(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

mummies who brestfeed before can tell me best to buy disposal pad or those washable one?

which brand is better

devil..ohoh didn't know KP got storewide sales leh...u know around when will have??

then u store any BM in freeze? u use wat to store?

SG - yalor sian...my hb is a hainanese and most hainanese got "jia(1) pu(3)" one

between ur "Yong" and my "Fu" i prefer yours... Yong something...haha

St
I not sure leh.. On and off walk by KP. Maybe will have soon? Since christmas is coming...

I used Medela bottles to store the breast milk in freezer.

St,
I also used disposable breastpads. Started with using Pigeon ones then when milk supply is more established and breast doesn't leak all the time, I changed to Gerber thin breastpads cos felt that the Pigeon ones are getting a bit too bulky for comfort. But during the first 2 months, I feel that Pigeon is still the best.

I use milk bags for storing in freezer.

pup..thks for the advice on extra bedding. shall wait n see when KP gt storewide 20%..hee..
traditional name unique ah? hmm...maybe lor..but then rite nw the names suggested all like very "tu" leh..see hw lah..maybe i lazy to argue liao just give in to watever my hb wans to name ba. haha..

pinksorbet, lol..haha oh tat one call jia pu ah? hmmm..cheem lor..i was keeping my finger crossed when i heard tat we have to follow the name..i was hoping not, biao (1), bing (3)etc the rest are ok. haha..can u imagine our cute bb name biaobing? wahhahahah....

devil, not sure if TMC will give us lot of bottles anot leh.

pups, u use what brand of milk bags

I saw NUK brand washable pad very bulky leh.

oh yah, we can also get disapoable panties for maternity at KP? scared i forgot to buy wor..and i was told some hospital clothing din cater for nursing purpose..tink ESH doesn't come with it according to my sis's fren who gave birth there last yr..so maybe gt to bring along at least 1 set of pyjamas with nursing slot.

re: latex mattress
I bought bb latex mattress from kidsLoft last week. The store was having 30% discount and we bought the matress at $139. The usual price of the mattress was $199. We also bought bumper set and bedsheet.

Lenny, we will be giving bb a middle name and have sort of decided on her name already.

SG
Disposable panties get from John Little. Got those 100% cotton one.. Very comfortable.. And cheap.. Wait for John little sales.. Got discount somemore.

hee..just had lor mee for lunch..few mths din take liao..took once during my 1st tri but threw away all coz of the pork/cinnanmon taste..hee..also bought red bean soup..can take later. yummy.. =)

i saw one of those convertible cots from some advertisement in mum's magazine. it also allows you an area to place the baby to change after bathing, then drawers to put baby's clothes and diapers and such...wonder how much those cost...

Devil..so cotton one better huh? yah ah...later sweat won't stick to the skin..but then must buy hw many pcs then enuff? hw abt maternity sanitary pads? 4packets enuff? only kotex gt maternity pads har? sorrie so many qns..hee..

SG - hee biao bing does sound funny...like bao bing? those confectionary cakes...
i was hoping not to follow lor...but mine like pretty strict...was telling hb if our bb is a gal and still wan me to follow i will fight against it...

SG,
I use maternity sanitary pad for first few days only.. After that, I used back my normal ones.. More comfortable... But buy extra long ones... I used the hospital ones.. never buy the maternity sanitary pads...

Fot the disposable panties, I buy one month stock... For my entire confinement month... So no need to wash..

pink, yah lor..sounds funny hor..lol..act. mine is between "Mei" or "Yong" of coz i choose Yong lah..and my hb wans Mei..he says boy uses ger's name will better..nonsense lor..for boy boy watever u match with the word Mei also weird mah. sigh......

St,
U use the checklist I posted.. Quite complete. See the spreadsheet under mom...

Pinksorbet
Your hubby so niceee... My hubby wont go Expo.. He said so crowded and so farrrr... In the end, take cab back home also not worth it...

pinksorbet : oh your hubby also hainanese . Me too hainanese and hubby also .. so got jia pu to follow lor .. no choice ... your fu is middle name? seldom heard of this lah ..

devil..oh ok..then i shall get 1 mth supply too..i doubt will wash them ba..tink my hospital is providing the "tie" or hook pad, tats why they advised us to buy the stick on..maybe just get 2 or 3 packs..later use the norm. night one will do. thks.. =)

SG - mei not suitable for guy leh i feel...

Devil - he was the one who told me got JL sales one...and say wanna see if got cheap bb stuffs...actually my hb oso like yours one...i was so surprised when he said he wanna go expo and he told me since the gynae appt is at Bedok so its rather convenient to go after that (onli one stop away to take the MRT)! now u know y... =P

cindy and sun,
haha the KP sales explained to us what to do if pee on it but very complicated leh. must run under running water, then squeeze dry and dry it but not under direct sun coz if not latex material will shrink. and nope, it's not waterproof coz can wash one. bbsafe also got sell their own waterproof topsheet but then with this and bedsheet on top, we tot defeat the purpose of the latex mattress so in the end we decided and only got the foam mattress with holes for circulation purposes. hee will get the latex free mattress if this one doesn't work out, at least cheaper alt to try out with first. haha bbsafe latex is very exp :p

re. maternity leave
yup, maternity leave can either be taken before or after, but not more than 4 weeks before and not lesser than 2 months directly after lor. any maternity leave balance to be taken flexibly after is also subjected to working days entitlement so for instance, if a mummy left over 2 weeks to take flexibly, it does not means you hv 14 days leave balance. it depends on the work schedule of your co. if 5 days work week, it means only 10 days leave and if 5.5 days work week, it means only 11 days leave lor. somehow will always lugi the PH and weekends. i tink i will prob take a whole stretch 4 mths, at least it seems longer hee hee

pinksorbet
Yours is very near.. I'm staying in Sembawang and gynae also in Sembawang. Too far away.. He's working in Tampines leh.. Haha.. He also lazy.. He rather come home and sleep...

st,
I started with using Avent milk liners but this was discontinued. Then I continued with using Gerber milk bags. For this baby, I will be using Lansinoh milk bags cos managed to buy cheap ones in one of the BPs.

I am not a fan of washable breastpads cos scared never wash properly bacteria will grow. Our milk very nutritious so can breed bacteria also.

SG,
Any pyjamas with buttons in front can be used for nursing purpose. For maternity pads, like Devil, I only used the pack provided in the hospital. Thereafter, I just used normal ultra-long pads. And likewise, I used disposable cotton panties for the entire confinement month so that no need to wash and nevermind even if stain the panties.

Devil - i stay in Sengkang but my gynae clinic is in Bedok...hee....like that time the tollyjoy sales...unless got car if not he oso won't go...
actually me too oso la, scared crowded and so inconvenient so rather stay at home lor...i'm oso lazy :p

devil
aft 20% fr KP, how much is the pigeon disposeable pads?

sportyger
the discount still valid for the latex mattress? quite cheap lei... KP only 10% discount if hv VIP card...

pinksorbet
True loh.. No car also difficult and nowadays taxi really very ex. Try to save money by preventing my urge to go onto a cab unnecessarily. Alwasy kena scolding from my hubby for taking cab...

Sunshinebaby
The last time I bought (for my sis) last 2 months i think is about $7.80 or $7.90... But that time think special promo. Normal is $11 plus, I think. KP only 10% if have VIP card...

devil
thks... i'll see whether robinson will be selling cheaper aft 20% storewide...
btw, wat size u get for the disposable panties? free size?

devil
u should tell yr hb, take cab is much cheaper compare owning a car lor... somemore, u r preggy... walk more quite tiring one lei...

Sunshinebaby,
I used the normal size one. They have 2. Normal and maternity one. My mom used the maternity one.. Haha.. She also likes it.

Haha... he will say dun go out loh...

pup/devil...oh..only 1st few days heavy ah..i tot its going to be a long n heavy one. hee..oh so button pyjamas is gd enuff? so can cancel off 1 more item from my list liao. =)

pinksorbet, yah lor..Mei ware gt suitable for boy name one? i agree with devil..yr hb very gd liao..even though one stop away from Dr Heng..at least he's willing to go there with the crowd..i wait long long tat my hb will go with me ah..tats why alot of my stuffs are nt the best buy! (as in cheapest during sale) he prefers to go on weekday ware everyone is still working..tats when there's no sale at all. haha..doopid hb. =p

SG - haha so funny when u said doopid hb...i guess he's those who dun like to squeeze in crowds, rather pay more to avoid those crowds :p

sun - oh issit? i'm not aware since i'm not a member...i was thinking more towards christmas and year end sales...not sure whether there will be more discounts after 8Dec :p

pink, hee..yah u can ask him to do anything except queuing up. so u going to see yr bb today? =) i gt to wait for 3 more weeks..

sorbet
mayb u can go hv a look tis wkend to see whether any sales item... meanwhile can use yr vouchers too...