devil
oic.. haha alright den..
gtg prepare n go out for exams liao..
tok to u all again later

Pups,
thanks too
hee must go compare and see for myself too. Tink i'll get a sling rather a stroller for now, at least till bb is 6 mths or older

sung ...

since robinson got 20% storewide you can consider getting it there ... otherwise its usually nett price even at kiddy palace

think the sateen one is more exp at $40 - $50 but the material is v cooling. cotton one is v thick ... both the mummy and bb will perspire like mad after a while.

SeaBreeze,
From my experience, the MIM slings in Robinson's are not eligible for the 20% off. Don't know if it will be different this time.

Sung,
The cotton sateen one is $45 or $48, I think. Just a couple of dollars more than the cotton one.

sun n devil..
my gynae no package one cos think his consulation on the resonable side lah.. $36per consulation.. no other hidden costs unless going for blood test or medicine.. no extra fees for scanning too.. so dun mind no package lor.. anyway been wif him for many yrs since teenager cos got white discharge when very young..
me now in third trimeter liao so guess he wan me go often lor..
gynae say must book 2mths ahead so guess tat y ask me book lor cos my edd is 26th feb..

re: bb cot
me also juz bought bb cot yesterday at ms kd..
i buy the brand mama love..$339 white colour too.. n foam matteress without holes cos the sale asst was telling me if get foam matteress doesnt matter whether got holes anot unless is latex matteress.. so i jux get the foam one wif no holes lor save $20 also.. n wif free bedding as well..
went to aussino also n they having sale bought the disney bedding at $71.90.. so maybe u gals wan go take a look at aussino bb bedding.. very nice n cute..

dear mummies,

just thought I'd like to share that it's really worthwhile to invest in a good mattress. Afterall when bb sleeps and keeps waking up, it's really disturbing.

For my #1, i didn't know and i also let him zz on the free no hole mattress but he awlays wake up in sweat and Crying. So i decided to invest in the baby safe latex mattress and it was my saviour!

So if u like u can go check it out! so far my boy's using mostly babysafe stuff so will continue to use so for this one!
Enjoy your lunch moms!

corene:: thank u for the fox venue! hehe wingtai too far liaos, so lazy! muahaha.. thank you!

slings:: I have one MIM one, which i never used cause found it so difficult to use!

Hope u all had a good lunch...i had my satisfying curry chicken kuay tiao...yumz yumz~

cindy - thanks for the tip on the mattress...with that i tink i better get the safe latex mattress...how much does it costs?

my hb and i went to mums&babes and after hb saw how a convertible cot worked, we decided to buy a baby cot instead of a playpen....he likes it and says this is good man....well but most convertible cots cost at least 300+? Wonder if there are any cheaper good brands around....was thinking of checking out kaki bukit in another 2 weeks or so....

Tonite seeing my little one again....so happie...hee

thanks seabreeze and pups!
i'll chk out the slings esp MIM sateen ones at robinson this weekend

oh princess
you just reminded me can go see see from aussino too, thanks!

hee hope to get really cute and comfy bedsheet set for bb cot.

cindy,
the bbsafe latex mattress, after put on mattress protector and waterproof sheet, etc, is it still useful? actually wanted to get that earlier but tot with all the addtl materials on top, bb can't feel the diff anyway so got normal foam mattress. hmmn else without waterproof sheet, wait pee pee on mattress directly, headache!

pinksorbet:: hehe it costs close to 200sgd. It's really a worthy investment. Very comfy. the free mattress hor, after bb sleep on it, got a hole or dent after 2 wks. I buay tahan, went to buy the babysafe one and till now, Still very good no dent!

sing:: haha i did not put any waterproof sheet or mattress protector. Cause yea, like what you said, i wanted the maximum air circulation cause they cannot turn, cannot flip, so the back will be VERY HOT. pee, yes kanna a few times, i just air it after that, hahah. but as we learn from lessons, i will put the changing mat before changing him so lessen my chance of having PEE on it. ;)

sung
if getting bbsafe latex mattress, dun tink need to put waterproof sheet as the mattress is consider waterproof ba??

arlow...mummies..woke up late today ard 11am..super nua..haha..din sleep well last nite coz bb keeps kicking...he moves alot when i sleep on sides..so no choice have to lie flat so tat i can sleep longer..hee..
re: mattress, i also bought the one with holes coz the sales person says with holes more ventilated..no so warm..so just believe her ba. hee...
queenie, i'm also hairy even before pregnant..nw even more hairy! cannot stand myself. haha..
lenny, i added u at fb liao. =)
btw, do we need to get extra bedding set?

halo mummies, hmm..sometimes wishe to install a pin hole camera into my tummy and see how is my gal doing at anytime,hehe...
Me too beomce more hairy eversince preggie, think it's part of the hormones lor

Me super sian...tomr office shifting and I hv nt pack my files into the boxes, so lazy to shift!

Cot:
What brand or types of cot is good to buy?
I am considering these points like: Safe non toxic wood material, can tahan bb bitting and will not chip, mobile means on wheels, and can convert to child bed as bb grow bigger

Princess:
Where is Mama S?

Lenny:
my hubby gng to give our gal a middle name, 1st is christian name follow by the middle name is baptise name, then his surname

SG
so good.. u can sleep till so late.. even being SAHM i cant sleep late.. i usually got up at around 7plus recently.. dunnoe y.. automatically.. sleep around 12-1plus at night.. buah tahan le.. friends saying tat i look more tired liao.. i cant nap long in the afternoon as well.. practically no sleeping just resting nia..

st, KP and robinsons got sell.

SG, extra bedding set, hmm i think just get extra mattress bedsheet can liao. in case pee or whatever. ehehe 2 more extra sets. For bed bumpers, i never buy extra set haha!

cindy - thanks for the info. Quite pricey hor? Good price for good quality =)

sun - ya lor one month like v long leh...sigh...
hope lil sunshine is doing well inside u

mangogal - i'm oso considering cots that dun emit paint toxic (like the paint will come off de)...looking for wood types...i dun quite like brown wood leh prefer those colors like white or perhaps others..brown wood looks dull to me...i'm oso looking or mobile bb cots....

devil
KP, taka, robinson do hv bbsafe latex mattress... u can chk it out...

st
tink the price is >$150 ba...

p3pp3r, hee..my sis also wakes up ard 8am and sleep ard 12-1am..no choice gt to look after her bb..she also SAHM for 2 yrs liao..yah..tink taking care of child at home nt easy also..my sis getting slimmer n look tired as well..like poor thing hor..pple tot stay at home like so fortunate, no nid to work but act. looking after child lagi more tired wor...

cindy, yah maybe shld get extra bedsheet...ware to get ah? coz mine aldy c/w pooh bear n frens bedding set..maybe just get a normal one will do. then must noe the size of the mattress before buying just incase too small. haha
oh yah, do we have to wash all the new clothings...beddings etc before bb use them? i've been clearing my guest's room bedsheet n blanket for 2 days liao..super tiring...maybe if need to wash bb's stuff..end of nx mth then start washing ba..=)

Re: names...have u all decided on bb's name aldy? sigh...my hb's side here very traditional..gt poem one..gt to follow..so my son's name will be "yong(3)" something...then his grandpa suggested few names all end with those olden days name..like hock, seng, ong etc..told my hb just follow the "yong" very gd liao wor..like sad only..nw so modern liao..the name like so "ah fook ah fook"..sian rite? sigh...dunnoe hw lah..still haven confirm a name yet. headache ah...

Haa Sunshine, I juse came back frm my chkup, but see my gal 3 weeks later

Pinksorbet,
so far u saw any cot liao, u are 1st time MTB like me?

cindy, didn't know it's so exp.

my friend told me to go those shop at housing esate to buy..but i not sure how's the quality

Re: Maternity leave

I was reading the entitlement of the 16 weeks of maternity leave. It reads as "An eligible employee is entitled to absent herself from work for four weeks immediately before and twelve weeks immediately after delivery, totalling 16 weeks. "

Does that mean that we cannot take 16 weeks after the delivery? i.e. the extended 4 weeks leave has to be taken before delivery?

Also, if there's public holidays during the maternity leave, will we be able to extend the ML?

JG

to what i know some mummy prefer to take before delivery to rest at home first..so u can use your maternity first..but if u prefer to take after delivery it's ok.

but it is also up to your company, so it's better to check your company policy

SG - sama sama! my hb's family oso got poem one gotta follow lor...is your hb a hainanese? mine will be "fu" something lor...dun like leh...so restricted

and yes bb's clothings, bedding, etc need to be washed before bb use, cos bb's skin v sensitive one....

mangogal - i've been jus browsing the cots and playpens...initially tot wanted to get playpen but after hb know how a convertible bb cot works, he prefers a convertible cot instead...aiyo..told him b4 liao convertible cot can convert to bed but tink he dun understand wat i say till he saw it himself... :p
yes i'm a first time MTB

hi jg, where did you read the entitlement from?

st - i might inherit from a friend (who inherited from someone)

how long can the baby sleep in a cot anyway?

hehe SG, u can buy babysafe brand bedshhet or mamalove bedsheet brand. i think as long as the size is right, can liao. SO far, the beds only have 2 sizes either 27x48 or 28x52.

Both kiddypalace and robinsons sell the mattress.
SO those of u who have the robinsons card, can get 20% off? KP member also can get 10% off.

JG, i think that is for those who wanna rest at hom like what st said, but if doc can give u MC to rest at home, why waste your ML? hehe
And if public hols, i'm sure all comp work the same, NO extension. just like sat and sun also counted ma.

Princess,
My gynae also from TMC. I remembered he booked only a few weeks before I give birth leh.. I also heard from him that the charges go up liaoz..

Sunshinebaby,
Thanks! Will go KP see see.

JG,
We can take all 16 weeks after delivery. I think for maternity leave, public holiday is counted inside. So we lugi loh... For the 1st 2 months only. The next 8 weeks can be taken flexible within 1 year.

moomooland - it jus looks like a normal bb cot but the difference is that it is convertible to bed. I think the big bang stalls like KP and mothercare should have, but haven't thoroughly looked thru bb cots yet as i tot i was getting a playpen instead...

mangogal - i saw it at mums&babes...$300+? i tink thats the normal range for a bb cot...dunno whether could get any cheaper..

pups ...

i bought before as a gift for fren and got 20% ler ... but that was like a couple of years back lar heehee

but those who need it ... no harm checking it out lor

JG ....

Yap PH is counted inside the maternity leave and some companies go by week block ... like when i wanted to clear my left-over maternity leave that time ... i need to take it as a full week

cindy ...

u need to check with HR on the MC too cos for my company ... it is stated that MC taken during the 4 weeks before the delivery will be considered as part of maternity leave unless we can prove that the MC is not pregnancy related like maybe running nose, cough fever etc

pinksorbet, no wor..my hb is a hokkien..sian hor? super restricted lor..tink i will insist to use only Yong...the rest we'll tink over it..else bb like poor thing leh..so modern liao..the name like orbiang later kenna laff by hus frens at sch hw? haha..

cindy..oh only 2 sizes ah..ok ok..shall go n see see look look..get 1 more set safer.. =)

SG,
It is up to you if you want an extra full bedding set. If you like everything to be well co-ordinated, then you will need a second set. Otherwise, just one set with bumper will do and the other set (to be used when you take the other one to wash) can be just bedsheet with pillow case and bolster case without the bumper and comforter. But must take note if you are going to buy many co-ordinated sets, the cot bumper takes a up lot of storage space! As for comforter, unless your baby is going to sleep in aircon all the time, a normal blanket is good enough
Can get these sheets from Kiddy Palace.

Oh yes, I do wash all baby clothes and beddings before the first use

Mangogal,
Actually most cots will come with a piece of guard that the top edge of the side of the cot. This piece of guard is meant to prevent baby from biting into the wood directly. Cos most of the time when baby wants to bite things, it is the top part they will try to bite.

Lenny,
No middle name for our kid. The format of the name will be <surname>.

JG,
You can take 16 weeks together after you deliver, or you can take 8 weeks first then the last 8 weeks on flexible arrangement with your boss but within one year after delivery. What they clause means is, out of these 16 weeks, up to 4 weeks can be taken even before you deliver. Some people want to rest prior to delivery. As for public holidays during ML... too bad lor... lugi that part of ML. Cannot extend from what I know.

moomooland,
Those 4-in-1 cots like mama love, etc are convertible to toddler's bed. We converted our 4-in-1 to toddler bed when my boy was about 19 months old. Toddler bed is low enough for the toddler to get up and down safely on their own.

SeaBreeze,
Then maybe that time I happened to buy the sling when it was 20% off but not storewide... so got restriction on nursery items? That time I needed the sling urgently as a gift so didn't purposely go scout for discount also. Hopefully there is so the mummies here can benefit from it. I am so tempted to get one more! But not justifiable since my existing one still ok leh :p Hubby suggest I get the pouch sling instead but I thought the pouch one not so versatile.

SG,
Hard to say leh... nowadays the names are getting so out of the world that maybe a traditional one will sound very unique! :p

Lenny,
Oops.. realised my reply to you got truncated when I posted it. What I mean is there iwll be no middle name for our kid. The format of the name will be 'surname dialect name, english name'.