liaoz sobsob...wasted another $30

wa...somemore the new model? got the head rest/cushion?

oh mummies,
i just went to the AMK bb shop. Then the wipes there seem cheaper leh. the pigeon wipes 82*3 is like $9.30 only..think dept store selling $10.50?

they say kiddy palace card acceptable wor.

Vernice
In my opinion is to get 2 pkts for NB will do, after that you may just use the S size. Buying bigger size is better than too small.

Which bb shop you went?

Vernice
Yeah....maybe we should PM her coz i post here she never reply.

She do not accept Pm. Think have to wait for her to reply back than

Pups
Thanks! I'll go have a look at Pigeon Rapid.

Pinksorbet
Cloth Nappies
No use... Baby's poo poo normally is watery and it will leak thru one... I was using it for a few months and I really regretted.. Everyday is washing washing washing. And for me, I dun like to just dump the nappies into the washing machine. I will wash and ensure no more stain before I put into the washing machine.

Mangogal
I think Avent is very much more expensive than Pigeon.

Vernice
U bought Avent? I was using boiling method all along.

Sterlizing of baby bottles
Mummies, do you still sterlize your #1 bottles? Must sterlize till they how old ah?

Vernice
Haiz.....Ya lor. End up surfing BP and getting myself buying more things. *Shaking my head*

Too free and end up writing down a list as what to pack for hospital stay.

mangogal,
As mentioned, since I already have the Pigeon one, I have not kept myself up to date with the newer models of Avent sterilisers cos I do not intend to buy new ones
Perhaps other mummies here can help.

pinksorbet,
no no... you don't throw the cloth nappies! Yes, wash. But I think Devil was talking about the effort required to wash and the water used, so savings may not be that substantial in the end.

Devil,
We diligently sterilise for the first 6 months... then I think it progressed to just once a day at the end of the day... then by the time the child is eating porridge at about 8 months, we stop sterilising. Thought no point since the bowls and cutleries are not sterilised anyway :p

kome,
heehee...i saw ur names in some of the BPs heehee spent a lot huh..
what have been a good buy? i stopped buying clothes liaoz

Checklist, that time got one mummy upload a list leh..what's ur email? maybe i can send to u

Vernice
Ya lor.....buying Carter's Sleep Sack and some spagetti clothes for myself but worried that not able to wear them. Mmm.....just cannot resist the temptaion. I hate myself.

You may PM me.

kome,
i don't dare to buy clothes online now cos scare cannot fit. I bought a daniel yam bubble tube dress last sept only and i can't even fit into it at bust area!! so sad now.

i don have the daily necessities list. i also donno what to prepare since i 1st timer. u know why mummies are buyin disposable undies?

Vernice
During confinement we cannot touch any water, so by getting disposable undies you may just wear and throw it away and also will not damage the good undies if our menses stain do it.

Vernice
Last time i wearing disposable undies, i got no problem with it. But i using normal sanitary pad not the maternity pad.